Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-18 of 18 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Cheaply made
12/11/2009

Customer review by TiggerTheTiger23

2.0 stars 12/11/2009 by TiggerTheTiger23
by TiggerTheTiger23

* Instead of using four metal supports in each shelf, the back two were plastic. * The backboard barely fit on the back. It was so short no guide holes were provided and was attached on the edge only (not across the middle to each shelf). * The laminate was done in a way that made the edges look worn. * Like others, my doors would not align properly. * The particle board was so weak you had to be careful not turn the screws in too hard. * Instead of Durable in the description, they should use flimsy. >>> I used silicon caulking on the seams to make it more sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiggerTheTiger23
Irondale, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Suits my needs
3/9/2010

Customer review by FrazzleTaz

4.0 stars 3/9/2010 by FrazzleTaz
by FrazzleTaz

When I inspected the shelves, I noticed two were only 11.75" deep (the adjustable shelves). This is meant to be, but I was unaware before I received it. I would have preferred all shelves be 14.25" deep, like the fixed shelf. The top and bottom are 14.5" deep. There seems no reason for the difference in depth (the doors are mounted ouside). From bottom up, space between each shelf is 15.25", 14-3/8", 12.25", 13.75" (assuming you use the middle sets of holes for the two adjustable shelves - there are 3 sets of holes for each shelf) or 30.25" and 26.5" if not using the adjustable shelves. Interior is 21-3/8" wide, 57-1/8" high, 14.5" deep. The bottom is only 13.5" deep behind the door latches which are 4.25" wide total. Exterior when closed is 60.25" high, 23" wide including hinges, 16.75" deep including door handles. With doors open 90 degrees, width is 24" (26.5" including handles), depth is 26.25". The hinges allow the door to swing open about 200 degrees. Placing two cabinets together would require a gap of about an inch or more to prevent the doors from butting up against the other cabinet when opening. I am 5'11" and I noticed the handles are a little low for my tastes (roughly 28" to 33" from the floor, 3.5" inside each handle, 5.25" outside, 7/8" deep arch inside, 1.25" deep arch outside, each handle is about 3/8" thick). Thickness of the boards is only half-inch. Would have preferred 3/4-inch like the Mainstays bookcases. Took me about an hour to assemble including adjusting door hinges. The cam locks are only used in the front of the cabinet. Compression dowels (plastic with ridges) are used in the back. Would have preferred cam locks front and back. The door hinges are adjustable so as to correct any alignment issues. Mine looks perfectly squared (had to adjust to get it that way, adjusted again once loaded down). The cabinet itself, however, is a little out of square, mainly due to holes in one side being off from the holes in the other at the top shelf. This seems to happen sometimes with all of Mainstays furniture. My experience will be shared by some but not most. It is minimal (about 1/12"). Kids could ruin the hinges pretty quickly if they swung the doors all the way open all the time. The door latches would have been better placed under the middle shelf rather than at the top and bottom of the cabinet. They are made of plastic, but the kind that seems to be firm yet flexible. They should holdup for a long time. They are more secure than necessary to simply keep doors closed. I worry the doors will eventully warp out in the middle. My main problem with the door latches is the noise created when I open and close the doors. The handles were very hard to screw in place. Use a good screwdriver and firm grip to prevent stripping the screwheads. The plastic used does seem to be able to withstand the pulling required to open the doors over the longterm. I am unlikely to load it fully (rated 50 pounds per shelf). They say to only place up to 10 pounds on the top of the cabinet. Suits my needs just fine. As to the look of the cabinet, the adhesive used on the veneer tends to be exposed along the edge and can create a light-brown edge. This is not noticeable in their woodgrain cabinet, but may be considered unsightly against the white for some people. It doesn't bother me personally (only noticeable when inspecting closeup). Casual glances will not yield any notice from most. Overall, I feared much worse, so I feel I got pretty good return on my $49. One suggestion, getting two of these cabinets may be a better investment than buying one of the $88 cabinets from Orion. For $10 more ($98 for two of these) you get close to 14" more width, but you do lose a little depth. If one cabinet fails over time, you can just replace it for another $49 cabinet rather than replace an $88 cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrazzleTaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do Not Buy This Product
11/18/2009

Customer review by mejiaroots

1.0 stars 11/18/2009 by mejiaroots
by mejiaroots

I just purchased the storage cabinet and quickly learned that it was a waste of money. The fake particle wood crumbles around the screw holes as I quickly found out when I started to put the cabinet together. The instructions are not very clear as well. I even tried to use my drill and srew in some screws so to salvage the cabinet, but to no avail. I also sent the company an e-mail message to replace some of the boards with no response. The instructions says I should not return it to the store. My recommendation is for Walmart not to sell this poor quality product even though the price is reasonable as compared to the cabinets in a much higher price line. This was a total waste of my $. I bought it at the Raynham, MA SUper Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mejiaroots
Swansea, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
9/28/2009

Customer review by MrsZeitoun

3.0 stars 9/28/2009 by MrsZeitoun
by MrsZeitoun

I guess you get what you pay for... the cabinet does its job, but it did take a while to put together, and even though my husband and I were very careful doing it, the doors were a little bit crooked. I thought it would give me more space than it does. I guess for what I paid it does fine though.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsZeitoun
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheaper than what I was expecting...
12/27/2009

Customer review by LilMrsShopper80

3.0 stars 12/27/2009 by LilMrsShopper80
by LilMrsShopper80

We were looking for a cabinet to serve as a pantry. This cabinet has a great price, but is cheaper that what we expected...even for the low price. The cabinet must be built and can still be uneven. There are no guides, just instructions, so have patience. Be aware this each shelf doesn't hold much weight and the backing isn't sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LilMrsShopper80
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
4/27/2010

Customer review by thunderdragon84

5.0 stars 4/27/2010 by thunderdragon84
by thunderdragon84

Bought 2 of these when the original cabinets I bought for the bathrooms weren't big enough to hold towels. Now I have plenty of room for my towels. The only setback is it takes up much more room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thunderdragon84
Boulder, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Cheap
11/30/2009

Customer review by k1ba

2.0 stars 11/30/2009 by k1ba
by k1ba

This product is cheap, flimsy, and unstable. I would definitely recommend spending a little extra to get one that is better quality. The back of the cabnit is a piece of cardboard. The pieces that keep the door closed broke the first time we closed the door. The directions are just pictures, no explanations. Do yourself a favor and learn from my mistake; do not buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
k1ba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Great storage cabinet
10/9/2011

Customer review by Savy22

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Savy22
by Savy22

Just what I was looking for. Fits the bill. Great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savy22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a good inexpensive cabinet
12/5/2009

Customer review by RobertB

4.0 stars 12/5/2009 by RobertB
by RobertB

We bought three for the basement. Each one took around 45 minutes to put together. Typical assembly. Must take care not to strip the screws in the presswood. It's a good value for your money. I wouldn't be happy if they were $250 apiece, but they were $50 apiece so they're fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobertB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy for the price
9/14/2009

Customer review by nightbird47

4.0 stars 9/14/2009 by nightbird47
by nightbird47

I took it slow and it went together fairly easily, but I added screws into the shelves for added stabilty. I also addes sliders for the bottom to move it around. Its a nice looking cabinet and I like the way the doors latch so my animals can't pull them open. I'm using it in an office/storage/guestroom so it fits nicely and helps get my stuff behind closed doors. Several would give you a lot of storage and be more modular than larger shelves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nightbird47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Inexpensive Cabinet
12/3/2009

Customer review by happysmile123

3.0 stars 12/3/2009 by happysmile123
by happysmile123

I ordered this cabinet because the size of the cabinet fit perfect in a space I have in my bathroom. I needed the cabinet to store bath towels and hair products. It's a Cheap material but it's also a cheap price. Overall is good for the purpose I needed. The only upsetting point is that it arrived with a 4 inch cracked on the bottom of one of the side panel. The crack was not exposed so I decided to keep it instead of going through a hassle of packing it up again, returning the cabinet and waiting for another to arrive. Installation was easy, but a little time consuming.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happysmile123
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
11/11/2009

Customer review by Jojo730

3.0 stars 11/11/2009 by Jojo730
by Jojo730

It isnt a fantastic piece of furniture, nor a terrible piece... it is very average. I'm a super bargain shopper and personally, I think I couldve found something better for the price. It is a bit cheap looking, but with something nice placed on top takes the attention off the piece. It does its purpose, stores. We use it to store binders and books in the home office. Once we put it together we stopped, looking at it and said "eh". It is an "eh"... not a "wow" but not an "iiww".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jojo730
Astoria, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
bad
9/18/2009

Customer review by 10yrsandholding

3.0 stars 9/18/2009 by 10yrsandholding
by 10yrsandholding

I purchased this item to use as a storage unit for my kitchen. I know it was only around $40 but it was junk. It was very flimsy and the inside clip that holds the door closed, broke the first time opening the door. The doors are uneven, even though we tried to redo them. I would not recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10yrsandholding
upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice cabinet for the money.
2/14/2010

Customer review by Nek1957

3.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Nek1957
by Nek1957

Iwould'nt recommend this product for heavy use, such as kitchen use for jars and cans with alot of weight. We use it in the bathroom for all our towels and stuff like that and it looks great. It went together very easy though the back panel shoud be made just a little wider. Other than that were happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nek1957
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product for the money
2/22/2010

Customer review by bkbro

3.0 stars 2/22/2010 by bkbro
by bkbro

This isn't fine furniture, but for the price I didn't expect it to be. There weren't any missing parts. Everything fit. The instructions were adequate. I've got no complaints. I'm using two of these units as kitchen pantry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bkbro
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Won't close without a fight
11/24/2009

Customer review by MariaandJohn

1.0 stars 11/24/2009 by MariaandJohn
by MariaandJohn

Inside door hinges were not aligned correctly causing half of the cabinet to be crooked and not close properly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MariaandJohn
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pitiful excuse for a product!
2/2/2010

Customer review by rchshirt

1.0 stars 2/2/2010 by rchshirt
by rchshirt

Upon opening the box, found back panel to be of a piece of cardoard the thickness of a dress shirt back. Then saw that neither side was white to match the rest of the shelf. Upon calling manufacturer was told they were redoing this product. They would send the proper white back panel. Then, upon assembly the metal cam locks fell apart while simply tightening! What a horror show. Now, am stuck with a piece of junk until better parts arrive. This is definitely not a product I would recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rchshirt
Dexter, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Dont buy it
12/9/2009

Customer review by saycheez1234

1.0 stars 12/9/2009 by saycheez1234
by saycheez1234

This is a worst storage cabinet I have ever bought, does not align well, looks dirty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saycheez1234
Would recommend to a friend? No