Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

164 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

164 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
57
1-20 of 163 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
barely any fragrance at all!
2/8/2017

Customer review by tcnaz

1.0 stars 2/8/2017 by tcnaz
by tcnaz

I have been using Suavatel.I have been satisfied with it but the downy was on sale and was a good value so I bought it. 1.32 gal Ultra Downy April Fresh. What a disappointment. Barely any fragrance at all. Not any better as far as "conditioning'" the clothes. Maybe you have reduced the amount of fragrance so as to sell the new "fragrance" products you have brought out recently. A total waste of money. And boy am I sorry I bought such a large container. I do around 8 loads a week so hopefully I'll be done with it soon. I may even wait until it is half gone and add a bottle of Suavetel.to it

tcnaz
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Miss the original
11/22/2010

Customer review by CStringer

1.0 stars 11/22/2010 by CStringer
by CStringer

I have used downy clean breeze since I started doing laundry, and am heart broken by the new scent. I use to wash my blankets every two weeks so that I could have the fresh scent on them even if they weren't dirty, you know how they scent is one of the biggest memory triggers, I've lost that now. Whoever decided this new scent pearl technology was good news clearly didn't try a large enough sample audience. It's not even worthy of being called clean breeze, it smells nothing like it use to and is very harsh smelling, not warm and comforting. I beg that you please go back to the original, I have looked for days for the original Clean Breeze without scent pearls and cannot find any, I would buy cases of it if I could find it. A little heads up that it was changing so much would have been nice. I sincerely hope that this doesn't last long and you all bring the old back. I didn't care that it didn't last forever because it's the one scent out of every fabric softener that is made that I like. I am highly disappointed

CStringer
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
okay
11/11/2016

Customer review by nickthecat

3.0 stars 11/11/2016 by nickthecat
by nickthecat

this product smells great and softens great, but now it is too watered down. Im also completely fine with the new scent, but unfortunately scent does not last very long as it claims it does ;(

nickthecat
new york ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Baby Don't Change A Thing!
12/22/2010

Customer review by Kam

3.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Kam
by Kam

You know I thought it was just me, but based on the other reviews of consumers claiming that the New Clean Breeze scent is too overwhelming/strong I see I'm not alone. It seems everytime I find something I love it gets changed or discontinued such as the one you use to have in a yellow bottle that I Ioved; I think it was called Sunshine Fresh. I'm curious if this is going to be the new New Clean Breeze scent going forward or if you will give us consumers the option of the New Clean Breeze and the Original Clean Breeze scent. I'm sure you have customers that like/love the New Clean Breeze scent as well as those of us who are not too crazy about it and I also understand you guys wanting to make the scent last longer; so i can't knock you guys for trying to improve on a great product. Is it possible to give us the option or make the scent last longer without making it overpowering? Love you Downy!

Kam
Rego Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please, P&G, the "Original" Clean Breeze Downy!
4/10/2011

Customer review by Kathy

1.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Kathy
by Kathy

After discovering that your wonderful 'Clean Breeze' Downy had been changed/reformatted to include 'Scent Pearls'...which are hideous...(I actually thought something had gone "bad" in my laundry room) I drove all over SW Denver/Lakewood and bought as many bottles of the original product as I could find. I'm now down to my last bottle. I've tried using a lesser amount of the 'Scent Pearls' version as advised by P&G; I've tried other Downy scents, and nothing compares to the "original" Clean Breeze. As a decades-long user of first, April Fresh Downy, and then the Clean Breeze version, I hate to give my product loyalty to another company, but fear that is what will happen. Please, please, tell Proctor & Gamble's execs/marketing/R&D divisions (whoever made this horrible decision) to bring back the original Clean Breeze Downy!!

Kathy
Denver CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tropical Escape: d/c Total Care: d/c
3/6/2011

Customer review by Tropical Escape

1.0 stars 3/6/2011 by Tropical Escape
by Tropical Escape

Okay, P & G - I have played along for years now, but must finally surrender. Have I really wasted this much time and energy looking for my 'fav' only to find out they have been discontinued? Whatever you have out there now is incompatible with my life as it relates to laundry. I loved Tropical Escape, then plugged along with the scent free until the Total Care came out with a very similar light fragrance. Every other one you have - including those with god awful scent pearls - is a big FAIL. I literally gave a bottle away after one use and gave the load of clothing it 'infected' to the needy so I wouldn't have to smell it. Begrudgingly, I had to at least select 'one star' to post this, but it doesn't deserve it. Bounce unscented dryer sheets will have to get the nod. From a Shareholder in NH.

Tropical Escape
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this scent
8/4/2016

Customer review by Debweb

5.0 stars 8/4/2016 by Debweb
by Debweb

Work in an environmentally sensitive environment an I have never had comments that I have an offensive odor.

Debweb
Sudbury, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It started ruining my clothes!
8/1/2015

Customer review by NicMarie

3.0 stars 8/1/2015 by NicMarie
by NicMarie

I love the smell and softness that Downy gives my clothes, but I do not like the random ruined loads of laundry. I have been using downy with a downy ball for years and just this past year, I have now had sheets, and a lot of my favorite clothes ruined with splatters of discoloration all over them that are not repairable. I have soaked, scrubbed and rewashed, it is like they are bleached almost but I don't own bleach. I don't know if it is partially to the fault of the downy ball, but I don't like that the chemical is able to discolor my clothing either. I'm out a lot of money on some of my nicer work clothes, sheets and exercise clothing so I will no longer be using downy or the downy ball.

NicMarie
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
PLEASE GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL FORMULA!!! PLEASE
8/30/2010

Customer review by Tricia

1.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Tricia
by Tricia

The new scent pearls smell horrible and generic. Every downy product that has them now smell the same and nothing like the original products. They also smell like many other laundry detergents/fabric softeners. I don't know what I'm going to do when I run out of my stock of original downy clean breeze. I have always loved the smell of my clean laundry. There was nothing wrong with the original product and there is nothing like the original product. PLEASE GET RID OF THE SCENT PEARLS I AM BEGGING YOU!!! Or at least continue making original downy without the scent pearls. I am seriously really upset.... downy clean breeze was my form of perfume (I have allergies and cannot where actual perfume).

Tricia
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please bring it back!!
1/18/2011

Customer review by Sandy

1.0 stars 1/18/2011 by Sandy
by Sandy

I have sent several messages to you and hope to hear one day that you are bringing back the old Downy minus the "pearls". Using less just doesn't work. And why does someone need to have a fragrance that lasts so long? What about putting things in the laundry so they're clean and fresh again and you don't have a strong fragrance to cover up the fact that they are dirty and need to be in the laundry? It reminds me of a person who doesn't shower and sprays on a little deoderant or perfume and thinks they're good to go! Please....please....please bring back the old Downy. Give consumers the chance to choose between "pearls" or no "pearls. You had a perfect product, please bring it back. Thank you

Sandy
Amherst, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad Mistake
11/4/2010

Customer review by SadLaundress

1.0 stars 11/4/2010 by SadLaundress
by SadLaundress

I have been using Downy's "Clean Breeze" Fabric Softener for years now. When I used the new scent for the first time a month ago, I thought my husband may have loaded Pine-sol into the washing machine instead of Tide. I washed the clothes again. Same smell. The clothes were unwearable. I ran around town buying every "old" bottle of Downy Clean Breeze I could find. I'm using it sparingly knowing that this may be the last time my clothes smell the way they used to! If the old scent it not brought back, I will have to find a new brand. I do find a great deal of comfort in the fact that almost EVERYONE seems to hate this new scent. Stand strong fellow laundry lovers! BRING BACK THE OLD SCENT!

SadLaundress
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bring back the old Downey...pretty please.
5/7/2016

Customer review by Peeved

1.0 stars 5/7/2016 by Peeved
by Peeved

Seriously, do you guys read your product review that are blanketing not just your own website but all of the others who sell your product? Your new formulation, despite the positive spin you've put on it, is not liked. It smells terrible. You've lost business. Your loyal consumers for years now have begged you to bring back the original formulation. What's it going to take? Did you lose the recipe?

Peeved
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? No
New Clean breeze
8/27/2010

Customer review by Angry

1.0 stars 8/27/2010 by Angry
by Angry

This product has changed so much that I can not use it any more. I bought the dryer sheets in this scent instead, but they do not work as well as the liquid. I used to love putting on my clean close, and getting into a clean bed with the old formula, Now it smells awful. Please go back to the old formula. I keep checking when I am in the store to see if it has gone back to the old, but so far it hasn't. I called downy and they said that their formula has changed on all their liquid softners, and I have read complaints on some of the other scents as well. PLEASE GO BACK TO WHAT WAS GREAT !!! I am not buying this anymore till it does, and I have used this product for over ten years.

Angry
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Want the old clean breeze scent back!
2/16/2011

Customer review by Derrick

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Derrick
by Derrick

I have been using clean breeze ever since I have moved out on my own and LOVED the old scent but the new scent pearls smells nothing like the old clean breeze. I grew up with my clothes smelling so great and now I'm having a hard time finding the old clean breeze. It's great you wanted it to last longer but I'm not willing to use the new scent pearls version, it's not the same at all. To me the scent isn't overpowering but actually quite the opposite, i just washed my bed sheets two days ago and there's no trace of the downy scent left. Even the old downy did better than that. PLEASE listen to all the bad reviews!!! Until you bring back the old version you've lost a customer.

Derrick
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
What happened?!
5/9/2016

Customer review by Angie03

1.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Angie03
by Angie03

I have been using various Downy products for years. Recently, however, I realized it is staining my clothes, sheets, & towels. I didn't change how I've been using it, a Downy ball, so I'm not sure what the problem is. Now I'm gun shy & have resorted to dryer sheets to save the clothes I have left. Seriously, guys, you need to fix this...

Angie03
Gillette, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Downy Has Ruined the Clean Breeze Scent!
10/30/2010

Customer review by Sunny

1.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Sunny
by Sunny

I hope the Downy product development department is reading these reviews before they lose numerous customers. I have been using Downy since I discovered the glorious original Clean Breeze scent. The new version of Clean Breeze is horrible. All of the liquid Downy products are now so perfumed, they are disgusting. I DON'T WANT MY LAUNDRY SMELLING LIKE PERFUME FOR A WEEK!! I have wasted a lot of time trying to find the original Clean Breeze. I have went from store to store in search of my beloved original clean breeze. I have smelled all of the other Downy scents during my search and they are all gross to me. Downy has lost this customer.

Sunny
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
No Renewing Scent Pearl please!
1/20/2011

Customer review by Kenny

1.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Kenny
by Kenny

I've always loved this product and smell before the Renewing Scent Pearl, but after a load with this new product I don't like it at all. The smell of the liquid is ok, but after the clothes comes out of the dryer they smell weird. To me they smell a little sour and nothing like the liquid. I know its not my dryer sheets because I've been using the same ones before you guys added the Renewing Scent Pearl. PLEASE give us the option of the original product! After I get through with this bottle I will be looking for another brand if you guys don't bring back the original, I don't want to do that but I just can't stand the smell.

Kenny
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just as awful as the New April Fresh
4/26/2011

Customer review by JoshC

1.0 stars 4/26/2011 by JoshC
by JoshC

After a 25 year loyalty to April Fresh, P&G ruined April Fresh with their scent pearls. Despite my reservations for buying another P&G product, we tried the Clean Breeze and I am wearing it for the first time today. It is awful. It has the same sickly sweet bubblegum smell as the April Fresh. It hits me every once in a while when I shift in my chair or rub against my clothes. I may go home early to change. Fortunately, we bought the smallest bottle at the store, so I won't feel wasteful dumping this garbage down the drain. And to the Downy team, please don't respond. At this point, your standard response is insulting.

JoshC
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a sticky mess!
2/19/2011

Customer review by Susie

2.0 stars 2/19/2011 by Susie
by Susie

I have been using Downy for many years. I have tried all the scents and favor the clean breeze. However, my complaint is not about the smell; it's about the sticky, gooey glob this product leaves behind in and on my softner dispenser. What a mess!! I have to clean out the dispenser once a week. Please find some other way to "scent" your product without this "clingy" method. Go back to the original product, original scent and you will have some very happy customers. In the meantime, although I have a brand-new bottle, I am going to another manufacturer to buy my fabic softner. Sorry Downy, but you make me unhappy!!

Susie
Greensboro NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Where is the downy original scent???
1/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am wondering what happened to the orginal scent of downy, I have a problem with the smells of the new product lines. I have tried the unscented downy and it does not work as well as the original scent. I like the fact that the scent leaves the clothes as my scence of smell is greater than most peoples, however I have read these messages and maybe that is not so true. I understand that you think that improving your produce makes for better sales, however not so true. Please bring back the orginal scent and the quality of the producet that you started with, then I can return to being a valued customer once again.

An anonymous customer
Sacramento,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews