Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 26 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Amazing game & great intro to hobby boardgames!
6/13/2011

Customer review by coffeeswiller

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by coffeeswiller
by coffeeswiller

Settlers of Catan is an amazing game; I have owned it for years and still play it. It is a great game for families. My 5 year old daughter loves it, and has a review here: http://growingupgamers.blogspot.com/2010/12/my-first-review-settlers-of-catan.html This game is a great intro to boardgaming as a hobby. Gaming with your kids is great, developmentally.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coffeeswiller
Eugene, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Addicting strategy game
9/29/2009

Customer review by jar

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by jar
by jar

My wife and our friends have become addicted to Settlers. You have to play once or twice before the rules become simple, but it's fairly easy if you can learn with someone who has already played before. The game is pricy, but the change to the board layout with each new game and the aspect of chance involved with rolling the dice forces you to change your strategy each time you play; therefore, it's hard to get tired of the game and is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jar
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love It
7/1/2009

Customer review by CherG

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by CherG
by CherG

We love this game. Great price too. $10.00 less than anywhere else we could find.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CherG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
a fun game
8/21/2009

Customer review by DallasDan

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by DallasDan
by DallasDan

Settlers is a fun game because it is strategic but doesn't take as long as a monopoly or risk would

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DallasDan
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Fun Family Strategy Game
1/11/2010

Customer review by dmy21

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by dmy21
by dmy21

This game is different from most strategy games I have played in that the board layout and odds change with every game, so a new strategy is required each time. This keeps the game interesting even after repeated play. In spite of this, the game can be played by a wide age range which makes it a good family or group game. This game is for up to 4 players only, but an extension can be purchased for around $16 so that 5 or 6 can play. The only problem encountered with this game was that some of the board pieces can get a little warped and not fit together well to hold the other pieces in place (the pieces fit together like a jigsaw puzzle and sometimes the border doesn't hold the inside pieces in place well). We just gently bent the pieces to a straight position and laid a heavy book on them for a while and they worked much better. A minor problem, really. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmy21
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great game
6/28/2009

Customer review by m1ke

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by m1ke
by m1ke

The best board game I have played. Loads of replay value - the most difficult part is just playing through the first game with inexperienced players. Once you get how to play, it becomes a blast!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m1ke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So happy to see this here!
8/18/2009

Customer review by wclizzy

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by wclizzy
by wclizzy

I'm so excited to see a traditional distribution channel for this excellent game. The alternative online retailers don't have the same reputation that walmart.com does. I also appreciate that walmart.com is attempting to capture a different audience by offering unique products!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wclizzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun and Addicting product
1/5/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I absolutely love Settlers of Catan. It is such a fun and addicting game to play with friends and family. I especially love that the game board changes each time you play so that it never gets old and predictable!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great game
4/6/2010

Customer review by JoeBobfromTulsa

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by JoeBobfromTulsa
by JoeBobfromTulsa

Excellent game for 2-4 people at lowest price around. This is the base game which has 3 or 4 more, equally priced, add-on games plus more player expansions that can really run the total price up. Although made of cardboard with wooden pieces, all materials are high quality and sturdy. Best use is to set up game using an on-line game layout generator for optimum spacing and values of the various resource factors and harbor locations. Really fun to play with several strategies available. Lots of on-line information and help to play.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeBobfromTulsa
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Such fun!
4/25/2010

Customer review by crabbyone

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by crabbyone
by crabbyone

Our family and friends, though not all, find Settlers to be a great strategy game that gives us an excellent distraction from the television. It usually takes an hour or so to play so I find it long enough to keep the interest without getting bored or distracted. The instructions take a little getting used to, but once understood, coming up with new strategies makes this a very fun and competetive game of settlement building and economic survival.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crabbyone
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Get it, you won't be dissapointed
1/27/2010

Customer review by itseileen

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by itseileen
by itseileen

It's been compared to Risk and Monopoly - but it's SO much better. A combination of strategy and luck (anytime you have dice in a game - there's an element of luck) yet, it's like playing a different game each time depending on how you set up the board. Walmart had a wonderful price on this and the site to store saved me shipping too. We recently played the Barbarian Attack and it was great fun...will get some expansions in the future, I'm sure!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itseileen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A great board game
1/22/2010

Customer review by RIgramma

4.0 stars 1/22/2010 by RIgramma
by RIgramma

I got this game to play with my 9 year old grandson. It took a little while to understand the setup and rules for play but once we got going it was great fun. Before we knew it a couple of hours had gone by! It's a little tricky keeping the frame pieces tightly locked together so the tiles will stay put but that is the only drawback I see. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RIgramma
East Greenwich, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fun for the family
12/28/2009

Customer review by Bargainhunter103

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by Bargainhunter103
by Bargainhunter103

This Board Game provided hours of entertainment over the Christmas break for my family. The teens stayed at home to play with Mom and Dad! We have now ordered the expansion packs to make play even more fun. Good strategic game and doesn't take as long as monopoly; important for people with shorter attention spans like me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bargainhunter103
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Trade a sheep for wheat?!
9/5/2009

Customer review by IHeartPenguins

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by IHeartPenguins
by IHeartPenguins

This game is a ton of fun. Anyone who enjoys strategy games like Risk or Monopoly will enjoy this game. The first time through takes a little getting used to but soon you'll be trying to make all sorts of resource deals and building the longest road on the way to victory. Great buy and the cheapest price we could find!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IHeartPenguins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Game gone viral
1/10/2010

Customer review by FrankBU

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by FrankBU
by FrankBU

We played this game with visiting Dutch friends this summer called Kolonisten (Settlers in english) that they brought with them. Come to find out it was The Settlers of Catan. The game is fun, challenging, not too hard to learn. A great way to spend time with family & friends!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankBU
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
fun game
1/24/2010

Customer review by PickyMcDoodle

4.0 stars 1/24/2010 by PickyMcDoodle
by PickyMcDoodle

Price was cheaper on walmart.com than anywhere. No suprise there! :) Fun game. The more people playing the better. Taking the "board" apart and having to put it back together each time was a little bit annoying otherwise pretty interesting and fun. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyMcDoodle
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Suepr fun game
4/7/2010

Customer review by GamerGirl882

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by GamerGirl882
by GamerGirl882

If you have not gotten addicted to this game, I recommend you give it a try. For those that love building and multiple strategies to win (without killing) this is perfect! The expansion packs only add to the fun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GamerGirl882
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this game
9/22/2009

Customer review by OLdButStillGood

5.0 stars 9/22/2009 by OLdButStillGood
by OLdButStillGood

Catan is a fun and interesting game. My wife and brother and I play almost every night. It has great moves and keeps your attention. Thanks for free shipping and good price, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OLdButStillGood
Houlton, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Game!
3/4/2010

Customer review by PersonCL

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by PersonCL
by PersonCL

This is a really fun game! My husband hates to play games, but he admits that this is one he doesn't mind playing. The rules are complex, but well worth learning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PersonCL
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
fun!
1/6/2010

Customer review by jrow

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by jrow
by jrow

We got this game for our grown kids for Christmas. They played it for hours. We want to get the expansion sets so more of us can play at one time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews