Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

47 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

47 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
23
1-20 of 44 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Dont waste your money
12/20/2011

Customer review by jctgumby

1.0 stars 12/20/2011 by jctgumby
by jctgumby

I bought this litte box a few months back hoping not to clean up my cats waste anymore. First thing is the lid always falls off of the metal flap and so the waste is spilled on top of the lid and then the metal flap squishes it in and that is so gross. The litter box is small so your cat will always have to go on the side too. The problem is that when the waste is on the side, the machine always accidentally drops it off the side onto the floor instead of in the box. It also misses large chunks of stuff all the time but then catches it on the way back and squishes it onto the wall. I have to clean up litter off of my floor every single day since I bought this and it always smells awful and always has litter all around it. I still clean up cat waste but instead of just scooping it, I am having to clean it off of the metal and wipe it with rags and all. It is disgusting and a thousand times harder than a regular litter box. Dont be decieved. This never works the way it is suppose to and you will still be cleaning up cat waste every single day. Just to show an example, I took a picture of what I do every day. I have to move the litter box and sweep up the litter that spills out the side. This is how much will spill on your floor every single day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jctgumby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible Product!
7/26/2009

Customer review by Dnvy

1.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Dnvy
by Dnvy

I purchased this littermaid box from Walmart, after having owned several Littermaid boxes over the past 10 years. Normally, they break after 2 years. This particular model stopped working as soon as it was plugged in to the wall receptacle. The prongs broke off after the first cat's use. And, rack became stuck as soon as it came into contact with the urine waste clump. Horrible product. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dnvy
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Works ok
4/24/2010

Customer review by alwaysme1987

3.0 stars 4/24/2010 by alwaysme1987
by alwaysme1987

I've owned this model for about 6 months now and it just broke a couple days ago. I do agree with other reviews, it does need a stronger motor because it would get stuck in fresh, clean litter at times and I would have to turn it off and back on. It would also get stuck going back and forth for some reason which is really annoying when you're sitting in the next room and it's running and running. My cats like to dig in their litterbox a lot and they throw litter onto the tracks and I think that's what it gets stuck going back and forth at times, and that's part of what killed it this time. It got stuck over the waste container and after taking it apart I realized the little ribbon that powers the rake was unplugged because it didn't have enough slack at the end of the track. I plugged it back in and it still won't work. Unfortunately, I don't have my receipt so I'll be buying a new one but definitely not this model. This time I'll be going for the basic mega, they seem to have stronger motors and last much longer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alwaysme1987
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
needs stronger motor
9/6/2009

Customer review by cgbmartin

1.0 stars 9/6/2009 by cgbmartin
by cgbmartin

Even from the first it would get stuck and click click click you have to go stop it and scrape the litter back before it will run a cycle. Ran for about 5 weeks then just quit. It was not overloaded and the litter was at the correct depth and I used the litter recommended. I want

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cgbmartin
Branson West, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unfortunate Purchase
1/17/2012

Customer review by ConcernedBuyerMI

1.0 stars 1/17/2012 by ConcernedBuyerMI
by ConcernedBuyerMI

I purchased this Littermaid product on November 08, 2011, it sat in the box for approximately one month before being used. After it was opened and I began using this item it almost immediately had issues with jamming of the rake mechanism. I contacted Littermaid in January 3, 2012 and after some troubleshooting and about three days of emails Littermaid authorized a warranty replacement. I was required to send in several items to prove the warranty. Days after they received my warranty documentation I was notified it would be 4-6 weeks to replace my litter box because this model was on back order. I explained to them I wanted an upgraded replacement model if one was in stock or a refund as it was unacceptable to wait 4-6 weeks for a litter box. On January 17, 2012, I was notified my refund was processed and would arrive in 7-10 days. All in all the warranty process took longer to process than the life of the Littermaid litter box. Buyer beware their products aren't well made and warranty service it poor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConcernedBuyerMI
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2-Cat household and they love it
1/26/2011

Customer review by NevadaKitty

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by NevadaKitty
by NevadaKitty

This is the 3rd Littermaid I've had in about 9 years. I have 2 cats and they love the box. It keeps the litter "dooty" free and odor free. When it gets dirty, just wipe it down with a damp cloth. I reuse the litter bins and spray Lysol in the bin every time I empty. I prefer Fresh Results litter from Walmart because it's pleasantly scented, lightweight, dust-free and hard clumping but Arm & Hammer has a good one also. I do recommend this unit to any cat lover and especially to a multi-cat home.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NevadaKitty
Nevada, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy to be free!
2/22/2010

Customer review by NewtONE

4.0 stars 2/22/2010 by NewtONE
by NewtONE

I finally dont have to scoop...I was not sure to make the move to this unit, but i am hapy that I did. I was surprised how quiet it is, because i heard it was noisy. I have one finiky cat, but she took to the unit well..I am using natural litter which is also working well. Overall a great item! Makes life easy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewtONE
Zephyr Cove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best box to date!!
2/11/2010

Customer review by DebheartKitty

5.0 stars 2/11/2010 by DebheartKitty
by DebheartKitty

I bought this litterbox and it is better than any I have had before (owned 2 Classics). The package said "New durable drive mechanism" and they really meant it! It is stronger but quieter...i think the change has made a big difference, I am very pleased and lovin my LitterMaid!

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebheartKitty
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best electric cat box
11/10/2011

Customer review by shmutzy

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by shmutzy
by shmutzy

My 1st "basic" Litter Maid i owned lasted for years. I bought 2 expensive "elite" Litter Maid cat boxes within4 months. The 1st one lasted about 3 months and the next one lasted 2 weeks. My new "basic" cat box has been fantastic! It cleans the box perfect!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shmutzy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ify about it
9/11/2009

Customer review by wifeytobe

3.0 stars 9/11/2009 by wifeytobe
by wifeytobe

I got this product sometime in June. I thought it was going to be great. No more poo scooping less odor though out the house perfect. Well, the litter gets stuck to the comb every other time my kitty goes.. and lately the flap hasn't been closing it gets stuck in mid air.. so the smell fills the bathroom.. not so pleasant. Before all this happened, which was in the past month.. it was fine. Except for the litter sticking part.. so be prepared to go in there and have to knock off huge clumps of kitty leftovers off the comb. It's not really worth what they're asking for it.. they need to lower the price since it doesn't fulfill the duties it's suppose to do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wifeytobe
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a bad product
4/28/2010

Customer review by AMLD

3.0 stars 4/28/2010 by AMLD
by AMLD

This litter box worked well with our cat. A few issues: The motor is excessivly loud. If the sensors get dirty or you put too much litter in, the rake will continue to cycle over and over again. Our cat got sick with diarrhea, and we were never able to get it all cleaned off. You have to replace the litter containers pretty often, and they're not that cheap. We ended up just dumping out the containers and re-using them to save the money. It only lasted us about 2 years, then started to fall apart. Overall, not bad but it does have some issue.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMLD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
A good product for the price.
7/31/2009

Customer review by DustyHill

4.0 stars 7/31/2009 by DustyHill
by DustyHill

I bought this product because a cat we recently rescued would not go in a litter box that had been used by one of the other house cats. He is an adult neutered male and now he has no problem using the Littermaid Automatic cleaning litter box. It was easy to assemble and it's very quiet. I am a light sleeper and I never hear this litter box when it cleans up after one of the cats has used it. The product states it is for single cat household's but it works great for multiple cat household's in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DustyHill
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!
12/16/2011

Customer review by ONELOVE7779

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by ONELOVE7779
by ONELOVE7779

OKAY I HAVE TO SAY AFTER READING MIXED REVIEWS I WAS PLEASANTLY SUPRISED. I HAVE A NEW KITTEN AND HAVE HAD THE LITTER BOX FOR TWO WEEKS AND IT IS WONDERFUL. NO SMELL AND WORKS GREAT. FYI DON'T OVERFILL IF YOU DO THIS WILL CAUSE IT TO BE UNABLE TO GET BACK TO THE REST POSITION AND WILLNOT STOP GOING BACK AND FORTH. THIS BOX TAKES THE GROSSNESS OUT OF HAVING A LITTERBOX. THANKS LITTERMAID FOR SAVING MY BACK AND ALLOWING ME TO NEVR SCOOP OUT LITTER AGAIN!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ONELOVE7779
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/14/2011

Customer review by BoxTop829

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by BoxTop829
by BoxTop829

This is our second Littermaid automated cat box, the first one lasted 7 years! If you hate cleaning out your cat's litterbox( and I can't think of anyone who likes it!!) this is the product for you. It does everything it says and the new model is alot quieter than the previous one. This particular model is good for one cat households. If you have more than one cat, I would suggest you go for the more advanced one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoxTop829
Brentwood, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
HORRIBLE ALWAYS STUCK
5/6/2010

Customer review by FEDUPWITHLM

1.0 stars 5/6/2010 by FEDUPWITHLM
by FEDUPWITHLM

JUST PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT A FEW MONTHS AGO BECAUSE OLD ONE BROKE.. PAID OVER 100 DOLLARS FOR AND IT SEEM LIKE IT IS ALWAYS STUCK OR SHUT DOWN..I AM EXTREMELY NOT HAPPY WITH THIS ONE.. I AM USING THE SAME LITTER BRAND THAT I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IN THE OLD ONE...I WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE. I RATE THIS THING OVERALL IN THE NEGATIVES......BELIEVE ME IT IS A CONSTANT EVERDAY HASSLE....

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FEDUPWITHLM
LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
workhorse!!
3/13/2010

Customer review by kurf

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by kurf
by kurf

I have had the best experience so I am really confused why anyone would say anything is wrong with this item. The motor is stronger that the original LitterMaid that I had for 6 years. I dont think anyone can top this product. thanks, LitterMaid. Looking forward to 6 more years of no scooping!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kurf
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great concept, terrible product
10/2/2011

Customer review by tcope1

2.0 stars 10/2/2011 by tcope1
by tcope1

I really needed an automatic litter box and broke down and spent the money on this one. Worked fairly well at first. Stuff did clump to the rake and a few other issues but over-all, it did the job and was very pleased. However, 8 days after I bought it I returned to find the rake device stuck with the litter box 1/2 open. It would not move. I unplugged it, plugged it back in, held the power button, everything. I could not get it to move. I called Littermaid and they are not open on the weekends. Now I'm without a litter box. I'm hoping that the cats will still use it while I wait for LM to open. I'm hoping they won't have me wait weeks for a replacement (if they do, I'll return it for something else). I _really_ want this thing to work but if it gives up the farm after 8 days...

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tcope1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst litter box ever
10/30/2009

Customer review by TotalGamer88

1.0 stars 10/30/2009 by TotalGamer88
by TotalGamer88

We have owned the older versions of the littermaid litter box and loved them. They made a mistake in making this one. It is very sluggish and catches at the end of the litter tray if the cat uses that area. This happens if they use either end, the start or the finish. The arm will just stop and you hear a very loud clicking as the gears trying to force the arm on. At first it would back up to the start and stay there but after a while it wouldn't even do that it would stop at the end of the tray and our cat wouldn't use the litter box until it was cleaned and the arm reset. In the end I had to clean this litter box every time our cat used it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TotalGamer88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/29/2011

Customer review by dlyf

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by dlyf
by dlyf

I've had a littermaid before. This one is great. A big help with cat litter

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlyf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a very great invention
3/21/2010

Customer review by shortyshop

5.0 stars 3/21/2010 by shortyshop
by shortyshop

I work alot and I have a cat and this item helps me so much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortyshop
Rolla,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews