Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

164 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

164 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
57
1-20 of 163 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
Want the old clean breeze scent back!
2/16/2011

Customer review by Derrick

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Derrick
by Derrick

I have been using clean breeze ever since I have moved out on my own and LOVED the old scent but the new scent pearls smells nothing like the old clean breeze. I grew up with my clothes smelling so great and now I'm having a hard time finding the old clean breeze. It's great you wanted it to last longer but I'm not willing to use the new scent pearls version, it's not the same at all. To me the scent isn't overpowering but actually quite the opposite, i just washed my bed sheets two days ago and there's no trace of the downy scent left. Even the old downy did better than that. PLEASE listen to all the bad reviews!!! Until you bring back the old version you've lost a customer.

Derrick
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Miss the original
11/22/2010

Customer review by CStringer

1.0 stars 11/22/2010 by CStringer
by CStringer

I have used downy clean breeze since I started doing laundry, and am heart broken by the new scent. I use to wash my blankets every two weeks so that I could have the fresh scent on them even if they weren't dirty, you know how they scent is one of the biggest memory triggers, I've lost that now. Whoever decided this new scent pearl technology was good news clearly didn't try a large enough sample audience. It's not even worthy of being called clean breeze, it smells nothing like it use to and is very harsh smelling, not warm and comforting. I beg that you please go back to the original, I have looked for days for the original Clean Breeze without scent pearls and cannot find any, I would buy cases of it if I could find it. A little heads up that it was changing so much would have been nice. I sincerely hope that this doesn't last long and you all bring the old back. I didn't care that it didn't last forever because it's the one scent out of every fabric softener that is made that I like. I am highly disappointed

CStringer
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
The best scent ever but..
12/1/2012

Customer review by SweetTart1

3.0 stars 12/1/2012 by SweetTart1
by SweetTart1

I have always loved downy/Tide products. My mom used it on my clothes when I was a child and my clothes always smelled wonderful. I will say that Downy has change a lot since my younger days. They have came out with several different scents like Clean Breeze, My FAVORITE. I can't get enough of this scent. On the quality of the scent it gets a 5 star but gets 3 stars on performance. The scent does not last very long if you are drying your clothes. I have to use much more then the recommended amount to faintly smell it on my clothes after drying time. If you hang dry your clothes then you will not have a problem with lasting fragrance. I hang dry my work uniform pants and tops and they smell greats for weeks. The old Downy had your clothes smelling fabulous out of the dryer and lasted a very long time. The main reason why I am rating it a 3 is because it leaves a nasty gummy greasy residue on your clothes. It's a weird film. This will happen even if you use the recommended amount of softener. I end up having to do a second rinse with just water or I will end up with white marks on my dark/color clothes. I do not have any of these issues with Suavitel. With Suavitel (Blue or Yellow bottle) a little goes along way even after drying time and there is no residue but it does not smell as good as the Downy. The Suavitel Aroma Lavender smells really good but you need to add more then the recommended amount and can't be smelled after drying time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetTart1
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Love the way Downy smells
2/25/2017

Customer review by Rene

5.0 stars 2/25/2017 by Rene
by Rene
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the way Downy smells.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
barely any fragrance at all!
2/8/2017

Customer review by tcnaz

1.0 stars 2/8/2017 by tcnaz
by tcnaz

I have been using Suavatel.I have been satisfied with it but the downy was on sale and was a good value so I bought it. 1.32 gal Ultra Downy April Fresh. What a disappointment. Barely any fragrance at all. Not any better as far as "conditioning'" the clothes. Maybe you have reduced the amount of fragrance so as to sell the new "fragrance" products you have brought out recently. A total waste of money. And boy am I sorry I bought such a large container. I do around 8 loads a week so hopefully I'll be done with it soon. I may even wait until it is half gone and add a bottle of Suavetel.to it

tcnaz
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works fine good smell good price
2/5/2017

Customer review by telatha

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by telatha
by telatha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
telatha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
!
1/21/2017

Customer review by Tatr

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by Tatr
by Tatr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tatr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Baby Don't Change A Thing!
12/22/2010

Customer review by Kam

3.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Kam
by Kam

You know I thought it was just me, but based on the other reviews of consumers claiming that the New Clean Breeze scent is too overwhelming/strong I see I'm not alone. It seems everytime I find something I love it gets changed or discontinued such as the one you use to have in a yellow bottle that I Ioved; I think it was called Sunshine Fresh. I'm curious if this is going to be the new New Clean Breeze scent going forward or if you will give us consumers the option of the New Clean Breeze and the Original Clean Breeze scent. I'm sure you have customers that like/love the New Clean Breeze scent as well as those of us who are not too crazy about it and I also understand you guys wanting to make the scent last longer; so i can't knock you guys for trying to improve on a great product. Is it possible to give us the option or make the scent last longer without making it overpowering? Love you Downy!

Kam
Rego Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
12/11/2016

Customer review by Raiders

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by Raiders
by Raiders

After years of buying off brand softeners which are often much more water than softener, I finally decided to buy this Downy and I honestly couldn't believe the difference. My clothes are really soft now and the smell is heavenly. What I like about it is the thickness of the product and how well it performs, even after drying everything on high heat, Downy has stood up to the dryer causing no need for dryer sheets anymore.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raiders
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
By far the best!
7/26/2016

Customer review by MommaJam

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by MommaJam
by MommaJam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I usually don't share comments on products but this is by far the best fabric softener!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaJam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
12/7/2016

Customer review by aba213

5.0 stars 12/7/2016 by aba213
by aba213
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

How good it smells.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aba213
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
11/30/2016

Customer review by Jimmy

4.0 stars 11/30/2016 by Jimmy
by Jimmy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smell, soft clothes
11/27/2016

Customer review by Cleaveland

5.0 stars 11/27/2016 by Cleaveland
by Cleaveland
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great fabric softner, nice scent

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleaveland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Please, P&G, the "Original" Clean Breeze Downy!
4/10/2011

Customer review by Kathy

1.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Kathy
by Kathy

After discovering that your wonderful 'Clean Breeze' Downy had been changed/reformatted to include 'Scent Pearls'...which are hideous...(I actually thought something had gone "bad" in my laundry room) I drove all over SW Denver/Lakewood and bought as many bottles of the original product as I could find. I'm now down to my last bottle. I've tried using a lesser amount of the 'Scent Pearls' version as advised by P&G; I've tried other Downy scents, and nothing compares to the "original" Clean Breeze. As a decades-long user of first, April Fresh Downy, and then the Clean Breeze version, I hate to give my product loyalty to another company, but fear that is what will happen. Please, please, tell Proctor & Gamble's execs/marketing/R&D divisions (whoever made this horrible decision) to bring back the original Clean Breeze Downy!!

Kathy
Denver CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tropical Escape: d/c Total Care: d/c
3/6/2011

Customer review by Tropical Escape

1.0 stars 3/6/2011 by Tropical Escape
by Tropical Escape

Okay, P & G - I have played along for years now, but must finally surrender. Have I really wasted this much time and energy looking for my 'fav' only to find out they have been discontinued? Whatever you have out there now is incompatible with my life as it relates to laundry. I loved Tropical Escape, then plugged along with the scent free until the Total Care came out with a very similar light fragrance. Every other one you have - including those with god awful scent pearls - is a big FAIL. I literally gave a bottle away after one use and gave the load of clothing it 'infected' to the needy so I wouldn't have to smell it. Begrudgingly, I had to at least select 'one star' to post this, but it doesn't deserve it. Bounce unscented dryer sheets will have to get the nod. From a Shareholder in NH.

Tropical Escape
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
okay
11/11/2016

Customer review by nickthecat

3.0 stars 11/11/2016 by nickthecat
by nickthecat

this product smells great and softens great, but now it is too watered down. Im also completely fine with the new scent, but unfortunately scent does not last very long as it claims it does ;(

nickthecat
new york ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Downy clean breeze
10/21/2016

Customer review by Bridgette

5.0 stars 10/21/2016 by Bridgette
by Bridgette
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my go to fab softener. I love it. The scent lasts forever!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bridgette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this product
10/17/2016

Customer review by walmartmom

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by walmartmom
by walmartmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It smells nice and makes my clothes feel softer

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fresh scent
10/18/2016

Customer review by Queen

5.0 stars 10/18/2016 by Queen
by Queen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fresh scent

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Downy Gal
10/5/2016

Customer review by Downey

5.0 stars 10/5/2016 by Downey
by Downey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My mother has always used Downy I have always used it in my wash and my adult daughter also uses it in every load of wash. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Downey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews