Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 39 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Perfect.
2/2/2016

Customer review by msbav8r

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by msbav8r
by msbav8r

Was able to, finally, transfer music and photos from several old hard drives from previous computers. Had it set up in minutes and was able to transfer files from both IDE and SATA hard drives to my new laptop. Includes everything you need and is affordably priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msbav8r
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice enclosure for permanent drive installations
12/28/2011

Customer review by mprewett

4.0 stars 12/28/2011 by mprewett
by mprewett

This is a really nice little enclosure that does what I want it to. It fits IDE and SATA drives and connects plug and play through the USB ports. The only con is that the connects aren't really designed to have drives swapping out on a regular basis. I busted the power connector for the drives because I was swapping out multiple drives of an evening and the effort needed to disconnect the power plug from the drive caused me to loose one of the wires from its mooring. I say mooring because the wires are not soldered to the plug but are a quick connect type with a sort of cut-connect that strips the plastic from the wire when you attach the wire to the plug. I reconnected the wire and hobbled through the drives I needed to download. I'm happy. It worked for what I needed it to, but if you're looking for something that is no hassle, use this only for permanently installing the drive in the enclosure. It's not designed with enough sturdiness to truly handle regular drive swapping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mprewett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
12/27/2009

Customer review by Perezj

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by Perezj
by Perezj
Walmart associate

This product delivered everything it promised. I'm using it to copy files from old drives to my new 1tb hard drive. It works flawlessly. No setup required. Just plug-and-play. Having the ability to do both ATA and SATA drive is a definete plus. Eventually I'm going to use this as a back-up drive but right now I haven't even closed the case. I just keep switching between old drives. Walmart delivered this product on time as promised. It was cheaper than Ebay, Amazon, Newegg, and Tigerdirect.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Perezj
Atlanta Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great Alternative
3/29/2010

Customer review by TKJCE

5.0 stars 3/29/2010 by TKJCE
by TKJCE

I bought this to first of all connect problem hard drives to my computer to try to recover data for friends. The beauty is that you can connect your own spare drive for day to day back up of your own data as well. With connections for both SATA and IDE as well as a cooling fan they pretty much have everything covered. Nice product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TKJCE
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Value
12/3/2009

Customer review by MaadMaax

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by MaadMaax
by MaadMaax

My computer died and I saved the old hard drives, but they weren't compatible with my new computer. I saw this, wondered if it would work, and bought it. It does exactly what it says it will do. I have been able to recover all my old files and, after reformatting the old drive, I use this as my backup for all my work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaadMaax
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hard Drive Enclosure
9/13/2009

Customer review by luapfromNH

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by luapfromNH
by luapfromNH

This unit can accomodate either IDE or SATA and has a cooling fan. Hard combination to find. This came with a small screwdriver just in case. Recommended

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luapfromNH
Brentwood, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exactly what I needed
3/28/2011

Customer review by MalteseFan

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by MalteseFan
by MalteseFan

When our desktop died and we replaced the tower (another excellent WalMart purchase, by the way), we needed a way to get photos, videos, etc. off the old hard drive and onto the new one, but the new tower had no expansion bays. Then I spotted this device on Site-to-Store for under $30. It arrived inside a week, is actually more attractive than the pictures suggest, and is so easy to use. The drives are a bit snug in the case, but are easy to swap out, especially if you remove both sides to better manipulate the drives in and out. It was plug 'n play easy once attaced to the new computer, and it was a breeze go through files of the old hard drive and copy important items to the new computer. And now we can still use the old hard drive as a backup device. This thing was perfect! NOTE: You can only use the eSATA port on this device if the hard drive you place in it is the SATA type, and your computer also has an eSATA port. Otherwise, don't buy an eSATA cable since you won't be able to use it. Which is OK, since the USB works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MalteseFan
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice
5/17/2010

Customer review by BonicD

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by BonicD
by BonicD

I really like the idea of the built in cooling fan. It is not loud. So, if your having issues with noise its probably your hard drive not the fan. The unit itself is kinda big, but no bigger than a standard external HD. Hard drive fits in tight, so be careful not to break anything. I used it temporarily to remove data from two 80GB HD's with no problems. I now have a 500GB Seagate Barracuda permanently installed. Its on most of the day and doesn't seem to get hot. The supplied USB cable is short. I replaced it with a 20' cord so it can be connected to my MacBook Pro even on the other side of the room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonicD
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Price
6/22/2011

Customer review by Maikeru2430

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Maikeru2430
by Maikeru2430

I bought the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB hard drive enclosure first and foremost because it was an inexpensive enclosure with a cooling fan. For the price, you can't bet it. It worked right out of the box with the hard drive I have. I must note, there are no clear cut instructions for installing the hard drive. If this is your first time utilizing a hard drive enclosure you may want to Google the process for more detailed steps. In any case, if you're looking for a dependable enclosure for your IDE or SATA hard drive the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 is a great deal worth looking at.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maikeru2430
Flora, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the Trick
3/2/2010

Customer review by DMGofNM

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by DMGofNM
by DMGofNM

Very good product. Good construction, good cooling!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DMGofNM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DOA Enclosure
6/7/2011

Customer review by Pestopian

1.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Pestopian
by Pestopian

This thing did not work right out of the box. I have over 10 years of experience in the computer industry, this certainly wasn't do to improper configuration or installation of the drive. Everything fit perfectly well and seemed well enough, but when I hit the power.. nothing.. I had to jiggle the plug and tweak it around until it finally clicked on. Once it came on, i couldn't get the USB or eSATA to recognize on my Windows 7 laptop, Windows Vista laptop, or on my Macbook Pro on OSX. I saw several other reviews of this thing acting the same way so I'm not surprised. This was quickly returned to my local store for credit.. DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pestopian
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Did not work
11/19/2011

Customer review by WernerH

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by WernerH
by WernerH

The Sabrent EC-UEIS7 hard drive enclosure didn't work at all. Very poor directions, but easily figured out. Drive was very cramped inside the case. I tried 2 hard drives that I knew were good. (I tried the enclosure with an XP SP3 PC and a Windows 7 laptop.) Unit powered up and drives spun up. PC/laptop didn't recognize that a new USB device was connected. I tried 2 USB cables that were known to be good. Tried the master, slave, and single jumper connections, but nothing worked. Neither the PC/laptop's Device Manager nor Disk Manager could see the drives. Unit was returned to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WernerH
san antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
The Perfect Solution
5/16/2010

Customer review by WalmartHefty

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by WalmartHefty
by WalmartHefty

I bought this because my old desktop overheated and fried the motherboard. It would have cost almost as much to have someone fix that as to buy one of the new Emachines desktops from Wal-Mart (mine was $398) which has Windows 7, tons of RAM and lot's of room on hard drive. Anyway, my old hard drive was still working fine (computer would not boot though) and had lot's pictures and other files on it. A techy type friend recommended getting an enclosure device and just using it as an external hard drive rather than trying to transfer all of my old pictures and files to the new computer. This thing was super easy to do even for me. I uncrewed the old hard drive, snapped it into the enclosure, screwed the case together and the it was plug and play as they say. Great value and super easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartHefty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as advertised; more than reasonable price.
4/5/2012

Customer review by Offewneeds

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Offewneeds
by Offewneeds

Bought unit to salvage & make use of HD from desk top computer that died, along with attempt to make use of other individual components that were still functional. As commented by others, buyers should open unit (with supplied screw driver!) to perhaps secure fan assmbly., (mine was loose) or to assure airflow is in proper direction. Easily done as fan can be easily flipped over and is held in position by "detents". Positives: Will handle both SATA & PATA HD Supplied power cord w/on-off switch. Pictorial instructions for those that can't read. Sturdy aluminum case - additional heat dissipation. Stand for vertical mounting included. Unit can be used to retrieve existing data from HD; or, used to run secondary external HD.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Offewneeds
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great case for the money
2/7/2012

Customer review by Rhomoruel

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Rhomoruel
by Rhomoruel

This is my second purchase of this case. I am using this case as a swappable removable media case for my Windows Small Business Server Essentials backup swap-out. It supports Sata and ATA drives internally and supports E-SATA and USB externally. It has a cooling fan which is a must for drive reliability. It also has status LED lights letting you know when there is drive activity. The case is well built and provides exceptional reliability due to the cooling fan and the low price is an added boost. Why would you pay $10-$15 or even more for a case with the same capabilities just for some brand name. I totally recommend this case for its intended uses.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhomoruel
Monroe, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sabrent EC-UEIS7
1/5/2015

Customer review by malo69

5.0 stars 1/5/2015 by malo69
by malo69

This was the cheapest enclosure with a fan I could find. It fit my sata 500 g drive nicely and was tight, insuring a good metal to metal contact/heat sink. The fan is an added pro. Since I'm using the enclosure to harbor a drive for a server, I can see any hits by the blue leds blinking. This was a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
malo69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Simple Install
8/5/2011

Customer review by PyramidComics

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by PyramidComics
by PyramidComics

Instructions are worthless, and are really unnecessary. Super Simple Install of your pre-formatted hard drive (ten screws, two cables, one usb cable and power supply later) takes less then 5 minutes and your up and running. Everything needed is in box, including the screw driver (an unexpected, but very nice touch). Please note: Make your life easy and pre-format your NEW hard drive first. If your using an older/used drive you can format them from within windows if you wish, but you do not have too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PyramidComics
Sparta NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
better than most
10/15/2009

Customer review by MackRight

4.0 stars 10/15/2009 by MackRight
by MackRight

Though I've only given it limited use I'm pleased with being able to use old and new type drives. Pleasantly surprised that you don't have to put screws in the drive. Just close the cover and its held firmly (at least the ones I tried). Being in a tropical climate I feel that the fan is a must. Many drives crash due to heat. And Walmart online Rocks! - Good products, fast service and reasonable shipping to an island state that many companies treat like a foreign country.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MackRight
Mililani, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Internal Fan is DOA
2/12/2013

Customer review by SBUVictor

2.0 stars 2/12/2013 by SBUVictor
by SBUVictor

I bought this because the internal connector supports IDE and SATA drives which is different than most external enclosures. I opened the case and the I noticed the fan didn't spin up which it why I gave it 2 stars. Pros: Has IDE and SATA internal connectors. eSATA and USB outside which makes this compatible with many different systems. Cons: I just installed a full-height 3.5" SATA drive and it seems not to fit. There's only enough room for a slimline drive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SBUVictor
Stony Brook, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Used merchandise
1/7/2012

Customer review by wimberdude

2.0 stars 1/7/2012 by wimberdude
by wimberdude

I purchased this item expecting a factory fresh, sealed unit. What I received was a previously opened and hastily repacked, used item. The inner bags were open, the accessory wires and connectors were loose in the box, and the screw heads were damaged by someone with Popeye-like screwdriver skills. The product seems to work, so I will decide later whether to return it. (Hopefully, it would not be re-sold to another naive customer. I am somewhat disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wimberdude
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews