Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 114 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
Great HDTV
6/22/2009

Customer review by Avioncsengineer

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by Avioncsengineer
by Avioncsengineer

Purchased this TV after looking at other 42 - 47 models for hours. For the money this is hands down the best deal out there. This model was sitting next to another 42" 1080i model that was only 60Hz. In Wal Mart they were running video clips of a baseball game and the image of the ball flying through the air with the crowd in the background was the best comparison I could have asked for. With the 60Hz model the crowd was extremely pixilated almost like lego blocks. With this model's 120Hz the same crowd shot was smooth with little to no pixelation and the best part is the price difference between these TV's was only $100. Setup at home was super easy. The base was already attached to the TV so all I had to do was connect the HDMI cables and turn it on. The advanced video options are enough to satisfy most anyone's video preferences. I won't comment on the sound as I am using a surround sound system for sound so I rarely use the built in speakers, although they sound pretty good for most news programs etc. Standard def TV image is a little grainy, but that's to be expected. I have Direct TV with the HD package and the High Def programming picture quality is awsome. I have a couple of 22" 720P TV's and the picture quality on this model blows them away. Bottom line this TV is excellent for price and picture quality. A must buy.

Was this review helpful? (313) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Avioncsengineer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome T.V.
6/16/2009

Customer review by ORION23

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by ORION23
by ORION23

Love this T.V. very good picture quality. Sound Could be better but not bad if you have sound system does not matter.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ORION23
Ft Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Picture, Great Value!
12/4/2009

Customer review by Carlsc

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by Carlsc
by Carlsc

This Vizio 120 Hz 42" TV has an excellent picture that is just as good as (and sometimes better) than the 42" 120hz Sony or Samsung for a MUCH MUCH lower price. What a bargain!! Unlike Samsung, the Vizio screen is low glare, and the picture is clear and bright even when the afternoon sun shines in the windows. The on screen menu takes some fine tuning. I highly recommend turning OFF the smooth-motion. Movies just look... wrong. ("Jaws" with smooth-motion looked totally bizarre - like a soap opera.) Even with the smooth-motion off, the picture is FANTASTIC. It never judders or whatever. Make sure you set the correct option (480, 720, 1080 etc) for your signal. Ours sat on 480 for months before I figured out how to adjust it to 1080. It's in the Vizio onscreen menu. You'll LOVE this TV -- It is hands down the BEST PICTURE for this price.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carlsc
Castle Rock, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good product
7/8/2009

Customer review by CharlieJo1

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by CharlieJo1
by CharlieJo1

This is my first HD Flat Screen TV and I researched for months before deciding. I have had the TV for about a week now and love everything about it. I have no complaints and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlieJo1
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful picture
10/18/2009

Customer review by Louvir

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by Louvir
by Louvir

I bought the Vizio 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M television, and am amazed at how beautiful, sharp, and clear the picture is. I thought that this television was extremely easy to set up; I simply plugged it into the power outlet and satellite box, clicked on the HDM1 setting, turned it on, and there it was. I am particularly impressed with the range of viewing...good seats almost anywhere and on either side of it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Louvir
Sussex County, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So awesome looks like your really there
1/7/2010

Customer review by Rose1983

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by Rose1983
by Rose1983

I have never seen the quality like this Tv has, Really It might be the HDTV cable that I have too that matchs well with this TV , But I had such a hard time explaining to people how great the picture is, LIKE YOUR There kind of a feeling. too a lil bite to get use to it , becasue it looks sooo great . I went from my childhood TV with all my glow in the dark stickers all aronud the screen to this beauty. I would buy another one right now if I had some where to put it. But I will be getting a smller one for my bed room. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rose1983
Castro Valley,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV?
8/8/2009

Customer review by RecentBuyer207

2.0 stars 8/8/2009 by RecentBuyer207
by RecentBuyer207

Check out the Video posted below.. thats my TV after not many weeks of use. When I bought this TV I was pretty excited. I did my research and for the price and with its specs it was a fantastic television. I was pleased by it for awhile, but however the back light kicked out and it constantly flickers, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't, Vizio is willing to replace it however the process does take FOREVER I have been given so many different case numbers in order to get this done I can't believe it. I have been trying to replace it for two weeks now and I have more person to go through (or so I was told) once i give them my case number they'll set up a time to replace it. I paid 800 bucks for this TV and was greatly pleased til this problem. As much as I like it I know many other people who have Sony's and Samsungs. None of them have had this problem. So with regret.. I say, stay away from this product.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RecentBuyer207
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
vizio 42 120 hz
12/12/2009

Customer review by yogreco

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by yogreco
by yogreco

I spent hours and days reading reviews and looking at all different products on lcd tv's. I learned the aspects of things 1080p and 120 hz or 60 and the size of the tv. Well if your going to buy a tv and have a budget or just wanna splurdge this is the tv for you. It works at both ways for you and has great qaulity. For example I bought this tv with the vizio blu ray and saved a 150 bucks. And also I waited on buying blu ray dvds if you have the blu ray dvd player vizio and the tv 42inch with 120 hz you can play regular dvds and get the blu ray effect with full hd and all your dvds look like your in a reality show right in your room it looks so real you would think its fake. Its one of the greatest investments Ive purchassed in a while and I am 100 percent satisfied. I was so amazed when I played my regular batman returns dvd and got visual quality to the max the dvd which was not a blu ray gave me a experience I will never forget. I almost lost it and the tv and size for a good prize gave me that theater experience. I will never forget the day of the experience. What a great buy I would recommend it to any first tv buyer looking into the flat screen range. I was going to get the toshiba regzna for the same price but the vizio kicked out the same quality or better and has a better sleek design . Im happy with this purchase and hope it last a liftime.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yogreco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Backlight problem
7/30/2009

Customer review by Provjb

1.0 stars 7/30/2009 by Provjb
by Provjb

I’ve had the TV less than a month... and now I have a serious backlight issue. When you turn the TV on, after about 20 minutes, the picture will start to FLICKER... the longer it's on, the more flickering it does. It gets to the point where it’s unwatchable. (I googled this issue – and it seems many people have experienced the same problem) Vizio acknowledged the problem – and said they will replace the TV - but the process is taking FOREVER – and at this point the flickering is so bad, I don’t even bother turning on the TV. I may return it to WALMART – as I’m not too happy with the Vizio brand. Just my 2 cents. But I have to say – before the flickering – the TV was beautiful! The picture was amazing.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Provjb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
7/18/2009

Customer review by CBrown123

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by CBrown123
by CBrown123

Got this tv online a few weeks ago, must have gotten one of the last ones as it is not available online since. Completely satisfied. Don't know what the guy below was talking about when he says its a plasma that he got last year. Its a LCD that just came out this year. Only negative is the VIZIO name on front never shuts off, even when tv is off.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CBrown123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get This TV !!
10/2/2009

Customer review by Jerso

5.0 stars 10/2/2009 by Jerso
by Jerso

I bought this tv a week ago after shopping around and doing my "homework" for over a year. I admit I was a little aprehensive about getting a Vizio, but all that flew out the window once I got this home. Setup was very simple right out of the box with very little tweaking the settings. The picture quality was excellent with just the coax from the standard cable, but once I upgraded my cable box to HD and hooked up the HDMI cable, WOW!!! AMAZING!! The smooth motion 120hz really makes the HD experience. I like to watch sports, so the picture quality is important to me. I watched a Hockey game last night, you really don't get much faster action than that, and there was NO pixelation or trails at all, it was like being there. The sound quality could be better but I am using the built in speakers and honestly it is better than my old set. The only problem I had was when watching via the HDMI, whenever I changed to a channel that was broadcasting in Dolby 5.1 I would not get sound only a picture. I called Vizio tech support, they were very nice and helpful. They told me that it was a problem with the cable box not the set. So I called the cable company and they confirmed that it was the box and exchanged it for another. But the new one did the same thing until I found the audio settings in the cable box and changed it to "pass through". Now it works fine with no problem, the problem never was with the TV. I highly reccommend this tv. It is a great value at Wally World for under $800.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jerso
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great product
6/20/2009

Customer review by thriftyvegas

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by thriftyvegas
by thriftyvegas

My parents bought a Vizio 32" 720p 2 years ago, and had nothing but good things to say about it. so for fathers day i went and bought my husband a 42" Vizio 1080p. He loves it!!!! Other than the BBQ grill he got 2 years ago this is the best present.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thriftyvegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly Disappointed in Product
12/23/2009

Customer review by ShopForBest

2.0 stars 12/23/2009 by ShopForBest
by ShopForBest

I purchased a 42" Vizio HDTV in Oct 2008. I was really pleased overall with the product until a few days before Christmas 2009 when the screen on the TV went totally black. I had no picture, only sound. I called Vizio technical department and after some minor troubleshooting, I was told that the back light had burned out and the TV would probably need to be replaced due to the difficulty of having the light replaced. I kindly thanked the technician for his assistance and told him that I would go shopping for another TV but it will certainly not be another Vizio brand. There seems to be a problem with the life span of the back light in this TV so I will not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopForBest
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Viewing at it's best
3/10/2010

Customer review by PrinceAlbert

5.0 stars 3/10/2010 by PrinceAlbert
by PrinceAlbert

My wife and I did have the same 25" GE console for about 30 years. At the beginng of that time frame, this TV had taken center stage for it's size and wooden cabinet. After seeing several sets on display at your store, there was no question in our minds that we indeed needed a new and different TV. We looked at several different makes and models not only at Wal-Mart but at other stores as well. We kept coming back to the the same 42" Vizio for the best looking and life-like picture regardless of what angle it was viewed at (within reason). Also, Consumer Reports rated it one of the highest quality in all aspects. We have done quite a bit of research on this unit. We have thourghly enjoyed many hours of watching different programs on this TV more so than in the past. The definition and colors are truly magnificant even coming right out of the box. The sound did need a tiny bit of tweeking, but really nothing to get excited about. On a lot of the programs the sound does go up and down quite noticeably which I attributed to the station being watched and or the the recording of the program. Unless something drastically happens, we intend to keep this for a long, long time. Thank you for carying this good and quality product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrinceAlbert
New Haven, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio did not last
2/17/2010

Customer review by BARGES

1.0 stars 2/17/2010 by BARGES
by BARGES

Bought in AUG 2008 picture went black Feb. 2010 do not buy this product check out consumers product page all kinds of complaints on this TV working 1 to 2 yrs then the Picture going out.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BARGES
MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT BUY!!
7/16/2009

Customer review by fremar6

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by fremar6
by fremar6

Like the others in this review this is a excellent product. You will not be sorry your bought this set. With the QAM tuner you do not need a cable box. We have this set up with only our cable has a excellent picture. Once you scan you will be amazed at all the channels you can pick up. And if your neighbors are getting PPV movie you can watch them for FREE..it is rather hard to find the channel guide numbers as they will be very different than with your cable box. You just have to click on every channel this TV has found write down the channels and no in time you will be watching this TV without a extra box..this is due to the QAM tuning..very happy with our TV..

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fremar6
Youngstown Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tv
7/19/2009

Customer review by Starr621

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by Starr621
by Starr621

I have had this tv for over a year and i still love it! I also have the vizio 22 inch lcd and love it! Never any problems with picture or sound.. I hook my laptop up too it and watch videos and ppv's. or use it as a monitor. We have a tivo, ps3 and regular dvd player hooked up to it. Perfect picture and sound for gaming! my only complaint is when i bought it a year ago it was over $100 more then it is now! LOL!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Starr621
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/5/2009

Customer review by rescue172

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by rescue172
by rescue172

This tv is a great deal. The size and picture are fantastic and the 120hz rate makes the HD picture really come to life.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rescue172
Spring Hill,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Right Price!
2/8/2010

Customer review by kidpax

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by kidpax
by kidpax

Although the picture quality is excellent, the volume seems to be off compared to the 32" Vizio which I had purchased several months before. The 42" is adjusted up into the twenties and thirties versus the teens for the 32". To my dismay, there is no earphone connection as is with the 32". A "no sound" oddity occurs when switching from an analog channel to a HD channel (HDMI hookup) and am forced to turn the TV on and off to receive the sound... The 32" does not have this problem and works flawlessly with the same cable box and company I subscribe to. So far, no answer or resolution as to why both sets perform differently. Easy setup and directions.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kidpax
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY A VIZIO
2/8/2010

Customer review by CMADKINS

1.0 stars 2/8/2010 by CMADKINS
by CMADKINS

PLEASE CHECK LONGTERM OWNERS OF THIS PRODUCT ON THE INTERNET AND YOU WILL SEE THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE. I BOUGHT THIS SET ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND NOW THE SCREEN HAS GONE BLACK. THE SOUND STILL WORKS PERFECTLY, BUT NO PICTURE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDE SPREAD PROBLEM WITH VIZIO'S. DO NOT BUY ONE. SPEND THE EXTRA COUPLE OF HUNDRED DOLLARS AND GET A GOOD TV!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMADKINS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews