Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 59 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Wide angle for DX cameras

Customer review by Ganymebe

4.0 stars 12/19/2009 by Ganymebe
by Ganymebe

This is Nikon's only real solution for a wide, wide view for the Nikon DX cameras. It is fairly light and not too big. My only complaint is that I wish there was a f2.8 version. Nikon makes one but you got from 10mm to 12mm and double the price. I really wanted the 10mm so I went with this lens. Walmart had the best price I could find, given their sale price and Bing rebate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful Lens

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This lens meets and exceeds all expectations!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by bspasky

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by bspasky
by bspasky

Great lens. Amzing pictures, even in low light.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very nice lens

Customer review by Starving PhD Biomechanics Student

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by Starving PhD Biomechanics Student
by Starving PhD Biomechanics Student

I took it to McMurdo Station, Antarctica. Very handy for views that call out for wide angle.

Starving PhD Biomechanics Student
Berkeley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice lens!

Customer review by paws

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by paws
by paws

I was impressed with the performance of this lens.The sharpness even held up in very low indoor lighting of the space center. Nature shots had very good clarity. I would recommend this lens to anyone looking for a DX wide angle zoom.

Livermore, Cailf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wider, Wider, Wider!

Customer review by That camera guy

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by That camera guy
by That camera guy

If you like telling the story by filling the screen with foreground, subject, and background, you'll love this lens. If you do basic point and shoot, you'll hate this lens for the same reason: there is so much screen to fill. This lens at 10mm gives about a 110 degree viewing angle, with no fish-eye effects. It does not offer the vibration reduction feature of the more telephoto lenses in the DX series, and doesn't really need it since it is so wide. Get the nice HOYA UV-0 filter, no vignetting. This lens has allowed me to get previously impossible images: the whole bay and all the boats while standing at the dock, all 40 floors of the new building while standing on the sidewalk right beside it, the entire spreading maple tree with a nice up-close leaf in the foreground, wildflower close-ups with the mountain peaks in the background also in focus, images from inside buildings of the entire room that you are in, the waves on the beach with the beach sand grains visible in the foreground, a lot of the sky for night-time star fields or daytime cloud patterns, in-crowd people and action shots, and the list just goes on. Like any super-wide, it compresses the subject, so beware of people placement, they will look a bit squat otherwise. This lens seems to take a high percentage of my "Wow" shots.

That camera guy
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This one is always with me.

Customer review by jrb2k

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by jrb2k
by jrb2k

This lens stays on the camera more than any lens I have. The perfect focal range, up close in your face lens at 10mm, yet you can reach out a little if you need. If that does not do it for you, you are not close enough! I shoot most everything at or near 10mm. Wish it were faster but you will need to give up the zoom to get faster. Great lens!

New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Addition

Customer review by Ray

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by Ray
by Ray

This lens compliments any Photographers equipment bag. Creates amazing perspectives of outdoor landscapes, and invaluable for the close and tight indoor shots.

Seven Hills, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I was looking for

Customer review by Apixelpusher

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Apixelpusher
by Apixelpusher

I wanted something wider than my kit lens and this lens is perfect for me with very little distortion at the wide end. It's sharp and fast to focus.

Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this lens

Customer review by AZDaver01

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by AZDaver01
by AZDaver01

I use this lens with my D90 and love it. Images are sharp and look great. It's a bit pricey, but worth the money. At 10mm it does bend objects on the edge as a wide angle will do. I see no problems with image quality on the edges as has been noted in some other reviews I have seen. I use this lens for both day and night/moonlight/light painting and it works well. It is my favorite lens in my bag. Do yourself a favor and buy the Nikon colorless filter at the same time to protect the lens. I'm already glad that I did!

Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wide Zoom Wide Range

Customer review by Pictureted

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by Pictureted
by Pictureted

I've been more than impressed with the performance of this lens. I've shot excellent wide angle lenses in the past - 20/4 and 28/2.8 AIS from Nikon and Zeiss 16, 21, 28 and 35 on a Contax G2 and was concerned a wide zoom could perform adequately. A trip to Hearst Castle was the first test with dimly lit interiors with finely detailed walls and ceilings. I was shooting at f3.5 and 1/20 with wonderful results at 10mm. The wide zoom range also makes this lens a great "street" shooting lens. If I carry more than one lens, this always goes along.

Redwood City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Twice the area of an 18mm and sharp straight lines

Customer review by Aquagem

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Aquagem
by Aquagem

Bought this lens after quite a bit of comparison for use on building interiors. I shoot for a local realtor and do a lot with interior panoramas. Tired of straightening barrel distortion on every shot from my 18-200mm, I decided to give the 10-24mm a try. Like a breath of fresh air. I have cut the number of panos I have to almost in half, and the results are sharp and lines are straight. Love it!

Helena, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very sharp and well made

Customer review by MiamiCusinga

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by MiamiCusinga
by MiamiCusinga

As a DX shooter, I've tried several different third-party wide zoom lenses but was never satisfied with corner sharpness. This lens is a winner - particularly after three intense weeks of shooting in the surf, mountains and rainforests of Costa Rica. Very durable. Very good corner sharpness when stopped down to f8 (which I'd do anyway for depth of field) and the extra 2mm (beyond the 12-24) really helps. This lens will be in my daily kit for a long time.

Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Lens

Customer review by KR

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by KR
by KR

Bought this lens for some travel photography in Hawaii and was not disappointed. The lens was very sharp even at the edges. Silent focus and performed well throughtout the zoom range.

Cape Cod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing lens

Customer review by Nikon guy

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Nikon guy
by Nikon guy

I am very impressed with the performance of this lens. The detail and clarity are amazing. I do a lot if hiking and in the past I would only take my 18-200 VR but now I have to take this one as well. There is just no substitute for for that extra 8mm. The first day I had it out I shot some pictures of my buddies new boat and did not have a polarizer for it and was extremely impressed with the results. It also works really well indoors or shooting large groups of people. The only feature I wish it had is VR (I guess because I am really spoiled by this on my go to lens). This of course would change the price point. In conclusion I would highly recommend this lens to anyone who is looking for a wide angle zoom.

Nikon guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This lens is a must.

Customer review by Jayhawk97

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Jayhawk97
by Jayhawk97

This lens is great for landscapes, architecture and close-ups. The wide angle allows you to get close up to large objects, and still get the entire object, creating very dramatic views

Kansas City, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Ultra Wide Lens Ever!

Customer review by primeimages

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by primeimages
by primeimages

I do a lot of product photography and this lens affords me a really close focusing distance to get that hero shot some clients prefer. It's got the sharpness of my Nikon 60mm micro lens. And for really tight spaces, this lens fits the bill with my D300. In fact, the focal length from 10mm to 24mm is just PERFECT. It may not be a fast f2.8 lens but'd always want to mount it on a tripod when doing interior shots with available light...right?

Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots Of Love For This Lens

Customer review by Crafty Crew

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by Crafty Crew
by Crafty Crew

I bought this lens when it first came out. I love the artistic freedom the super wide angle gives. It's fast, accurate, great size. Since this lens paid for itself with the images I have sold from it, I consider it a good value. I will agree that there's independent lens manufacturers that make nice ultra wide zooms, but nothing works as good on a nikon than a nikkor. Focusing is really fast and accurate. No nonsense.

Crafty Crew
Westchester County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wide wow

Customer review by winger

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by winger
by winger

I was using the Tok***12-24 on my D300, with good results. However, I like to stay Nikon so when this 10-24 was available, I took a chance. What a great decision. This lens is sharper through the entire range, and the extra 2mm on the wide end DOES make a big difference. My D300 was sitting after I bought the D700, but the 10-24 has got the DX cam out again. I recommend highly....

New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly recommended

Customer review by RobG

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by RobG
by RobG

I have always enjoyed using wide angle lenses, and this one does not disappoint. Extremely sharp, lightweight, and crisp zooming. Fun to use, and a great creative tool. I recently used it in the tight confines of the air museum in Kalamzaoo, Michigan, and it performed brilliantly. This lens goes with me everywhere, and gets more use than any of my other Nikkors.

Granville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews