Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 326 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

326 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

326 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
242
4 stars
56
3 stars
17
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 264 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews
Awesome Awesome
9/26/2009

Customer review by TiffysMommy

5.0 stars 9/26/2009 by TiffysMommy
by TiffysMommy

We picked this item up for my 34 month old (almost 3), she has set and played with it for about 2 hrs and her tracing skills have improved 10x what they were before. It is awesome for anyone who is beginning hand writing or tracing skills. I want my daughter to have that little bit of advantage which im sure all parents do. But I would recommend this to anyone. So far i have NO downfalls to it, but it has went above our expectations for the toy, i already have this planned for Christmas gifts for a couple other kids i know.

Was this review helpful? (147) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiffysMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
7/13/2009

Customer review by closepin

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by closepin
by closepin

My daughter is 3 yrs old and loves to play with this product. You never know if they'll like it or not, but she does. She caught on pretty fast and has done a great job with the tracing the letters. I've worked with her with just paper and pencil/crayon and haven't gotten the success this has done. Highly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
closepin
Altus, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good game
9/15/2009

Customer review by MamaJess

5.0 stars 9/15/2009 by MamaJess
by MamaJess

This is a great first computer game. It teaches shapes, letters, and encourages drawing. The buttons are easy enough for my 23month old. She likes it, but doesn't really get it yet. My 5 year old plays with it and teaches my 23month old letters and shapes-VERY CUTE!

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaJess
Cartersville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful learning tool!!!
1/21/2010

Customer review by guapetona33

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by guapetona33
by guapetona33

This was a present for my 3 1/2 yr old daughter. She's been able to recognize the letters for a while now and knows all the sounds they make, but she hadn't even begun to start writing them yet. She's in preschool and she'd bring home worksheets where I could see they were trying to teach her to write the letters but she didn't seem to be getting it at all. This is definitely one of her favorite Christmas presents and she's still playing with it almost every day. She TOTALLY knows how to write a bunch of letters now, though! It's amazing!!! I'm sure that her preschool also helped some, but it's like this gave her the ability to do it with confidence (since she's just tracing over the lights) and it's a fun way like a video game. She still can't write all the letters, but she knows at least 2/3 I'd say and the best thing is she can write them in upper and lowercase, which is something my older daughter really struggled with since she only ever practiced capital letters. Her favorite thing to do while we're sitting in church now is for us to take turns drawing letters on each other's backs and then guessing which letter it was. I honestly can't believe how much this has helped her learn to write letters and it hasn't even been a month! There were 2 things that weren't what I was expecting when I got this, so I'll quickly share those, too. The screen that they write on is sort of like those old wax boards we had when we were kids (in pre magna doodle days =), where you'd write with the pencil onto the thin sheet on top and when you were done you'd lift it up to separate it from the piece underneath and erase it (hopefully you know what I'm talking about). When you move the slider across to erase it's separating a top layer of that type of thin paper stuff from the underneath. I don't mean it's wax underneath, but it just reminded me of those things. Like, for example, you can just use your fingernail to write on the screen instead of the pencil thing it comes with. It seems a little more fragile than a harder screen like a magnadoodle or the things you sign your name on in the grocery store credit card machines, but it's still okay, and because it's like that probably lends to the very low price. My kids are really rough on toys so they've been able to put a few minor indentations in it from pressing a ball point pen onto it (the pen marks washed/rubbed right off, though!), but it still works fine and isn't too distracting. The 2nd thing is because I thought it was more like a computer screen, I thought it would be able to know what the child wrote and say something like "great job!" if they traced it correctly or "try again" if they didn't. It doesn't know what they write so when they're done writing the letter and they press the little paw button to say they've finished it just says the letter and says the sound it makes. Then it tells them to use the slider to erase and points up for them to pick another letter. BTW, it has really great instructions in a clear, easy-to-understand voice which is nice because my daughter is never bringing it to me saying she doesn't know what to do next. My daughter loves writing notes for me now and when she asks me how to spell something and I tell her a letter she doesn't know how to write, she just pulls this over and uses it as a tool to learn how to write that letter! It's such a wonderful toy and I would highly recommend it! At such a low price, it's a perfect gift, too! I'm more than pleased with it!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guapetona33
West Jordan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My daughter Loves It
9/18/2009

Customer review by Armywifenmotherof2

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by Armywifenmotherof2
by Armywifenmotherof2

I saw another girl get this for her birthday and all the kids seemed to want to play with this toy. So when my daughters birthday came I decided to get it for her as well. She loves this toy and takes it everywhere we go. Its small and easy to bring any where. I like that its also helping her learn her letters so not only is it fun its educational.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Armywifenmotherof2
Fort Bragg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Needs supervision
12/29/2011

Customer review by JoJo2006

4.0 stars 12/29/2011 by JoJo2006
by JoJo2006

I bought this product for my 3 year old because she was having fun tracing over letters I drew at home with pencil. I love the step by step instructions ("start here, then draw a curved line to here"), and the options to learn upper AND lowercase letters, as well as basic drawing such as a zig zag line. My daughter loves the game option where she guesses what letter is showing up dot by dot, then draws the letter, then follows the blinking light to draw a picture such as a balloon or house. Some drawbacks are: (1) even on the lower level the product is very loud, but I fixed this by putting a piece of scotch tape over the speaker. (2) I thought the screen was like a Magna Doodle but it's more like the old fashioned static electricity writing tablets where you draw and then lift up the thin piece of clear plastic to erase your picture. (3) I wish it had numbers to learn to trace as well. (4) Biggest drawback: it can't sense if your child draws the letter correctly, so even if all she does is draw a straight line for a letter "M," if she presses the "paw" button it tells her good job and goes to another letter. That's why the product requires supervision to make sure your child is drawing the letters correctly. I didn't let her play with it on her own (like in her car seat for example) until I saw she was tracing over the lights and not just randomly drawing on it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoJo2006
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very Educational
12/28/2010

Customer review by MammasLove

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by MammasLove
by MammasLove

My 4 year old daughter loved this toy. She was having a little bit of difficulty getting her alphabet down. This toy helps them not only learn the letters but also helps them learn how to write them. I would definately recommend for any girl or boy who needs just that extra help with their ABC's.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MammasLove
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice learning tool
11/22/2010

Customer review by Niuxi

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Niuxi
by Niuxi

I purchased this item for my 5 year old boy and let me tell you that it was a good investment. My son is learning not only how to write down his letters, but also how to sound them out. He is practicing with games his alphabet. I would recommend this product! It is not expensive and the kids love it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Niuxi
Burlington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Age Requirements set a bit low
1/15/2011

Customer review by 1Gramme2

3.0 stars 1/15/2011 by 1Gramme2
by 1Gramme2

My grandson had a scribbler that allowed free style draw/writing, he loved it. So when it finally broke I got him this one for his Third Brithday...he wants nothing to do with it. However, I'm so impressed with the features of this writer we're just going to put it up until he starts pre-school in a few months. His sister, age 2, wanted to draw on it, but was quickly fustrated that she couldn't use it like her free style writer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Gramme2
Henderson, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Very Good Teaching Tool
10/16/2013

Customer review by MsLadyred

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by MsLadyred
by MsLadyred

My Grand-Daughter is in love with her birthday gift and its teaching her how too write.....So I'm pleased with my purchase...Thank you so very much walmart....

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsLadyred
Dayton OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really great!
11/4/2013

Customer review by AJG2013

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by AJG2013
by AJG2013

We bought this product for our twin 5 year olds (just turned 6) as they have begun practicing to write letters in Kindergarten. They really enjoy practicing because it lights up and has very encouraging sounds. The writing tool is awesome because it helps reinforce pencil grip! Also, my 4 year old is very intrigued with it and loves to practice as well!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJG2013
Byram, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome, Fun, Learning toy!
11/5/2010

Customer review by SouthernBelle1985

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by SouthernBelle1985
by SouthernBelle1985

My daughter received this toy as a present for her 3rd birthday, by her 4th birthday she was writing most of her letters. We upgraded to the LeapFrog text and learn for her 4th birthday it is a little bit more challenging but she loves it just as much.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernBelle1985
Pocahontas, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My 3 yr old son loves this toy!
12/28/2010

Customer review by Jifners

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Jifners
by Jifners

My 3 yr old son may have ADHD and nothing keeps his attention for more than 5 seconds ( not kidding). He asks to take this toy to him every night at bedtime. He calls it his "game" and loves to learn to trace the shapes. We haven't gotten past shapes yet but he is doing really well so far. I am just so happy that it holds his attention for a good 10 minutes or so.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jifners
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeds Expectations
8/6/2011

Customer review by AECHAM

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by AECHAM
by AECHAM

We recently purchased the Scribble & Write for our 2 year old son. He learned very early to recite and identify the alphabet. Because he is so young, we were only expecting this product to occupy him for a few minutes each day. After 4 days, he was on the path to tracing letters and loving it. This is an excellent learning tool--entertaining and educational.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AECHAM
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very unsatisfied.
10/19/2011

Customer review by PrettyDonna

1.0 stars 10/19/2011 by PrettyDonna
by PrettyDonna

I bought this for my three year old and I thought it would help me teach him tracing and how to write his letters. And it is a good toy but, no matter what your child writes it will say your child did a good job. It isn't what I expected. I prefer toys that will say try again if my son gets it wrong. I am going to buy the v-tech version of this toy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrettyDonna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
MUST have for Pre-schoolers!
12/28/2010

Customer review by PhxMilitaryMom

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by PhxMilitaryMom
by PhxMilitaryMom

I was so amazed at the teaching system on this! Makes it so simple I think they should be used in teaching adults that do not kknow how to read or write! Fantastic!!! My G'daughter opened it before she opened her Barbie doll collection for Xmas, and she played with this more than the dolls since it is interactive and she liked the praise, noises and how easily she was able to write! And that is saying alot, she treasures her Barbie dolls above all. For under 20 bucks, you can't go wrong with this educational 'toy'.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhxMilitaryMom
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent for Pre-K, and K children
9/4/2011

Customer review by ebula

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by ebula
by ebula

Easy for kids to excel at both letter and number writing. Has both upppercase and lowercase letters and includes games which engage, educate, and enrich your Pre-K or K child. Great for the car, the store almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ebula
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product!!
11/4/2010

Customer review by Bunger418

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Bunger418
by Bunger418

We bought this for our 3 year old who started preschool, well she loves it and so do we. Its easy to use and has many functions. We have already recommended it to the preschool and would recommend it to anyone with children.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bunger418
Overpeck, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gift for grandchild
11/14/2013

Customer review by C4gmama

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by C4gmama
by C4gmama

bought it for a gift for my grandchild, works great

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
C4gmama
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT item for children learning to write or kids
11/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this is a great item for children who are learning to write. Also one of my children has autism and if has been great for helping him with his fine motor skills. Age recommendation Pre-k to 2nd grade.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
walnut cove nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews