Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 49 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Nice enclosure for permanent drive installations
12/28/2011

Customer review by mprewett

4.0 stars 12/28/2011 by mprewett
by mprewett

This is a really nice little enclosure that does what I want it to. It fits IDE and SATA drives and connects plug and play through the USB ports. The only con is that the connects aren't really designed to have drives swapping out on a regular basis. I busted the power connector for the drives because I was swapping out multiple drives of an evening and the effort needed to disconnect the power plug from the drive caused me to loose one of the wires from its mooring. I say mooring because the wires are not soldered to the plug but are a quick connect type with a sort of cut-connect that strips the plastic from the wire when you attach the wire to the plug. I reconnected the wire and hobbled through the drives I needed to download. I'm happy. It worked for what I needed it to, but if you're looking for something that is no hassle, use this only for permanently installing the drive in the enclosure. It's not designed with enough sturdiness to truly handle regular drive swapping.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mprewett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quiet fan.
2/13/2017

Customer review by Dilbert

3.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Dilbert
by Dilbert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fan is very quiet. Difficult to install 3.5" SATA drive in this case.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dilbert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IDE/SATA Hard Drive Enclosure
1/27/2017

Customer review by RetiredITProfessional

5.0 stars 1/27/2017 by RetiredITProfessional
by RetiredITProfessional
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product! Works as described. Great for using spare drives (IDE or SATA) for file backup or as an extra drive for a PC. Money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredITProfessional
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Alternative
3/29/2010

Customer review by TKJCE

5.0 stars 3/29/2010 by TKJCE
by TKJCE

I bought this to first of all connect problem hard drives to my computer to try to recover data for friends. The beauty is that you can connect your own spare drive for day to day back up of your own data as well. With connections for both SATA and IDE as well as a cooling fan they pretty much have everything covered. Nice product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TKJCE
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
12/27/2009

Customer review by Perezj

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by Perezj
by Perezj
Walmart associate

This product delivered everything it promised. I'm using it to copy files from old drives to my new 1tb hard drive. It works flawlessly. No setup required. Just plug-and-play. Having the ability to do both ATA and SATA drive is a definete plus. Eventually I'm going to use this as a back-up drive but right now I haven't even closed the case. I just keep switching between old drives. Walmart delivered this product on time as promised. It was cheaper than Ebay, Amazon, Newegg, and Tigerdirect.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Perezj
Atlanta Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Works
1/15/2017

Customer review by oldcyberman

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by oldcyberman
by oldcyberman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice product, works as advertised, keeps hard drive cool. Blue lights on it are kinda bright, but let you know it's working.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldcyberman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Value
12/3/2009

Customer review by MaadMaax

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by MaadMaax
by MaadMaax

My computer died and I saved the old hard drives, but they weren't compatible with my new computer. I saw this, wondered if it would work, and bought it. It does exactly what it says it will do. I have been able to recover all my old files and, after reformatting the old drive, I use this as my backup for all my work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaadMaax
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sabrent EC-UEIS7
12/24/2016

Customer review by DOGSCAN

5.0 stars 12/24/2016 by DOGSCAN
by DOGSCAN

THE CASE WORKS GREAT. This review is about the support. The first case I ordered didn't work. I emailed support about the troubles I was having, and within 3 weeks a brand new one showed up in the mail. Amazing since I never ask for one and I didn't have to fill out an RMA or send the broken one back, I hope people will read this, I know that Sabrent will be the first place I go for my P>C> needs. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOGSCAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hard Drive Enclosure
9/13/2009

Customer review by luapfromNH

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by luapfromNH
by luapfromNH

This unit can accomodate either IDE or SATA and has a cooling fan. Hard combination to find. This came with a small screwdriver just in case. Recommended

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luapfromNH
Brentwood, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exactly what I needed
3/28/2011

Customer review by MalteseFan

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by MalteseFan
by MalteseFan

When our desktop died and we replaced the tower (another excellent WalMart purchase, by the way), we needed a way to get photos, videos, etc. off the old hard drive and onto the new one, but the new tower had no expansion bays. Then I spotted this device on Site-to-Store for under $30. It arrived inside a week, is actually more attractive than the pictures suggest, and is so easy to use. The drives are a bit snug in the case, but are easy to swap out, especially if you remove both sides to better manipulate the drives in and out. It was plug 'n play easy once attaced to the new computer, and it was a breeze go through files of the old hard drive and copy important items to the new computer. And now we can still use the old hard drive as a backup device. This thing was perfect! NOTE: You can only use the eSATA port on this device if the hard drive you place in it is the SATA type, and your computer also has an eSATA port. Otherwise, don't buy an eSATA cable since you won't be able to use it. Which is OK, since the USB works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MalteseFan
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice
5/17/2010

Customer review by BonicD

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by BonicD
by BonicD

I really like the idea of the built in cooling fan. It is not loud. So, if your having issues with noise its probably your hard drive not the fan. The unit itself is kinda big, but no bigger than a standard external HD. Hard drive fits in tight, so be careful not to break anything. I used it temporarily to remove data from two 80GB HD's with no problems. I now have a 500GB Seagate Barracuda permanently installed. Its on most of the day and doesn't seem to get hot. The supplied USB cable is short. I replaced it with a 20' cord so it can be connected to my MacBook Pro even on the other side of the room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonicD
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Price
6/22/2011

Customer review by Maikeru2430

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Maikeru2430
by Maikeru2430

I bought the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB hard drive enclosure first and foremost because it was an inexpensive enclosure with a cooling fan. For the price, you can't bet it. It worked right out of the box with the hard drive I have. I must note, there are no clear cut instructions for installing the hard drive. If this is your first time utilizing a hard drive enclosure you may want to Google the process for more detailed steps. In any case, if you're looking for a dependable enclosure for your IDE or SATA hard drive the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 is a great deal worth looking at.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maikeru2430
Flora, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could not be easier
11/21/2016

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Jeff
by Jeff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Adding my external drive to this expansion box was about a 5 minute job from start to finish, i now have 4Tb of external storage for my use from a device i was able to rescue from an old dead iMac! Highly recommend it, the price is much lower than the local electronic stores and once i completed my order the product was shipped to my house via UPS, arrived when expected and was as if i had pulled it off the shelf myself! Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the Trick
3/2/2010

Customer review by DMGofNM

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by DMGofNM
by DMGofNM

Very good product. Good construction, good cooling!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DMGofNM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DOA Enclosure
6/7/2011

Customer review by Pestopian

1.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Pestopian
by Pestopian

This thing did not work right out of the box. I have over 10 years of experience in the computer industry, this certainly wasn't do to improper configuration or installation of the drive. Everything fit perfectly well and seemed well enough, but when I hit the power.. nothing.. I had to jiggle the plug and tweak it around until it finally clicked on. Once it came on, i couldn't get the USB or eSATA to recognize on my Windows 7 laptop, Windows Vista laptop, or on my Macbook Pro on OSX. I saw several other reviews of this thing acting the same way so I'm not surprised. This was quickly returned to my local store for credit.. DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pestopian
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Did not work
11/19/2011

Customer review by WernerH

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by WernerH
by WernerH

The Sabrent EC-UEIS7 hard drive enclosure didn't work at all. Very poor directions, but easily figured out. Drive was very cramped inside the case. I tried 2 hard drives that I knew were good. (I tried the enclosure with an XP SP3 PC and a Windows 7 laptop.) Unit powered up and drives spun up. PC/laptop didn't recognize that a new USB device was connected. I tried 2 USB cables that were known to be good. Tried the master, slave, and single jumper connections, but nothing worked. Neither the PC/laptop's Device Manager nor Disk Manager could see the drives. Unit was returned to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WernerH
san antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
The Perfect Solution
5/16/2010

Customer review by WalmartHefty

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by WalmartHefty
by WalmartHefty

I bought this because my old desktop overheated and fried the motherboard. It would have cost almost as much to have someone fix that as to buy one of the new Emachines desktops from Wal-Mart (mine was $398) which has Windows 7, tons of RAM and lot's of room on hard drive. Anyway, my old hard drive was still working fine (computer would not boot though) and had lot's pictures and other files on it. A techy type friend recommended getting an enclosure device and just using it as an external hard drive rather than trying to transfer all of my old pictures and files to the new computer. This thing was super easy to do even for me. I uncrewed the old hard drive, snapped it into the enclosure, screwed the case together and the it was plug and play as they say. Great value and super easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartHefty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recovered !!
8/2/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Bill
by Bill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This worked great. Solved a problem I had about getting to files on an old broken computer. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as advertised; more than reasonable price.
4/5/2012

Customer review by Offewneeds

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Offewneeds
by Offewneeds

Bought unit to salvage & make use of HD from desk top computer that died, along with attempt to make use of other individual components that were still functional. As commented by others, buyers should open unit (with supplied screw driver!) to perhaps secure fan assmbly., (mine was loose) or to assure airflow is in proper direction. Easily done as fan can be easily flipped over and is held in position by "detents". Positives: Will handle both SATA & PATA HD Supplied power cord w/on-off switch. Pictorial instructions for those that can't read. Sturdy aluminum case - additional heat dissipation. Stand for vertical mounting included. Unit can be used to retrieve existing data from HD; or, used to run secondary external HD.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Offewneeds
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does Good
6/25/2016

Customer review by LIBDoggone

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by LIBDoggone
by LIBDoggone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does a Good Job can be used for IDE or SADA . A negative could be that it takes a short time to install it ,and it would not be idea for changing out different drives. Positives would be that it runs smooth, has a fan, and a switch to turn it on and off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LIBDoggone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews