Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 485 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

485 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

485 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
348
4 stars
63
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
61
1-20 of 484 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 484 total reviews
1-20 of 484 reviews
Used to be good!?!?!
12/23/2014

Customer review by Amy

1.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Amy
by Amy

I don't know what you did to the original formula. Downy used to work great and smell nice. Now it gets all clumpy and clogs up the dispenser (which I clean frequently). You blame the thickening on temperature extremes. They must have happened during shipment to the grocery store. This never used to happen before, I would bet that you changed the formula to save money. Hard to believe that temperature is to blame, we have lived in the same climate for 50 years. I can't use this stuff and would like a refund.

Amy
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
FYI - This is NOT the ULTRA/ Concentrate...
3/16/2017

Customer review by Gem615

4.0 stars 3/16/2017 by Gem615
by Gem615

After reading some of the reviews here, I think many of you may be grabbing the wrong bottle! This is NOT the ULTRA/ Concentrate version, which you're probably normally using.... This IS THE ORIGINAL FORMULA/ VERSION of Downy's April Fresh Fabric Softener - as my grandmother used to use some 40-50 yrs ago, so you're not getting a watered down bottle or having the woof pulled over your eyes.... your eyes just aren't paying much attention to detail, as this bottle is quite different looking compared to the ULTRA/ Concentrate version. With that being said, for me, I prefer this formula much more than the overwhelming scent of the ULTRA/ Concentrate - but that's just me. This has a much more lighter, dainty scent that I grew up loving and always feeling comforted by.... but that could also be because my grandmother also used to line dry clothes/ sheets too, that gave an extra crispness to the scent as well. While the ULTRA/ Concentrate is all fine & good, for me it is just too overwhelming on my ultra sensitive sense of smell - so much that it isn't all that pleasant at times too.... (almost like the way your dog comes back inside on a rainy day & you can't quite place where that smell is coming from, until he lays down next to you on the couch.... he smelled fine before he went out! haaaa ;) But again, that's just me... I've found myself out shopping & all of a sudden getting an overwhelming whiff of something so strong that it's not all that pleasant, then I realize it's me/ my clothes!) But I just prefer that dainty, light smell that you get from the ORIGINAL version - which is this :) For those wondering who, what, where..... you are most likely not paying much attention to exactly which bottle it is that you're grabbing - but there are differences, for the next time you shop. First, the price is a bit less - which should be the first tip off.... then there's the fact that this is almost always on or toward the bottom shelves. The bottle itself is also significantly different - as you can see above (or attached pics), there's a girl in a pink dress not seen on the ULTRA bottle, also the bottle is a bit taller/ narrow & is a lighter blue, as the top is also flat on the end & a lighter pink, as well as much larger than the ULTRA. On the other hand, the ULTRA is a little squattier/ wider bottle, and the cap has a flower type design, not to mention is much smaller.... and then there's also the difference in price ;) Hope this helps clarify

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gem615
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Scent I remember
5/3/2017

Customer review by curlyheadedmomma73

5.0 stars 5/3/2017 by curlyheadedmomma73
by curlyheadedmomma73

I am so happy Downy April Fresh smells as it did when I was a child again. I'm in my forties, by the way. For a while there, when the scent of the Downy April Fresh had initially been changed, it didn't smell like the Downy I grew up with. It smelled more like rotten fruit punch, than April Fresh, so I stopped buying it. Now it smells like the April Fresh I use to know and love. I am back to buying it again, and my clothes come out smelling wonderful and feeling nice whether I use my dryer or line dry. Although I will admit, April Fresh and line drying is the freshest scent ever!!! Thank you for making it smell the way it use to again.

curlyheadedmomma73
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/29/2012

Customer review by Shops2Drop

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Shops2Drop
by Shops2Drop

How can anyone rate this any less than 5 stars? Downy softener does what it says it will do and what I want it to do: a) it softens all my laundry; b) it removes any/all static cling; c) it leaves my laundry smelling lovely; d) it makes clothing much easier to iron; e) the fragrance lasts longer than other fabric softeners' fragrances (are there any others that even LEAVE a fragrance?). Because I get all ^ that every single time I use Downy, I realize it is a fabulous bargain. One cap full does the job each and every time; I'm never disappointed. THAT is all the reason anyone needs to achieve a 5 star rating, no?

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shops2Drop
Johnston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why did you change the April Fresh scent?
3/23/2017

Customer review by Rae58

1.0 stars 3/23/2017 by Rae58
by Rae58

I don't understand why you would change such a warm and comfortable sense memory. It was pleasant and it was "home". Now I find it overwhelming and not pleasant at all. Why must my fabric softener overwhelm my perfume. I don't want my fabric softener to become my perfume. The long lasting scent...really?! Please bring back the old scent and my memories of home. I only chose one star....had to....not three

Rae58
Winona MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product
3/24/2017

Customer review by Patricia W

4.0 stars 3/24/2017 by Patricia W
by Patricia W
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Almost as good as Downy and more economical [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Patricia W
Morganton NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the same scent as before.
3/11/2017

Customer review by Camille

1.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Camille
by Camille

I used to buy Downy years ago because I loved the smell. I recently purchased a bottle of the April Fresh scent and it is TOTALLY DIFFERENT!?? Why change something so good? It smells like very cheap softener to me. Will not buy again.

Camille
Atlanta Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Multiple Uses, Same Results = Wonderful!
11/14/2015

Customer review by mmbrad02

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by mmbrad02
by mmbrad02

We have tried this product for multiple purposes at our house and it was been wonderful for everything! First off, my daughter had a box full of My Little Pony dolls with frizzy hair that we had been unable to do anything with. She would often comment that they were no longer beautiful and as a result, no longer wanted to play with them. However, Downy came to the rescue! Equal parts of Downy and water made combing the pony's hair manageable, and today we have nice smooth manes and tails! So thankful this product brought toys back to life that otherwise would have ended up in our yard sale pile. Bonus is the the wonderful scent our pony's now have! Secondly, we love this product for laundry! From my daughters clothes to bed sheets, we love how soft our clothes feel! And the smell is delightful! I received and tested this Downy Fabric softener for free, but the opinions are mine. Would highly recommend this product!

mmbrad02
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I used to Iove Downy
11/4/2015

Customer review by Kevin

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

I used to really, really Iove your former product. Downy April Fresh. My Great Grandmother used Downy, My Grandmother used Downy, My mom used Downy and I used Downy. The scent was wonderful and left things smelling really fresh and clean. Sadly, it appears you've elminated the scent altogether. Every single bottle being made had this really, really strong new scent of Downy.... And it's radically different. Like a cheap perfume that's really really sweet. I went to four stores tonight and was able to locate seven bottles of the Old Downy with the old scent. But once they are gone... I'll probably stop using Downy altogether. I just don't understand why you guys would change the scent. This is Downy. It was amazing as it was, why did it need to change? I hope you guys will consider switching it back although I'm sure it won't happen. It's just disappointing. This was a wonderful product and it's now ruined.

Kevin
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolutely Love This!!!!
2/6/2017

Customer review by SoloandSissyMommy

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by SoloandSissyMommy
by SoloandSissyMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the only fabric softener I use. I never switched to the Ultra version as I have always been satisfied. I'm so happy Waymart decided to keep this product in stock. I will always be a loyal fan.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoloandSissyMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this product it smells very good.
2/18/2017

Customer review by Elva32

5.0 stars 2/18/2017 by Elva32
by Elva32

This product is great and the smell stay longer than others products.

Elva32
Nacogdoches Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What Happened To My April Fresh Scent?!?!?!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Flowers4Happiness

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Flowers4Happiness
by Flowers4Happiness

I've been a faithful Downy user for more then 35 years and have always loved this product. Yesterday I opened a new bottle and was overwhelmed with the floral scent. I thought I had incorrectly purchased a scent other then original April Fresh Downy, but no I hadn't. Why has the scent changed? It still performs great on static, softness, and wrinkles, but the scent is so overbearing I'm unable to wear clothes that have been rinsed in it. Please bring back the tried and true original April Fresh scent we all have loved for years... From the reviews its very apparent I'm not the only one that feels this way. Let's hope P & G hears our pleas and brings back the scent we've all known and loved for decades. I'll keep checking reviews in the hope that the original scent returns, but until it does I won't be purchasing Downy again. So disappointed to say goodbye to a favorite product I've loved for years.

Flowers4Happiness
Cedar Rapids, IA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
My Downy Experience
12/16/2015

Customer review by quintaj99

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by quintaj99
by quintaj99

I have used Downy before, but normally when I find it on sale, but I always prefer liquid fabric softener over softener sheets. Using the Downy again just reminded me of how great it is over other fabric softeners. I just love the scents available and the original scent also has a fresh clean scent that just leaves my clothing smelling great for days. The way I use my fabric softener is with a downy ball in my washer machine during the washing cycle. I have found that using the ball takes the guess work out of remembering to add later in the cycle. I found also that the scent of the Downy last longer on my clothing than other fabric softeners. Downy is not expensive, but I can buy other softeners cheaper, and even coupons for the Downy are normally $.50 and really do not help. That's my only real con to the Downy is the price. I tested the Downy softener for free, but all opinions are my own.

quintaj99
Sherwood, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let's make Downy great again!
1/22/2017

Customer review by blah

1.0 stars 1/22/2017 by blah
by blah

I've switched to another brand of liquid softener since the transition from the original Downy, through the scent bead migration, and now what can only be described as a joke product April Fresh with fabric protect. Oh and it's no longer fabric softener, it's fabric conditioner. What a waste of marketing. Let's make Downy great again America! Also either bad programming or skewing, i gave this product the one star it does not deserve and my android is turning it into four. liars.

blah
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Original scent was fine.
1/18/2017

Customer review by Why2

1.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Why2
by Why2

april fresh can mean many things to many people. A clear scent of rain, lovely scent of flowers, whatever. Whereas, the Original Scent was a tried and true product. Have no idea why downy felt they had to change from Original Scent to april fresh. Please bring the Original Scent back; otherwise, I will have to go back to using another company's dryer sheets.

Why2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
5+
4/4/2015

Customer review by JeffC

5.0 stars 4/4/2015 by JeffC
by JeffC

Definitely 5+ stars! The clothes smell fresh and it eliminates static cling. I cannot understand how anyone can rate it less.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
April fresh stinks!
1/28/2017

Customer review by Rann52

1.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Rann52
by Rann52

Scent is so strong I threw the whole bottle out. It's just like Original Gain. The infusion Downey products are also nasty. Thanks again P&G for allowing me to switch to something else. You're really batting 1000 at this point.

Rann52
Canal Winchester,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
I MISS YOU DEARLY MY DOWNY.
1/20/2017

Customer review by GR8JAZZ

1.0 stars 1/20/2017 by GR8JAZZ
by GR8JAZZ

I REALLY MISS THE ORIGINAL APRIL FRESH SCENT DOWNY I GREW UP USING I'M 50 YRS OLD. THE NEW DOWNY IS A LITTLE TO PERFUME AND IT JUST TOO LOUD OF AND ODOR,WHERE AS THOUGH THE ORIGINAL WAS PLEASENT TO SMELL . PLEASE BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL DOWNY EVEN FOR A LITTLE WHILE.

GR8JAZZ
SPFLD,MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 484 total reviews
1-20 of 484 reviews