Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2502 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

2502 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

2502 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1599
4 stars
723
3 stars
104
2 stars
41
1 stars
35
1-20 of 2250 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2250 total reviews
1-20 of 2250 reviews
Excellent For Gaming
11/15/2009

Customer review by ADRIAN14

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by ADRIAN14
by ADRIAN14

This Dell Inspiron 1545 is excellent for gaming and moves super fast and the colour purple has a desent a desent glossy look.I installed about 20 games so far and runs good.Such as GRAND THEFT AUTO-vicecity,sanandreas,liberty city and Nfs-mostwanted,porche,underground2 and BOURNOUT PARADISE etc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADRIAN14
trinidad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
8/2/2009

Customer review by ceb0485

4.0 stars 8/2/2009 by ceb0485
by ceb0485

This is a pretty good laptop, I play Sims 3, have itunes, it comes with microsoft works, and I use internet..it runs very fast..the battery in it doesn't last long at all...and there are finger prints all over it, so it has to be cleaned often to keep it looking nice. But it runs very fast, has good color, Vista works pretty good. I also bought a printer for it, but had to buy a 15 dollar cord to connect them, also bought a wireless mouse. I would recommend it as a student laptop or starter laptop.

Was this review helpful? (79) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ceb0485
Jamestown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Dell
8/8/2009

Customer review by Psychoticfrog

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by Psychoticfrog
by Psychoticfrog

I like my new dell computer. I have never had a dell computer, but I'm happy with how it runs. The only problem I have with the laptop is the touchpad. It gets a little crazy from time to time, so I would recommend buying a mouse to go along with this laptop. Overall I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Psychoticfrog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nice Job!
5/29/2009

Customer review by MAHughes

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by MAHughes
by MAHughes

This is my 4th Dell laptop. All I can say is that it is simply the best so far. I purchased mine with the P8700 Core 2 Duo processor, 4gb RAM, and Vista 64. Fast, stable, beautiful screen, great keyboard. I do miss the hard drive activity light though. Maybe the caps lock light too. I don't miss the touch controls that my 1525 had. I found them to be too much of a bother. It seemed to take too long to get the volume where I wanted it. Using the keyboard works a lot better. It was also nice to see that Dell did not load this up with a bunch of useless programs that I would never use. I probably only had to delete 3 programs. I didn't feel the need to have to wipe the hard disk and re-install Vista this time. The change in the packaging was also very nice. Less is sometimes more and this was a lot less, but still very well protected. Good job Dell! My 4th Dell laptop and 6th Dell computer! It was experiences like this one that keep me coming back and recommending Dell to friends and family!

MAHughes
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 1545
9/12/2009

Customer review by courtney1031

4.0 stars 9/12/2009 by courtney1031
by courtney1031

I really am enjoying this computer thus far. It is doing exactly what I bought it for which is school a little personal use and to share pics from a digital camera. I dont play games so if you are looking for a gaming laptop get ready to spend some $. I went with 4GB of memory which I think really makes the system run much better...I would recommend doing this if you are going to plan to use windows and vista home office. Also the built in webcam is was okay for a free upgrade. The picture clarity isnt very good but I would have never paid for it so since it was free I'm not complaining. My only con was that I thought it would be a little lighter than it is. Overall good purchase in the month Ive had it I would say get it if you are planning on using it for school or personal use or simply to share pictures of your kids with family members who don't live close by, which was a must for me to have enough memory to be able to load my camera software and send pics to my brother of my children.

courtney1031
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fast and great battery
11/19/2009

Customer review by maplover

5.0 stars 11/19/2009 by maplover
by maplover

i replaced a 5-year old inspiron 600 with this new inspiron 1545 and sure appreciate the speed and battery life i now get. the old one was barely moving. i put windows 7/office 7 on the week i got it. had one blue screen error when i bothered to click remove device safely...which i never do. so maybe i'll stick to my plan. i wasnt sure i wanted an all black slick GLOSSY surface and it does fingerprint easily but i am getting used to it. indeed photos look better on the glossy screen vs. the dull matte finish. love the SD memory card slot in front, webcam, 3 USBs and no outlets in back anymore! suggestions are: keep right side Ctrl key next to arrow keys, i'm a keyboard navigator and now there's a windows key in the middle of that pairing that i dont like. my space bar hinge squeaks already, that might become an issue as i type 90wpm. we'll see. got midnight blue which is subtle and dark. sorta wish the green had been a easier on the eyes color and i'd have gottn it. maybe olive?

maplover
athens, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Step down from my old Inspiron 15
12/31/2009

Customer review by Iain

3.0 stars 12/31/2009 by Iain
by Iain

This purchase was to replace my 4 year old Inspiron 15, so I thought I knew what I was getting. Pros: Good bright screen Lighter weight than my old inspiron Better battery life than my old inspiron Cons: They Moved the Audio Jack to the front, so when sitting it on your lap the cable points into your stomach if you have external speakers plugged in. They lost all the separate buttons for volume and speaker. They are now doubled up with the function keys. Bad move. Type using Microsoft Office without the function keys? You can use Function lock, then you lose the sound keys. Very bad design in my view. The screen is so shiny that any back light means you are looking into a reflection of yourself while you type. Overall, it's faster than my old machine with a lot more disk space so I am overall happy because I am not forever making space, but I think I preferred the design of the old Inspiron with connectors on the back and side, not front and side and nothing on the back.

Iain
Panama City Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this Computer!
8/2/2009

Customer review by KSDallas

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by KSDallas
by KSDallas

I replaced an old laptop and was blown away by the speed of this computer. The color wasn't quite as dark as the picture shows but it is till a great purple. I am highly computer efficient and was leery of Windows Vista based on what I've heard other people say about it. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a little different, but very easy to learn. Hooking up my internet connection was unbelievably simple. I checked Dell's website and priced this computer and for the exact same one it was $30 more not including shipping. I will definetely recommend this computer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KSDallas
Mesquite, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/28/2009

Customer review by Vasyl

4.0 stars 7/28/2009 by Vasyl
by Vasyl

Pros Nice design, came without issues, fast startup, no difficulty configuring updates, very little dell bloatware. Mic is decent, and runs quietly without overheating. Wireless N minicard works wonders. WLED display is great during the day and outside. Decent speakers. Cons 1.3 megapixel camera is a bit pixelated, software with it had a particular ww2 moustache... CD drive was fine for a couple of days, then it became more loose and thus it rumbles quite often when a cd is used. The power light can illuminate five blocks with reading visibility. Touch pad limits were something that took time to get used to, it at times confuses the heat from the finger on the touch pad as well as on the left click. Surface makes finger smudges extremely visible, especially on the lid. Other thoughts: Although my cons are quite numerous, I can assure that the computer is just fine. Not everybody has yet adapted to the resolution. Invest in sunblock to confront with the light power button.

Vasyl
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 1545 is an Ideal For Everyone_!
6/15/2009

Customer review by DunNo_guY

4.0 stars 6/15/2009 by DunNo_guY
by DunNo_guY

For me, this Inspiron 1545 Laptop is awesome but it still not the perfect... It had a nice outlook design, wide screen(15.6”, ideal for movie and video), quick start up, handy quick start menu on desktop, easy to use, good performance especially for presentation and good graphics for gaming. It doesn't create any problem as i using it to play games. It runs very smooth. However, it still have lots of rooms to be improve... The bettery life could be improve as everyone is saying. Webcam is definately, it was quite dark. And the speaker is not really that pretty good. As i listening some rock songs that day, the songs doesn't sound so clear. The touch pad, as reported by many, is indeed a bit too touchy. Last thing is the USB plugs. 3 USB plugs is quite few. Other than that, i think Inspiron 1545 is an Ideal For Everyone... The price also reasonable (IF you want a cheap laptop but good quality, i suggest you make your own laptop!!)... Anyway, hope these tips can help those want buy Inspiron 1545. Tq.

DunNo_guY
Tawau, Sabah, Malaysia.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Enough For Student....
1/10/2010

Customer review by Roddy

4.0 stars 1/10/2010 by Roddy
by Roddy

My laptop was design very good sight. For me,everything works very well except the wireless works slow... Few days after I receive my inspiron 15... I tried to download several soft-ware for watching TV online, but something was going wrong. It made my laptop run really really slow, and sometime it's not responding until I had to restart. I checked in the shooting problem but It said nothing's wrong. So I decided to deleted those softwares which I installed but the result was not changed, It still ran really slow...so I had not way to solve the problem, I decided to restore all the system...and It's worked well right now....and the laptop should have the protection for back and screan of it.So,in my opinion, Inspiron 15 should be used by people who just want to go online, use Microsoft Office,play some normal game....ect. Although I have some negative feedback for this laptop, but I like it because of designing, function, pricing, speed, reliability ..ect.. special is Window Media Center, I love it...

Roddy
92704
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/16/2009

Customer review by IOWNADELL

4.0 stars 7/16/2009 by IOWNADELL
by IOWNADELL

Very good price. Battery is not the best. Quality and picture is great but could be better. Other than that its great. I would recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (72) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IOWNADELL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love my new Dell computer!
9/24/2010

Customer review by indyracer48

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by indyracer48
by indyracer48

I was looking for a new computer and I came upon this one. It was the best idea that I ever had to purchase a new computer. I had looked at the mini notebooks, but they did not have the CD/DVD drive in the computer. You cannot travel as easily with a mini notebook and an outside drive, it just does not work as well. I would recommend this computer system to anyone looking for a new computer. It is so easy to setup and use. I am having to get used to Windows7 as I had Windows XP before, but I am getting used to it. It is the easiest computer to use and it is fast. I use a broadband card to access the interent and it works well with it. I believe that it is one of the best computers that Dell has built in a long time. My last computer was also a Dell and I would not purchase anything else. I looked at a few other brands, but I came back to Dell because they know how to build a great computer and their customer service it also great. Thanks, Dell, keep up the great work.

indyracer48
Lebanon, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
inspiron 15
10/7/2009

Customer review by avemaria

5.0 stars 10/7/2009 by avemaria
by avemaria

really good computer for the price.. the screen is phenomenal.. I didn't realize how dead looking my old 8year old laptop was until i turned this thing on. The wide screen is a bit different for me but it's easy to get used to.. keep in mind the 15" inspiron selling today is about an inch shorter than a 14" regular screen.. which was a slight compromise for me. Of course it's 15" diagonal.. But it works wonderfully and fast. Another thing to consider is the hard drive space.. I upgraded to the 320 hard drive and was astounded that It arrived with only 283gb of registered space... a tech guy told me this is common and the numbers are converted or something.. i wish we would actually get 320gb when they say 320gb.. and then there was the 40GB! of drive space they used for installed software and backup.. so it took me down to around 240. So by all means if you're needing a large amount of space, do upgrade.. because you'll be getting less than you expected in space.

avemaria
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My only problem with this laptop is the touchpad!
5/4/2010

Customer review by doinmexico

3.0 stars 5/4/2010 by doinmexico
by doinmexico

Overall I'm happy with this laptop. It does what I need it to do and performs as expected. No more, no less... except... for the frustrating touchpad! The touchpad constantly freezes mid-scroll, with the pointer jumping randomly from place. I've tried adjusting the settings in as many combinations I can think of, as well as upgrading the driver. I've used 4 laptops since the early '90s and have always prefered using the touchpad to a mouse or trackpoint. I've used touchpads for photoshop and video editing, but I might have to buy a mouse for this machine. If you prefer a mouse, this is probably not an issue. Aside from that, it feels solid, has some nice features like standard bluetooth and SDHC card reader. The keyboard is well laid out, with large left and right shift keys, easily identifiable arrow keys, and a usable number pad. The camera is very clear even in very low light conditions. The only other criticism is that the cooling fan sounds loud over Skype.

doinmexico
Sydney, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good.. but not great
6/8/2009

Customer review by Aditya

4.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Aditya
by Aditya

Pros: Good screen, better connectivity, Great price. Cons: Absolutely no bass when using headphones..it's like listening a transistor radio! No LEDs for Bluetooth, WiFi, Capslock, HDD activity. Review: I've bought this inspiron 1545 laptop despite many bad reviews in the internet. But surprisingly, I feel this machine a lot better than many notebooks I've seen. This laptop has a good screen quality which makes watching movies a pleasure on it. The USB port beside the charger port is a bit inconvenient to use when we are on AC power. The sound quality of the built-in speakers is average, but there is no bass at all when I'm using a earphones. Even an iPod has bass response when using with the same earphones, but this laptop wouldn't allow me to have any bass. Also the advanced controls in "volume control" are disabled (grayed out). I think this is due to the sound card (IDT Intel HD integrated). In all the other aspects like connectivity. spreadsheet works, watching movies etc., inspiron 1545 gets up to the mark.

Aditya
Hyderabad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Scary Win7 not so scary
1/7/2010

Customer review by JWTD80shooterflickr

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by JWTD80shooterflickr
by JWTD80shooterflickr

Bought this laptop for family, Older fellow, lifetime Farmer and Computer Novice, I was apprehensive about the windows7 OS because of some of the Farm software and older hardware that the machine wold run, I was really amazed at the lack of user input to get all files, programs, and hardware installed, It's boot time is as advertised, A slow count of 10 and your up, MS office pops up almost as fast as you can double click, The real users of this machine don't know PC up from down and they started using it without any issues, I got called back a week later to help out again but it was no fault of the PC or Win7, I think Win7 may be what the non PC initiated have been waiting for, Hopefully it doesn't see the Vista problems, I still don't know if I trust the backup utilty that comes with windows, So far in Vista it has let me down in Vista, Not sure I'm willing to take the risk on Win7 Over all New PC and Win7 a success Did not try the Face Recognizing log in feature due to some of the chatter that its not 100% yet

JWTD80shooterflickr
Morgantown, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell is the game
6/2/2010

Customer review by YosefShimon

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by YosefShimon
by YosefShimon

Since my retirement from being a PC technician I have seen and witness companies do all they can to get the customer to buy their product. The most important item in buying a PC or Laptop was the warranty and the service support. Dell has the best of these two in the purchasing process. Anybody who has technical knowledge of how a computer works can put one together. However, most independent dealers can not offer warranty and technical support that satisfies the customer. I've been using Dell products since 2002. I have never had a minutes trouble getting assistance or reviewing any product that I was interested in. Dell has always been there when I needed help with a task that I was not familiar with. Since my introduction to Dell in 2002, my children, who are home schooled, have enjoyed the laptops and PC's that we have that have the Dell Logo. No worries at all. I recommend to those who ask about Laptops and PC's to investigate the DELL product as compared to other manufacturers and see the difference that DELL makes.

YosefShimon
Tar Heel, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Inspiron 1545 (purple)
8/6/2009

Customer review by RMacLeod

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by RMacLeod
by RMacLeod

The DELL Inspirion 1545 is a solid buy. Sleek in look, it was easy for this 1st time laptop buyer to get right into and start using. The WiFi is strong, the keyboard comfortable, the screen easy on the eyes. It comes with the basic Vista package, which means no Microsoft Office, but Works. Battery life with heavy use lasts about three hours. Speaker system is good, but user may want to connect to external for extended music play. Purple color is slightly metallic and very pretty.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RMacLeod
Fall River, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome machine for the money
1/20/2010

Customer review by CCMontedoro

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by CCMontedoro
by CCMontedoro

This is my second Dell laptop. My first was also an Inspiron. It's still running fine. I wanted a newer model. My other half has my old laptop. The is computer is uber fast. Great for gaming, web surfing and everything in between. Windows 7 is OK. I've had a few issues with it and some of my programs are not compatable. I liked XP, but I reckon I need to learn 7 and get used to it. There are two things I don't like about this laptop. First, the external speaker jack on the front of the case. It gets in the way. Bad design, guys. The other thing is that there is no HDD led. I'm used to having a light letting me know that my hard drive is working. Minor, but still, every computer I've owned for the last 15+ years has had a HDD led. All in all. I love this computer. It's a great machine for the money. I'll be back in a couple of years to upgrade again. I don't even use my PC anymore. I took it apart and packed it away after I pulled the hard drive, put it in an external enclosure and use it as a back up/slave drive for my laptop.

CCMontedoro
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 2250 total reviews
1-20 of 2250 reviews