Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 336 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

336 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

336 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
167
4 stars
48
3 stars
17
2 stars
27
1 stars
77
1-20 of 332 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 332 total reviews
1-20 of 332 reviews
Can't believe this is from Bissell. Sad product.
1/30/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

Machine frequently Sprays solution when the trigger isn't even depressed, often stops spraying all together. 3 - 4 second delay between pressing trigger & dispensing solution, when it even IS dispensing. Floor/tool selector knob jammed & broke the flimsy arm of the door it was attached to. Had to hot glue it down into place until/if I can find a replacement. Flow indicator fills with bubbles & foam, indicating a sizable leak somewhere along the suction side of the tubing. Floor suction can't even be called mediocre. My quicksteamer has far better. The bladdertank is unwieldly & messy to dump, & doesn't like to collapse thoroughly to allow the use of all the clean water inside.When emptying bladder tank, if you don't depress the feed valve on the bottom of the tank, it "glugs" & slops water everywhere. Automix feature is unpredictable at best, & is likely the reason for the intermittent no-spray I'm experiencing. Gonna bypass it & see. Bladder tank CANNOT be left in machine, as the check-valve doesn't seal properly & allows leakage. So very not up to Bissell's usual standards. SMH...

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV, USA
Gender:Male
So quiet the animals didn't flinch
6/30/2009

Customer review by LeaWildcat

5.0 stars 6/30/2009 by LeaWildcat
by LeaWildcat

I love this product. We bought it to replace an old brushless steam vac that was 10 years old. The only two drawbacks was that it tends to drift to the left when pulling back and it has a small bladder. This cleaner is so quiet that the dog and the cat were sleeping on the couch in the same room we were cleaning. We hadn't cleaned the carpet in about 5 years and had to do a lot of pretreatment but the carpet looks great and even got up a stain of dried in kool-aid. Spot cleaning and pet urine/odor removers never worked on this one spot in the corner of the room where the cat was constantly going. She hasn't gone once in this area since we cleaned it . It only took about 4 hours to dry but we had high humidity that day. The cleaning solution is not overtly strong and dispite the bad review here after running it for about 8 hours for two days never had the belt slip once. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeaWildcat
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Unhappy with this cleaner
1/28/2016

Customer review by Molly

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Molly
by Molly

Loved it the first time we used it ... liked it the second time ... hated it after the third. I feel like this unit is clogged with stuff (fibers, strings, hair, dirt, etc) and there is no way to open it up and clean it out. Yes, I have read the manual a million times and called the support number (don't bother with that ... untrained person unfamiliar with floor cleaners reading from screen). There is only one place to clean a tiny filter and that area isn't the problem. When you use it balls and balls of gunk come out of the bottom and it inexplicably quits spraying and sucking. I want to give it a good cleaning out as obviously there is a need for it but they have made it too "user friendly" to allow you to do that. Doesn't work anymore and I've only used it three times. Don't buy this unit.

Comment from Juan - 2/5/2016

Hi Molly - We're sorry to hear you're upset! It sounds like the spray tips may be clogged. Being a carpet cleaner this machine will bring up a lot of hair trapped in your carpet and if it's not cleaned regularly it could build up. Here's a video that should help with cleaning the spray tips on your cleaner: http://www.bissell.com/proheat-pet-upright-carpet-cleaner-89104/proheat-no-spray-9810-25a3-series?cid=ccsocial2107

Molly
Albion, NY 14411, USA
Great Product
9/11/2009

Customer review by BusyMom39

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by BusyMom39
by BusyMom39

Fantastic! I replaced my old Hoover carpet cleaner with this one. Extremely easy to use. I like the fact that you can control how much cleaner to use-can change the concentration without stopping. The pet brush worked really well cleaning those high traffic areas, along with my furniture. It knows when you are out of cleaning solution and/or fresh water in the tank. I would recommend this product to anyone. The one issue I was concerned about when I reviewed this product is the belt. I had no problems at all with it slipping or coming off. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyMom39
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best Timing
9/14/2013

Customer review by ChallengeTaker

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by ChallengeTaker
by ChallengeTaker

The timing couldn't be better. We just moved into a new home with our 3 kiddos and recently adopted 2 kittens. My 3 year old came home with a fever yesterday and vomited all over the couch. A quick wipe with paper towels and the machine was set to work. In less than 7 or 8 minutes, my couch was left looking in much better condition than it was before the mess. And, the odor was completely eliminated. Our kitties are transitioning to their new home and are leaving us "presents" in both liquid and solid form. We used this machine and it has taken away all of the stains and odors. We had difficulty in the basement entryway because they had gone several times before we noticed (our basement isn't finished so we rarely go down there). After several washings with this machine and vacuuming with a baking soda powder, the smell is virtually gone!! The small attachments allowed me to get into the corners and grooves of the steps, too!! Absolutely worth every penny I spent on it. Thanks Bissell!!!!

ChallengeTaker
Omaha, NE, USA
Gender:Female
Great results after first use
10/14/2012

Customer review by CL82

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by CL82
by CL82

So, it seems this product may have some issues after several months of use, BUT I decided to purchase it regardless to try at-home carpet cleaning rather than bringing in an outside business. We have pets and a young child, and I just felt like our carpeted areas of the home needed "refreshed." I will say that before we purchased the home (18 months ago), the carpets were cleaned when the previous owners moved out, then the house sat vacant, so they were professionally cleaned again before we moved in. There were some stains that were left behind by the pros. I had tried to spot treat them, but no luck. The Bissell cleaning formula not only smells great, but it picked up and removed ALL of the stains. It also did a great job removing pet hair left behind from the vac. I found the assembly, use and clean-up of this machine to be really easy. I hope if I follow all of the instrcutions it will last as I would love to use it every 3 months or so on our carpets. Great product (so far)!

CL82
Tennessee
Gender:Female
Worth EVERY penny!
6/16/2009

Customer review by Chrissy8686

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by Chrissy8686
by Chrissy8686

All I have to say is WOW! I do not have carpets in my house, however, I do have a new couch, 3 dogs, and a cat...and it just so happened that the dogs chewed a VERY VERY messy raw hide on the couch while I was at work! It looked like someone had taken brown gravey and smeared it ALLLLLL over my couch!! I went onto walmart.com and researched cleaners, and after 2 days, I went into my local store to got the Bissell Pro heat...Which they were out of...BUT, at the other end of the shelf was the pro heat PET. I figured hey, why not. The machine comes with a little bottle of the pet carpet cleaner solution which has now lasted me 2 couch cleanings (I have a sectional sofa that is pretty large). I didn't see anything on the box that said anything about the little bottle being included, so it was a nice surprise. It took me about 1/2 hour to 45 mins to clean my entire sofa (which is VERY large!) and it was spotless!! I was amazed!! Not only did it not take much time, it also was very easy to use (no strain on arms of hands) and the couch dried FAST! I cleaned my couch around noon, and by 3ish the couch was dry! The clean water is in a "bladder" inside of the dirty water tank so it saves room, and the cleaning solution is in a seperate holder that you fill up and can just leave it in there inbetween cleanings. All I can say is I HIGHLY recommend this cleaner!! If I had to buy one again, this would be it!! I'm also a dog groomer and work in a pet food store, and anyone that asks me for a good cleaning machine, I tell them about this one! Like I said before, worth EVERY penny!! I am SOOOO glad I invested in this cleaner!

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chrissy8686
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Carpet Cleaner
3/1/2010

Customer review by PetOwnerX2

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by PetOwnerX2
by PetOwnerX2

There are very few products I get excited about using. I'm happy with a lot of things I buy, but not many do I say later, "I would have paid twice as much". There are only two products before this that I've felt that way about, a potato peeler and a bed warmer. I've added this carpet cleaner to the list. This machine does a fantastic job. We have a cat and a dog and occasionally accidents happen. The cat has a habit of throwing up and the dog gets a little too excited sometimes and pees on the floor. Both discouraging problems for a person who has light cream colored carpet. With pets, we use a carpet shampoo with enzyme cleaners in it and, with that solution not only does this cleaner get stains out, the dog never goes back to the same place for even a whiff. We rented a machine for $50 to clean the carpets when we bought our house and it left stains that the Bissel got out. Also, this carpet cleaner picks up a TON more pet hair than what our $200 vacuum cleaner does. The upholstery attachments also work wonders on furniture. We've used this machine for a year now for many different chores and it has held up wonderfully and still performs as good as the day we bought it. It can be a little bit challenging to clean because there are so many little crevices and small spot where water and dirt get into, but by the looks of the machine that is how it has to be designed. We generally spend about 15 minutes cleaning the machine after we've used it but considering how well it works, we're not bothered by this at all.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PetOwnerX2
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Rotating brush issues
12/31/2015

Customer review by SweetD

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by SweetD
by SweetD

Got mine as a Christmas gift. Used it in one room, and the rotating brush stopped spinning. Returned it for another one, and tried to finish where I left off in room, and could not complete task due to the brush not rotating. Uhg! :(

SweetD
Texas
Gender:Female
Better than expensive models!
10/12/2013

Customer review by mykidsmom

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by mykidsmom
by mykidsmom

My husband has a vacuum that he paid a few thousand for and it changes to a "shampooer" I used it for the 5 years we have been together and never felt like it did anything but get the floors wet, when vacuuming I always just felt like it left lines on the floors as it never picked anything up. Needless to say I was looking for something better. Granted, I did not buy this model brand new but found someone that had it and was no longer able to use it. I took it home and the first thing I did was clean my floors! They looked and smelt amazing! I have owned it about 6 months and have used it twice! I love it! Would highly recommend. The only drawback I really see is that if I ever purchase a brand new one (this one will have to die completely for that to happen) is I would get one with the detachable spot cleaner. I did buy a new Bissell Little Green for the spots that my children get on the carpets so I'm not digging out the big machine, and it is wonderful as well!

mykidsmom
Elko, NV
Gender:Female
Good for Pet and kid stains!
8/30/2009

Customer review by donna00

4.0 stars 8/30/2009 by donna00
by donna00

This has saved our carpets! We had one bedroom that we never used...when we went to check on something in there we realized that the dog and cat had been using it as their personal potty room!! YUCK! We were sure the carpet was ruined and would have to be removed. This steamer makes the carpet look almost new again!! Also has worked great on stains from the kids (juice, kool aid, mud, mustard, you name it!) And it's so easy to use, my husband can do it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donna00
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't spray after 2 use
12/23/2015

Customer review by Rondawgrun

1.0 stars 12/23/2015 by Rondawgrun
by Rondawgrun

won't spray any hot water i can't get it unclogged. This is only the 2nd time using my bissell, I tried everything in the maintenance trouble shooting video nothing seems to work. I could use some help beside the same video link that everyone gets referred to..

Comment from Rick - 12/30/2015

Oh no - Sorry it's not spraying! If the video did not help please give us a call and we'll help further, 1-800-237-7691.

Rondawgrun
Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Does my work
12/24/2015

Customer review by Maw

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Maw
by Maw

Works every time I plug it in. Easy to handle and manover around any room. I would recommend to anyone. I have the PetPro

Maw
Louisiana, USA
Gender:Female
Good Price, Great Saver
2/22/2010

Customer review by SaveMoneyLiveBetter25

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by SaveMoneyLiveBetter25
by SaveMoneyLiveBetter25

I read all the comments on here before my wife left to pick up the regular Bissell Carpet Cleaner. I was pleased when I found this one with the built in heater. Thew machine worked wonders and I / we are more than elated with the overall performance. If you are using this for set in stains, I suggest doing your fair share of research on the net to pre treat. This cleaner isn't a "Rug Doctor" so don't expect to get the 1979 dirt out of your carpets. But, it will get the 2007,2008,2009 and present out.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaveMoneyLiveBetter25
Easton, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Lost suction after third use
12/6/2015

Customer review by The cleaner

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by The cleaner
by The cleaner

I owned it for 2 weeks lost suction took it for exchange thinking it was deflected about 90 days 3 cleanings same thing i cleaned every part even red filter trying to fix it no luck i have the same issue with the pet vacuum but that actually worked about 6 months Bissell is losing their quality fast and my business I have 2 6 month old Bissells and they are coat hangers now

Comment from Rick - 12/8/2015

Sorry to hear this! Here are a few more steps to try that should return suction to your Proheat heat. Please give them a try: http://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=0c5343f3-9c4b-4e38-b142-20b4b4f4be81&cid=ccsocial2107

The cleaner
Brecksville,OH
Gender:Male
Worked real good until it stopped working
6/30/2012

Customer review by Sanityfree

2.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Sanityfree
by Sanityfree

Gets the carpets clean, but from the first time I used it I noticed the suction part clogging with pet hair every pass. Turns out our vacuum cleaner was still set to HIGH from our old house. After turning it to low and vacuuming twice (TWICE!) before shampooing, the unit stills clogs with hair, albeit every third pass now. However, today, I attempt to use my cleaner for the third time ever, and it dies. I smell belt burning. Pop the cover off (which should NOT require a tool, Bissell!) but the belt is not broken. Turn it on, motor turns but belt does not. Turned the belt by hand, then it broke. Turns out the part where the belt connects to the beater assembly/pump unit was COMPLETELY JAMMED WITH PET HAIR!!! So now I'm working on cleaning the unit out and figuring which belt to send my wife after. All in all, I understand that a good vacuum is important, but this is a "PET CARPET CLEANING SYSTEM!" I kind of expect it to handle pet hair much better than it does. I mean, how is it that wet pet hair can even get to the belt?!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Thanks for the review. If the pump belt broke it is easily replaceable. You can get the belt at http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... and here is an easy video to walk you through replacing it at http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Sanityfree, just contact our Customer Care at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr and they can help you out.

Sanityfree
Beecher city, IL 62414, USA
Gender:Male
Junk do not purchase
10/26/2015

Customer review by Gmc12345

1.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Gmc12345
by Gmc12345

If you read the review everyone posting a few days or few weeks about there pro heat pet love it. The TRUTH is read the ones that have had it longer than a month. I've had mine for 2 month I run it once a week every week with the exception of when the pooch has an accident. The water paddle will not spin the head won't spray water any longer only the hose will. The hose holder is of extremely poor design as it falls out constantly while in use. The power cable is stored in a ridiculous manner that is wind up coaxial with the hose so that they get completely tangled. And the best part is it currently still not working I feel like fool for not reading the reviews ahead of time. PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!

Comment from Rick - 10/28/2015

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like the spray tips for the floor may be clogged. Here is a great video that shows how to easily clean the spray tips and should get you back to cleaning in no time! http://www.bissell.com/proheat-no-spray-8910-25A3-video/?productid=33060&cid=ccsocial2107

Gmc12345
Meadowlands pa
Gender:Male
Very disappointed
10/17/2015

Customer review by TiaMaria

1.0 stars 10/17/2015 by TiaMaria
by TiaMaria

When I first bought the machine, I was very pleased with it. It worked well and I was happy to see all the dirty water I was pulling up. Then shortly after, things started to go wrong. I've only had this carpet cleaner for 2 and a half years and it's had one problem after the next. It started with the shampoo not dispensing. I read the troubleshooting guide and followed the advice. It still only works about a quarter of the time and I have to constantly adjust and readjust. It leaks too. Then I had trouble with the belt and have to put it back on numerous times during a carpet cleaning session. Then the hose broke. I was able to deal with these things, but now it has stopped cleaning altogether! It sprays and sucks up the water but the dirty water is coming out clear! I don't know if the brush is not making contact with the carpet or what but I'm just so frustrated at this point. I understand that maintenance is to be expected, but I went with Bissell because I thought they were reputable and produced quality products. I shampoo the carpets a few times a year and spot clean when my dog throws up every once in a while. After 2.5 years, that only makes a handful of times that I've used the machine. I shouldn't be having this much trouble with it.

Comment from Juan - 10/22/2015

We agree, Tia Maria. Give us a call, we'd love to help with your ProHeat. http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/?cid=ccsocial2107

TiaMaria
Rochester, NY
Gender:Female
what a waste
6/25/2014

Customer review by desertbratt

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by desertbratt
by desertbratt

I purchased the bissell proheat pet cleaner and used it one time to clean up after an elderly dog who couldn't control her bladder anymore. It worked wonderfully and my carpets turned out beautiful. I don't have alot of traffic or stains and not much of a call to use it aside from the one time. I cleaned and stored the machine in the closet. I pulled it out to use it today to clean up after yet another elderly dog and I have no spray to the floor. After reading I am seeing that this is a common problem. It is no longer under warranty and all I am seeing is to take it to a bissell repairman. As a customer, I would expect a product to last for more than one use and am very disappointed in this machine. I have done all of the troubleshooting things and I get spray to the attachments, just not to the floor and am very frustrated. At this point, I have decided that I will not purchase another bissell product. I expected better from Bissell.

desertbratt
Lucerne Valley, California
Gender:Female
Unsatsify Customer
10/18/2012

Customer review by disgustedinAZ

1.0 stars 10/18/2012 by disgustedinAZ
by disgustedinAZ

I bought the Bissell Proheat Pet Deep Cleaner in May 2012. Having two dogs and thought it would be great for cleaning the carpet. The first time I used the machine it left balls of pet hair everywhere. Which wasn't a real big deal, I could pick it up. As I used it a few more times, I notice the machine was not cleaning up the messes. Then the sprayers quit working. I bought a pump belt and replaced it. It still was not working. I took it to a repairman and he said the automix gadget broke where the hose connects. He replaced the gadget. It did not work. He replaced the pump. It still doesnt work. He replaced all the tubing and the machine still wont spray. Now I have a machine sitting here not working. I'm totally disgusted. I have not had the machine for 6 months before it quit. Now I have to buy a new machine. I will not be buying a Bissell deep cleaner again. I have spent enough money on the machine to find out it still won't work.

disgustedinAZ
Sierra Vista, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 332 total reviews
1-20 of 332 reviews