Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-9 of 9 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

It's OK
5/20/2010

Customer review by UVA1

4.0 stars 5/20/2010 by UVA1
by UVA1

I just used it for the first time and the battery didn't last as specified in manual. Battery lasted no more then 1.5 hours on and off and I charged it for 11 hours as said in manual. Also Manual says that a green light will tell you when the battery is charged, well there is no green light, just red light. The next day I charged it for 20 hours just to make sure, and still no green light came on. If you have a BIG flower bed with lots of bushes, you will need to buy an additional battery.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UVA1
Humble, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
needs extra battery
6/12/2010

Customer review by scraggly

3.0 stars 6/12/2010 by scraggly
by scraggly

agree with other review that this needs an extra battery, luckily i had 2 from my 18 volt drill that fit this. Battery included comes uncharged so be prepared to charge for a day before you can use this after buying. Also if you dont charge the batteries regurally like the power wheels cars during winter, you might need to buy a new $40 battery next year. Plenty of power to cut through thick branches but just like a cordless drill thay should have included a spare battery so you dont get halfway through cutting bushes and have to wait until the next day to finish. Was only able to cut about 6 bushes using a fully charged old battery from my 1 yr old cordless drill.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scraggly
lagrange, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not good for standard hedge trimming
7/10/2010

Customer review by dubblebubble

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by dubblebubble
by dubblebubble

Bought this to go along with my other B&D 18V power tools. However, this product was used about 8 times and now instead of trimming the hedges with clean cuts, it rips or strips the leaves and leaves the stems hanging. I wouldn't expect the hedge trimmer to need a blade sharpening after only one or two summers of use. If it does, then poor design of a product. Waste of money. I'm going to replace it with a Ryobi cordless.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dubblebubble
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
B&D 18V 22" Cordless Hedge Trimmer
12/9/2010

Customer review by GMoney108

4.0 stars 12/9/2010 by GMoney108
by GMoney108

The B&D 22" Cordless Hedge Trimmer is good for small jobs. It's lighweight and fairly easy to handle. The blade casing has gone cheap big time with just a plastic sleeve (previously it came with a hard plastic case to ensure the teeth were never exposed). The weight balance has not changed and can still use a little improvement; however, this would come at the cost of increased weight to the unit as a whole. For bigger jobs you should definitely invest in a gas powered unit. The run time of a single charge is about 45 mins and I recommend you have at least one spare battery.B&D now has a new Smart Battery providing more consistent run time (see my review on Battery for details) on a single charge.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GMoney108
Macomb, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great little hedger!
8/22/2010

Customer review by Duncan

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Duncan
by Duncan

Bought this battery operated hedger mainly because it complements other B&D tools/18V batteries I use. The battery usually runs down before you finish around your house, but with back-up batteries it works fine. Great not having to drag a cord around! Buy it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duncan
Yulee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
B&D Hedgehog 22" 18-Volt Cordless
5/17/2012

Customer review by Ebonywood

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Ebonywood
by Ebonywood

I purchase this power tool to trim my hedges and price you can't match (unless giving as a gift that is). Theres plenty of cutting power from the tool, I was able to trim without any problems

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ebonywood
Denver, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good, but limited...
4/1/2012

Customer review by CCTNJ

3.0 stars 4/1/2012 by CCTNJ
by CCTNJ

The cordless battery is very convenient, but the battery charge does not last long. Expect to do about 10 plants/bushes at a time. Battery takes a long time to recharge, 6-9 hours. If you have a lot to do, plan on doing it over a number of days.....cuts good, enough power for until the battery weakens.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCTNJ
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great without the cord!
9/28/2010

Customer review by Dirtbag2

4.0 stars 9/28/2010 by Dirtbag2
by Dirtbag2

Love not having a cord to deal with. Battery Charging: After 36 hours I gave up on the "green light" coming on. Not a bad unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dirtbag2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/8/2012

Customer review by jewce

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by jewce
by jewce

This hedge trimmer does a good job and is compatible with my other 18-volt batteries from my other black and decker products, so i can trim my whole yard without worrying about my battery running out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jewce
Boston,Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week