Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 43 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Enjoying a good portable basketball hoop
4/10/2010

Customer review by sillycell

4.0 stars 4/10/2010 by sillycell
by sillycell

Received the item. Took about a good 4 hours to assemble. Overall this portable system will meet your expectations. I have had this now for about 1 week and my family is enjoying it tremendously. The angle of the basket-ball hoop is great, it's adjustable in height and has a water meter that tells you when to add more water to the bottom holder. A good product!!

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sillycell
Arbuckle, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
12/30/2010

Customer review by CoachK2

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by CoachK2
by CoachK2

My son and I assembled it in 2 hours. basket height adjustment is easy. be sure you fill base with water before you raise it to 9 or 10 ft. A christmas present that everybody enjoyed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachK2
Lake Havasu City, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spalding hoop
5/20/2011

Customer review by AHAH1234

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by AHAH1234
by AHAH1234

Aside from being a great product, this is likely the best engineered item I've ever had to assemble. The assembly is not trivial, but the parts all fit together extremely well and the directions were VERY clear. They were clearly not written first in spanish, then translated to english in a chinese factory like so many other items that require assembly.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AHAH1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great to Use
8/3/2010

Customer review by LoveToDebit

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by LoveToDebit
by LoveToDebit

I bought this for my grandkids/son and reminded my son to follow the directions from other reviews that I read - and he had no problem and had it ready to play in two hours. The boys now have something to look forward to do when they are bored.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToDebit
Yonkers, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/28/2010

Customer review by BoyScout19

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by BoyScout19
by BoyScout19

All parts were included, directions were good, would recommend this basketball goal.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoyScout19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's Okay
6/14/2011

Customer review by Jumpshooter

4.0 stars 6/14/2011 by Jumpshooter
by Jumpshooter

It was very difficult to line up the bolts. And extremely hard to insert. Some of the bolts were hiidden in the spacers and so it seem they were missing. Had to purchase seperatly to finish assembly. And main poles don't line up quite right. Making it sligtly crooked when standing up finished. But it seems to be a good goal.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jumpshooter
South Padre Island, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Goal
1/4/2011

Customer review by WDIII

4.0 stars 1/4/2011 by WDIII
by WDIII

Good quality. Straight forward directions. Assembly is time consuming and really does need 2 people at certain times. Worth the effort but plan on 3-4 hours.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WDIII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid, Sturdy
1/5/2012

Customer review by Hrlyridr77

4.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Hrlyridr77
by Hrlyridr77

This is a really solid and sturdy unit. It took my son & I about 2 1/2 hours to get it together. It definitely needs weight in the base, it is rather unstable without it. Adjusting the tension on the adjusting arm takes a few tries - Luckily my son is 6'+...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hrlyridr77
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
sturdy body poor base
1/3/2011

Customer review by ACNew

3.0 stars 1/3/2011 by ACNew
by ACNew

I bought this for my husband as a Christmas present. It really does take two people to assemble, a workbench, and at least 2 hours. I didn't like that every little part had to be assembled. I think some of the smaller parts could have been preassembled. I am impressed that the pole and backboard are as sturdy as they are, but I am so disappointed with the base. The first time my husband used it, he stepped on the front part of the base as he was shooting a basket. Next thing we know, we have a leak and had to switch to sand as a filler. That was a pain to fill with sand since the hole is small and the base has a design that does not allow for sand just to drop down. Works fine now, but would have liked a stronger base to begin with.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACNew
Southern Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hoop Only Up Two Days but We are Happy!
1/11/2012

Customer review by KMacSchwartz

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by KMacSchwartz
by KMacSchwartz

I read all of the previously posted reviews before purchasing so I knew what I was up against. I picked up the very large box from a local Walmart after ordering it with free shipping to the store. The staff was great and rolled it right to my car and loaded it into the back of my Suburban. I laid out all of the hardware, sorted the components and made sure to look INSIDE components to find other hidden hardware---as I read on previous posts. There were a few times I became nervous and thought I was missing hardware but always found rolled up somewhere...... It was time consuming to put together but with the right tools, all worked out. I did not follow the warnings about having two adults set up. I'm a 45 year old woman....... Did it all by myself. Probably took 4 to 5 hours in total. My son and I were playing one on one as soon as it was set up. So far---very happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMacSchwartz
Westchester ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/22/2011

Customer review by Killiancat

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Killiancat
by Killiancat

This hoop was great. It did take a couple people to put together, but that was expected. Lasted through a very windy storm and stood through it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Killiancat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy product
6/13/2011

Customer review by ThulsaDoom

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by ThulsaDoom
by ThulsaDoom

This Spalding basketball system is made by Huffy. The box doesn't tell you but the packaged components are labeled Huffy, made in China. Assembly of this isn't rocket since but it IS very time consuming. The directions are mostly complete and easy to follow. There were some omissions that my son and I had to figure out ourselves but obviously the system is simple enough. For the price it should come preassembled. The final assembled product is very sturdy and well designed. I expect it to last.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThulsaDoom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good sturdy hoop, but assembly was very difficult
11/22/2011

Customer review by groovyp

3.0 stars 11/22/2011 by groovyp
by groovyp

If I were grading this product strictly on the hoop, I'd give it a 5. It's sturdy, good looking and works well...once its up. Assembly was a nightmare. NOTHING is labeled so you're constantly searching for the right screw, nut or bolt and of course there a ton of different types of each in the package. The directions themselves are not explained well at all and rely on lame pictures. Bottom line is I read numerous reviews on here where folks complained about assembly but figured they just weren't good at that sort of thing. Wrong. If you do buy it, just take your time and don't plan on finishing it in short order.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
groovyp
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/15/2012

Customer review by MarieT1234

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by MarieT1234
by MarieT1234

I just bought this for my 14 year old son. He has been driving me crazy for a new Basketball net and I searched a lot of places and this was the best priced one I found for my budget. It took a few hours to put together but once we were done it is an AWESOME system. I have kids playing all the time with it. Easy adjusting for heights and very strong and sturdy. We love it and recommend this to all. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarieT1234
Tupper Lake NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Even an Engineer Can Put it Together
12/13/2012

Customer review by DodoinDenver

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by DodoinDenver
by DodoinDenver

My 5-year old "helped" me. After reading some of the reviews, I'd planned 4 or 5 hours for this job. It took me 2 hours to unpack, sort and assemble this. Is it advantageous to be an engineer? Most people tease them for their inability for actually assembling anything. Maybe I just got lucky.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DodoinDenver
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/12/2010

Customer review by KSgreenmachine

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by KSgreenmachine
by KSgreenmachine

The basketball hoop was fairly easy to assemble. I've bought others in the past, this one has been the best for the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KSgreenmachine
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
sturdy backboard and goal
12/22/2011

Customer review by Memyselfand

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Memyselfand
by Memyselfand

Overall the goal is a quality product. It does take considerable time and 2 people to assemble. You will need an 8 foot step ladder and some tools. The backboard and goal are sturdy, so bank shots are not a problem - as they can be on less expensive units. Adjusting rim height is not as easy as I would like, but it works. "Portable" but not easy to move. It is heavy. There is no handle and with wheels only in the front, the system is apt to tilt forward and could fall to the ground. 2 adults definately recommended to move this goal system. If you want a bball goal that can be moved around the driveway as needed, this is NOT the one for you. Great if you have a designated place for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Memyselfand
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good item
12/30/2011

Customer review by rogerstv

4.0 stars 12/30/2011 by rogerstv
by rogerstv

The back board and pole appear to be very good quality. Assembly not difficult just time consuming. Be careful to read all directions as you put together because alignment is critical. It does take two people and saw horses are better than just using the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rogerstv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1/5/2012

Customer review by 49ersFan1

4.0 stars 1/5/2012 by 49ersFan1
by 49ersFan1

We love our new Basketball System. The only thing I didn't like was putting it together. It took about 5-6 hours. We also opted to put sand in our base to hold it instead of water and that took much longer. There really should be a better way to fill the base for those who want to put sand in it. The hole is incredibly small for that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
49ersFan1
Sonoma, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Product good but...
1/11/2011

Customer review by aglp

3.0 stars 1/11/2011 by aglp
by aglp

Product is excellent; purchase from Wal-Mart excellent. But, instructions on putting together, not so good. Did exactly as it stated and last pole put on just like directions and once we stood it up, the holes are not aligned correctly for the backboard. And, now we cannot get the poles apart....no way. so, it sits as one big pole, back board in garage. Trying to figure out how to fix...probably have to drill new holes for backboard to be added. UGH! Directions need to be updated and corrected!

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aglp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews