Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 27 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Better cooling than expected
8/26/2009

Customer review by camsaunt

4.0 stars 8/26/2009 by camsaunt
by camsaunt

The 15,000 BTUs cools our 2600sf two-story house better than expected. We augment the circulation with fans. Unit was relatively easy to install. But, the instructions were VERY poorly written. I requested help via email and the response was not helpful and very slow in coming. There was no one available to speak with on the phone. It took me about 5 hours total to install but I was able to complete the job by myself (54 yr female) except for inserting the interior into the shell. The unit is very large and the brackets that came with didn't work with my window style. So I simply added two legs for added support (see photo). I ordered on-line and it took about 10 days to arrive at my Walmart. The assistance at the store was great! I'd recommend that Frigidaire arrange to have actual knowledgeable people available to answer installation questions on the phone or write better, detailed installation manuals. Thanks a bunch to Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camsaunt
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good AC
8/3/2009

Customer review by Luke1975

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by Luke1975
by Luke1975

This AC works as I expected. The sound is about that same as any other window AC I have used. Uses normal 120 outlet. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luke1975
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/29/2009

Customer review by franklin3517

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by franklin3517
by franklin3517

I read on other sites that it is a bear to install, it is. It took me longer to install this unit than any other. The outside support brackets are a joke, so I made my own, and everything is screwed from the inside out. Once you get it mounted, it works great. A lot quiter than my old unit, and it is 11o volt, so no need for rewiring.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
franklin3517
Athol Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOOKS NICE/WORKS NICE NICE : )
5/17/2009

Customer review by 1967Apple

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by 1967Apple
by 1967Apple

I purchased this unit in April 2009. In the star rating category I marked this unit as a “good” for Meeting Expectations simply because after I installed it and turned it on it worked great, but the real test won’t be until this summer. It took me 2 and ½ hours from start to finish installing this unit in my window. This unit is pretty big so make sure you read the dimensions on Walmart web site. This unit does use a regular three pronged outlet plug so don’t worry about wandering if it’s like your washing machine because it isn’t. My advice is to make sure you have the time to do this installation without any distractions. Read the instructions carefully. The screws for the top and side curtain brackets are to be mounted from the inside out (look at the pictures in the instruction booklet). All of the screws are hidden in a bag inside the 2 metal brackets. Keep in mind that you will be removing the entire air conditioner from its metal protective box/frame. It will slide out if you remove the screws like the instructions tell you. Once the unit is removed you now have an empty shell to work with. This makes it very convenient for installing the side and tope brackets as well as taking the shell and installing in the window for mounting. I had to use a 2X4 (piece of wood) on the exterior of the window for supporting the 2 outside brackets. This unit has very nice features and I am glad I purchased it. I thought the price was reasonable and if it covers the square footage as advertised I will be a very happy customer this summer.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1967Apple
Old Saybrook, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best Unit found
5/29/2009

Customer review by BigEd1956

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by BigEd1956
by BigEd1956

I have tried a couple units in this area of my home. By far this unit exceeds my expectations on cooling. This unit cools 3 rooms (1000 sq. ft.) and I am very happy with it!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigEd1956
Brazoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/7/2009

Customer review by picklestfc

4.0 stars 6/7/2009 by picklestfc
by picklestfc

The good: Works very well to cool our 960 sq foot single-story townhouse. Energy saver and auto fan settings are quite useful. (Yes, the fan does turn on every 5-10 minutes to allow the thermostat to cycle, but we don't find it disruptive.) The bad: Installation instructions are very poor, but the actual installation, while time consuming (three hours) was not painful. We did use additional brackets and build a brace to ensure solidity of the installation. The remote has poor range and therefor the remote thermostat sensing feature is not as useful as I'd hoped. Summary: Overall a great value. Cools well. Plan to have a couple of people during installation and handy skills are a must.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
picklestfc
Pacific NW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
No Complaints!
5/30/2010

Customer review by 2Mustangs

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by 2Mustangs
by 2Mustangs

Using Walmart's site to store shipping cost me nothing so the money savings has already started. I like that this unit is 110V so I didn't have to have an electrician install a 230V outlet. The installation was a little tricky and it did take at least three hours. But once installed the unit has performed flawlessly. The power saver setting is a great feature that I really like. On a 97 degree day this unit was filling our home with 48 degree air. I am using this unit to suplement my central air conditioner to help lower my utility bills. So far I have notice that my central unit does not run nearly as much and when it does it doesn't run for nearly as long. I was very pleased with how low my last electric bill was and my family has been complaining about how cold it is in the house. Summer is just ramping up here in the south but I know we will be more than comfortable and my electric bill will not be going through the roof. I like this unit and I am very please with its performance and how quiet it is when the unit runs. Freinds don't even notice that the unit is in the window and that it is running.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Mustangs
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Cool!!! ;)
8/11/2010

Customer review by Grumpyoldwoman

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by Grumpyoldwoman
by Grumpyoldwoman

As expected, this unit was not easy to install. It took my husband and I a couple of hours. Once we got it installed, however, it works great. It took quite a while to cool the house down from the temperature it reached while we were installing the unit, but since then it has been great. We have been having triple-digit temperatures and 110+ degree heat indexes. My old A/C (a 10,000 BTU unit) could not keep up, but this unit keeps the 600 sq. ft living room cool on the hottest days, and in the evenings and overnight when outside temps drop into the 70's, it cools almost the entire (1600 sq. ft.) house with the aid of a couple of fans for air circulation. My house is quite old and not very energy efficient, but this unit does a very good job of keeping us cool in spite of the old glass single pane windows and air leaks. What it will do to the electric bill remains to be seen in spite of its Energy Star rating, but having our living room in the 70's instead of the 80's is probably worth it regardless. If you need to cool a large area and your best reasonable option is a window unit that will run on a regular 110/115v outlet, I highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grumpyoldwoman
Cleveland, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works for me
6/16/2009

Customer review by ttww22

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by ttww22
by ttww22

purchase the unit for a tenant who had center air and replace it with this unit, the tenant informed me that the house stays cool and the remote and controll temp. works great

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttww22
Natchez Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased!
8/19/2009

Customer review by frugalcountrygirl

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by frugalcountrygirl
by frugalcountrygirl

I'm completly pleased with this A/C. It only took my son about an hour to install- & its VERY stable. He did attach the outside bracket to a 1x4 to make it more secure. It's quite & I really enjoy the remote. It's kept about 15 feet away & I can see if the temp needs to be adjusted(no need yet) I have an open kitchen, dining & living area (about 450 sq. ft.) & set the temp at 80 during the day. Since that area doesn't need to be as cool overnight, I set it at 84 before going to bed. It takes little time in the mornings to get back down to 80. With it nearly 100 degrees daily here, I'm pleased also that the compressor doesn't come on that often, either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frugalcountrygirl
Sealy, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
7/31/2010

Customer review by samcdc

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by samcdc
by samcdc

I love this air conditioner; it replaced a much larger unit and it is doing a much better job of cooling the first level of the house. I love too that it cycles on and off when it reaches the programmed temperature! The remote is great! Thanks to all the previous reviewers who mentioned the need to be handy in order to install, as I was forewarned. Takes about an hour, but it looks great and really meets expectations. Delivery was prompt and my boxes arrived in perfect condition from the very efficient delivery company (nice, friendly guys from Baltimore). Arrived just before the 100 degree days of heatwave!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
samcdc
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
7/16/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After having read previous reviews before purchasing, I was hoping that this unit would at least keep a couple of rooms cool, since our central air has gone out. We have a very open floor plan, with at least 1200 square feet of our 2027 square foot home completely open, with valuted ceilings. We have been amazed that this unit has kept our den/kitchen/and office cold, and the living room/dining room area cool. It has been a life saver. My husband did, however, have to brace up the unit, as we live in a modular home, but luckily, he's very good at that sort of thing. I would recommend this unit to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleased with this product
8/30/2009

Customer review by BusterBrowngoestotown

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by BusterBrowngoestotown
by BusterBrowngoestotown

Price...excellant with rollover sale pricing Installation: Directions could be clearer with more definitive pictures for clarification of screws and where they go. Performance: Excellant I have 1400 sq ft and open construction cools beyond my expectations. Use a fan to help move the cooled air to bedrooms. Overall I am more than pleased to be able to have a constant temperature in the house on hot days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusterBrowngoestotown
Mount Vernon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
7/7/2010

Customer review by gaktx

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by gaktx
by gaktx

Very impressed with the unit overall. Not exceptionally quiet so I put in a window not close to the tv. Keeps a 2 story living room with lots of windows SE exposure, kitchen, dining room, bedroom and bath cool in 90 plus Georgia heat! I love the remote. Took about 2 1/2 hours to install but not as difficult as I was expecting. It was a heavy unit but well worth it. Now I am cool -Ahhhh!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gaktx
Lilburn, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fridgedaire 15,500 BTU
8/3/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/3/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Product came in with broken tabs on front plastic cover, instalation directions, not specific enough, poor diagrams, and lacking pertinent information ie: which screws to use with which parts. The unit worked perfectly for 1 week, in 1 weeks time it has I believe lost some of its refridgerant, because the unit does not put out air as cold as it did a week ago.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/6/2010

Customer review by lawyerr

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by lawyerr
by lawyerr

This product is all that it said it would be.It installed with little or no effort and it preforms as well as it looks.when it reaches the temperature you set it for it shuts down and restarts when the temperature raises it comes back on.I use it to cool 3 large rooms and it does it with ease. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawyerr
Swanton,Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
the pleaser
6/6/2010

Customer review by repollo45ataolcom

4.0 stars 6/6/2010 by repollo45ataolcom
by repollo45ataolcom

I've have had many A/C's but none gave me quick satisfaction than this one. My living room is 14' by 18' which icludes a dinning area of10' by 12'. This A/C is not designed to cool an area this size, but believe me..it does the job of 22,00BTU's A/C. It is very quiet and yes, it can be plugged in any regular 3 prong outlet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
repollo45ataolcom
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unbelievable
7/18/2010

Customer review by GMOLUV

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by GMOLUV
by GMOLUV

I purchased this unit for my two bedroom apartment. I was just hoping to keep one home comfortable. Turns out this unit keeps the entire apartment constable. During the recent heat wave in New York City when temperatures stayed in the 100°. My apartment felt like it was in Alaska. Very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMOLUV
Bronx, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/1/2010

Customer review by hatetheheat

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by hatetheheat
by hatetheheat

This is an excellent item. It cools fast, not too heavy and gotta love a remote. It was alittle bit of a pain to put the top and side guides on but with alittle patience we managed. I love the .97 shipping right to my home. Great overall price. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatetheheat
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent AC
5/3/2010

Customer review by Paito

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Paito
by Paito

This is oneof the best window ACs outthere, cools entire second floor of my house, very energy efficient i program it and is starts to run 30 minutes before we walk in the house and its perfect by the time we go upstairs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paito
Morristown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews