Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 449 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

449 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

449 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
334
4 stars
61
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
44
1-20 of 448 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 448 total reviews
1-20 of 448 reviews
I like the newer version.
4/12/2016

Customer review by tigereyes19806

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by tigereyes19806
by tigereyes19806

I never used the original Downy April Fresh fabric softener so I can't compare the newer version with that one. I like a lot of scent on my clothes and the newer version makes our laundry smell sooo good! My current laundry combo is Tide Original, Downy April Fresh and Bounce Outdoor Fresh dryer sheets. This laundry combo makes our laundry smell fresh and clean, soft and static free. If the newer version is too strong for you, I suggest cutting it 50/50 with an unscented fabric softener (it could even be a store brand version) or using less fabric softener per load. If you still don't like the newer version, you could try Snuggle Blue Sparkle.

tigereyes19806
Brighton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What Happened To My April Fresh Scent?!?!?!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Flowers4Happiness

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Flowers4Happiness
by Flowers4Happiness

I've been a faithful Downy user for more then 35 years and have always loved this product. Yesterday I opened a new bottle and was overwhelmed with the floral scent. I thought I had incorrectly purchased a scent other then original April Fresh Downy, but no I hadn't. Why has the scent changed? It still performs great on static, softness, and wrinkles, but the scent is so overbearing I'm unable to wear clothes that have been rinsed in it. Please bring back the tried and true original April Fresh scent we all have loved for years... From the reviews its very apparent I'm not the only one that feels this way. Let's hope P & G hears our pleas and brings back the scent we've all known and loved for decades. I'll keep checking reviews in the hope that the original scent returns, but until it does I won't be purchasing Downy again. So disappointed to say goodbye to a favorite product I've loved for years.

Flowers4Happiness
Cedar Rapids, IA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New scent is overpowering
4/3/2016

Customer review by JMM77

1.0 stars 4/3/2016 by JMM77
by JMM77

As many of the other reviewers have noted, Downy April Fresh is a staple in most American homes. Unfortunately, our family went to use the "new" formulation and had to rewash our clothes to get the overpowering scent to go away. It is not the comforting smell we have all come to love and expect. Please P&G, bring back the original formulation. I fear you are going to lose a lot of loyal customers with this change. I'm headed out to see if I can get any of the old formulation.

JMM77
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usually great, but.......
4/5/2016

Customer review by Hmtwee

4.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Hmtwee
by Hmtwee

We usually love love love this product but here recently it's like we've gotten a bad batch( by batch I mean 4-5 bottles). When used it seems to stain the clothes and you have to wash them back through a second time to get it out. Any other time It's great. We almost changed to a different fabric softener because of this.

Hmtwee
Hardyville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't fix things that are not broken!
3/4/2016

Customer review by Chelle

1.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Chelle
by Chelle

My family has used April Fresh Ultra Downy for as long as we can remember. The recent changes have me and my family more than disappointed. Our trust in this company and product has been broken. We have horrid smelling clothing and linens and a pile of medical bills after we all had reactions to whatever this new junk product is that they are peddling as our beloved Downy. I came online to find out if the old formula was still being offered and if my store just wasn't carrying it but now I see we are not the only ones less than thrilled with these unnecessary changes. I am terrified to buy another bottle of Downy in a different fragrance as I am not sure I can trust what is inside. We have never used another fragrance other than April Fresh.

Chelle
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great scent
4/14/2016

Customer review by Changer

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Changer
by Changer

We use it all the time as love the scent and the quality job it does.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Changer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Downy Experience
12/16/2015

Customer review by quintaj99

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by quintaj99
by quintaj99

I have used Downy before, but normally when I find it on sale, but I always prefer liquid fabric softener over softener sheets. Using the Downy again just reminded me of how great it is over other fabric softeners. I just love the scents available and the original scent also has a fresh clean scent that just leaves my clothing smelling great for days. The way I use my fabric softener is with a downy ball in my washer machine during the washing cycle. I have found that using the ball takes the guess work out of remembering to add later in the cycle. I found also that the scent of the Downy last longer on my clothing than other fabric softeners. Downy is not expensive, but I can buy other softeners cheaper, and even coupons for the Downy are normally $.50 and really do not help. That's my only real con to the Downy is the price. I tested the Downy softener for free, but all opinions are my own.

quintaj99
Sherwood, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Multiple Uses, Same Results = Wonderful!
11/14/2015

Customer review by mmbrad02

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by mmbrad02
by mmbrad02

We have tried this product for multiple purposes at our house and it was been wonderful for everything! First off, my daughter had a box full of My Little Pony dolls with frizzy hair that we had been unable to do anything with. She would often comment that they were no longer beautiful and as a result, no longer wanted to play with them. However, Downy came to the rescue! Equal parts of Downy and water made combing the pony's hair manageable, and today we have nice smooth manes and tails! So thankful this product brought toys back to life that otherwise would have ended up in our yard sale pile. Bonus is the the wonderful scent our pony's now have! Secondly, we love this product for laundry! From my daughters clothes to bed sheets, we love how soft our clothes feel! And the smell is delightful! I received and tested this Downy Fabric softener for free, but the opinions are mine. Would highly recommend this product!

mmbrad02
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Scent has changed
3/24/2016

Customer review by DebAtl

1.0 stars 3/24/2016 by DebAtl
by DebAtl

I found this site because I was wondering if the scent had changed. Long time user of Downy and do not like the new scent at all and won't be using it unless it changes back.

DebAtl
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't fix what isn't broke!
3/23/2016

Customer review by ebdr07

1.0 stars 3/23/2016 by ebdr07
by ebdr07

AWFUL! Has a stench worse than old lady perfume. Has to wash my clothes twice to get the stench out.

ebdr07
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
I used to Iove Downy
11/4/2015

Customer review by Kevin

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

I used to really, really Iove your former product. Downy April Fresh. My Great Grandmother used Downy, My Grandmother used Downy, My mom used Downy and I used Downy. The scent was wonderful and left things smelling really fresh and clean. Sadly, it appears you've elminated the scent altogether. Every single bottle being made had this really, really strong new scent of Downy.... And it's radically different. Like a cheap perfume that's really really sweet. I went to four stores tonight and was able to locate seven bottles of the Old Downy with the old scent. But once they are gone... I'll probably stop using Downy altogether. I just don't understand why you guys would change the scent. This is Downy. It was amazing as it was, why did it need to change? I hope you guys will consider switching it back although I'm sure it won't happen. It's just disappointing. This was a wonderful product and it's now ruined.

Kevin
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please, please, change back to the original scent!
2/18/2016

Customer review by SadAboutTheNewScent

1.0 stars 2/18/2016 by SadAboutTheNewScent
by SadAboutTheNewScent

After a recent purchase of Downy, my laundry and house immediately started smelling offensive. After closely studying the bottle, I noticed that Downy now calls itself a "CONDITIONER". It's apparent that the new designation resulted in a new scent... Multiple attempts were made to give the new scent a chance, but it became unbearable. I have been a faithful Downy fabric SOFTENER user my entire life. Now that Downy is a fabric CONDITIONER, the smell is horrendous. I did luck up and find some old, original SOFTENER at a store (I bought the only 2 SOFTENERs on the shelf) - but assume my Downy days are numbered. Unless the original scent is returned, I will have to find a new brand... :(

SadAboutTheNewScent
Holly Springs, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Couldn't do without this product.
2/12/2016

Customer review by goodiecookie

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by goodiecookie
by goodiecookie

Downy has been in every load of clothes I've washed since it came on the market years ago. Generally, the original scent has been the one of choice; however, this time I ordered a different fragrance and absolutely LOVE it as well! I didn't think the Downy experience could possibly get any better, but it has. Occasionally, I've forgotten to put the Downy ball into the machine, and can tell when the rinse has begun because the house is lacking the fantastic Downy fragrance. Added benefits are that the linen and clothing closets as well as the bathroom towel cabinet all smell wonderful...thanks to Downy. In addition, it is also an enemy of laundry wrinkling and stiffness. I have never found anything I don't like about this product, making it something I would never want to be without.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodiecookie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not sure
3/23/2016

Customer review by KimP

3.0 stars 3/23/2016 by KimP
by KimP

It doesn't have the same quality scent that the concentrated form has, but the concentrated form stains my clothes, leaves residue in my washer and cost a lot more. Not sure if I would recommend it, but Walmart has really good pricing on this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/29/2012

Customer review by Shops2Drop

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Shops2Drop
by Shops2Drop

How can anyone rate this any less than 5 stars? Downy softener does what it says it will do and what I want it to do: a) it softens all my laundry; b) it removes any/all static cling; c) it leaves my laundry smelling lovely; d) it makes clothing much easier to iron; e) the fragrance lasts longer than other fabric softeners' fragrances (are there any others that even LEAVE a fragrance?). Because I get all ^ that every single time I use Downy, I realize it is a fabulous bargain. One cap full does the job each and every time; I'm never disappointed. THAT is all the reason anyone needs to achieve a 5 star rating, no?

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shops2Drop
Johnston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Downy Fabric Softener
3/17/2016

Customer review by camp

4.0 stars 3/17/2016 by camp
by camp

Love the softness and the fresh smell

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The new smell is beyond offensive!
1/10/2016

Customer review by Alex163

2.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Alex163
by Alex163

Even though Downy still delivers as far as softness, etc., the new smell is horrible! I started to notice it late last year and thought it was my color safe bleach. My husband developed an allergy to whatever it is they've added. The smell is overpowering and I still find clothes and sheets that have that nasty smell. I'm seeing newer reviews about how wonderful the new scent is, and quite honestly, I don't believe them. It smells like a toilet mint. Seriously. A toilet mint - and it never, ever fades away until you rewash it. It also leaves kind of a lanolin type feeling on your skin and hands - and not in a pleasant way. Bottom line - excellent product before they "improved" it. Please - go back to the old way. Who decided this was a good idea - lol? Sheesh!

Alex163
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible new scent!
2/26/2016

Customer review by remyvgr

1.0 stars 2/26/2016 by remyvgr
by remyvgr

I've always used April Fresh Downy, I just purchased a huge bottle and discovered that it has a new overpowering scent. It is absolutely awful!! I just threw the whole bottle away. Will never buy again.

remyvgr
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 448 total reviews
1-20 of 448 reviews