Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

52 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

52 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
15
1-20 of 51 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Perfect for REALLY curly, thick hair.
8/11/2010

Customer review by Katrinavantassel

4.0 stars 8/11/2010 by Katrinavantassel
by Katrinavantassel

I have very dry, fine, corkscrew curly long hair that grows thick on my head. Most of the time it is a thick tangled mess. I have read a lot of bad reviews for sulfate-free shampoo but decided to give it a try because nothing else made my hair shiny or soft. I was also drawn to the scent of this shampoo. Rosemary and juniper are scents I like and I hoped the scent would stay with me all day. The scent isn't strong after you apply it. It quickly dissipates. The first time I applied the shampoo, it felt slimy and like it was adding oil to my hair. When I rinsed it, it felt like straw. Then I added the conditioner. The conditioner smelled really good when I first applied it, but the smell faded to sort of a "rubbery" smell. I was dead set against the shampoo and conditioner by the time I got out of the shower. But after my hair dried, my hair felt EXTREMELY SOFT, cleaner and smoother than it has in MONTHS. It also is shiny for the first time in years! The picture below was taken about 13 hours after I washed my hair. I will continue using this shampoo, but I have a feeling this won't stay on the market that long. People seem to hate it based on other reviews I have read.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katrinavantassel
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
The new formula is terrrible
4/10/2017

Customer review by Lola B

1.0 stars 4/10/2017 by Lola B
by Lola B

EverPure Smoothing Shampoo and Conditioner was my go to for over six years, and now it's been replaced with this terrible heavy gunk. The original formula protected my color from fade, kept my frizz under control, and was light enough to cleanse but not dry out my curly 2c hair. This new formula weighs down my hair, does not prevent frizz, and, worst of all, makes my scalp feel dirty. My husband, who has very thick fly-away hair, used to use the original formula with great success as well. The new formula, however, also made his hair and scalp look and feel dirty. I am guessing the new addition of marula oil and whatever other new ingredients they have added are simply too heavy. I'm so disappointed in this product and have been struggling to find a new shampoo and conditioner that both protects my color, but tames my frizz, for the last few months. Thanks for making my life more difficult, L'Oreal.

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 4/13/2017

Hi Lola B. We are sorry that you do not like the addition of the Marula Oil into our EverPure Frizz Defy, which used to be our EverPure Smooth Shampoo and Conditioner. We will certainly share your feedback with our team. This product should not make your scalp look or feel dirty. Make sure you are thoroughly rinsing these products out after using. We suggest that you try our EverSleek Keratin Care Shampoo and Conditioner. They are made to smooth hair and make it sleek and manageable. This line also includes EverSleek Frizz Finish Oil-In Serum to be used on damp or dry hair for long lasting frizz control.

Lola B
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
WONDERFUL FOR MY CURLY 3B HAIR LOVES IT!!!!!
5/11/2017

Customer review by curly3b

5.0 stars 5/11/2017 by curly3b
by curly3b

I have extremely thick, course curly 3b hair and my hair just loves this shampoo and conditioner. I've been searching for new shampoo/condition after all the local stores stopped carrying the ones I was using and I don't feel I should have to order my products online. So I decided to give this stuff a try and my hair loves it and it smells so light fresh and clean. It has great slippage I have no problem running comb through my hair now. I know some of you have commented that it was too heavy and weighed your hair down, but honestly I need a little weight on my thick hair otherwise my hair poofs out to my shoulders so for me and my curly 3b hair we love this and hope you NEVER discontinue!!!

curly3b
KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Eye color:Green
educate yourselves
8/8/2015

Customer review by LauraRose

3.0 stars 8/8/2015 by LauraRose
by LauraRose

I am going out to buy this product later on today for my freshly dyed, dry, curly hair. BUT I read a review by a customer who is accusing this product of still having sulfates in it, because of a name in the ingredients that they did not educate themselves on. It's called Sodium Laurel Sulfoacetate which they think is still sulfate. NO. It is an alternative to Sulfate. It is derived from coconut and palm oils and conforms to Ecocert's natural and organic cosmetic standard and is 100% of natural origin. I just did not want anyone to read that bad review and think this product was lying to you. Like I said, I have not used this yet, but I have used other products from this line, and i'm sure I will be back with a good review after I've used this for a few weeks. Just had to clear things up!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LauraRose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Volume is too small
11/23/2010

Customer review by feiyi15

4.0 stars 11/23/2010 by feiyi15
by feiyi15

I like it. it makes your hair soft and moistured. However, 250ml is too little for me and there's no bigger size! Another problem is that since it is made as a tube, it's hard to squeeze especially when it is closely used up.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
feiyi15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Throwing it away!
4/23/2017

Customer review by Disappointedandsad

1.0 stars 4/23/2017 by Disappointedandsad
by Disappointedandsad

I have used the old formula for years and I will have the throw out the new one!!! I thought maybe I wasn't rinsing the conditioner out of my hair because it was greasy and looked dirty as soon as I dried it! I finally realized that it was from the new formulation of the shampoo!!! I loved the old formula and am so disappointed that I have to try and find a new color care shampoo!

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 5/5/2017

Hello! We are sorry you do not care for the EverPure Smooth Shampoo. If you are looking for another smoothing shampoo we do offer the Hair Expert Smooth Intense Ultimate Straightening Shampoo. We will make sure your comments are heard as well.

Disappointedandsad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This shampoo has been my holy grail for my hair.
4/17/2017

Customer review by Mordsith_T

5.0 stars 4/17/2017 by Mordsith_T
by Mordsith_T

I have been using this product for years with the companion conditioner. I am very disappointed it is getting so hard to find where I live. I would often switch out with the Ever Sleek set when it wasn't available. Now I can't seem to find either. Walmart is so fickle in the products they carry.

Mordsith_T
Tallahassee FL
Gender:Female
Eye color:Green
Weighs down the hair
4/6/2017

Customer review by Lllddd13

1.0 stars 4/6/2017 by Lllddd13
by Lllddd13

I have used this product anytime I've colored my hair. This time, it is not working. I have a residue on my hair and it feels lifeless. I want to extend my color but not at the expense of my hair looking clean.

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 4/7/2017

Hello! We are sorry you did not like EverPure Frizz Defy Shampoo. If you're feeling residue on your hair, make sure that you are rinsing the product thoroughly after shampooing. If this is making your hair feel heavy, then you should try one of our Ever shampoos that does not have a lot of oil in it. We suggest checking out our EverPure Moisture shampoo. It is made to extend the life of your color, while giving you moisture without weighing your hair down! Thanks for giving us the opportunity to respond!

Lllddd13
,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Hair looks better!
4/10/2017

Customer review by Val A

5.0 stars 4/10/2017 by Val A
by Val A

I bought this last month and I am satisfied with the results. No harsh chemicals makes my hair color always looking great!

Val A
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Can no longer use!
3/22/2017

Customer review by Belle127

2.0 stars 3/22/2017 by Belle127
by Belle127

I have been using this shampoo because it did not contain Sodium Chloride. I cannot use SC in my hair because of the Keratin treatment I have in it. It's one of the few shampoos that I could use. I noticed the new packaging so I decided to double check the ingredients...lo and behold, now it has sodium chloride!!! I can no longer use this and I did like how it made my hair look and feel. So upset at the new formula change, now I have to find a new shampoo!

Comment from - 3/23/2017

Hi! We recently updated the packaging and formula's for our Ever shampoo's and conditioner's. Consumer feedback is important to us, and we appreciate your comments about our new Ever Pure Frizz-Defy shampoo and will be sharing your comments with our team.

Belle127
Fresh Meadows, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
How disappointing!
4/4/2017

Customer review by hertz

1.0 stars 4/4/2017 by hertz
by hertz

I've used Everpure Smooth shampoo since it came out, and it was the best on the market for my hair. Now it's discontinued, and the replacement is horrible. I'm so disappointed, and cannot understand why you would change a perfectly wonderful product. I won't be buying anything from you in the future.

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 4/10/2017

Hello, thanks for asking us about EverSmooth Shampoo! We have repackaged and renamed this product. It is now called EverPure Frizz Defy Shampoo. It should be the same, if not better, than the EverPure Smooth Shampoo. You can find it here: http://www.lorealparisusa.com/products/hair-care/products/shampoo/everpure-frizz-defy-shampoo.aspx?shade=Frizz-Defy-Shampoo Have a great day!

hertz
,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great results!
9/19/2012

Customer review by FGGS

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by FGGS
by FGGS

I have long, split end prone, colored, frizzy hair. I use a flat iron once or twice weekly. This shampoo keeps my hair clean, fresh, smooth and shiny. Keeps my hair color without fading and works good against humidity. I have been using it for more than 3-4 months. I'm stick to it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FGGS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Changed formula/scent
3/5/2017

Customer review by Misses The Original Scent

1.0 stars 3/5/2017 by Misses The Original Scent
by Misses The Original Scent

I have used this shampoo for years. I loved that it was a sulfate free line that was affordable. The rosemary mint scent was amazing. I noticed the packaging was different when I purchased it yesterday. I just assumed it was updated packaging. I was very wrong. I smelled something awful in the shower this morning and it took me a few seconds to realize it was the conditioner in my hand. It smells putrid; a mix of baby powder and sunscreen. Not to be confused with suntan lotion which usually smells great. Now I have to find new haircare products. Please bring back the old scent!

Comment from - 3/9/2017

Hi! We recently updated the packaging and formula's for our Ever line. We're sorry for the experience you had with these products. Consumer feedback is very important to us and we will be sharing your comments with our team!

Misses The Original Scent
,
Gender:Female
Eye color:Green
BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA!
3/14/2017

Customer review by kaymick443

1.0 stars 3/14/2017 by kaymick443
by kaymick443

EXTREMELY disappointed to find out that the EverPure Smooth formula has been replaced with this new Frizz Defy version. I'm not even going to try it because I have read so many reviews from other diehard fans of the original Smooth version that this new version is terrible - smells bad, leaves oily residue on scalp, etc. Now I have to hunt around again for affordable haircare that works! Sorry, L'Oreal, you have lost a customer!

Comment from - 3/17/2017

As consumers ourselves, we understand how disappointing it can be when a favorite product or shade is no longer offered. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. While we do not currently have an exact replacement product to suggest to you, our creative teams are hard at work coming up with new and exciting products so please continue to visit our website to learn about our latest offerings. We hope that you will find a product to take the place of your old favorite soon.

kaymick443
SF, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't bother with the new formula
2/26/2017

Customer review by Bring back the old

1.0 stars 2/26/2017 by Bring back the old
by Bring back the old

I've been using this shampoo for 2 years. The old formula was the best shampoo I've ever used for colored, frizzy hair, even better than expensive salon brands. It was perfect the way it was. This new formula smells gross, leaves an oily residue on my scalp, and doesn't do anything to help with frizz. My friends also used this shampoo and have noticed these same problems with the new formula as well. Really disappointed that I'll have to find something to replace it. I would have been a lifelong customer if they kept the old formula.

Comment from - 2/28/2017

We're sorry to hear that the EVERPURE Frizz-Defy Shampoo does not perform as well as the originalformula for this product! Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 2181331. We look forward to making this right!

Bring back the old
,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Different color for Shampoo and Conditioner please
3/7/2017

Customer review by NCNC

5.0 stars 3/7/2017 by NCNC
by NCNC

This is a great product and I loved it. It smells so good and leaves my hair so smooth. The problem is that I cannot see close. Since I don't take a shower with my glasses on, I can't see which one is shampoo and which one is conditioner, because the containers are identical. Because of that, I was forced to change brands. Would love to go back if L'oreal changed that!

NCNC
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Eye color:Hazel
Bring back the Smooth instead!
3/3/2017

Customer review by clt3

1.0 stars 3/3/2017 by clt3
by clt3

What happened to the Everpure Smooth? A much better product with a much better scent. Don't like the Sleek or the Oil. The Smooth just plain works better!

Comment from - 3/7/2017

Hi! We recently updated the packaging and formula for our Ever Pure Smooth Shampoo and Conditioner. The new products are called Ever Pure Frizz-Defy. You can view these products on our website and also in stores.

clt3
,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The New Formula: Disappointing!
2/19/2017

Customer review by LauraAZ

1.0 stars 2/19/2017 by LauraAZ
by LauraAZ

I loved the old formula and used it for years! The new formula with the marula oil for both the shampoo and the conditioner does not work the same way. It does not lather as well and you can feel the residue in your hair. Not sure why you changed a perfectly good product--so frustrating! Needless to say, I won't be purchasing this anymore. Bring back the old formula!!!

Comment from L'Oreal - 2/22/2017

Hi LauraAZ! We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with this product.The Marula Oil was added to smooth hair & fight frizz. We appreciate the feedback!

LauraAZ
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
You lost me with the new formula
2/20/2017

Customer review by CG1403

1.0 stars 2/20/2017 by CG1403
by CG1403

I having been using the Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner for years. I loved the rosemary scent & it got my hair clean while giving it a great texture. I liked even better than the salon brands I occasionally used. I just had to buy a new supply & I am so disappointed with the new formula. I will not purchase this product again!

Comment from - 2/22/2017

Hi! We recently updated the package of our Ever Pure Smooth Shampoo and Conditioner to our Ever Pure Frizz-Defy Shampoo and Conditoner. There has not been a formula change to this product. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to help. Please call us @ 800.631.7358 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 2153060. It would help to have the product with you when you call.

CG1403
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Eye color:Blue
BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA
2/2/2017

Customer review by miss the old

1.0 stars 2/2/2017 by miss the old
by miss the old

I am so disappointed with this new formula with marula oil. I agree with the other reviewer about the smell and also the results are not the same, much different from the original smooth formula. I have used this shampoo for over 6 years and now I will need to try something new - very upset!!

Comment from - 2/3/2017

We are sorry to hear this and would love to help! Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 2079303. We look forward to making this right!

miss the old
,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Eye color:Blue
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews