Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

11 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

11 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-10 of 10 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1/1/2010

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by ElGordo
by ElGordo

This is probably the best deal on a camera right now. It has massive capabilities with a low price. This has the sensor from the 50D, and a newer processor. It shoots fast, and accurately. It comes with all the extra technology that all the previous Canon cameras have, sensor cleaning, Live View, and such, but this time it also has video mode! The video mode will shoot in 768 or 1080. In 768 it does 30 frames a second, which is standard, but in 1080 it will only do 20 fps which is a bit slow. You will notice a lack of smoothness in your videos but it isn't that bad. This might be due to the single processor in the camera, where the higher end XD cameras hav 2 or 3 to deal with the information. Anyway, the chance to use all your awesome lenses for making movies is nothing short of...well, really really awesome. Just think, you can do movies with your macro lens; no bug is safe! Pros: Everything. My "Cons" are just nit picking. Look at the price again! Cons: 20 fps at 1080. Shutter is only rated to 50,000 shots, whereas the 40D and 50D are rated for 100,000. It uses SDHC cards, so most people upgrading will have to buy new memory. It is still a Rebel and thus is very small; hard to grab onto for certain large handed people

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 25 contributor
Excellent!!!!!!
2/17/2011

Customer review by Softballmom2011

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by Softballmom2011
by Softballmom2011

All I can say about this camera is that it is AWESOME!!!! I ugraded from a 8 MP to this 15 MP and OMG the clarity is unbelievable, I take alot of action shots of my daughters softball games, and I couldn't of done better.....LOVE this camera......you will not go wrong with this, easy to use yet professional photos.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Softballmom2011
Sikeston Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent camera
5/8/2011

Customer review by jarmom59

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by jarmom59
by jarmom59

I researched and compared the Canon t1i (this camera) with the t2i, the new t3i and new t3, after deciding to move up from my trusty and much-loved Rebel xt. I have several EF lenses, so just purchased the body without the kit lens. In my view, for the money, this was the best purchase. I am not planning to use the video capability much, so didn't need the better video of the T2i. Also didn't need the matriculating LCD or the higher price tag of the t3i. So I ended up deciding between the basic but new t3, and this camera. The t3 only came with the kit lens (paying for something I didn't need) and this camera has better features. Of course, better lenses improve function, so consider your lens purchases as carefully as the camera purchase. Very pleased with my purchase. Best price found here at Walmart. Fast and cheap shipping, and could return to local store if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jarmom59
Pittsford, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just buy it
5/15/2011

Customer review by heartofalion26

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by heartofalion26
by heartofalion26

It will be the camera of your dreams! If you want a good camera but don't want to spring for the T2i, this camera is good enough for whatever you need!!! I knew it would be I did my research and it more than lived up to my expectations :) only con is the auto focus takes time to get used to and also, you can not execute live view in all modes, but the book tells you why: it creates camera shake blurring more readily and therefore requires a tripod. and it's no lie.... the fact that it doesn't have a live view makes for crisper pictures in portrait mode and scenic mode I have not tried others except the ones that you can use the live view for: and they are not as good. so get used to looking in the small hole, but the pics are worth it and that's what real photographers did before we went digital! Its vintage ;)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heartofalion26
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great camera
11/25/2009

Customer review by boilergonzo

5.0 stars 11/25/2009 by boilergonzo
by boilergonzo

Great camera. Very pleased with performance and build (typical Canon camera!). Everything about it has met or exceeded expectations except one minor detail. The video in 1080 isn't always smooth (lower frames/sec, and jumpy video results in lower light). I haven't had a chance to evaluate video in full daylight or lower resolution, and I view this as a minor deficit, as it is fantastic in the aspects I purchased it for (still photo). This is a great camera! Very impressed thus far with this camera. Highly recommend. I used a Canon promotion for a camera / photo printer (9000MKII) bundle. If in the market look it up. This is my first foray into real home photo printing (dabbled with unsuited printers before), and I am quite pleased.

boilergonzo
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EOS
3/7/2010

Customer review by Casey

5.0 stars 3/7/2010 by Casey
by Casey

I Must Say That I Have Had So Many Cameras But My EOS T1i Has Been A Kick I Am Or Should I Say Not Taken A Picture That I Had To Delete, Once I Got Used To The New Toy!! I Have Turned A Few People To Buying Canon Over The Brand They Were Going To Buy. What Else Can I Say Other Than A Great Buy. Casey Z Jr. 3--6-10

Casey
NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
12/5/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very easy to set up once out of the box, as easy to use as a point and shoot camera, great overall quality, incredible pictures, great lenses, long lasting battery.

An anonymous customer
Commerce TWP, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quite the upgrade
1/1/2010

Customer review by Mad Dawg

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by Mad Dawg
by Mad Dawg

I've had the camera for about 3 weeks. Upgraded from a Canon point and shoot. Liked the feature set that the camera has. Liked the modes available and ability to do what I want it to do and still be able to do more in the future as I delve deeper. I've put about 2,000 pictures thru the camera so far- about 1/2 of them test shots and to learn how to use the different modes. Pictures have been outstanding thus far. Using the video modes- I find the 1920x1080 HD mode not eye-pleasing- but other modes look great. This may be because I am not using a tripod or something else. Pictures have been sharp, crisp, and eyepleasing. Almost anyone can take a good picture and this costs not much more than an expensive point and shoot. I've been experimenting with the Av and other advanced modes and find them easy to learn- yet powerful in what you can accomplish. Getting back into photography after my significant other gave away my SLR back in '98.

Mad Dawg
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good First dSLR purchase
4/26/2010

Customer review by twitcher

4.0 stars 4/26/2010 by twitcher
by twitcher

Bought this camera and a superzoom lens to take with me to the Galapagos in January, 2010. I wanted a single camera-lens setup that would handle all situations and allow me to focus on the subject rather than changing lenses. About 2000 photos later, I would say that both turned out to be good choices. This camera is fairly easy to use, once you learn the basics of the menus and are able to navigate around the display choices. Recently, II have added a couple more lenses. With 15 megapixels, this camera is capable of taking sharper pictures than some lenses can provide, but I find the 18-55 mm IS kit lens, which is really cheap (and feels flimsy) takes some amazingly sharp pictures. The camera itself is well made, the image stabilization feature of the new lenses is addictive. I find focusing with the live view to be awkward, and I use the viewfinder. I haven't explored its video capabilities very much. Although I may wish to move up to the next level of body someday soon, it won't be because I am dissatisfied with the T1i, but rather because it really built my enthusiasm for digital photography. It is so easy to shoot a hundred photos, and a few always seem to turn out to be keepers. That's as good as it gets.

twitcher
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty Good
2/21/2011

Customer review by dfds,l..

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by dfds,l..
by dfds,l..

Pretty good camera works very well in good lighting in dark lighting when i have to take a flash picture it always says busy and i have to wit until busy goes away to take another flash picture and i miss really good pictures because of it everything else about this camera is amazing however i do wish there was a video option

dfds,l..
New Jersey,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes