Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 215 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
133
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
10
1-20 of 197 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews
Great outdoor toy!
7/9/2009

Customer review by RomanMom

5.0 stars 7/9/2009 by RomanMom
by RomanMom

i bought this online for my son third birthday. we have had the gator for a little over a month and use it almost daily. it was easy to assemble. the battery holds the charge very well and we easily get 2-hour ride on one charge. i also bought separately a horn for the gator and it was a great addition. i would highly recommend this toy to anybody with enough space for nice outdoor fun and to anyone with a truck-loving toddler. :)

Was this review helpful? (218) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RomanMom
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very pleased a year later
12/5/2010

Customer review by AandJ111

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by AandJ111
by AandJ111

Bought this gator for our girls (age 1 and 3) last Christmas and it has been a big hit. The girls (now 2 and 4) ride it all the time and have a blast. It has plenty of room, speed, and power. It does spin a little when there is no weight in the bed but this hasn't been a huge issue. We actually get a great workout keeping up with them riding around the neighborhood. Battery stays charged a rediculously long time and we have had no mechanical problems with it. We chose this over the Barbee Jeep for the girls because it is bigger and adjustable for them as they grow and are very glad we made this decision. This is actually the first product review I have ever done but we have been so impressed with this product I felt like it might help someone make a good decision for their kids this Christmas. Its a little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (130) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AandJ111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very strong ride on vehicle
8/18/2009

Customer review by mysonistheloveofmylife

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by mysonistheloveofmylife
by mysonistheloveofmylife

My godson had this same John Deere 4 years ago and it's still going strong. The tires have worn out from all his rough playing and so we just ordered him new rear tires. I got this same John Deere for my almost 3 year old son and he loves it. He drives it like a pro. I researched a lot before getting this one but no other ride on compares to the traction and strength of this one. It took a little over a week to get it through site to store but well worth the wait and I assembled it all by myself. It only took about 1 hour.

Was this review helpful? (122) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mysonistheloveofmylife
East Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!
7/7/2010

Customer review by gillniki

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by gillniki
by gillniki

I live on a farm with not an inch of concrete to be seen; I was skeptical about buying a battery powered ride on toy because I just didn't think one could handle the rough terrin of our yard, but low and behold after reading the reviews on the Gator I went ahead and got it. I could not be more amazed my 5 and 3 year olds drive this thing all over the place over grass through mud, up and down hills through tire ruts, everywhere it just keeps going. Also with the box in back a third child can ride on it too. I am very pleased that I took a chance!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (152) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gillniki
Fullerton, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
THE BEST
4/25/2011

Customer review by RichmondVA

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by RichmondVA
by RichmondVA

We bought the Gator for our oldest son when he was two. Now, 4.5 years later, he is still riding it along with his brother. We bought his brother, our youngest son, the F150 last year and the ole' Gator runs circles around it. We did have to put bolts in the rear wheels to help with traction (two summers ago), replaced the front tires this spring and we bought an additional battery b/c the original started to run out too quick (but it still works). All of these things are normal wear and tear b/c my two boys literally drive the wheels off of that little green machine. Also, the Ford is almost to small for my older son but the Gator still fits him comfortably. The Gator is awesome. I wouldnt suggest anything else and wish I had bought another one instead of the Ford.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RichmondVA
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
loves it!
10/20/2010

Customer review by DMP2007

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by DMP2007
by DMP2007

My 3 year old son received this as a birthday gift....he ABSOLUTLEY loves it....we live in the country and he as plenty of room to ride it. I was worried it wouldn't "go" as well in the grass and on rougher terrain but it does just fine....he spends hours on it and we have yet to have a problem with the battery getting weak on us....over all BEST $300 spent :)

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMP2007
DAYTON, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So much fun!
8/11/2009

Customer review by our4sons

5.0 stars 8/11/2009 by our4sons
by our4sons

We bought this for our sons 3rd birthday and he absolutely loves it. I runs very well on grass with small hills and gravel as well. Even wet grass is no problem. The battery last a long time (to long sometimes lol) and it seems to be very sturdy. Our son has used it every day for over a month with no problems and it only took him a few minutes to figure out how to drive it, even in reverse. The only problem is that our 18 month old will not ride with our 3 yr old because it is very hard for him to hold on and not fall out when 3 yr old turns. The seat seems slippery. It probably doesn't help that 3yr old is a wild driver lol.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
our4sons
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Son still rides this after 5 years!
11/17/2009

Customer review by mommytutukids

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by mommytutukids
by mommytutukids

My son has had this for 5 years. We got it for him when he was 3 and he still rides it at 8 years old! I can say though that after about 2 or 3 years the battery stopped holding a good charge. Now he can only ride a few minutes before it starts dying. Still it is a great toy. It is a bit pricey though. I think it should be about $200. When we bought it it was almost $400. I see the price has come down a bit but I still think it should be even less. He has gotten a lot of use out of it though. We live in Michigan though so it only gets used in the summer. In the summer he rides it almost every day though. Get this and your kid will love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommytutukids
bay city mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product, but....
1/3/2010

Customer review by BlessedMomTo2

1.0 stars 1/3/2010 by BlessedMomTo2
by BlessedMomTo2

The Gator is a great product for the money, but the age of 3-8 is incorrect. My son is 5 and his knees hit the dash and steering wheel. He is a bigger 5, but I can't imagine this being used by a 8 year old. We had to return the Gator and get the Yahama Grizzly Four Wheeler.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlessedMomTo2
Murrayville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Your child WONT fit!! If he is more than 42" tall!
1/5/2011

Customer review by TigerFanUSA

4.0 stars 1/5/2011 by TigerFanUSA
by TigerFanUSA

This is a really cool truck and the kids will love it....IF they can fit in it!! My son is a 4-yr-old large little boy. He's 80lbs and is 48" tall. This truck looks really big in the box and it is a larger version of the riding trucks. My son fell in love with it when he saw it and helped put all the stickers on it (1 hour+). HOWEVER, if you don't want your child to be extremely disappointed then make sure his knees can fit into the very small leg compartment where the accelerator pedal is. Also, if he/she has any size to them, they will "crowd" the shifter so much, they won't be able to go forwards and backwards easily which should be a part of the fun driving this toy. So, when you purchase it, don't go by the age of your child, (which they say an 8+ can fit in), go by your child's size. It seems like an awesome toy! But the experience of a Christmas or birthday morning ruined by the letdown of not fitting into this awesome looking vehicle is not an experience you will want again. Unlike clothes, they don't make the XXL toys for larger size kids. We're gonna spend a little more and give the Peg Perego Polaris Twin Ride-On. Yes, it's bigger, but at least when he grows even a little, it'll still fit him.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TigerFanUSA
Farmerville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Gator purchased Oct 2010
10/21/2010

Customer review by miced

4.0 stars 10/21/2010 by miced
by miced

Purchased for daughter's 7 yr old b-day. Overall, strong quality and she loves the car. Pros: can handle terrain, somewhat fast in 2nd gear (could keep in 1st gear to keep slower;even has a child proof lock you can screw in to keep in 1st gear.She loves the bed-puts her stuffed animals in and gives them a ride. Cons:Be very aware of your kids leg size as I beleive in about a year she will out grow this car and she is very petite, battery life should be revamped for about an hour longer(now can go about 2 hrs);Also, directions on installation are 'pictures only'- NO words and can be very confusing- I would Highly recommend having the store put it together..one good thing about this car compared to others is the doors are cut open so it makes for more leg room..we looked at others but those with doors are very confined for very smaller children & finally the price is high but after reviewing all other cars we felt the extra money was worth it

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miced
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5 yr old's knees is at dashboard.
1/5/2011

Customer review by SUEP2

3.0 stars 1/5/2011 by SUEP2
by SUEP2

My grandson got this for Christmas & it was put together right. The seat is as far back as possible. His knees are bent up to the dash board & no room to adjust his legs. He is small for 5 (43lbs. 46ins). The product says it goes up to a 7yr old. I can't see how that can be since he barley fits in. Anyone have any suggestions??

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SUEP2
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
He LOVES it!
11/11/2009

Customer review by LoveToSpoilHim2

5.0 stars 11/11/2009 by LoveToSpoilHim2
by LoveToSpoilHim2

We bought this for our Grandson's 3rd birthday. He has had it over 8 months. We could not be happier with it. He has used it almost everyday, he even drove it last March in the snow. He uses it to haul his tools to the backyard, gets water and then drives to the front of the house to water the flowers, he "drives" his friends home. It still looks brand new and is in perfect condition. Of course he is forever wiping it down and cleaning it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToSpoilHim2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
John Deere
8/7/2010

Customer review by nanastwoboys

4.0 stars 8/7/2010 by nanastwoboys
by nanastwoboys

The instruction of the product took a little longer than expected but it was worth the expression of our grandbaby's face when he saw it and wanted to ride it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanastwoboys
Ponchatoula, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
my daughter loves it..
8/16/2009

Customer review by SunshineMama1987

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by SunshineMama1987
by SunshineMama1987

its pretty big in its box, you have to have a truck or all the space in the back of your SUV. lol but its pretty sturdy, and drives for a long time, between her and the neighbor kids they are constantly playing with it till the battery's close to being dead. I haven't had any problems with it yet, but Ive only had it a couple months, but still the kids have rammed it into the curb a tree, and its survived so far :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineMama1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6 years later...
11/22/2009

Customer review by PapawsMan

5.0 stars 11/22/2009 by PapawsMan
by PapawsMan

My grandson got his gator for Christmas when he was 3 years old. He is now 9 and I have two other grandkids. They all still get a ton of enjoyment from the gator. We also love to take it camping with us and the grandkids use it to help do yard work. It was definitely an investment worth making!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapawsMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Gator Powerwheels
11/17/2009

Customer review by rmputerbaugh

4.0 stars 11/17/2009 by rmputerbaugh
by rmputerbaugh

We purchased this item for our son for his 3rd bday. He LOVES it!! The only drawback for me is the tires have very little traction...cannot pull even small hills & gets stuck on little objects (walnuts). We had the F150 & my son drove all over the place. It was 1/2 the price & way better performance. This product is still good, but should not be priced so high.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rmputerbaugh
Pittsfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/22/2011

Customer review by Seccia

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Seccia
by Seccia

My almost 4 year old loves this! I have been doing the research for the pricing for quite some time now. Walmart has the best price out there! I did ship to store and it was perfect! My son loves to ride this and would highly reccomend this!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seccia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
JD Gator
11/19/2009

Customer review by wonderfulaunt

3.0 stars 11/19/2009 by wonderfulaunt
by wonderfulaunt

Order online for my nephews birthday, got it and put together and back wheel on left side would not move.. so i had to take back and now i have to get another one. needless to say my 4 year old nephew was disappointed. I'm hoping my next one will run completely with no problems

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wonderfulaunt
West Helena, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/3/2011

Customer review by kimdup66

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by kimdup66
by kimdup66

Excellent product. I assembled it myself in less than 2 hours. The decals were a bit tricky but the mechanical part was a snap, even for an inexperienced single mother, like me !! Both my 7 and 5 yr olds, ride together and get plenty of speed and lengthy rides without quarreling over "who's turn is it???" The all terrain wheels don't get stuck nor tip over in our SW Louisiana, swamp yard, and the 12V battery,when charged fully from the beginning provides 20+ hours of riding enjoyment. It was worth every dime.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kimdup66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews