Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 32 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Economical well made bag for your fishing trip.
2/26/2016

Customer review by AnAmericanFamily

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by AnAmericanFamily
by AnAmericanFamily

So I was in the middle of gearing up for an all day outing on the streams in search of steelhead and realized that this bag has made dozens of these trips with me without issue. I decided that it would probably be a good time to review this bag. My wife bought this bag for me and when she gave it to me she seemed quite apologetic. Apparently she thought the bag was bigger when she bought it based off of a picture. Since I have many gear bags of various sizes and manufacture I assured her that this bag was perfect. Honestly I was mostly just trying to cheer her up, but over time this bag has proven to be very useful. Here are the basic things you should know before purchasing this bag. This is not a large bag, it measures about 18 inches by 10 inches by 14 inches when the bag is collapsed. Keep in mind that as you fill the bag the measurements change so you will not get an interior of that size. This is a quick lightweight carry bag. The bag seems to be made from ripstop nylon and it is weatherproof (it can be sprayed to be waterproof). The bag has a license holder and a map pocket. There are 8 outer pockets and the bag comes with velcro attachable dividers (2 long and 3 short). This bag is insulated so carrying a lunch is not an issue. The bag does have an adjustable shoulder strap and hard bottom. It has a dedicated electronics pocket and a mesh net. The bag is leak proof as well. The reason I like this bag is the size and weight. I mostly fly fish in streams so weight is a huge factor to me as I will wade for miles on some days. If I am out all day I want to be able to bring a lunch along as well as some backup reels, lures and line. This bag not only easily carries those items but I also carry a light rain jacket, an extra pair of warmer gloves, and a dyr tuque. I have had this bag out in the rain and snow. It has been through quite a bit with me and held up great. I have bags that cost many times the price and I can honestly say that in this bags price range there are no better. If you want to spend more to get different size or options that is fine but as a light weight small bag there is no need to break the budget with this bag around. I can easily wade along with this bag slung over my shoulder and not feel weighted down. I do not have to worry about the contents getting wet in the rain. And everything is easily accessible to me. I have put this bag through a lot already and have only had one zipper pull come off. I replaced both zipper pulls with small strips of leather, coated the zipper with chapstick, and sprayed the bag down with camp dry and that is it. I would recommend that you give this soft bag a try I think you will be pleasantly surprised and with Walmart's return policy standing behind you why not.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnAmericanFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Priced right, light weight, lots of pockets.
6/8/2014

Customer review by practicluser

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by practicluser
by practicluser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got it to use as a lunch bag. They claim 14" wide, maybe if you pack the pockets and then measure. More like 12" They claim 10" high, more like 8" tops. Overall happy with purchase, has dividers in the main compartment that attach with velcro to the sides of the bag. Has an ID holder for your license (it is a little narrow about the size of a business card), and a net pocket that runs the length of the back, perfect for a magazine or two. The end pockets have room for aspirin or travel size personal products. Comes with two carabiners and six additional web loops on the front that will fit pens or other slim objects. Has elastic bungee type cord on the top for things about the size of an envelope. The shoulder strap actually stays on my shoulder and keeps the bag sitting comfortably in the small of my back. I put a large re-freezable ice block in a gallon size plastic bag and my lunch and snacks are good to go. Keeps my soda cold and if you got a microwave leftovers are great. Seems like it should last many years which is something you can't find with most twenty dollar lunch boxes.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
practicluser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gotta Have It!
4/23/2013

Customer review by Sandovalman

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Sandovalman
by Sandovalman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price I paid, I expected to get a low quality bag... But definitely not the case! Grab this bag, beginner or vet, doesn't matter... You'll love it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandovalman
Whittier, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fishing Bag
4/12/2014

Customer review by xANARCHY1982x

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by xANARCHY1982x
by xANARCHY1982x

i go stream,pond,river all places to fish. i am very happy with how this bag works, i store worms, wax worms and all kind of bait, i put in a ice pack and keeps all my bait alive even in warm weather, i love it, you can set the inside sleeves the way you want, i give it a 5

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xANARCHY1982x
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everything a previous reviewer said it would be.
9/14/2010

Customer review by BoDoodle

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by BoDoodle
by BoDoodle

I looked at two other types of tackle bags. Both popular brand names. They were available on the shelf to hold and look at closely. They did not come close to the benefits of the South Bend and their pricing was higher. I made my decision to buy the South Bend based on seeing it on a web page and a previous reviewer. I am very pleased with it and am showing it off to my fishing friends. I recommend the South Bend Ready To Fish Soft Sided Tackle Bag and my web order with Walmart was very successful.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoDoodle
Clearwater Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
ready-to-fish
4/12/2011

Customer review by oldfisherman272

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by oldfisherman272
by oldfisherman272

after years of the old hard to handel and wight of a ton of bricks old box. I got the new soft side and it is so nice to take on the boat or the bank to fish. lot of room and a place for every thing you need. droped mine off the boat and it floted till I was able to get it. Now that is nice. Wife and I are getting in to fly fishing so this is grate for that too.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldfisherman272
Deland Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
R2F soft bag
5/14/2016

Customer review by AJJR

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by AJJR
by AJJR

I've had many soft bag tackle bags and this is the best that I've had for an economy bag. I am a multi species fisherman and need plenty of room for different kinds of tackle and this bag suits me very well. I'm planning to buy another one. Now maybe I could find a better one for twice the cost, but for $20 bucks you can't beat this one in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJJR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice bag
5/2/2016

Customer review by monster4

4.0 stars 5/2/2016 by monster4
by monster4

This is a very nice bag for the money,only problem is it came with several dividers and no instructions which is pretty stupid on Southbends part,cant figure it out for nothing,even sent southbend an e-mail with no reply,not good PR. I will keep the bag however and buy some plastic boxes to put in it. Southbend makes nice products for the money but they came up short with this bag having no instructions....great bag though !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monster4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE KEY IS VALUE
8/19/2009

Customer review by POPHAM

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by POPHAM
by POPHAM

I'M AN OLD DEDICATED FLY-FISHERMAN AND I WANTED TO REPLACE MY UNWIELDY TACKLE BOX WITH A MORE PACKABLE SOFT GEAR BAG. I FOUND SEVERAL THAT I LIKED, SUCH AS SIMS, BEANS, AND ORVIS BUT THE PRICES WERE SKY HIGH. I TOOK A CHANCE ON THE DESCRIPTION OF YOUR SOUTH BEND BAG AT ONE FIFTH THE PRICE AND COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE SURPRISED OR PLEASED WITH THE PURCHASE OR THE WAY IT WAS CONDUCTED, ESPECIALLY THE ON-LINE STORE PICKUP. THANK YOU

Was this review helpful? (23) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
POPHAM
ROCKLAND MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Its a good BAG !
9/30/2013

Customer review by Sundial100

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Sundial100
by Sundial100

I'm returning to fishing so I don't have a million things ( though I'm getting close ) ! This bag takes on quite a bit of what I do have. Its many multiple openings and inside areas are good enough for all but the million item folks. It also includes a clear plastic zippered map pocket right under the unzippered top. great for maps and FISHING LICENSE ! That's what I use it for along with some weather proof matches. I love it !! The only downfall--is that the pull cords on the zippers though nicely made with rubber ends-- fall off......and they do it at the most worst times..But HEY !! For what I paid --compared to the other bags--I got some string to stick in there, we'll b e fine !!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sundial100
MiddleConnecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Love it
4/20/2016

Customer review by tdtan

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by tdtan
by tdtan

Love it lightweight and strong, just what I was wanting

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tdtan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job.
11/22/2014

Customer review by Michael1919

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by Michael1919
by Michael1919

I'm glad I purchased this soft tackle box. It holds plenty of storage; is very light to carry; and has many advantages. I look forward to using it on my next fishing adventure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael1919
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great item and great service!
5/13/2014

Customer review by Twjonline

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Twjonline
by Twjonline
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was delivered in a much shorter time period than I thought possible. The price was right, the item was great and the service was exceptional !

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twjonline
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not great quality
3/14/2010

Customer review by pickme

1.0 stars 3/14/2010 by pickme
by pickme

The design is good but it needs to be better quality. As I took it out of the box to examine it something fell off, I couldnt figure out what this piece went to until I went to zip it up, I zipped it up and the other piece fell off, so I had both zipper pulls in my hand and was unable to re-open the bag, making it useless and poor quality I was disappointed but as always Walmart fully refunded the damaged product. I guess you pay for what you get. I'd try something a little better built and maybe check it out in person first.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickme
UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Versatile Bag
3/23/2016

Customer review by norsite

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by norsite
by norsite

This is a very versatile bag with lots and lots of compartments. I am using it as my portable painting (watercolor) studio and it holds everything you would need. There is even a crosshatch elastic cord built in on top that holds my traveling easel nicely. If you are using it for tackle, it takes up to two 9 by 14 inch plastic tackle boxes as a tight fit. Planning for one large and other smaller interior boxes might be better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
norsite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent bag!
2/14/2012

Customer review by Thndrdan

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by Thndrdan
by Thndrdan

Great tackle bag. Lots of storage and compartments for all of your stuff. Shoulder strap is very convieniant and makes carrying your stuff easy. This was my first tackle bag as wanted to move away from the traditional tackle box and I am really happy with this purchase. Great price compared to other bags of its size and quality. The rubber bottom helps keep the bag wherever you place it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thndrdan
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Sturdy Bag
1/7/2014

Customer review by JetsunDolma

4.0 stars 1/7/2014 by JetsunDolma
by JetsunDolma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bag is really well-made - tough fabric, very sturdy. I wasn't a fan of the velcro inserts to make adjustable compartments - they seemed clumsy and ineffective. Overall, it seems like a very sturdy, well-made bag suited to the outdoors. It's made for fishing, but I imagine you could use it for any number of things. I bought this as a gift, so I haven't actually put it to use as a fisherman.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JetsunDolma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bag. Fits all my fishing gear. Made well.
8/16/2013

Customer review by BikingFun

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by BikingFun
by BikingFun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a fly fisherman and have a lot of odds and ends. This bag is made of good materials and a perfect size for taking along on an outing. It fits all my leader spools, fly boxes and accessories that I use most often It is not a very large bag, but has quite a few compartments, which worked out well for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikingFun
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bag
4/11/2014

Customer review by sanford2012

5.0 stars 4/11/2014 by sanford2012
by sanford2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for my son, who is picking about his fishing gear. He loves it, so it must be good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sanford2012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
3/8/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 3/8/2016 by Bill
by Bill

Great product and good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews