Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 299 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

299 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

299 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
206
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
39
1-20 of 288 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 288 total reviews
1-20 of 288 reviews
Windex Refill
2/11/2016

Customer review by Darlene

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Darlene
by Darlene

I've been using this product for 40+ years and its an exceptional cleaner without leaving streaks...can't say enough about this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darlene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is not the product: it is the operator
12/15/2015

Customer review by danotherestorer

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by danotherestorer
by danotherestorer

It works as good as it always has. It is probably operator error. When cleaning mirrors or gleasswork, Use a squeegee and unger. When polishing, mist a hint on a piece of rolltowel and wipe in long strokes in the same direction. Works just fine. Most people that think they know how to clean really don't!

danotherestorer
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
New "original formula" is disappointing to say the least.
2/1/2015

Customer review by Mountainman821

3.0 stars 2/1/2015 by Mountainman821
by Mountainman821

I'm 64. I've used Windex since the early 1960s. Original Windex with Ammonia D (for "distinguished") in the aerosol can was an outstanding product. Since then, Windex has been letting me down. I recently cleaned the inside of my car windshield and I had to do it three times to get what I thought was a "streak-free shine." It looked good UNTIL I drove into the sun. WOW! The windshield, according to my wife, looks even worse than before I "cleaned" it. Not only is it extremely streaky, it is covered with large hazy patches. I will have to try and clean it again. I also cleaned some mirrors around the house. They look pretty good close up. But from across the room, they are all quite streaky. I am sad that the fine product I grew up with has become just another average window cleaner. I will now try to find a new product that will do what I was hopeful your new "original formula" would do but did not. After more than 50 years, I bid you farewell.

Mountainman821
Florissant, CO 80816, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Winded refill
1/6/2016

Customer review by VBrit

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by VBrit
by VBrit

Way too expensive!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VBrit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cloudy mirrors before open house
12/3/2015

Customer review by S2011

2.0 stars 12/3/2015 by S2011
by S2011

I have always used Windex and growing up so have my parents, but lately the mirrors have a cloudiness to them. I though it was because I bought the Ammonia-Free, so then I also bought the Original with Ammonia and it still leaves my mirrors cloudy. Not happy when I am cleaning my house before I have a open house in a few hours.

S2011
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Something is wrong
11/12/2015

Customer review by nap

1.0 stars 11/12/2015 by nap
by nap

I am 67 years old and windex is what I have always used as did my mother. I was so disappointed with the original windex. It left cloudy windows and did not smell like the original. I thought maybe you had changed the formula. I have since found that other woman have the same issues of cloudy windows. Was there an issue or is this what the product will continue to be? I do not want to say goodbye. Thank you

nap
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Use newspaper not paper towels to clean glass
11/15/2015

Customer review by Margo

3.0 stars 11/15/2015 by Margo
by Margo

I've been using windex for years and pleased with results. However, in more recent years the product left my windows with a cloudy film. Then I read that paper towels were the culprit. I now use newspaper and my windows are clear. It should be noted on the bottle not to use paper towels.

Margo
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Windex Advanced
10/19/2015

Customer review by everright

1.0 stars 10/19/2015 by everright
by everright

This is the most useless product that Johnson Company ever produced. My dog licking on the surfaces will get things cleaner. Not only will it not clean, it streaks and does not clean at all. It is the biggest mistake that I have ever purchased.

everright
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Product
6/7/2012

Customer review by Wallie89

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Wallie89
by Wallie89

I have used Windex for many, many years. Shines my toaster, cleans my mirrors and windows, cleans counter tops, etc and leaves a clean good scent. And Walmart rocks with their free home shipping - order on Sunday, its here on Wednesday morning.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallie89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Associate
11/12/2015

Customer review by Shirl

5.0 stars 11/12/2015 by Shirl
by Shirl

Great product. I love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
9/2/2015

Customer review by Pripod

2.0 stars 9/2/2015 by Pripod
by Pripod

I have used the Windex glass cleaner for years and year on various surfaces such as mirrors, windows and glass top dining table. But this time when I bought it, it is doing nothing but leaving streaks. My dining table looks dirty no matter how much I clean it and it is not making sense to me. Has something about the product changed? or is it the particular bottle? This was my go to and now I am having to go research other products. so disappointed

Pripod
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This Product needs improvement.
9/19/2015

Customer review by Freckles55

1.0 stars 9/19/2015 by Freckles55
by Freckles55

Not sure what has happen to this Product, Leaves a scummy residue after glass has bee wiped.

Freckles55
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Leaves streaks
9/12/2015

Customer review by Mohan

1.0 stars 9/12/2015 by Mohan
by Mohan

I have to agree with Mel. Used to be a great product. I am curious as to what the changes were that SC Johnson made to the product, that Heather refers to.

Mohan
New Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
not what it used to be
9/12/2015

Customer review by rick

1.0 stars 9/12/2015 by rick
by rick

it leaves streaks bad . i used windsheild washer fluid in spray bottle to clean off windex. now clean!

rick
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Windex /Multisurface with Vinegar
7/26/2013

Customer review by Cookei26

1.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Cookei26
by Cookei26

I have been using the Windex/Multisurface with vinegar for years and have always had very good results. I went looking for another bottle when I ran out and noticed that the packaging has changed. I purchased a bottle and also noticed another thing, the quality has changed as well. When I used it on my mirrors they were all smudged. I did not get that usual streak free shine that I usually get with this particular product. I have enjoyed using your Windex/Multisurface, vinegar product in the past and have always passed over the less expensive brands to purchase this particular product because I knew it's quality. If this is the product that you will be producing, I will no longer be a consumer. I understand that you have to find ways to keep things cost effective for your company as well as the consumers,but please maintain your "quality".

Cookei26
Memphis, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Works better than the rest
10/5/2015

Customer review by Sandi

5.0 stars 10/5/2015 by Sandi
by Sandi

I have tried all the others and always come back to Windex. I have even mixed my own because my friends have told me how good their home made kinds have worked. None of them have come close to good old Windex. My Sun Room has sixteen 6 ft. windows and we have a propane fireplace. It even takes the film off the glass.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Marty
10/7/2015

Customer review by Marty

5.0 stars 10/7/2015 by Marty
by Marty

I would never use anything else on my glass, Windows, or mirrors. My results are always the same. Great helper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
no longer a good glass cleaner
8/18/2015

Customer review by Mel

1.0 stars 8/18/2015 by Mel
by Mel

Windex used to be the best but whatever they have done to the formula has now made it horrible. It leaves a film on all the windows, mirrors, and glass table tops. What happened? Waste of my money. Will not buy and do not recommend.

Mel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The "Original" Windex Glass Cleaner...It REALLY does do it all!
4/24/2013

Customer review by Wen

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Wen
by Wen

I occasionally fry food in my home but have unfortunately not yet conquered heating the oil correctly without it "popping" sending splatters all over my stove as well as the ceramic tiles behind it, the wooden cupboards above it, the refrigerator next to it and the surrounding walls and ceiling. In the past I have tried every "grease fighting" product I've seen advertised.They have ALL fallen short! Tonight is the LAST time I grab my Windex bottle as a "last" result! It has time and time again proven to be the ONLY cleaning product that actually works on dissolving and cutting through grease spots! Funny thing is though, I've never even tried any of the "new" Windex products,....the Original Glass Cleaner does the job all on it's own! I'm sold and will never spend another penny on any other "grease fighting" product!

Wen
La Porte, IN 46350, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
It last a long time.
10/5/2015

Customer review by rhonda

5.0 stars 10/5/2015 by rhonda
by rhonda

Nothing like the real thing love windex

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rhonda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 288 total reviews
1-20 of 288 reviews