Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 31 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Best of the Bunch
7/14/2009

Customer review by FinallyGotHDTV

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by FinallyGotHDTV
by FinallyGotHDTV

I have been trying for two months to find a decent indoor hdtv antenna. I checked the directionality of broadcast signals in my metro area, and found that all were from the same geographical location within 25 miles from my house. Shouldn't be a problem finding an antenna, right? I then bought and tried several different antenna models, including RadioShack, Terk, RCA and Phillips; some flat, some not. I ended up returning them all except the RCA ANT1450 (flat, "better" rated, omni directional) which worked for one tv in a room on the South side of the house but didn't for a tv in a room on the North side. It was frustrating, but I decided to give it one last try and "upgraded" to the most expensive indoor antennas that were rated as "superior" for hdtv reception. I purchased 3 "superior" models at one time so I could compare their performance (and save me time running back and forth buying and returning). This Terk was the least expensive (by about $25) and the only directional of the bunch - the others were flat omni-directional. At first I placed each antenna next to the tv and pointed it in the correct signal direction. Each resulted in poor reception - even the omni-directional ones. Then I decided just to go ahead and place them in the window nearest to the tv but away from the signal direction. I figured it shouldn't matter with the omni-directional ones. I also reinserted the diodes for the Terk vertically rather than horizontally as suggested in the instruction manual, which made the whole antenna fit in the window as well as the flat antennas. After trying all 3 antennas, I found that the least expensive Terk out performed the other more expensive "omni-directional" models. Although for some reason, I can't receive one network channel no matter which antenna I've used, this Terk gets my vote for the best of the bunch! Make sure you try several locations - even places that don't seem logical - before you give up on your antenna.

Was this review helpful? (100) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FinallyGotHDTV
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
poor performance, overpriced
6/27/2009

Customer review by ElectricAvocado

2.0 stars 6/27/2009 by ElectricAvocado
by ElectricAvocado

HDTV was meant to be UHF only and local stations where supposed to be concentrated in a single "antenna farm", but as we all know, the reality is that there are both UHF and VHF stations and they are not all in the same direction, This antenna is highly directional antenna , meaning it has to be pointed to the transmitter, which is a problem if you live in an area with different antenna farms. it is UHF only and will recieve VHF but only if you are extremely close to the antenna transmitter. the build quality of the antenna is very fragile and top heavy, it is constantly falling on its side. for the price, you could purchase an outdoor antenna that performs much better.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectricAvocado
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I purchased this after reading reviews-a good buy
12/2/2011

Customer review by Nanook1

3.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Nanook1
by Nanook1

I live in rural Montana as was able to pick up on 12 stations (half of them PBS). The pros: Works very well for a small antenna. Good quality. Easy to assemble. All in all, not a bad piece. The cons: Major design flaws abound.-Look at the base and you can visualize how unstable this thing is. The cable for this needs to be longer than about 6' and does not need to extend out from the bottom of the already unstable unit. With both pros and cons in mind, I think that I would purchase this again. The antenna achieves its purpose and does a good job (after having to prop it up). As far as the value for dollar aspect goes, hmmm. I guess the price might be about $5-$10 on the high side.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanook1
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, great value
1/24/2012

Customer review by akrm10

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by akrm10
by akrm10

We decided we would have cable no more and looked at many different antennas. After much research we bought this one and wouldn't change a thing! It was very simple to set up and adjust if need be (although once it was set we really haven't needed to change anything). We have an amazing HD picture and get almost 20 channels!! We would purchase this again in a heartbeat!! To find the right angle for your home, just go to http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/welcome.aspx and type in your address and it will tell you exactly where to point the thing. Easy!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
akrm10
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Option for TV reception
2/21/2010

Customer review by FredAtLarge

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by FredAtLarge
by FredAtLarge

I bought this for my daughter after owning one myself. She provided this feedback... "Excellent! I get a great signal, it was easy to set up, and the picture translates fantastically onto the TV." It amazed me what great High def reception I received and the number of stations available. I addition to normal channels, I got the weather broadcasts from local network stations.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FredAtLarge
SC and Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overrated
2/8/2010

Customer review by TheUnequivocal

2.0 stars 2/8/2010 by TheUnequivocal
by TheUnequivocal

This antenna is NOT all its cracked up to be. ---Reception - highly, highly directional - with this antenna being so directional, this means one has to oh-so-slightly adjust it at almost every channel. Don't know about you, but I want to set an antenna once (or twice maybe) then sit back and watch--- unfortunately that's not the case with this one--you're constantly getting up, readjusting, setting, readjusting, setting...all the while you just missed the best part of your show. ---Sturdiness - Not sure what the logic was on the design - very large antenna on a small base!? It constantly falls over at the slightest breeze or touch. This means more readjusting, setting, - missing your shows ---Performance -consistently outperformed by cheaper antennas - this is big. With an antenna of this stature, you'd expect it to pull in all the channels of my lesser priced (and tried) antenna's - the RCA 1450 and Terk TV-5. Both of those antennas outperformed this supposed higher-end model by pulling in either the same (RCA 1450) and more (Terk TV-5) channels with little to no readjusting. ---Overall, a big disappointment. Essentially, I got the same reception and quality (with cheaper units mentioned above) without all the unnecessary readjusting that this antenna brings. ---Be careful - I'm sure if all your broadcasting towers are in the same general direction (not in my case and not very likely), this antenna will do well. However, in many cases, this little thing had me coming to the illogical notion of paying $100 a month for cable - but made it seem logical---not good! LOL!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheUnequivocal
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
An Outstanding Product
12/12/2009

Customer review by OldSchool1954

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by OldSchool1954
by OldSchool1954

Add my name to the list of highly satisfied customers. This product exceeded my expectations. I recently purchased a high def TV and bought the antenna as a temporary fix until I could get a cable connection. However it works so well, I decided against cable. It gives me all the local HD channels plus a few additional channels in analog. I cannot believe the reception I receive from an indoor antenna WITHOUT amplification. It's quite the product. Its only drawback, if you want to call it that, is its lightweight. It can barely stand on its own. The base needs to be wider and heavier.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldSchool1954
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/4/2012

Customer review by Allstar138

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Allstar138
by Allstar138

I have had this product for over a year. moved from a 4 bedroom 2 story house to a second story apt. This ant is the best I have ever owned. I was in communications in the US Navy and know ant! Well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allstar138
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/7/2009

Customer review by pudji

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by pudji
by pudji

Works great. The view and sound is great. Good buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pudji
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works but not worth paying extra for Amplified
11/2/2011

Customer review by Bob2kim

3.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Bob2kim
by Bob2kim

I purchased this one and the 'Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna', the price difference was about $30. I connected both and tested them each. I noticed they both performed the same, did not get any extra channels on the Amplied versus the regular Terk Antenna (except for more spanish channels). I live in Denver, CO. and was using a MutiDirectional HD antenna since that's what was recommended per where I live. Since all of our HD attenna's are west sitting on top of Lookout Mnt, I decided to purchase a this directional one instead. It works great! All channels are clear and don't need to point it out through my window, I just point it in the direction of the antenna's through my wall. However if you do decide to purchase this one it does perform very well as long as you point it in the direction of your HD Antenna for your city.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob2kim
Aurora, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
11/3/2009

Customer review by vrnzjwl

5.0 stars 11/3/2009 by vrnzjwl
by vrnzjwl

I tried another antenna (Phillips) and did not get the reception this one gets. I would definintly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vrnzjwl
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product!
9/6/2009

Customer review by lovethecomputer

5.0 stars 9/6/2009 by lovethecomputer
by lovethecomputer

I bought this for a tv in the kitchen. After channels went digital I couldn't receive but 3 on my tv sooo I researched products & bought this one. Works GREAT! I get more channels than ever & it is against an interrior wall. I do have to prop it so it doesn't fall over, but it fits well on the window sill. Good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovethecomputer
Arkansa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best indoor antenna ever!`
2/26/2012

Customer review by djatsw47

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by djatsw47
by djatsw47

I have two of these now for my bedroom TVs. They pull in all kinds of local HD stations and the picture and sound is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djatsw47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best indoor antenna!!
1/27/2012

Customer review by kb9okv

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by kb9okv
by kb9okv

We have tried several different antennas, but this is the best one we have used! The tree shaped uhf antenna is a lot better than an ordinary loop. It also has good rabbit ears. This requires very little re-aiming and adjusting and has excellent instructions.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kb9okv
Suburb of Indianapolis IN 40 miles from TV towers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV antenna
1/16/2012

Customer review by KCCrimedog

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by KCCrimedog
by KCCrimedog

Having purchased now 4 antennas to pick up broadcast TV signals. this is the best by far. I have the ability to access channels that I previously could not watch and that makes it number one in my book.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCCrimedog
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Happy with this antenna
5/14/2014

Customer review by Nanna2twins

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by Nanna2twins
by Nanna2twins

We were looking for a way to get away from satellite charges each month. This antenna allowed us to get all 3 major networks and many other channels that we didn't realize were available over the air. We placed it on top of a a high cabinet to get the best picture quality and were able to split the signal for another tv as well with the same quality reception. We were happy to find an indoor antenna because my husband and I didn't know how to install an outdoor antenna and didn't want the additional expense of paying someone to do it for us.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanna2twins
Graham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
significant tv improvement
7/21/2009

Customer review by wobberjawed

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by wobberjawed
by wobberjawed

The antenna is somewhat pricey, however, I am very well pleased with the hookup thru a converter box to analog tv. It assists greatly in bringing in weaker channels, and picture quality is significantly improved on all channels. This product appears to be of high quality construction. No indoor antenna is likely to do better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wobberjawed
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product
12/6/2009

Customer review by Smilingterminator

4.0 stars 12/6/2009 by Smilingterminator
by Smilingterminator

Really Good one to buy.It picks up the maximum channels and far better than other products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smilingterminator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HDTV Antennas
12/2/2009

Customer review by Dread1oc

3.0 stars 12/2/2009 by Dread1oc
by Dread1oc

I can't really testify to the inadequacy of the product, I just know that there is far to much signal interference. I could just as well blame it on the HD signal that is being broadcast, which is more likely. I expected more but if there is a poor signal problem, I doubt that any brand of antenna would do any better. Personally,I'm switching to cable; that was probably the HD signal owners overall objective to begin with!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dread1oc
Beckley, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for UHF signals
9/9/2009

Customer review by caymera

3.0 stars 9/9/2009 by caymera
by caymera

This is one of the best indoor antenna out there. It works great for UHF signals but lacks in catching up VHF signals. VHF signals are caught with 1/8-point signal strength.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caymera
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews