Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 343 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

343 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

343 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
168
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
27
1 stars
82
1-20 of 339 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 339 total reviews
1-20 of 339 reviews
So quiet the animals didn't flinch
6/30/2009

Customer review by LeaWildcat

5.0 stars 6/30/2009 by LeaWildcat
by LeaWildcat

I love this product. We bought it to replace an old brushless steam vac that was 10 years old. The only two drawbacks was that it tends to drift to the left when pulling back and it has a small bladder. This cleaner is so quiet that the dog and the cat were sleeping on the couch in the same room we were cleaning. We hadn't cleaned the carpet in about 5 years and had to do a lot of pretreatment but the carpet looks great and even got up a stain of dried in kool-aid. Spot cleaning and pet urine/odor removers never worked on this one spot in the corner of the room where the cat was constantly going. She hasn't gone once in this area since we cleaned it . It only took about 4 hours to dry but we had high humidity that day. The cleaning solution is not overtly strong and dispite the bad review here after running it for about 8 hours for two days never had the belt slip once. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeaWildcat
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Product
9/11/2009

Customer review by BusyMom39

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by BusyMom39
by BusyMom39

Fantastic! I replaced my old Hoover carpet cleaner with this one. Extremely easy to use. I like the fact that you can control how much cleaner to use-can change the concentration without stopping. The pet brush worked really well cleaning those high traffic areas, along with my furniture. It knows when you are out of cleaning solution and/or fresh water in the tank. I would recommend this product to anyone. The one issue I was concerned about when I reviewed this product is the belt. I had no problems at all with it slipping or coming off. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyMom39
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best Timing
9/14/2013

Customer review by ChallengeTaker

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by ChallengeTaker
by ChallengeTaker

The timing couldn't be better. We just moved into a new home with our 3 kiddos and recently adopted 2 kittens. My 3 year old came home with a fever yesterday and vomited all over the couch. A quick wipe with paper towels and the machine was set to work. In less than 7 or 8 minutes, my couch was left looking in much better condition than it was before the mess. And, the odor was completely eliminated. Our kitties are transitioning to their new home and are leaving us "presents" in both liquid and solid form. We used this machine and it has taken away all of the stains and odors. We had difficulty in the basement entryway because they had gone several times before we noticed (our basement isn't finished so we rarely go down there). After several washings with this machine and vacuuming with a baking soda powder, the smell is virtually gone!! The small attachments allowed me to get into the corners and grooves of the steps, too!! Absolutely worth every penny I spent on it. Thanks Bissell!!!!

ChallengeTaker
Omaha, NE, USA
Gender:Female
Great results after first use
10/14/2012

Customer review by CL82

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by CL82
by CL82

So, it seems this product may have some issues after several months of use, BUT I decided to purchase it regardless to try at-home carpet cleaning rather than bringing in an outside business. We have pets and a young child, and I just felt like our carpeted areas of the home needed "refreshed." I will say that before we purchased the home (18 months ago), the carpets were cleaned when the previous owners moved out, then the house sat vacant, so they were professionally cleaned again before we moved in. There were some stains that were left behind by the pros. I had tried to spot treat them, but no luck. The Bissell cleaning formula not only smells great, but it picked up and removed ALL of the stains. It also did a great job removing pet hair left behind from the vac. I found the assembly, use and clean-up of this machine to be really easy. I hope if I follow all of the instrcutions it will last as I would love to use it every 3 months or so on our carpets. Great product (so far)!

CL82
Tennessee
Gender:Female
So disappointed
6/21/2016

Customer review by Beachgirl330

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Beachgirl330
by Beachgirl330

We bought this a few years ago when we got a new puppy. We've had more problems with it than successes, either the water won't come out, or the water comes out but it won't suck it back up. We've taken apart every part we could access to clean it, but nothing. Finally gave up and took it to a repair place before chucking it in the trash. They ended up replacing the heater and the pump on it. Unfortunately, all we wanted was an estimate and did not authorize the work. Not sure I want to throw good money after bad, so we may just tell them to keep it.

Beachgirl330
Manchester, NH, USA
Gender:Female
Worth EVERY penny!
6/16/2009

Customer review by Chrissy8686

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by Chrissy8686
by Chrissy8686

All I have to say is WOW! I do not have carpets in my house, however, I do have a new couch, 3 dogs, and a cat...and it just so happened that the dogs chewed a VERY VERY messy raw hide on the couch while I was at work! It looked like someone had taken brown gravey and smeared it ALLLLLL over my couch!! I went onto walmart.com and researched cleaners, and after 2 days, I went into my local store to got the Bissell Pro heat...Which they were out of...BUT, at the other end of the shelf was the pro heat PET. I figured hey, why not. The machine comes with a little bottle of the pet carpet cleaner solution which has now lasted me 2 couch cleanings (I have a sectional sofa that is pretty large). I didn't see anything on the box that said anything about the little bottle being included, so it was a nice surprise. It took me about 1/2 hour to 45 mins to clean my entire sofa (which is VERY large!) and it was spotless!! I was amazed!! Not only did it not take much time, it also was very easy to use (no strain on arms of hands) and the couch dried FAST! I cleaned my couch around noon, and by 3ish the couch was dry! The clean water is in a "bladder" inside of the dirty water tank so it saves room, and the cleaning solution is in a seperate holder that you fill up and can just leave it in there inbetween cleanings. All I can say is I HIGHLY recommend this cleaner!! If I had to buy one again, this would be it!! I'm also a dog groomer and work in a pet food store, and anyone that asks me for a good cleaning machine, I tell them about this one! Like I said before, worth EVERY penny!! I am SOOOO glad I invested in this cleaner!

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chrissy8686
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Carpet Cleaner
3/1/2010

Customer review by PetOwnerX2

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by PetOwnerX2
by PetOwnerX2

There are very few products I get excited about using. I'm happy with a lot of things I buy, but not many do I say later, "I would have paid twice as much". There are only two products before this that I've felt that way about, a potato peeler and a bed warmer. I've added this carpet cleaner to the list. This machine does a fantastic job. We have a cat and a dog and occasionally accidents happen. The cat has a habit of throwing up and the dog gets a little too excited sometimes and pees on the floor. Both discouraging problems for a person who has light cream colored carpet. With pets, we use a carpet shampoo with enzyme cleaners in it and, with that solution not only does this cleaner get stains out, the dog never goes back to the same place for even a whiff. We rented a machine for $50 to clean the carpets when we bought our house and it left stains that the Bissel got out. Also, this carpet cleaner picks up a TON more pet hair than what our $200 vacuum cleaner does. The upholstery attachments also work wonders on furniture. We've used this machine for a year now for many different chores and it has held up wonderfully and still performs as good as the day we bought it. It can be a little bit challenging to clean because there are so many little crevices and small spot where water and dirt get into, but by the looks of the machine that is how it has to be designed. We generally spend about 15 minutes cleaning the machine after we've used it but considering how well it works, we're not bothered by this at all.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PetOwnerX2
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Better than expensive models!
10/12/2013

Customer review by mykidsmom

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by mykidsmom
by mykidsmom

My husband has a vacuum that he paid a few thousand for and it changes to a "shampooer" I used it for the 5 years we have been together and never felt like it did anything but get the floors wet, when vacuuming I always just felt like it left lines on the floors as it never picked anything up. Needless to say I was looking for something better. Granted, I did not buy this model brand new but found someone that had it and was no longer able to use it. I took it home and the first thing I did was clean my floors! They looked and smelt amazing! I have owned it about 6 months and have used it twice! I love it! Would highly recommend. The only drawback I really see is that if I ever purchase a brand new one (this one will have to die completely for that to happen) is I would get one with the detachable spot cleaner. I did buy a new Bissell Little Green for the spots that my children get on the carpets so I'm not digging out the big machine, and it is wonderful as well!

mykidsmom
Elko, NV
Gender:Female
Good for Pet and kid stains!
8/30/2009

Customer review by donna00

4.0 stars 8/30/2009 by donna00
by donna00

This has saved our carpets! We had one bedroom that we never used...when we went to check on something in there we realized that the dog and cat had been using it as their personal potty room!! YUCK! We were sure the carpet was ruined and would have to be removed. This steamer makes the carpet look almost new again!! Also has worked great on stains from the kids (juice, kool aid, mud, mustard, you name it!) And it's so easy to use, my husband can do it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donna00
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Price, Great Saver
2/22/2010

Customer review by SaveMoneyLiveBetter25

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by SaveMoneyLiveBetter25
by SaveMoneyLiveBetter25

I read all the comments on here before my wife left to pick up the regular Bissell Carpet Cleaner. I was pleased when I found this one with the built in heater. Thew machine worked wonders and I / we are more than elated with the overall performance. If you are using this for set in stains, I suggest doing your fair share of research on the net to pre treat. This cleaner isn't a "Rug Doctor" so don't expect to get the 1979 dirt out of your carpets. But, it will get the 2007,2008,2009 and present out.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaveMoneyLiveBetter25
Easton, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Can't believe this is from Bissell. Sad product.
1/30/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

Machine frequently Sprays solution when the trigger isn't even depressed, often stops spraying all together. 3 - 4 second delay between pressing trigger & dispensing solution, when it even IS dispensing. Floor/tool selector knob jammed & broke the flimsy arm of the door it was attached to. Had to hot glue it down into place until/if I can find a replacement. Flow indicator fills with bubbles & foam, indicating a sizable leak somewhere along the suction side of the tubing. Floor suction can't even be called mediocre. My quicksteamer has far better. The bladdertank is unwieldly & messy to dump, & doesn't like to collapse thoroughly to allow the use of all the clean water inside.When emptying bladder tank, if you don't depress the feed valve on the bottom of the tank, it "glugs" & slops water everywhere. Automix feature is unpredictable at best, & is likely the reason for the intermittent no-spray I'm experiencing. Gonna bypass it & see. Bladder tank CANNOT be left in machine, as the check-valve doesn't seal properly & allows leakage. So very not up to Bissell's usual standards. SMH...

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Worked real good until it stopped working
6/30/2012

Customer review by Sanityfree

2.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Sanityfree
by Sanityfree

Gets the carpets clean, but from the first time I used it I noticed the suction part clogging with pet hair every pass. Turns out our vacuum cleaner was still set to HIGH from our old house. After turning it to low and vacuuming twice (TWICE!) before shampooing, the unit stills clogs with hair, albeit every third pass now. However, today, I attempt to use my cleaner for the third time ever, and it dies. I smell belt burning. Pop the cover off (which should NOT require a tool, Bissell!) but the belt is not broken. Turn it on, motor turns but belt does not. Turned the belt by hand, then it broke. Turns out the part where the belt connects to the beater assembly/pump unit was COMPLETELY JAMMED WITH PET HAIR!!! So now I'm working on cleaning the unit out and figuring which belt to send my wife after. All in all, I understand that a good vacuum is important, but this is a "PET CARPET CLEANING SYSTEM!" I kind of expect it to handle pet hair much better than it does. I mean, how is it that wet pet hair can even get to the belt?!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Thanks for the review. If the pump belt broke it is easily replaceable. You can get the belt at http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... and here is an easy video to walk you through replacing it at http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Sanityfree, just contact our Customer Care at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr and they can help you out.

Sanityfree
Beecher city, IL 62414, USA
Gender:Male
what a waste
6/25/2014

Customer review by desertbratt

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by desertbratt
by desertbratt

I purchased the bissell proheat pet cleaner and used it one time to clean up after an elderly dog who couldn't control her bladder anymore. It worked wonderfully and my carpets turned out beautiful. I don't have alot of traffic or stains and not much of a call to use it aside from the one time. I cleaned and stored the machine in the closet. I pulled it out to use it today to clean up after yet another elderly dog and I have no spray to the floor. After reading I am seeing that this is a common problem. It is no longer under warranty and all I am seeing is to take it to a bissell repairman. As a customer, I would expect a product to last for more than one use and am very disappointed in this machine. I have done all of the troubleshooting things and I get spray to the attachments, just not to the floor and am very frustrated. At this point, I have decided that I will not purchase another bissell product. I expected better from Bissell.

desertbratt
Lucerne Valley, California
Gender:Female
Unsatsify Customer
10/18/2012

Customer review by disgustedinAZ

1.0 stars 10/18/2012 by disgustedinAZ
by disgustedinAZ

I bought the Bissell Proheat Pet Deep Cleaner in May 2012. Having two dogs and thought it would be great for cleaning the carpet. The first time I used the machine it left balls of pet hair everywhere. Which wasn't a real big deal, I could pick it up. As I used it a few more times, I notice the machine was not cleaning up the messes. Then the sprayers quit working. I bought a pump belt and replaced it. It still was not working. I took it to a repairman and he said the automix gadget broke where the hose connects. He replaced the gadget. It did not work. He replaced the pump. It still doesnt work. He replaced all the tubing and the machine still wont spray. Now I have a machine sitting here not working. I'm totally disgusted. I have not had the machine for 6 months before it quit. Now I have to buy a new machine. I will not be buying a Bissell deep cleaner again. I have spent enough money on the machine to find out it still won't work.

disgustedinAZ
Sierra Vista, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Spends More Time At The Repair Shop Then Cleaning
10/7/2009

Customer review by PeggySNew1

1.0 stars 10/7/2009 by PeggySNew1
by PeggySNew1

This is one of the worse products I have ever bought that was over $100. I have owned two of these total. The first one broke so I was able to return it to get a new one. The second one broke in the exact same place. There is a knob on the spin brush that the belt goes around. They both broke after only using them twice. The machine broke down again on me after getting it repaired again after only using it twice. Not sure what's wrong with it again this time, but it won't spray the solution on the carpet. The repair shop I took it to says they see lots of these machines at their shop being repaired. Bottom line, it looks cool, the water heating is cool, the hand tools to clean with are cool, but it something with belt brakes ALL THE TIME. If I was you, I wouldn't waste the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeggySNew1
De Soto, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
What a Waste of Money!!!
4/8/2016

Customer review by Kate

1.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Kate
by Kate

Once again, worked on the machine for 45 minutes to be able to use "only" the tool attachment. Beyond frustrated. As some of the other customers noted, this machine has probably only worked without complications, no more than 3 or 4 times. I saved up to buy this and that makes it even more disappointin Today, the machine won't spray using the floor position...will only spray with the tool. So I've been down on my knees spot cleaning for the last 30 minutes...and I'm almost 60....not that easy any more. I have watched videos, checking all possible problems that I know. What a waste of money!

Comment from Nikki - 4/13/2016

We definitely understand your frustration, Kate. If the hose is spraying and the floor is not, that could mean the floor spray tips are clogged. Give us a call and we'd be more than happy to help! 1-800-237-7691.

Kate
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Possibly just need help
5/1/2016

Customer review by Lauren

3.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Lauren
by Lauren

The product works great sometimes. Right now it seems as if it isn't sucking up the water as much? If there something I can do about it?

Comment from Nikki - 5/5/2016

We can definitely help, Lauren. Here are a few things to check that will ensure your ProHeat is suctioning correctly: https://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=0c5343f3-9c4b-4e38-b142-20b4b4f4be81&cid=ccsocial2107 Give us a call if you need some help, 1-800-237-7691.

Lauren
iowa
Gender:Female
Completely disappointed
4/20/2016

Customer review by Klynn

1.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Klynn
by Klynn

Purchased this machine against better judgement. I wasn't going to get a Bissell but someone who I respect stands by the product. First use out of the box.. one pass down the carpet and it WON'T SPRAY! Repositioned the tank. It sprayed for about 3 feet and stopped again. Getting returned and I'm going with a different brand all together. Get it right Bissell!! Cheap Cheap Cheap

Comment from Nikki - 4/22/2016

Hi Klynn - We're sorry to hear the cleaner did not work with the first use, that definitely should not happen. Please give us a call and we can help with your cleaner, 1-800-237-7691.

Klynn
Broadlands, IL 61816, USA
Gender:Female
Haven't Cleaned Carpets for 4 Years!....
3/10/2015

Customer review by Dusty in the Desert

5.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Dusty in the Desert
by Dusty in the Desert

you can imagine the built-up dirt, and my 10 year old (smaller Bissell carpet cleaner) was no longer working. Used the Bissell Pro-Heat Plus right out of the box...day after arrival. First the area rugs. They came out almost like new...dark colors were brighter. Then the worst area, my bathroom carpet. This beige carpet had brown foundation powder embedded so deep, I began to think the carpet was really 'brown'....but after 2 passes with my new Bissell Pro-Heat Plus, this carpet is looking almost new, as well. Odors have disappeared and I am just so pleased to have much better looking carpets. Bissell is the best and I'm back to cleaning the carpets every few months. With 2 grown men, a bird and lots of dust from nearby fields...I have no doubt that my Bissell can handle it. I have also ordered extra attachments and cleaning liquids, to make sure they are always on hand...Thanks Bissell, for your great products!

Dusty in the Desert
California
Gender:Female
amazing for pets and toddlers
4/16/2016

Customer review by mel

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by mel
by mel

We bought this after using a cheap one for years. The first time I used it I thought it bleached our off white carpet, nope just that dirty. I then did the entire house multiple times and love it! Its easy to use our carpets look amazing! Better than when we moved in. Works wonders on our couches as well! I recommend this to anyone even cleanfreaks like me!

mel
lakewood co
Gender:Female
1-20 of 339 total reviews
1-20 of 339 reviews