Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 27 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
5/29/2009

Customer review by franklin3517

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by franklin3517
by franklin3517

I read on other sites that it is a bear to install, it is. It took me longer to install this unit than any other. The outside support brackets are a joke, so I made my own, and everything is screwed from the inside out. Once you get it mounted, it works great. A lot quiter than my old unit, and it is 11o volt, so no need for rewiring.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
franklin3517
Athol Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOOKS NICE/WORKS NICE NICE : )
5/17/2009

Customer review by 1967Apple

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by 1967Apple
by 1967Apple

I purchased this unit in April 2009. In the star rating category I marked this unit as a “good” for Meeting Expectations simply because after I installed it and turned it on it worked great, but the real test won’t be until this summer. It took me 2 and ½ hours from start to finish installing this unit in my window. This unit is pretty big so make sure you read the dimensions on Walmart web site. This unit does use a regular three pronged outlet plug so don’t worry about wandering if it’s like your washing machine because it isn’t. My advice is to make sure you have the time to do this installation without any distractions. Read the instructions carefully. The screws for the top and side curtain brackets are to be mounted from the inside out (look at the pictures in the instruction booklet). All of the screws are hidden in a bag inside the 2 metal brackets. Keep in mind that you will be removing the entire air conditioner from its metal protective box/frame. It will slide out if you remove the screws like the instructions tell you. Once the unit is removed you now have an empty shell to work with. This makes it very convenient for installing the side and tope brackets as well as taking the shell and installing in the window for mounting. I had to use a 2X4 (piece of wood) on the exterior of the window for supporting the 2 outside brackets. This unit has very nice features and I am glad I purchased it. I thought the price was reasonable and if it covers the square footage as advertised I will be a very happy customer this summer.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1967Apple
Old Saybrook, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best Unit found
5/29/2009

Customer review by BigEd1956

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by BigEd1956
by BigEd1956

I have tried a couple units in this area of my home. By far this unit exceeds my expectations on cooling. This unit cools 3 rooms (1000 sq. ft.) and I am very happy with it!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigEd1956
Brazoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better cooling than expected
8/26/2009

Customer review by camsaunt

4.0 stars 8/26/2009 by camsaunt
by camsaunt

The 15,000 BTUs cools our 2600sf two-story house better than expected. We augment the circulation with fans. Unit was relatively easy to install. But, the instructions were VERY poorly written. I requested help via email and the response was not helpful and very slow in coming. There was no one available to speak with on the phone. It took me about 5 hours total to install but I was able to complete the job by myself (54 yr female) except for inserting the interior into the shell. The unit is very large and the brackets that came with didn't work with my window style. So I simply added two legs for added support (see photo). I ordered on-line and it took about 10 days to arrive at my Walmart. The assistance at the store was great! I'd recommend that Frigidaire arrange to have actual knowledgeable people available to answer installation questions on the phone or write better, detailed installation manuals. Thanks a bunch to Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camsaunt
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/7/2009

Customer review by picklestfc

4.0 stars 6/7/2009 by picklestfc
by picklestfc

The good: Works very well to cool our 960 sq foot single-story townhouse. Energy saver and auto fan settings are quite useful. (Yes, the fan does turn on every 5-10 minutes to allow the thermostat to cycle, but we don't find it disruptive.) The bad: Installation instructions are very poor, but the actual installation, while time consuming (three hours) was not painful. We did use additional brackets and build a brace to ensure solidity of the installation. The remote has poor range and therefor the remote thermostat sensing feature is not as useful as I'd hoped. Summary: Overall a great value. Cools well. Plan to have a couple of people during installation and handy skills are a must.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
picklestfc
Pacific NW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
It works for me
6/16/2009

Customer review by ttww22

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by ttww22
by ttww22

purchase the unit for a tenant who had center air and replace it with this unit, the tenant informed me that the house stays cool and the remote and controll temp. works great

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ttww22
Natchez Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The answer to HOW TO ENJOY YOUR SUMMER INDOORS
8/7/2010

Customer review by Tryingtofindanickname

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by Tryingtofindanickname
by Tryingtofindanickname

This air conditioner is all the positive things enumerated in the advertisements and the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tryingtofindanickname
DuBois, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/6/2010

Customer review by lawyerr

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by lawyerr
by lawyerr

This product is all that it said it would be.It installed with little or no effort and it preforms as well as it looks.when it reaches the temperature you set it for it shuts down and restarts when the temperature raises it comes back on.I use it to cool 3 large rooms and it does it with ease. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lawyerr
Swanton,Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Cool!!! ;)
8/11/2010

Customer review by Grumpyoldwoman

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by Grumpyoldwoman
by Grumpyoldwoman

As expected, this unit was not easy to install. It took my husband and I a couple of hours. Once we got it installed, however, it works great. It took quite a while to cool the house down from the temperature it reached while we were installing the unit, but since then it has been great. We have been having triple-digit temperatures and 110+ degree heat indexes. My old A/C (a 10,000 BTU unit) could not keep up, but this unit keeps the 600 sq. ft living room cool on the hottest days, and in the evenings and overnight when outside temps drop into the 70's, it cools almost the entire (1600 sq. ft.) house with the aid of a couple of fans for air circulation. My house is quite old and not very energy efficient, but this unit does a very good job of keeping us cool in spite of the old glass single pane windows and air leaks. What it will do to the electric bill remains to be seen in spite of its Energy Star rating, but having our living room in the 70's instead of the 80's is probably worth it regardless. If you need to cool a large area and your best reasonable option is a window unit that will run on a regular 110/115v outlet, I highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grumpyoldwoman
Cleveland, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased!
8/19/2009

Customer review by frugalcountrygirl

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by frugalcountrygirl
by frugalcountrygirl

I'm completly pleased with this A/C. It only took my son about an hour to install- & its VERY stable. He did attach the outside bracket to a 1x4 to make it more secure. It's quite & I really enjoy the remote. It's kept about 15 feet away & I can see if the temp needs to be adjusted(no need yet) I have an open kitchen, dining & living area (about 450 sq. ft.) & set the temp at 80 during the day. Since that area doesn't need to be as cool overnight, I set it at 84 before going to bed. It takes little time in the mornings to get back down to 80. With it nearly 100 degrees daily here, I'm pleased also that the compressor doesn't come on that often, either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frugalcountrygirl
Sealy, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cool
8/20/2009

Customer review by PennyWisePoundFoolish

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by PennyWisePoundFoolish
by PennyWisePoundFoolish

I have 2 floor, 3000 sq ft house. This cools the entire thing. No need to central air.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PennyWisePoundFoolish
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for the price!
7/7/2010

Customer review by gaktx

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by gaktx
by gaktx

Very impressed with the unit overall. Not exceptionally quiet so I put in a window not close to the tv. Keeps a 2 story living room with lots of windows SE exposure, kitchen, dining room, bedroom and bath cool in 90 plus Georgia heat! I love the remote. Took about 2 1/2 hours to install but not as difficult as I was expecting. It was a heavy unit but well worth it. Now I am cool -Ahhhh!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaktx
Lilburn, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleased with this product
8/30/2009

Customer review by BusterBrowngoestotown

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by BusterBrowngoestotown
by BusterBrowngoestotown

Price...excellant with rollover sale pricing Installation: Directions could be clearer with more definitive pictures for clarification of screws and where they go. Performance: Excellant I have 1400 sq ft and open construction cools beyond my expectations. Use a fan to help move the cooled air to bedrooms. Overall I am more than pleased to be able to have a constant temperature in the house on hot days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusterBrowngoestotown
Mount Vernon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent AC
5/3/2010

Customer review by Paito

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Paito
by Paito

This is oneof the best window ACs outthere, cools entire second floor of my house, very energy efficient i program it and is starts to run 30 minutes before we walk in the house and its perfect by the time we go upstairs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paito
Morristown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
7/16/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After having read previous reviews before purchasing, I was hoping that this unit would at least keep a couple of rooms cool, since our central air has gone out. We have a very open floor plan, with at least 1200 square feet of our 2027 square foot home completely open, with valuted ceilings. We have been amazed that this unit has kept our den/kitchen/and office cold, and the living room/dining room area cool. It has been a life saver. My husband did, however, have to brace up the unit, as we live in a modular home, but luckily, he's very good at that sort of thing. I would recommend this unit to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good value!
7/15/2009

Customer review by Fordman1971

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by Fordman1971
by Fordman1971

This is a very good value. Save time and engineer your own supports. It does take time to install but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fordman1971
Hartville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unbelievable
7/18/2010

Customer review by GMOLUV

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by GMOLUV
by GMOLUV

I purchased this unit for my two bedroom apartment. I was just hoping to keep one home comfortable. Turns out this unit keeps the entire apartment constable. During the recent heat wave in New York City when temperatures stayed in the 100°. My apartment felt like it was in Alaska. Very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GMOLUV
Bronx, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/15/2009

Customer review by josarasmom

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by josarasmom
by josarasmom

Air conditioner is working great. Cooling 3 rooms of second floor and removes humidity efficiently. Some reviews thought it was loud. I don't think so. I am quite pleased and COOL!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
josarasmom
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product...
7/24/2010

Customer review by GVivz

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by GVivz
by GVivz

Awesome product! I have used the 12, 8, and 6 BTUs from GE and Frigidaire and the 15 from Frigidaire sets the bar!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GVivz
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
7/31/2010

Customer review by samcdc

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by samcdc
by samcdc

I love this air conditioner; it replaced a much larger unit and it is doing a much better job of cooling the first level of the house. I love too that it cycles on and off when it reaches the programmed temperature! The remote is great! Thanks to all the previous reviewers who mentioned the need to be handy in order to install, as I was forewarned. Takes about an hour, but it looks great and really meets expectations. Delivery was prompt and my boxes arrived in perfect condition from the very efficient delivery company (nice, friendly guys from Baltimore). Arrived just before the 100 degree days of heatwave!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
samcdc
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews