Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
76
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 stars
7
1-20 of 195 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews
Love it, but a few tips!
12/28/2009

Customer review by JustAMomFromPA

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by JustAMomFromPA
by JustAMomFromPA

I read a lot of negative reviews before purchasing this dollhouse, but I decided to purchase it anyway...mainly because it made me nostalgic of the dollhouse a friend of mine had when I was young. It was a bit pricey, but I got it when Toys R Us offered the free remote control corvette..so it was a great deal as my daughter loves it. We bought this for Christmas for my 3 year old daughter. My husband and I put this together on Christmas Eve and I have to say, yes the instructions are horrible. The most difficult part is the elevator. But just look at the picture on the box to guide you and pay attention to the columns. Some have slots for the elevator to slide up and down. Once you have strung the elevator, if it seems like the string is tight..make sure that the roof is on tightly and that will give you a little more leeway. There are working sounds and lights through out the house. On the 1st floor- the door bell rings, the chandelier lights up and the refrigerator lights up. We had a problem getting the chandelier to come on (as did many people), but found that you just need to make sure the chandelier is in tightly and properly. Also make sure you install the door tightly as well. There is a button in the top hinge that activates the chandelier when the door is open..so if it is not in good it will not work right. On the 2nd floor- the television pops up, fireplace lights and crackles, the shower makes water sounds and you hear Barbie singing and the toilet flushes. We had a problem with the fireplace. The Tv popped up when we pressed the button, but no light or sound from the fireplace. It seems that the fireplace is not completely installed. Check to make sure it is fitting snugly against the wall. There is a button behind the fireplace mantle that actives the lights and sounds. Click it into place so it is snug against the wall wand your lights and sounds should work. However if you are like us..once we did that the TV wouldn't pop up right. If that happens just fool around with it a bit to get the TV back on its track and you should be good to go. On the 3rd floor- the jacuzzi does not actually work unlike some of the pictures may lead you to believe. There is no bubbling mechanism. It does however hold water and the Tiki lights do work. The batteries for the Tiki lights were included, but I had to provide the ones for the house (I think 3 AA). Overall I think the house is really great. I think it was very sturdy unless your child plans to climb on it. No different from any other dollhouse made from Barbie. I was actually very pleasantly surprised at the space. There is plenty. I didn't expect the floors to be so wide. It is very tall and I don't think it will be very easy to take a part once put together, so make sure you pay attention. It is a beautiful house that best of all comes fully furnished. The furniture is not the greatest, but still nice. There are a lot of little pieces for the kitchen and bathroom, but you can always put them away like I did if you don't want your child to have them yet. If you want a beautiful house for your daughter with lights and sounds..buy it, follow these tips and I don't think you will be disappointed. I hope this helps someone!

Was this review helpful? (502) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustAMomFromPA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Puchase
10/27/2009

Customer review by WMCustomer46176

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by WMCustomer46176
by WMCustomer46176

We purchased this Barbie Townhouse for our daughters for Christmas, we decided to open it prior because of hearing the fireplace doesn't work properly. We found that there was a button on the back of the fireplace to turn it on. Overall I believe it is an excellent product. The girls will get a blast out of it, plus it is as tall if not taller than our children. There is plenty of room for two children to play with the house at the same time. We really enjoyed the fact that it was fully furnished.

Was this review helpful? (149) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WMCustomer46176
Shelbyville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
HOW TO FIX THE FIREPLACE...
12/27/2009

Customer review by ADeerandaCat

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by ADeerandaCat
by ADeerandaCat

The Townhouses have ONE FLAW: the fireplace is not hooked up completely, resulting in no sound or lights. The button on the front of the fireplace will activate the lights, the crackling and release the t.v. to go up. THIS IS WHAT YOU DO: If the fireplace can lean forward and you can fit your finger behind to press the button to activate the lights/crackling, then, it is off the hooks (2 in back). Get a flashlight, see where the two hooks are behind it? Gently, try to manuever the fireplace back onto the hooks by pushing the BACK side of the house with your left hand, and pushing the fireplace up and against the wall with your right. It may take a few tries, but eventually, it WILL CLICK COMPLETELY INTO PLACE. Then the button will work. Also, if the chandelier doesn't work properly, gently take it out and, using a flashlight, line up the prongs in the ceiling with the prongs in the chandelier, and replace. It can be perfect, just make sure things are lined up. It sits nicely next to our old Dream House.

Was this review helpful? (161) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADeerandaCat
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Good Buy
8/13/2009

Customer review by Chandelier

4.0 stars 8/13/2009 by Chandelier
by Chandelier

This dreamhouse cost me 170$ with shipping and tax. I advise anyone wanting it quickly to just go with the regular shipping, do not pay extra for shipping, because I did not pay extra, I ordered it on Thursday evening and it got to me Monday evening via UPS... Yes, I would recommend this to friends. Pros: Barbie looks very stylish in her house. She can actually sit at the kitchen table. The sounds are pretty realistic, my daughter loves the sounds. Cons: Barbie gets stuck in the elevator going up, it isn't very big. And it already is showing some wear, it sometimes doesn't quite line up with the floors exactly. Also I don't like how it doesn't have stairs, we just pretend there are invisible stairs bc it's kind of a pain.. Oh, set up time was probably 45 minutes, not that difficult I gather from watching my husband put it together. This completes my 5 year old daughters barbie ensemble. Overall I am mostly happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (77) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chandelier
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OMG! Fantastic!!
8/14/2009

Customer review by widowmother

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by widowmother
by widowmother

I got this for my daughters 4th bday. She discovered it one day so I gave it to her early. I thought for 2 days before buying this because of the price! This is the best toy I have ever gotten. The shower, toilet, doorbell, light, fireplace etc... All work great... For the price I am SO glad I got this. Alot of the furnitre is oversized so no choking. Alot of the little things are SO little that I was not to worried when I saw then, just look at each piece to make sure for yourself. I cannot believe I spent that much $$ on one thing, now I am SO glad. I called the 1-800 # on the package just to tell them thank you for it! P.s... This is past my hips - taller then my almost 4 year old!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
widowmother
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Great house!
8/5/2010

Customer review by lemonmom

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by lemonmom
by lemonmom

The house is awesome my 4 year old loved it! however her father wasn't real thrilled with the directions, there was fuzzy black and white pictures, but other wise its great! took about and hour to set up even with the stickers. she is rough on toys but she hasn't tore it up at all!

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lemonmom
Mt.Vernon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6 yr old daughter loves it !
8/27/2009

Customer review by luvpaints

4.0 stars 8/27/2009 by luvpaints
by luvpaints

Bought this for my 6 yr old daughters birthday. She absolutely LOVES it ! The house is very large and easy for her to use. Had trouble with the leg of the chair to the dining table - it was crooked and when tried to straighten it broke. Super glued and taped back together - still works. Can't get the fireplace to light and crackle as stated. Overall though - small issues didn't matter to my daughter - she loves the house. The elevator is definitely a big hit !

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvpaints
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A lot of money for plastic, but our kids love it
12/31/2009

Customer review by ChloeAndKatiesMom

4.0 stars 12/31/2009 by ChloeAndKatiesMom
by ChloeAndKatiesMom

Santa brought this for our girls (ages 6 & 2 1/2) for Christmas. They were SO excited about it...and LOVE it. The Zhu Zhu pets invaded almost immediately and seemed to enjoy the amenities as well. However, while setting this up the "wallpaper" was already starting to get wavy and wasn't sticking well to the wall, and the railing to the porch was almost too long for it and fit in funny. I also had to push the fireplace in to make it work because it had come loose in shipping. The chandelier comes loose every so often, so we just keep pushing it in. The shower sounds work, you just have to push kind of hard on the floor. THERE ARE SOME EXTREMELY SMALL PARTS!!! I couldn't believe it but Barbie actually gets a toothbrush...I could barely hold it, it was so tiny. She also has a bottle of perfume that is probably half the size of a pencil eraser. We immediately got a plastic tub to keep these pieces in because they will be gone when it comes time to sweep. The directions are ridiculous. You will be better off searching for the shapes on the bottoms of the white pieces. All in all, the kids love it. I think it is a heck of a lot of money for a hunk of plastic, but the things I have issue with they haven't noticed. They are enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChloeAndKatiesMom
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Biggest waste of money.
9/24/2011

Customer review by MelisaS3044

1.0 stars 9/24/2011 by MelisaS3044
by MelisaS3044

I am honestly surprised this has had so many good reviews. The dollhouse furniture is dollar store quality. My girls are 4 & 6. And they hardly play with it bc majority of the furniture has broken or has just fallen apart. I am constantly fixing everything. I wish I would have spent my money on a quality wooden dollhouse. I beg you not to waste your money on this house or you to will be disappointed. Mattel swung and missed. They need to get together with kidkraft and find out how to build a quality wooden dollhouse. Until then. I am never purchasing another Barbie plastic piece if junk again. I wish I could have given it 0 stars.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelisaS3044
Ocoee, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Barbie 3-story Dream Townhouse
7/28/2010

Customer review by Nana2Anna

2.0 stars 7/28/2010 by Nana2Anna
by Nana2Anna

For the price this dollhouse doesn't seem to be a good value. It is not very sturdy and some of the features do not work properly. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nana2Anna
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Barbie Townhouse
1/12/2011

Customer review by Misery1

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Misery1
by Misery1

This product was very disappointing on the first day my granddaugter played with this townhouse it broke. The elevator was the first thing to break. Not to mention the furniture and other pieces are junk plain and simple. It is almost like Dollar Store toys. This is way to expensive for one big plastic mess. Sorry very unhappy about this don't waste your money. Spend a little more on something worth while like a wooden doll house.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Misery1
Elizabeth, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wish I had this when I was little!
7/15/2010

Customer review by TheQuietThinker

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by TheQuietThinker
by TheQuietThinker

Having girls is great! I get to spoil them with all the things I wish I would have had when I was their age. The Barbie house is so cool! All the parts were there & working. Took my husband about 1/2 hr and just a little cussing to get it together. Daughters have been playing with it since. You dont have to buy anything extra to fill the house (except the Barbies) because it comes with furniture & food. Just needs 3 AA batteries. Slim and light, so it can be moved around easily.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheQuietThinker
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
B-day present
10/17/2009

Customer review by DEgrandmother

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by DEgrandmother
by DEgrandmother

This dream house keeps my granddaughter busy for hours. She loves it!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DEgrandmother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Barbie 3-story doll house
1/24/2010

Customer review by TappinToni

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by TappinToni
by TappinToni

My granddaughter, who is 6 years old, was elated with her Barbie Doll House. Her parents were also impressed. I was very satisfied with this product. My granddaughter is having the best time with it. So many little extras on it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TappinToni
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Very disappointed
9/4/2009

Customer review by MamiP

3.0 stars 9/4/2009 by MamiP
by MamiP

It's a beautiful doll house but the fireplace and chandelier did not work. So if you buy it I suggest putting batteries in it and testing all the sounds and lights before you build it. We are returning this item tomorrow and hoping the next one we order will be fully functional.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamiP
Would recommend to a friend? No
Daughter still loved it!
10/1/2009

Customer review by LookedAdorable

3.0 stars 10/1/2009 by LookedAdorable
by LookedAdorable

The Barbie house looked adorable! My daughter just loves it she plays with it every morning and every night. The house was not hard to but together just MANY very small pieces. The only prob that I am having with it is the fire place does not make any sound, the chandelier does not work and falls out all the time, and the kitchen chair was not made correctly and the front legs had to be put on backwards. I would exchange it, but I think it would be to much of a hassle to load up and take back to the store. So other than the little problems my daughter has not even noticed. IT IS ADORABLE!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LookedAdorable
Humble, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not really what I thought it was gonna be...
7/5/2011

Customer review by Minaminx

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Minaminx
by Minaminx

came with broken pieces, and missing pieces. and really wasn't was great as I thought it was going for be for how expensive it is.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Minaminx
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly surprised
1/13/2010

Customer review by Leener1

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Leener1
by Leener1

My husband and I bought this for our 10 year old daughter for Christmas (from Santa). It took about 1/2 to 1 hour to set up. The directions were quite easy. Our daughter absolutely loved it!! she plays with it everyday. She has even gotten her 13 year old sister to play every now and then. My favorite part is the shower. You push a button and you hear the shower and Barbie singing in it! There were many buttons to push that we were still finding! Truly worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leener1
Camillus, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super Doll House
11/12/2010

Customer review by SewingThings

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by SewingThings
by SewingThings

Love this Barbie House! This one is really great and I bought it for my own use. I also have some of the Vintage Barbie houses and this one compares with them. Got lots of Barbies and I feel like a kid again while playing with them. Highly recommend Adult women get this house. You can add lots of other Barbie furnishings and choose the poseable Barbies to fit perfectly in this house. Now there is a problem with the fireplace. I have discovered if you press the back side of it and press the button it will light up and make crackling noises. The lighted whirlpool tub is just great. Highly recommend this toy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewingThings
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/29/2010

Customer review by ajl007

2.0 stars 12/29/2010 by ajl007
by ajl007

Very disappointed in the price compared to the way the product performs. Lighting doesn't work well Elevator doesn't work well Not what i expected for the price

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajl007
Corbin Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews