Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 20 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Product
7/14/2009

Customer review by TigerGolf1

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by TigerGolf1
by TigerGolf1

The Upro met all my expectations and more. Out of all the golf gps's on the market, In my opinion, you will get the biggest bang for you investment and a $100.00 rebate.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TigerGolf1
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Product good;software lacking
5/16/2010

Customer review by Charam

4.0 stars 5/16/2010 by Charam
by Charam

I have had this product for several weeks. I carefully reviewed several units before selecting the uPro. The discussion forums were a major influence on my decision. The unit functions as advertised and has superior features to those of my friends from the competitors. However, unless the course is available in promode, you are paying a premium for features you will not use. I have not purchased any courses in promode and doubt that I will based upon my current experience. I have been extremely disappointed in the number of courses mapped in promode in my area (southeastern North Carolina). We are not exactly a golf wilderness! Of the ten courses I play regularly, only one is mapped. Therefore, I use only the Basic mode. These features are available on much less expensive units. Callaway is not competely forthcoming about this sparsity of course availablity in Promode. Advertising the number of courses mapped around the country hides the fact that the ones to which I have access regularly are not mapped. Apparently, only courses in densely populated areas, resorts, etc. are mapped. Customer support will give no indication of when a course might be available. They only say that there must be sufficient demand (numbers of requests). My home club is not mapped and if everly member requests it, I doubt that will ever satilsfy the demand criteria. I have been shocked at the lack of courses for the average golfer. Unless you live in a heavily populated area, I would recommend getting a cheaper model. I rate the unit high because it is as advertised. But the support is seriously flawed with no hope on the horizon. Personally, I would not buy the unit again and will probably sell mine for one of the others with fewer bells and whistles. By the way, I give Walmart major props. My first unit (bought online) was defective and the local store (stores don't sell them) took it back and issued a gift card credit. I immediately purchased the second unit which works fine. Walmart came out looking much better than Callaway. I (or any member of my familty, etc.) am not affiliated in any way with Walmart or Callaway or any of their competitors.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charam
Southeastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Extremely accurate
10/19/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/19/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Callaway UPro is a very handy device. It gives me very accurate yardage whenever I need it. The flyby is extremely helpful on blind holes. I'd like to see is to have all the hazards on the main screen, and have a marker for the 100/125/150/150 layup (so I don't have to do the math). The navigation of the menus is also tricky. I haven't gone through the manual yet, so some of my problems could possibly be solved by doing that. Basic mode isn't all that bad either if all you're looking for is yardage. Make sure your courses are on their list for Pro Mode availability. Mine wasn't and it's taking a while to get it done.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product, Some Accuracy Problems
7/9/2010

Customer review by Zoomie12

4.0 stars 7/9/2010 by Zoomie12
by Zoomie12

I purchased the uPro due to all of the features, particularly the aerial photography of courses. I love the product and I have found it very accurate on my home course. However, I just played 3 courses in Branson, MO and found them all to be inaccurate to varying degrees. One of the three was totally unusable due to the inaccuracy of yardage measurements. I've reported this to Callaway and they tell me the courses will be updated. Of course, this should not have happened in the first place. The only other real problem that I see it the hole advance mechanism. Auto hole advance does not happen when the uPro goes into "sleep" mode to save the battery. Arriving at the next hole, you have to "wake it up" by pushing a button and then wait for it to advance. This takes a while to happen and is a little cumbersome. Something I also discovered in Branson is that if the next hole's tee box is very close to you on the previous green or fairway, the hole will advance and you can't keep it from doing so. All in all, a very good system with some problems. If I find more courses with inaccuracies I will be after Callaway to look at this as a bigger issue.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zoomie12
Fairview, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Terrific
6/12/2010

Customer review by shagnat1

5.0 stars 6/12/2010 by shagnat1
by shagnat1

The uPro GPS is the best available. I've had 4 various units by Sky Caddie Sonnocaddie et al and none come close to the uPro for accuracy, detail, and all information necessary to help lower your scores. Unit is small, light and can carry it in your pocket and not even know it's there. Battery lasts over a round.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shagnat1
SE USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value
5/8/2010

Customer review by DesertGolf

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by DesertGolf
by DesertGolf

I have owned an IGolf GPS for about 3 years now. The Callaway UPro is head and shoulders above ANY golf GPS unit on the market. The fact that there is no annual fee for its use is the way the golf GPS market should operate. The first time I used the Callaway I birdied the 1st hole that I played. Just a co-incidence - definitely YES. With the $100 rebate (thru 7/31) and the WalMart price, this unit can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertGolf
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to Use!
5/29/2010

Customer review by azrpw

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by azrpw
by azrpw

I recommend the Upro to anyone looking for a golf gps. Pros: Easy to use & accurate. Con: Unfortunately, it won't read the green for you. lol

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azrpw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Callaway UPro
6/3/2010

Customer review by PingStick

4.0 stars 6/3/2010 by PingStick
by PingStick

Order was processed next day, great service! Once receiving product, have used 6 times or so on course. Is like having your own caddy. Golfer at any level - if you want to improve your score get a GPS. For those in front of me looking for yardage sprinkler head markers, please get a GPS. Makes round more enjoyable for all! Lastly, if you have a car GPS and realize how valuable it is, then the Golf GPS is just as valuable on the golf course. Worth the $$'s.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PingStick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
disappointing
7/9/2010

Customer review by ohioluckyman

2.0 stars 7/9/2010 by ohioluckyman
by ohioluckyman

On my home course the upro struggled to pick up a satellite while my friend had no issues with his garmin g5. When it did connect it worked pretty well and has cool features...then it would lock up and I would have to cycle the power off and back on. I tried it again on another course and it had a very good fix on the satellites but the unit froze no less than 6 times in 18 holes. Totally unacceptable. Good news - WM return was nice and smooth.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohioluckyman
NE Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
dont buy it!!!!
6/7/2010

Customer review by Matt1093

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Matt1093
by Matt1093

It's very expensive to download courses. I chose the basic mode to try it out. I took it on the course but every time i left a hole it couldn't figure out where I was and I had to type in which hole I was on. Then I charged it overnight and it would not work the next day. I returned it and lost out on the $29.99 one day shipping . Very Disappointed!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matt1093
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Golf GPS
3/26/2011

Customer review by Dennisb4

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Dennisb4
by Dennisb4

Very good product could not wait to use it. Only thing I would change it should come with a screen proctector. You should not have to order one later . Screen scracthes very easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dennisb4
Savannah TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Callaway uPro A+
6/8/2010

Customer review by cvbpackman

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by cvbpackman
by cvbpackman

Compact and light! And, there are no annual dues! You do not have to "dial in" and point and calibrate etc., etc. Just turn it on and click from hole to hole. The distance is immediate from your current location!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cvbpackman
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Golf Device
6/11/2010

Customer review by Smcgolf

5.0 stars 6/11/2010 by Smcgolf
by Smcgolf

I am very happy with the Callaway Upro GPS device. It is very accurate and has more features than any other product out there. Several of my golf buddies are now ordering theirs!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smcgolf
Allen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ULTIMATE GOLF IMPROVEMENT
12/11/2009

Customer review by Taz206

5.0 stars 12/11/2009 by Taz206
by Taz206

GOLF UPRO IS SO AMAZING IT GIVES YOU A TRUE AREIAL SHOT. IT REDUCES YOUR SCORE BECAUSE YOU NO LONGER HAVE TO GUESS AT YOUR DISTANCE TO THE GREEN OR HAZARDS. AND IT REALLY SAVES ALOT OF TIME CAUSE YOU NO LONGER HAVE TO HUNT FOR THE MISSING OR UNREADABLE YARDAGE MARKERS. I DO NOT KNOW HOW WE EVER GOLFED WITHOUT IT. AND IM SURE THE FOLKS BEHIND US REALLY APPRECIATE IT TOO. WE WILL NEVER GOLF AGAIN WITHOUT IT. ITS BATTERY LIFE IT REMARKABLE. AND IT IS VERY EASY TO USE A MUST HAVE FOR ANY GOLFER NO MATTER WHAT YOUR SKILL LEVEL IS IT WILL DEFINATELY IMPROVE YOUR GAME.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taz206
LEESBURG FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Callaway uPro GPS - nice
7/19/2010

Customer review by Carbops

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by Carbops
by Carbops

The uPro GPS has about everything a golfer could want. In addition to distances to the green, it also shows the distance to and over all hazards on the hole. I like the video flyover as it helps show holes with which I am unfamiliar. Downloading courses from the Internet is an extra expense but provides a means of assuring up to date course information as opposed to preloaded devices. I like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carbops
South of Boston, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great help
7/21/2010

Customer review by 3yeargolfer

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by 3yeargolfer
by 3yeargolfer

Helps bring your score down and your confidence up. Nice to know your distance. Dropped 5 strokes per game or more!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3yeargolfer
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS!
7/22/2010

Customer review by golferintheburgh

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by golferintheburgh
by golferintheburgh

Let me start by stating I'm a 7hcp and play golf at least twice a week. I like to know exact yardages for approach shots and also for layups. This gps is amazing at both. Pro mode allows you to figure out how far you want into the hole and it'll tell you exactly how far to hit your layup. There is also the ability to measure to the stick. If you can see the pin is in the front you just move the measurer around to where you think the pin is and you get the distance. Very highly recommended. I have not had a bad yardage yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
golferintheburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Incredibly Light
6/13/2010

Customer review by HokiePerogi

4.0 stars 6/13/2010 by HokiePerogi
by HokiePerogi

I was completely shocked on how light the uPro is once I got it in my hands. I took it with me on a 4 day golf trip where I was able to use it for 5 of the 7 rounds that I played. The battery life lasted 1.75 rounds a day, which was my biggest disappointment. I used the fly overs of each hole a lot less then I thought that I would. However, the super-imposed distances to hazards on the aerial views were incredibly helpful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HokiePerogi
Leesburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
callaway u-pro
6/29/2010

Customer review by WHITEBALL

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by WHITEBALL
by WHITEBALL

FOR THE AVERAGE GOLFER THIS GPS HAS TOO MUCH INFO. DURING THE ROUND THE BASIC DIPLAY IS ENOUGH INFO. A BIT DIFFUCULT TO SEE ON A SUNNY DAY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WHITEBALL
PINEHURST NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good...but could be better
9/8/2010

Customer review by fungolf

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by fungolf
by fungolf

works great....BUT the course I play was redone a couple of years ago...and they have not updated the upro to the new course layout...so make sure your home course it right...I have called and emailed UPRO support...but have heard nothing from them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fungolf
OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days