Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

130 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

130 reviews | 4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
22
1-20 of 130 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
IMPORTANT TO READ!!!!
9/14/2014

Customer review by MusicMakeupFashion

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by MusicMakeupFashion
by MusicMakeupFashion

I read some reviews and found that a lot of people were using this mascara incorrectly. this mascara is not just water and color, it is a tube that coats around the lashes and not just colors them. When removed, the eyes have to first be rinsed off with warm water, THEN removed with makeup wipes. It will look like lashes are falling out, but in reality, it is better for your lashes because you are not causing stress on then when wiping the normal one off. I have been using this mascara for years and will keep repurchasing this because I find that my lashes are extremely long and voluminous before and after I wash it off. It goes on extremely well and is amazing when put on top of a volumizing mascara. It definitely creates a lot of length and is great for layering. This is my favorite makeup product ever!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MusicMakeupFashion
Sterling, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Age has shortened my lashes!
2/8/2016

Customer review by Susie

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Susie
by Susie

I have used this product for a couple of years and really like it, but it doesn't seem to have as much of the white base coat as in the past. Has the amount been changed?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORST. MASCARA. EVER. - So disappointing
10/13/2014

Customer review by AlexisPJ

1.0 stars 10/13/2014 by AlexisPJ
by AlexisPJ

I've been using Loreal's Double Extend mascara for years, then when it was time to buy another one 2 weeks ago I couldn't find it anywhere. I figured this new red packaging was just that: new packaging........oh but it's NOT. FAR FROM IT. This new reformulated Double Extend is HORRIBLE. It goes on okay like the old stuff, but then it dries out so bad on your lashes it literally hurts. It dried out so bad my eyes were burning and watering and if I rubbed my eyes just a little for relief my lashes would fall out. Then comes the next obstacle - trying to get this stuff off, its really weird. Since it goes on like glue that dries brittle, I had to sit under really hot water in the shower for awhile, once this stuff softened up I had to pick it off section by section - it doesn't soften, run or wash off like normal mascara - it slides off your lashes and looks like your lashes are falling out. This whole formula is WRONG. LOREAL HAS RUINED Double Extend and I'm so upset - it's so upsetting when you find a good product that works GREAT for it to disappear off the shelves. DON'T buy this stuff - I promise you'll be disappointed. Loreal - please bring back the original formula. It was THE BEST.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlexisPJ
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Best Mascara Ever
2/8/2010

Customer review by BabalovesMC

5.0 stars 2/8/2010 by BabalovesMC
by BabalovesMC

I have used a LOT of mascaras in the past and this one by far is the best I have ever used. I will continue to buy it as long as they continue to make it. Easy to use and I have very short and rather thin eyelashes. This mascara makes me look like I have thick and long lashes. It is also very easy to remove with water. I also love the fact that it does not smudge or smear while wearing it. Even though it does not advise to use two coats, I have done so and it did not clump. LOVE THIS STUFF

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabalovesMC
Semora NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT
1/17/2010

Customer review by DinubaLady

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by DinubaLady
by DinubaLady

I'm 64 and my eye lashes have gotten thinner and appeared shorter this product has changed all of that, they look full and much longer and no need for a lash curler anymore it took care of that problem also:-)

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DinubaLady
Dinuba CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Change formula
8/4/2015

Customer review by Happgolucky

2.0 stars 8/4/2015 by Happgolucky
by Happgolucky

I bought this because I had it a few years ago, I absolutely loved it then. It made my eyelashes look long, full and thick like I was wearing false lashes. It came off like normal mascara then. This formula is extremely hard to get off..... Warm water and soap does not get it off... Nor does baby wipes, facial wipes, coconut oil, or Castrol oil which gets everything off!!!! I hate washing my face with hash stuff, but I have to wash my face several times while rubbing my eyes (completely horrible for them) with the Neutrogena scrub to get them off and it comes off in flakes looks like your lashes, even then I still see some on my eyes. I had a flake dry on my cheek and I couldn't even scratch it off with my nails... Can safely say I most likely won't wear this often unless going to a special occasion... Even then I think I might just do fake lashes instead....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happgolucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Mascara
1/7/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Makes your lashes long and thick

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/8/2013

Customer review by pinkvintagelove

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by pinkvintagelove
by pinkvintagelove

This is my HOLY GRAIL mascara! I have been using all different mascaras since high school, and this is the best one I've ever used. I have really oily skin, and every mascara I use ends up in dark pools under my eyes by the end of the day. It always makes me look like I am tired or have dark under eye circles. Other mascaras also smudge near my eyebrows and generally are just a mess to take off at night. I was curious about the Blinc tube mascara, and found this one for much cheaper. I thought, why not. I tried it this morning, using the primer first and the 2nd step. Easy application, same as other mascaras. Dried quickly, and made my eyelashes super long and thick almost like fake lashes. The WHOLE day, my eyelashes did not smudge, or melt off under my eyes. They stayed the same as when I applied this morning, over 9 hours earlier. This evening when I went to take it off, I held a wet washcloth for 30 seconds on each eye, and the "tubes" slid off right into my hand. No messy black, no nothing. Everything was off. This stuff is magic.

pinkvintagelove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/4/2015

Customer review by Happgolucky

1.0 stars 8/4/2015 by Happgolucky
by Happgolucky

I bought this because I had it a few years ago, I absolutely loved it then. It made my eyelashes look long, full and thick like I was wearing false lashes. It came off like normal mascara then. This formula is extremely hard to get off..... Warm water and soap does not get it off... Nor does baby wipes, facial wipes, coconut oil, or Castrol oil which gets everything off!!!! I hate washing my face with hash stuff, but I have to wash my face several times while rubbing my eyes (completely horrible for them) with the Neutrogena scrub to get them off and it comes off in flakes looks like your lashes, even then I still see some on my eyes. I had a flake dry on my cheek and I couldn't even scratch it off with my nails... Can safely say I most likely won't wear this often unless going to a special occasion... Even then I think I might just do fake lashes instead....

Happgolucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst mascara ever I hate it! Bring back the gold
9/15/2014

Customer review by atlantareview111

1.0 stars 9/15/2014 by atlantareview111
by atlantareview111

L'Oreal Paris Black Double Extend Mascara, Black I rarely write reviews but I hated this mascara so much I wanted everyone to be warned. I've been searching for the same mascara in the gold tube but no one sells it anymore so I figured this red tube was the replacement and would be the exact same. Its NOT the same. Bring the gold tube back please!!!! The brush on this mascara is so cheap and bristles are too far apart. It feels like a cheap mascara you would get with a free gift with purchase and is old and dries out. It's extremely difficult to take off and I use make up remover pads. It probably does make your eyelashes fall out because you have to rub so hard and wash it off so many times the little clumps get in your eyes. It's almost like this mascara is completely defective!!!! Of course I can't return it because I've thrown away the package but what a complete WASTE OF MONEY!!! DO NOT BUY THIS! It's complete junk

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atlantareview111
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LUV IT!
5/9/2010

Customer review by kittnmom

5.0 stars 5/9/2010 by kittnmom
by kittnmom

Bought this last year when Wally had a 'two-fer' package. I've always had to use waterproof mascara but still ended up with smudges and broken lashes from trying to remove it. Not with this product! It's the best! Lengthens great and does not smudge at all. Truth be told, I don't remove my makeup before bed :( and wake up w/o smudges or smears on my pillow. My friends are getting hooked too! Excellent choice for those who wear contact lenses.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kittnmom
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/7/2015

Customer review by Yarne679

1.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Yarne679
by Yarne679

I am so disappointed in this product. Please bring back the double extend waterproof. For one thing the primer is so heavy it weighs down curled eyelashes. Then once you wear it for awhile it flakes. I will be looking for another alternative for my mascara.

Yarne679
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible! Will cause your eyelashes to fall out!
9/9/2014

Customer review by Klynn3403

1.0 stars 9/9/2014 by Klynn3403
by Klynn3403

This is the worst mascara I have ever used! I loved the blue tube of Double Extend and used it for years, but I haven't been able to find it anywhere lately. I always received many compliments on my lashes when I used it because it extended and conditioned my lashes while also looking natural. It was my favorite mascara ever, but I had to try this one when I couldn't find it anymore. This version is sticky, gooey, clumpy, and leave tubes on your face throughout the day. Worst of all, when I removed it, it pulled out dozens of my eyelashes! I tried it for one day and will NEVER use it again! I think many of the older glowing reviews for this product seemed to be for the older version of it . Loreal, please bring the blue tube back! Many of us loved it, not this horrible replacement! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Klynn3403
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tubes?~~Not So Much!
2/16/2014

Customer review by redheeler

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by redheeler
by redheeler
Top 100 contributor

If I would have know in the description that this mascara had a thing in it called tubes...I would not have purchased it. Flakes all over my washclothe...trying to keep them out of my eyes...just horrible. I cannot understand why they have to change a good product and ruin it (old double extend mascara in the blue tube was wonderful).....this stuff won't even apply.....thumbs down on this.....one of the worst ever. Very disappointed....a mess applying and a mess taking off for a product that doesn't deliver it's claims. :(

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redheeler
Lawton OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 100 contributor
Sad to discover the formula has changed
10/16/2014

Customer review by Dirtsister

1.0 stars 10/16/2014 by Dirtsister
by Dirtsister

I have used this mascara for years, totally loyal to the product. When it was time to replace, I went to 3 different stores to find the original. Finally settled on the new red tube and was hopeful that it was repackaging and was glad that it had not been discontinued. I'm rethinking that now and so disappointed that I'm going to have to change after all these years. Loved loved loved the original. My lashes look good after the initial application, but then they get almost crunchy. But the deal killer is that my lashes are falling out. That has never happened. Ever. I even gave it a couple more chances. Same results and is difficult to remove. I don't usually leave reviews but this just needed to be said.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dirtsister
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect
10/13/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product makes my eyes stand out. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes me feel pretty
10/9/2015

Customer review by Battgirl

4.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Battgirl
by Battgirl

I've been using this product for many years. I'm a red head so my lashes can not be seen w/out mascara

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Battgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best mascara ever!
9/27/2015

Customer review by Frequentshopper

5.0 stars 9/27/2015 by Frequentshopper
by Frequentshopper

Doesn't bother contacts or run on hot days. Removed easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frequentshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product !
6/12/2015

Customer review by CristinaM

5.0 stars 6/12/2015 by CristinaM
by CristinaM

This is my holy grail mascara so far just because it applies real nice, it makes your eyelashes longer if you know how to apply it and the taking off part is just amaaaaazing ! just rub a little warm water over your lashes and it will come right off, no panda eyes no pulling on your eyes no nothing ! Looks like your lashes come off but that's why they advertise it like tubes, it just covers your lashes in a tube. I get the best results by applying it looking down on a mirror and just gently pulling my outer corner and coating my lashes from the roots up. It's a wonderful product ! I always love L'Oreal products. One of my other favorites is Voluminous with the curved brush, it just sucks cause it doesn't come off with water, I;m lazy I know :))

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CristinaM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awful, makes my lashes small
5/4/2015

Customer review by KelReview

1.0 stars 5/4/2015 by KelReview
by KelReview

I have pretty decent lashes and the old double extend mascara was awesome. This one, not so much. Makes my eyelashes short and super stiff like I sprayed them with hairspray! I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KelReview
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews