Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 26 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great Product except for one thing!
6/27/2009

Customer review by RDoublet

5.0 stars 6/27/2009 by RDoublet
by RDoublet

This power inverter by Cobra is awsome it provided enough power to run my daughter's Playstation, and a dvd player with monitor. The Cobra 800watt inverter never got hot and let me tell you she had it on playing the entire drive which was about 900miles striaght!! this product has alot of good features its a turn on and forget system it will automaticaly turn off if too hot or overload etc!! It even lets you know when your battery is low with an alarm! There's one thing that made me mad! I was about to go on my trip and realized that it dont come with the car cigarette lighter plug!! If you read the discription it says cigarette lighter plug!! Very confusing cuz when u get it it only has a direct connect aligator clips to a D/C battery! When I re-read the discription theres the word "included" next to the direct connect cables words, but not next the the words cigarette lighter plug! so why even include it in the darn discription!!!???, But no worries dont let this stop you from getting the Cobra 800watt cuz all you have to do is go down to your local Radio Shack and buy a cigarette lighter plug with bare wires for under 10bucks!, and hook it up to the back of the Cobra 800 with its convenient screw connections! and wala its a winner works great. I've shopped around for a good inverter that's not expensive and comes with a lot of power and for the bang for buck the Cobra 800watt from wal-mart.com was the best deal!! there's others out there way more expensive with no where near the power of this Cobra 800watt! This unit is so versitile I read where a guy used it to power his shed with solar power and wind turbines hooked to it!! how awsome is that! well good luck hope this helped you make a decision.

Was this review helpful? (90) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RDoublet
Des Allemands, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Just what the doctor needed
8/10/2009

Customer review by snuffy01

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by snuffy01
by snuffy01

This unit is being used in a 25 ft. Motor home and with 2 deep cycle batteries, I can run my TV, DVD player, vacuum cleaner, fan, coffee pot and computer all at the same time. I only have to turn on my generator for about 40 minutes every other day (to recharge my batteries) or when I want to use my microwave oven (1400 watts). This is the right product for the right price. Happy RVing!

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snuffy01
Los Banos, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beware
6/21/2010

Customer review by Rich2481

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Rich2481
by Rich2481

People using this need to beware, there is no plug for the Cigerette lighter, BECAUSE, it draws too much current for that ( unless you are charging a cell phone) a laptop draws about 2.5 amps current, this inverter can put out 3.5 amps, trouble is you need to hook it up to your battery directly with 8 gauge or lower ( thicker wire ). I have 8 gauge hooked to a battery and try running a 600 watt, 4 cup coffee maker and the inverter sings, I had to start my van in order to calm it down. so if you plan on running a coffee maker, toaster, appliances with alot of current draw, save your money and buy a 2000 watt inverter. This one handles laptop and cell phone chargers easily.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rich2481
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not for use inside a car
10/12/2013

Customer review by AATex

3.0 stars 10/12/2013 by AATex
by AATex

Sorry for the weird review. I'm sure this product works well, but I was looking for something that would work INSIDE my car, ideally through the cigarette plug. It doesn't and I didn't get that description. Save your negative comments. I'm sure it was my fault. So I'm returning this one and switching it out for the 400 watt which does have the cigarette plug. I hope this helps others.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AATex
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter
2/22/2010

Customer review by kgripp

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by kgripp
by kgripp

I love this. It's so quiet. I had a 600 watt one that I loaned to a friend and he ruined it. So I knew what I wanted. This one is more quiet than the 600 and it fits under the seat of my car. I use it to run my laptop while on the road. My only thing about this one is it didn't come with the connectors to run off my Cigarette lighter plug but I just use the one from my other inverter. Kind of strange because in the description it says it comes with one butt it lies :)

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kgripp
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very good !!
7/5/2012

Customer review by BKH00

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by BKH00
by BKH00

I needed it to run a mobile public-address audio system for a procession with professional Mackie equipment. I knew that the power requirement will be met very well by this inverter, but I had a concern that this being a modified sine wave (as opposed to real sine wave) inverter, it might introduce too much harmonics into the audio equipment that would result in a loud hum. However, when I used it, there was no hum. I guess it was also due to the good quality of the audio equipment itself. The only reason I don't give it a 5-star is that I would have liked to see some features like reverse-polarity protection, LCD display with battery voltage etc., current power draw etc., but I would really give it a 4 1/2 star if that was possible.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BKH00
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Another source of backup power
5/25/2011

Customer review by Mike541

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Mike541
by Mike541

I don't plan on using the inverter very often. However, if I am on generator power and gas is getting low this will be nice to recharge some items from my truck. Think in terms of a multi-layered approach in an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike541
Port Clinton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Misleading product information
7/12/2010

Customer review by AZ2NV

2.0 stars 7/12/2010 by AZ2NV
by AZ2NV

The Walmart product information specifically states that this unit comes with a "Cigarette lighter plug"............ It does NOT !!!! nor is one available as an additionional accessory. This was the main reason I bought this unit...I was led to believe that the unit came with a "Cigarette lighter plug" AND direct-to-battery cables. The unit is good, however Walmart should correct their mistake.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZ2NV
Phoenix,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
excellent product
5/24/2012

Customer review by Joahu11

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by Joahu11
by Joahu11

The inverter shipped very fast, I did not expect it to arrive as soon as it has arrived. It works flawlessly. I am using it to run my DVD and CD players from battery for audiophile purposes. The sound improves tremendously compared to using the wall AC outlet. This is not a figment of the imagination: the tray opens faster, the CD loads faster, the CD LEDs shine brighter. Also tested the TV set: it works and the colors are stunning yet the motion is fuzzier compared to wall AC. However, do not run your tube amp from it, the HV transformers do not like the modified sine wave, and they will buzz like crazy. Will make you will think your amp is mechanically broken. (Although it will not harm the amp.) Overall, five stars. And yes - this inverter ships to Hawaii! I had to try checking out the cart with 4 different inverters until I found one that ships here.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joahu11
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Efficient Unit
7/5/2010

Customer review by solarpowerguy

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by solarpowerguy
by solarpowerguy

In low wattage use, this unit is very efficient. I have only used this unit for about a month to run my internet modem, wifi hub, and laptop. The unit has been connected to a ham radio power source that shows wattage powered by a bank of 160 amp hour ni-cad cells. The ni-cad cells vary to about 31 volts, but the power source steps the voltage down to a constant 13.5 volts. The three loads run at about 50 watts, including the inverter. The plugs on the loads are rated to a total of about 50 watts, so the inverter load is very low. It also runs silently at this load level. The unit's cooling fan doesn't need to run at all. We'll see about the durability of the unit over time, but so far it has enabled me to keep my internet connection on all night and deserves a thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solarpowerguy
Hawaii County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works. Good on inductive loads (motors, drills)
11/17/2012

Customer review by RADIOCITY

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by RADIOCITY
by RADIOCITY

Works where others fail. Inductive loads seem to be a problem for a lot of inverters, but not for this one. It does what it has to do, at a reasonable price. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RADIOCITY
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product at a reasonable price!
9/16/2012

Customer review by syko4sc

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by syko4sc
by syko4sc

This inverter does everything that I want it to do. During football season, we like to attend our home team's games with a few "extras". This inverter allows me to run a 26" flat screen t.v. off of a small battery pack, and then a deep cycle battery for a total of about 6 hours of tailgating! I've also run a small (12"or so) fan from this inverter at the same time as the t.v.! While alot of others are choking on the fumes of their generators, we get compliments about "going green" and it's mostly because of this little workhorse! The cooling fan is very quiet and it's very easy to use. I've also used it when camping, and think there will be many other uses for it in the future. If you are looking for an inexpensive, dependable inverter, this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
syko4sc
Bakersfield, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good value
1/1/2014

Customer review by GaryaT

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by GaryaT
by GaryaT

I agree with others that the lack of attachment to the lighter outlet will reduce my use. I intend on determining how best to run a cable inside my truck cab for access to the power outlet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaryaT
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I needed..
1/28/2013

Customer review by BigTiger1

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by BigTiger1
by BigTiger1

Does what was expected to run my small air compressor, lights, and tools as needed when working on my boat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigTiger1
Port Charlotte, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/18/2013

Customer review by Jeffro121073

4.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Jeffro121073
by Jeffro121073

This inverter works very well and as expected. The only thing that I would have liked to be different was it only came with cables that would not allow you to permanently install the inverter in your vehicle. A quick trip to Home Depot and I had the wire and connectors to install in my truck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeffro121073
Canton GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product over makes an annoying sound
7/11/2010

Customer review by RealDealer123

1.0 stars 7/11/2010 by RealDealer123
by RealDealer123

I only had ran this product for a few minutes and it made a high pitch sound which is really annoying because it doesnt go away and i dont know what the cause if this is because the only thing i am powering on is my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealDealer123
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
everything i hoped for
12/9/2009

Customer review by godzirra

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by godzirra
by godzirra

does every thing it says it can i mainly use it to charge phones and run my dremel but since its about christmas i run christmas lights on it

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
godzirra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/6/2011

Customer review by frabill

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by frabill
by frabill

I have connected to a 12V battery with the clips and plugged in a boom box and It worked fine. I will try to run my drill off it, but the battery must have a good charge in it first. Good value, good price. This does not come with a cig lighter plug.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frabill
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Will be good for most applications.
6/2/2014

Customer review by Kranky2014

4.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Kranky2014
by Kranky2014

Appears well made and complete with everything necessary for a quick and easy set-up. Only drawback is that it is not rated to run at the full 800 watts for any lenght of time. If you need a full 800 watts for an extended period of time, like a long car trip, get a larger capacity Inverter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kranky2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs cig. adapter
5/11/2013

Customer review by citizensafo

3.0 stars 5/11/2013 by citizensafo
by citizensafo

I was expecting to also get an adapter to run this device off of the cigarette lighter but I guess this much wattage requires direct link to 12 v. source.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
citizensafo
Mount ?shasta , Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews