Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 108 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

108 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

108 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 97 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
GREAT CLIPPERS FOR BEGINNERS
7/3/2013

Customer review by DOG101

3.0 stars 7/3/2013 by DOG101
by DOG101

WHEN I BOUGHT THESE CLIPPERS I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS DOING SO I WAS KIND OF SCARED OF MY DOG LOOKING LIKE FRIGHT NIGHT. MY SHIH POO WAS GROWING OUT TOO FAST BETWEEN GROOM VISITS HE HAS REALLY THICK POUFY HAIR. IN THE SUMMER THIS WAS REALLY UNCOMFORTABLE FOR HIM. SO I BOUGHT THIS SET CHEAPER THAN A GROOM VISIT I ONLY LOST 30.00 IF IT LOOKED TOO BAD TO DO AGAIN. THE CLIPPERS WOULD CLOGGED TOO BAD TO USE THE GUIDES SO I USE IT WITHOUT THEM EXTENDED OUT DON'T PUT IT ON SHORTEST SETTING WITHOUT GUIDES GAVE MY LITTLE GUY RAZOR BURN. I BOUGHT THIS WHEN I ONLY HAD TWO TO CUT NOW I HAVE 4 ONE IS MY MOMS TOY POODLE. I'VE HAD THESE CLIPPERS 3YRS IT STARTED CLATTERING AND I THINK THE BLADE HAS DULLED ALSO BECAUSE WHEN I GAVE TWO OF MY DOGS THEIR LAST CUT SOME PLACES WERE REALLY SHORT IN SOME PLACES GAVE IT A BALD LOOK. SO I THINK THIS PAIR JUST COULDN'T CUT WITH THIS MANY HAIR CUTS. I BOUGHT A ANDIS PRO 1 SPEED AT A LOCAL PET STORE I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ONE FOR LONG THICK HAIR,MULTIPLE DOGS,LONG TERM USE. I DECIDED TO GET A PRO ONE SINCE I WOULD BE USING IT A LOT WITH 4 DOGS I NEEDED SOMETHING REALLY GOOD. IT WOULD PAY FOR ITSELF IN A COUPLE OF MONTHS 4 DOGS 40.00 A GROOM VISIT=160.00 EVERY 3 MOS. THE PRO OF HOME GROOMING YOUR DOGS DON'T FEEL AS SCARED AND BOND MORE WITH YOU AND ALSO COST LESS MONEY IF YOU HAVE TIME. I RECOMMEND THIS SET FOR BEGINNERS AND A CHEAP SET TO DO YOU UNTIL YOU CAN AFFORD A EXPENSIVE SET. I DON'T RECOMMEND IT FOR HEAVY COAT BREEDS POODLES,BICHON FRISE,GERMAN SHEPPARDS YOU NEED A HEAVY DUTY OR PRO ONE YOU MIGHT CAN GET IT TO WORK IF YOU CAN BUY A BETTER BLADE BUT I THINK YOU NEED A CLIPPER WITH A LOT OF POWER TO IT. ONLY USE BLADE WITHOUT GUIDES IF YOU WANT A SUMMER CUT IF YOU WANT LONGER YOU'LL HAVE TO BUY MORE STEEL BLADES OR USE GUIDES. I HAVE 2 SHIH TZU 1 SHIH POO MY MOMS TOY POODLE TO GROOM LASTED 3 MOS WITH ALL THIS THICK HAIR AND THIS MANY DOGS TO CUT.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOG101
ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1+yrs & still Love these clippers!
2/6/2010

Customer review by Crazy2Sew

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by Crazy2Sew
by Crazy2Sew

I bought these clippers over a year ago & they still work great! My little dog has very full thick hair. With these clippers I keep his rear & around pads on his feet trimmed every few weeks. During the spring & summer months I keep his fur trimmed short. No grooming fees/bills for me! MY DOG & I LOVE THESE CLIPPERS! Tip; after cleaning and oiling make sure the clipper blades are adjusted straight & you'll never have a problem:)

Was this review helpful? (158) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazy2Sew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
More frustrating than Helpful
11/29/2009

Customer review by MalteseFairy

1.0 stars 11/29/2009 by MalteseFairy
by MalteseFairy

This was the first pet clipper set I bought. I have a Maltese and thought that since a Maltese was pictured on the box, "medium duty" would be good for him. Wrong. This may be good for another type of coat, but for the Maltese's fine, one layer coat, the clipper kept getting stuck and clogged and had to be cleaned after every pass! I tried to adjust the power setting and tried with and without oil. I have used it on 3 clipping attempts, and the last attempt left the worst results. I finally just pulled out some scissors to finish his cutting, because the clippers were just maddening. I am now looking more carefully at reviews and am in the process of hunting down a less frustrating set of clippers. If you are on a tight, tight budget and have a different coated dog, this may work. But for me and my Maltese, this was not what I was hoping for at all.

Was this review helpful? (128) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MalteseFairy
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Value-Works Great!
12/20/2012

Customer review by dogfanforever

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by dogfanforever
by dogfanforever

We have a cockapoo with very fine curly thick hair. A different clipper we had used in the past for our cocker spaniel (that we paid 3 times more for!) did not work at all on our cockapoo as our cockapoos hair is so much finer and thicker. This clipper worked great! Our dog's hair was so over grown and thick and in 1 hour we had all the hair off! Just a little touch up work and she'll be done. Was a little reluctant after seeing one ladies review were she said it was her first clipper and it didn't work. However, the other reviews were good regarding using on fine thick haired dogs so we thought we'd give it a try. This is our 3rd clipper (the other 2 clippers we bought were 3 times as much!) and we are some what experienced as we have groomed a cocker spaniel and our cockapoo many times and would highly recommend this clipper to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogfanforever
Pine City, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not the best...
11/18/2010

Customer review by 661kristen

2.0 stars 11/18/2010 by 661kristen
by 661kristen

I bought these clippers a week ago or so... I have a shitzuu/terrier mix breed dog.. I tried to use the plastic attachments for the clippers to trim up my dogs hair, and it just kept getting clogged up. The clippers would freeze. I'd have to keep cleaning out the blade, and it was not fun for me or my dog. I ended up having to just shave her without the plastic attachment combs. So, it worked great as a shaver.. I just wasnt impressed at all.. I might have to take them back and try something different. Not worth the hassle in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
661kristen
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible
11/18/2015

Customer review by Sdak

1.0 stars 11/18/2015 by Sdak
by Sdak

I have a dog that is an Australian shepherd/poodle mix and this did not cut through her coat at all. I'll definitely be taking it back!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sdak
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/15/2013

Customer review by StepDaddie

4.0 stars 2/15/2013 by StepDaddie
by StepDaddie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought these in need to cut some costs and groom the dog myself. My girlfriend laughed at me when I bought these clippers thinking that I would botch up the dog. After only the first use these clippers ran well and the dog looked good. They were everything that I expected from the clippers. Since I have a Border Collie and my main objective was to trim only her behind, tail, underbelly and even out some spots, the video didn't really help with my dog. The guide combs along with the taper lever were very useful in getting a nice trim on my dog. My girlfriend was actually impressed that someone with no experience could by these clippers and make my dog look as if I took her to a groomer for almost half the price. These clippers pay for themselves the more you use them.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StepDaddie
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Truly lives up to the word "Pro" in the name!
7/1/2014

Customer review by Thankful1toJesus

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by Thankful1toJesus
by Thankful1toJesus

I ordered this clipper to use on our border collie / sheltie mix. She has extremely thick fur around her back legs, and no previous clippers have been able to do anything. With these, I had no problem whatsoever grooming her. Even the thickest fur came off with ease! The blades did not bind up, get stuck, or pull even once! I was really amazed at how well it worked! I would recommend these for anyone who needs to groom their dog. One tip: It your dog has matted fur, you will need to use a very low attachment (probably a 1) the first time you groom that area. The longer attachments might not be able to get the blades close enough to the fur to actually cut it. Plan on a "buzz cut" the first time, and then you can use whatever you want on subsequent groomings.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thankful1toJesus
Pasadena, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Deep under coat Chow Chows
5/31/2012

Customer review by ChowChows

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by ChowChows
by ChowChows

I have 2 full size Chows and they demand a good shear/grooming every year. They have very thick under coats and were matted pretty bad with fox tails burried deep. These clippers were the best! I got them out of the box added 1 drop of oil and they were silent, ran super smooth, and got my Chow looking great, all the way down to the skin if need be. It took 1 1/2 hrs to do my 1 dog who was the worst of the two and I am very happy with my purchase. After about an hour they got warm but not bad.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChowChows
Flagstaff Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Even works on CATS!!
7/25/2013

Customer review by BakingbytheBeach

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by BakingbytheBeach
by BakingbytheBeach
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got these to use on a cat with matted fur. I had tried brushing and cutting with scissors and nothing worked. No groomers would work with her and my vet wanted to "put her under" just to shave her. I found these and they have been a blessing! It took me a while because I did it all myself so I was holding her with one hand and the clippers with the other. They removed the matted fur with NO PROBLEMS!! It took me almost an hour, but I was alone in the process. They never pulled the fur or cut the skin. It got very close to her skin, just like I wanted. I love the carry case that I can store everything in to keep it together. Instructions inside tell how to trim fur on lots of breeds of dogs and even comes with a DVD. If this one ever breaks, I will buy another one just like it. Very good product.

Was this review helpful? (56) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BakingbytheBeach
Georgetown, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for 6wk trim-ups
12/22/2010

Customer review by jbchucky

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by jbchucky
by jbchucky

I have two cocker-spaniels. I trim up the entire body, paws, ears about every 4-6wks(depending on season). These clippers are not loud and cut evenly. I did find it makes a big difference if the blades are oiled well and if my dogs are clean. Overall I was pretty happy with the clipper.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbchucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Just as good as expensive clippers!
1/17/2012

Customer review by littlemisssunshine09

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by littlemisssunshine09
by littlemisssunshine09

These clippers as excellent! I have 2 shih tzus (one with a thick coat and the other thin). These glided right through their hair. I have used them twice on both dogs and they work just as good as when I first bought them. My dogs tend to get mattes, because I do not brush them everyday. The clippers did hesitate a little when getting the mattes out, but I've noticed that all you do is wiggle them a little and it cuts right through. The reason why I purchased these was because my $100+ clippers broke after 1 year of use. These work just as well... if not better. The only bad (or negative) thing about them is that they tend to get somewhat warm/hot after 30 minutes of use, but not hot enough to burn the dog. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE!

Was this review helpful? (82) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlemisssunshine09
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good value, performed as expected
7/27/2011

Customer review by usgroupie

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by usgroupie
by usgroupie

MODEL #9281-210. We had previously tried the MODEL #9590-210 Pro Series Cordless, but it does not have the adjustable blades and I needed to be careful not to get it too close of a cut (although it is a little quieter, a little less vibrating, and the cordless was a nice feature). The corded 9281-210 has the adjustable blades and worked very good for me, a first time amateur. The dog was not a bother to me. Our dog is a longhair mini-dachsy, and the AZ summer gets too hot for her, as well as the fur picks up everything in desert when we go out trekking. And at $35 a pop at the groomer, it made sense for us to try this at home. No problems. Worked as expected. Used only once so far. Get a clipper with adjustable blade. I don't use the guides.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
usgroupie
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The clippers were awesome!
6/15/2011

Customer review by Rockysbrat

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by Rockysbrat
by Rockysbrat

My mom's little Sheltie had the worst matted hair no matter how much we tried to bathe and brush him! I didn't think any clippers would be able to get thru all those mats but these did the job and more! Oh, and he feels so much better! I haven't seen him run and jump around like that in years! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rockysbrat
Gatlinburg, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Better than I expected
5/21/2014

Customer review by DuaneFromTucson

4.0 stars 5/21/2014 by DuaneFromTucson
by DuaneFromTucson

Reading reviews for various clippers I was doubtful this would work on my Golden Retriever. I have a de-shedder which works okay, but his hair was still pretty thick. We are in Arizona and he stays inside with the A/C, but still is warm. This clipper comes with guide combs, but only up to 1/2". I had some guides from a previous Wahl that I used on the kids. They fit perfectly so I used mainly the 1", and used the 1/2" on the back end, which gets really thick and easily matted. He tolerated this for so long then started to move around too much, So I did about 3 trimming sessions over a couple days. When I pull out the clipper now, he comes over and sits down. He seems to like it. I started with the clipper turned off and used it to scratch his back, Then turned it on and did the same thing. A little more power would be nice as it did bog down a couple times. I just slowed down a bit. But again, his hair is really thick, and I am really surprised it cut that well. I was going to buy a little more expensive one, but I am glad I didn't spend the money. His back looks nice and even, so it does a good job. If he'd sit still long enough I could get the rest of him looking pretty good too. My main goal was to get the hair off so he'll be cooler. He seems much more comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuaneFromTucson
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Excellent clipper with more than adequate power!
5/23/2014

Customer review by eleanor14

5.0 stars 5/23/2014 by eleanor14
by eleanor14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I groomed my dog (a Brussels Griffon) who had a full coat of winter fur. The clippers worked beautifully and I was able to groom my dog with ease. This is the best clipper I have used yet! Other clippers of lesser quality were more expensive at the local Pet supplies store. This is a good, economical investment and it works well. I ordered it on line and it was available in less than 2 hours at my local Walmart. Review the instructional DVD that comes in the kit and you will have no problem grooming your dog and using the appropriate clipper combs. The DVD also instructs how to care for the clipper. Easy to understand. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eleanor14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It!
11/29/2009

Customer review by PharmLady

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by PharmLady
by PharmLady

Used it to trim our kitty and worked perfectly (especially for the cheap price)! We were expecting to have to pay at least around 70 bucks or so, but decided to give this razor a shot. Worked great, but you have to get the angle just right (watch the DVD). Plus, our cat actually enjoyed the vibration and quiet hum.

Was this review helpful? (73) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PharmLady
Lillington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
dog hair clippers
12/31/2015

Customer review by trouble

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by trouble
by trouble

They were great till you turned them on.. Then the show begins. Im seventy and I couldnt keep up with the moves he demostrated .He was like a spider monkey on crack..I put my best ninja moves on him to no avail. do you sell tie down straps for 5 lb dog.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trouble
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good shaver for the price/ Works well so far
8/23/2014

Customer review by TBearsDad

4.0 stars 8/23/2014 by TBearsDad
by TBearsDad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had several inexpensive Oster shavers in the past that both lasted several years. I currently have 4 dogs that are shaved at least 3 times a year. I was reluctant to purchase a Wahl as I had never had one before. When I couldn't find a comparable Oster I purchased this Wahl and am pleasantly surprised. I shaved 3 of my dogs within a week of getting the shaver and it worked well. The shaver did exactly what I needed it to do which is shave my dogs close and as neatly as I can comfortably do. After 20 or 30 minutes of shaving it runs a little warm but not uncomfortably so. A drop of oil seems to keep the blade cooler. I have had more expensive shavers like the A5 which did not perform well for me at all. I will probably purchase another of these to keep on hand for a back up. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBearsDad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Trimmer
3/11/2012

Customer review by camp4

4.0 stars 3/11/2012 by camp4
by camp4

Purchased this to groom my two English Springers. Their fur was pretty long and thick the first time I tested it and although I had to clean out the comb area when it would get clogged with their "feathers" it kept cutting and did not get hot. I feel this way: It costs me 45 dollars per dog at the groomers for a bath and shave. I paid under 30 dollars for the trimmer (and 5 bucks for a bottle of dog shampoo) and have already paid for the trimmer with the money saved!

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camp4
Tampa FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews