Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 29 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Sog multi tool
11/23/2009

Customer review by liamq15

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by liamq15
by liamq15

I have always been a Gerber fan until seeing the SOG on a local TV station. I now have one of my own and am delighted. Great bit of kit, sturdy and well made, at a reasonable price also. Easy to use and open. The power assist does get easier as it is used and it frees up the mechanism.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liamq15
Glasgow, Scotland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NICE MULI-TOOL
11/20/2009

Customer review by walmartrob

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by walmartrob
by walmartrob

THIS IS A SWEET TOOL-HIGHLY RECOMENDED

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartrob
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointment
7/4/2010

Customer review by zyven

2.0 stars 7/4/2010 by zyven
by zyven

The blade opening assist is extremely clumsy and actually requires more thumb effort than non-assisted models from other manufacturers. The assist lockout makes the knife even more difficult to operate. The standard blade is only openable from the right hand and the sheepsfoot blade is only openable with the left hand. The assist mechanism takes up one whole side of the multitool, leaving only one side for accessories. Usually both halves of the handle have accessories within. The standard SOG multitool is great and to abandon it for the new assist model would be a mistake.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zyven
Would recommend to a friend? No
A well engineered product
6/2/2010

Customer review by MPJ49

4.0 stars 6/2/2010 by MPJ49
by MPJ49

i researched many different multi-tools and considered leatherman multi-tools. i decided on the SOG because of the power assist blades and the smooth action of the pliers. after checking out a friends comparably priced leatherman i decided the SOG was the beter buy... im glad i did it is a great, well build tool that in my opinion is better than a leatherman.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MPJ49
buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent tool for an excellent price
7/3/2010

Customer review by gmb40

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by gmb40
by gmb40

Outstanding value outstanding quality. Very impressed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmb40
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this tool
9/9/2011

Customer review by hutch111

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by hutch111
by hutch111

solid tool

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hutch111
hollywood fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
10/8/2014

Customer review by DrDave

5.0 stars 10/8/2014 by DrDave
by DrDave

I have two of them. I thought I lost one at a customer's location and bought a replacement because I loved it so much. The customer found it and returned it to me. I now have one in my ruck. Only think that has become a bit worn is the pouch, but is not an issue.

DrDave
Mansfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Versatile, Serious EDC
11/11/2014

Customer review by Fdbates

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Fdbates
by Fdbates

Most mutitools make you choose between blade or pliers for single hand opening. Not the PowerAssist! One thumb opens the straight or serrated blade and a flick of the wrist gets you the strongest mutitool pliers on the market AND wire cutters! SOG also makes it easy to customize the nested tools. I love it! My only caution is that soft hands may not like the safety lock or button to unlock and deploy the knives.

Fdbates
Des Moines, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best multi tool
11/11/2014

Customer review by Kurtski

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Kurtski
by Kurtski

I owned this for 5 years, gave my Gerber to my boss. Added scissors 3 years ago. Love that you an customize it!

Kurtski
North Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only multitool I'll own
11/11/2014

Customer review by Naasau

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Naasau
by Naasau

I've used a number of multitool brands over the years, and these have outlasted all the others. Originally, they were for camping and recreational use, but as I started working in the tower and RF industry, this multitool became my constant companion. Any other brand has shattered under the abuse.

Naasau
Denver, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful!
11/11/2014

Customer review by Hammerck

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Hammerck
by Hammerck

This is one of my EDC I use it all most everyday at home or at work. The plyers are the strongest on the market. I have used leatherman tools and it takes a lot more pressure to squeeze and make a cut. I have customized by switching out tools and took out tools I might not every use. The other thing is if you break one of the jaws or it gets dull. Just swop it out for a new pair.

Hammerck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the compound plier is the best
11/12/2014

Customer review by Mick

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by Mick
by Mick

I use this S66 practically every day, the knife or the plier the most and the screw drivers as needed. I am very happy with the compound plier especially.

Mick
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing and very useful
11/11/2014

Customer review by lilone76

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by lilone76
by lilone76

Bought this as a gift for my bf. He wasn't to impressed with it when i gave it to him, but now he loves it and uses it every day!

lilone76
Cape Coral Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The PowerAssist - almost perfect
10/9/2014

Customer review by Autolycus

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Autolycus
by Autolycus

Owning various multitools from Leatherman (love their Crunch), Victorinox (excellent small ratchet wrench set), Wenger and others, I have to say that the PowerAssist is the best of 'em all - with only one shortcoming...which we'll get to later. The current crop of SOG geared pliers are excellent, with a precision needle point, hard wire cutter, crimpers and integral stripper. The handles are comfortable - even when squeezing hard (the swivel cover plate helps here), and all the locks work well. Having two main blades is a bonus too, though I'm still not certain if I like the assisted opening action on each - we'll see how good that is when they're "run-in" a little more. Finally, back to the shortfalls - which could elevate this tool to iconic status if incorporated. SOG should consider 2 modifications to the PowerAssist, both of which are simple: a) Replace the black plastic 'filler' block between the main blades with an aluminium alloy casting (7075-T6 would be ideal), of the same shape - but with a Hexagonal, 1/4" drive socket machined into the 'butt' end. Add an extender and one's own selection of 1/4" drive bits stored in a strip, then store it all in a modified belt pouch. The main blade(s) rotation stop pin, which passes through the current filler block may need altering to accomplish this - or even remain as a hex bit locking device - but the SOG design team should manage this easily. b) The pouch. SOG's current nylon variety has an excellent, low-profile, locking belt clip - which should be standard across the industry. No changes there, then. The place where two simple additions would help is on each side of the pouch, where a pocket for a small flashlight (Maglite Solitaire or similar), on one side, plus the aforementioned Hex bit strip - or a few 2" long bits - should slide in to a similar pocket on the opposite side. There you have it - and SOG's clever Customer Care colleagues have my address - so I won't object if you send me a sample (for testing), when the modifications are incorporated... Last word...? If you need an excellent Multi-tool that you'll pass on to your kids, the PowerAssist is it.

Autolycus
Hong Kong - an an olde-English exile
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best out there, I've tried the rest.
10/2/2014

Customer review by Andrew

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by Andrew
by Andrew

I started with the original SOG multi tool. I then went to the Leatherman Wave as I liked the one handed opening. Then on my Ranch and Vineyard I went to the Leatherman surge. I been through a few as I use them everyday, I would say over 6 through the years ( some get lost). Now to get serious, I still use my old leatherman charge TTI as a compact everyday multitool. But and its a monster Butt, Leatherman quality has declined terribly. Ive now broken my surge so many times the shop sees me coming and asks me " what have you broken this time. Leatherman feel mass produced and cheap to me now. The SOG quality is better, way better, I've come back. Thank you SOG for keeping your quality, well done on a great product.

Andrew
New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
When only the best will do.
8/30/2014

Customer review by PrecisionLandscape

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by PrecisionLandscape
by PrecisionLandscape

I have a landscaping business and having a multi-function knife is a must. Yes I work this tool very hard and the performance is always there. It is truly the best on the market... no other tool compares. I have broke them all and this is the only one that stands up to the abuse we put out.

PrecisionLandscape
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great functional tool
11/12/2014

Customer review by cmby

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by cmby
by cmby

I bought this to replace my s60 which got stolen. I really like having the knives accessible without opening the tool and covers. Still need to break it in, as it doesn't flip open as easily as my old sog, but it is solidly made and a nice replacement. I swapped out the v-cutter for scissors.

cmby
VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent workmanship
11/11/2014

Customer review by LeeOnHisMotorcycle

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by LeeOnHisMotorcycle
by LeeOnHisMotorcycle

I've had this for about a month so I'm still getting used to it the workmanship is amazing I love the features the knives are really sharp and useful the pliers or strong as could be. The little door on the accessories flips off sometimes the little CanOpener hangs up on the little web cutter sometimesbut it's my favorite knife so far I carry it every day

LeeOnHisMotorcycle
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Feature Assisted Blade!
11/15/2014

Customer review by AngelShadow

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by AngelShadow
by AngelShadow

Since I have had it in my hands I new it had finally found a permanent home!

AngelShadow
Bronx, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great versatility and built ruged.
7/17/2015

Customer review by FCJ1

5.0 stars 7/17/2015 by FCJ1
by FCJ1

I bought this multitoolover a year ago. And I am verry happy with its features and how tough it is built. I carried a partook almost 35 years ago and happy to say it's still in action,just wanted to update and really just try out a new multi tool got tired of carrying my same old paratool I've been carrying for over 35 years. And I got myself this new power assist model and wow what a breakthrough. It's genius I love the power it creates almost effortlessly and all the newer features that have been added onto this model. Keep up the great work I might be looking in another 35 years for another have to wait and see about that.

FCJ1
Logan,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews