Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
44
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
Great Product
11/13/2009

Customer review by AmeliasFunMom

5.0 stars by AmeliasFunMom

My daughter is 2.5 and she loves this. Her attention span isn't very long yet but she will play with it for about 15 minutes. We have a couple of the books. I keep it in the car so she can play with it while we are out running around. It is also fun because you can record their name so when they turn it on it says "Hello Amelia". She has really started to interact with it by answering the questions it asks too.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AmeliasFunMom
Lenexa, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!
12/1/2009

Customer review by BradfieldsWife

5.0 stars by BradfieldsWife

I'm very excited for my daughter to use this. I took it out to have it ready for her birthday and was surprised at everything it can do. I would have been happy with just reading books but it does a lot of additional sounds and games. You can also print activities out from LeapFrog Connect as you read the different books. The only complaint I have is the plastic screw on the back. It's the only plastic one on the whole thing but it's the one you'll have to remove and replace the most because the USB port and batteries are both behind the back cover. I broke it the first time I tried to close it and am now waiting to hear back from LeapFrog. FYI, there's only a 3 month manufacturer's warranty.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BradfieldsWife
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Birthday Present!
11/7/2010

Customer review by homeskoolmama73

5.0 stars by homeskoolmama73

I bought this for my daughter for her birthday. I was excited to get it working before I wrapped it, because knowing my 2 year old, she would want it from the get go. I was surprised to see all that this does and it really holds her attention. She loves to hear her name when it turns on/off. She loves going through each book finding all the spots that make noise and play music. She is interacting with Elmo and Dora, laughing and nodding. She loves this toy. I love that she is learning so much at 2!! Very easy to install. ( I am not the most gifted computer person, and I had it going in 10 minutes.) Hope this helps! We have enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
homeskoolmama73
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Learning Toy!
1/6/2010

Customer review by jmwz23

5.0 stars by jmwz23

After testing a sample book in the store, I bought the Tag Junior Book Pal for my 2.5 year old nephew for Christmas. He wasn't sure about it at first (it just looked like a book to him), but after a minute of watching me play with it (which I enjoyed!) he crawled up on my lap. A minute later he was laughing like crazy and showing me where he wanted me to put the sensor. I gave it to him and he had a great time listening to sound effects. At his age he avoided the text areas that would tell the story and went for the musical sound effects. But that shows he was listening and making choices as to what he wanted to hear. I hope that he will eventually listen to the prompts to touch certain things out of the Book Pal rather than listening to me repeat them to him as I did on Christmas. They come out very clearly. The book that comes with the Pal is only a sample book- it is a little shorter than a regular book. It is pre-loaded onto the Pal though, so there is instant gratification after inserting batteries (other books need to be loaded into the Pal using a computer). We also bought the Curious George book to go with it. I am curious to see if his parents use the software to track his progress and see which sensors he likes to use over and over again (the sound effects) and which ones he doesn't (the text) to help them interract with him and the books. I am not sure why there are two different colors- perhaps to encourage gender identification of the toy? We bought the purple because it was in stock and then exchanged it for a green one at the store. My husband was nervous that because this one was purple and featured a girl on the box it would look like we'd bought a girl's toy for him. The green one has a boy on the box. I saw no difference in the toy regardless of color and gender of the child pictured on the box. I raved about this gift to my mother, and she has bought one for another nephew who is turning 2.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jmwz23
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Its Great
3/5/2011

Customer review by anewell122

3.0 stars by anewell122

We bought this for my 3 year old for christmas, and she loves it. We got 7 books to go with it. She loves reading with it and exploring the books. I just wish that it would store more books to memory, we can only load 5 books to it at a time and she wants to read them all so I am constantly deleting one book to put another one on. Over all though its a great product and supports learning and quit time. We love it around this house.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
anewell122
Larned KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good for older kids
7/26/2010

Customer review by jiji20102010

4.0 stars by jiji20102010

i bought this for my two year old and its just sitting in its carrying case...maybe because he is two, but he just kept banging the thing, i was afraid he'd break it ...so i put it away, definetly for older kids....

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jiji20102010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasting Entertainment
12/26/2010

Customer review by EducatorJenn

5.0 stars by EducatorJenn

I love this product more than I thought I would, and I had high expectations! I didn't realize the amount of interaction that exists within each page of the books. I have found myself playing with it more than my 22-month-old. She does love it, though. She's still getting used to using the controller. Right now, she likes to slam it down. The only slight downfall is that you can only load five books at a time into the controller. If you really want to inspire a love of reading, you will have to reprogram it frequently to change books. I don't see that as a big inconvenience because my daughter will take time to master each book anyway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EducatorJenn
New orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Defective unit
12/25/2010

Customer review by zygran

2.0 stars by zygran

Very disappointing to receive an irreparable error message on Christmas Eve when trying to download the audio books I had purchased. Child did not have for Christmas present. Will be returning and will not replace.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zygran
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken BookPal
12/10/2010

Customer review by Monkeypoo

5.0 stars by Monkeypoo

Great educational toy. I bought this toy for my grandson Christmas 2009. He has used it only several times because he is now 2 1/2 and can better understand this toy. Now that he understands, the toy will not work. It is less than one year that he has had it. He did enjoy it while it worked.

Monkeypoo
Endicott, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We love the TAG JR!
12/13/2010

Customer review by daisygirl

5.0 stars by daisygirl

My SIL was the one who introduced me to this product and my son loves it. My 3 yr old son loves being read too but he also loves the independence of being able to go get his books and read to himself. I love the TAG JR. because he can turn it on and off himself and when I cannot read to him he can still enjoy a good book. I also love the fact that now when we take long car trips to Nana's house (3 hour drive) he reads books. I just got my younger sister hooked on it also. Her daughter had one but she wasn't sure how it worked (my sister did not realize how easy it was to download the books, etc.) I showed her recently and her daughter loves to read her books to her mommy. In fact my neice is no longer a 'must have DVD on while in the car' kind of kid anymore. I too wish it held more than 5 books...but really 5 books is plenty for my son to carry around in his bag. You can change out the books that are downloaded in the TAG JR. so it is like have new books all the time.

daisygirl
houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My daughter loves it!!!!
12/16/2010

Customer review by MommyOfTwoLittleOnes

5.0 stars by MommyOfTwoLittleOnes

my daughter got this for her 2nd birthday and absolutely loves it!!! she loves carrying it in her purse along with her books everywhere she goes. what ever it is we are doing if it gets too boring for her she will pull it out and be entertained for a while. I love that its a book entertaining her and not a movie or video game!

MommyOfTwoLittleOnes
COLTON,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Durable learning fun
12/28/2010

Customer review by Sprinkles

5.0 stars by Sprinkles

I bought this for a 2 and a half year old boy along with the Cars, ToyStory, and Dora Tag Jr. books. This is his first Leapfrog toy. He quickly learned how to turn it off an on. He likes to stick his finger in the hole in the bottom where the "eye" is but this did not damage the toy. His favorite book is Cars, which is about shapes. He will grow into the other books soon and likes to explore with his Tag Jr. The carry case makes an excellent bag to keep all the books and toy in the same place. TIP: I downloaded all the books onto the Tag Jr. before giving them as a gift. This way, the toy is ready to go the moment it is in his/her hands.

Sprinkles
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing product- great value!
12/30/2010

Customer review by HomeschoolMom

5.0 stars by HomeschoolMom

I bought this for my 2-yr-old to play with while I homeschooled our other children. This is such an amazing and fun product. The only thing I would change about it is the volume. Even turned all the way up, it is still too quiet. However, my house does probably get louder than most with 5 little ones always running around. The books are exciting, educational, and very colorful! We also bought the case to carry it all in and love it too! Additionally, it is very durable! It has already taken a couple tumbles down our steps and still works just fine. The Tag Jr will hold 5 books and the sample book that comes with it. I do wish it held more because I do see us wanting to expand our books in the future but for now I think it will do just fine. Overall a great product & we are very pleased!

HomeschoolMom
Sissonville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT
6/15/2011

Customer review by Vanessa

5.0 stars by Vanessa

Just buy this. There's nothing to say any more. Good educational product for your child. It's not just reading the books. It gives you lots of different exercises just as finding 2 windows from the pictures, animal sounds, etc. Just buy it and have fun!

Vanessa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2 1/2 year old loves it!!
4/5/2012

Customer review by jtchil

5.0 stars by jtchil

I bought this for my daughter because she was always trying to play with her brother's TAG pen. I have not even given her a real book yet, she played with the sample book for about 90 minutes today! She loves her "puppy." As a former teacher turned homeschool mom, I am excited to give her something educational to do while I teach her older siblings. We have been thrilled with every leapfrog purchas so far :)

jtchil
San Antonio Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product for kids
8/30/2012

Customer review by daddio1

5.0 stars by daddio1

This was an excellent choice for my 2 year old daughter. She loves books and with her new Tag Junior she can play by herself and learn things in a new way. Her face lights up every time we get the books out and begin. She's learning more and more on what her colors are, numbers, and abc's, and just really enjoying it.

daddio1
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My baby loves her Mini-Scout!
9/29/2012

Customer review by Raloine

5.0 stars by Raloine

The best thing about this product would have to be that she picked up her scout leap pal and then her stuffed scout doll and it was apparent she could tell they were the same type of thing because they sound similar. She already loves scout so I don't even need to turn him on and she will happily carry the "mini scout" around the house with her. If you take advantage of all the different options there are a lot of kewl things you can do with it. There is limited memory, but I just rotate and keep the non-downloaded toys out of reach.

Raloine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for little hands
10/24/2012

Customer review by jodie

5.0 stars by jodie

got this for my 3 year old granddaughter and she loves it along with the book and case. it is easy for her to hold on to and moves with the motion that a 3-4 years can control. will be buying more of these for the other grandkids.

jodie
salina kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tag Junior Book Pal
11/16/2012

Customer review by minnie123

5.0 stars by minnie123

Looks great, I purchased it for my Grandson along with 33 of the Books. He'll be receiving it at Christmas. My Daughter was very happy with everything, especially several of the books. It made for and Excellant Christmas Gift !!

minnie123
Mandan, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product
11/27/2012

Customer review by Gandpa

5.0 stars by Gandpa

When my Grandson, who is only 16 months got this product it took him about 2 minutes to navigate what is was for.

Gandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 73 total reviews