Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.2out of 5 stars
3.2 out of 5 | 61 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
22
Sort by: 
1-20 of 60 reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Perfect for REALLY curly, thick hair.
8/11/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have very dry, fine, corkscrew curly long hair that grows thick on my head. Most of the time it is a thick tangled mess. I have read a lot of bad reviews for sulfate-free shampoo but decided to give it a try because nothing else made my hair shiny or soft. I was also drawn to the scent of this shampoo. Rosemary and juniper are scents I like and I hoped the scent would stay with me all day. The scent isn't strong after you apply it. It quickly dissipates. The first time I applied the shampoo, it felt slimy and like it was adding oil to my hair. When I rinsed it, it felt like straw. Then I added the conditioner. The conditioner smelled really good when I first applied it, but the smell faded to sort of a "rubbery" smell. I was dead set against the shampoo and conditioner by the time I got out of the shower. But after my hair dried, my hair felt EXTREMELY SOFT, cleaner and smoother than it has in MONTHS. It also is shiny for the first time in years! The picture below was taken about 13 hours after I washed my hair. I will continue using this shampoo, but I have a feeling this won't stay on the market that long. People seem to hate it based on other reviews I have read.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't change a good thing!
7/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used L'Oréal Eversmooth shampoo & conditioner for year. I bought it at first because I loved the smell, & continued using it because of what it did for my hair. The frizz was tamed & I could just let my hair air dry after shampooing & my natural curls would shine through without it being one big ball of frizz. It also made my hair so soft & smooth that I could still run my fingers through it in the shower right after shampooing, which is something no other shampoo has been able to accomplish. But now, for some reason known only to their "marketing team", they've up & changed the formula (my guess being the new formula is simply cheaper to manufacture). No more juniper scent, & the shampoo does nothing for my hair except weigh it down & leave it in frizzy tangles. I hate it. And I hate having to find another shampoo, but I'm not touching this gunk again unless the old formula is brought back, which I'm guessing is highly unlikely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loreal EverPure Shampoo New Formula Horrible
8/22/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Why did you change a good thing? After purchasing this shampoo and conditioner for years, I will not be buying it again. I gave it a chance. I purchased it several times, still the same result. You now need to use TWICE as much product/shampoo to get a lather. The lather disappears as soon as I put it on my heard. Then I have to put more on. You sell more product this way, I guess, is the plan. We go through it quicker. The old formula you used a small amount and got a head full of suds. Awesome. Also, my hair is heavy with residue. If you don't rinse it really well, your hair looks dirty. That must be the secret ingredient that keeps the frizz down -- thick heavy, gunk. I have no comment about the conditioner. It's okay. One positive is, I like the new fragrance. The old one reminded me of going to the spa. I really liked it. Why would you make such a drastic change to a product and cheapen it? I see lots of negative comments out there from consumers. You might want to listen to them. They may purchase it for a while, but like me, I am in search of another great product for my hair; this is not it. Thank you for listening...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Meh
9/12/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I usually buy the Moisture Shampoo & Conditioner but decided to give this one a try since my hair is frizzy. I used up the whole bottle and didn't notice a difference. It smells ok and it washes out great but didn't do anything for me. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Makes my hair smooth!
9/12/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this for a few months now. It does a great job of keeping my hair smooth especially in the high summer humidity.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
educate yourselves
8/8/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am going out to buy this product later on today for my freshly dyed, dry, curly hair. BUT I read a review by a customer who is accusing this product of still having sulfates in it, because of a name in the ingredients that they did not educate themselves on. It's called Sodium Laurel Sulfoacetate which they think is still sulfate. NO. It is an alternative to Sulfate. It is derived from coconut and palm oils and conforms to Ecocert's natural and organic cosmetic standard and is 100% of natural origin. I just did not want anyone to read that bad review and think this product was lying to you. Like I said, I have not used this yet, but I have used other products from this line, and i'm sure I will be back with a good review after I've used this for a few weeks. Just had to clear things up!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
New formula is terrible
8/22/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Original formula was my favorite shampoo. It's misleading that they did not really change the packaging or name of the product when the formula is so dramatically different now. New formula is extremely greasy and ineffective. Do not waste your money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Volume is too small
11/23/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like it. it makes your hair soft and moistured. However, 250ml is too little for me and there's no bigger size! Another problem is that since it is made as a tube, it's hard to squeeze especially when it is closely used up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible new formula and scent
8/17/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Why did you mess with a good thing? I've used the old formula since it was introduced. Never found a better drug store brand. This new formula smells bad and leaves knots in my hair. Who tested this stuff? Back to my salon brand and won't be buying any more Ever Pure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The new formula is terrrible
4/10/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
EverPure Smoothing Shampoo and Conditioner was my go to for over six years, and now it's been replaced with this terrible heavy gunk. The original formula protected my color from fade, kept my frizz under control, and was light enough to cleanse but not dry out my curly 2c hair. This new formula weighs down my hair, does not prevent frizz, and, worst of all, makes my scalp feel dirty. My husband, who has very thick fly-away hair, used to use the original formula with great success as well. The new formula, however, also made his hair and scalp look and feel dirty. I am guessing the new addition of marula oil and whatever other new ingredients they have added are simply too heavy. I'm so disappointed in this product and have been struggling to find a new shampoo and conditioner that both protects my color, but tames my frizz, for the last few months. Thanks for making my life more difficult, L'Oreal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Frizz DEFY? Really?
7/24/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used a salon brand for 20+ years before I found EverPure. Unfortunately I'm so disappointed in the new formula that I will be going back to that salon brand. The shampoo doesn't leave my hair feeling clean and the conditioner leaves my hair so much more frizzy! My hair was so soft, smooth and shiny before! Many times I wouldn't even need to use any other styling products. :-(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great results!
9/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have long, split end prone, colored, frizzy hair. I use a flat iron once or twice weekly. This shampoo keeps my hair clean, fresh, smooth and shiny. Keeps my hair color without fading and works good against humidity. I have been using it for more than 3-4 months. I'm stick to it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leaves hair greasy
7/5/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unfortunately this shampoo leaves my fine, dyed hair greasy. I rinse it very well and do not have this issue with other shampoos. I'd wager it's the oil in the shampoo. Never again!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WONDERFUL FOR MY CURLY 3B HAIR LOVES IT!!!!!
5/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have extremely thick, course curly 3b hair and my hair just loves this shampoo and conditioner. I've been searching for new shampoo/condition after all the local stores stopped carrying the ones I was using and I don't feel I should have to order my products online. So I decided to give this stuff a try and my hair loves it and it smells so light fresh and clean. It has great slippage I have no problem running comb through my hair now. I know some of you have commented that it was too heavy and weighed your hair down, but honestly I need a little weight on my thick hair otherwise my hair poofs out to my shoulders so for me and my curly 3b hair we love this and hope you NEVER discontinue!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not happy at all
6/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I typically use the moisture shampoo and was using it for over a year and loved it but I purchased the frizz control because of the summer months, well, this shampoo is making my hair MORE FRIZZY!!! I hate it!! I have to use John Frieda Frizz-Ease to calm the frizz. I'm not sure what im doing with the unused product. I spent so much $ on both that it's a waste to throw them out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Throwing it away!
4/23/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used the old formula for years and I will have the throw out the new one!!! I thought maybe I wasn't rinsing the conditioner out of my hair because it was greasy and looked dirty as soon as I dried it! I finally realized that it was from the new formulation of the shampoo!!! I loved the old formula and am so disappointed that I have to try and find a new color care shampoo!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This shampoo has been my holy grail for my hair.
4/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this product for years with the companion conditioner. I am very disappointed it is getting so hard to find where I live. I would often switch out with the Ever Sleek set when it wasn't available. Now I can't seem to find either. Walmart is so fickle in the products they carry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Changed formula/scent
3/5/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this shampoo for years. I loved that it was a sulfate free line that was affordable. The rosemary mint scent was amazing. I noticed the packaging was different when I purchased it yesterday. I just assumed it was updated packaging. I was very wrong. I smelled something awful in the shower this morning and it took me a few seconds to realize it was the conditioner in my hand. It smells putrid; a mix of baby powder and sunscreen. Not to be confused with suntan lotion which usually smells great. Now I have to find new haircare products. Please bring back the old scent!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Shampoo
8/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this shampoo for a month now. I love the scent of rosemary and juniper. I am allergic to sulfates and I needed a shampoo that would not make my head itch. This works well with my colored hair. I love the shampoo since it leaves my hair smelling great. It is best when paired with the conditioner of the same brand but I have used other conditioners too. Also I find this scent lasts for a long time during the day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can no longer use!
3/22/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this shampoo because it did not contain Sodium Chloride. I cannot use SC in my hair because of the Keratin treatment I have in it. It's one of the few shampoos that I could use. I noticed the new packaging so I decided to double check the ingredients...lo and behold, now it has sodium chloride!!! I can no longer use this and I did like how it made my hair look and feel. So upset at the new formula change, now I have to find a new shampoo!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643919, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-