Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 35 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 28 reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Great Product except for one thing!
6/27/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This power inverter by Cobra is awsome it provided enough power to run my daughter's Playstation, and a dvd player with monitor. The Cobra 800watt inverter never got hot and let me tell you she had it on playing the entire drive which was about 900miles striaght!! this product has alot of good features its a turn on and forget system it will automaticaly turn off if too hot or overload etc!! It even lets you know when your battery is low with an alarm! There's one thing that made me mad! I was about to go on my trip and realized that it dont come with the car cigarette lighter plug!! If you read the discription it says cigarette lighter plug!! Very confusing cuz when u get it it only has a direct connect aligator clips to a D/C battery! When I re-read the discription theres the word "included" next to the direct connect cables words, but not next the the words cigarette lighter plug! so why even include it in the darn discription!!!???, But no worries dont let this stop you from getting the Cobra 800watt cuz all you have to do is go down to your local Radio Shack and buy a cigarette lighter plug with bare wires for under 10bucks!, and hook it up to the back of the Cobra 800 with its convenient screw connections! and wala its a winner works great. I've shopped around for a good inverter that's not expensive and comes with a lot of power and for the bang for buck the Cobra 800watt from wal-mart.com was the best deal!! there's others out there way more expensive with no where near the power of this Cobra 800watt! This unit is so versitile I read where a guy used it to power his shed with solar power and wind turbines hooked to it!! how awsome is that! well good luck hope this helped you make a decision.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (101)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beware
6/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
People using this need to beware, there is no plug for the Cigerette lighter, BECAUSE, it draws too much current for that ( unless you are charging a cell phone) a laptop draws about 2.5 amps current, this inverter can put out 3.5 amps, trouble is you need to hook it up to your battery directly with 8 gauge or lower ( thicker wire ). I have 8 gauge hooked to a battery and try running a 600 watt, 4 cup coffee maker and the inverter sings, I had to start my van in order to calm it down. so if you plan on running a coffee maker, toaster, appliances with alot of current draw, save your money and buy a 2000 watt inverter. This one handles laptop and cell phone chargers easily.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what the doctor needed
8/10/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This unit is being used in a 25 ft. Motor home and with 2 deep cycle batteries, I can run my TV, DVD player, vacuum cleaner, fan, coffee pot and computer all at the same time. I only have to turn on my generator for about 40 minutes every other day (to recharge my batteries) or when I want to use my microwave oven (1400 watts). This is the right product for the right price. Happy RVing!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good !!
7/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed it to run a mobile public-address audio system for a procession with professional Mackie equipment. I knew that the power requirement will be met very well by this inverter, but I had a concern that this being a modified sine wave (as opposed to real sine wave) inverter, it might introduce too much harmonics into the audio equipment that would result in a loud hum. However, when I used it, there was no hum. I guess it was also due to the good quality of the audio equipment itself. The only reason I don't give it a 5-star is that I would have liked to see some features like reverse-polarity protection, LCD display with battery voltage etc., current power draw etc., but I would really give it a 4 1/2 star if that was possible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not for use inside a car
10/12/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Sorry for the weird review. I'm sure this product works well, but I was looking for something that would work INSIDE my car, ideally through the cigarette plug. It doesn't and I didn't get that description. Save your negative comments. I'm sure it was my fault. So I'm returning this one and switching it out for the 400 watt which does have the cigarette plug. I hope this helps others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter
2/22/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this. It's so quiet. I had a 600 watt one that I loaned to a friend and he ruined it. So I knew what I wanted. This one is more quiet than the 600 and it fits under the seat of my car. I use it to run my laptop while on the road. My only thing about this one is it didn't come with the connectors to run off my Cigarette lighter plug but I just use the one from my other inverter. Kind of strange because in the description it says it comes with one butt it lies :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Efficient Unit
7/5/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In low wattage use, this unit is very efficient. I have only used this unit for about a month to run my internet modem, wifi hub, and laptop. The unit has been connected to a ham radio power source that shows wattage powered by a bank of 160 amp hour ni-cad cells. The ni-cad cells vary to about 31 volts, but the power source steps the voltage down to a constant 13.5 volts. The three loads run at about 50 watts, including the inverter. The plugs on the loads are rated to a total of about 50 watts, so the inverter load is very low. It also runs silently at this load level. The unit's cooling fan doesn't need to run at all. We'll see about the durability of the unit over time, but so far it has enabled me to keep my internet connection on all night and deserves a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent product
5/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The inverter shipped very fast, I did not expect it to arrive as soon as it has arrived. It works flawlessly. I am using it to run my DVD and CD players from battery for audiophile purposes. The sound improves tremendously compared to using the wall AC outlet. This is not a figment of the imagination: the tray opens faster, the CD loads faster, the CD LEDs shine brighter. Also tested the TV set: it works and the colors are stunning yet the motion is fuzzier compared to wall AC. However, do not run your tube amp from it, the HV transformers do not like the modified sine wave, and they will buzz like crazy. Will make you will think your amp is mechanically broken. (Although it will not harm the amp.) Overall, five stars. And yes - this inverter ships to Hawaii! I had to try checking out the cart with 4 different inverters until I found one that ships here.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Another source of backup power
5/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't plan on using the inverter very often. However, if I am on generator power and gas is getting low this will be nice to recharge some items from my truck. Think in terms of a multi-layered approach in an emergency.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It works. Good on inductive loads (motors, drills)
11/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works where others fail. Inductive loads seem to be a problem for a lot of inverters, but not for this one. It does what it has to do, at a reasonable price. Recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than the 1500 watt model
6/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I built an off-grid cabin and have five inverters: a 1500 watt that runs my refrigerator, an 800 that I use in my tool room and I have a 3.5 cubic feet freezer and charges power tools etc. Works just fine. I have another 800 in my living room where I do my computing etc. Works my security system, lights and laptop. The 800 works better than the 1500 although I have each with 4 six volt batteries and 2 hundred watt panels.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product at a reasonable price!
9/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This inverter does everything that I want it to do. During football season, we like to attend our home team's games with a few "extras". This inverter allows me to run a 26" flat screen t.v. off of a small battery pack, and then a deep cycle battery for a total of about 6 hours of tailgating! I've also run a small (12"or so) fan from this inverter at the same time as the t.v.! While alot of others are choking on the fumes of their generators, we get compliments about "going green" and it's mostly because of this little workhorse! The cooling fan is very quiet and it's very easy to use. I've also used it when camping, and think there will be many other uses for it in the future. If you are looking for an inexpensive, dependable inverter, this is the one!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Misleading product information
7/12/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Walmart product information specifically states that this unit comes with a "Cigarette lighter plug"............ It does NOT !!!! nor is one available as an additionional accessory. This was the main reason I bought this unit...I was led to believe that the unit came with a "Cigarette lighter plug" AND direct-to-battery cables. The unit is good, however Walmart should correct their mistake.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/18/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This inverter works very well and as expected. The only thing that I would have liked to be different was it only came with cables that would not allow you to permanently install the inverter in your vehicle. A quick trip to Home Depot and I had the wire and connectors to install in my truck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!
5/29/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best Inverter I've invested in, I work over nights and I've ran a fan and my laptop with my car radio on for sound from my laptop and had it on for 12 hours watching moves and surfing the web and the inverter didn't cause me any trouble and it did NOT kill my battery..! I would recommend this for anybody!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
1/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I agree with others that the lack of attachment to the lighter outlet will reduce my use. I intend on determining how best to run a cable inside my truck cab for access to the power outlet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what I needed..
1/28/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Does what was expected to run my small air compressor, lights, and tools as needed when working on my boat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
perfect power/size combo
8/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this just to run small power tools like my sawzall and 4 1/2" grinder. I've used it quite a bit already and it is very handy. I was able to run my grinder off of my 4 wheeler battery for 10-15 minuets, it barely phased my battery and the fan didn't even turn on in the inverter. I also plugged my 40" samsung led smart tv and sony blueray into it and it ran them perfectly. I like not hearing the fan going all the time as well. It has a Nice balance of power and size and the clamps and cables that came with it were excellent quality. The only thing I would change would be the fuse, it would be nice if it was user servicable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will be good for most applications.
6/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Appears well made and complete with everything necessary for a quick and easy set-up. Only drawback is that it is not rated to run at the full 800 watts for any lenght of time. If you need a full 800 watts for an extended period of time, like a long car trip, get a larger capacity Inverter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product over makes an annoying sound
7/11/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I only had ran this product for a few minutes and it made a high pitch sound which is really annoying because it doesnt go away and i dont know what the cause if this is because the only thing i am powering on is my laptop.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640667, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-