Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 333 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

333 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

333 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
225
4 stars
38
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 stars
48
1-20 of 321 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 321 total reviews
1-20 of 321 reviews
Cloudy streaks
1/28/2017

Customer review by speedy

2.0 stars 1/28/2017 by speedy
by speedy

Maybe i am picky but after cleaning i see a film and cloudy streaky result. I have used this product for many years and don't want to change if i don't have to. Mirrors and windows used to look like new but not lately.

speedy
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
New "original formula" is disappointing to say the least.
2/1/2015

Customer review by Mountainman821

3.0 stars 2/1/2015 by Mountainman821
by Mountainman821

I'm 64. I've used Windex since the early 1960s. Original Windex with Ammonia D (for "distinguished") in the aerosol can was an outstanding product. Since then, Windex has been letting me down. I recently cleaned the inside of my car windshield and I had to do it three times to get what I thought was a "streak-free shine." It looked good UNTIL I drove into the sun. WOW! The windshield, according to my wife, looks even worse than before I "cleaned" it. Not only is it extremely streaky, it is covered with large hazy patches. I will have to try and clean it again. I also cleaned some mirrors around the house. They look pretty good close up. But from across the room, they are all quite streaky. I am sad that the fine product I grew up with has become just another average window cleaner. I will now try to find a new product that will do what I was hopeful your new "original formula" would do but did not. After more than 50 years, I bid you farewell.

Mountainman821
Florissant, CO 80816, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not the original
11/2/2016

Customer review by campingramps

1.0 stars 11/2/2016 by campingramps
by campingramps

I remember years ago that Windex used to be the go to product for clean car windows. Spray it on and wipe it off with no streaks. Not anymore. I don't know what you changed but I spent 15 minutes trying to clean my car windows and they are still streaked. It is so bad that I have to be careful driving tonight because the streaking causes so much glare. I will find something else tomorrow. You need to go back to the formula you had 25 years ago which worked as well as your commercials state now. I have tried some of the other Windex products and they are worse. Forget profits for once and make a quality product again!

Comment from - 11/30/2016

Sorry for the inconvenience – Windex® Original Glass Cleaner should deliver the same streak-free shine you’ve trusted all these years. We’d welcome the chance to learn more about your latest experience and invite you to call 1-800-558-5252. You can reach us weekdays from 8 AM to 6 PM (CST). Please mention reference number: 018684070A

campingramps
Garner, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Streaks and Film
10/15/2016

Customer review by Lynn S.

1.0 stars 10/15/2016 by Lynn S.
by Lynn S.

This product is no where near working successfully in cleaning windows. To my disappointment the home remedies that I had used before trying this worked 100% better. No matter how I approach the cleaning, it just leaves streaks and film. In years past Windex was used and it seemed to have worked better than the current bottle. Biggest disappointment is that I just bought a one gallon refill!

Comment from - 11/30/2016

Sorry for the disappointment, Lynn. Windex® Original Glass Cleaner should provide the same streak-free shine you’ve received in the past. However, be sure to use a lint-free cloth, newspaper or an untreated paper towel – extra absorbent paper towels or cloths laundered in fabric softener can leave a film on the surface. So we can ensure you receive full value from your latest purchase, please call 1-800-558-5252 (weekdays 8AM to 6PM CST) and provide reference number: 018684074A. You can also reach out via email at https://contact.scjbrands.com/en-us.

Lynn S.
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Was this product changed in the last year or so?
7/3/2016

Customer review by Disgusted Customer

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Disgusted Customer
by Disgusted Customer

I've used this product for many years and was very happy with it. But in the last year I find it streaks and leaves a dull finish. At first I thought maybe it had froze during shipment, but then I repurchased it several times and it still not the same has it use to be. AND don't tell me I'm using it wrong or it's the operator because it is NOT. I've also read the reviews and I'm not the only one complaining about this product. I gave it a very low rating because I KNOW it use to be a good product. Something has changed whether it's the way it's produced or the ingredients. But I will not be purchasing any more of this. I can do better with vinegar and water and it's not has costly and I don't have to waste time trying to get it to not streak or dull up within a day or two..

Comment from - 7/12/2016

Your loyalty over the years means a lot – and I'm sorry to learn about your experience with Windex® Original Glass Cleaner. Each bottle is expected to provide the results you've come to know, so we hope you'll give us a chance to restore your trust and confidence. When you have a chance to chat, please give us a call at 1-800-558-5566, weekdays from 8 AM to 6 PM (CST). And be sure to provide reference number: 018561020A.

Disgusted Customer
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Streaks, streaks, and smears, smears!!
9/13/2016

Customer review by Chris

1.0 stars 9/13/2016 by Chris
by Chris

Not the product I remember using for years. Interesting to read several review saying the same things, and you have answered so kindly, but never given answer. Have you changed the formula? If not, why is it streaking and smearing when it never used to. For years we used Windex and a clean paper towel to clean the polyester surfaces on fine grand pianos... this is not the same!!

Chris
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Windex /Multisurface with Vinegar
7/26/2013

Customer review by Cookei26

1.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Cookei26
by Cookei26

I have been using the Windex/Multisurface with vinegar for years and have always had very good results. I went looking for another bottle when I ran out and noticed that the packaging has changed. I purchased a bottle and also noticed another thing, the quality has changed as well. When I used it on my mirrors they were all smudged. I did not get that usual streak free shine that I usually get with this particular product. I have enjoyed using your Windex/Multisurface, vinegar product in the past and have always passed over the less expensive brands to purchase this particular product because I knew it's quality. If this is the product that you will be producing, I will no longer be a consumer. I understand that you have to find ways to keep things cost effective for your company as well as the consumers,but please maintain your "quality".

Cookei26
Memphis, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The "Original" Windex Glass Cleaner...It REALLY does do it all!
4/24/2013

Customer review by Wen

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Wen
by Wen

I occasionally fry food in my home but have unfortunately not yet conquered heating the oil correctly without it "popping" sending splatters all over my stove as well as the ceramic tiles behind it, the wooden cupboards above it, the refrigerator next to it and the surrounding walls and ceiling. In the past I have tried every "grease fighting" product I've seen advertised.They have ALL fallen short! Tonight is the LAST time I grab my Windex bottle as a "last" result! It has time and time again proven to be the ONLY cleaning product that actually works on dissolving and cutting through grease spots! Funny thing is though, I've never even tried any of the "new" Windex products,....the Original Glass Cleaner does the job all on it's own! I'm sold and will never spend another penny on any other "grease fighting" product!

Wen
La Porte, IN 46350, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very poor product, but was my go-to for years
7/29/2016

Customer review by Doug

1.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Doug
by Doug

I just tried to clean normal interior film off the windshield of my wife's car. The result was some residual film after I tried to use this product twice. Based upon recent experience with Windex Original on other cars I own with the same poor results, I'm done using this product. This has been my go-to for years, but I give up! I don't care about cost, I'll find something that works the way Windex did in the past and I'll buy it.

Comment from - 8/10/2016

We're sorry to hear this, Doug. When using an untreated paper towel, newspaper, or lint-free cotton cloth, Windex® Original Glass Cleaner should offer the same great results you've come to know over the years. Your trust matters to us, and we hope you'll give us a chance to restore your confidence by calling 1-800-558-5252 – weekdays from 8 AM to 6 PM CST. You can also connect with us directly by email: http://bit.ly/1MCe4EQ. And please mention reference number: 018581421A.

Doug
White Lake Charter Township, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Product has changed in past couple of years
7/27/2016

Customer review by streaky

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by streaky
by streaky

I have been using Windex original consistently for the past 40 years. It did provide the performance I came to expect and rely on up until the past year or two. It now serves as nothing but frustration as it does not produce a streak free finish on glass or mirrors anymore. It seems to have lost its grease cutting ability and just provides endless streaking. I will be seeking other alternatives.

Comment from - 8/10/2016

Windex® Original Glass Cleaner is designed to provide the beautiful streak-free shine you've come to know over the years – and I'm sorry this hasn't been your experience. Your trust is so important to us, and we hope to learn more to further assist. When you're free to chat, please give us a call at 1-800-558-5566 (and mention reference number: 018580203A). You can reach us weekdays from 8 AM to 6 PM (CST), or by email anytime: http://bit.ly/1MCe4EQ.

streaky
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Using Windex glass cleaner at a care facility
8/6/2016

Customer review by SorceressMickey27

4.0 stars 8/6/2016 by SorceressMickey27
by SorceressMickey27

I use this product a lot at a care facility somewhere in California, because it works really well. I take turns using it with my friends. Thumbs up for volunteers everywhere.

SorceressMickey27
San Francisco, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Windex is the best!
1/14/2014

Customer review by Corvette C7 Z51

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Corvette C7 Z51
by Corvette C7 Z51

I have used Windex for years ,,,,, (decades) and it is the very best. In my view, one of the toughest jobs for any cleaner is getting car windows really clear and streak free. A film develops from multiple sources, .... some say from evaporating chemicals in the fabrics and plastics... who knows? it seems to comes from nowhere. I have had great success when preparing windows for a car show using clean, new, white T-shirts and Windex. I soak the first one with Windex until almost dripping and go over every square inch thoroughly. Then a second new, clean T-shirt to dry and polish. Great success! Never use T-shirts, micro fiber cloths etc. that have been previously used with wax. The wax never completely washes out and ruins the window cleaning job.

Corvette C7 Z51
The Heart of Dixie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So? Did you change the formula?
6/20/2016

Customer review by KT

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by KT
by KT

Lots of people have posed that same question in their reviews. Is there no answer forthcoming? I've used Windex for years and never had such a problem with streaky windows as I do now. I cleaned one window 3 times today with poor results. Did you change the formula? If so, I suggest you listen to your loyal customers and change it back PDQ!

Comment from - 6/27/2016

Windex® Original Glass Cleaner should provide the same streak-free shine you've come to expect in the past. Your loyalty means the world to us, and we hope you'll give us a chance to restore your trust and confidence. When you have a chance, please give us a call at 1-800-558-5252 (Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 6 PM CST). And be sure to mention reference number: 018547684A.

KT
BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
new sprayer breaks after a couple squeezes,
6/2/2014

Customer review by Firethemarketer

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Firethemarketer
by Firethemarketer

Twice now ever since they introduced the new sprayer bottle, after the very first couple quick squeezes the new flimsy squeezer snaps off, rendering the bottle useless.. these used to last forever and we would just buy bulk refills... is this some idea from some new guy hired to save money idea to make hem break easier so you buy more, oris it just shoddy design? I've purchased a noname glass cleaner sprayer (it was cheaper than buying a new empty sprayer bottle) and will refill with windex left overs, then continue buying no name glass cleaner.... who cares how good it cleans if the sprayer breaks instantly... i am sure some new marketing guy got a bonus and a pat on the back for saving a few cents on a inferior spray nozzle

Firethemarketer
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Windex Original no longer works
3/4/2016

Customer review by Rosie

1.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Rosie
by Rosie

I used Windex Original on my glass top kitchen table and all I could see was a smeary haze. I tried it two more times and it was still hazy. The forth time instead of a paper towel I used a clean cotton dish rag - still smears. I had been cleaning both top and undersides of the table. When I tried windex on a nearby window, it seemed to work fine. I wonder if the previous cleaner had left a residual? My husband who has more muscle is going to reclean the glass top & bottom. If microfiber cloth is required,you should put that on the label. I clean my table 3 or 4 times a day - I NEED SOMETHING THAT WORKS.

Comment from - 3/31/2016

Windex® Original Glass Cleaner is designed to provide a beautiful streak-free shine. And for best results, we recommend using it with untreated paper towels, newspaper or lint-free cotton cloths. So we can help further, please give us a call at 1-800-558-5252 and provide reference number: 017238816A. You can reach us Monday thru Friday from 8 AM to 6 PM (CST).

Rosie
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Windex Blue
6/7/2016

Customer review by Hopeless

3.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Hopeless
by Hopeless

I've always thought Windex Blue was the very best, however the last few times I've used it on my bathroom mirror it DOES streak. I'm very disappointed and have to go over it time and time again. It cleans it but definitely streaks it as well. Have you changed the ingredients? Any suggestions? Thanks!

Hopeless
Fresno, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Windex is now streaky
5/27/2016

Customer review by Huntress

1.0 stars 5/27/2016 by Huntress
by Huntress

Like many others I have been using Windex for years and have been happy with it. Recently, however, it seems to be leaving a streaky film. I use the same kind of lint free cloth as ever so I can only conclude the formula has changed. I note that others are reporting the same problem with the film. Has the formula changed?

Comment from - 7/25/2016

Your loyalty to Windex® Original Glass Cleaner means so much to us – thank you! Since you should expect the same great results you’ve come to know over the years, I encourage you visit our Australia "Contact Us" link directly at https://contact.scjbrands.com/en-au for further assistance.

Huntress
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great all around cleaner
6/16/2016

Customer review by Maid 2 Glimmer

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Maid 2 Glimmer
by Maid 2 Glimmer

At Maid 2 Glimmer we find that this is a great product all around the house. It even works great on painted surfaces like doors, trim and window sills.

Maid 2 Glimmer
Greensboro, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Windex is my favorite cleaner. I use it everywhere and on 99% things I touch.
11/9/2013

Customer review by murphy24

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by murphy24
by murphy24

In the past few years I had a mother, 3 brothers, that past away. I adopted a niece and a nephew, One of my biological kids got diagnosed with severe depression. On March 14 of this year I had a hearth attach. I work full time as a Microbiologist Scientist. One day at the grocery store I notice a Limited Edition of Windex. On the label it was printed "Windex" Happiness just a spray away! I got it immediately. Since then It has been my special friend every time I use it and when I use it, it makes me happy. I love my Windex happiness just a spray away. I need you to keep labeling Windex this way. I need my happiness to be just a spray away. I can't find any of them anymore.

murphy24
French Camp, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Something has changed in the formula!
5/11/2015

Customer review by Ken

1.0 stars 5/11/2015 by Ken
by Ken

We have been using Windex for years and re-selling it in our store. Inn the past 6 months though we have found that cleaning a window with new paper towels and this product leave a translucent film that makes it look like the window hasn't been cleaned in years. I have personally used it from different bottles and had the same lousy results. It is like there is no ammonia at all in the product and it can no longer cut through whatever is on the windows. We heat with propane during the winter and that may have put the film on the windows but they used to come clean with Windex easily. Now they look worse than when I started!

Ken
Lancaster, VA 22503, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 321 total reviews
1-20 of 321 reviews