Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

150 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

150 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 134 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews
Great Tv. Great Price.
10/22/2009

Customer review by hutchkufan

5.0 stars 10/22/2009 by hutchkufan
by hutchkufan

I have spent lots of money on tv's in the past but this one was our best purchase for price. I know tv prices have come down recently, but this tv is just amazing. When you are watching shows the people almost look like they are in your room. Do not get to close to the tv in standard definition, because the picture is definitely grainy. When on high-def though you can be right up to the screen and it is crystal clear. Love all of the HDMI ports on the tv, makes for easy connection and with the Vizio soundbar with subwoofer we have a very compact complete home theater system. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (193) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hutchkufan
Hutchinson, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awesome TV
8/9/2009

Customer review by Larry500

5.0 stars 8/9/2009 by Larry500
by Larry500

Had this TV two months awesome TV, beautiful picture I was really suprised.From the reviews I read, most being good also in store compairison I agree.This much quaility at such a low price is amazing.You can not go wrong.You hear alot about issues with poor sound quaility.Try setting the audio to jazz mode and turning off the true sound.Turning the backlight down to about 20 helps alot also.Looking for a great deal? this is it you won't be diapointed.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Larry500
Glassboro NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My TV Vizio 55
7/21/2009

Customer review by Rican60

4.0 stars 7/21/2009 by Rican60
by Rican60

I bought mine about seven months ago & so far no complaints. Picture is great sound is good. For the price, yes is worht it. Enjoy 'cause I'am.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rican60
Chester, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Still AMAZING Months Later!!!
7/21/2009

Customer review by USAFVet1

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by USAFVet1
by USAFVet1

Pros: GEORGEOUS COLOR, CONTRAST, PRISTINE QUALITY PICTURE, BLU-RAY SPLENDOR!!! 120HZ, SMOOTH MOTION, AUTO-ADJUSTING SOUND LEVELS. PLUS, FIVE HDMI PORTS. BIG BANG FOR THE BUCK!! Cons: THE ONLY BAD THING IS EVERYONE DOESN'T OWN ONE! Summary: THIS VIZIO VF550M IS QUITE SIMPLY THE MOST AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL TV ON THE MARKET! WITH COLOR SO VIBRANT, IT MAKES EVERY MOVIE, SPORTING EVENT, AND BLU-RAY DISC JUMP OUT AT YOU! IT'S LIKE YOU ARE PART OF THE SHOW!! I CAN'T STOP LOOKING AT IT!!!! IT HAS FIVE HDMI PORTS WHICH ALLOWS ME TO CONNECT MY DIGITAL CONVERTER, PS3, XBOX 360, SURROUND SOUND PLAYER AND HD PC. IT HAS A SMOOTH MOTION FEATURE THAT MAKES EVERYTHING LOOK 3-D (THIS CAN ALSO BE DISABLED), AND CAN BE ADJUSTED FOR ANY VIEWING SITUATION. IT ONLY COSTS $1597 AT WAL MART, LESS THAN THE COMPETITION!! IT IS THE LARGEST ONE IN STOCK. READ OTHER REVIEWS - THIS IS MONEY WELL SPENT!! I FEEL FOR THE REVIEWER WHO HAD PROBLEMS, BUT HEY, THAT'S RARE. VIZIO WILL REPLACE YOUR TV FOR FREE!! I'VE NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH THEM ON THE PHONE. YOUR WARRENTY IS STILL IN EFFECT, JUST WAIT UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR REPLACEMENT TV AND EVALUATE IT BEFORE WRITING A NEGATIVE REVIEW. I'VE USED MINE EVERY DAY FOR 2+ MONTHS WITH NO ISSUES.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USAFVet1
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could not ask for more.
7/18/2009

Customer review by unanimous415

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by unanimous415
by unanimous415

I bought this TV about 2 months ago at the local WalMart. I have not had any problems with it and the picture quality is clear and bright. The sound is not the greatest and is weak. For the price I could not have asked for anything better. I checked this TV out next to Sony and Samsung and the picture brightness and color was better on the Vizio. So don't always go by the name go by what you see.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unanimous415
Escondido, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A lesson in value
8/18/2009

Customer review by baillywick

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by baillywick
by baillywick

Value is what Visio is all about. You can spend twice the dollars and see no improvement. This is my fifth Visio purchase. I have seen other TVs with a better picture, Panasonic for a grand more. The difference is only in deep blacks. Side by side it makes a difference. Alone the picture is very impressive. The 120 htz processor does make a visible difference. I hear they are comming out with a 300 htz TV soon. It does make a difference in sports and car chases. Overall You cant beat the price/quality ratio.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baillywick
Sun City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Picture and Price
10/19/2009

Customer review by Sharlene

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by Sharlene
by Sharlene

We love this TV. It was up in no time and needed no adjustments. We mounted it with a tilt wall mount that makes it easy to pull out and plug in connections. Would definitely recommend. With the home theater system that comes with it, we can watch DVD movies, listen to CD's, and also watch clear precise photos. They look great enlarged on the big screen. The theater system also has a USB port that we can attach anything with a USB attachment and show it on the screen. We were able to hide all the wires by running them through a wicker shelf.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sharlene
Orange, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tv for the price
3/17/2010

Customer review by wwhit

4.0 stars 3/17/2010 by wwhit
by wwhit

This is a great tv for $1,298.00, I purchased 3 tv's for comparison, the 55" Vizio tru led 551 from Sam's for $1,776.00 and a Samsung 55" 640 clearance from Best Buy for $1,499.00 The VF550M had just as good a picture as the other more expensive sets. If you use pip then Vizio is much more user friendly than the Samsung. I could not find any other brands that offer pip capabilities. Also the Vizio tv's have a matte screen for less reflection. The Samsung is as shiny as a plazma, very hard to see in a room with light. The sound on all three sets could be better, but most people hook up to an external sound system anyway. Also the Vizio offers variable audio output which is a nice feature for controlling your tv and sound system volume with your tv remote. I do have a problem I don't understand and that is the shiny bezel around almost all flat panel's on the market. Why not make this a matte finish to cut down on reflection from the bezel? I did lot's of testing and believe this is a great set for the price. I also purchased the extended 3 year warranty from Wal-Mart.com for $118.00 just to be sure. Hope some of this helps so you won't have to set up 3 55" sets in your den for comparison.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wwhit
Midland, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
7/27/2009

Customer review by movielover77

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by movielover77
by movielover77

We did alot of shopping before buying a tv in this price range and size. This tv will astonish you will the 3d effect of 120 hz . Coming from a 42" 1080i vizio it was breathtaking. I've seen plasmas, several other lcds from sonys to sharps to samsungs, but none offer the value to wow factor in this size. Hooked up to a 7.2; yes I said 2 subs , it is alot better than going to the movie theater. Of course you have to have blu-ray. 5 hdmi inputs means you won't be running out of connections . Best investment in a tv in along time.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
movielover77
Fort Smith, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
satified Vizio Customer
8/28/2009

Customer review by jazzyshellie

5.0 stars 8/28/2009 by jazzyshellie
by jazzyshellie

I have been a Vizio owner since March 2007. This is my fifth purchase of a Vizio LCD and I have no compliants. I notice that the comments from a couple of unhappy customers. Unfortunately - there are no perfect products and you are bound to have a defect here or there.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jazzyshellie
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It really is awesome! and some tips too.
1/13/2010

Customer review by mjt2

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by mjt2
by mjt2

At first I thought these reviews sounded too good to be true and figured they were written by Walmart or Vizio employees. But after comparing other tv's and purchasing this one, I totally believe them all. WOW!!! My living room is about 18' x 20' and I thought the 55" may be too big but it fits and looks perfect. Anything else would have looked too small. As far as value goes, it cost much less than any other brands with the same features. And it's American made!! You can't put value on that! The picture quality really does look amazing. Everyone reviewing this will say it looks SO lifelike and real, and they would be correct (as long as you have a HD receiver and use HDMI cables you'll get the 1080p). It really does look amazing. Don't hook it up with AV inputs though (the red, white, and yellow cables) they'll only broadcast in 480p. As far as sound goes, I had a 32" Sanyo box (the "old" tube type of tv) so this one blows that one away. I can't attest to prior flatscreens because I have never had one. Tip: I used the Sanus/vuepoint low profile wall mount F55 model, $89 at Walmart, and it was so simple and is plenty sturdy for a 55" tv. Just find your 2 wall studs, level it up, drill 4 holes and insert lag bolts. I cut a 2 3/8" hole in the wall directly behind where the power cable goes into the back of the tv and inserted a 2 3/8" desk grommet into the wall. Drill and insert another grommet behind whatever is under your tv, run the power cable and HDMI's from tv through the wall and out to receiver/dvd/video game consoles and SHAZAM! instant professional looking wireless wallmount. I love my awesome new tv!!! Yay for me!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mjt2
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BIGGER IS BETTER!!!!
6/16/2009

Customer review by MCKEITHEN

4.0 stars 6/16/2009 by MCKEITHEN
by MCKEITHEN

LOVE THIS TV!!!! I HAVE ONLY HAD IT FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS. THE SOUND COULD BE BETTER!! I ALSO BOUGHT A VIZIO SOUND BAR TO USE WITH THE TV. PRICE IS AWESOME...SETUP EASY AND HD PIC IS GREAT........HOPE IT CONTINUES TO BE A GREAT TV.. I PUT MY 47-IN VIZIO IN MY BEDROOM . I DEBATED FOR MONTHS ON GETTING A NAME BRAND BUT I DECIDED TO GO WITH VIZIO---HOPE IT DOES NOT LET ME DOWN....

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCKEITHEN
FLORENCE,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great television
7/21/2009

Customer review by watchmetv

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by watchmetv
by watchmetv

I wanted an up-to date tv and reviewed the features and size that this Vizeo offered and knew this was the tv for me! After hooking up DirectTV HD I was amazed how clear and crisp the screen was. I would recommend this tv to anyone who wants a big tv!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
watchmetv
Marion, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Value 55' LCD TV
1/7/2010

Customer review by OhioFamilyman

4.0 stars 1/7/2010 by OhioFamilyman
by OhioFamilyman

I researched for a week before I decided on this TV for a several reasons. 1. Picture quality 2. Value of the product. 3. Convenience of getting it locally instead of online, in case I decided to return it, no shipping charge. 4. Walmart 90 day no-hassle return policy. Be very aware of return policies of many online stores. Only downside I found on this TV is the sound quality and PIP or POP options. It doesn't allow you to view two or more cable channels at the same time. Overall great TV for its value and I would recommend to others. Hope this helped others looking for a nice big screen LCD TV.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioFamilyman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bang for your Buck
1/26/2010

Customer review by Giro210

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by Giro210
by Giro210

I was extensively searching for a LCD HDTV to fit both my expectations and budget. I wanted atleast a 52" to get the real theatre like experience inside my medium size living room. I narrowed down on Vizio VF550M in the end, and boy am I happy !! the first thing that impress you about this TV is its shear size. It is HUGE !! The picture quality is awesome too. The output with BD and 120Hz on this TV is at par with any high end TVs. The sound production ic clear and mainly by the sound bar at the bottom of the TV. To get a real home theatre like experience I would suggest to complement this TV with a home thatre system. Remote control is very basic and simple. With 5 HDMI ports there is never a problem with connectivity of various gadgets !! I would definitely recommend this product for those who are searching for a 52" or higher TV size. Get it and let the fun begin !!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Giro210
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Viziooooooooooo
11/8/2009

Customer review by Hightech101001

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by Hightech101001
by Hightech101001

The product vizio puts out is unmatched when you look at price/quality. I bought my first vizio flat panel about 3 years ago and it still works flawlessly. Now when it asks how often the TV is used and i say everyday i mean everyday. The vizio i bought 3 years ago is a 37inch and is used as a tv in our bedroom but also as a computer monitor. Our newest Vizio is a 42inch and we have the 55 in our livingroom. They all work amazing. I noticed some of the other comments and the one with the picture of the screen not looking good kind of troubled me. Typically when a screen looks like that is due to using a component cable and having your blue and green mixed up. I dont want to start a war of words here but thats exactly how ours look when the blue and green are switched. In closing if your reading this buy vizio. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hightech101001
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great LCD
2/16/2010

Customer review by BigScreenLover

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by BigScreenLover
by BigScreenLover

I bought this Visio after trying out a similarly priced Samsung from Best Buy. The Samsung had a few more features like basic internet connectivity, but the picture and sound quality are clearly better with the Visio. The Samsung had a higher contrast ratio, but the Visio is better at contrast and displaying blacks. So you can't also trust the manufacturers specifications. The Visio is a bit thicker compared to the Samsung, but who cares unless you pay the big dollars for the ultra-thin model. The downside to the Visio which I knew about up front is that on some channles, during some programs or commercials, you can see a bit of a line at the top of the screen. However, based on the overall picture and sound quality of the Visio and lower price, compared to the entry level Samsung of the same size, in my mind the clear choice is Visio. I had a bit of a problem finding it, but the extended warranty thru Walmart is priced better than buying one direct from Visio. So far, very happy with my purchase and I think I did the right thing by sending the Best Buy Samsung 55" back. This is my second Visio LCD. The 37" model is also great. Both Best Buy and Walmart have great custmer service for on-line purchases.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigScreenLover
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont Buy
8/12/2009

Customer review by WontLast

2.0 stars 8/12/2009 by WontLast
by WontLast

Wait to write your review. Our TV only lasted three weeks. The picture quality starts changing colors after the first week and by the end of the second week everyone is blue no matter what you do.

Was this review helpful? (31) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WontLast
Hardy, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JUNK
7/2/2009

Customer review by whydoIneedanicknamee

1.0 stars 7/2/2009 by whydoIneedanicknamee
by whydoIneedanicknamee

all these reviews on here are after people just got their TV. Of course they are happy. It is a big HD tv... I waited before writing my review and glad I did. This hunk of junk died after 3 months and Vizio has been HORRIBLE to deal with. Their service is about as bad as their products. Lesson learned. You do get what you pay for. Apparantly all these great reviews in cyber world are from people who get so excited with their new TV they start writing reviews. People need to wait and then see how long the Vizio really lasts.

Was this review helpful? (76) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whydoIneedanicknamee
Would recommend to a friend? No
5 Vizios and no issues!
11/29/2009

Customer review by GibbyPlayer

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by GibbyPlayer
by GibbyPlayer

I have a 20", 37", two 42" and the 55 and all work as they should. The 37" is the oldest (3years) and not one issue. If you look at reviews enough you will see that every manufacturer has some issues, my last HDTV was a Sony and it blew up every six months like clockwork. If you like spending money on a name, go for it. I have done many times in the past but never again on electronics. For the money, you can beat these sets. Are there better ones? If better is you mean more bells and wistles, sure. I promise you the reliability is on par with anything out there.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GibbyPlayer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews