Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 339 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

339 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

339 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
250
4 stars
60
3 stars
18
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 277 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Wonderful learning tool!!!
1/21/2010

Customer review by guapetona33

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by guapetona33
by guapetona33

This was a present for my 3 1/2 yr old daughter. She's been able to recognize the letters for a while now and knows all the sounds they make, but she hadn't even begun to start writing them yet. She's in preschool and she'd bring home worksheets where I could see they were trying to teach her to write the letters but she didn't seem to be getting it at all. This is definitely one of her favorite Christmas presents and she's still playing with it almost every day. She TOTALLY knows how to write a bunch of letters now, though! It's amazing!!! I'm sure that her preschool also helped some, but it's like this gave her the ability to do it with confidence (since she's just tracing over the lights) and it's a fun way like a video game. She still can't write all the letters, but she knows at least 2/3 I'd say and the best thing is she can write them in upper and lowercase, which is something my older daughter really struggled with since she only ever practiced capital letters. Her favorite thing to do while we're sitting in church now is for us to take turns drawing letters on each other's backs and then guessing which letter it was. I honestly can't believe how much this has helped her learn to write letters and it hasn't even been a month! There were 2 things that weren't what I was expecting when I got this, so I'll quickly share those, too. The screen that they write on is sort of like those old wax boards we had when we were kids (in pre magna doodle days =), where you'd write with the pencil onto the thin sheet on top and when you were done you'd lift it up to separate it from the piece underneath and erase it (hopefully you know what I'm talking about). When you move the slider across to erase it's separating a top layer of that type of thin paper stuff from the underneath. I don't mean it's wax underneath, but it just reminded me of those things. Like, for example, you can just use your fingernail to write on the screen instead of the pencil thing it comes with. It seems a little more fragile than a harder screen like a magnadoodle or the things you sign your name on in the grocery store credit card machines, but it's still okay, and because it's like that probably lends to the very low price. My kids are really rough on toys so they've been able to put a few minor indentations in it from pressing a ball point pen onto it (the pen marks washed/rubbed right off, though!), but it still works fine and isn't too distracting. The 2nd thing is because I thought it was more like a computer screen, I thought it would be able to know what the child wrote and say something like "great job!" if they traced it correctly or "try again" if they didn't. It doesn't know what they write so when they're done writing the letter and they press the little paw button to say they've finished it just says the letter and says the sound it makes. Then it tells them to use the slider to erase and points up for them to pick another letter. BTW, it has really great instructions in a clear, easy-to-understand voice which is nice because my daughter is never bringing it to me saying she doesn't know what to do next. My daughter loves writing notes for me now and when she asks me how to spell something and I tell her a letter she doesn't know how to write, she just pulls this over and uses it as a tool to learn how to write that letter! It's such a wonderful toy and I would highly recommend it! At such a low price, it's a perfect gift, too! I'm more than pleased with it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guapetona33
West Jordan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Awesome
9/26/2009

Customer review by TiffysMommy

5.0 stars 9/26/2009 by TiffysMommy
by TiffysMommy

We picked this item up for my 34 month old (almost 3), she has set and played with it for about 2 hrs and her tracing skills have improved 10x what they were before. It is awesome for anyone who is beginning hand writing or tracing skills. I want my daughter to have that little bit of advantage which im sure all parents do. But I would recommend this to anyone. So far i have NO downfalls to it, but it has went above our expectations for the toy, i already have this planned for Christmas gifts for a couple other kids i know.

Was this review helpful? (151) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiffysMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Beginners
3/27/2014

Customer review by wpababy

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by wpababy
by wpababy
Top 1000 contributor

This is a fantastic tool for kids to learn to write their letters. There are two levels: Level One shows the child how to draw the letter and then allows them to follow the dots to create the letter themselves; Level Two tells the child the letter, shows the blinking dot and encourages the child as they write the letter. The "pad" that they write on is merely a piece of plastic that sticks to the plastic behind it where the child draws the letter. A swipe of the bottom button clears the "screen" for the child to begin again. My kids really love it. The woman's voice is pleasant and very positive sounding. My first wish is that on Level Two the child didn't have to press the "Enter" button. The computer doesn't recognize the letter at all, so it's up to the child to either write the correct letter or scribble, and if they scribble- it can't tell. My second wish is that the child didn't have to select the letter- that it would encourage them through all of the letters. Other than that, my children like playing with it and they can follow along.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wpababy
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Love it!
7/13/2009

Customer review by closepin

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by closepin
by closepin

My daughter is 3 yrs old and loves to play with this product. You never know if they'll like it or not, but she does. She caught on pretty fast and has done a great job with the tracing the letters. I've worked with her with just paper and pencil/crayon and haven't gotten the success this has done. Highly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? (76) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
closepin
Altus, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LeapFrog scribble and write
5/12/2016

Customer review by Greatgrandma

4.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Greatgrandma
by Greatgrandma

This product came just as advertised. Although I haven't seen it being used by my great grandson I am sure he will enjoy the inter-action it offers as he begins to learn the alphabet and numbers and how to write them. This company offers SO many learning tools and each one I've seen , not only teaches but , makes learning fun.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greatgrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good game
9/15/2009

Customer review by MamaJess

5.0 stars 9/15/2009 by MamaJess
by MamaJess

This is a great first computer game. It teaches shapes, letters, and encourages drawing. The buttons are easy enough for my 23month old. She likes it, but doesn't really get it yet. My 5 year old plays with it and teaches my 23month old letters and shapes-VERY CUTE!

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaJess
Cartersville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good for early learners
5/10/2016

Customer review by ProudMommy29

4.0 stars 5/10/2016 by ProudMommy29
by ProudMommy29

We actually have two of these at my house. It does keep kids entertained for a while. I like that it helps them practice writing. It's also easy to travel with and ours has been everywhere. We even took ours on our road trip from ohio to Florida last summer. It is good for restaurants too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudMommy29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice learning tool
11/22/2010

Customer review by Niuxi

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Niuxi
by Niuxi

I purchased this item for my 5 year old boy and let me tell you that it was a good investment. My son is learning not only how to write down his letters, but also how to sound them out. He is practicing with games his alphabet. I would recommend this product! It is not expensive and the kids love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Niuxi
Burlington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Educational
12/28/2010

Customer review by MammasLove

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by MammasLove
by MammasLove

My 4 year old daughter loved this toy. She was having a little bit of difficulty getting her alphabet down. This toy helps them not only learn the letters but also helps them learn how to write them. I would definately recommend for any girl or boy who needs just that extra help with their ABC's.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MammasLove
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Needs supervision
12/29/2011

Customer review by JoJo2006

4.0 stars 12/29/2011 by JoJo2006
by JoJo2006

I bought this product for my 3 year old because she was having fun tracing over letters I drew at home with pencil. I love the step by step instructions ("start here, then draw a curved line to here"), and the options to learn upper AND lowercase letters, as well as basic drawing such as a zig zag line. My daughter loves the game option where she guesses what letter is showing up dot by dot, then draws the letter, then follows the blinking light to draw a picture such as a balloon or house. Some drawbacks are: (1) even on the lower level the product is very loud, but I fixed this by putting a piece of scotch tape over the speaker. (2) I thought the screen was like a Magna Doodle but it's more like the old fashioned static electricity writing tablets where you draw and then lift up the thin piece of clear plastic to erase your picture. (3) I wish it had numbers to learn to trace as well. (4) Biggest drawback: it can't sense if your child draws the letter correctly, so even if all she does is draw a straight line for a letter "M," if she presses the "paw" button it tells her good job and goes to another letter. That's why the product requires supervision to make sure your child is drawing the letters correctly. I didn't let her play with it on her own (like in her car seat for example) until I saw she was tracing over the lights and not just randomly drawing on it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoJo2006
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Learning Tool
12/27/2015

Customer review by EbonyJ

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by EbonyJ
by EbonyJ

I purchased this item for my 3 and half year old so that he can get started on his writing. This gives great step by step directions on how to write numbers, upper and lowercase letters. My sons has only had this for a day and he already cannot put it down. In addition to the teaching how to write it also is interactactive and makes the learning fun along the way by giving kudos and celrbrating alomg the way. Great purchase and absolutely worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EbonyJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds Expectations
8/6/2011

Customer review by AECHAM

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by AECHAM
by AECHAM

We recently purchased the Scribble & Write for our 2 year old son. He learned very early to recite and identify the alphabet. Because he is so young, we were only expecting this product to occupy him for a few minutes each day. After 4 days, he was on the path to tracing letters and loving it. This is an excellent learning tool--entertaining and educational.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AECHAM
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My daughter Loves It
9/18/2009

Customer review by Armywifenmotherof2

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by Armywifenmotherof2
by Armywifenmotherof2

I saw another girl get this for her birthday and all the kids seemed to want to play with this toy. So when my daughters birthday came I decided to get it for her as well. She loves this toy and takes it everywhere we go. Its small and easy to bring any where. I like that its also helping her learn her letters so not only is it fun its educational.

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Armywifenmotherof2
Fort Bragg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Teaching Tool
10/16/2013

Customer review by MsLadyred

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by MsLadyred
by MsLadyred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Grand-Daughter is in love with her birthday gift and its teaching her how too write.....So I'm pleased with my purchase...Thank you so very much walmart....

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsLadyred
Dayton OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome, Fun, Learning toy!
11/5/2010

Customer review by SouthernBelle1985

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by SouthernBelle1985
by SouthernBelle1985

My daughter received this toy as a present for her 3rd birthday, by her 4th birthday she was writing most of her letters. We upgraded to the LeapFrog text and learn for her 4th birthday it is a little bit more challenging but she loves it just as much.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernBelle1985
Pocahontas, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
MUST have for Pre-schoolers!
12/28/2010

Customer review by PhxMilitaryMom

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by PhxMilitaryMom
by PhxMilitaryMom

I was so amazed at the teaching system on this! Makes it so simple I think they should be used in teaching adults that do not kknow how to read or write! Fantastic!!! My G'daughter opened it before she opened her Barbie doll collection for Xmas, and she played with this more than the dolls since it is interactive and she liked the praise, noises and how easily she was able to write! And that is saying alot, she treasures her Barbie dolls above all. For under 20 bucks, you can't go wrong with this educational 'toy'.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhxMilitaryMom
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Teaches and is fun
5/10/2016

Customer review by Bcan

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by Bcan
by Bcan

Not only is it fun and interactive but it teaches your kid how to write letters and numbers. You can start at early as 2 years for this gift!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bcan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for Pre-K, and K children
9/4/2011

Customer review by ebula

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by ebula
by ebula

Easy for kids to excel at both letter and number writing. Has both upppercase and lowercase letters and includes games which engage, educate, and enrich your Pre-K or K child. Great for the car, the store almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ebula
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good but far from great...
9/15/2011

Customer review by Altutor

2.0 stars 9/15/2011 by Altutor
by Altutor

My wife and I liked the idea of having an interactive teaching method for writing letters and shapes. Our daughter, at 3, knows her alphabet and her shapes, but we wanted a tool to help with writing and drawing. This was perfect...until we started teaching her how to use it. For a 3 year old who is trying understand the concept of following the lines, the letters do not stay up on the screen long enough for her to grasp. I would probably clock the picture on the screen in at about 30 to 45 seconds. This is a learning tool. The letters/pictures should consistently be on the screen until the device shuts off or the mode changes. Just when I am getting into showing he the idea of following the lines, the picture shuts off. I have to then press the the letter on the keypad again, which initializes the whole process over again. It throws off rhythm to my teaching. The programmers should have given an unlimited time to each letter/picture. The time that is allotted is more suitable for a grade school child who already has the concept of writing letters, not for a beginner.

Altutor
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
My 3 yr old son loves this toy!
12/28/2010

Customer review by Jifners

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Jifners
by Jifners

My 3 yr old son may have ADHD and nothing keeps his attention for more than 5 seconds ( not kidding). He asks to take this toy to him every night at bedtime. He calls it his "game" and loves to learn to trace the shapes. We haven't gotten past shapes yet but he is doing really well so far. I am just so happy that it holds his attention for a good 10 minutes or so.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jifners
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews