Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 98 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
Works better than advertised
9/1/2010

Customer review by SolarGeek

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by SolarGeek
by SolarGeek

I've had many different inverters and the Cobras just work. And work well. I really like this one as the fan is not loud nor does it run on really light loads. This unit also has a REAL on and off switch, not a soft button. (The soft button trips off and fails to start if anything is plugged in. At least in many of the soft button inverters I've used) Believe me, if you know what I'm talking about I'm sure you agree. Anyway, I'm about to order a couple more of these for the RV and the other cars in the household. Really good for Laptop power supplies and such. No matter what brand, you don't want to pull 400 watts through your cigarette type power plug but for light duty it will be fine. For heavy duty use you need a solid connection to the battery and this unit comes with both. Lighter socket plug AND the direct to battery clamps. I highly recommend this if you need a good solid performer.

Was this review helpful? (79) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SolarGeek
Pahrump, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Inverter
1/26/2016

Customer review by Letsgoshoot

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Letsgoshoot
by Letsgoshoot

I used mine on a camping trip. It worked great for charging cell phones and powering my CPAP.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Letsgoshoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a road trip
6/14/2010

Customer review by STLBill

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by STLBill
by STLBill

This worked great for plugging in a laptop and several chargers for gameboy/mp3/etc. Only needed the built in power port cords, no need to go straight to the battery posts for that kind of power.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STLBill
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
So far, so good!!
3/12/2014

Customer review by Meekperson

4.0 stars 3/12/2014 by Meekperson
by Meekperson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this inverter for almost 2 months and it seems to work pretty good. I only used it to charge my laptop, hair trimmers, shaver and cell phone all at the same time sometimes, but so far it seems to work pretty well. I wasn't too sure about the fan coming on and off for just a few seconds at a time, but I see that's just how it is designed. The fan will stay on longer when needed. You also can't beat the price! $25! come on!! I reserve the 5th star only because you never know what mite happen later, plus I read other reviews about defective units. Four stars so far! If it lasts me a very long while, then this unit will get five stars!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meekperson
Palm Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Compact and great quality
4/1/2014

Customer review by Gareview

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Gareview
by Gareview
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a small inverter in my RV. The Cobra 400W filled the bill nicely. I like the two types of power cards included. If you are looking for an inverter do you homework and buy the size you need. There is a lot of information on the web. Cobra has great prices and a good reputation for a company that has been around for many years. Walmart.com makes shopping easy and with free delivery to the store, it is unbeatable.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gareview
Athens, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BARGAIN
10/18/2010

Customer review by Qwack

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by Qwack
by Qwack

I've only used this a few times, but so far I LOVE it. It is a SUPER value (and a shame they don't sell them in the store; the one they had was only 200W and cost TWICE as much!?). I've used it in the car to power my laptop; AND I hooked it right to the battery and MADE PASTA. I used a rice cooker since the electric teapot I had was 1000W (the rice cooker was only 300W); but it still only took 30 minutes, and didn't drain my car battery. Speaking of which... ...that's one of the great features of this unit. It has one alarm that warns you when your battery is getting too low, so you can shut it off. Then, if you don't, it has another alarm that warns when you've gone too far, and if you STILL don't turn it off, it turns ITSELF off! Last night I watched a DVD on my laptop - it lasted a little over an hour, and then the first alarm went off. Since the movie wasn't over, all I had to do was turn the engine on; and I only had to keep it on for about 10 minutes before the battery was recharged enough for me to finish my movie with the engine off! Anyway, as I said, I've only had it for a little while, but if it keeps working the way it does (and I think it will - it has a fan to help keep it from overheating, which should extend its life), this will be one of my all-time favorite devices. And one of the best values, too!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qwack
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Inverter
9/19/2010

Customer review by safari08

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by safari08
by safari08

This inverter works great, powers my 27inch LCD TV and DVD player in my motorhome. Also charges our cell phones, Great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
safari08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used for Alienware Laptop by Truck Driver
6/7/2011

Customer review by meshaneian

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by meshaneian
by meshaneian

I use this while away from home. I attached this to the battery system (not the cigarette lighter plug) and use it to power my Alienware laptop (160 watts) for hours at a time. Seems louder than my 300 watt, but works well. Most truck stops sell for $40, so the walmart price is a much better deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meshaneian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
connection problem
12/28/2010

Customer review by H234

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by H234
by H234

I purchased this in order to run my laptop computer in the car. It is much lower cost than buying a laptop car adapter - and it is more versatile for other uses. It is nice that it comes with both a cigarette adapter and alligator clips for direct connection to a car battery. With the car adapter one shouldn't exceed around 100 watts because of the risk of blowing the car's fuse for the cigarette lighter. I find this device works - but that the cigarette plug just doesn't want to stay put properly in my car. I have no problems at all with other devices' cigarette plug - like cell phone and GPS. So the cigarette plug that comes with this device is useless - I am constantly playing with it to keep the device powered on. I'm going to need to cut the cigarette plug off, and buy another cigarette adapter (somewhere) and solder/connect the wires. It's a shame that such a good device is brought down by a badly designed cigarette plug. Howard

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
H234
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great item!
5/29/2012

Customer review by chaz1326

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by chaz1326
by chaz1326

used this on a road trip to the keys. Worked as advertised. Ran phone chargers, laptops and ipadsfor the price all at once. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chaz1326
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cobra Inverter
9/9/2010

Customer review by Hobbesdad

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Hobbesdad
by Hobbesdad

We used it to run a computer last weekend on a long trip, and it worked just like its supposed to.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hobbesdad
Silver Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
This is a winner
3/6/2011

Customer review by BobinKaty

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by BobinKaty
by BobinKaty

First tests went up to 4-1/2 hours off a partially charged old car battery with a 75 watt load. The unit is quiet and never got warm to the touch during that time. Low voltage alarm went off as expected. Should be able to keep a small TV and small light going going during a power failure through the worst of a storm to get local news and weather. That's the primary intended use. Exceeds expectations for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobinKaty
Katy, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great!
2/14/2011

Customer review by ShadowM

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by ShadowM
by ShadowM

Using it in my PT Cruiser and its continuously on, pushing a 100W home theater subwoofer(cheap alternative to regular car subs because you have to buy car amp and subs separately and they arent cheap, home subs usually have an amp already attached and you can get a used one at a garage sale or online for cheap, sometimes free). Im so happy with the sound of my car system now with the help of this excellent inverter. FYI, lots of critics out there are saying that you cant push home theater subs with a power inverter... guess they never tried it for themselves. I only have mine connected to the lighter socket.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShadowM
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it says
1/14/2011

Customer review by DonL

4.0 stars 1/14/2011 by DonL
by DonL

Picked this up for power outages. Information on add does not tell you that it shuts down when the battery gets low (before completely drained). This is a nice feature.Powered a fireplace fan & small light all night from a car battery and still had enough left in the battery to start the car next morning (barely!)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Outstanding value
7/14/2014

Customer review by SergeantPaul

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by SergeantPaul
by SergeantPaul
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It can be connected directly to the battery and mounted permanently under the hood. It pumped up a queen sized air mattress in minutes!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SergeantPaul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cobra lives up to it's name
3/27/2014

Customer review by kraftman

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by kraftman
by kraftman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a very good inverter,can plug it into lighter,or connect to battery,works well with computer,and has a usb plugin also,use it to run my portable oxygen concentrator,price is excellant

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kraftman
cullman,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/3/2013

Customer review by THEGREENHOUSE

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by THEGREENHOUSE
by THEGREENHOUSE

i bought this cobra inverter at a truck stop my old inverter died I did not want to wait 1-2 weeks for it and I am glad I did get this when I did my whole house is electric the power went out that same night when I was putting in supper in the micro-wave power does go out quite often here best have a solar panel set up 55watts to keep the battery charged and check the water level often! if it goes below the plates possible the battery will not work well its murder when you have a care provider that is not on your side when power goes out I been with out power one year and it was out for 3 days my care provider did not care to check on me for those days How often do you use this product? when power goes out

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
THEGREENHOUSE
barstow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
10/9/2012

Customer review by ottoman1

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by ottoman1
by ottoman1

Cobra 400 W converter works perfect for my low powered laptop. Power left to run printer with laptop when I choose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ottoman1
Otto, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Emergency Hurricane Power
6/20/2014

Customer review by prepguy

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by prepguy
by prepguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 2 of these 400 watt inverters for emergency 115 volt AC electricity in the event of a storm related power failure. One of the inverters worked perfectly, generated 112 volts, and successfully powered my 40" LCD Flat Screen TV, satellite box, and a CFL light with no problem. I tested this set up (225 watts) for 1 hour 15 minutes and there was no issues with the inverter fan running quietly and the inverter remaining cool. I had this hooked up to my vehicle via jumper cables directly to the battery without the engine running. After this time period my car started up with no problems. You must hook up this inverter directly to your car battery for any loads heavier than 100 watts and not use the cigarette lighter plug which will only blow fuses. Both the direct wire and cigarette lighter cables are included. This is a modified sine wave inverter which means it is not going to power any induction motor related equipment regardless of wattage. I tested the second inverter exactly like the first and it generated only 107 volts (below rating) and my TV had horizontal line interference continually. I returned this defective second inverter to my local store with no problem and ordered a new inverter as a replacement. Assuming the new inverter arrives and works perfectly, I plan on hooking it up to my second car so both inverters can be used during emergencies. This is an easy to use device, a good source of emergency electricity, and is suitable for anyone that does not want to fool around with power generators and gasoline.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prepguy
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/9/2010

Customer review by Ripper22

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Ripper22
by Ripper22

For the Price, it does what it does without a problem. Powers up Laptop with a problem and the other stuff for road trips. Works Great!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ripper22
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews