Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 59 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Wide angle for DX cameras
12/19/2009

Customer review by Ganymebe

4.0 stars 12/19/2009 by Ganymebe
by Ganymebe

This is Nikon's only real solution for a wide, wide view for the Nikon DX cameras. It is fairly light and not too big. My only complaint is that I wish there was a f2.8 version. Nikon makes one but you got from 10mm to 12mm and double the price. I really wanted the 10mm so I went with this lens. Walmart had the best price I could find, given their sale price and Bing rebate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ganymebe
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent wide angle DX Lens
9/1/2010

Customer review by Rabid_Clam

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by Rabid_Clam
by Rabid_Clam

This excellent could be listed as a semi fisheye but isn't. Is an excellent slow lens with super wide angle capabilities for both distance landscape as well as fairly close up work all with minimal distortion. In these kinds of lenses you will of course see some curvature in the targer objects but are minimal considering the wide angle being used. As with most lenses that have a lens shade the hood or shade will have to be removed for the built in flash or even the external flash to cover the target image well but this is a small chore. I find this lens great for shots in a room where all subjects are captured, the zoom can be used to better frame any particular subject. Is not a fast lens but quite reasonable for the price. Lens is quiet and does not creep. For me is an absolute to have this lens in my basic kit well worth the pricy investement.

Rabid_Clam
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The World's Best Sky Lens
7/30/2010

Customer review by SmokiesCat

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by SmokiesCat
by SmokiesCat

I have been in love with the sky since memory, and nothing photographically captures the feelings of a special, expansive sky like this lens. Of course, I use the lens for more than sky pictures; but most images with this gem have at least a portion of that celestial metaphor for heaven. I almost purchased a fish-eye instead but am extremely pleased that I did not. The zoom range provides the flexibility to freeze a desired intersection of time and space in a more conventional lens length without having to switch lenses. The images are dramatic and crisp. Only minor vignetting is experienced when using a polarizing filter. This lens is worth every penny. It is a tool that creates joy in recalling or sharing a moment worth photographing.

SmokiesCat
Grand Rapids and Marquette,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing lens
7/31/2010

Customer review by Nikon guy

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Nikon guy
by Nikon guy

I am very impressed with the performance of this lens. The detail and clarity are amazing. I do a lot if hiking and in the past I would only take my 18-200 VR but now I have to take this one as well. There is just no substitute for for that extra 8mm. The first day I had it out I shot some pictures of my buddies new boat and did not have a polarizer for it and was extremely impressed with the results. It also works really well indoors or shooting large groups of people. The only feature I wish it had is VR (I guess because I am really spoiled by this on my go to lens). This of course would change the price point. In conclusion I would highly recommend this lens to anyone who is looking for a wide angle zoom.

Nikon guy
Westchester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Lens
3/25/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This lens meets and exceeds all expectations!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very low distortion
1/5/2013

Customer review by brianf

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by brianf
by brianf

I do part time real estate photography. Obviously a super wide angle is needed for those large rooms. I had read about a fair bit of distortion at the 10 and 12 area of the lens but it is minimal. On a D7000 the in camera editing almost eliminates any horizontal curving along the walls where they meet the ceiling. The in camera correction works so well that any post correction on Capture NX2 is not needed. On a large blown up photo it would be needed. The only time I am bothered by the curving effect at 10 to 12 mm is when I flip the camera around and shoot portrait orientation. It just seems to stand out more this way. The color reproduction is very good when you nail the white balance. Even in tricky mixed light conditions it focuses quickly and spot on. It is also very quiet. Vinneting is minimal at any setting. You cannot use a built in flash as a large shadow is cast. Putting my sb700 on fixes this even if you use the top shoe. (I usually use the SB700 on a side mount bracket) 80% of my use for this lens is indoors but on a recent trip I used it for some wide outdoor landscapes and it was again A1 with little or no distortion. Whether indoor or outdoor if you get to 14mm or more the distortion is a non issue. Build quality seems excellent and it has a nice heavy solid feel.

brianf
Oakville, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
On my camera most of the time.
6/18/2012

Customer review by weirdohenrico

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by weirdohenrico
by weirdohenrico

This is my go-to lens. I don't have a walk-around-zoom-lens and the reason is because I have this lens. From landscape to close up still life and even portraits -- I enjoy using this lens. I can't complain about the sharpness because to me it is a very sharp lens. Distortion is fine and to be expected. This is my first UWA lens and has made my photography more enjoyable. Build quality is great -- It feels really solid even after two years and many vacations. I would definitely buy it again. In the beginning I was considering the 12-24 f4 which is more expensive but the money I saved I got the 35mm 1.8 DX and another lens. Really happy with this lens and would definitely recommend it.

weirdohenrico
Philippines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must-have complement for your DX Nikon setup.
4/14/2011

Customer review by NevadoYerupaja

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by NevadoYerupaja
by NevadoYerupaja

I've been very satisfied with the quality of photos I'm getting with the 10-24mm. Yes, there is distortion at the wide end, some of which can be rectified in pp, but it also can add a nice effect without the extreme results of a fisheye lens. Closeups are surprisingly good quality, with a very smooth bokeh if desired. The minimum aperture of f/29 provides great dof for creative landscapes. The AF is smooth, fast, and quiet. Your popup flash is practically unuseable with this lens, due to shadowing by the lens itself, but the SB900 works fine in the hotshoe, and of course off-camera. It is a crisp, clean, sharp lens that I'll use frequently for adding flair to otherwise normal shots.

NevadoYerupaja
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wider, Wider, Wider!
7/30/2010

Customer review by That camera guy

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by That camera guy
by That camera guy

If you like telling the story by filling the screen with foreground, subject, and background, you'll love this lens. If you do basic point and shoot, you'll hate this lens for the same reason: there is so much screen to fill. This lens at 10mm gives about a 110 degree viewing angle, with no fish-eye effects. It does not offer the vibration reduction feature of the more telephoto lenses in the DX series, and doesn't really need it since it is so wide. Get the nice HOYA UV-0 filter, no vignetting. This lens has allowed me to get previously impossible images: the whole bay and all the boats while standing at the dock, all 40 floors of the new building while standing on the sidewalk right beside it, the entire spreading maple tree with a nice up-close leaf in the foreground, wildflower close-ups with the mountain peaks in the background also in focus, images from inside buildings of the entire room that you are in, the waves on the beach with the beach sand grains visible in the foreground, a lot of the sky for night-time star fields or daytime cloud patterns, in-crowd people and action shots, and the list just goes on. Like any super-wide, it compresses the subject, so beware of people placement, they will look a bit squat otherwise. This lens seems to take a high percentage of my "Wow" shots.

That camera guy
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10-24 Nikkor AF-S DX for D7100
2/11/2014

Customer review by NevadaJayHawk

5.0 stars 2/11/2014 by NevadaJayHawk
by NevadaJayHawk

The clarity of this lens is fantastic. The feel is right. The weight is nominal for a lens of this caliber. If you like the outdoors and especially like landscapes this lens is for you. I looked at several other brands but kept returning to the Nikkor. My decision was a three month test and review of different wide angles. I am confident with this lens and expect it to perform well for many years. This lens will be used primarily on the D7100. I put a B+H XS-PRO Digital UV Haze MRC nano filter on the front. I am looking forward to hiking the Grand Canyon, Zion National Park, and the Wasatch range with this lens. Hope to see some of you out on the trail. Happy hunting!

NevadaJayHawk
Sunrise Manor, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Below average lens
11/25/2012

Customer review by Joe H.

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Joe H.
by Joe H.

Overall I have been quite disappointed with this lens. I use it on a D7000. It resolves very poorly (a lot of detail is lost) when the subject is at a distance, making it a poor landscape lens (tripod does not help). I also own the Nikon 17-55, and at overlapping focal distances the 17-55 far out resolves the 10-24, it isn't even close. For the price, it has definitely been a disappointment. If the subject is closer then the lens performs a little better, but still not well enough. The D7000 AF-Fine tune has been of no help with this one, there is just an overall lack of clarity. But when I need a really wide shot, at least it goes to 10mm.

Joe H.
Seattle, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful wide angle lens
11/16/2012

Customer review by Grimbot

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Grimbot
by Grimbot

The Nikkor 10-24 is a wonderful lens for landscape photography providing a great field of view...approximating a 16-35 FX lens. I used this lens extensively on my D7000 during a photo trip to Utah and found it to be superb. Photoshop easily corrects the small optical flaws of this lens. I have also used this lens on my D600 when doing corporate video work. It is very handy to have this wide field of view especially when shooting in cramped warehouses and similar situations. This lens is expensive for a DX format lens but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for.

Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First wide angle
5/30/2015

Customer review by CONRAZON

4.0 stars 5/30/2015 by CONRAZON
by CONRAZON

Just got the lens and have shot many test shots. Zoom is smooth and tight. The focus ring is too thin and the aperture ring can get in the way. This could be improved by switching positions of rings. Overall its a very good lens. I recently purchased a 105mm macro, which can be used on a FX and DX format camera and it cost the same as the 10-24mm and its a DX lens (FX would have to use crop). Seems the 10-24mm should cost less...?

CONRAZON
San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, solid all around lens.
9/23/2010

Customer review by dangerous amateur (TM)

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by dangerous amateur (TM)
by dangerous amateur (TM)

I am loving it so far. Only had it a short time, but already took it on a trip with me and was able to use it for lots of wide angle and decent zoom shots as well. The nice part of the ED is that I can crop and bring a photo in closer in my post work and it doesn't fall apart as fast as some of my older lenses' pics will. They stay sharper and crisper for more "in close" detail enlargements, etc. Overall, it is a great "all-around" lens and I hope to learn more and more ways to use it and I cannot imagine that it won't be an "always with me" piece of equipment!

dangerous amateur (TM)
Midwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm a Wide-Angle junkie!
5/30/2011

Customer review by D5000Shooter

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by D5000Shooter
by D5000Shooter

This 10-24mm lense is great piece of glass! I have used it in urban and rural landscape settings as well as taking pictures for events for my employer (a private school). People are so impressed with the way it can capture a setting. Advice: get in close as possible and really fill that frame up! If you just stay back to get as much in frame as possible, you will end up with ants and small figures in boring pictures. Photoshop CS5's lense distortion filter can help correct slight distortion this lense can produce in the wider settings (10-12 mm).

D5000Shooter
Sewanee, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wide Zoom Wide Range
7/22/2010

Customer review by Pictureted

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by Pictureted
by Pictureted

I've been more than impressed with the performance of this lens. I've shot excellent wide angle lenses in the past - 20/4 and 28/2.8 AIS from Nikon and Zeiss 16, 21, 28 and 35 on a Contax G2 and was concerned a wide zoom could perform adequately. A trip to Hearst Castle was the first test with dimly lit interiors with finely detailed walls and ceilings. I was shooting at f3.5 and 1/20 with wonderful results at 10mm. The wide zoom range also makes this lens a great "street" shooting lens. If I carry more than one lens, this always goes along.

Pictureted
Redwood City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this lens
8/2/2010

Customer review by AZDaver01

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by AZDaver01
by AZDaver01

I use this lens with my D90 and love it. Images are sharp and look great. It's a bit pricey, but worth the money. At 10mm it does bend objects on the edge as a wide angle will do. I see no problems with image quality on the edges as has been noted in some other reviews I have seen. I use this lens for both day and night/moonlight/light painting and it works well. It is my favorite lens in my bag. Do yourself a favor and buy the Nikon colorless filter at the same time to protect the lens. I'm already glad that I did!

AZDaver01
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good wide angle lens
6/10/2011

Customer review by ivaylomm

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by ivaylomm
by ivaylomm

Very useful lens. The range is awesome. The colors are beautiful. Focuses close. Good even for portraits if you don't mind the funny bokeh. Wide angle lens is always a good thing to have ,so I think it is worth buying one and with Nikon you always get what you're paying for, many times you get a lot more, not in this case, but I'm still very happy with purchasing this lens and I would buy it again, no doubt ! It is an awesome product ! That is what Nikon does, after all.

ivaylomm
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Lens
3/23/2015

Customer review by CaptCurt

5.0 stars 3/23/2015 by CaptCurt
by CaptCurt

The first time I put this on my D 7100 I fell in love with it. Sunrise photos got much better. It even did great at night. Had to do some shooting in a tight space in a dark bar. no problem. This is on one of my D 7100's and my other one has a Nikon 18-300 mm on it most of the time, (I keep a 35 mm handy too) I am ready for anything. Fun to use.

CaptCurt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very sharp and well made
7/30/2010

Customer review by MiamiCusinga

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by MiamiCusinga
by MiamiCusinga

As a DX shooter, I've tried several different third-party wide zoom lenses but was never satisfied with corner sharpness. This lens is a winner - particularly after three intense weeks of shooting in the surf, mountains and rainforests of Costa Rica. Very durable. Very good corner sharpness when stopped down to f8 (which I'd do anyway for depth of field) and the extra 2mm (beyond the 12-24) really helps. This lens will be in my daily kit for a long time.

MiamiCusinga
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews