Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 584 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

584 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

584 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
362
4 stars
80
3 stars
34
2 stars
24
1 stars
84
1-20 of 532 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 532 total reviews
1-20 of 532 reviews
Favorite
6/18/2016

Customer review by Vns133

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Vns133
by Vns133
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Clean freeze is my favorite scent ever. I'm usually very picky about the smell of laundry after its washed. It washes great, and smells great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vns133
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
REMOVE ACTIVE-LIFT
2/8/2011

Customer review by greeneyes

1.0 stars 2/8/2011 by greeneyes
by greeneyes

I have been using Tide Liquid for years and have been very happy with it until the Acti-Lift was added to it. The detergent now makes my laundry smell terrible- a very strong, bitter odor. It also made my white towels turn gray. My family and friends have also complained about the same problem, especially the awful smell. Tide, you keep insisting that the " scent has not changed" and tell us to use Tide free and gentle. I do not want no smell. I want a nice smell. I see other reviewers wrote in about the same problem with the Acti-Lift ( especially those who use Tide with Downey). Tide, please listen to your customers and give them what they want. I HATE the smell of the Acti-Lift and have switched to a new detergent. You must be losing many other customers because of this problem. Tide is like an American tradition and you have ruined a product we have loved for years. I am sorry to say I will never use Tide again unless the Acti-Lift is taken out and the old formula is back again.

Comment from Jenny - 2/14/2011

I am sorry you are disappointed with the Tide with Acti-Lift. I am certainly sharing all of your comments with the rest of the Tide team. We value you as a loyal consumer and would like to get some more details from you about your experience. There is nothing in the product that should be leaving a greyness to the towels. Please call us at 1-800-879-8433 so we can assist you further.

greeneyes
Rocky Point, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
New fragrance is terrible
9/26/2014

Customer review by zroger73

1.0 stars 9/26/2014 by zroger73
by zroger73

I've used Tide Original liquid for years. Following my first use of the "new" scent (which I was initially unaware had changed), I thought my washer was broken and didn't complete the rinse cycle. The smell was overpowering - like an old lady's stale perfume left over from World War I. I emailed Tide and received this response: "Our Tide Original and Tide Mountain Spring liquid laundry detergents were upgraded to new and improved scents that still provide a great smell of clean. Our ‘new’ Tide Original liquid laundry detergent’s scent provides an improved scent experience. Tide Original liquid laundry detergent’s scent now matches Tide Original powder laundry detergent’s scent. If you prefer the fragrance from your previous Tide Original, we suggest Tide Mountain Spring liquid laundry detergent as it now contains the ‘old’ Tide Original fragrance. Tide Mountain Spring liquid laundry detergent’s scent now matches Tide Mountain Spring powder laundry detergent’s scent."

zroger73
Kilgore, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
love tide detergent
6/24/2016

Customer review by collegegraduate

5.0 stars 6/24/2016 by collegegraduate
by collegegraduate

tide is just great: it doesn't make my skin itch or irritable; this was the best gift my mom ever bought me in college. I only wished I used it more consistently ;)

collegegraduate
Costa Mesa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tide
6/23/2016

Customer review by Patinus

4.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Patinus
by Patinus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good stuff for laundry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patinus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best detergent.
6/20/2016

Customer review by Lucy

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Lucy
by Lucy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good detergent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tide's for me!
5/29/2016

Customer review by NanaG

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by NanaG
by NanaG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tide liquid laundry detergent is the best. My clothes come out smelling so fresh!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Just For Laundry
5/17/2010

Customer review by MrDisTrv

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by MrDisTrv
by MrDisTrv

I grew up on Tide products; it has always been a staple in my family. Today I put liquid Tide to the test by attempting to remove years of stubborn oil stains on my driveway. I have had a car with a major oil leak, left it parked on the driveway for a year before getting rid of it. It left behind an ugly oil slick on the driveway. I was able to remove the slick portion of the stain with commercial driveway cleaners, but it never got rid of the permanent black stain it left behind until I decided to pour some liquid Tide on it. I let it soak in for about 15 minutes, and then rinsed with a high power hose. It miraculously worked. Once the drive way was dry, I could begin to see the blackness disappear. I treated this stain twice this way with positive results. The third time, I used a scrub brush with the Tide to get the last of it clean and I have no black stains anymore. Makes me wish I took before and after pictures. Thank you Tide.

MrDisTrv
Moreno Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product has been great
5/22/2016

Customer review by Shelley

5.0 stars 5/22/2016 by Shelley
by Shelley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shelley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large bottle needs to be redesigned
11/16/2010

Customer review by BethAnne

1.0 stars 11/16/2010 by BethAnne
by BethAnne

It seems inconsistent that I will recommend this to a friend, but rate it so poorly. The detergent itself has been very satisfactory. I have used Tide powder all my life and am a believer. We just got a front loader and now use the liquid HE. My problem is, the design of the largest heaviest dispenser bottle with the push button spout is extremely unwieldy. I thought it was just me, but we needed a new bottle the other day and my husband commented that if any other laundry soap in the shopping aisle had a more thoughtfully designed bottle, he would choose it instead! Unfortunately they were all made from exactly the same mold. And, unfortunately, we believe the designer has never tested his bottle. Anyway, the company who changes this design will get our business. We agreed that there should be a second handle or handhold on the side that becomes the top when you are dispensing the detergent. As baby boomers, we are conscious of the savings in price of the larger volume bottle, but I am not as strong as I used to be and need a better design.

BethAnne
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tide Detergent
4/17/2016

Customer review by SMAD

5.0 stars 4/17/2016 by SMAD
by SMAD

This is the best deal for your money! Tide cleans well and smells good!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMAD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What happened?
1/11/2011

Customer review by BrennonsDaddy

1.0 stars 1/11/2011 by BrennonsDaddy
by BrennonsDaddy

I grew up with my mother using Tide for all our clothes. When I moved out on my own, I was of course more inclined to use cheaper detergents, which I quickly learned was more of a "get what you pay for" scenario, as they never cleaned my clothes nearly as well as Tide. Now, years later, I still use Tide, but something seems to have changed. My clothes are no longer getting as clean as they used to. Also, my 15 month old's shirt had a bit of watery blood on it from where he is teething. It was still damp when I put it in the laundry, even pouring a tad bit of Tide on the spots. For some reason, it did not come out. Washed again, same thing. My wife was also a die-hard Tide fan, but she has noticed that stains do not come out like they used to. Not sure if this has to do with the new "technology" they are using, but we are not happy with something we have used for decades. Very unfortunate.

BrennonsDaddy
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
There's no better detergent for your clothes!
7/31/2014

Customer review by clean57

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by clean57
by clean57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wouldn't use anything other than the tide brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clean57
belleville, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Acti-Lift Stinks--literally!
11/26/2010

Customer review by Golfungal

1.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Golfungal
by Golfungal

I just finished the napkins and linens from our Thanksgiving Day dinner. I am so upset with the results that I came to this site to register my disappointment. I don't know what changes have been made, but they aren't working for me. First, the smell of Tide Plus a touch of Downy is disgusting--not a clean smell at all. More like cheap perfume. The real disappointment though is in the results. It has left stains on several items that I had to wash several times (with no detergent) to remove. I have now washed the napkins from yesterday three times and neither the food stains or the Tide stains will not come out! I have washed these napkins for years with great result from the original Tide. I have used Tide for most of my married life (over 40 years), but unless there is some change in the ingredients, I will no longer purchase it. Please go back to the Original scent and formula!

Golfungal
Pinehurst, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
thanks for the splotches
10/3/2010

Customer review by ActiMiffed

1.0 stars 10/3/2010 by ActiMiffed
by ActiMiffed

I've scratched my head for several days after seeing more and more clothes come out of my wash with random, splotchy stains. My daughter's school uniform includes navy polo shirts and khaki slacks. I wash them separately, but the navy shirts now have areas of slight--but noticeable--fading, and the khakis are spotted with slightly darker-than-khaki stains. In other articles of clothing, such as a lime green t-shirt, I now have stains that look similar to the color of the detergent and in a splatter pattern, perhaps from when the soap first touched the garment. I am using my first jug of Tide Acti-Lift, so it finally makes sense. I am meticulous with my laundry, so I'm more than frustrated that so much of it is now ruined. My mother used Tide for many years, and I have used it for a while. But because of this experience, I will find something different to use. No more Tide for me!

ActiMiffed
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tide.....a family tradition
11/29/2009

Customer review by Lucy47

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by Lucy47
by Lucy47

Hello, I am a TIDE generational user. My grandma, mom, and all my aunts use only TIDE. I have 3 sisters who all use TIDE and 4 sister-in -laws that all use TIDE. If someone ask you to pick up some laundry detergent while you are out you know to buy TIDE...there is no other brand in our family. Growing up in a large family on a farm momma had to have a detergent that she could depend on to get our clothes clean in cold water. This was well before the "cold water" detergents existed. As a younger I tried other brands , but always came back to TIDE. Now that I am older I really understand what momma taught us when it came to money.......you can either buy the right stuff the first time to the job done or you can spend 2xs the money. I buy only TIDE . Once my husband did the shopping and came back with another brand, even my 5 year old daughter knew it was going back to the store. She said "Daddy we use TIDE in the bright orange bottle". I guess she will grow up to be another faithful TIDE user. Thanks Tide for helping me save time and money so I ca focus on the important things in life.............my family

Lucy47
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WHY????
2/15/2014

Customer review by Nikkie

1.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Nikkie
by Nikkie

This HE formula is horrid. Absolutely HORRID. Not a single store in my area carries the REGULAR tide anymore. They are all the HE brand. Our clothes and towels are literally worn once, no mud, no dirt...and the HE is what we're FORCED to use now. I have to wash the clothes 3 times for the water to turn clear. I don't know what stores no longer carry the regular and I don't know what Tide says it works the same. It does not. Not everyone has an HE washer, nor do we plan on having something in our house that creates mold. This is crazy. I'm allergic to most detergents so I have to use Tide and now it costs me so much money to do a single load. I'm furious and tired of it. It's not fair to the consumer. And it's not just my area. I am hearing it from many people online...the non HE detergent is not available by them and the HE version does not work in a regular washer.

Nikkie
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better packaging/labeling... Please!
6/14/2010

Customer review by Tpyoman

4.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Tpyoman
by Tpyoman

I have been using Tide HE since I bought my new Whirlpool front loader 4 years ago. Most recently I have been using Tide HE with Downy. I have been very satisfied with both the washer and the Tide products, EXCEPT for one thing. That is, as I unfortunately just discovered this morning, that the packaging and labeling for Tide HE and regular Tide is so similar that it is easy to pick up the wrong type by mistake. I am now in the process of extra rinse cycles and washer cleaning cycles to get rid of all the suds. Believe me, you do NOT want to use regular detergent in a machine designed for HE detergent. I am hoping the grocery store will let me exchange this bottle for the HE. Please take a look at packaging and labeling that will help to distinguish the detergents. The bottles are the same size, shape and color and the labeling is fairly subtle as well. As I can see from other posts, I am not the first to make this somewhat costly and time consuming mistake. This is the only reason I am awarding Tide 4 stars instead of 5. When I see a satisfactory change, I'll be back and give you the 5th star. Thank you.

Tpyoman
LaGrange, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RUINED MY TODDLERS FAVORITE JERSEY!
9/13/2010

Customer review by justyne5

1.0 stars 9/13/2010 by justyne5
by justyne5

TIDE RUINED MY SONS $60 ANGELS JERSEY! I am so upset. My toddler has his favorite jersey- he wears it all the time. I just tried this Tide Acti-Lift with Lavender and Downey for the first time (we ALWAYS use liquid Tide- have for years). I washed the jersey by itself in cold, following the care instructions. Some of the liquid Tide spilled on the jersey as I was putting it in and I figured " no problem, it's soap, it will wash out". WRONG! I pulled the jersey out of the wash when the cycle completed and too my horror there was a huge dark stain IN THE EXACT PATTERN OF THE SPILL. I have tried washing it again, with soap and without, to no avail. It is completely ruined, and I don't know how I am going to tell my 3-year old that his shirt can't be worn anymore. I am so upset that I am in tears right now. Tide really ruined my evening, and my childs tomorrow.

justyne5
Garden Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Classic Tide Scent
2/25/2016

Customer review by Sunflower9

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Sunflower9
by Sunflower9

I will not use any other laundry soap. Tide has proven itself time and again. Our clothes look great and I have gotten compliments on the scent. I swear by it!

Sunflower9
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 532 total reviews
1-20 of 532 reviews