Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.6out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 | 480 reviews
5 stars
245
4 stars
60
3 stars
24
2 stars
22
1 stars
129
Sort by: 
1-20 of 456 reviews
1-20 of 456 reviews
Love it alot
11/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like this product but a lot of money for only 3 packs and it's not easy to find, or is sold out ALL the time !!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
7/24/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Since purchasing my new HE toploading Maytag washer over a year ago, I have been a faithful user of the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. Yes, it smells, but I prefer that to smelling mold and mildew and I feel that my clothes are going into a clean washing machine. For those that complain that it clumps in their washer's dispenser/tray, did you read the directions? You are not to place it in the dispenser or tray but to evenly place it in the washer itself then turn the washing machine on the hot cycle or "cleaning" mode. I have followed the directions and never had any issues. I wash everything in my washing machine and it still maintains a wonderful smell without any residue inside the washing machine by using this product faithfully every 40 loads or once a month, whichever comes first. I would urge those that had a bad experience the first time by placing it in their dispenser or tray to sprinkle the contents of the package directly into the washer tub and watch it work magic!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really worked for us
11/11/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The sour smell coming from my mother's front load washer was sickening. We had to stay on top of the laundry or end up rewashing the load again just to get the smell out before drying. When I saw the ad for the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner I went out and bought it. Read the directions and followed them to the letter. The instructions said if odor is already present in the washer use a pack a week for three weeks as instructed. After the first use the smell was a little worse because of the combination of sour and wahing machine cleaner odors, ran an extra rinse and the odor lessened. After the second week the smell was almost gone. After the third week the sour smell was completely gone and only a fresh clean smell was left behind. We will be using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner once a month from now on to keep her front load washer odor free. This is a great product and highly recommend it. Note: I used the clean washer setting on my mom's front load with this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great scent
4/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a Whirlpool front loader and loaded the product directly into the detergent dispenser, being sure to make the adjustment within the dispenser tray to accommodate powdered detergents and it worked like a champ. I have always been meticulous in maintaining the washer. I always dry off the door and both sides of the seal. I leave the washer door ajar when not using the machine. I completely remove the detergent dispenser drawer and rinse out the residual fabric softener, letting it air dry before replacing it. I towel off the inside of the dispenser drawer space and let it air dry to prevent mildew from growing, especially from the water holes over the detergent dispenser. I ran a monthly cleaning cycle with bleach, as directed in the hand book, but I would have a mild odor in the machine until I tried this product. I was skeptical, but am now a believer. I love the scent of this product and hope it lasts a long time. P & G should make it a Febreeze scent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awful smell
9/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After using this product to clean my washer; this terribly sickly smell permeated the whole house and I have a 2 storey house!! Not did I only have to open the windows; but had to go back to the store to buy afresh washer cleaner to get the smell out of my washer!! I would not recommend this product and I wish I would have read the reviews before I bought it,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
disappointed with this product
9/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i have a new washer and bought this product to clean the inside as recommended, once a month. After the use there was a horrible smell . I had to throw the rest of this product away.
Our Washing Machine Cleaner was designed to take on the tough job of freshening the washing machine drum. This process could create a fragrance which might get intense in smaller spaces. Depending on the size and ventilation efficiency of your laundry room, the fragrance could last 30 minutes to several hours. Opening a window or using a fan could help diminish the fragrance faster. It has been thoroughly evaluated to be safe. We’d like to learn more about your experience, please call us at (800) 879-8433.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
8/18/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Please let me first say that I use nothing but Tide products and have been very happy with them till I wasted my money and time with this Washing Machine Cleaner Product. IT IS AWFUL!!! I was so very disappointed. It smells bad, it doesn't work, it made an awful mess all over the inside of my front loader washer. The instructions are a joke on the package as the picture shows you should put the product in the detergent dispenser drawer, but the written message says put it into the tub itself. I ended up with a huge nasty glob of the stuff in my dispenser, and all over the dispenser drawer itself. I had to run the machine 3 loads to get rid of the stuff and the smell it left in my machine was much worse than it was before I used it. If I could get my money back I certainly would. This stuff is now going in the trash which is just where it belongs! Please don't waste your money as I did mine. Sorry P&G, this is the worst thing you have ever made and you really should either reformulate it and clean up the instructions, or get it off the market now!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Never thought it would work
10/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been trying everything to get rid of odors in my washer and have not been able to find anything. I saw a commercial for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and thought I have tried everything else, what the heck I'll give this a shot. I have used it one time and will be using my second packet this weekend. I was amazed at the difference in my clothing. I have several dogs and cats and you know how the odor, even if the house is clean, the litter box and just overall animal odor seems to linger. My clothing was, or at least I felt it was, starting to have an odor, human sweat and animal alike. I put this in my washer on Sunday before starting my laundry and my clothing came out fresh and clean. No more feeling as if my clothes have a lingering odor. I know they smell fresh and clean. I have been waiting on a product just like this. It is awesome and it does work. I will be using this forever. Thanks Tide!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product STINKS-- literally!
2/28/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had high hopes for this product because I have only used Tide for years. It cleans my clothes, makes sense that it would clean my washing machine, right? Wrong! I have an HE front-loading machine. There is some gook forming on the inside rim because water pools there. So I figured I'd give this a try. The first thing I noticed after I finished the cycle-- IT STINKS!! I mean, yuck. My whole laundry and hallway smell horrific. It smells like old garbage. I cannot believe that anyone thinks this smells clean. I had to air the place out for a few hours. I am not exaggerating. But, holding my breath, I looked into the machine and it is no cleaner than it was before I used this product. So, it doesn't work and it smells. A BIG disappointment from a brand like Tide. I will still use their detergent, but I am definitely leery of all the other new products they are coming out with now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Did the trick, smell not as bad as others say
7/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It loosed caked on gunk, a quick rinse cycle did the rest. There was a smell, in btwn fresh and chemical smell, but not unpleasant. After a rinse and leaving the top open overnight it wasn't as strong
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wanted to freshen up my washer
7/8/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
With all the wonderful fragrance you make for our laundry..this is terrible to clean the washer. Wow really??
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us; we know the scent of our Washing Machine Cleaner can be intense, depending on the size and ventilation of your laundry room. We're sad to hear that you weren't a fan, but we will happily share your comments with our team. Please don't hesitate to give us a call at (800) 879-8433 with any questions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Strong smell
6/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading the reviews I thought I'd give peace of my mind. I live on well water with softener. The water that sits in the tub that doesn't drain fully starts to smell moldy/musty. Husband notice it more than I. So i use this every 6 months and it works well in my top loading washer. I do believe It has a strong smell, but also it takes away the musty smell in the clothes. I just wish it didn't cost so much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awful Odor
5/8/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was excited to use this product and followed the directions exactly. I did not have any problems with clumping as I now see after reading reviews that many people have had. My problem with this product is that it made my machine smell worse than it did before I used the product!!! It really didn't even smell before, I just thought I would use as maintenance so that my machine would not begin to smell because I know that is a common problem with front loaders. Now, there is a terrible musty smell that fills the entire laundry room and it hits you like a ton of bricks as soon as I open door! Now I have to try to figure out how to get rid of that smell. I wish I could give this product a zero out of five stars (1 star was my lowest option). I have two small children (ages 1 & 2) so, if I am taking the time to write a review you know it is bad!!!! Do not use!
I am sorry your machine has an off odor after using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. This is unusual and we would like to speak with you about this situation. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 with the box handy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Confusing Directions
12/8/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and now have NO clue what to do to use it. The instructions on the box and the instructions on the packages INSIDE the box are DIFFERENT. One shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured into the detergent cup, the other shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured directly into the washing machine basin. Which is it? How can PG put out conflicting instructions? Looking online it seems that people are having problems with both options. I'm left to trial and error to see what works. This is horrible - the manager who approved the instructions and the quality control people who approved opposing instructions should be fired. I even tried calling the 800 number for assistance, but they're not open on weekends. Get your act together Tide product line. I expected much much more.
Sorry the directions were confusing. To use the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, remove clothing from your washer. Put 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner directly into the washer. Run the washer on a normal cycle on the hottest setting. Also, use the product once a month to keep your washer clean and fresh. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Grrr...
6/18/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I do NOT like Tide's Washing Machine Cleaner. Nowhere on the box or the packets does it say to remove the plastic liner in the detergent dispenser drawer. I followed the directions exactly as written (Pour 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner into your detergent dispenser drawer, run washer on normal cycle with the hot water setting), twice. I got the same gunked up results - the WMC just sat in the detergent dispenser drawer, like a soggy brick. The second time (second time of using the WMC), I ran the wash again - hot, small load - meaning I ran the washing machine twice this time of using the cleaner. My detergent dispenser drawer is mostly empty and my washing machine smells better. What a hassle though! I did NOT have this problem with the other brand I was told to use, by the way. And Tide is MORE expensive than the other brand.
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and we'd like to learn more. Please give us a call at (800) 879-8433 so we can help!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Affresh
5/6/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best product I have found so far! I am renting and have a washing machine that is 25 years old. It had the worst moldy smell and grime on the agitator. I tried Affresh, which is expensive, and the smell remained. Then I tried Tide and the smell disappeared for a few days. Thinking that the musty smell was years in the making and impossible to eradicate due to the age of the machine, I now use Tide washing machine cleaner once each week. Yes, it is very fragrant, they could tone it down it a bit. But it is much better than the house smelling like moldy slime. In response to those expecting results with only one washing - if your machine has been smelling for a while, it makes sense that more than one washing would be required. Then regular upkeep, just like everything else we have to repeatedly clean is needed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible!!! Don't waste your money!!!
6/16/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was expecting great things because it was from "Tide", but I was let down! I have front loaders and I was told that every 6 months you are suppose to clean your washer so I bought the Tide Washer Machine Cleaner and placed it in the compartment and ran the cycle. When it was done all I found was a clump of mushy detergent in the compartment and a residue on the door. Not only did I return it to the store , I also contacted customer service about the problem, then I told everyone I knew, and I know alot of people, the store I took it back to took it off their shelf because alot of other people returned their product also for dissatisfaction. I have no idea where they tested this, but it isn't a good product. This one needs to go back and be re-thought and tweeked then brought back only when it actually works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Washing machine cleaner
10/27/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently tried Tide Washing Machine Cleaner in my HE washer. When I opened the detergent dispense drawer to put my detergent in to wash my first load after cleaning my washer, I was shocked to find that there was still about half of the cleaner left in the dispenser cup that I had to dump out. I followed the directions on the package which included using only one pouch, running the washer on “Normal” cycle, in the hot water setting but why did it only dispense half of the cleaner? Has anyone else had this problem? Other than that I have always be a fan of Tide products and place my trust in Tide but with the product only dispensing half of the cleaner it makes me skeptical to use the product again not knowing if the rest of the detergent is still in my washer or will be dispensed on my clean clothes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Cleaner
9/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My top loader is 9 years old and developed a strong mildew odor last year. We moved to our community in 2005 and I can't use bleach causes a chemical reaction and turns everything the water tan or orange. Well we finally figured out why the odor came with 4 years of not being able to wash whites with bleach. I started just running the washer with bleach and baking soda but it didn't do anything. I tired one packet of Tide washing machine cleaner 3 weeks ago and put the second one in this morning. And yes I know it recommends doing 1 packet a week for the 1st month but I was conserving funds. I am telling this is awesome! I priced another product and it was way out of my budget. And a new washer isn't in the workings for awhile. Tide Washing Machine Cleaner fits in my budget! Thank you Tide!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
IT STINKS!!!
5/11/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'll continue to use Tide detergent, but not Tide washing machine cleaner, it STINKS! (literally!) I'm done! I've found a new cleaner and I've thrown out the Tide cleaner I had left. :(
We want you to have a great experience with all of our products and we're sorry that hasn't been the case. We'd very much like to learn more and see how we can help. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643946, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-