Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 268 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

268 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

268 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
85
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 stars
36
1-20 of 223 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 223 total reviews
1-20 of 223 reviews
Awesome buy for the money!!!
2/3/2010

Customer review by kristilea2982momof4

5.0 stars 2/3/2010 by kristilea2982momof4
by kristilea2982momof4

I have assembled A LOT of furniture and this bookcase had the most clear and accurate directions out of them all. I highly suggest you just take your time, and read over all parts and instructions carefully before you even begin. Most mistakes and frustrations are made by trying to assemble too quickly. Make sure you pay attention to your finished and non finished edges when assembling. If the backerboard is put on right, these are very sturdy bookshelves for the money. The bottom and middle fixed shelves hold 50 lbs each. The other 3 shelves hold 35 lbs each. That's a lot of books! The finished product is very nice, especially when you put more than one side by side! (A hint--when you are putting the back on, make sure the bookcase is lying on the floor back side up, and square the backing over the edges. Put a nail in each of the two creases on the bottom, and then in each crease on the top. Then you can work your way down the sides and the backing will stay in place so that you don't accidently poke the nails through the wrong spot trying to get the back on.)

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kristilea2982momof4
Winder, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great deal!
7/31/2009

Customer review by tenniShoes

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by tenniShoes
by tenniShoes

I had absolutely no trouble putting this shelf together by myself. Every piece fit exactly as it should, and the whole assembly took me around an hour. Something you may not be able to see in the stock picture is that the side panels are actually 2 pieces. However, it's still very sturdy. This shelf is a decent looking piece of furniture when finished, and my husband finally has a place for all his books that used to be found in random places. =)

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tenniShoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Very Cheap! fell completely apart
3/13/2010

Customer review by MonroeMi

1.0 stars 3/13/2010 by MonroeMi
by MonroeMi

So Me & my bf put together our new book shelf, it was crooked and the sides were buckling! we thought we fixed it, so we put all the books on. then kerplunk! it fell! literally every shelf and even the sides! the wood even cracked and chipped from it! we barely touched the shelf and bam all of a sudden it was a pill on the ground! look at the pic! vvvvvv

Was this review helpful? (13) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonroeMi
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Affordable and Functional - What More Do You Need?
8/22/2010

Customer review by GF08

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by GF08
by GF08

When you're purchasing do-it-yourself, particle board bookshelves, you have to remember - these aren't glamorous. These aren't solid mahogany. These are cheap, functional bookshelves. I bought 4 at once and had them delivered to my door. Why? Because, for $100+tax (shipping was FREE) I had the FedEx man do all of the labor of hauling the 60 lb. each boxes to my doorstep. I only had to struggle with them a few feet to get them inside. They were all delivered within just a few days of ordering. I was pleased with that. The instructions actually make sense - just don't rush through them. Pay attention and you'll do fine. It took me about 30 minutes to put each together. I have plenty of leftover hardware pieces, too. I did have one problem. One of the bookshelves had some damage. Somewhere in shipping a box got smashed and so a couple of my boards were broken. As it says on the instructions - call the manufacturer rather than return. Well, I went to the manufacturer's website (it's Ameriwood), and I ordered my two replacement pieces. No problems whatsoever. One came in about a week. The second hadn't come, so I called the company and the rep (very nice) said that the boards were coming from two different warehouses. When the first shipped theirs, they closed the order. No biggie. She corrected it and within another week I had my other board and finally completed my project. Sure, I would like to have done built-ins, but I don't have that kind of money. I do have $100 as a temporary fix, though, and I think these shelves look great for what they are.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GF08
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Very Good.
11/6/2009

Customer review by Reginaaaa

1.0 stars 11/6/2009 by Reginaaaa
by Reginaaaa

Well I only had dvd's and a few picture albums on my bookcase and it started swaying and like I barely touched it and it completely fell apart. like every piece came apart. I will not buy another mainstays product from walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reginaaaa
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
3/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this today in the store in the black finish. I put it together by myself in less than an hour and I'm never good with directions, so id say they were pretty easy to follow. There was a small chip on one of the finished sides of the board but it its very small and you can barely tell now that its put together. It is 2 pieces and it didn't fit very well together its off a little not sure if its the way I put it together or not but it doesn't look bad enough for me to take it apart. I think it will last a few years or I might half to buy another one if I move I don't think it will hold up without getting to knicked up when moving. Also I recommended using the wall fastener that it comes with if your going to be storing a lot of books. All and all its decent for the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ocala,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bargain- Owned for 2+ years and still strong
11/5/2009

Customer review by Kareena

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by Kareena
by Kareena

I bought this 2.5 years ago when we moved to WA and I remember the instructions being a little confusing but I got it put together by myself. Now 2.5years later we just moved again and are set up in our new place and that bookshelf is still very strong. Slight bend in one shelf, but barely noticeable. I use my bookshelf for games, display items and 2 shelves full of books. One of the "book" shelves is the one with a slight curve. Needing another shelf for a pantry-type holder since our new kitchen is alot smaller and I'm going to be getting another one of these. Definitely good quality for the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kareena
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's $30, you get what you pay for
7/26/2009

Customer review by Charlenes

3.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Charlenes
by Charlenes

Took less than an hour to assemble; not very difficult for 1 person to maneuver (me). I will say particle board never seems to bring positive results, although this is level with no chipping or broken pieces. It is a roomy bookcase rated 35lbs on each shelf (50lbs on the bottom), so it serves the purpose and does so inexpensively.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlenes
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/23/2009

Customer review by jackshn

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by jackshn
by jackshn

It was actually pretty easy to put together by myself although the directions were a little more complicated than they should be. I bought the black ones and put them as my pantry in the kitchen and other than the top still being bare, they look great and are standing up well

Was this review helpful? (86) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jackshn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bookcase
8/22/2009

Customer review by RedRuger

4.0 stars 8/22/2009 by RedRuger
by RedRuger

These are simple and inexpensive bookcases. I have several of them. If you use them standalone they are a little hard to get square and tend to wobble; however if you bolt two or more of them together and sit them on a 3/8 piece of sheet plywood they are much more stable. To get them square bolt them together, lay them on their face and adjust them until the distance between opposite corners is the same. Then nail the backing on. I view these as a really good value in my simple home.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedRuger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Expected an inexpensive temporary storage fix...
3/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this product because I have tons, I mean 100s, of books that are just sitting in boxes and I wanted to display them. By no means was I expected something glamorous or a permanent solution to my book storage problem. However I was hoping to have something that would at least last me 6 months - 1 year until I could afford something that was real wood. This bookcase didn't even make it to the wall before giving out under its own pressure. All I did was stand it upright after finishing completing it and the bottom two side pieces cracked in half. There is no way that is a construction error (and mind you, I'm a college student & single parent, most of my furniture is inexpensive and requires similar assembly because I cannot afford much else). I understand that when I buy a bookcase for $25 not to expect it to be spectacular or last forever, but for heaven sakes, the thing should be able to support its own weight!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great buy for the price
8/4/2009

Customer review by ayetee

4.0 stars 8/4/2009 by ayetee
by ayetee

Its not the sturdiest book shelve in the world but it works for what I need it for. It looks great and met the majority of my expectations. It was a little unsturdy at first, but I just tightened the screws up again. This can be put together easily with one person. You will just need a little room to spread out.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ayetee
Tenneessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks okay, hard to assemble
6/16/2012

Customer review by colortheworld

1.0 stars 6/16/2012 by colortheworld
by colortheworld

I am not an illiterate person, and I have put other things together before. But this bookshelf was absolutely ridiculous. The directions were just pictures. They thought, hmm how can we confuse people the most? I am a person that needs a description in order to understand, visuals don't help as much. They could have put both. If they want you to follow the directions, than make directions. This bookshelf frustrated me so much that it took me days to put together. And another thing, they could mention ON THE BOX what tools would be needed. I had just moved when getting this bookshelf and did not have anything yet, so I kept having to make trips to buy more tools. And yes, I would have needed them in the long run, but at least give me an idea of what I am getting myself into. The bookshelf looked okay, but if you messed up on a step, it ruins everything. Seriously, it's just not worth. Go spend $100 and not worry about the stupid assembly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
colortheworld
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy
8/11/2009

Customer review by hwy54

5.0 stars 8/11/2009 by hwy54
by hwy54

I had drawn up plans to build two book shelves and was headed to Lowes after leaving Wal-Mart. Checked the furniture dept and found these for $29! Got two, took them home, looked at the instructions, worked out the kinks on the first unit, whizzed through the second one. Needed enough space for the finished product, did it myself at 67 and slid one into my office and the other in the hall to stand between two shorter book shelves. I'm headed back for two more for the garage! Just be careful with the little black screw things...they are used to keep the side from swinging loose. Take your time and you will do fine. The top shelf is painted on one side, be sure it faces into the unit, same with the center shelf. First you assemble the 4-sided bottom section, then assemble the upper 3-sided section and attach to the bottom. You will like them. NOT for 200-lb items per shelf.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hwy54
Santa Claus, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Piece of Furniture
12/20/2009

Customer review by TojoOTM77

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by TojoOTM77
by TojoOTM77

I have had two of these since June, both are still holding up well, they do not show any signs of sagging or leaning. The assembly is fairly straight forward, I think for those who have never assembled furniture might find the directions a little confusing. The only complaint I have about this piece of furniture is the weight, it was kinda heavy to carry in from the car. I used to assemble & deliver furniture & this piece is very much like the furniture I worked with, except for the price, much cheaper at W-M. I would gladly own more like this if I didn't live in an apartment. Others who have had problems with this & showed pictures of the furniture collapsing might not have properly assembled the piece. One picture shows the sides & shelves laying in a heap on the floor but the backing was still standing, that tells me they did not assemble the shelf(s) properly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TojoOTM77
Columbia, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bargain, possibly good for shoes
6/10/2010

Customer review by LaurenNoelle

4.0 stars 6/10/2010 by LaurenNoelle
by LaurenNoelle

We bought two of these for two different rooms. (They come in at least 3 colors I think and we got oak & white.) The oak one IS slightly darker than pictured, like one reviewer said, and it goes really well with my cherry stuff in our living room. My dear hon put them together and ran into a lot of problems following directions, but nothing got permanently ruined. They configure better than other particle board "furniture" pieces and they look pretty decent, almost as good as a more expensive stand-alone bookcase (built-ins winning in appearance and sturdiness any day, but we rent!). I think for a built-in look if you own a home, you could cut away part of your wall's baseboard and push the bookcase to the wall (anchored with included tool or other means) and it would look great, even better than a built-in if your room doesn't have a great shape for those. It would really up the visual value and be super affordable, still. BUT anyway... I do recommend anchoring these because they might tend to be top-heavy. Also, my hon suggested to load heavier books (or something) on the bottom first and/or let the unit sink into the carpet before loading. The one in the bedroom is used for shoes, all light, so we weighted it with a computer tower for a while to let it sink down - came back and loaded it. I recommend seeing if your local sprawling Walmart has it in stock (or use ship to store, NOT to your home) to combat issues some reviewers had with dented bookcases. We did not have that issue. The box should fit in the back of a car, I read in questions/answers (but we put them in the back of our truck). Our first trip they had sold out of the white we wanted for the bedroom so we just got oak in that trip (and saw how it might work out for my shoes in the boudoir). We read in the answers section here that we can order extra shelves so I can fit much more shoes and more attractively for the one in the bedroom. It's cheaper or comparable in price to shoe racks, but much sturdier than those low priced ones, and with extra shelves, even that much more attractive for shoes! (Solid, not just rods, so more expensive looking.) I recommend. Each shelf holds four pairs and without extra shelves (or fewer extra shelves) can be configured to hold knee-high boots. Tall pumps fit with a LOT of extra height room. One can even present favorite shoes within a taller display.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaurenNoelle
Sunrise FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A little difficult to put together, but great for$
4/17/2010

Customer review by Matchgirl42

4.0 stars 4/17/2010 by Matchgirl42
by Matchgirl42

I had this bookshelf shipped site-to-store. YES, IT IS VERY HEAVY. You will need to be either very strong yourself (although I do not recommend moving it by yourself without a handcart), or have another person help you to get it from your car into your home. It's more difficult to put together than I had anticipated; I recommend reading through the directions 2-3 times before starting to assemble it. Very difficult to get it square; if you can put it in a corner before you put the back on, that would help tremendously. Also the backing is very precise; make sure you have each piece lined up just right before you start nailing it to the frame. I didn't get mine just right, and there was a gap on one side; however I fixed this by taking one of the pieces of white cardboard trim from the box and nailing that on top of the backing, along the side. This is a very tall, sturdy bookcase and for the money I spent, I am very happy. So far it's held up very well and, once assembled, it was quite easy for me to stand it upright by myself. And it can fit a LOT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matchgirl42
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broken!
4/8/2010

Customer review by WMFrequentFlyer

3.0 stars 4/8/2010 by WMFrequentFlyer
by WMFrequentFlyer

I purchased a set of these shelves in the store and LOVE them. They are very tall, impressively sturdy for the price and have a wonderful capacity for our large collection of books which includes many heavy, large commentaries, which the shelves have no problem supporting. The only reason I ordered this site to store was b/c there was not a set in the store and they have been out of stock for some time locally. I should have taken seriously the frequency that others had posted that theirs arrived broken from site to store. I order from site to store rather frequently and this is the first time a product has arrived damaged. My husband had finished half the assembly before we notice that and entire corner (a support corner at that) had a large crack in it. Having a toddler in the house, we could not risk the instability, so the shelves were sadly returned and now I have to sit and wait for my store to restock this product. My advice: Only buy this particular product in store AND check all the pieces before you waste your time assembling the product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WMFrequentFlyer
Eastern Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Looking Basic
4/13/2010

Customer review by DigiCameraLover

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by DigiCameraLover
by DigiCameraLover

I have a bunch of the OLDER Mainstay's shelves (from over 10 years ago) and I needed a new one for my teensy kitchen in our new home, so I went with Mainstays again. I was pleased to see that they have updated the look and sturdiness of the bookcase (now it's two pieces, rather than a huge rectangle with shelves). I put it together myself (I'm a 32 y.o. female with no physical issues) in about an hour and lifted it into place with no problems. I secured it to the wall with a few L-brackets purchased in the hardware section (better safe than sorry!) - if you put the brackets far enough in from teh sides, you can't see them at all anyway, so it didn't detract in any way from the aesthetic of the shelf. I use this in my dining room to hold soda, small appliances and my massive collection of Lock n Lock storage containers. I absolutely LOVE IT and the extra storage it has given me, so I plan to get another one for my actual kitchen (in white, probably). And if anyone has one of those countertop Presto griddle things, it fits PERFECTLY on the top of the unit!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DigiCameraLover
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shipping was awful
3/27/2010

Customer review by oldmanwithhammer

2.0 stars 3/27/2010 by oldmanwithhammer
by oldmanwithhammer

My review would have been much more positive IF the items as boxed and shipped had arrived without major damage. The long upright parts are not sufficiently protected in the box. I ordered four of the bookcases and was able to salvage enough parts from the four to put ONE bookcase together before I had to request Ameriwood to replace all the other end panels. They all had been split widthwise or had large chunks of the corners broken off. The bookcases, if you can get them in constructable form, are good. But beware having them shipped to you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldmanwithhammer
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 223 total reviews
1-20 of 223 reviews