Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 463 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

463 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

463 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
234
4 stars
60
3 stars
23
2 stars
21
1 stars
125
1-20 of 439 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 439 total reviews
1-20 of 439 reviews
Excellent : Musky Smell Is Gone!!
6/26/2012

Customer review by ConsumerAdvocate51

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ConsumerAdvocate51
by ConsumerAdvocate51

My new washer is the high efficiency front loader which will get a musky smell after a while. The smell also makes the clothing washed smell the same way. I did a little research- and ordered the Tide Laundry Washing Machine Cleaner 3 Ct. I opened the top of my machine where detergents/softners/bleach are dispensed and took out all of the little compartments. I opened one pouch of the Tide Laundry Machine Cleaner and poured the entire contents in. I followed the directions for time settings and hit the power button, walked away and within an hour or so the wash cycle was finished and all the smell was gone. What was left was a nice soft clean smell. I do not know what people on here are saying when they talk about strong odors permeating throughout their house after use. I did not experience that at all. As a Consumer Advocate reviewing a lot of products-I do not have a lot of time to write useless reviews-this product is excellent. This product gets the job done and put a happy smile on my face. What more can a consumer ask for?

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerAdvocate51
ConsumerAdvocate51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Beware of the smell
4/29/2017

Customer review by HeyinKnoxville

2.0 stars 4/29/2017 by HeyinKnoxville
by HeyinKnoxville

If you are sensitive to perfumes, chemicals or other smells pass this up. I had to open the windows and turn on all the fans to get this very strong odor out of my house - and I didn't even have the machine lid open at any point.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeyinKnoxville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tide Washer Cleaner
7/29/2011

Customer review by themismimi

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by themismimi
by themismimi

As per owners manual I do use this regularly. If not those Funky odors arise. Like when Ur spouse leaves a load of wet/dirty clothes in the washer overnight (or worst yet for a weekend!). But it also takes away the laundry powders and fabric softener build up off the washer parts.. My problem is WHY ISN'T THIS MORE READILY AVAILABLE??? With the surge of front loaders and or High efficiency appliances this should be everywhere laundry supplies are sold... not having to go on-line and search for it. It is a tad expensive for all that is but seems if it prolongs the life of my washer in the long run it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
themismimi
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
I buy this product to clean the washer.
5/14/2017

Customer review by Jessica S

5.0 stars 5/14/2017 by Jessica S
by Jessica S
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cleans my washer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jessica S
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did what it was supposed to!
4/26/2011

Customer review by draperyqueen

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by draperyqueen
by draperyqueen

It did the job. It got rid of the funky smell in my front loader and left it fresh and clean. I plan to continue to use it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
draperyqueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The smell is awful!
1/19/2017

Customer review by Artmom

2.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Artmom
by Artmom

I followed the instructions both times that I've used this product and it may be getting the washer cleaned, but I can't stand the odor it makes in the process. I can barely breathe! I'll never buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Artmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/27/2011

Customer review by mrcomputerman

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by mrcomputerman
by mrcomputerman

It refreshed my washer and took away the nasty smell coming from it. I have only used 1 packet so far and it did the trick.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrcomputerman
Newtown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Good household cleaner
4/16/2011

Customer review by Beachgirl72

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Beachgirl72
by Beachgirl72

Works well in my washing machine. My washing machine requires this product or one similar for maintaining the machine. It is hard to find in the stores.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachgirl72
Barnegat, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
IT STINKS!!!
5/11/2017

Customer review by GagMe

1.0 stars 5/11/2017 by GagMe
by GagMe

I'll continue to use Tide detergent, but not Tide washing machine cleaner, it STINKS! (literally!) I'm done! I've found a new cleaner and I've thrown out the Tide cleaner I had left. :(

Comment from - 5/16/2017

We want you to have a great experience with all of our products and we're sorry that hasn't been the case. We'd very much like to learn more and see how we can help. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433.

GagMe
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product did not live up to its claim.
5/2/2017

Customer review by Mano

1.0 stars 5/2/2017 by Mano
by Mano

I was very disappointed in this product. It did not do the job that it claimed it would do.

Comment from - 5/3/2017

We certainly want our product to live up to your expectations. We'd like to hear more about your experience. Could you please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 when you have a moment?

Mano
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
7/24/2010

Customer review by Marcia

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by Marcia
by Marcia

Since purchasing my new HE toploading Maytag washer over a year ago, I have been a faithful user of the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. Yes, it smells, but I prefer that to smelling mold and mildew and I feel that my clothes are going into a clean washing machine. For those that complain that it clumps in their washer's dispenser/tray, did you read the directions? You are not to place it in the dispenser or tray but to evenly place it in the washer itself then turn the washing machine on the hot cycle or "cleaning" mode. I have followed the directions and never had any issues. I wash everything in my washing machine and it still maintains a wonderful smell without any residue inside the washing machine by using this product faithfully every 40 loads or once a month, whichever comes first. I would urge those that had a bad experience the first time by placing it in their dispenser or tray to sprinkle the contents of the package directly into the washer tub and watch it work magic!

Marcia
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really worked for us
11/11/2010

Customer review by prefertide

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by prefertide
by prefertide

The sour smell coming from my mother's front load washer was sickening. We had to stay on top of the laundry or end up rewashing the load again just to get the smell out before drying. When I saw the ad for the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner I went out and bought it. Read the directions and followed them to the letter. The instructions said if odor is already present in the washer use a pack a week for three weeks as instructed. After the first use the smell was a little worse because of the combination of sour and wahing machine cleaner odors, ran an extra rinse and the odor lessened. After the second week the smell was almost gone. After the third week the sour smell was completely gone and only a fresh clean smell was left behind. We will be using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner once a month from now on to keep her front load washer odor free. This is a great product and highly recommend it. Note: I used the clean washer setting on my mom's front load with this product.

prefertide
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely bad product.
4/25/2017

Customer review by Linosadaj

1.0 stars 4/25/2017 by Linosadaj
by Linosadaj

I used tide washer machine cleaner and I am very frustrated with the smell.

Comment from - 4/27/2017

We would hope that our Tide Washing Machine Cleaner would leave your machine clean and refreshed, and are sorry that the scent frustrates you. Our Washing Machine Cleaner was designed to take on the tough job of freshening the washing machine drum. This process can create a fragrance which might get intense in smaller spaces. Depending on the size and ventilation efficiency of your laundry room, the fragrance could last 30 minutes to several house. Opening a window or using a can can help diminish the fragrance faster. If you’d like to share more about your experience, please give us a call at 800-879-8433.

Linosadaj
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overpowering chemical smell
4/18/2017

Customer review by SBKB

1.0 stars 4/18/2017 by SBKB
by SBKB

24 hours, an extra rinse cycle, a small load of laundry, and ANOTHER rinse cycle later and the chemical smell is so strong my husband can't be in an nearby room. Much worse than what we started with!

Comment from - 4/18/2017

We'd hope that you'd be happy with the results of our Washing Machine Cleaner, and sorry this hasn't been the case recently. We do want to assure you that our Tide Washing Machine Cleaner has been extensively tested to be safe. This product was designed to take on the tough job of freshening the washing machine drum. This process could create a fragrance which might get intense in smaller spaces. Depending on the size and ventilation efficiency of your laundry room, the fragrance could last 30 minutes to several hours. Opening a window or using a fan could help diminish the fragrance faster. So that we can learn more about your experience and help you further, please give us a call at 800-879-8433.

SBKB
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great scent
4/19/2013

Customer review by Displacedyankee

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Displacedyankee
by Displacedyankee

I have a Whirlpool front loader and loaded the product directly into the detergent dispenser, being sure to make the adjustment within the dispenser tray to accommodate powdered detergents and it worked like a champ. I have always been meticulous in maintaining the washer. I always dry off the door and both sides of the seal. I leave the washer door ajar when not using the machine. I completely remove the detergent dispenser drawer and rinse out the residual fabric softener, letting it air dry before replacing it. I towel off the inside of the dispenser drawer space and let it air dry to prevent mildew from growing, especially from the water holes over the detergent dispenser. I ran a monthly cleaning cycle with bleach, as directed in the hand book, but I would have a mild odor in the machine until I tried this product. I was skeptical, but am now a believer. I love the scent of this product and hope it lasts a long time. P & G should make it a Febreeze scent.

Displacedyankee
Fort Mill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Washing machine cleaner
4/6/2017

Customer review by Cynthia M

5.0 stars 4/6/2017 by Cynthia M
by Cynthia M
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this every time my washing machine says it is time to clean [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Cynthia M
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible checmical odor
4/10/2017

Customer review by EdSoliz

1.0 stars 4/10/2017 by EdSoliz
by EdSoliz

Did the job, but left my house with a nasty chemical odor for hours. Never buying again.

Comment from - 4/11/2017

We're sorry to hear that the scent lingered for hours. Keeping your washing machine smelling fresh is a tough job and sometimes this process could create a fragrance which might get intense in smaller spaces that may not be well ventilated. We suggest opening a window or using a fan could help diminish the fragrance faster. We'd very much like to see how we can help further and learn more. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 when you have a moment.

EdSoliz
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
tide
3/18/2017

Customer review by Izzy

5.0 stars 3/18/2017 by Izzy
by Izzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This washing machine cleaner worked well and smells great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Izzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item!
3/24/2017

Customer review by Phuong C

5.0 stars 3/24/2017 by Phuong C
by Phuong C
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the scent! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Phuong C
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This cleaner works GREAT !
9/15/2011

Customer review by CarolinaMike

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by CarolinaMike
by CarolinaMike

We have a 29 year old Maytag top load washing machine that, apparently, got some buildup over the years and was definitely STINKY. The smell was also getting into the laundry . . . Eeeewwwww! After treating the washer with this product as directed, the smell is completely gone and the clothes are fresh again. I teated the washer by setting it for HOT and full load each time, stopped it after 5 minutes of the wash cycle, and let it soak for 4 hours each time. Good job TIDE ! My wife was ready to buy a new washer which is not needed now. Phew ! ! ! That would have been BIG $$$$.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolinaMike
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Gender:Male
1-20 of 439 total reviews
1-20 of 439 reviews