Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 249 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

249 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

249 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 stars
27
1-20 of 207 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Works well if you treat it well
6/21/2011

Customer review by Wulfbait

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by Wulfbait
by Wulfbait

I've had this little guy for a few months now and it works well for keeping drinks cold. I see a lot of reviews that say it doesn't work well or for very long. I have some experience with the Peliter Junction technology this frig uses. You have to be sure to leave enough space around the frig so that it can cool the heat sinks that are in the back. Keep it a least 4 inches from any walls. If the junctions overheat, you will cause them to fail prematurly. I'll bet this is what happened to most of the people who revgiewed this frig poorly. This is a new technology and people have to understand (and read the manual) that it requires a different environment. Give it plenty of cooling space and it will work as designed.

Was this review helpful? (309) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wulfbait
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
more than i expected.
12/24/2009

Customer review by rusty14150

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by rusty14150
by rusty14150

it's a great little fridge for a dorm or den. you can actually keep your pop too cold. read the manual and you'll find you can keep dairy and produce in there,(room temp. must be below 80). wattage use is lower than expected too. much lighter and better product than what my kids dragged to college.

Was this review helpful? (337) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rusty14150
buffalo,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Too Shabby
7/1/2010

Customer review by Asia9294

4.0 stars 7/1/2010 by Asia9294
by Asia9294

I've been running it for the last few weeks. So far so good. I read reviews on this product before I made my purchase. I heard that it didn't get that cold. Well, it gets cold enough. It doesn't make too much noise. Pretty quiet.

Was this review helpful? (138) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Asia9294
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Highly recommended
1/3/2011

Customer review by THETODDSTER

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by THETODDSTER
by THETODDSTER

I read all the reviews on this product and I would get this product again. No problems at all. Looks great also.

Was this review helpful? (83) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THETODDSTER
Santa Maria, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Refrigerator !
11/10/2010

Customer review by Kokoro

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Kokoro
by Kokoro

This is an exceptional product for the price. Its quiet, attractive, and keeps everything very cold. I even put milk and ice cream in it! Of course, I ate the ice cream the same day but it kept it fresh and cold. Ive kept salads, and deli meats stored as well!! My only advice, dont put anything in it until youve had it plugged in for at least 24 hrs , and there will be a " plastic smell" for the first few days. It will go away =)

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kokoro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Lukewarm to Chilly
8/28/2010

Customer review by acebakescupcakes

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by acebakescupcakes
by acebakescupcakes

I was disappointed with this product at first. I could not get my items to become cold - instead they were merely slightly colder than my room. However, after acquiring a small table and elevating the unit, it became very chilly in there - colder than my fridge at home, in fact! My unit has a dent in the side that was there when I opened the package, so they are not super durable, but if you give it a bit of breathing room in the back and on the bottom your items will be quite cold!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acebakescupcakes
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job
3/4/2011

Customer review by two1stnamz

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by two1stnamz
by two1stnamz

Just bought this fridge last week and it's working well so far. It doesn't get as cool as I expected, however I use it to store soda/water only so it fits my needs perfectly. I would not recommend this product to those wishing to store frozen products as this unit does not get that cold. However if you are like me and need it for drinks only, then this is a great product. It is also extremely quite which is a huge plus for the office place.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
two1stnamz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great value for your dollar
12/1/2009

Customer review by shopfru

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by shopfru
by shopfru

This product is both attractive in appearance and value. Awesome for the office, great for the Nursing units for medication. Be sure to leave air circulation room around the unit when installing, if you block off the air it will modify the unit's temperature, Wonderful all around product for small products.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopfru
Bessemer, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quality Inconsistent
1/6/2011

Customer review by EagleSix

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by EagleSix
by EagleSix

The quality of this product seems to be very inconsistent. I purchased seven of these units between April and June 2010 to use to store vaccines in our dispensaries. They all worked fine and then one by one they started getting too warm for our use. All of the units were outside of the 90 day return period when they failed. I thought I could trust the Black & Decker name. I have contacted WalMart to see if anything can be done about them.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EagleSix
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not last long
3/4/2011

Customer review by Nicknamegoeshere999

1.0 stars 3/4/2011 by Nicknamegoeshere999
by Nicknamegoeshere999

I bought this refrigerator in October of 2010 with expectations that it will perform the same as a compressor based model. After first purchasing this product, I quickly realized that this product had positives and negatives about the NuCool technology. In high humidity environments, the lack of the freezer compartment is nice due to the fact that the frost does not build up heavily around the evaporator. This unit is small, and a neat low energy LED light inside to guide your way into this 1.7 cu ft. fridge in the dark of the night. However, the negatives far outweigh the products positives. In February 2011 (4 months after purchase) the product now creates about a 10 degree difference in air temperature. I have taken the back plate off and found that the top cooling unit works fine. The bottom cooling unit does nothing to cool the refrigerator. Also, if it works, the unit takes a long time to cool down so if you plan on buying one, don't open the door more than 3 times in one hour or your food may become spoiled early. This 27 lb. paperweight was tolerable at first, but now I will know to avoid purchasing the NuCool technology. What a piece of garbage. Four months of saving electricity for a box that can now be used as a conversational piece.

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nicknamegoeshere999
Northwestern Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What I was looking for
3/17/2010

Customer review by Deb1234

4.0 stars 3/17/2010 by Deb1234
by Deb1234

This fridge looks great, holds plenty, and keeps things nice and cold. This unit is very light in weight so I guess if you dropped it on a hard surface it might dent but I have no plans on dropping it to find out. Was surprised that it never shuts off so I called and asked the question and because it doesn't have a compressor like our big fridge it stays on all the time but it is economical and won't use up much electricity they say, you worry when it's not running as then you have a problem. Another thing is it's very quiet, I'm very please with it plus it was here in 2 days time. The only reason I didn't give it a overall 5 star is the price, I would have liked to see it lower but it was better than the others and the other thing is that it never shuts off but if that's the way they make it you can't change that. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one of these.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deb1234
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not good for very long
9/24/2010

Customer review by WallyWorldJulie

3.0 stars 9/24/2010 by WallyWorldJulie
by WallyWorldJulie

I loved this fridge at first. I have it under my desk at work. I have had it for 2 years, now going on my 3rd summer. Until about a month ago, it kept everything very cold, and the temp maintained around 40 degrees. Lately it hasn't been any lower than 60 degrees so I don't know if something is not working right or what. I like the fact that it doesn't have a freezer to defrost like others, and the light inside is very nice since it is in a dark spot under my desk. Be sure to keep it about a foot away from the wall or it will overheat and stop cooling. I've had this happen twice, I think it just inches its way back on the tile toward the wall every time I close the door. Nice size, and was great for a couple years. I won't be storing dairy or meat in it any longer than just until lunch time anymore though...

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWorldJulie
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shhhhhhh
4/23/2010

Customer review by Grandma5Lu

5.0 stars 4/23/2010 by Grandma5Lu
by Grandma5Lu

I bought this for my new office and am really enjoying it. I've got my creamer as well as bottled water staying quite cold. I do like the light...I've got it in a dark corner so it does help! Price was right and I'm really happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandma5Lu
Northeast Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
get the same one for $10 less
12/11/2009

Customer review by nrkster

4.0 stars 12/11/2009 by nrkster
by nrkster

This fridge is fine however it is the same product as the Haier listed on the walmart site with a black and decker label stuck on it. This unit is probably made by the same company that makes the Haier model, in fact the black and decker box was in a Haier box when i picked it up from the walmart ship to store desk. It is fine. Like most other small cube refrigerators.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nrkster
Pleasantville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Black & Decker Compact Fridge Dead after 4 months
4/12/2011

Customer review by TXHorseTrader

2.0 stars 4/12/2011 by TXHorseTrader
by TXHorseTrader

If you need a fridge for 4-5 months and just feel like getting rid of some hard-earned cash, then this is for you. If you are like the rest of the world and expect a $70 compact fridge to last 3-4 years then look at another product. Worked great while it worked and then suddenly died for no reason.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXHorseTrader
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you like it a little cold...
11/10/2010

Customer review by RobsReview

2.0 stars 11/10/2010 by RobsReview
by RobsReview

Bought the fridge from walmart 37' advertised. Well yeah, if you run it empty for 6 to 10 hours. It will reach that temp. After 3 months of use it failed to reach that temp anymore. Norm temp is 55'. Not happy. Called company they are replacing it for 14.99 shipping charges. It has two cooling units and I think one of the two failed on my unit. It uses about 115 Watts while running (24-7). It is quiet, and cool to the touch. It recommends 4 inches from wall for ventilation. Even new, it took a day for the stuff to cool off to a low, nice temp. But now. Eh. It is using a new technology to cool the stuff. If I had to do it over I would go with the old style with the mini freezer on the top. You can fit 6 two litters, and about 6 slimfast size cans in it. Not to shabby on space. But the cold factor can be A LOT BETTER.. Owned for 3 1/2 months & at 55.4's Not too cool.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobsReview
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good...for a while.
7/15/2010

Customer review by Warrior09

3.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Warrior09
by Warrior09

Bought this fridge for my dorm room. At first it kept things cold as expected, however, around March all of my food spoiled and I couldn't keep milk in it for more than 2 days without going bad. By then end of the school year the only thing I could keep in it was bottled water. I would recommend it for short time and minimal use only.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Warrior09
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect
7/15/2011

Customer review by GmasCakes

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by GmasCakes
by GmasCakes

This little fridge is great-there is no ice compartment so the inside is as big as the size of the unit. It holds a lot for such a small fridge and is so quiet, I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GmasCakes
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
To keep or send back
11/23/2009

Customer review by Eaglechick

3.0 stars 11/23/2009 by Eaglechick
by Eaglechick

I love this fridge..however it took forever to get cold and then it will warm up....thinking about returning it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eaglechick
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
7/27/2010

Customer review by TJS17

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by TJS17
by TJS17

I bought this fridge for my bedroom and it works great. It keeps my water nice and cold. The price is fantastic. If you need a fridge for your office, room, or dorm, then this is it. There is no freezer in it which is nice. You don't have to worry about thawing it out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJS17
Pe Ell, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews