Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-19 of 19 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Glass backboard at Reasonable Price
6/7/2010

Customer review by Stephsin

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Stephsin
by Stephsin

We paid about $550.00 USD for this system. It is not easy to put in but I actually was able to do it myself over 3-days. Only 5-6 hrs of work but concrete needs to cure overnight on two different steps (post support and filling of the actual post). The filled post weighs 200 lbs or so and it's awkward to get into the ground sleeve so it would be good to have an extra person to set the post and help lift the backboard onto the support Started on a Fri eve and was able to play Sunday. My kids and neighbors love it. Only downside is the backboard seems a little small. Go for a larger backboard if you have the room and extra cash

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephsin
Phila Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product, lousy instructions
7/21/2010

Customer review by OldBeancounter

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by OldBeancounter
by OldBeancounter

Good product at a great price, looks great after assembly. Adjusts up and down very easily, great for our six year old. Instructions were horrible - basically pictures only - but if you're handy at all it can be figured out pretty easily. Took two weekends to put up, but we spread out the work to let the concrete dry better. The backboard, pole and concrete are heavy - at least two strong adults are required, preferably three when installing the backboard. A tip - the pole fits into a sleeve which is embedded in concrete. The sleeve is not as long as the hole is deep, so we set it on a sand base directly under the sleeve and propped up the sleeve with rebar before adding the concrete, which later helped to support the pole as the concrete set. Also added some more rebar into the concrete - it's cheap and really strengthens the concrete. Lastly, after installation is done, caulk where the pole enters the concrete with flexible silicone caulk - it will minimize the amount of water entering the sleeve embedded in the ground.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldBeancounter
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Goal - a lot of work to put together
1/10/2011

Customer review by SwitzerFan

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by SwitzerFan
by SwitzerFan

Recently purchased this goal with the exception that the one I purchased had an acrylic backboard. I am mostly pleased with the final result however I thought I would provide a few observations/suggestions to those considering buying one of these. The directions were decent. It would have helped to have actual size pictures of the hardware at each step. I found myself looking at the parts list alot and deciding which bolt, nut, etc was which. Take your time here so you use the right part at each step. The hardest part of this installation was digging the hole, filling with concrete, putting the pole together, and filling it with concrete. After that all the other steps were easy except for having to drill out a few previously drilled holes that were now to small to insert a bolt in due to the extra thickness from painting/powder coating. A few tips.... I ended up using a little over 12 bags of 80lb concrete. The hole is deeper than the actual sleeve depth so, I connected a piece of re-bar to a 2x4 to set in the middle of the hole at just the right depth to give the pole sleeve something to set on while the concrete dried. The hardest step of the entire project was getting the 3 pole sections to fit together to the correct overlap point. I tried about every trick in the book and still didn't get them to over lap as much as I wanted, but since they are concrete filled at the end, I don't think they will come apart. I did caulk and tape the joints of the pole before pouring concrete in them. This will minimize the concrete leakage before drying. Alot of hard work, but the goal seems great and the kids love it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwitzerFan
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
backboard shattered after 4 minutes
6/25/2010

Customer review by Racingrich

1.0 stars 6/25/2010 by Racingrich
by Racingrich

Had some minor issues getting pole sections together as described in instructions. After 3 days of setup (mostly for concrete to cure) the backboard shattered after 4 minutes of normal use. Although company said they had an issue and are replaceing them under warranty the wait time is 2 months for replacement backboard. No basketball for the summer. Kids are not happy.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Racingrich
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great hoop!
5/19/2015

Customer review by Jason

5.0 stars 5/19/2015 by Jason
by Jason

Really nice hoop. Digging the hole and pouring the cement was a pain, but the assembly of the actual hoop was easy. Good instructions and high quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BB goal a winner
5/20/2015

Customer review by jbbx

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by jbbx
by jbbx

We like this goal much better than a portable unit because it does not occupy significant space at ground level and does not take up any space on the concrete surface serving for vehicle passage and turn around.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbbx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value
10/25/2010

Customer review by Squilliam

4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Squilliam
by Squilliam

Purchased 2009 - easily $80 cheaper than the next lowest price locally at that time. The price has dropped even more in the year since our purchase. Ship-to-store was easy. Assembly was straight-forward but it obviously takes some time since you're dealing with concrete (and lots of it - 900lbs). Pay close attention to the pole halves - there are tops an bottoms to each and getting it right makes pole assembly easier. While your pole base is curing, I recommend caulk and tape around the pole joint, prior to pouring the pole full of concrete to prevent leaking. Once the pole pour is cured, remove the tape and you'll have a nice, stain-free joint. The backboard IS heavy so make sure you have at least one friend on standby when you get ready to mount it to the pole. Ours has been in constant service about 16 months and is still in great condition.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squilliam
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
help will be needed
11/11/2010

Customer review by johnde1

4.0 stars 11/11/2010 by johnde1
by johnde1

I had some trouble putting the pole filled with cement into plastic holder in cement. I think the pole sould have been set into the first pour in the ground with cement( set at the bottom of the hole ), two things it would help 1st the pole should be set at the bottom of the hole to make it more sturdy. 2nd filling the pole with cement then tring to put into the hole was very hard to line up, then after we had it in the plastic holder it seemed to move inside the plastic holder to much and keeping the plastic holder clamp above the cement to tieghten up the bolts kept the plastic only in the cement 16 to 17 inches into the cement.other than that ok for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnde1
Canton ,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EXCEEDS OUR EXPECTATIONS
8/16/2010

Customer review by PORTINO

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by PORTINO
by PORTINO

The basketball system instructions were very straight forward. The quality,price and professional look exceeded our expectations. Very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PORTINO
Faribault, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleased Overall
6/30/2010

Customer review by browe71

4.0 stars 6/30/2010 by browe71
by browe71

Great value. Not the most easy installation. A couple of hints; Make sure the bottom pole will go into sleeve EXACTLY how you set the concrete (be aware of how top holes of the top pole will end up). When putting cement in pole, STAND UP pole on 2 by 6 piece of wood. Otherwise cement will come out bottom. Use parts list for hardware reference (not hardware identifier). I had 4 thick rubber spacers left over but used them to help support/cushion the backboard. I added a cement pier around base but the basket was still too shaky for me. Also the rim and backboard were not perpendicular to the ground even though pole was "level" so I would recommend waiting until the end to level basket using cement around the pole in a pier(pier forms are available at home improvement stores, put pier form on pole before installing hoop and hardware). Overall I am pleased with this product and look forward to years of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
browe71
Tustin CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A pretty good product
4/19/2011

Customer review by BrownBananas

4.0 stars 4/19/2011 by BrownBananas
by BrownBananas

Overall I am satisfied with the system. The instructions were not very easy to navigate with several langauges making each page confusing. It wasnt very hard to assemble, be sure to have help around when installing the brackets and backboard. It is already serving our neighborhood as the new "hangout".

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrownBananas
Houston MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product. Would recommend
8/22/2010

Customer review by obhd13

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by obhd13
by obhd13

Very happy with this purchase. It was not to hard to install. My wife and kids helped. Even the install was fun doing with my family. My kids love it. I love playing pig with the wife and kids. I would HIGHLY recommend this basket ball system. One thing we did while installing was once you put the poles together put the pole in the sleeve before adding the concrete and add it while it is in place. Made it a lot easier. Also it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
obhd13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No better deal out there!
12/1/2009

Customer review by marcusmembrane

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by marcusmembrane
by marcusmembrane

Walmart.com delivered the high-quality in-ground basketball standard of my choice at a price $100 less than anybody else on-line was offering. I still can't believe it. I haven't put it together yet, but I expect the system will meet and exceed all of my expectations. Thanks, Walmart.com!

Was this review helpful? (5) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marcusmembrane
West Jordan, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
9/13/2010

Customer review by Swoosh2010

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by Swoosh2010
by Swoosh2010

Spent lots of time sorting parts. I followed the installation directions and have a very sturdy pole. The backboard and rim are at my my expectation for the price and really a bit better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swoosh2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for a great price!
7/7/2015

Customer review by Melinda

5.0 stars 7/7/2015 by Melinda
by Melinda

This product was easy to assemble and for a great price. Very sturdy item!!! You wouldn't regret buying this!!! My husband and son are outside everyday playing basketball!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melinda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best for the money
5/27/2015

Customer review by Buster

4.0 stars 5/27/2015 by Buster
by Buster

I would agree with other reviews that this is the best goal for the money. If you want better you will be looking at the goals that are 2-3x as much. I followed the directions and it works great. Give yourself at least 5 days for set up b/ c concrete setting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid hoop for the price
5/21/2015

Customer review by Sean

4.0 stars 5/21/2015 by Sean
by Sean

The hoop is sturdy and a great buy for the price. Assembly is difficult but worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Basketball goal
7/5/2015

Customer review by Baller

4.0 stars 7/5/2015 by Baller
by Baller

We purchased this item it came a couple of days sooner but was a pain almost a week for curing and 300+ pounds needs to be picked up and navigated with everything being precise including poke in concrete but in the end sturdy sexy and a great goal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good overall value and quality
7/24/2015

Customer review by ChristineI

4.0 stars 7/24/2015 by ChristineI
by ChristineI

I paid $412 and believe this is a good value given the quality of the glass backboard, pole, and rim. The instructions were decent, but reading the other reviews was very helpful. Overall, I'm pleased with the install and quality (have been using it for 3 weeks now and no issues at all). The system is sturdy - just a minor vibration when hitting off center shots. A couple of comments regarding the installation: - I trashed the plastic sleeve after reading other reviews that it would make the pole vibrate. Think this is a good idea as the pole is solid in the ground. - I dug the hole deeper than required and added stone and concrete as a base so that the pole was at the correct depth (about 15 inches). - I used quick setting concrete with some rebar (approx. 700 pounds for the hole and 100 in the pole). - I didn't follow the directions for setting the pole. Since I didn't use the plastic sleeve, I filled the hole and then inserted the lower section of the pole (didn't need the bracket or wood support to level the pole as indicated in the directions - perhaps due to the quick setting concrete). - The next day, I installed the second section of the pole. The problem I had was fitting the two poles together so that the holes for the screw aligned. I had to drill a new hole for the center screw - fitting the poles together was too tight. I was within an inch - quick fix, not a problem since the pole is filled with concrete. - Prior to filling the pole with concrete, use heavy tape and perhaps paper towels over the center seam and other holes. I taped the holes and seam but it didn't prevent the concrete from running down the pole. I touched up the minor dripping stains with a matte type of spray paint. Looks much better. -Hanging the backboard requires several people. The glass is heavy and not easy to maneuver (unless you have a scaffolding type ladder). - Make sure the plastic cap on top fits tight to keep water/rain from entering the pole. My cap didn't fit tight (due to having to force the poles together), so I made a cover from galvanized sheet metal (can buy at home depot or lowe's for a dollar).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChristineI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes