Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

118 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

118 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 104 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews
Pleasantly surprised!
7/3/2009

Customer review by 3chisandababy

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by 3chisandababy
by 3chisandababy

I purchased the Tag Junior and a few of the books for my sons second birthday. He absolutely loves it! It's a great learning toy that says so many different things in each book, it's really astounding! He was able to learn how to use it after me showing him just once. It's a great toy to bring on the go or to restaurants to keep him occupied. I would definitely purchase again. The only downside I thought was the small selection of books available to go with the system, and the cost of each of them. I was also disappointed that the carrying case has to be purchased separately.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3chisandababy
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/3/2009

Customer review by BellevueMom27

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by BellevueMom27
by BellevueMom27

I love this little toy. I bought this for my 1 year old on his birthday. He's a little young for it but it gets him interested in reading and loves that the book talks to him.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BellevueMom27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great early reading system!
11/18/2009

Customer review by CarterHsMom

4.0 stars 11/18/2009 by CarterHsMom
by CarterHsMom

We got this for my son's 2nd birthday. He has had it for about 4 months now and really enjoys it. This is especially great for car trips - he'll spend a long time in the car reading his books. It's also cool to go online and see as a parent what he has mastered and what he is interested in. I didn't give it a full 5 stars b/c I think they need more books and need to make the books with a little more depth. For instance, when they move the Tag Jr. from image to image it would say different things and connect things in a more complicated way after the child has mastered the easier task.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarterHsMom
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
daughter loves it!
10/25/2009

Customer review by xtrenmom

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by xtrenmom
by xtrenmom

My daughter got this today as bday gift-she is three years old. She loves it! I was able to download the stories w/o even needing the instructions. It's so much better to download the stories instead of having the keep up with cartridges. It's very educational and fun!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xtrenmom
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful!
7/20/2011

Customer review by Tryxie

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by Tryxie
by Tryxie

I got this for my daughter's 2nd birthday; now she's 2-1/2 and is really getting into it! She absolutely loves it and I think it is very age-appropriate. You will need basic computer knowledge to be able to set this up, so if you are computer-challenged you might need someone to help set it up. It comes with a USB cord and you will need to plug it into the computer and go to their website to download dialogues for up to 4 or 5 books at a time. After set up is complete, your toddler can touch the tag jr pal to ANY part of the book (including front or back cover, any picture, any word) and it will play music, say phrases, or read the words on the page. I like this feature because my daughter doesn't always understand that she has to touch the words; she can touch any part of the page and it will play something. I bought 5 books and there was enough room on the device to store the dialogues for all 5 books. When I get different books, I will have to connect it to the computer again and delete a book that she doesn't read anymore and replace it with a new one. It takes 2 AAA batteries and it's lasted for 9 months and still going strong. It's very durable too. My daughter has dropped it, thrown it, stepped on it etc and it still works with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tryxie
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Do not buy this product if u have a Mac!!!
3/13/2011

Customer review by chili5

1.0 stars 3/13/2011 by chili5
by chili5

It is not possible to use this with a Mac. I spent days! on the phone with them trying to get rid of the error "lego" which appears when you try to download books or personalize it. I even wrote to tech support and they returned with the oomment that it doesnt work with a Nokia browser. I use Firefox, not Nokia! So even their tech support didnt understand the situation and couldnt solve the problem. l I'm an experienced Mac user and computer guru. I suggested they change their product specs which state that it is compatible with macs. TRUST ME, THIS WILL NOT WORK ON MACS!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chili5
Newport Bech, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
12/26/2009

Customer review by NakaviaJ

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by NakaviaJ
by NakaviaJ

I never knew I had to download the audio for each book from their website. I know now! Anyhow, it's great anyway because it doesn't take long to download. ****If your computer doesn't recognize the toy in your USB drive- it's not because you have VISTA (the leapfrog connect software works well with Vista). You have to look CAREFULLY at the type of LeapFrog Connect that you're trying to download.**** For instance, if you have a Tag JUNIOR you're trying to connect, make sure it says (LeapFrog Connect-TAG JR). Other wise it will not recognize your toy- and you won't be able to download audio to the toy! Once you download the correct software to your computer, the software will instantly recognize the toy plugged into your USB and you then follow the prompts and so on. Once you do this it takes a few very short minutes to download audio to the toy and that's it! A good toy- but you just have to keep downloading audio with each book you buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NakaviaJ
Debary, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Things to know before you buy...
6/11/2011

Customer review by motherofonecutie

4.0 stars 6/11/2011 by motherofonecutie
by motherofonecutie

I had seen the commercials and thought that the LeapFrog Tag Junior system would be great for my 15 month old. I checked the prices and saw that it was about $30, plus the books were about $11 each- ouch! I finally decided to purchase the book when I saw a $5 off coupon online and the local Walmart dropped the price by ten dollars. Not only was I able to get the Tag Junior for half MSRP, but our local big toy store had a moving sale and the books were 30% off. What a fantastic chain of events for us (Everything I purchased was about $35, but would have cost $63)! However, if this doesn't happen for you...then I don't know if you want to make the investment. My 15 month old is still a little too young (the suggested age is 2-4), but she does like "playing" with it. I thought the system was easy to set up online and load books on the account. Funny thing, when I bought the books on sale I wanted to get as many as I could (they are pricey for board books, but at least they would be useful with or without the Tag), but there were only three books left in the store. So GLAD that I did not buy more because once I loaded the book that comes with the Tag Junior and the three that I bought, the system was almost completely full. I was surprised at that. I thought there would be more memory so you could get more books. Apparently, you can get all the books that you want, but you have to take some off in order to put some others on and that seems like a let down to me to have to load, unload, reload books. If I had known that before, I don't think I would have made the purchase. The Tag Junior is fun and my daughter enjoys the "frog" and the books, but I wish that the system would let me load more books at once. I was going to request Tag Junior books as Christmas presents, but I don't know now...We may just ask for regular ones. I don't see myself loading and unloading and reloading books every time she wants to read a book that can't fit into the memory. Overall, it is a great educational toy. It is tough (she bangs it, drops it) and it is cute how it says her name. Her older cousins like to use it as well when they come over (they are six), but they probably wouldn't every day (since it is a little too young for them). All of the kids like the ability to put the tag on different pictures and how there are a couple different responses from the Frog. If you decide to buy it (buy it on sale- haha) but I am sure your child will have fun with it! PS- I didn't feel the need to buy the cute bag that they sell to keep the whole thing in one place (zippers are not too easy for her now), I just put the system in a little bucket or small library book bag. She loves carrying it around like that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motherofonecutie
spartanburg, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
wouldn't add books
11/11/2010

Customer review by mommybear2006

2.0 stars 11/11/2010 by mommybear2006
by mommybear2006

overall it was a great value i purchased it last year for my 3 year old daughter to help her get a jump start on reading....well the book it came with worked just fine as it was preloaded..i bought another book for it as well and no matter how many times i followed the instructions exactly or tried to "wing it" myself it would not work. to say the least i was quite upset as well as my daughter was frustrated to as it kept saying to ask a grown up to download it...after like 6 times of this i mind you this is what she thought the name of the book was. but the book that did work was very helpful and it worked very well as it should in helping in the starting process of reading.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommybear2006
Peckville,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Doesnt hold my sons interest.
12/15/2009

Customer review by nsj240

3.0 stars 12/15/2009 by nsj240
by nsj240

My son likes books, but would never sit down and let me read one to him. He'd rather be up and about, or looking at one on his own. He is very stubborn. I thought he would enjoy this as it is something he can do on his own & it talked back to him. When I got it home I immediately got it out of its packaging & he hated it from the get go. I showed him how to use it, but he just wanted to keep turning it on and off & wasn't interested that the pen talked to him. I've decided to get the leapfrog Clickstart or the Vtech Vsmile Tv learning system. He is interested in tv & the computer, and we do limit his tv time but I think either of these would hold his interest more so than this. However, If your child LOVES books & has a real interest then this would be great. I think my son would have been great with it if I had started him younger, possibly. I think if your child is 3+ then go ahead and start with the Leapfrog Tag.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nsj240
North Eastern, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very nice product
5/11/2010

Customer review by Danceswithwolvesfan

1.0 stars 5/11/2010 by Danceswithwolvesfan
by Danceswithwolvesfan

Its a hit with my grandson! He really enjoys it. Its very easy to use. A must for any little one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Danceswithwolvesfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product
1/10/2011

Customer review by mommyfirst722

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by mommyfirst722
by mommyfirst722

I bought this for my 2 year old son about a year ago and he loves it. He loves to read and this was a great way for him to read the books on his own. I recently purchased this for a friend of mine and she too says her son loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyfirst722
Orland Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for little readers!
12/22/2010

Customer review by Supercenter55

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Supercenter55
by Supercenter55

I bought this for my 2 yr. old nephew and am very pleased with my purchase. He loves to dace along with the songs! Will be perfect for in the car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Supercenter55
Bradford, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
easy to use
6/17/2011

Customer review by ms918

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by ms918
by ms918

I got this for my daughter for her 2nd birthday and she absolutely loves it! I only had to show her how to use it once and she had it down, and I was surprised how much that pen actually did! All you do is touch the elements on the pages and it starts talking (you don't have to follow along each word for it to read it). The only downsides I think were that 1. you have to program each book to the pen (not that big a deal though) 2. The pen only holds 5 or 6 books info (she got 10 for her birthday from family) 3. that it didn't come with the carrying case (but my aunt bought that for her). Overall, I give this an A++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ms918
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful!
1/3/2010

Customer review by MALeffler

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by MALeffler
by MALeffler

My 2-year old little boy really enjoys the Tag Junior. He got the "Cars" book with it - he is just amazed how it reads to him. I was also able to download his name onto the device, so it says his name whenever we turn it on and off. I love things that you can personalize! Both him and I really enjoy this product. I am planning on buying additional products as his grows up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MALeffler
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing learning tool
3/14/2010

Customer review by JmeeJmee

5.0 stars 3/14/2010 by JmeeJmee
by JmeeJmee

I purchased this for my 2 yr old daughter and she immediatly fell in love with it. I can already see my daughter learning so much and she loves using it. I was suprised how much she enjoyed it and how much educational value it pocessed. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JmeeJmee
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great tool to teach patience with reading
12/28/2010

Customer review by scorpette

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by scorpette
by scorpette

I bought this for Christmas for my almost 2 yr old grandson. He is not quite old enough for it yet but my son says it works great. You download the books onto your computer and then use the USB port to plug in the Leap Frog Tag. You then scan him across the book and it reads it to the child. I would say it would be better for an older 3 to 5 or 6 yr old. The books that you must have to go with this are $10 each and one book came with the Tag. This is an investment in teaching them to read but do be aware unless you just want the one book that comes with TAG you will be spending more money on additiional book. I look forward to my grandson growing into this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scorpette
Southwest Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
my 2 year old triplets love it
12/28/2010

Customer review by tripletmomjmk

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by tripletmomjmk
by tripletmomjmk

I love this product! I highly recommend it and my 2year old Triplets love it.. .I think on going to have to buy two more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tripletmomjmk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very cool
12/27/2010

Customer review by momsadvice

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by momsadvice
by momsadvice

My 2 yr old just loved this product. I only showed her once how to use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momsadvice
Gilcrest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
entertaining
1/13/2011

Customer review by SanJoseBound

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by SanJoseBound
by SanJoseBound

my 2yr. old loves it. you do have to spend time with the child or they will get lost because there are multiple activities to do. but great over all

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SanJoseBound
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews