Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 12028 reviews
5 stars
9836
4 stars
1879
3 stars
218
2 stars
41
1 stars
54
Sort by: 
1-20 of 12010 reviews
1-20 of 12010 reviews
No more stinky cat
8/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's the only cat food that doesn't upset my cat's stomach and make him f@rt. I'm very thankful for this cat food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
9/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great food, with lots of protein. My cat is very healthy and has eaten this all of his life. Purina makes my cat stay healthy and that keeps smiles on everyone's faces.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very pleased
4/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for a decent quality brand of pet food that won't break the bank. When I asked my vet what a good brand would be (not even mentioning financial concerns or telling her what I was currently using), she advised me against the extremes - the pricey foods (Hill Science Diet, Blue Buffalo, etc.) & the super cheap (Special Kitty, etc.) Purina was one of the brands she mentioned as being a trusted brand. I switched from Iams & have been feeding my cat Purina for a few years now & a neighbor's cat that comes over to visit. I alternate sometimes between the Purina lines: Cat Chow, One, & Naturals. (I have not had any issues with that except the visiting cat comes over more often. lol) I'm getting the same results as I was with Iams: their coats both feel healthy & smooth. They have an appropriate amount of energy & don't have any disgestive issues. I did try a slightly cheaper brand (Friskies) when my store was out of Purina. BIG mistake. My vet said some cats can handle it, but I quickly learned mine could not. They ended up with dry skin, lost luster in their coats, & had horrible gas. So long story short, it's about the cheapest decent quality food, my cats like eating it, they seem healthy, & my vet approves.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Purina Indoor Cat Food
10/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have tried many brands of cat food for my three cats aged 2-13 years and this is the only product they will eat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Cat Food
1/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I think this is an excellent cat food compare to most...Every since I have switched my cats to this cat food, they hardly ever bring up a fur ball or vomit. I would recommend this to anyone that has an indoor cat. I didn't realize at how much it had stopped them from bringing up their fur balls or whatever else was in their stomachs till one week we had to use a different brand and boy was that a huge mistake...they were getting sick just about every day on that other brand till I got them back on the Cat Chow Indoor. If you haven't already tried it, give it a try I'm sure you won't be going back to anything else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent food for your "lazy" cats :)
9/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is much better than the Friskies brand in that it doesn't stain your carpeting/bedding/flooring if the cat happens to vomit. I found with the Friskies that it would leave a red-orange stain behind due to the dyes in the food. The Cat Chow Indoor also seems easier for my cat to chew since the pieces are a bit smaller as well and she does have a tendency to gulp at her food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula
5/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a complete and balanced diet. I am a vet tech student and have learned so very much about the nutritional content of food as far as ingredients and labeling. The important aspects of this food: Turkey is the #1 ingredient. Cats are obligate carnivores and need meat, so this is good. Brewers rice and poultry by-product meal are NOT fillers. These ingredients are actually very nutritional for your cat! And most importantly, the AAFCO feeding label. EVERY pet food product should have an AAFCO label and if it doesn't, do not feed it to your pet!! This can be found under the ingredient list. Looking for this: "Animal feeding tests using Association of American Feed Control Official (AAFCO) procedures substantiate that (product name) provides complete and balanced nutriton for maintenance of (growth stage)." THIS IS THE IMPORTANT PART OF THE FOOD LABEL! Ingredient come secondary to this labeling. Purina meets all the requirements needed for a vet tech to feed this to her own cat :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Indoor Formula worked for me
6/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have to feed our four cats Niggy, Sierra, Tom, and Sugar, but I don't always have a lot of money. So after trying multiple brands of cat food at mid-level prices, I finally found Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula. My cats, like almost all cats, have sensitive digestive systems and they get hairballs a lot. The kind of cat food you buy will definitely have an effect on hairballs and upset stomachs. All of the other cheaper indoor cat food won't control their stomachs as well, this is the only cheaper brand I have found that they can eat without it coming back up on occasion. Purina makes other more expensive cat food tat is even better, but if you are trying to make ends meet this kind is half the price with about the same quality. They carry this product at every major retailer and grocery store, or you can buy it many places online. Make sure you give this product a try before you waste your money on other similarly priced and comparable brands. It is the only value brand my cats can eat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fur is so much softer using Indoor Cat Chow!
10/26/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Using Indoor formula vs regular Cat Chow we've noticed our 3 cats are so much softer than before! Their fur coats are so nice & not course....which we thought was a cat thing but when a relative told us about the fur difference she noticed, we made the permanent switch to Indoor! Our 3 cats are indoor/outdoor & have always had Cat Chow dry food products. They 'free feed' always having a full bowl then once a day they share a can of wet food (which we've found also has differences as 1 cat pulls fur when eating the brand that starts with an F...) We are very happy to continue our cats on Indoor Cat Chow! There is no price checking or waiting for a sale - this food is what my cats love & they deserve what they want....speaking of price though the large bags are always our choice & are very reasonably priced! In addition to the softer fur, they don't bomb the cat box as bad as brands we used 6-7yrs ago! Lol TMI but with 3 cats that is a big deal! Having Cat Perks is just a BIG bonus!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hairballs No More
2/5/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently brought home a kitten and purchased Purina Kitten Chow for her. What I didn't expect was for my 8 year old cat to want to eat the kitten's food- Bella is a long haired cat and gets terrible hairballs, so she'd been eating a special, and expensive, formula to help combat them. When she began eating the kitten's food, she starting getting hairballs again. Nothing we did would get her to eat her own food, so I decided to mix the kitten's Kitten Chow with Purina's Indoor formula, which also says Hairball control. I'll admit I wasn't sure it would work, but since Bella has started eating the Kitten Chow/Indoor Formula combination, she's had significantly fewer and smaller hairballs. I have no doubt that once the kitten's old enough to stop needing the Kitten Chow, and we have only the Indoor Formula that Bella's hairballs will be even fewer and far between. If you have a long-haired cat who gets hairballs, I strongly recommend this product- it's effective but also easy on the wallet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sierra is eating again.
9/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Sierra stopped eating for two weeks until I bought home the Purina cat food. Now she is eating too much. She will not allow her bowl to ever be empty. She is 16 years old and it makes me so happy to see her eating and enjoying her new food. Thank you !!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Already recommened
10/22/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Purina products for years and always seen how much my cats loved it and they were always healthy even there weight was good. About 5 years ago I adopted 2 cats brother and sister from the same litter. The girls had no problems at all but my boy had a sensitive stomach and the shelter told be he can only tolerated small hard food something easy to digest. So I bought chat chow indoor and they both loved it. I later switch to cat chow gentle it is even more gentle on his stomach. Well I have a friend who has 3 cats and she was complaining how her long haired cat always has hairball and they were all over the house. She would get her trimmed but it keep happening. The groomer recommended to her to try and change her food to something for hairball but her cat didn't like any of the expensive brands. So I took a bowl of cat chow indoor over to her and the cat loved it. So she purchased a large bag because all the cats love it and she said the hairball are not as bad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for my indoor and less active kitties...
8/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Cat Chow Indoor formula for 10 years or so for my indoor cats. I only feed wet food to dose medication...so Cat Chow kibble is it. There have been occasions that my store was out of Cat Chow and I would instead purchase a high priced temporary replacement...the results are always the same; my cats barely eat the replacement food and I end up going to another store within a day or two to get Cat Chow. They just love the way it tastes! Another reason I faithfully use and recommend Cat Chow is the proof of how nutritionally complete this formula is. The majority of my cats die of old age because they stay healthy for the most part. I can't tell you how many times a vet has done blood work on one of my senior cats to "show" me why I must switch their food to one of their high priced brands, to find my cats blood work comes back perfect. Enzymes, cholesterol and organs all functioning normally. This speaks volumes to me and has made me a loyal Purina Cat Chow user! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
okay product
6/2/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I adopted two kitties from the shelter this week, a one year old cat and a two month kitten. I grabbed the big bag of Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula and a little one of kitten chow as I had always thought Purina was an "ok" brand and they were both going to be exclusively inside cats. I was wrong abut the former. My new cat only nibbled on a few kibbles of the adult before I busted out the kitten formula, which they both went for over the cat chow. I attributed this initial snub to the fact that cats will go for kitten food due to the higher fat and calorie content, but later I mixed the two foods, as I had read was a suggestion for the problem of getting everyone the right nutrition but I soon began to notice that neither of them were even touching the colored kibbles of the Indoor Formula.I rushed to the internet for advice on the subject and quickly realized I had made a grave mistake. Do you know what the first ingredient of Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula that I can see on my bag right now?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Crunchers
1/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Baxter is entirely an indoor cat. He absolutely loves his Cat Chow Indoor Formula, which we call his "crunchers". In fact, Bax prefers his crunchers to even the best wet food we also give him. We leave a bowl of crunchers out for him during the day, so after a busy morning of watching his birds and squirrels through his special window, and an afternoon of playing hide and seek, he can go get a snack of his favorite stuff before contentedly going off to power nap for a while. Bax is also very time conscious. He knows when certain activities should take place during the day. About 10 minutes before we eat dinner, he marches around, singing, to make sure we make our way to the kitchen on time. Then, after he has us where we belong, he sits down at his crunchers bowl and joins us for dinner. We are not sure if he really wants to share dinnertime with us, or if he is in a hurry to get some more of his Cat Chow Indoor Formula! We know he loves us, but he loves his crunchers, too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My cats love this!
9/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the only cat food I buy for my 2 cats that are indoor cats. They absolutely love it..I dont have to worry about them not getting the nutrition that they need..I also like the fact that it helps their immune systems! I definitely won't be buying anything else for my sweet girls! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Saved my cat's life
12/25/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently changed my cat's food over to Iams, well I should have stayed with the Indoor cat chow. I adopted sisters Thelma and Louise when they were 6 weeks old and promised them I would do anything for them. They just turned 10 and I thought is would be a good idea to upgrade their food, boy was I wrong. Thelma did not have any issues but Louise started to act different . She started to have seizures the Vet did not know why it was happening and gave her a shot. She was okay for a couple days but then they started up again, I did not know what to do. I finally found someone who had gone through the same thing, she said to go back to they old food. It has been a week and she is back to her old self, no fits at all. There is too much protein in the other food for her to handle. Even the vet was shocked when I told them so the moral of the story is Purina Indoor Cat Chow Saved Louise's life and now Thelma and I have our baby back. Thanks Purina I will never leave you again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cats love it!
9/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My cats like the naturals the Purina complete and I now get the complete indoor. They really like it and considering they are not youngsters anymore and getting a little weighty because of stay inside watching animal planet, I changed to the indoor. Some of them prefer it over the wet food food I feed them at dinner. I think they would give it 5 stars. I also think it's great product. 10 stars from the cook. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Cat Food
8/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My kitties just love this. I haven't tasted it, but for cat food, it smells pretty good and doesn't give my cats bad breath, which is nice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
i cannot complain...
8/19/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
MY cat ,Milks definitely loves the taste . I love the price and convenient availability. I honestly would prefer her eating a more quality nutritious (expensive) less processed ,whole, health beneficial cat food, [because whole real not processed diet DEFINITELY PROVIDES A HEALTHY QUALITY OF LIFE, fact]. Milks is a finicky kitty [would turn her nose up at milk or cheese!] So until I can set a good example on eating better myself, or being able to consistently provide expensive healthy cat food for her to try until we find the one she likes; she will continue to eat Purina indoor formula cat chow- like she has for the past 5 yrs. Thanks you for price and convenient availability, but no thank you to the empty processed un nutritional quality of ingredients. (Not meant to offend or complain) it's just a fact (whole, real live unprocessed diet = life longevity & quality ; processed by products ,fillers, artificial & preservatives = aged life, health problems and no nutrition for proper organ &body function)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640661, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-