Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 268 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

268 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

268 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
85
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 stars
36
1-20 of 223 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 223 total reviews
1-20 of 223 reviews
7/23/2009

Customer review by jackshn

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by jackshn
by jackshn

It was actually pretty easy to put together by myself although the directions were a little more complicated than they should be. I bought the black ones and put them as my pantry in the kitchen and other than the top still being bare, they look great and are standing up well

Was this review helpful? (86) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackshn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's $30, you get what you pay for
7/26/2009

Customer review by Charlenes

3.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Charlenes
by Charlenes

Took less than an hour to assemble; not very difficult for 1 person to maneuver (me). I will say particle board never seems to bring positive results, although this is level with no chipping or broken pieces. It is a roomy bookcase rated 35lbs on each shelf (50lbs on the bottom), so it serves the purpose and does so inexpensively.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charlenes
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great deal!
7/31/2009

Customer review by tenniShoes

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by tenniShoes
by tenniShoes

I had absolutely no trouble putting this shelf together by myself. Every piece fit exactly as it should, and the whole assembly took me around an hour. Something you may not be able to see in the stock picture is that the side panels are actually 2 pieces. However, it's still very sturdy. This shelf is a decent looking piece of furniture when finished, and my husband finally has a place for all his books that used to be found in random places. =)

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tenniShoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Bookcase
8/22/2009

Customer review by RedRuger

4.0 stars 8/22/2009 by RedRuger
by RedRuger

These are simple and inexpensive bookcases. I have several of them. If you use them standalone they are a little hard to get square and tend to wobble; however if you bolt two or more of them together and sit them on a 3/8 piece of sheet plywood they are much more stable. To get them square bolt them together, lay them on their face and adjust them until the distance between opposite corners is the same. Then nail the backing on. I view these as a really good value in my simple home.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedRuger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the price
8/4/2009

Customer review by ayetee

4.0 stars 8/4/2009 by ayetee
by ayetee

Its not the sturdiest book shelve in the world but it works for what I need it for. It looks great and met the majority of my expectations. It was a little unsturdy at first, but I just tightened the screws up again. This can be put together easily with one person. You will just need a little room to spread out.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ayetee
Tenneessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome buy for the money!!!
2/3/2010

Customer review by kristilea2982momof4

5.0 stars 2/3/2010 by kristilea2982momof4
by kristilea2982momof4

I have assembled A LOT of furniture and this bookcase had the most clear and accurate directions out of them all. I highly suggest you just take your time, and read over all parts and instructions carefully before you even begin. Most mistakes and frustrations are made by trying to assemble too quickly. Make sure you pay attention to your finished and non finished edges when assembling. If the backerboard is put on right, these are very sturdy bookshelves for the money. The bottom and middle fixed shelves hold 50 lbs each. The other 3 shelves hold 35 lbs each. That's a lot of books! The finished product is very nice, especially when you put more than one side by side! (A hint--when you are putting the back on, make sure the bookcase is lying on the floor back side up, and square the backing over the edges. Put a nail in each of the two creases on the bottom, and then in each crease on the top. Then you can work your way down the sides and the backing will stay in place so that you don't accidently poke the nails through the wrong spot trying to get the back on.)

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kristilea2982momof4
Winder, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bargain, possibly good for shoes
6/10/2010

Customer review by LaurenNoelle

4.0 stars 6/10/2010 by LaurenNoelle
by LaurenNoelle

We bought two of these for two different rooms. (They come in at least 3 colors I think and we got oak & white.) The oak one IS slightly darker than pictured, like one reviewer said, and it goes really well with my cherry stuff in our living room. My dear hon put them together and ran into a lot of problems following directions, but nothing got permanently ruined. They configure better than other particle board "furniture" pieces and they look pretty decent, almost as good as a more expensive stand-alone bookcase (built-ins winning in appearance and sturdiness any day, but we rent!). I think for a built-in look if you own a home, you could cut away part of your wall's baseboard and push the bookcase to the wall (anchored with included tool or other means) and it would look great, even better than a built-in if your room doesn't have a great shape for those. It would really up the visual value and be super affordable, still. BUT anyway... I do recommend anchoring these because they might tend to be top-heavy. Also, my hon suggested to load heavier books (or something) on the bottom first and/or let the unit sink into the carpet before loading. The one in the bedroom is used for shoes, all light, so we weighted it with a computer tower for a while to let it sink down - came back and loaded it. I recommend seeing if your local sprawling Walmart has it in stock (or use ship to store, NOT to your home) to combat issues some reviewers had with dented bookcases. We did not have that issue. The box should fit in the back of a car, I read in questions/answers (but we put them in the back of our truck). Our first trip they had sold out of the white we wanted for the bedroom so we just got oak in that trip (and saw how it might work out for my shoes in the boudoir). We read in the answers section here that we can order extra shelves so I can fit much more shoes and more attractively for the one in the bedroom. It's cheaper or comparable in price to shoe racks, but much sturdier than those low priced ones, and with extra shelves, even that much more attractive for shoes! (Solid, not just rods, so more expensive looking.) I recommend. Each shelf holds four pairs and without extra shelves (or fewer extra shelves) can be configured to hold knee-high boots. Tall pumps fit with a LOT of extra height room. One can even present favorite shoes within a taller display.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaurenNoelle
Sunrise FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Cheap! fell completely apart
3/13/2010

Customer review by MonroeMi

1.0 stars 3/13/2010 by MonroeMi
by MonroeMi

So Me & my bf put together our new book shelf, it was crooked and the sides were buckling! we thought we fixed it, so we put all the books on. then kerplunk! it fell! literally every shelf and even the sides! the wood even cracked and chipped from it! we barely touched the shelf and bam all of a sudden it was a pill on the ground! look at the pic! vvvvvv

Was this review helpful? (10) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MonroeMi
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not Very Good.
11/6/2009

Customer review by Reginaaaa

1.0 stars 11/6/2009 by Reginaaaa
by Reginaaaa

Well I only had dvd's and a few picture albums on my bookcase and it started swaying and like I barely touched it and it completely fell apart. like every piece came apart. I will not buy another mainstays product from walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reginaaaa
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
disappointed
7/20/2009

Customer review by naptyme

1.0 stars 7/20/2009 by naptyme
by naptyme

Don't waste your money. Also requires at least 2 to assemble & allow plenty of time. So poorly made, it self destructed half way thru assembly! Just threw the entire mess out. Spend a few more $'s to get some quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naptyme
Shawano. WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Perfect!
9/25/2010

Customer review by BookwormInRI

5.0 stars 9/25/2010 by BookwormInRI
by BookwormInRI

I needed a bigger bookshelf to hold all of my textbooks. It needed to be sturdy and able to hold a lot of weight. This works perfectly and it's incredibly affordable. I wish I had room for more bookshelves and I'd buy more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BookwormInRI
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Affordable and Functional - What More Do You Need?
8/22/2010

Customer review by GF08

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by GF08
by GF08

When you're purchasing do-it-yourself, particle board bookshelves, you have to remember - these aren't glamorous. These aren't solid mahogany. These are cheap, functional bookshelves. I bought 4 at once and had them delivered to my door. Why? Because, for $100+tax (shipping was FREE) I had the FedEx man do all of the labor of hauling the 60 lb. each boxes to my doorstep. I only had to struggle with them a few feet to get them inside. They were all delivered within just a few days of ordering. I was pleased with that. The instructions actually make sense - just don't rush through them. Pay attention and you'll do fine. It took me about 30 minutes to put each together. I have plenty of leftover hardware pieces, too. I did have one problem. One of the bookshelves had some damage. Somewhere in shipping a box got smashed and so a couple of my boards were broken. As it says on the instructions - call the manufacturer rather than return. Well, I went to the manufacturer's website (it's Ameriwood), and I ordered my two replacement pieces. No problems whatsoever. One came in about a week. The second hadn't come, so I called the company and the rep (very nice) said that the boards were coming from two different warehouses. When the first shipped theirs, they closed the order. No biggie. She corrected it and within another week I had my other board and finally completed my project. Sure, I would like to have done built-ins, but I don't have that kind of money. I do have $100 as a temporary fix, though, and I think these shelves look great for what they are.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GF08
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shipping was awful
3/27/2010

Customer review by oldmanwithhammer

2.0 stars 3/27/2010 by oldmanwithhammer
by oldmanwithhammer

My review would have been much more positive IF the items as boxed and shipped had arrived without major damage. The long upright parts are not sufficiently protected in the box. I ordered four of the bookcases and was able to salvage enough parts from the four to put ONE bookcase together before I had to request Ameriwood to replace all the other end panels. They all had been split widthwise or had large chunks of the corners broken off. The bookcases, if you can get them in constructable form, are good. But beware having them shipped to you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldmanwithhammer
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Expected an inexpensive temporary storage fix...
3/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this product because I have tons, I mean 100s, of books that are just sitting in boxes and I wanted to display them. By no means was I expected something glamorous or a permanent solution to my book storage problem. However I was hoping to have something that would at least last me 6 months - 1 year until I could afford something that was real wood. This bookcase didn't even make it to the wall before giving out under its own pressure. All I did was stand it upright after finishing completing it and the bottom two side pieces cracked in half. There is no way that is a construction error (and mind you, I'm a college student & single parent, most of my furniture is inexpensive and requires similar assembly because I cannot afford much else). I understand that when I buy a bookcase for $25 not to expect it to be spectacular or last forever, but for heaven sakes, the thing should be able to support its own weight!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
2/5/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/5/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read the reviews for this item before I purchased it. I knew it wasn't high quality pieces and I accepted that. This was for a book shelf in one of my boys rooms. I needed it to match his furniture and hold and organize his games etc. It wouldn't be seen much and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I thought this would do the job. What I didn't expect was to order 2 of these bookshelves and both of them had major issues with the individual pieces. Both book shelves had pieces with several deep scratches or the edges had been banged and were unusable. The instructions say not to take it back to the store (I couldn't really anyway because they were purchased online) but to call the manufacturer. I placed the order for the replacements parts. The manufacturer website says you will receive most items within a week, 2 tops. Well 10 days after I placed the replacement part order, I received an email telling me they were shipping the items out that day and I should receive the items in about a week. So now we are on 2 weeks and by the time I will receive the parts, it will be 3 weeks since I have placed the parts order. I have 2 partially put together bookshelves that have been sitting in my living room all this time. I emailed a complaint to the company regarding the poor customer service and I have not received a response. I would not under any circumstance recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great buy
8/11/2009

Customer review by hwy54

5.0 stars 8/11/2009 by hwy54
by hwy54

I had drawn up plans to build two book shelves and was headed to Lowes after leaving Wal-Mart. Checked the furniture dept and found these for $29! Got two, took them home, looked at the instructions, worked out the kinks on the first unit, whizzed through the second one. Needed enough space for the finished product, did it myself at 67 and slid one into my office and the other in the hall to stand between two shorter book shelves. I'm headed back for two more for the garage! Just be careful with the little black screw things...they are used to keep the side from swinging loose. Take your time and you will do fine. The top shelf is painted on one side, be sure it faces into the unit, same with the center shelf. First you assemble the 4-sided bottom section, then assemble the upper 3-sided section and attach to the bottom. You will like them. NOT for 200-lb items per shelf.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hwy54
Santa Claus, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent economy bookshelf
8/20/2009

Customer review by FamilyNursePractitioner

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by FamilyNursePractitioner
by FamilyNursePractitioner

You truly get what you pay for. It is a simple economic bookshelf. Walmart has carried this line of bookshelves for years now. I bought the same product about 7 years ago. It is still standing tall on-duty today. After 4 years I reinforced all four corners with "L" brackets for $2.00 from LOWES. It may not match with your exotic furniture. But, it does the job for any college student living in the dorm or a small apartment. It was a little work to put it together. So, just get some help.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FamilyNursePractitioner
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Piece of Furniture
12/20/2009

Customer review by TojoOTM77

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by TojoOTM77
by TojoOTM77

I have had two of these since June, both are still holding up well, they do not show any signs of sagging or leaning. The assembly is fairly straight forward, I think for those who have never assembled furniture might find the directions a little confusing. The only complaint I have about this piece of furniture is the weight, it was kinda heavy to carry in from the car. I used to assemble & deliver furniture & this piece is very much like the furniture I worked with, except for the price, much cheaper at W-M. I would gladly own more like this if I didn't live in an apartment. Others who have had problems with this & showed pictures of the furniture collapsing might not have properly assembled the piece. One picture shows the sides & shelves laying in a heap on the floor but the backing was still standing, that tells me they did not assemble the shelf(s) properly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TojoOTM77
Columbia, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A fairly good bookcase
6/23/2010

Customer review by Harlydoc

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by Harlydoc
by Harlydoc

At twenty five bucks delivered, this is an exceptional value, but I do have a few reservations. The first time I ordered and received this item, it came broken. I had no problem returning it to my local Walmart, but it was wasted time. The second thing, this is a two piece cabinet design, made from several smaller pieces. Until the two halves are joined, it is very fragile, and awkward to handle...get help. The third thing, the fastening hardware is pot metal. Do not over-torque, or the fasteners will strip out. Once assembled, this bookcase seems sturdy enough and looks pretty good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harlydoc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mainstays 5 Shelf Bookcase-Alder
11/20/2009

Customer review by school44

3.0 stars 11/20/2009 by school44
by school44

These are basic book-shelves. No frills, no extras. For the price they are exactly what you would expect and they perform their function well. In the future, if I purchased them I would do it at the store. In shipping, the side panel of the bookcase had broken completely in half, so I ended up having to take it back to a store and make the exchange anyway. These shelves aren't beautiful, but they're also not junk. I would purchase them again as very basic, but functional bookcases.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
school44
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 223 total reviews
1-20 of 223 reviews