Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

20 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

20 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 20 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Long Distance Monitoring.........
1/9/2013

Customer review by ARMITRONJUSTICE

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by ARMITRONJUSTICE
by ARMITRONJUSTICE

I live in a small town about 30 miles south of Corpus Christi, Texas and I bought this Cobra Marine radio to listen to ships coming in to the port of Corpus Christi and i was real surprise when i could listen to them calling the port and sailing in.....These are oil tankers, and cargo ships bringing in goods and the reception on the Cobra came in loud and clear...Go figure, i am 30 miles plus inland from the water and i can hear them talking to each other.....I even heard them calling the port from Aransas Pass, which is even farther away, about 3 to 4 miles out in the water before you get to the port of Corpus Christi.....Those big ships must have some powerful radios for my little cobra to hear them speak......Well i think my Cobra is well worth the money.....I never have done a radio check, so i can not comment on how far it transmits, I just like to listen to them...Great Product.....

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARMITRONJUSTICE
Sinton, TX 78387
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cobra Marine VHF Hand-Held Radio.
3/14/2012

Customer review by Wildblue24

3.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Wildblue24
by Wildblue24

My Cobra Radio tested very well. But, failed when I needed it. For a hand-held marine radio this cobra demonstrated very good transmission and receiving capabilities. She holds 5 AAA batteries and that gave me a considerable amount of air time. I was a participant in the Everglades Challenge for 2012 it is a 300 mile very small boat adventure race. Soon after the start my rudder snapped of my 15 foot boat. While I was never in any danger I did take a wave over the side. That wave splashed on my Cobra filled it with water. That was one of my deciding factors to pull out as I really needed that radio. As a matter of fact it is required equipment for this race. This Hand- held radio has enough positives that I have ordered another one and hope to write a better review in a few weeks. I will test it thoroughly before I put it in service.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wildblue24
Adairsville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 1000 contributor
Good for the price but......
5/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is gonna seem a bit nit picky but this was a big issue for me. Nowhere in the item description does it tell you that the charger that comes with this product is a car charger. To me this is a big drawback. This item for me is for work, not pleasure. I don't have access to car chargers all the time. So in order for me to make this work for me I have to buy an ac to dc plug adapter to come with me. With that big disappointment being said, I do think the actual product is well worth the money. I can hear the boats well above and below me and have been able to respond to the boats calling 3 miles from me. My only recommendation for this product is to give you a wall charger

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/17/2013

Customer review by Smearnov

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by Smearnov
by Smearnov

Genius piece of equipment, small, wireless, great inclose reception and broadcast ability. Coastal and inland, cruisers throw out your old,yellowed, cabin mounted , hard wired, corded VHFs ... For under fifty bucks this little gem is a VHF game changer. that gives you the freedom to broadcast and receive anywhere on deck. Simple easy, to use, and, hopefully long lasting (Bought mine in Aug 2013 and so far so good)..... PS.... will never buy another cabin mounted, hard wired, VHF , ever

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smearnov
Stuart fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IGHTWEIGHT / COMPACT / GREAT PRICE
11/14/2013

Customer review by thwi

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by thwi
by thwi

This is a great little vhf radio. Transmit / receive are good. The only thing that would make it better, was if it was a 5 watt. , vise the 1 to 3 watt it is. Would buy another one today if needed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thwi
Ludowici, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good radio
6/12/2013

Customer review by nikle

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by nikle
by nikle

All that was missing was the instruction manual. I had to Google the radio to find out where to download the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nikle
palmetto, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value for the money.
11/8/2013

Customer review by CaptBW

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by CaptBW
by CaptBW

This little radio certainly represents value for the money. It is not the best marine radio, but it is an adequate alternative to the best. I have one of the best marine radios. The battery, for this best marine radio, costs more than this full functioned, low cost, radio. If your life depends on your marine radio, look elsewhere. If you can deal with an inexpensive, workable, radio; this is it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptBW
Lake Ann, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent!
7/4/2015

Customer review by Anne

5.0 stars 7/4/2015 by Anne
by Anne

Nice radio..we installed a 12 volt recepticle to charge the radio while we run the boat. United States Coast Guard Auxillary safety inspector loved this radio and was going to buy one himself.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT
7/24/2015

Customer review by bobk410

5.0 stars 7/24/2015 by bobk410
by bobk410

A # 1 love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobk410
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/18/2015

Customer review by Albert485

5.0 stars 2/18/2015 by Albert485
by Albert485

What is it possible to do if the antenna is broken?

Albert485
great little radio
5/7/2015

Customer review by Irishwake

5.0 stars 5/7/2015 by Irishwake
by Irishwake

I work in the marine industry and dependable communications are very important. This radio fits in your pocket and has all the features and power of much larger and more expensive radios. Have not gotten it wet so can't attest to it being waterproof but I do love this radio otherwise.

Irishwake
Newport, RI
Exactly what I expected from a compact hand held
6/5/2015

Customer review by Jackie28

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Jackie28
by Jackie28

Pros. You can set the squelch to block out weak signals that are useless to understand. Like to simple Tri channel scan when I just want to cover the most important channels. Nice and small for my wife to throw in her bag when at a food or shopping stop. The white doesn't get as hot in the sun as the black case does. Simple and easy unit. Don't expect too much from such a compact unit and you won't be disappointed. Has a lot features I didn't think they could get into a floating hand held.

Jackie28
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/18/2013

Customer review by ldbarnett

4.0 stars 7/18/2013 by ldbarnett
by ldbarnett

Replaced 15 year old cobra radio. Can not beat features for price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ldbarnett
Athens, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great weather channel
7/3/2015

Customer review by Jes42day

4.0 stars 7/3/2015 by Jes42day
by Jes42day

Great informing the weather

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jes42day
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cobra backs up what they sale
3/25/2015

Customer review by WaterBug

4.0 stars 3/25/2015 by WaterBug
by WaterBug

Worth the money, and as you can see in the reviews, Cobra backs up their product 100% Thanks Cobra

WaterBug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressive radio
7/15/2014

Customer review by mech5119

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by mech5119
by mech5119

use this radio for going hunting with my union buddies. they love it and love it. although the radio is not very rugged, it does have crisp clear communication!

mech5119
Oak Lawn, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only 2 watts
11/20/2014

Customer review by df1995

2.0 stars 11/20/2014 by df1995
by df1995

Most handhelds are 5 watts / 1 watt. This unit is only 2 watts maximum. IMHO not enough power if you should find yourself offshore. OK for small lakes I guess.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
df1995
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT Waterproof
5/2/2014

Customer review by jsintojn

1.0 stars 5/2/2014 by jsintojn
by jsintojn

This radio is sold as "waterproof" but is nothing of the sort. Splashed it with some salt water, and that was the end. Don't trust this radio to save your life.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsintojn
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Don't get it wet....
8/7/2014

Customer review by Labess

1.0 stars 8/7/2014 by Labess
by Labess

We used this little VHF as an emergency radio while Kayaking. I really loved it for two seasons until it started raining about two weeks ago. I laid the radio down face up in our sailboat cockpit for a few minutes only to find water drops under the clear plastic screen. Now the radio no longer functions. It says "WATERPROOF" on the bottom. Our definitely would not even stand a little bit of rain. Very disappointing as we liked carrying it along on Kayak outings as an emergency VHF.

Labess
Northern Michigan
It doesn't appear to be waterproof
9/2/2014

Customer review by Al D

1.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Al D
by Al D

The main reason I bought this radio was that it said it's "waterproof". I've had good experience with the "Cobra" brand in the past, so I believed that this will be the case as well. However, as much as I like the performance of the radio where its lacking is so called the "waterproof-ness". What happened to me is that last week while helping me dock, my father-in-law dropped the unit I had given him into about 3 feet of water so, I jumped into the water right away and fetched the unit. He felt really bad but I assured him not to worry because the unit was water-proof and that nothing had happened to the unit. Well, I was wrong. Now when I try to use the radio, it turns on but none of the buttons work, so I'm stuck on channel 88 and can NOT change or set anything on the radio. Its sad because it really is a pretty powerful radio and it has a very good range and sound for the price but a so called "Marine" radio? I'm not sure. Now I'm left with one radio.

Al D
Raleigh, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No