Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
62
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 174 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
Best bang for yor $$- even w/the extra labor
7/4/2009

Customer review by RedBankRider

4.0 stars 7/4/2009 by RedBankRider
by RedBankRider

I was a bit hesitant to order this bike with all the reviews on how the item comes damaged (red version). It seemed odd esp. since all the bikes on display put together by the store were all in brand new condition. But with the site-to-store free shipping and 30 day Wal-mart return policy, the protection seemed worth it. Item arrived at local store 5 days in advance!! and store had it put together in 48 hours! I arrived at the store and was pleasantly surprised to find not one scratch on the bike. Bike looked as good as the pristine ones in the store! The one minus that I agree with other reviewers is that the bike is of "store workmanship" and not "bike shop workmanship". Meaning the rear derailleur was not shifting properly and both wheels were severely out of true (crooked wheels for you rookies). I own 3 bikes already and this one's for the wife, so I had the inherent skill set to true both wheels(2 hours) and adjust the entire rear derailleur system until it was perfect (1 hour). These tasks are to be done by amateur cyclists (me) or by your local bike shop. Either way there WILL BE a need to fine tune this bike once you get it. I believe a LBS will charge abt $30 for the work, so expect to add that on top of the bike price. Even so, with the +30, I could not find a better deal for a beginner cyclist retro beach bike having the modern upgrades as well(7 speeds, V-lever brakes). Most LBS as well as other big chain stores charge well over $200+ for a bike with these amenities. Well worth the price when you compare to others! BTW - missing ONE adjustment screw - that's it.

Was this review helpful? (161) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedBankRider
Red Bank, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
sweet ride
6/18/2009

Customer review by snowdrop35

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by snowdrop35
by snowdrop35

So very easy to handle,enjoy to ride,not tireing,can take longer trips,so comfortable..Easy to shift,brakes are smooth,looks pretty...Just what one needs for a nice bike ride.

Was this review helpful? (134) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowdrop35
buchanan,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fun to ride
7/25/2009

Customer review by RachH

5.0 stars 7/25/2009 by RachH
by RachH

I bought this bike to ride around my neighborhood, to the local supermarket, to and from friends houses etc. My local Walmart had them already assembled and I just rolled it out of there. Even leaving the store I had several people comment on how nice the bike looked. It needed a few tweaks (front brake wasn't even touching tyre when applied) but soon I was out cruising. This bike is a pleasure to ride, I really look forward to getting out on it. The upright seating position makes it very easy on the back. The seat is quite comfy (and easy changed out if it doesn't suit), gears are easy to change, 7 gears is just enough for gentle hills where I ride, and I like having mud guards to protect my clothes when going through puddles. I also bought a white wire basket for the front, and front and rear LED lights, which fit perfectly (all Bell brand from Walmart). I am very pleased with this purchase and I would recommend this bike to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (71) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RachH
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
6/26/2009

Customer review by HappyCruising

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by HappyCruising
by HappyCruising

This is a great bike for the money! I received the bike in good condition and quickly. I actually took mine into the local Wal-Mart where they assembled it for me...thank you, James!! Great customer service as always. I paid less than the current price listed so it was a really great deal but even the current $174 price tag would be worth paying. The bike is light weight and the more I ride it (had it for a little over a week now), the more I like it. I may replace the seat but other than that it is extremely comfortable and oh so cute! The gears are smooth and make a big difference. If you are just using the bike for cruising or commuting I would definitely recommend this bike. I had a Schwinn Ranger before this and loved that bike too but wanted to try the cruiser style this time around and so far I have been very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCruising
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love This Bike!
5/23/2010

Customer review by gomezchick

5.0 stars 5/23/2010 by gomezchick
by gomezchick

I recieved the bike for Mothers Day from my husband, and I have not been bike riding for over 20 years. I have been wanting to get more active and this has been such a great way to start. My bike rides so smooth and I feel I can go for hours. So far I have gone as far as 15 miles and the bike has been great. I am a large frame 200+lbs and 5'6' so this is a huge deal! Looks really cute and the seat is quite comfy. I Love it and I think anyone out there ready to start getting active who has not been biking for a while should try this bike. It has been great to be able to get out with my kids and do something fun! Can't say enough about it. Also, our Walmart was wonderful about making adjustments. We are lucky to live close, within riding distance to it and they were more than willing to help make adjustments at no charge. My daughter and sister also purchased thier bikes there and have had them adjusted at no charge. Excellent Customer Service in Plainfield, IL. Would recommend this store and this bike to all!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gomezchick
Plainfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good cruiser
7/24/2009

Customer review by DaleJksn

4.0 stars 7/24/2009 by DaleJksn
by DaleJksn

I bought the bicycle for my wife with lots of input for what she was looking for. The bike is very nice. Very old school except for the gears. She loves the color and the fenders. She thought the seat is too hard and uncomfortable, but we bought a Schwinn gel cover and she is now happy. My only comments are that I think the seat should be a gel seat as standard rather than a $16 aftermarket charge. Secondly, the seat is difficult to tighten up and I would suggest a quick release for easier adjustment. Finally, I think that the handlebars are a little dangerous since they come back so far. They could create an injury to the rider if a guick emergency turn is needed to be made. Overall a good bicycle.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaleJksn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very nice
11/13/2010

Customer review by jchildsplay

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by jchildsplay
by jchildsplay

This bike is very nice and I put this together with no problems. I got a basic Huffy for my daughter and it had a lot of problems and we had to have another sent out to us. I had a Schwinn when I was younger, and if I had not found out it was worth over $300.00 now, I would have used it for my daughter. I think that Schwinn bikes are expensive but are a very good purchase. ejchi

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jchildsplay
col ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
If you get it shipped to your house - some details
8/12/2010

Customer review by Arjacee

4.0 stars 8/12/2010 by Arjacee
by Arjacee

Purchased this beautiful bike for my wife on a Friday and it was delivered to the house by Wednesday, via UPS. No signature is necessary, so they left it on the front porch and the shipping was free from Walmart. It comes double-boxed, with the Schwinn box inside of a shipping box. Opened up both boxes and took the bike out. The rear of the bike (tire, gears, fender, bike rack, brakes, etc ) are completely assembled so there is nothing that you need to do back there. The handlebars need to be attached but the brakes, brake lines, gear shifter, etc are all in place, so other than tightening the bars in place, you are good to go. The front fender needs to be attached as does the front tire. The seat and seat pole come unattached and need to be tightened on to the bike. Put air in tires. And that is it as far as assembling the bike. Couple of minor negatives: the bike rack was a little crooked. I bent it back in proper place. There were some smudge marks on the rack and some minor paint issues as others have mentioned in their reviews. This should not sway you from buying this really neat retro- looking bike. I also needed to adjust the rear brakes as they came assembled too tight and were rubbing against the rear tire even when not pulled. Also, the gear derailleur needed to be adjusted -- the bike would not stay in first gear -- it would immediately jump to 3rd gear. Not a big deal - just an adjustment to the lining- up of the shifter. There are videos online that walk you through it. Again, I wouldn't let these kind of things deter you from ordering this bike. Of course, you can choose to have Walmart assemble it for you or you can bring it to your local bike shop for any assembly or adjustments. Overall, this is a very nice looking bike and the big, beach-style cruiser handlebars are a major plus for anyone who has had back issues with regular handlebars! Very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arjacee
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser
3/27/2011

Customer review by ShopLikeTheWind

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by ShopLikeTheWind
by ShopLikeTheWind

I bought this bike for my wife and she loves it. The site to store shipping and Walmart assembly played a great part in the decision in buying the bike... so much so, I bought another bike for myself afterward. I highly recommend buying the bike and Walmart's service.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopLikeTheWind
Rockwall, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing bike!
6/14/2010

Customer review by LoveTheSunxO

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by LoveTheSunxO
by LoveTheSunxO

I purchased this bike to ride around while I am carless at college. I had it sent to the house because the shipping was free and my father and boyfriend put it together in like 10 minutes. I read reviews that some people had a hard time but I guess it wasn't as complicated as some people made it out to be. I was worried at first from reading some reviews that said a lot of the parts were damaged but low and behold it was in great condition and there was not a scratch on it! I'm so happy I bought this because I love the colors plus it came with a free $20 giftcard whats not to like. I am about 5'4 so even though the seat is down it is a lil too tall for me personally but it's nothing to complain about. Also the seat is a tad awkward at first but you can always buy a different one. :) I've also been thinking about buying a basket to put on it as well. All in all i am OBSESSED with my new bike and can't wait to ride it every chance I get! I would definitely recommend this to any young girl or woman looking for a cute bike to ride.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveTheSunxO
Oceanside, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/13/2011

Customer review by lanigirl1725

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by lanigirl1725
by lanigirl1725

love this bike. It is perfect for me. Extra gears are a big help for me. My husband and I love to ride along the beach path from Bolso Chica to Hungington Beach.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lanigirl1725
norwalk calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Fun to ride bike
8/22/2009

Customer review by SpeleoBat

4.0 stars 8/22/2009 by SpeleoBat
by SpeleoBat

Overall, I'm happy with this bicycle. It is fun to ride, looks beautiful, handles well, and fills my need for simple riding around the neighborhood and to the store. Normally, I love to put my own "things" together, however, I didn't enjoy putting this together on my own because the instruction manual had too much info in it (for different styles of bicycle) and no "quick assembly" guide for where all my parts went. It was challenging to understand what was for this model and what was for other models. Plus, the kick stand fell off immediately and there are no instructions on how to re-attach it in the manual (and the only parts I found don't seem to fit together). The fender was dented brand new in the un-marred box, just like all the reviews warned me. Also, the chain guard catches easily on your shoe so watch out! It pulls right up and sticks out to rub on your pedals and you have to bend it back into shape. I've worked out these little kinks and despite all the small issues, I still have to say this was a good value and I recommend it to anyone looking for a casual cruiser.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpeleoBat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike!
1/28/2010

Customer review by Lpace2100

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by Lpace2100
by Lpace2100

I was walking it out of the store & 4 different people stopped me to say what a great beach cruiser it was. Even as I was driving home with the bike on the back of my SUV I had people admiring it. I had mine sent site to store & then received free assembly. I added a bell & wicker basket to give it that retro 50's feel. I rode it around my neighborhood this week & all my neighbors stopped me. It's a Schwinn 7-speed & the handlebars allow you to sit comfortably upright while you ride instead of reaching forward or being hunched over. A big plus - it's an aluminum frame, not steel so it's actually pretty light & easy to mount on a bike rack much to my pleasant surprise. Very comfortable & rides great...I love this bike!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lpace2100
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No more neck strain
8/19/2009

Customer review by CJinMI

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by CJinMI
by CJinMI

After years of avoiding bike rides on my mountain bike, due to neck strain - I now can't get enough. I have two little boys, one who has just taken the training wheels off, so I knew I had to get a more comfortable bike. I literally would have major headaches after riding my mountain bike - due to the leaning and having to have my neck up all of the time. With the new Schwinn - riding is sooo comfortable. The only catch is that I really need to stick to the road. When riding trails or paths it is more difficult to keep in control. (Basically it's like going from driving a Ford Focus to a school bus.) Again, as long as it's road/sidewalk riding it's awesome!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJinMI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice bike but......
3/17/2010

Customer review by TiredDecorator

4.0 stars 3/17/2010 by TiredDecorator
by TiredDecorator

Mine happened to have a problem with the gears. Took it to be adjusted first time,$20,still not right,then they found a small problem with the gears,so for $20 more bucks its fine now. So,beware, you might have to spend $40 more bucks. It was too much hassle to return, so now its fine. Nice lookin ride!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiredDecorator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it is ok
3/13/2010

Customer review by crazyforfortheoutdoors

4.0 stars 3/13/2010 by crazyforfortheoutdoors
by crazyforfortheoutdoors

had trouble putting together but managed seat was ripped a simple call to customer servce fixed the problem it was a pleasure to speak with a person that was in the great USA .that as great worth the money.bought for the spouse

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazyforfortheoutdoors
nappanee indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
schwinn point beach cruiser
8/28/2010

Customer review by mawcoke

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by mawcoke
by mawcoke

Got my bike and was a bit dissapointed that the luggage rack was bent from being hit (which caused the back reflector to hit the back fender and bent it. We called Schwinn and they were very courteous and sent one part and the other is on order. After we got it out and started assembling (which now I wish I would have had the bike sent site to store so they could have assembled and adjusted things) I found that the front fender had 2 small dents in it too....So have to call Schwinn back and get the other fender replaced too.The brakes are still not exactly right (the instructions aren't very spacific and honestly they were not very helpful). I finally got to ride it today and even with a bent luggage rack , and all the little dings. I still love it. This bike was in a schwinn box and then in another box for shipping but both boxes had been opened and the outter box was barely taped together... all in all I know I will enjoy it when I get the new stuff put on. It is a nice bike for the price! just shipping dammage. love the color.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mawcoke
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!!!!
9/9/2010

Customer review by Free2read

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Free2read
by Free2read

I absolutely adore this bicycle. I bought this bike after my old, hand-me-down bike's brakes went out. OMG. I wish they had gone out sooner. What smooth ride. So easy to peddle. I have a grin on my face the whole time I am riding.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Free2read
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Yes & Maybe
7/16/2009

Customer review by Over50FeelLike30

4.0 stars 7/16/2009 by Over50FeelLike30
by Over50FeelLike30

Overview: Only could purchase Online to Store for free shipping, came in box, & the local store assembled for FREE...yea! Of course it had a few dings, scratches, and a large dent in the front fendor BUT was near/under the handle bar area so not sooooo noticable. I am one to care about such things when I purchase something "NEW". Bday gift so no time to return it. PROS: Great take-off on the old design, mechanics of the bike appear solid, gears brakes all operate as they should. Comfortable oversize seat, wide handle bars, color is sky blue and white. All good with "overall utility/system" so far. CONS: All of what make the bike the old design including fenders are thin thin thin metal! Surely will become damaged/dented in time. I am keeping my receipt as the store indicated I could return it...not sure of the store expiration date on returns. Recommend a front handle bar basket IF you want to carry something, not sure the back carrier would support much...only for looks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Over50FeelLike30
Easy Hills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
fun way to get in shape
1/15/2010

Customer review by waitn4snow2melt

4.0 stars 1/15/2010 by waitn4snow2melt
by waitn4snow2melt

The ladies point beach by schwinn was a great surprise. When we put it together it took longer than expected. The wheels/ spokes are worped. One may not notice it but being from a "biking" family it is noticed. The bike box says in BIG BLACK letters DO NOT lay on side. Sure enough it had been! The nubb on the side of the wheel was sticking out and the box was crushed. SO much for WM employes reading!!! Not able to take the bike back to the store. To far away from one. So it will have to do for now,may have to pass it on to a younger family member.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waitn4snow2melt
maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews