Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

52 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

52 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
14
1-20 of 48 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Amazing amazing amazing product
8/17/2016

Customer review by Momma12

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Momma12
by Momma12

I love Downy dryer sheets! Hey are just simply amazing,they smell great and they make my families clothes feel so soft,my family and I have sensitive skin and these are the only dryer sheets that works for our clothes and our skin.

Momma12
Swanton,Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The product is worth every penny.
6/28/2016

Customer review by samantha22

3.0 stars 6/28/2016 by samantha22
by samantha22

The product is worth every penny. The product is worth every penny. The product is worth every penny.

samantha22
California22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nothing like that downy fresh scent
10/25/2010

Customer review by ravensangel

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by ravensangel
by ravensangel

what more can I say, the title says it! Original april fresh scent!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ravensangel
balto, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/27/2012

Customer review by dgarrett

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by dgarrett
by dgarrett

Downy has ALWAYS been a family FAVORITE. I like to use the liquid in the wash and then add two dryer pads into the dryer. I LOVE the way it makes everything sooo SOFT, plus I LOVE the fresh smell of our clothes and linens. There's a lot of things I'll buy generic, because the product IS GOOD, but when it comes to my wash Downy wins hands down!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dgarrett
Selma, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/24/2012

Customer review by DeeSla

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by DeeSla
by DeeSla

I have used this product for years and really like it. The fragance is great and makes clothes feel soft and smell good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeSla
Athens Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
April Fresh No More!
3/22/2015

Customer review by Unhappy Customer

1.0 stars 3/22/2015 by Unhappy Customer
by Unhappy Customer

I share the disappointment and frustration of other reviewers here. I recently ran out of my April Fresh Downy dryer sheets, bought a new box, and ended up with a perfumed disaster. At first I thought maybe the new box accidentally got an extra dose of fragrance, and I hoped they would mellow out. They haven't. I moved them from closet to closet when they overpowered the closet they were occupying. Then, I moved them to my car trunk because I couldn't stand the smell in my apartment. Guess what? They smelled up the interior of my car. (And by the way, there were triple-bagged all this while.) I finally wrote "FREE" on the bag and deposited them in a nearby laundry mat in case they can be of use to anyone else. I, however, look forward to never smelling that fragrance again. Unfortunately, I did a few loads of laundry with the new dryer sheets, so all of those items smell bad and will have to be rewashed, or I'll have to wear them with the unpleasant fragrance they now have. My next shopping trip will include purchasing yet another box of dryer sheets, and--after more than 20 years--it won't be Downy.

Unhappy Customer
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
New April Fresh scent is unbearable
1/27/2015

Customer review by Lee S

1.0 stars 1/27/2015 by Lee S
by Lee S

I have personally used April Fresh dryer sheets for over 25 years and grew up always enjoying the subtle fragrance. Recently, I needed to replenish my supply and immediately noticed that the product was not the same. The new scent is overbearingly strong and reminds me of cheap perfume. I was very confused that the packaging was the same except that the cover girl had been updated. I had to search the internet to confirm my instincts. I truly feel that P&G misled me by not indicating that the fragrance had been changed. The scent has changed too much to still be called April Fresh. Many consumers like myself develop a trust for a product and it's manufacturer. This was very deceptive. I sincerely hope that P&G will listen to their customers and restore the original fragrance. If not, I will sadly need to find another dryer sheet.

Lee S
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Downy Fabric Softner
2/7/2013

Customer review by owls1017

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by owls1017
by owls1017
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have always used Downy Fabric Softener and I am very happy with it. It makes the clothes smell nice and the smell last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
owls1017
Garden City SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unpleasant New Scent
12/8/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/8/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just purchased Downy April Fresh fabric sheets as I've been doing for years, only to find out when I got home that the scent has been changed. It is so awful and overwhelming I can't even use them. It is on the verge of being nauseating. I had to stop using the April Fresh liquid fabric softener years ago for the same reason and switched to the unscented instead. The fabric sheets still smelled nice so I used those in the dryer. Now I can't even do that anymore. By the looks of the reviews over the years, the majority of people feel the same way. I can't believe that no one at Downy is listening. Unfortunately I am no longer going to be able to buy this product unless the original scent comes back again. That is a shame because my family has always enjoyed using these products since I was a child.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Be Product Loyal and always purchase DOWNY
9/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this for my neice , becasuse she was moving into a new home. I did not want her to forget the childhood memories of the fresh and clean scent of Downy. We always purchase the 120 count , because it is the easist to store. April fresh scent is also the best fragrance of all products in this range. Our family will always us Downy Laudry Fabric Softner sheets, in the April fresh , 120 count. We demand value for our hard earned money and Downy is the best in this range.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Always A Great Choice
4/21/2015

Customer review by Krystelle88

5.0 stars 4/21/2015 by Krystelle88
by Krystelle88

Downy is such a good top of the line laundry product its the only fabric softener product I use the smell is amazing and what I really appreciate is when I'm done drying my clothes in downy I fold them and put them away and whether it a week or even a month later I still get that just out of the dryer scent it doesn't fade away after time and my clothes are just as fresh from the day I washed them and me and my family love it thanks Downy for your wonderful products your life time customer! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Krystelle88
Redford charter Township, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BRING ORIGINAL APRIL FRESH BACK
5/4/2015

Customer review by Livvie

1.0 stars 5/4/2015 by Livvie
by Livvie

My mother has always used downy april fresh. I have recently moved out and my biggest fear was my home not smelling like home. Luckily, downy april fresh was the smell of home i could bring with me. But now this new formulated scent doesn't even remotely smell like the original one. And the packaging doesnt even warn you of this change, besides a slightly different picture. I very much miss the old downy smell, and i can see I am not the only disappointed LOYAL customer.

Livvie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
I want the old April Fresh scent back!
11/19/2014

Customer review by Weezy

1.0 stars 11/19/2014 by Weezy
by Weezy

I purchased a new box of Downy April Fresh scent dryer sheets this week. Not only did the packaging change, but the new scent is unbearable! Without even opening the box, the smell is overpowering my laundry room with a sickening sweet smell. I will return this unopened box and look for another manufacturer that produces a scent closer to your original April Fresh scent. I have used these dryer sheets for 40 years, but no longer. Please bring back the original April Fresh scent!

Weezy
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Very Disappointed . . .
12/20/2014

Customer review by dilitant

1.0 stars 12/20/2014 by dilitant
by dilitant

I have loyally used Downy April Fresh sheets for 20+ years. In recent months, the smell of the dryer sheets has changed drastically. Initially, I noticed that the scent became much stronger. So strong, in fact, that I had leave my car windows open when driving home from buying a box. If I didn't, my allergies would act up and I would get watery eyes, scratchy throat, and cough. Now, with a new design on the box, it seems like Downy has both intensified the smell AND changed the smell. The new scent barely (if at all) resembles the old April Fresh, which was clean and light. The smell is so cloying that I got nauseous trying to wear clothes that were laundered with it. I lasted 5 minutes, and had to change. After 4 subsequent washes, the stench remains - it is, for lack of better words, "baked on" to the clothes. I threw the remainder of the box out and thought that perhaps there was a factory mistake and another scent had been incorrectly put into April Fresh boxes . . . that is until I came on here and saw the reviews. Downy April Fresh has been around for so long because it WAS great. Why fix what wasn't broken? Like so many others who have posted reviews, I will be moving on to another product - not to be spiteful, but because I genuinely cannot use it anymore without allergic reaction. If Downy brings the classic April Fresh back, I will be first in line to buy it. On a final note, and from a person with allergies, I know I would have appreciated Downy labeling the boxes as having a changed scent.

dilitant
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Yuck. Please bring back the old scent.
11/15/2014

Customer review by janelley

1.0 stars 11/15/2014 by janelley
by janelley

I went to pick up a new box of Downy April Fresh scent dryer sheets since I had used up the last box that I stocked up on many months ago. I couldn't pinpoint why my car suddenly smelled like naggingly sweet lotion often favored by pre-teen girls... that is until I got home and unloaded all my groceries. Please bring back the old scent. P&G, you've ruined a perfectly fine product. I didn't want to believe this and had to turn to the internet to confirm my findings.

janelley
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Oh, that smell..,
4/21/2015

Customer review by erraberra

5.0 stars 4/21/2015 by erraberra
by erraberra

I can spot the Downy scent anywhere. I absolutely love it! When using Downy Ultra Dryer Sheets, the scent is in the air and on the clothes as they come out of the dryer! Not only does it make your clothes smell great, but they feel so soft too! There's nothing like putting on a clothing item that feels so good and smells so clean & delicious! I love my Downy dryer sheets!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

erraberra
Canby, OR 97013, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as good as it used to be.
7/11/2015

Customer review by KungfuPanda63

2.0 stars 7/11/2015 by KungfuPanda63
by KungfuPanda63

I've used this product since 1971. I know you've watered it down, because now my towels and washcloths are not soft. They feel like they've been sun-dried. I will be on the search for a new fabric softener which makes me unhappy. I loved the April scent.

KungfuPanda63
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unhappy user
11/26/2014

Customer review by Unhappy user

1.0 stars 11/26/2014 by Unhappy user
by Unhappy user

Until recently April Fresh Downy was my only choice for fabric softener sheets. The new April Fresh fragrance is too sweet and I will not be buying any until the old fragrance is back. I will not wear clothes with this fragrance nor will I be able to sleep on bed linens with the fragrance. Please listen to your loyal customers who are expressing their dislike for this new fragrance and bring back the original April Fresh fragrance.

Unhappy user
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolute BEST purchase yet!!
4/21/2015

Customer review by nicdixon01

5.0 stars 4/21/2015 by nicdixon01
by nicdixon01

I've used so many different types of dryer sheets in my life, but I thought, okay, I love Downy, I'll try these. It is by far the best purchase I've ever made for my laundry! Your laundry will smell like an amazing spring floral garden! The scent lasts and really makes you feel like you're standing in a garden! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

nicdixon01
Yukon, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They CHANGED the Scent!
7/9/2015

Customer review by 2Old2Care

1.0 stars 7/9/2015 by 2Old2Care
by 2Old2Care

I stopped using the liquid because they changed the scent, and now they changed the scent on the sheets! Apparently, they don't realize that the scent of Downy was one of THE most recognizable scents EVER!

2Old2Care
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews