Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 453 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

453 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

453 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
230
4 stars
59
3 stars
23
2 stars
21
1 stars
120
1-20 of 429 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 429 total reviews
1-20 of 429 reviews
Tide washer cleaner.
1/23/2017

Customer review by Marymay

5.0 stars 1/23/2017 by Marymay
by Marymay

I love to use this product.Tide has alot of productd.This one cleans and leaves washer smelling wonderful.I have used many times since its been out.You need to clean your washer this is so eazy and leaves it very clean.

Marymay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
7/24/2010

Customer review by Marcia

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by Marcia
by Marcia

Since purchasing my new HE toploading Maytag washer over a year ago, I have been a faithful user of the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. Yes, it smells, but I prefer that to smelling mold and mildew and I feel that my clothes are going into a clean washing machine. For those that complain that it clumps in their washer's dispenser/tray, did you read the directions? You are not to place it in the dispenser or tray but to evenly place it in the washer itself then turn the washing machine on the hot cycle or "cleaning" mode. I have followed the directions and never had any issues. I wash everything in my washing machine and it still maintains a wonderful smell without any residue inside the washing machine by using this product faithfully every 40 loads or once a month, whichever comes first. I would urge those that had a bad experience the first time by placing it in their dispenser or tray to sprinkle the contents of the package directly into the washer tub and watch it work magic!

Marcia
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not a product of my choice
1/20/2017

Customer review by overwhelming

2.0 stars 1/20/2017 by overwhelming
by overwhelming

Overbearing and sets of my asthma. And is overwhelming fragrance. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

overwhelming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really worked for us
11/11/2010

Customer review by prefertide

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by prefertide
by prefertide

The sour smell coming from my mother's front load washer was sickening. We had to stay on top of the laundry or end up rewashing the load again just to get the smell out before drying. When I saw the ad for the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner I went out and bought it. Read the directions and followed them to the letter. The instructions said if odor is already present in the washer use a pack a week for three weeks as instructed. After the first use the smell was a little worse because of the combination of sour and wahing machine cleaner odors, ran an extra rinse and the odor lessened. After the second week the smell was almost gone. After the third week the sour smell was completely gone and only a fresh clean smell was left behind. We will be using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner once a month from now on to keep her front load washer odor free. This is a great product and highly recommend it. Note: I used the clean washer setting on my mom's front load with this product.

prefertide
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great scent
4/19/2013

Customer review by Displacedyankee

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Displacedyankee
by Displacedyankee

I have a Whirlpool front loader and loaded the product directly into the detergent dispenser, being sure to make the adjustment within the dispenser tray to accommodate powdered detergents and it worked like a champ. I have always been meticulous in maintaining the washer. I always dry off the door and both sides of the seal. I leave the washer door ajar when not using the machine. I completely remove the detergent dispenser drawer and rinse out the residual fabric softener, letting it air dry before replacing it. I towel off the inside of the dispenser drawer space and let it air dry to prevent mildew from growing, especially from the water holes over the detergent dispenser. I ran a monthly cleaning cycle with bleach, as directed in the hand book, but I would have a mild odor in the machine until I tried this product. I was skeptical, but am now a believer. I love the scent of this product and hope it lasts a long time. P & G should make it a Febreeze scent.

Displacedyankee
Fort Mill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANER EVER
12/23/2016

Customer review by Mari51

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Mari51
by Mari51

Used others - never worked. Worked first time used. Would definitely recommend....

Mari51
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
8/18/2013

Customer review by Mtncat

1.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Mtncat
by Mtncat

Please let me first say that I use nothing but Tide products and have been very happy with them till I wasted my money and time with this Washing Machine Cleaner Product. IT IS AWFUL!!! I was so very disappointed. It smells bad, it doesn't work, it made an awful mess all over the inside of my front loader washer. The instructions are a joke on the package as the picture shows you should put the product in the detergent dispenser drawer, but the written message says put it into the tub itself. I ended up with a huge nasty glob of the stuff in my dispenser, and all over the dispenser drawer itself. I had to run the machine 3 loads to get rid of the stuff and the smell it left in my machine was much worse than it was before I used it. If I could get my money back I certainly would. This stuff is now going in the trash which is just where it belongs! Please don't waste your money as I did mine. Sorry P&G, this is the worst thing you have ever made and you really should either reformulate it and clean up the instructions, or get it off the market now!

Mtncat
Sunland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
better than I expect
11/5/2016

Customer review by Eden_mtl

5.0 stars 11/5/2016 by Eden_mtl
by Eden_mtl

I was worried after reading some negative reviews but it turned out to be a fine job. I used it once and found most of the color on the rubber part was gone. Only a little left and I believe they will be gone next I use this cleaner. My washer didn't have much odder though, only some mold or rust color, Yes I will recommend it.

Eden_mtl
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never thought it would work
10/19/2010

Customer review by Sbwilson

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by Sbwilson
by Sbwilson

I have been trying everything to get rid of odors in my washer and have not been able to find anything. I saw a commercial for Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and thought I have tried everything else, what the heck I'll give this a shot. I have used it one time and will be using my second packet this weekend. I was amazed at the difference in my clothing. I have several dogs and cats and you know how the odor, even if the house is clean, the litter box and just overall animal odor seems to linger. My clothing was, or at least I felt it was, starting to have an odor, human sweat and animal alike. I put this in my washer on Sunday before starting my laundry and my clothing came out fresh and clean. No more feeling as if my clothes have a lingering odor. I know they smell fresh and clean. I have been waiting on a product just like this. It is awesome and it does work. I will be using this forever. Thanks Tide!

Sbwilson
Linwood, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product STINKS-- literally!
2/28/2010

Customer review by geezie

1.0 stars 2/28/2010 by geezie
by geezie

I had high hopes for this product because I have only used Tide for years. It cleans my clothes, makes sense that it would clean my washing machine, right? Wrong! I have an HE front-loading machine. There is some gook forming on the inside rim because water pools there. So I figured I'd give this a try. The first thing I noticed after I finished the cycle-- IT STINKS!! I mean, yuck. My whole laundry and hallway smell horrific. It smells like old garbage. I cannot believe that anyone thinks this smells clean. I had to air the place out for a few hours. I am not exaggerating. But, holding my breath, I looked into the machine and it is no cleaner than it was before I used this product. So, it doesn't work and it smells. A BIG disappointment from a brand like Tide. I will still use their detergent, but I am definitely leery of all the other new products they are coming out with now.

geezie
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome
10/10/2016

Customer review by Mitchiko8866

5.0 stars 10/10/2016 by Mitchiko8866
by Mitchiko8866

This product removed the smell from my washer. I highly recommend using it every 2 weeks or so just to keep everything smelling fresh. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Mitchiko8866
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could smell better
9/28/2016

Customer review by boehring

3.0 stars 9/28/2016 by boehring
by boehring

While this does seem to do an okay job cleaning the washing machine. The smell is not near as fresh as I would have thought, and actually a little unpleasant.

boehring
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Washer now STINKS
9/28/2016

Customer review by BonnieB66

1.0 stars 9/28/2016 by BonnieB66
by BonnieB66

my washer stinks exactly like the washing machine cleaner smells. Do NOT buy this product....the only good thing.....my clothes don't seem to have picked up this odor

Comment from - 9/30/2016

We expect the product to clean and freshen your washer, Bonnie, and we're sorry you dislike the scent left behind. We'd like to gather a few details and help further. When you have time, please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433.

BonnieB66
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful Odor
5/8/2011

Customer review by Dani22

1.0 stars 5/8/2011 by Dani22
by Dani22

I was excited to use this product and followed the directions exactly. I did not have any problems with clumping as I now see after reading reviews that many people have had. My problem with this product is that it made my machine smell worse than it did before I used the product!!! It really didn't even smell before, I just thought I would use as maintenance so that my machine would not begin to smell because I know that is a common problem with front loaders. Now, there is a terrible musty smell that fills the entire laundry room and it hits you like a ton of bricks as soon as I open door! Now I have to try to figure out how to get rid of that smell. I wish I could give this product a zero out of five stars (1 star was my lowest option). I have two small children (ages 1 & 2) so, if I am taking the time to write a review you know it is bad!!!! Do not use!

Comment from Jenny - 5/12/2011

I am sorry your machine has an off odor after using the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. This is unusual and we would like to speak with you about this situation. Please give us a call at 1-800-879-8433 with the box handy.

Dani22
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Confusing Directions
12/8/2012

Customer review by JustinPSU

1.0 stars 12/8/2012 by JustinPSU
by JustinPSU

I purchased the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and now have NO clue what to do to use it. The instructions on the box and the instructions on the packages INSIDE the box are DIFFERENT. One shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured into the detergent cup, the other shows a diagram of a front loader where the detergent is poured directly into the washing machine basin. Which is it? How can PG put out conflicting instructions? Looking online it seems that people are having problems with both options. I'm left to trial and error to see what works. This is horrible - the manager who approved the instructions and the quality control people who approved opposing instructions should be fired. I even tried calling the 800 number for assistance, but they're not open on weekends. Get your act together Tide product line. I expected much much more.

Comment from Shawnna - 12/12/2012

Sorry the directions were confusing. To use the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner, remove clothing from your washer. Put 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner directly into the washer. Run the washer on a normal cycle on the hottest setting. Also, use the product once a month to keep your washer clean and fresh. Hope this helps!

JustinPSU
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Grrr...
6/18/2012

Customer review by BossQueenEJ

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by BossQueenEJ
by BossQueenEJ

I do NOT like Tide's Washing Machine Cleaner. Nowhere on the box or the packets does it say to remove the plastic liner in the detergent dispenser drawer. I followed the directions exactly as written (Pour 1 pouch of Tide Washing Machine Cleaner into your detergent dispenser drawer, run washer on normal cycle with the hot water setting), twice. I got the same gunked up results - the WMC just sat in the detergent dispenser drawer, like a soggy brick. The second time (second time of using the WMC), I ran the wash again - hot, small load - meaning I ran the washing machine twice this time of using the cleaner. My detergent dispenser drawer is mostly empty and my washing machine smells better. What a hassle though! I did NOT have this problem with the other brand I was told to use, by the way. And Tide is MORE expensive than the other brand.

Comment from Dee - 6/25/2012

I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and we'd like to learn more. Please give us a call at (800) 879-8433 so we can help!

BossQueenEJ
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is a very good product.
9/16/2016

Customer review by Saura14

2.0 stars 9/16/2016 by Saura14
by Saura14

This is a very good product and the result which you will get after using this product is really good.

Comment from - 9/16/2016

We're so happy that you've received such great results, Saura!

Saura14
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pickle Smell
8/30/2016

Customer review by ihatepickles

1.0 stars 8/30/2016 by ihatepickles
by ihatepickles

I used this product and my washer smells like pickles now. I ran the washer 8 more times and cannot get rid of the odor. Apparent lack of product research evident. Do not purchase!

Comment from - 9/6/2016

That's certainly not the smell we'd expect to come from our washing machine cleaner. We've done a lot of testing on this product and would like to gather more information about your experience. Please give us a call at 855-236-3353 and we'd be happy to further help.

ihatepickles
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than Affresh
5/6/2010

Customer review by Zumajaz

4.0 stars 5/6/2010 by Zumajaz
by Zumajaz

Best product I have found so far! I am renting and have a washing machine that is 25 years old. It had the worst moldy smell and grime on the agitator. I tried Affresh, which is expensive, and the smell remained. Then I tried Tide and the smell disappeared for a few days. Thinking that the musty smell was years in the making and impossible to eradicate due to the age of the machine, I now use Tide washing machine cleaner once each week. Yes, it is very fragrant, they could tone it down it a bit. But it is much better than the house smelling like moldy slime. In response to those expecting results with only one washing - if your machine has been smelling for a while, it makes sense that more than one washing would be required. Then regular upkeep, just like everything else we have to repeatedly clean is needed.

Zumajaz
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible!!! Don't waste your money!!!
6/16/2010

Customer review by trblncolo

1.0 stars 6/16/2010 by trblncolo
by trblncolo

I was expecting great things because it was from "Tide", but I was let down! I have front loaders and I was told that every 6 months you are suppose to clean your washer so I bought the Tide Washer Machine Cleaner and placed it in the compartment and ran the cycle. When it was done all I found was a clump of mushy detergent in the compartment and a residue on the door. Not only did I return it to the store , I also contacted customer service about the problem, then I told everyone I knew, and I know alot of people, the store I took it back to took it off their shelf because alot of other people returned their product also for dissatisfaction. I have no idea where they tested this, but it isn't a good product. This one needs to go back and be re-thought and tweeked then brought back only when it actually works.

trblncolo
Pueblo, Colo
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 429 total reviews
1-20 of 429 reviews