Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

great for the average mountain biker
6/15/2010

Customer review by BikinLes

4.0 stars 6/15/2010 by BikinLes
by BikinLes

the bike is what i excepted. great bike for the average rider. love the disk brakes, work every time, just needed a bit of break-in. tires are holdin up good. still kinda gettin used to the gears for long, steep, uphill, climbing. love the shifter style. the suspension is great and easily adjusted. overall good bike.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikinLes
Skagway, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Department store bike is just what my son needs
12/22/2012

Customer review by CubScoutCampers

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by CubScoutCampers
by CubScoutCampers

My son isn't ready to take care of an expensive bicycle as it should be and I decided to go with a department store bike until he is. I know my heart would sink if he trashed a $2500 bike I got him, so I'm doing the reasonable thing, buying him what he really needs at this age. I know this sounds a little odd to hear this, so I'll let you know that I worked in a bicycle shop for a couple of years: putting them together, repairing them, and selling the new ones. Why would a bike tech guy buy a department store bike for his own son?...Why wouldn't he pick the name-brand item? This is for all you parents out there: This bike is put together very well, has disc brakes both front and rear, and is really all my son needs at this point. And I'll get the same hug and smile and put the rest of the money to better use. There is a definite need for a bike at this price point. Right now, my son doesn't know whether he prefers a road bike or a mountain bike, or maybe a hybrid or city bike. With this bike, he'll get a chance to see what a mountain bike is like w/o my investing an arm and a leg. Maybe he'll end up preferring a road bike, instead...who knows? The bike came in with the brakes adjusted perfectly...(I would know.) This bike came in with a flawless finish...(Anyone can see.) Nothing on the bike was scratched, bent during shipping, or was out of adjustment. The headset bearings and wheel bearings had been properly greased before assembly. I trued the rear wheel, but the front one was perfect as it came in. (Truing just made the rear wheel track perfectly straight, but few people would complain about the wheel I adjusted. I can easily do that, so I did.) Disc brakes front and rear are preferable over a front disc and a rear "V" or Cantilever brake. (Pulling on both discs is safer, IMHO, than one of each. Disc brakes on both give you more measured control on both wheels, helping you to not "lock-up" your wheels.) Consider this bike over those with mixed brake styles and those with the old-style rubber brake shoes. This style of dual discs are the future of bicycle brakes: Water and mud don't affect them like the old style and the disc pads will last much longer. Also, going down a mountain-side trail where you will use your brakes A LOT, you want disc brakes. Rubber brake pads will get hot and start to melt...not safe for that application. I've had my own disc brake pads on my bike for 6 years now, riding only about 70 miles per week. The pads are easy to change, by the way.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CubScoutCampers
Fernandina Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great bike!
12/30/2010

Customer review by dizrtstrm

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by dizrtstrm
by dizrtstrm

I rode it for its first 25 miles, and it preformed better than the last three bikes i had. The quick-release wheels made it easy to assemble. The brakes did not fail under pressure, and were beyond satisfactory. The suspention preformed greatly. Recommend this bike to anyone looking for a bike.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dizrtstrm
Wiggletown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best bang for your buck
11/6/2012

Customer review by JMO410

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by JMO410
by JMO410

I love this bike, it has a great suspension for all terrains, the brakes are awesome, only downside doesn't have a cup holder, but thats minor, this bike is tuff and will handle what ever you go thru

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMO410
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
missing parts
9/6/2009

Customer review by parky1958

4.0 stars 9/6/2009 by parky1958
by parky1958

The bike came in on time, but it was missing front brake caliber.

Was this review helpful? (11) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
parky1958
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great price
10/30/2012

Customer review by Tsammons

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Tsammons
by Tsammons

I bought this bike in the hopes it would be better then the $100 bikes I usually get, and it is. I love the bike and the overall quality is very good. The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because the brakes do not stop like I thought they would. Dont get me wrong they stop good but I could never get them to lock up like the old style do. Other than that this bike is great I got it out the box and put it together and after a few minutes of slight adjustment it worked perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tsammons
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bike for the money and meets my needs
12/5/2012

Customer review by VinInBoynton

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by VinInBoynton
by VinInBoynton

I wanted a sturdy bike for general riding, not planning on doing any major mountains or trails, but prefer a bike with more support and wider wheels without going the route of an old looking city bike. Probably will never use most of the gears but neat having disc brakes and a cool looking bike. Easy to put together and arrived in fine shape. Tool kit that came with bike is all you need to put together and good to keep with bike when on the road.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VinInBoynton
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.