Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 482 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

482 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

482 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
347
4 stars
62
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
60
1-20 of 481 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 481 total reviews
1-20 of 481 reviews
Let's make Downy great again!
1/22/2017

Customer review by blah

1.0 stars 1/22/2017 by blah
by blah

I've switched to another brand of liquid softener since the transition from the original Downy, through the scent bead migration, and now what can only be described as a joke product April Fresh with fabric protect. Oh and it's no longer fabric softener, it's fabric conditioner. What a waste of marketing. Let's make Downy great again America! Also either bad programming or skewing, i gave this product the one star it does not deserve and my android is turning it into four. liars.

blah
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
April fresh stinks!
1/28/2017

Customer review by Rann52

1.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Rann52
by Rann52

Scent is so strong I threw the whole bottle out. It's just like Original Gain. The infusion Downey products are also nasty. Thanks again P&G for allowing me to switch to something else. You're really batting 1000 at this point.

Rann52
Canal Winchester,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Original scent was fine.
1/18/2017

Customer review by Why2

1.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Why2
by Why2

april fresh can mean many things to many people. A clear scent of rain, lovely scent of flowers, whatever. Whereas, the Original Scent was a tried and true product. Have no idea why downy felt they had to change from Original Scent to april fresh. Please bring the Original Scent back; otherwise, I will have to go back to using another company's dryer sheets.

Why2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
I MISS YOU DEARLY MY DOWNY.
1/20/2017

Customer review by GR8JAZZ

1.0 stars 1/20/2017 by GR8JAZZ
by GR8JAZZ

I REALLY MISS THE ORIGINAL APRIL FRESH SCENT DOWNY I GREW UP USING I'M 50 YRS OLD. THE NEW DOWNY IS A LITTLE TO PERFUME AND IT JUST TOO LOUD OF AND ODOR,WHERE AS THOUGH THE ORIGINAL WAS PLEASENT TO SMELL . PLEASE BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL DOWNY EVEN FOR A LITTLE WHILE.

GR8JAZZ
SPFLD,MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love It!
1/14/2017

Customer review by LeeleeNJ

5.0 stars 1/14/2017 by LeeleeNJ
by LeeleeNJ

We've been using Downy for years! Long lasting scent. Combine with the Fresh Protect for an even greater scent experience and you won't be disappointed.

LeeleeNJ
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I hate the new Scent
1/13/2017

Customer review by Lola13

1.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Lola13
by Lola13

Please bring back the old scent. It was my favorite and the best scent back then now I HATE the new scent!!!! Why did you change the scent? Why?

Lola13
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Downy stained our washer and a few cloths blue.
12/29/2016

Customer review by CynPro

2.0 stars 12/29/2016 by CynPro
by CynPro

Downy appears to have stained the area of our dryer where I poured it in at full strength, and some of our light color cloths were also stained. I love the softness of Downy and have used it for many years, but in my opinion, something must have changed. I don't recall ever having this problem in the past. I believe their Free & Clear is colorless so I may try that version of Downy. Why do companies change things that have worked well for years?

CynPro
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
problem with opening the product
11/30/2016

Customer review by Robin L

3.0 stars 11/30/2016 by Robin L
by Robin L

I live in the Rocky Mountains at 7500 ft. I simply cannot open the downy top. I have used all type of tools to no avail. I wanted to do laundry today, but I can't do this until my husband gets home. If I lived alone, I would not be able to use your product. I have lived here for 3 years and it just within the last year I have had this trouble. Is there something you can do to make it easier to open? My husband whom has very strong hands must use a tool to open this.

Robin L
La Veta, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
no scent is the best scent
11/21/2016

Customer review by Sofi

1.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Sofi
by Sofi

Have always used Downy white bottle, no scent, because the scented ones are too strong, however this time I bought April Fresh to dilute with no scent so it would be just right, when I had a huge problem....sort of shocking and unbelievable, actually, but here goes....a little was on the bottom of the bottle and stained my drier. How is that possible? I am stunned. I do not want to take off the shine and ruin my new drier but this is really disgusting, how is this possible????!!!! What can I do???

Sofi
ocala, florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Multiple Uses, Same Results = Wonderful!
11/14/2015

Customer review by mmbrad02

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by mmbrad02
by mmbrad02

We have tried this product for multiple purposes at our house and it was been wonderful for everything! First off, my daughter had a box full of My Little Pony dolls with frizzy hair that we had been unable to do anything with. She would often comment that they were no longer beautiful and as a result, no longer wanted to play with them. However, Downy came to the rescue! Equal parts of Downy and water made combing the pony's hair manageable, and today we have nice smooth manes and tails! So thankful this product brought toys back to life that otherwise would have ended up in our yard sale pile. Bonus is the the wonderful scent our pony's now have! Secondly, we love this product for laundry! From my daughters clothes to bed sheets, we love how soft our clothes feel! And the smell is delightful! I received and tested this Downy Fabric softener for free, but the opinions are mine. Would highly recommend this product!

mmbrad02
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I used to Iove Downy
11/4/2015

Customer review by Kevin

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

I used to really, really Iove your former product. Downy April Fresh. My Great Grandmother used Downy, My Grandmother used Downy, My mom used Downy and I used Downy. The scent was wonderful and left things smelling really fresh and clean. Sadly, it appears you've elminated the scent altogether. Every single bottle being made had this really, really strong new scent of Downy.... And it's radically different. Like a cheap perfume that's really really sweet. I went to four stores tonight and was able to locate seven bottles of the Old Downy with the old scent. But once they are gone... I'll probably stop using Downy altogether. I just don't understand why you guys would change the scent. This is Downy. It was amazing as it was, why did it need to change? I hope you guys will consider switching it back although I'm sure it won't happen. It's just disappointing. This was a wonderful product and it's now ruined.

Kevin
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
What Happened To My April Fresh Scent?!?!?!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Flowers4Happiness

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Flowers4Happiness
by Flowers4Happiness

I've been a faithful Downy user for more then 35 years and have always loved this product. Yesterday I opened a new bottle and was overwhelmed with the floral scent. I thought I had incorrectly purchased a scent other then original April Fresh Downy, but no I hadn't. Why has the scent changed? It still performs great on static, softness, and wrinkles, but the scent is so overbearing I'm unable to wear clothes that have been rinsed in it. Please bring back the tried and true original April Fresh scent we all have loved for years... From the reviews its very apparent I'm not the only one that feels this way. Let's hope P & G hears our pleas and brings back the scent we've all known and loved for decades. I'll keep checking reviews in the hope that the original scent returns, but until it does I won't be purchasing Downy again. So disappointed to say goodbye to a favorite product I've loved for years.

Flowers4Happiness
Cedar Rapids, IA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
My Downy Experience
12/16/2015

Customer review by quintaj99

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by quintaj99
by quintaj99

I have used Downy before, but normally when I find it on sale, but I always prefer liquid fabric softener over softener sheets. Using the Downy again just reminded me of how great it is over other fabric softeners. I just love the scents available and the original scent also has a fresh clean scent that just leaves my clothing smelling great for days. The way I use my fabric softener is with a downy ball in my washer machine during the washing cycle. I have found that using the ball takes the guess work out of remembering to add later in the cycle. I found also that the scent of the Downy last longer on my clothing than other fabric softeners. Downy is not expensive, but I can buy other softeners cheaper, and even coupons for the Downy are normally $.50 and really do not help. That's my only real con to the Downy is the price. I tested the Downy softener for free, but all opinions are my own.

quintaj99
Sherwood, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New April Fresh scent is unbearable!
8/25/2016

Customer review by stinkssobad

1.0 stars 8/25/2016 by stinkssobad
by stinkssobad

I've used April Fresh Downy since a small child so at 40 years and I had to return the newest bottle I purchased because the scent is so unbearable. It's way to strong, smells nothing like the previous scent and causes my laundry to smell awful! The previous scent had a nice, soft scent and this is very offensive and offputting. I am hopeful, with enough complaints, you will change back to the previous scent. I'm trying a different scent, but I will switch brands if necessary because the new scent makes my home smell terrible and I can't stand to be in it after washing clothes. Why such a strong scent???? Please change back!

stinkssobad
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please bring back the old Downy
1/22/2015

Customer review by Lala

1.0 stars 1/22/2015 by Lala
by Lala

I have used Downy all of my life, the type that came to be known as April Fresh, which was a product that my Mother used since well before I was born! I used to get compliments from people all the time about how good my clothes always smelled, and I was always happy to pass along that it was all due to Downy. It always worked wonders at softening my clothes. I don't understand why such a fantastic product was ever changed. The smell is nothing like it used to be, and it does not last nearly as long. It doesn't soften nearly as well either, and I find the buildup in my fabric softener dispenser to be very annoying. The other new scents are too overpowering to consider using. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE bring the old formulation back! A lifelong Downy user is being forced to switch to another brand - something I would never have considered doing before.

Lala
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wouldn't recommend, period!
9/18/2016

Customer review by Andler54

1.0 stars 9/18/2016 by Andler54
by Andler54

I miss the old scent. I have used April Fresh for years and I do not like the new scent. It doesn't last as long and I will not recommend it. Sorry.....bring back the old scent.

Andler54
Apple Valley, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful!
9/13/2016

Customer review by Tk13

1.0 stars 9/13/2016 by Tk13
by Tk13

Product rating: 000!!! I put 1 star (only bc I couldn't leave at 0) and the review keeps jumping it up to 4 hmmm anyway I hate the new smell. Will not buy again. Used it once and threw the rest in the trash! Please bring the old scent back.

Tk13
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
So disappointed in the way it smells
8/27/2016

Customer review by Laney

1.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Laney
by Laney

I've been using Downy April Fresh for what feels like all of my life because I loved the smell of it. The last two bottles I purchased were not the same product. The fresh smell was missing, and I don't even like the way it smells any more. I will be looking for another product, and hopefully I will find something I liked as well as the one you had before you changed the formula.

Laney
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 481 total reviews
1-20 of 481 reviews