Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 31 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
waste of money.
1/27/2015

Customer review by Yuuichi

1.0 stars 1/27/2015 by Yuuichi
by Yuuichi

i got this basket for my 24" cruiser and at first it seemed to be a pretty decent basket. you screw and attach the "clip on" part to your bike and secure it with a zip tie, then the basket slides right on. but the real problem, if you are like me and have a cruiser, once the basket gets about a pound of weight into it the starts to ride against the shield above the tire and make this god-awful sound. to make the problem even worse, if you add just the smallest amount of weight (like a pound or two, i.e. like if you're buying a pack of 6 drinks) and you go over the SMALLEST bump the basket goes flying off. Not only is that extremely embarrassing to have your belongings go flying threw the air in public, but also inconvenient. tldr: if you're looking for a cheap basket to use for lightweight things then this will probably do the job, but if you're like me and actually intend to use the basket for it's original purpose, than don't expect it to hold more than a few cans of soup without flying off.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yuuichi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Much cheaper in the store.
8/19/2011

Customer review by DynaPink

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by DynaPink
by DynaPink

Seriously, nearly $30 online? Oh, no, definitely not worth that much. The last three Wal-Marts I've been into had this same exact basket for $17.95. If you're needing a bike basket in a big hurry, it's probably worth it. (If your needs are a little less urgent than mine were, go to amazon and look at their Wald wire baskets instead and bypass this one entirely.) Just unsnap it from its handlebar fastener and take it right into the grocery store with you. It's flimsy and yet curiously sturdy at the same time. Twice a day, every day, I carry between .5 and 1.5 gallons of ice in a thermos. I've also carried home gallons of milk and bottled water, and various other groceries, including sodas that were rather on the heavy side. Every time I load the basket down like that, I keep wondering if this is the day it will fall apart. But so far it hasn't. (A rear basket would obviously be better for my needs, but my mountain bike can't use a rear rack.) On the other hand, every time my bike falls over the rim of the basket bends and has to be flexed back into an approximation of its original shape. It's a little bit of a struggle now to move the carrying handle into a different position.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DynaPink
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good concept...bad execution.
7/8/2009

Customer review by VApupCamper

2.0 stars 7/8/2009 by VApupCamper
by VApupCamper

This is a good idea but it just flops around too much and there is no way to secure the bottom portion. Plus, it uses a zip tie to secure it to the handlebar post. No matter how tight everything is, it still has too much wobble and flop to be of much use. And, I ride almost exclusively on paved bike paths. I'd imagine it would break in about 10 minutes if used on any surface other than smooth pavement. Junk. Avoid it.

Was this review helpful? (81) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VApupCamper
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEYONd MY EXPECtATIONS
7/31/2009

Customer review by TWiGHLiGHTER

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by TWiGHLiGHTER
by TWiGHLiGHTER

I was weary when I first looked at this item online here because it didn't give me too much information about the product and the price wasn't exactly what I was hoping for but...I am relieved to find that it is exactly what I wanted. It's sturdy, a perfect size-not too big not too small, very simple to attach, and just all around great. To anyone who is hesitant about buying this product-fear not! This product is great and easy to use. I love how I can bike down to my local grocery store and just detach the basket and carry it by its unique carrying handle into the store and when I am done I just click it right back into it's holster. So easy and convenient.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWiGHLiGHTER
Southeastern Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great!!!
10/8/2009

Customer review by autumnbiker

5.0 stars 10/8/2009 by autumnbiker
by autumnbiker

I have had this since September 24th, 2009. I got it with the cranbrook cruiser for my birthday. Bought it instore. installed it. it's great. I love how it snaps off. And it holds alot of weight. books, my purse, a sweatshirt and even my bike lock. I even carried a cake in it once...with out a problem.I live in an area with a lot of bumps too...now I just go slow on the bumps with my stuff in the basket..or else it starts to try and jump out...but thats to be expected. I love it...I dunno what everyone else does with theirs to have it break off with the first use...and I definately didn't use zip ties to attach..it attached with heacy duty plastic brackets and screws...very sturdy. I would suggest buying it in store...not online.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
autumnbiker
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Flimsy
8/29/2010

Customer review by KBJones

2.0 stars 8/29/2010 by KBJones
by KBJones

I bought this basket at Target, but it's the same one. I needed a basket to carry a bags worth of groceries home from the store. I used it to haul a small load of groceries consisting of a gallon of milk, 6 apples, and enough smaller, light items to fill up the remainder of the space. That load bent the basket badly and I kept expecting it to pop off the mounting hardware the whole time. After a very cautious ride home, I added a bungee cord around the entire basket attached to the handlebars. That helped. However, the force necessary for the bungee to hold the basket up with a load in it was enough to bend the basket back against the mount. I also dropped the bike a couple of times for various reasons and it bent significantly every time. You can bend the metal easily with your hand, though, so I got it back into a reasonable approximation of it's original shape. The clip is fairly flimsy plastic. It never broke on me, but it definitely flexed alarmingly. The screws also stripped the plastic acting as a nut on the other end. The metal basket bends easily and there isn't any particular support right under the mounting point to keep it from bending there. So, it bent there. And the handle kept popping off. The handle is also so narrow and with no padding that it hurts your hand if you're carrying it with a jug of milk in it. Of course, since it won't carry a jug of milk on the bike, perhaps that should have been a sign to me not to try to carry a jug of milk in it at all. I'm not sure what the weight rating is, but it's pitiful. Use this only if the loads you anticipate using it for are extremely light. Do not use it for your groceries. It won't work.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KBJones
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Flimsy Bicycle Basket
10/8/2009

Customer review by Tahoetal

2.0 stars 10/8/2009 by Tahoetal
by Tahoetal

I didn't make it out of the store before this broke. The idea is a good one. However, the plastic bracket attaching this to the bike is too cheap and flimsy. I put 1/2 gallon milk and a three pound pack of meat into the basket and it broke. Walmart was great about the refund. Not their fault. This product would be fine if it had a metal bracket attaching it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tahoetal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
9/13/2009

Customer review by ASUDad

1.0 stars 9/13/2009 by ASUDad
by ASUDad

Broke during first use. Only good fro VERY LIGHT duty

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASUDad
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
i love it...surprised to see so many bad reviews..
9/1/2011

Customer review by NuttyJellyHead

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by NuttyJellyHead
by NuttyJellyHead

Wow, bought this in store (got the white one but will be buying the black one for my other bike) and love it. Its large...I dont but really heave things in it, but can hold a towel, bathing suit, kids toys and a few drinks and mine didnt even wiggle. Have found the release function useful already for taking things from my bike to the beach area. Will say i was confused putting it on until my husband walked over and immediately corrected the installation. Im thinking maybe those who had it fall off were putting it on wrong like I was at first....ps have had it on for 2 months and still love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NuttyJellyHead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This item has an excellent design...
3/18/2016

Customer review by Virgilius7

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Virgilius7
by Virgilius7

But did not fit (is not adjustable) my e-scooter Airwheel Z3 front. I have to return it with sorrow.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Virgilius7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Half the Price if you buy it in the store
6/5/2011

Customer review by Geronimama14

4.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Geronimama14
by Geronimama14

I bought this in the store and it was $14. and for that price it definitly does what I want it to. I wouldn't put a case of coke in it, but for general storage it think it fulfills it's purpose. And I found that mine did not wobble as some other people claimed theirs did. You have to remember to tighten the lower support after you have it positioned on your handle bars.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geronimama14
Tomah, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Idea But It Just Doesn't Work.
7/9/2011

Customer review by jakesdad4314

1.0 stars 7/9/2011 by jakesdad4314
by jakesdad4314

We bought two of these. This basket is a great idea as it can be removed from the bike by pushing a red button and lifting the basket off of the mount. Unfortunately, it jumps, wobbles and makes racket that I couldn't put up with. Putting a full water bottle in the carrier quieted it down so I got the idea to attach two water bottle cages to the steel mesh of the basket. Even though they were reinforced, the mesh tore through. I removed this basket and replaced it with a wicker one from Walmart. All problems went away and I recommend the wicker basket which was $20 in the store. The wicker unit is simple, quiet and stays put on the bike. This basket is $14 in the store. I do not recommend this metal mesh basket.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakesdad4314
Baytown, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wire basket
11/5/2015

Customer review by Frogman60

4.0 stars 11/5/2015 by Frogman60
by Frogman60

In reply to some of the above comments, this basket is indeed not designed to carry a gallon of milk (8 lbs) and pounds of groceries--and neither are your handlebars designed to handle that much weight protruding out over the front wheel! That much weight makes your bicycle hard to handle, and that is the reason most handlebar mounted baskets are not designed to carry solid lead weights! Weight on a bicycle should be carried low and on the rear axle, not high and on something that pivots--namely your handlebars which are used in steering! This basket has served me well for years, and finally just plain rusted thru from being near the salt water here in Florida. I hope to get another new one--preferably white in color so it can be seen easily at night. Priced right at WalMart

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frogman60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent!
6/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this on a whim after my husband's new cruiser bike came with a basket and mine didn't. He now has basket-envy! We love my big detachable basket for the beach. We packed our towels, water, sunscreen and a few other incidentals into the basket, rode to the beach with our chairs. Once we were at the beach, we flipped the basket over and used it as a table between our chairs! It was perfect. Attaching it my handlebars took only about 10 mins but I had to be concise in the install process. The basket is rock solid once attached correctly. I think the latch button could break easily if you are rough with it, so I'm just careful with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
love my basket
12/14/2009

Customer review by writergirl75

5.0 stars 12/14/2009 by writergirl75
by writergirl75

i've had this basket for six months now and i love it. i attach it to the front of my cruiser. to remove it, i just press a button and the basket releases. to put it back on is super simple. the basket has worked perfectly since i purchased it. it's gone out with me on paved, shell-rock, and even (intermediate) mountain bike trails, and i've had no problems with it. the basket is handy as i can i put my water bottle, sunscreen, and camera in there before i head out. i would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
writergirl75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/10/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/10/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

it's a great basket, but not for a mountain bike. I didn't have an issue with it fitting around the cables, but what I had an issue with is the clips to mount it were not big enough to fit around the mountain bike handle bars. the clips were too small. otherwise it would have been perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Buy Online
8/29/2009

Customer review by rhorschl

5.0 stars 8/29/2009 by rhorschl
by rhorschl

Got this AWESOME bike basket at my Local Wallyworld for just under 15 dollars US... DO NOT BUY ONLINE before checking local store.... Still would be worth the 29 bucks

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rhorschl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
smart product of good quality
9/10/2013

Customer review by Topolino

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Topolino
by Topolino
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy and comfortable to handle - matches perfectly the 20" Verso Cologne folding bike !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Topolino
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is what it is.
10/12/2015

Customer review by Herb

4.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Herb
by Herb

Oky Doky

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful and Roomy
9/17/2011

Customer review by mom4life4girls

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by mom4life4girls
by mom4life4girls

Way cheaper in Store about half price, it holds more then I thought (usually have bike lock, two drinks, diaper bag and a stuff animal or two, or I go to the farm and get veggies) it would just be helpful if they ever had them in stock my daughters both want one ... Keep in Mind I am not dumb enough to put in a couple gallons of milk and I made sure all connects were tight so it didn't flop around. I also fully inspected to make sure there were no weak spots because some in the store where pretty beat up like some kid jumped on it and wouldn't hold a hair pin

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom4life4girls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews