Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

60 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

60 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 60 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
A must-have complement for your DX Nikon setup.
4/14/2011

Customer review by NevadoYerupaja

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by NevadoYerupaja
by NevadoYerupaja

I've been very satisfied with the quality of photos I'm getting with the 10-24mm. Yes, there is distortion at the wide end, some of which can be rectified in pp, but it also can add a nice effect without the extreme results of a fisheye lens. Closeups are surprisingly good quality, with a very smooth bokeh if desired. The minimum aperture of f/29 provides great dof for creative landscapes. The AF is smooth, fast, and quiet. Your popup flash is practically unuseable with this lens, due to shadowing by the lens itself, but the SB900 works fine in the hotshoe, and of course off-camera. It is a crisp, clean, sharp lens that I'll use frequently for adding flair to otherwise normal shots.

NevadoYerupaja
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely Sharp and Well Sized for Travel
10/27/2016

Customer review by Scripps23

5.0 stars 10/27/2016 by Scripps23
by Scripps23

I recently tested my Nikkor 10-24 mm DX ultra wide angle zoom lens on my new Nikon D500 camera body, at the Palomar Observatory in Northern San Diego County, California, to determine if I would take this lens to India and Nepal for sweeping panoramic views of the Himalaya Mountain Range. This lens has proven to be tack sharp on the Nikon D500 and responds well to the low light capabilities of the camera. See the captions for the two photos I have posted for exposure information.

Scripps23
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good wide angle lens
6/10/2011

Customer review by ivaylomm

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by ivaylomm
by ivaylomm

Very useful lens. The range is awesome. The colors are beautiful. Focuses close. Good even for portraits if you don't mind the funny bokeh. Wide angle lens is always a good thing to have ,so I think it is worth buying one and with Nikon you always get what you're paying for, many times you get a lot more, not in this case, but I'm still very happy with purchasing this lens and I would buy it again, no doubt ! It is an awesome product ! That is what Nikon does, after all.

ivaylomm
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Lens
3/23/2015

Customer review by CaptCurt

5.0 stars 3/23/2015 by CaptCurt
by CaptCurt

The first time I put this on my D 7100 I fell in love with it. Sunrise photos got much better. It even did great at night. Had to do some shooting in a tight space in a dark bar. no problem. This is on one of my D 7100's and my other one has a Nikon 18-300 mm on it most of the time, (I keep a 35 mm handy too) I am ready for anything. Fun to use.

CaptCurt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small lens with a BIG PUNCH!
9/21/2010

Customer review by Joeyq911

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by Joeyq911
by Joeyq911

WOW! OH WOW!!! This lens just compliments my D5000. It takes great photos and breathtaking colors. I was amazed at the quality but should we expect any less - it's NIKON baby!

Joeyq911
Richmond,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An amazing lens
4/15/2011

Customer review by DeeTwoXcess

5.0 stars 4/15/2011 by DeeTwoXcess
by DeeTwoXcess

Incredible sharpness, from shooting orchids to Delorme's 41 foot diameter Eartha, the world's largest revolving and rotating globe, this wide angle zoom handles it all with crisp clarity.

DeeTwoXcess
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brilliant lens, outstanding image quality
1/1/2014

Customer review by cropdaddy

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by cropdaddy
by cropdaddy

Bought one of these second hand and I´m addicted to it... it´s a superb, tack sharp and free of CA lens, and it has given my love for photography a big boost. This lens is brilliant!

cropdaddy
Portugal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra-wide Travel/Interior Architecture DX Lens
9/6/2012

Customer review by Roger Dodger-SF

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Roger Dodger-SF
by Roger Dodger-SF

I have been shooting industrial design, transportation, interior, and travel photography with primarily Nikon Cameras and Lens with excellent results for over 50 years. When switiching over from film to the more affordable DX/Cropped Sensor DSLR D70, D90, and D300s I ran into the typical issues and cost factor of finding an affordale ultra-wide lens solution to supplement the Nikon 20mm F2.8 lens that was so usefull when used on my 35mm F100 DSLR for shooting interiors of retail stores, yachts, and cars without having to buy the expensive 14mm 2.8 series lens. The Nikon 10-24mm Zoom has become more useful in the areas of travel photography in the narrow streets of Greece, Italy, and other European locations where I photograph a lot of fishing ports along with my maritime photography. I especially find this lenes invaluable when photographing U.S. Coast Guard Cutters, large Navy Ships exteriors/dockside and on-board activities at commissioning ceremonies. The lens has an excellent build quality and weather sealing gasket for use in many of the areas where dust and moisture environmental conditions are an everyday problem. The ability to use a front element protective filter, unlike the Nikon 14mm F2.8 or 14mm 24-70 2.8 makes this lens less vulnerable to accidental damage. The careful use of the supplied lens shade is important to reduce lens flare issues from off angle lighting, and directly shooting into the sun. I have gotten terrific color rendition and fantastic color saturation and image sharpness when reducing the exposure by one thrid stop. I plan to add a FX DSLR by Nikon if it prices out between the D7000/D300s and the D800. I plan to purchase the Nikon 16mm-35mm F4 VR for use on both DX and FX formats and continue to use the Nikon 10mm-24mm especially when traveling with my D90 or D7000 to save weight and space. My present travel choice is packing the D7000 and the 10mm-24mm, 16mm--85mm VR, 70mm-300mm VR, Nikon G 50mm F 1.8, and a Coolpix 7000 for hiking and back-up. With this set-up I can shoot practically anything and everything that captures the total experience of discovering new places and people---and end-up with publishable professional results. My excellent Nikon equipment helps me to capture---truly magnicifant "optical eye candy."

Roger Dodger-SF
San Francisco, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lens
6/5/2015

Customer review by Fordman555

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Fordman555
by Fordman555

This is one of my go-to lenses. It always seems to make an appearance on any shoot. Highly recommend it!

Fordman555
Brunswick, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm a Wide-Angle junkie!
5/30/2011

Customer review by D5000Shooter

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by D5000Shooter
by D5000Shooter

This 10-24mm lense is great piece of glass! I have used it in urban and rural landscape settings as well as taking pictures for events for my employer (a private school). People are so impressed with the way it can capture a setting. Advice: get in close as possible and really fill that frame up! If you just stay back to get as much in frame as possible, you will end up with ants and small figures in boring pictures. Photoshop CS5's lense distortion filter can help correct slight distortion this lense can produce in the wider settings (10-12 mm).

D5000Shooter
Sewanee, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great in the day...but at night its another story.
11/22/2010

Customer review by ferrarimike

3.0 stars 11/22/2010 by ferrarimike
by ferrarimike

I have been using this lens for several months, and it is a great lens for the price, and produces just some awesome colour reproduction during the day within minimal edge distortion. For those who experiment a lot with night time long exposure photography, there are some focusing issues at night. I have tried all sorts of settings and exposures and as soon as the sun goes down you need to change to another lens.

ferrarimike
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stunning view and angle
4/22/2011

Customer review by Okuto

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by Okuto
by Okuto

I've been shooting with a 35 mm for years and with this lens it 's a new approach how to re-frame my shoots. This wide angle offer a spectacular view and the clarity of the pictures are astounding.For some cases I had to move closer from subject to make the shoot.I am not disappointed with this product you will love it.

Okuto
St Paul,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for landscapes
10/6/2011

Customer review by stanleymcp

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by stanleymcp
by stanleymcp

I was concerned that this lens may be too wide and put everything too far off in the distance. I was wrong. I probably use this as much as my 18-200. I've found that it is a great lens for hiking the Sierra.

stanleymcp
Minden, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Lens
8/22/2010

Customer review by KR

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by KR
by KR

Bought this lens for some travel photography in Hawaii and was not disappointed. The lens was very sharp even at the edges. Silent focus and performed well throughtout the zoom range.

KR
Cape Cod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wide angle for DX cameras
12/19/2009

Customer review by Ganymebe

4.0 stars 12/19/2009 by Ganymebe
by Ganymebe

This is Nikon's only real solution for a wide, wide view for the Nikon DX cameras. It is fairly light and not too big. My only complaint is that I wish there was a f2.8 version. Nikon makes one but you got from 10mm to 12mm and double the price. I really wanted the 10mm so I went with this lens. Walmart had the best price I could find, given their sale price and Bing rebate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ganymebe
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Excellent wide angle DX Lens
9/1/2010

Customer review by Rabid_Clam

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by Rabid_Clam
by Rabid_Clam

This excellent could be listed as a semi fisheye but isn't. Is an excellent slow lens with super wide angle capabilities for both distance landscape as well as fairly close up work all with minimal distortion. In these kinds of lenses you will of course see some curvature in the targer objects but are minimal considering the wide angle being used. As with most lenses that have a lens shade the hood or shade will have to be removed for the built in flash or even the external flash to cover the target image well but this is a small chore. I find this lens great for shots in a room where all subjects are captured, the zoom can be used to better frame any particular subject. Is not a fast lens but quite reasonable for the price. Lens is quiet and does not creep. For me is an absolute to have this lens in my basic kit well worth the pricy investement.

Rabid_Clam
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Lens
3/25/2010

Customer review by ReginadelGiacchio

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by ReginadelGiacchio
by ReginadelGiacchio

This lens meets and exceeds all expectations!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReginadelGiacchio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The World's Best Sky Lens
7/30/2010

Customer review by SmokiesCat

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by SmokiesCat
by SmokiesCat

I have been in love with the sky since memory, and nothing photographically captures the feelings of a special, expansive sky like this lens. Of course, I use the lens for more than sky pictures; but most images with this gem have at least a portion of that celestial metaphor for heaven. I almost purchased a fish-eye instead but am extremely pleased that I did not. The zoom range provides the flexibility to freeze a desired intersection of time and space in a more conventional lens length without having to switch lenses. The images are dramatic and crisp. Only minor vignetting is experienced when using a polarizing filter. This lens is worth every penny. It is a tool that creates joy in recalling or sharing a moment worth photographing.

SmokiesCat
Grand Rapids and Marquette,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing lens
7/31/2010

Customer review by Nikon guy

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Nikon guy
by Nikon guy

I am very impressed with the performance of this lens. The detail and clarity are amazing. I do a lot if hiking and in the past I would only take my 18-200 VR but now I have to take this one as well. There is just no substitute for for that extra 8mm. The first day I had it out I shot some pictures of my buddies new boat and did not have a polarizer for it and was extremely impressed with the results. It also works really well indoors or shooting large groups of people. The only feature I wish it had is VR (I guess because I am really spoiled by this on my go to lens). This of course would change the price point. In conclusion I would highly recommend this lens to anyone who is looking for a wide angle zoom.

Nikon guy
Westchester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very low distortion
1/5/2013

Customer review by brianf

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by brianf
by brianf

I do part time real estate photography. Obviously a super wide angle is needed for those large rooms. I had read about a fair bit of distortion at the 10 and 12 area of the lens but it is minimal. On a D7000 the in camera editing almost eliminates any horizontal curving along the walls where they meet the ceiling. The in camera correction works so well that any post correction on Capture NX2 is not needed. On a large blown up photo it would be needed. The only time I am bothered by the curving effect at 10 to 12 mm is when I flip the camera around and shoot portrait orientation. It just seems to stand out more this way. The color reproduction is very good when you nail the white balance. Even in tricky mixed light conditions it focuses quickly and spot on. It is also very quiet. Vinneting is minimal at any setting. You cannot use a built in flash as a large shadow is cast. Putting my sb700 on fixes this even if you use the top shoe. (I usually use the SB700 on a side mount bracket) 80% of my use for this lens is indoors but on a recent trip I used it for some wide outdoor landscapes and it was again A1 with little or no distortion. Whether indoor or outdoor if you get to 14mm or more the distortion is a non issue. Build quality seems excellent and it has a nice heavy solid feel.

brianf
Oakville, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews