Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 423 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

423 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

423 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
210
4 stars
59
3 stars
20
2 stars
18
1 stars
116
1-20 of 399 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 399 total reviews
1-20 of 399 reviews
Excellent : Musky Smell Is Gone!!
6/26/2012

Customer review by ConsumerAdvocate51

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ConsumerAdvocate51
by ConsumerAdvocate51

My new washer is the high efficiency front loader which will get a musky smell after a while. The smell also makes the clothing washed smell the same way. I did a little research- and ordered the Tide Laundry Washing Machine Cleaner 3 Ct. I opened the top of my machine where detergents/softners/bleach are dispensed and took out all of the little compartments. I opened one pouch of the Tide Laundry Machine Cleaner and poured the entire contents in. I followed the directions for time settings and hit the power button, walked away and within an hour or so the wash cycle was finished and all the smell was gone. What was left was a nice soft clean smell. I do not know what people on here are saying when they talk about strong odors permeating throughout their house after use. I did not experience that at all. As a Consumer Advocate reviewing a lot of products-I do not have a lot of time to write useless reviews-this product is excellent. This product gets the job done and put a happy smile on my face. What more can a consumer ask for?

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerAdvocate51
ConsumerAdvocate51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best Washer Cleaner You Can Buy!!
7/23/2016

Customer review by kdg380

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by kdg380
by kdg380
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried 4 different washer cleaners. I cant remember the name of the one in the green box that sits on the shelf next to this tide one but DO NOT BUY THE ONE IN THE GREEN AND YELLOW BOX!! Spend the extra $2 and get the tide brand. It cleans your washed like I couldn't believe it reply does. And it also leaves behind a sent that lasts for days and even weeks. It's great! Run it on regular cycle with hot water!! Amazing product!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdg380
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tide Washer Cleaner
7/29/2011

Customer review by themismimi

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by themismimi
by themismimi

As per owners manual I do use this regularly. If not those Funky odors arise. Like when Ur spouse leaves a load of wet/dirty clothes in the washer overnight (or worst yet for a weekend!). But it also takes away the laundry powders and fabric softener build up off the washer parts.. My problem is WHY ISN'T THIS MORE READILY AVAILABLE??? With the surge of front loaders and or High efficiency appliances this should be everywhere laundry supplies are sold... not having to go on-line and search for it. It is a tad expensive for all that is but seems if it prolongs the life of my washer in the long run it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
themismimi
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
LOVE this!
7/15/2016

Customer review by WMFanLCC

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by WMFanLCC
by WMFanLCC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have NEVER been let down by Tide. The washing machine cleaner does an excellent job and smells wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WMFanLCC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did what it was supposed to!
4/26/2011

Customer review by draperyqueen

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by draperyqueen
by draperyqueen

It did the job. It got rid of the funky smell in my front loader and left it fresh and clean. I plan to continue to use it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
draperyqueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
7/24/2010

Customer review by Marcia

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by Marcia
by Marcia

Since purchasing my new HE toploading Maytag washer over a year ago, I have been a faithful user of the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. Yes, it smells, but I prefer that to smelling mold and mildew and I feel that my clothes are going into a clean washing machine. For those that complain that it clumps in their washer's dispenser/tray, did you read the directions? You are not to place it in the dispenser or tray but to evenly place it in the washer itself then turn the washing machine on the hot cycle or "cleaning" mode. I have followed the directions and never had any issues. I wash everything in my washing machine and it still maintains a wonderful smell without any residue inside the washing machine by using this product faithfully every 40 loads or once a month, whichever comes first. I would urge those that had a bad experience the first time by placing it in their dispenser or tray to sprinkle the contents of the package directly into the washer tub and watch it work magic!

Marcia
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY!
6/29/2016

Customer review by unhappyconsumer

1.0 stars 6/29/2016 by unhappyconsumer
by unhappyconsumer

Emits an extremely strong offensive chemical odor that will not leave! Afraid to wash my clothes :(

Comment from - 7/1/2016

We're sorry this was your experience and we'd like to learn more so we can help. At your earliest convenience, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433. We're open Monday through Friday from 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST .

unhappyconsumer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/27/2011

Customer review by mrcomputerman

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by mrcomputerman
by mrcomputerman

It refreshed my washer and took away the nasty smell coming from it. I have only used 1 packet so far and it did the trick.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrcomputerman
Newtown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Washing machine cleaner
7/2/2016

Customer review by Dixie

4.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Dixie
by Dixie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does a great job

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dixie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this product!
6/24/2016

Customer review by MontanaCowGirl

5.0 stars 6/24/2016 by MontanaCowGirl
by MontanaCowGirl

This cleans my machine very well and it smells so good while and when it is finished cleaning!

MontanaCowGirl
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really worked for us
11/11/2010

Customer review by prefertide

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by prefertide
by prefertide

The sour smell coming from my mother's front load washer was sickening. We had to stay on top of the laundry or end up rewashing the load again just to get the smell out before drying. When I saw the ad for the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner I went out and bought it. Read the directions and followed them to the letter. The instructions said if odor is already present in the washer use a pack a week for three weeks as instructed. After the first use the smell was a little worse because of the combination of sour and wahing machine cleaner odors, ran an extra rinse and the odor lessened. After the second week the smell was almost gone. After the third week the sour smell was completely gone and only a fresh clean smell was left behind. We will be using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner once a month from now on to keep her front load washer odor free. This is a great product and highly recommend it. Note: I used the clean washer setting on my mom's front load with this product.

prefertide
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good household cleaner
4/16/2011

Customer review by Beachgirl72

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Beachgirl72
by Beachgirl72

Works well in my washing machine. My washing machine requires this product or one similar for maintaining the machine. It is hard to find in the stores.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachgirl72
Barnegat, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great scent
4/19/2013

Customer review by Displacedyankee

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Displacedyankee
by Displacedyankee

I have a Whirlpool front loader and loaded the product directly into the detergent dispenser, being sure to make the adjustment within the dispenser tray to accommodate powdered detergents and it worked like a champ. I have always been meticulous in maintaining the washer. I always dry off the door and both sides of the seal. I leave the washer door ajar when not using the machine. I completely remove the detergent dispenser drawer and rinse out the residual fabric softener, letting it air dry before replacing it. I towel off the inside of the dispenser drawer space and let it air dry to prevent mildew from growing, especially from the water holes over the detergent dispenser. I ran a monthly cleaning cycle with bleach, as directed in the hand book, but I would have a mild odor in the machine until I tried this product. I was skeptical, but am now a believer. I love the scent of this product and hope it lasts a long time. P & G should make it a Febreeze scent.

Displacedyankee
Fort Mill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrific, Overpowered Fragrance
5/23/2016

Customer review by SuzieB

1.0 stars 5/23/2016 by SuzieB
by SuzieB

This product may have cleaned my machine, but the overpowering fragrance is offensive. After several rinses and a small load, my washer still stinks. The other two packets are already in the trash.

Comment from Karen - 5/25/2016

We're sorry you found the scent of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner to be overpowering. Scent is a personal preference, and we'll share your feedback with the rest of our team. We invite you to call us at 1-800-879-8433 so we can make this up to you. We're open M-F from 9-6 ET and will be happy to help!

SuzieB
Frisco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Grossly over scented
5/2/2016

Customer review by Brian2318

1.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Brian2318
by Brian2318

Scent is unpleasant, overpowering, and lingers too long. Clean doesn't have to smell. I shouldn't have to open a window to air it out.

Comment from - 5/5/2016

The process while using Tide's Washing Machine Cleaner can create a fragrance which might get intense in smaller spaces, Brian, and we're sorry you dislike this strong scent. The good news is, the fragrance should be gone after 30 minutes to a few hours based on the size and ventilation efficiency of your laundry room. If you have any questions or comments, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433, 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST, Monday - Friday

Brian2318
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
8/18/2013

Customer review by Mtncat

1.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Mtncat
by Mtncat

Please let me first say that I use nothing but Tide products and have been very happy with them till I wasted my money and time with this Washing Machine Cleaner Product. IT IS AWFUL!!! I was so very disappointed. It smells bad, it doesn't work, it made an awful mess all over the inside of my front loader washer. The instructions are a joke on the package as the picture shows you should put the product in the detergent dispenser drawer, but the written message says put it into the tub itself. I ended up with a huge nasty glob of the stuff in my dispenser, and all over the dispenser drawer itself. I had to run the machine 3 loads to get rid of the stuff and the smell it left in my machine was much worse than it was before I used it. If I could get my money back I certainly would. This stuff is now going in the trash which is just where it belongs! Please don't waste your money as I did mine. Sorry P&G, this is the worst thing you have ever made and you really should either reformulate it and clean up the instructions, or get it off the market now!

Mtncat
Sunland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Plug your nose!
4/30/2016

Customer review by Ahent1975

2.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Ahent1975
by Ahent1975

Too much fragrance. I have used it 2xs hoping for better results. Open windows, still stank. Yuck!

Comment from - 5/3/2016

We’re sorry you found the scent too strong. Tide Washing Machine Cleaner is designed for the tough job of cleaning out residue and freshening the washing machine drum. Depending on the size and ventilation of your laundry room, the fragrance could last 30 minutes to several hours. Opening a window or using a fan could help diminish the fragrance faster and the scent should be completely gone after running several cycles of laundry.

Ahent1975
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
awesome product
4/19/2016

Customer review by gjbjrb

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by gjbjrb
by gjbjrb

This is a wonderful product, Smell is awesome, better than vinegar and bleach. Made the whole laundry room smell good.

gjbjrb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
great product
6/21/2011

Customer review by GRod04

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by GRod04
by GRod04

just as its intended use is for. It cleaned my washer really good and took away the bad smell that it would leave on the clothes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GRod04
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This cleaner works GREAT !
9/15/2011

Customer review by CarolinaMike

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by CarolinaMike
by CarolinaMike

We have a 29 year old Maytag top load washing machine that, apparently, got some buildup over the years and was definitely STINKY. The smell was also getting into the laundry . . . Eeeewwwww! After treating the washer with this product as directed, the smell is completely gone and the clothes are fresh again. I teated the washer by setting it for HOT and full load each time, stopped it after 5 minutes of the wash cycle, and let it soak for 4 hours each time. Good job TIDE ! My wife was ready to buy a new washer which is not needed now. Phew ! ! ! That would have been BIG $$$$.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolinaMike
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 399 total reviews
1-20 of 399 reviews