Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 35 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 31 reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Best of the Bunch
7/14/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been trying for two months to find a decent indoor hdtv antenna. I checked the directionality of broadcast signals in my metro area, and found that all were from the same geographical location within 25 miles from my house. Shouldn't be a problem finding an antenna, right? I then bought and tried several different antenna models, including RadioShack, Terk, RCA and Phillips; some flat, some not. I ended up returning them all except the RCA ANT1450 (flat, "better" rated, omni directional) which worked for one tv in a room on the South side of the house but didn't for a tv in a room on the North side. It was frustrating, but I decided to give it one last try and "upgraded" to the most expensive indoor antennas that were rated as "superior" for hdtv reception. I purchased 3 "superior" models at one time so I could compare their performance (and save me time running back and forth buying and returning). This Terk was the least expensive (by about $25) and the only directional of the bunch - the others were flat omni-directional. At first I placed each antenna next to the tv and pointed it in the correct signal direction. Each resulted in poor reception - even the omni-directional ones. Then I decided just to go ahead and place them in the window nearest to the tv but away from the signal direction. I figured it shouldn't matter with the omni-directional ones. I also reinserted the diodes for the Terk vertically rather than horizontally as suggested in the instruction manual, which made the whole antenna fit in the window as well as the flat antennas. After trying all 3 antennas, I found that the least expensive Terk out performed the other more expensive "omni-directional" models. Although for some reason, I can't receive one network channel no matter which antenna I've used, this Terk gets my vote for the best of the bunch! Make sure you try several locations - even places that don't seem logical - before you give up on your antenna.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (109)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works but not worth paying extra for Amplified
11/2/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this one and the 'Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna', the price difference was about $30. I connected both and tested them each. I noticed they both performed the same, did not get any extra channels on the Amplied versus the regular Terk Antenna (except for more spanish channels). I live in Denver, CO. and was using a MutiDirectional HD antenna since that's what was recommended per where I live. Since all of our HD attenna's are west sitting on top of Lookout Mnt, I decided to purchase a this directional one instead. It works great! All channels are clear and don't need to point it out through my window, I just point it in the direction of the antenna's through my wall. However if you do decide to purchase this one it does perform very well as long as you point it in the direction of your HD Antenna for your city.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor performance, overpriced
6/27/2009
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
HDTV was meant to be UHF only and local stations where supposed to be concentrated in a single "antenna farm", but as we all know, the reality is that there are both UHF and VHF stations and they are not all in the same direction, This antenna is highly directional antenna , meaning it has to be pointed to the transmitter, which is a problem if you live in an area with different antenna farms. it is UHF only and will recieve VHF but only if you are extremely close to the antenna transmitter. the build quality of the antenna is very fragile and top heavy, it is constantly falling on its side. for the price, you could purchase an outdoor antenna that performs much better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I purchased this after reading reviews-a good buy
12/2/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in rural Montana as was able to pick up on 12 stations (half of them PBS). The pros: Works very well for a small antenna. Good quality. Easy to assemble. All in all, not a bad piece. The cons: Major design flaws abound.-Look at the base and you can visualize how unstable this thing is. The cable for this needs to be longer than about 6' and does not need to extend out from the bottom of the already unstable unit. With both pros and cons in mind, I think that I would purchase this again. The antenna achieves its purpose and does a good job (after having to prop it up). As far as the value for dollar aspect goes, hmmm. I guess the price might be about $5-$10 on the high side.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product, great value
1/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We decided we would have cable no more and looked at many different antennas. After much research we bought this one and wouldn't change a thing! It was very simple to set up and adjust if need be (although once it was set we really haven't needed to change anything). We have an amazing HD picture and get almost 20 channels!! We would purchase this again in a heartbeat!! To find the right angle for your home, just go to http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/welcome.aspx and type in your address and it will tell you exactly where to point the thing. Easy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overrated
2/8/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This antenna is NOT all its cracked up to be. ---Reception - highly, highly directional - with this antenna being so directional, this means one has to oh-so-slightly adjust it at almost every channel. Don't know about you, but I want to set an antenna once (or twice maybe) then sit back and watch--- unfortunately that's not the case with this one--you're constantly getting up, readjusting, setting, readjusting, setting...all the while you just missed the best part of your show. ---Sturdiness - Not sure what the logic was on the design - very large antenna on a small base!? It constantly falls over at the slightest breeze or touch. This means more readjusting, setting, - missing your shows ---Performance -consistently outperformed by cheaper antennas - this is big. With an antenna of this stature, you'd expect it to pull in all the channels of my lesser priced (and tried) antenna's - the RCA 1450 and Terk TV-5. Both of those antennas outperformed this supposed higher-end model by pulling in either the same (RCA 1450) and more (Terk TV-5) channels with little to no readjusting. ---Overall, a big disappointment. Essentially, I got the same reception and quality (with cheaper units mentioned above) without all the unnecessary readjusting that this antenna brings. ---Be careful - I'm sure if all your broadcasting towers are in the same general direction (not in my case and not very likely), this antenna will do well. However, in many cases, this little thing had me coming to the illogical notion of paying $100 a month for cable - but made it seem logical---not good! LOL!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Option for TV reception
2/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my daughter after owning one myself. She provided this feedback... "Excellent! I get a great signal, it was easy to set up, and the picture translates fantastically onto the TV." It amazed me what great High def reception I received and the number of stations available. I addition to normal channels, I got the weather broadcasts from local network stations.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An Outstanding Product
12/12/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Add my name to the list of highly satisfied customers. This product exceeded my expectations. I recently purchased a high def TV and bought the antenna as a temporary fix until I could get a cable connection. However it works so well, I decided against cable. It gives me all the local HD channels plus a few additional channels in analog. I cannot believe the reception I receive from an indoor antenna WITHOUT amplification. It's quite the product. Its only drawback, if you want to call it that, is its lightweight. It can barely stand on its own. The base needs to be wider and heavier.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product!
9/6/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for a tv in the kitchen. After channels went digital I couldn't receive but 3 on my tv sooo I researched products & bought this one. Works GREAT! I get more channels than ever & it is against an interrior wall. I do have to prop it so it doesn't fall over, but it fits well on the window sill. Good product for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this product for over a year. moved from a 4 bedroom 2 story house to a second story apt. This ant is the best I have ever owned. I was in communications in the US Navy and know ant! Well worth the money
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best indoor antenna!!
1/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have tried several different antennas, but this is the best one we have used! The tree shaped uhf antenna is a lot better than an ordinary loop. It also has good rabbit ears. This requires very little re-aiming and adjusting and has excellent instructions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for local chanels
5/26/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
went from dish to this antenna and have same picture quality on 2 dozen stations. Put in attic and spliced 3 tv's off one Terk Amplified antenna
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best indoor antenna ever!`
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two of these now for my bedroom TVs. They pull in all kinds of local HD stations and the picture and sound is perfect!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good product
11/3/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried another antenna (Phillips) and did not get the reception this one gets. I would definintly recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So Happy with this antenna
5/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We were looking for a way to get away from satellite charges each month. This antenna allowed us to get all 3 major networks and many other channels that we didn't realize were available over the air. We placed it on top of a a high cabinet to get the best picture quality and were able to split the signal for another tv as well with the same quality reception. We were happy to find an indoor antenna because my husband and I didn't know how to install an outdoor antenna and didn't want the additional expense of paying someone to do it for us.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't waste $
5/20/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros: I've started reading again! Cons: The patience of Job is not enough for this eyesore. Save all your cardboard boxes and crates, because in order to get a picture/sound that isn't like having a seizure, you will need to reposition and reposition at every startup/for each channel. Like my 40-year old rabbit ears, I still need to stand on one foot, hop, and sing the Star Spangled Banner all at once to have a prayer at reception. Have rearranged furniture 6 times, but no. I live in a major suburban area, so it shouldn't be this hard!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
6/7/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great. The view and sound is great. Good buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HDTV Antennas
12/2/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I can't really testify to the inadequacy of the product, I just know that there is far to much signal interference. I could just as well blame it on the HD signal that is being broadcast, which is more likely. I expected more but if there is a poor signal problem, I doubt that any brand of antenna would do any better. Personally,I'm switching to cable; that was probably the HD signal owners overall objective to begin with!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks better than it works.
8/6/2009
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Performs no better than flat amplified antennas I have and not as good as my RCA heavy duty indoor antenna. It has 2 dipoles, rabbit ears, that need to be pulled out all the way for VHF and this protrusion is quite uncomfortable and gets in the way of everything. The picture does not show you this.This unit cannot be mounted to anything-it has to sit on its base. Best to purchase a flat wall mounted antenna at a lower price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
significant tv improvement
7/21/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The antenna is somewhat pricey, however, I am very well pleased with the hookup thru a converter box to analog tv. It assists greatly in bringing in weaker channels, and picture quality is significantly improved on all channels. This product appears to be of high quality construction. No indoor antenna is likely to do better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643949, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-