Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 stars
26
1-20 of 143 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
AMAZING VACUUM!
4/23/2012

Customer review by PresleysMommy

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by PresleysMommy
by PresleysMommy

I've been using a Dirt Devil for the past 3 years and thought it was pretty good. It's HORRIBLE compared to this Bissell. I have 5 cats so you can imagine all the hair in my house, and how much gets embedded in furniture, carpets, rugs, etc. This vacuum got it ALL and then some. It also pulled up so much dirt it's actually gross to think I had that much in my floors. It brought new life to my carpets too. They were so flattened/matted down from living here for 4 1/2 years...they're not like that anymore. The ONLY gripe I have is when using the BRUSH attachment. On a scale of 1 to 10, I give THAT feature a 3. I had to go over, and over, and OVER my couch with it. HOWEVER, the extention tool and crevice tool ABSOLUTELY do their job. They even picked up cat litter that my critters threw around, and it didn't just flick it all over the place. When this vacuum dies, I will definitely replace it with the same thing. By the way, my couch is suede, so that may have something to do with the brush tool being lousy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PresleysMommy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I have 4 Siberian Huskies...
4/17/2012

Customer review by 4Snowdogs

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by 4Snowdogs
by 4Snowdogs

So I can tell you with confidence which are the good vacuums on the market. I killed a $300 vacuum within a year. I used to call it the Teamster because it would work 15 minutes then go on strike & shut itself down for a few hours to prevent it from overheating. Frustrated & not wanting to drop $$$ on another vacuum, I bought this one. It has lasted me almost 6 years now. Mind you, FOUR Huskies. I literally vacuum every day, 365 days a year. I have gotten way more than my money's worth from this product. Yes, I've had a clog or two, mainly from sucking up things that shouldn't have been sucked up, like socks or bottle caps. But it STILL has unbelievable suction after all the abuse I have put it thru. Yeah, unless you have Huskies, you don't have a clue....

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4Snowdogs
Oak Forest, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BROKE IN LESS THAN A MONTH!!
3/16/2012

Customer review by salemsmom

1.0 stars 3/16/2012 by salemsmom
by salemsmom

I got this and I was excited about the low price and 97 cent shipping. It was easy to put together, looked nice, but a little cheap in my opinion and worked good all three times I got to use it before it broke on me. This got devlivered to me 2/21 and I got a chance to open and put it together a few days later. Now, not even a month away from the first time I got to use it, I try to push the pedal to move position from upright to slant and the whole wheel cracks off! I'm not a big girl and I didn't push it that hard. DON'T BUY UNLESS YOU ARE WILLING TO TAKE THE RISK OF HAVING TO TRY TO TAKE THIS BACK IN LESS THAN A MONTH. I hope walmart stands by this item and gives me my money back because they shouldn't even sell something made that cheap if they aren't going to let people return after a few weeks! Low price, but it should have been given to me for free since I only got to use it three times. IF YOU TRY THIS ONE GOOD LUCK TO YOU.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
salemsmom
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Bad choice
7/27/2016

Customer review by Marcy

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Marcy
by Marcy

I bought the vacuum and the hose broke almost immediately. The break was close to the intake of the vacuum so I wrapped and taped it. After the next two uses the hose broke in another place. These vacuums shoul have never been sold.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marcy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Highly recommended!
3/18/2012

Customer review by BisselFan70

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by BisselFan70
by BisselFan70

For a "disposable "vacuum cleaner, this one is awesome! I have had this vac for around 4 years. I have long hair, and 2 dogs, so it gets used ALOT! It is also light weight enough to easily use on the steps. About once a month, To clean the brush (beater bar) underneath, I use an old metal dog comb to get rid of excess hair (mostly mine), that gets tangledn and take all removable parts, such as filters and even the dust cup out and wash them in hot soapy dish water and let them air dry on the counter over night, wipe off the ring of the non removable cup that fits to dust cup, (to keep a tight seal) then, with a broom handle, clean the hose and wand, including the one that goes from the brush up into the hose , and into the cup and change the belt about every 3 months. (when all is said and done, the entire process takes less than 10 minutes) when i put it back together, it works just like it did when I took it out of the box and used it for the first time! its actually even hard to push after I do this because the suction is so amazing!! when this one dies (may it R.I.P....lol) i WILL replace it wirth the same machine!! if taken care of, it WILL last!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BisselFan70
N.E. Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worst vacuum I've ever had
6/10/2016

Customer review by Brenda

1.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Brenda
by Brenda

One word....HORRIBLE....I have 3 Newfoundlands and this vacuum didn't last 6 months. It is so loud and doesn't pick up anymore. I'm getting ready to buy a shark. If you have X-tra Large Dogs that shed DO NOT BUY. =(

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brenda
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/8/2012

Customer review by accordangel94

1.0 stars 3/8/2012 by accordangel94
by accordangel94

I've had this vac for a year, and we started having trouble a few months ago. We've cleaned it out throughly two or three times, but the suction is still bad. It now doesn't suction at all and we're having to go out and buy a new one. Very disappointed. I always thought vacs lasted longer then a year.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
accordangel94
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
LOVE!
3/29/2012

Customer review by MKPM

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by MKPM
by MKPM

This vacuum works so good. It sucks up things that you can't see. The tools it comes with are a big help as well. The hose is perfect, it even has a handle on it. The vacuum has 3 positions which is is nice. Easy to empty the container and clean. Also its quiet for such a big vacuum, I had a small vacuum previously and that was louder than this. I never thought it was possible to love a vacuum. lol :-)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MKPM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
PICKS UP EVERYTHING!
3/21/2012

Customer review by CaityLyn2010

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by CaityLyn2010
by CaityLyn2010

Literally, this vacuum picks up everything! I didn't see a wire (to the wii sensor bar) on the floor while using it & it just sucked it right up! Luckily it's easy to retrieve accidentally sucked up things with it being bagless. Hoses are super easy to use! (We have 2 Guinea Pigs who get their bedding everywhere outside the cage no matter what we try! & the hoses really help reaching the more difficult places.) Easy clean up & empty. Love the washable filter. Very little assembly required. (just the external hose & pieces). Easy access on/off switch as well as the one to recline the back. Adjusting the height for carpets is super easy! This is my first "real" vacuum (all I had before was a little stick dorm sized vacuum & I must say this is definitely an improvement! Absolutely fantastic & I will never go bacK!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaityLyn2010
Tobyhanna, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT ITEM!!
5/1/2012

Customer review by Boopsie61

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by Boopsie61
by Boopsie61

I am very pleased with the vacuum and its performance. Assembly was a breeze, which pleased me because I did not need my husband to help me. Within a couple of minutes I was using the vacuum. I purchased it for my downstairs, which has less carpet than upstairs and I needed a lightweight vacuum. It is very lightweight and easy to handle. The vacuum I use for upstairs is just too heavy to carry up and down the stairs and this Bissell is perfect. Also, the fact that there are no bags to deal with and a washable filter makes this a low maintenance vacuum unlike the heavy vacuum I use for upstairs. I was leary about purchasing this item because of the low price but low and behold, what a surprise. Thank you Bissell for such a well thought out item and Walmart for such a great price! I HIGHLY recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boopsie61
So far so good, but worried how long it will last.
3/8/2012

Customer review by llaurey

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by llaurey
by llaurey

Think maybe there is something wrong with my Vaccuum. After you turn it off, the motor makes a sound as if it is dragging or one part is rubbing on another. It works great and I am very happy with the Vaccuum, just concerned that it will wear out prematurely due to whatever is causing it to make the noise. I still rated it a 4 because other than this concern I am very pleased. Could return it to the store and exchange it for another, but with the price of gas, I'll take my chances with this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llaurey
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best vaccuum!
4/15/2012

Customer review by kaylashelle

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by kaylashelle
by kaylashelle

I clean houses and I have had this vacuum for over 4 years now. I have beaten this thing up. Thrown it around, knocked into things. It's been through a lot and I really should get another one but it is the best vacuum I've ever had. It picks up amazing and it's still going!!!! As long as you keep the filter clean and everything emptied out, it will last forever! If I could give it 10 stars I would because I've never had a problem with it. I've actually had three of the people I clean for buy one for themselves and they love it as well! One of the ladies are a little older and the thing she loves most about it is how it is so light! It is very lightweight and easy to move. The only thing it doesnt do too well is pick up things off of hard floor and it also doesn't get underneath beds very well. It wont lean all the way down without the bottom part coming up off the floor. But if you are using it for carpet it is a great vacuum! But I do have a hard floor vacuum as well so this vacuum works perfect for me! I've used the high dollar vacuums and they pick up the same amount off the floor. You will be amazed at how much this thing gets off your floor!!! It has great suction!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaylashelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/23/2012

Customer review by Katiekat6

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by Katiekat6
by Katiekat6

This vacuum is wonderful at a great price. I have long hair and have been searching for a vacuum that could handle it without getting clogged. Plus, I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. I would recommend my Bissell again and again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katiekat6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/10/2012

Customer review by Nicegirldana

2.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Nicegirldana
by Nicegirldana

I have had this vacuum for about a year. In the beginning it worked very well for only being 48.00! I however had an issue with the thing getting clogged and losing suction. It works well if this is all you can afford but I would advise getting a little better model. It is ok if this is all you can afford but it will not last! I should have bought a new one months ago!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicegirldana
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT VAC!!!!
3/16/2012

Customer review by undrtakr22

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by undrtakr22
by undrtakr22

Ok, I have had 2 of these, for about 7yrs now, the first one, I let go with someone else, so I bought another one, and the only issue I have had with it, is after about a year, the brass bushings(what the steel bar rides on), for the roller(the piece, that spins, and has brushes on it, to knock the stuck on dirt and etc loose) went bad, on the one side, so it started to vibrate, and make a funny noise, so I went to the Bissell website, and registered my vac, and I ordered a new one, and the little pre-motor filter, as well, since that got lost, and the parts were really cheap to buy(since it can change from one place to the next, I really cannot specify, what it cost me), and since i have the platinum membership, due to the registration of the vac, and setting up my account with them, the shipping was free, plus I now have a 10% discount, of their products, which is great, since I plan on buying a second set of filters, so I have one set, on the vacuum, and a second set, either drying out, or waiting to be placed on, so I can clean the others, and this vacuum, has a really strong suction, as well, I have felt the 12amp vacs, and this one, feels about the same, I may go with the helix one, next, since the only thing different, would be the filtration system, but, I have a dog(Black Lab/Pitbull mix, mostly Black Lab, though), and as long as I slowly dump the canister in the trash, it doesn't spread throughout the air, with the pet dander and etc, which is great!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
undrtakr22
Massillon, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
6/6/2012

Customer review by HarleyCowboy

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by HarleyCowboy
by HarleyCowboy

I don't think you can beat this vacuum for the price. It cleans excellent...easy to empty. All tools right at hand. I will certainly recommend it to anyone needing a new one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HarleyCowboy
Elkton Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Light and easy, does the job
4/11/2012

Customer review by SavvyShopper90

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by SavvyShopper90
by SavvyShopper90

Very light and easy to maneuver. Does a great clean-up job. I can't imagine why there are poor reviews, except that people didn't know what to expect by "bagless." Not fair to give a poor review because you didn't know what you'd bought. Product itself is great and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavvyShopper90
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good and durable
6/17/2012

Customer review by Canote

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Canote
by Canote

I am from a family of five and we have gone through many vacuums of all kinds of name brands, but nothing has lasted like this one. I am recently engaged and this has been one of my first purchases for our new home. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canote
Ellijay, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent for the Price
7/11/2012

Customer review by Bondo66

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Bondo66
by Bondo66

I've owned this vacuum for years. We have 4 dogs and 2 cats. It has pretty good suction, but I wouldn't say its the best out there. We still have to vacuum our house every single day, usually more than once to keep up with all that pet hair, but this little baby does the job well. We usually can't get through one room without emptying the container at least once. The only thing you will need to be careful with is that you have to rinse out the filters regularly. I was reading some of the other reviews where they have trouble with suction and funny noises and lost power. I would attribute that to not keeping the unit clean. We really work this unit and it had seen its fair share of dirt and hair over the past 6-7 years. There are about 5 different filters that can be removed and washed with soap and water. The only drawback is that you have to let the filters sit for 2-3 days to thoroughly dry out before putting them back into the vacuum and using it again. We've had no troubles with this vacuum at all. As long as you keep the filters cleaned regularly, you will enjoy it for years to come! I would definately recommend this and I would buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bondo66
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome
2/23/2015

Customer review by janet

5.0 stars 2/23/2015 by janet
by janet

Product Name: bissell vacuum Model: 6579-6 Serial: 0833115202k Comment: MY BISSELL.......i bought this bissell in feb 09 and it has seen its fair share of torture.....coming up on 6 yrs...at that time was my 20 yr old and her fiance ..my first granddaughter..6 mos ..my oldest son 17 and my youngest son 13....all living in one home...this vacuum was used all day every day...was used for my p/t job..cleaning homes and apts....6 yrs later...2 more grandkids ..one with special needs that will tear a house apart from top to bottom many borrowings it is still going strong...wish my marriages lasted this long and ran this well...THANK YOU SO MUCH..for a product that has been awesome...I LOVE MY BISSELL....this vacuum is used all day every day... my 3 grandkids and youngest son are with me still and it is amazing that it works still....having to buy another vacuum on my income would be difficult , I support my 3 grandkids as well as my daughter due to my grandsons condition and it has been a huge comfort that i can depend on it so again i thank you for a product that has given me years of service and never failed me.....thank you First Name: janet

janet
fl
Gender:Female
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews