Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

82 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

82 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 69 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Best Bang for Buck in a Baby Box
8/26/2009

Customer review by eb110americana

4.0 stars 8/26/2009 by eb110americana
by eb110americana

If you need a powerful unit that is of the smaller window-mount standard size and don't want to spend too much, this is it. My room is 175 square feet and this is about right to keep it cool in Los Angeles heat (old house, no insulation). It will keep things cool all day, but takes a few hours after being started to drop the temps. Mine is mounted on its side in a vertical window (not intended for this purpose, but it works exactly the same, just make sure the water condensation drains away from the house and does not pool inside the unit). ============================================= PROS: ------- -Quiet AC compressor (not audible over fans) -Remote control (great range!) -Timer for when to turn on -Air ionizer means no nasty sweat-sock smells from the evaporator or stale air in a closed room. -3 fan speeds -Power saving mode shuts off fans most of the time when not needed -Keeps the room cool all day long -No bad vibrations, rattles, or other imbalanced noises ============================================= CONS: -------- -3 fan speeds are medium, loud, and louder. It moves air, but why does it need to be so loud?! Needs a quiet mode. -Packaging is horrible, only a few small chunks of foam at the corners. My unit was dented but works, so I didn't want to wait for a replacement one to ship. -Ionizer setting must be activated every time you turn it on (also cannot be turned on via remote) -Screen filter access door is clunky and will not open all the way for easy cleaning -Takes too long to cool a hot room when first turned on (no different from other units, I would guess) -Timer is too dumbed down. Needs a real thermostat that allows hours of daily operation, but this will do.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eb110americana
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent A/C
5/11/2009

Customer review by rcc775

5.0 stars 5/11/2009 by rcc775
by rcc775

This A/C unit works great. The energy saving features are a wonderful plus, the remote works great, and it was simple to install! I cool my 1400 square foot with this little cooler so it's somewhat overwhelmed on hot days, but overall I'm more than satisfied. I would highly recommend this unit. There are two items to note: this unit is quite loud regardless of fan speed, and the user's manual is rather sad and lacking in description. If neither of these are an issue then get this unit for sure!

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rcc775
Tonopah, NV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Efficient Air Conditioner
6/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great product, fair price, so far excellent performance. Highly rated by Consumer Reports and me! Easy set up, fits new replacement windows in older home. (1920 era). Not too heavy to lift. Reviews by prior purchasers accurate, used their opinions to influence purchasing this unit. No disappointments. Happy with Site to Store option, online and local store.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8000 BTU Frigidaire AC window unit
6/21/2009

Customer review by mikey4300

4.0 stars 6/21/2009 by mikey4300
by mikey4300

The unit cools quite well, was easy to assemble and is easy to operate. The filter is easy to remove for cleaning. The directional vents are pretty limited and the unit is quite noisey, which most window units are. Overall the unit is quite adequate for it's intended purpose. With the use of ceiling fans the unit is able to keep a small 2 bedroom home quite comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikey4300
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice a/c unit
4/23/2010

Customer review by RADDAD1958

4.0 stars 4/23/2010 by RADDAD1958
by RADDAD1958

I have been checkinig online review sites and Consumer Reports reviews for mounths. Although this was the second choice for C/R , If you are on a budget like most of us , This is the perfect unit. Almost no shipping fees to home( none for store pickup) . A little louder than I expected but on energy saver and auto fan you get use to it quickly. Installed myself in about 15 mins, Good manual detail.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RADDAD1958
Berlin,Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Loud!
6/28/2009

Customer review by shopping130

2.0 stars 6/28/2009 by shopping130
by shopping130

This air conditioner is VERY loud. I had to return it because it was ALWAYS loud. It didn't matter if you were in AC-low, med., high, or in FAN- low, med., high; it sounded exactly the same and it was extremely loud! Also, it didn't turn off when it reached desired temperature. The remote was confusing and the manual had poor directions.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopping130
Would recommend to a friend? No
Still iffy and deciding.
5/1/2010

Customer review by 1Soul4Hire

3.0 stars 5/1/2010 by 1Soul4Hire
by 1Soul4Hire

Delivery was fast. Received product in less than a week after I ordered it. Replaced it with an older air condition which required A LOT of modification because this unit in much smaller. I liked that it comes with a remote and and tells you when you need to change the filter, so the options it offers is great. I however do not like the fact that it is almost as loud as the one it replaced. I do not like that it is taking it forever to cool down. It sorta seems that just the fan is running. Also when I received the product you could tell that it must have been dropped on its way to me because it was dented in several places and the back of it, all the metal looked as if it had been rolled down a hill. I desperately need an air condition or else I would have probably been returning it. I just think that for the money I could have got a way cheaper one that would work just as well. I live in a single wide mobile home and have it placed in the smallest room and even after an hour of running it seems to be the same temperature as when I installed it. Honestly I just don't know.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Soul4Hire
Asheville, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed With All
6/20/2009

Customer review by VizioFan1

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by VizioFan1
by VizioFan1

Ordered on Thursday, was at my front door the next day via UPS. Installed the unit, and find that it is easy to operate, and the performance is more than what I had expected for the money. Would highly recommend this unit, as well, buying from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VizioFan1
Bullard, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Average Product
6/25/2010

Customer review by PalmTreeFL

3.0 stars 6/25/2010 by PalmTreeFL
by PalmTreeFL

Eh...it's ok. Pros: 1) Blows very cold, takes about an hour or two to cool my 300 square foot room down to 68 degrees. Nice. 2) Remote is nice to have to control the settings from the bed. 3) Features (clean air, energy saver, timer, etc.) Cons: 1) Like all the other reviewers said, it is loud. You get used to it...I leave it on all night now and sleep pretty well, it either drowns out the silence or all the other noise, depending on your setting. 2) I guess what upsets me is that after it is done cooling and the compressor shuts off, the fan stays on. I haven't figured out how to have it shut off completely when it reaches the right temperature. So the fan is on all night and the compressor kicks in every now and again to cool down if necessary. 3) The compressor turning on/off is noticeable, I hear a thump. 4) The remote thermometer and the unit thermometer always register different temperatures! And you have to press a button on the unit to find out what the actual temperature in the room is...by default the unit shows what the temperature is set to, not what it is. Overall, I'm going to keep it, it's a good value for the money if you can put up with some of its quirks...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PalmTreeFL
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cools but ...
6/10/2009

Customer review by Mish1426

4.0 stars 6/10/2009 by Mish1426
by Mish1426

This product was very economical. It cools very well but ... definitely purchase some ear plugs or ask guests or family members to speak up because it is VERY noisey. Small price to pay for the cooling. Definitely a good purchase for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mish1426
Nashua NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good buy
5/25/2009

Customer review by juicer1984

5.0 stars 5/25/2009 by juicer1984
by juicer1984

I am pleased with my air conditioner, except that it is very loud, even on low.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
juicer1984
pomeroy, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Air Conditioner
5/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The only complaint was the order processing time. It takes two days and when you pay for overnight delivery you are not really getting it overnight even if you order early morning. About product the fan is louder than some other air conditioners but it is good for me cause I have a loud neighbor above me. The remote is cheap plastic and doesn't seem like it will last long. Also should be simpler it is a remote after all. The Air vents in front that you can move are a pain to point in the right direction. Overall the air conditioner it is very well put together and easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
danvers, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fast, effective, but noise is unbelievable
7/14/2010

Customer review by HagarTheHorrible777

3.0 stars 7/14/2010 by HagarTheHorrible777
by HagarTheHorrible777

On the upside, it works fast, and it works well -- no complaints there (haven't compared the bill against the unit it replaced, so can't speak to how energy efficient it is). The downside was almost a dealbreaker: this bad boy is LOUD. I'm a veteran Manhattan apartment dweller, so I'm no stranger to window units, and I know from A/C noise. I have had four other window units and none of them even approaches the decibel level on this thing. It's bad. You can't use a phone in the room when it's on, even on the lowest setting, and I have missed deliveries because I couldn't hear the door buzzer, which is ear-piercing, over the noise the unit makes. Doesn't seem to matter whether the compressor is running or not; it roars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HagarTheHorrible777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Power and efficiency
5/16/2009

Customer review by Swamiwii

5.0 stars 5/16/2009 by Swamiwii
by Swamiwii

Love this one too. Fully automatic, keeps the temp you set without running continuously to save energy. Easy installation...one person can do it. Quiet, and no rumbling when condenser comes on and off. Great value..energy saving appliance. Thanks Walmart...best price on internet on the 8000 and the 12,000..I am cooling my 900sq ft home with only these two!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swamiwii
homosassa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/29/2010

Customer review by hyphenate

3.0 stars 6/29/2010 by hyphenate
by hyphenate

I bought this unit with the idea that it would cool at least the living room and kitchen in my apartment (which are adjacent), and maybe the bedroom (across the hall). This seemed possible based BTU recommendations for our apartment's size, but in reality it was not possible. I would recommend this for just one room, perhaps smaller than my 17'x12' living room, as it has yet to get down to the 78 degrees I have on the thermostat. The instructions are also no help if you have a metal frame for the window and storm window as we have in our apartment. We had to just wing it, and it was a pain to install. I wish I had gotten the 10,000 BTU for only $20 more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hyphenate
Would recommend to a friend? No
8,000 BTU Fridgidaire A/C w/ Remote
5/21/2009

Customer review by HED920

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by HED920
by HED920

I'm very pleased with this purchase. It cools my dining room and living room with ease. I keep a fan blowing for better circulation (though it really isn't necessary) so even the kitchen gets cooled. I like the timer feature very much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HED920
Voluntown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Loud
7/22/2009

Customer review by Burton168

1.0 stars 7/22/2009 by Burton168
by Burton168

This unit is louder than the 20 year old unit it replaced. I like the remote. It's energy star rated. I hope to save some money. Haven't had it long enough to find out. It cools my 12'X16' bedroom great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burton168
Butron,MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
6/17/2010

Customer review by KissMeSilly

1.0 stars 6/17/2010 by KissMeSilly
by KissMeSilly

This air conditioner is very, very loud when on. In order to sleep at night, I have to turn the unit off. Very disappointed with this product and wish I would have kept my old unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KissMeSilly
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Three Year Life
5/25/2011

Customer review by Make em like u use 2

1.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Make em like u use 2
by Make em like u use 2

I purchased an 8000 BTU in 2003. When I installed it in 2007 (would have been its fourth year) it would no longer work. After sweating for over a month I received this unit (faa086p7a) as a replacement. It is now 2011, and it no longer works. It appears that these units have an almost exact three year life span, at least in my experience.

Make em like u use 2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best bang for your buck
5/28/2010

Customer review by HamptonRoads

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by HamptonRoads
by HamptonRoads

I purchased this unit to carry me over until I was able to replace my central ac unit. I am really impressed with this product. It cooled my 500 square foot bedroom down nicely. I'm sure it could take care of the average size condo easily. I'm glad I ignored the other reviews/complaints about how loud it is. It is no louder that any other ac unit. It was an easy decision for me, "be hot" or "hear the unit running". The choice is yours. Be sure to read the directions about the remote sensing feature carefully. I believe that feature makes a difference in the performance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HamptonRoads
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews