Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 114 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
technical issues galore
7/2/2010

Customer review by Techie411

1.0 stars 7/2/2010 by Techie411
by Techie411

So this TV looks great and the one I purchsed worked fine for about 2 months. However, we started having a variety of issues. One is with the sound. Volumes levels jump around like crazy within a show. We use the built-in speakers and sometimes we'd have to turn the volume up to 100 to hear dialog. Then music or commercials would start and we'd get blasted. I finally solved the issue by turning every sound control feature off (dynamics, stereo, etc.). Plain old mono sounds OK, but its not what you'd expect from an HDTV. Worse still the picture has completely degraded. We use a HD cable box and a Blue Ray DVD and both sources display a color issue where color transitions look pixelated (very blocky transitions with defined lines marking shading switches). Very dark or light areas also get strange color aliasing where there will be blue-green patches in the extreme highlights (see uploaded images). I've created a ticket with Vizio support and documented the issue with snapshots. I hope they'll make it right. But my advice is to stay away from this HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Techie411
Montclair, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV?
8/8/2009

Customer review by RecentBuyer207

2.0 stars 8/8/2009 by RecentBuyer207
by RecentBuyer207

Check out the Video posted below.. thats my TV after not many weeks of use. When I bought this TV I was pretty excited. I did my research and for the price and with its specs it was a fantastic television. I was pleased by it for awhile, but however the back light kicked out and it constantly flickers, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't, Vizio is willing to replace it however the process does take FOREVER I have been given so many different case numbers in order to get this done I can't believe it. I have been trying to replace it for two weeks now and I have more person to go through (or so I was told) once i give them my case number they'll set up a time to replace it. I paid 800 bucks for this TV and was greatly pleased til this problem. As much as I like it I know many other people who have Sony's and Samsungs. None of them have had this problem. So with regret.. I say, stay away from this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RecentBuyer207
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Picture, Great Value!
12/4/2009

Customer review by Carlsc

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by Carlsc
by Carlsc

This Vizio 120 Hz 42" TV has an excellent picture that is just as good as (and sometimes better) than the 42" 120hz Sony or Samsung for a MUCH MUCH lower price. What a bargain!! Unlike Samsung, the Vizio screen is low glare, and the picture is clear and bright even when the afternoon sun shines in the windows. The on screen menu takes some fine tuning. I highly recommend turning OFF the smooth-motion. Movies just look... wrong. ("Jaws" with smooth-motion looked totally bizarre - like a soap opera.) Even with the smooth-motion off, the picture is FANTASTIC. It never judders or whatever. Make sure you set the correct option (480, 720, 1080 etc) for your signal. Ours sat on 480 for months before I figured out how to adjust it to 1080. It's in the Vizio onscreen menu. You'll LOVE this TV -- It is hands down the BEST PICTURE for this price.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlsc
Castle Rock, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great HDTV
6/22/2009

Customer review by Avioncsengineer

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by Avioncsengineer
by Avioncsengineer

Purchased this TV after looking at other 42 - 47 models for hours. For the money this is hands down the best deal out there. This model was sitting next to another 42" 1080i model that was only 60Hz. In Wal Mart they were running video clips of a baseball game and the image of the ball flying through the air with the crowd in the background was the best comparison I could have asked for. With the 60Hz model the crowd was extremely pixilated almost like lego blocks. With this model's 120Hz the same crowd shot was smooth with little to no pixelation and the best part is the price difference between these TV's was only $100. Setup at home was super easy. The base was already attached to the TV so all I had to do was connect the HDMI cables and turn it on. The advanced video options are enough to satisfy most anyone's video preferences. I won't comment on the sound as I am using a surround sound system for sound so I rarely use the built in speakers, although they sound pretty good for most news programs etc. Standard def TV image is a little grainy, but that's to be expected. I have Direct TV with the HD package and the High Def programming picture quality is awsome. I have a couple of 22" 720P TV's and the picture quality on this model blows them away. Bottom line this TV is excellent for price and picture quality. A must buy.

Was this review helpful? (313) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avioncsengineer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio - What I've come to expect
12/31/2009

Customer review by Sebatron

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by Sebatron
by Sebatron

This is my third Vizio television. I have been happy with 2/3 of them. Read my review on the 37" class eco and you'll understand. I replaced the 37" with this product, the SV42OM, and have been very pleased. It is understood, that wen one buys discount electronics, then you should expect discount features. However, I'd say for the dollar amount, this is the best TV in its class, I recommend you use the television with a speaker system or sound bar. The internal speakers, although adequate, are the weakest feature with this television. I have mine hooked up digital optical to a 5.1 surround sound. I am using HDMI with a PS3 and HDTV receiver for video. I have a nintendo wii connected via AV connections. All peripherals run smoothly. The HD picture quality, especially 1080P on bluray, is exceptional. Sports programs run with no real noticeable blurring. I challenge anyone to compare these TVs with others within their price range and $500 above. I feel you will not be disappointed. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sebatron
a home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful picture
10/18/2009

Customer review by Louvir

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by Louvir
by Louvir

I bought the Vizio 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M television, and am amazed at how beautiful, sharp, and clear the picture is. I thought that this television was extremely easy to set up; I simply plugged it into the power outlet and satellite box, clicked on the HDM1 setting, turned it on, and there it was. I am particularly impressed with the range of viewing...good seats almost anywhere and on either side of it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Louvir
Sussex County, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good product
7/8/2009

Customer review by CharlieJo1

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by CharlieJo1
by CharlieJo1

This is my first HD Flat Screen TV and I researched for months before deciding. I have had the TV for about a week now and love everything about it. I have no complaints and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharlieJo1
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome T.V.
6/16/2009

Customer review by ORION23

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by ORION23
by ORION23

Love this T.V. very good picture quality. Sound Could be better but not bad if you have sound system does not matter.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ORION23
Ft Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So awesome looks like your really there
1/7/2010

Customer review by Rose1983

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by Rose1983
by Rose1983

I have never seen the quality like this Tv has, Really It might be the HDTV cable that I have too that matchs well with this TV , But I had such a hard time explaining to people how great the picture is, LIKE YOUR There kind of a feeling. too a lil bite to get use to it , becasue it looks sooo great . I went from my childhood TV with all my glow in the dark stickers all aronud the screen to this beauty. I would buy another one right now if I had some where to put it. But I will be getting a smller one for my bed room. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose1983
Castro Valley,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Backlight problem
7/30/2009

Customer review by Provjb

1.0 stars 7/30/2009 by Provjb
by Provjb

I’ve had the TV less than a month... and now I have a serious backlight issue. When you turn the TV on, after about 20 minutes, the picture will start to FLICKER... the longer it's on, the more flickering it does. It gets to the point where it’s unwatchable. (I googled this issue – and it seems many people have experienced the same problem) Vizio acknowledged the problem – and said they will replace the TV - but the process is taking FOREVER – and at this point the flickering is so bad, I don’t even bother turning on the TV. I may return it to WALMART – as I’m not too happy with the Vizio brand. Just my 2 cents. But I have to say – before the flickering – the TV was beautiful! The picture was amazing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Provjb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big Picture
1/3/2010

Customer review by DukeBasketballFan

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by DukeBasketballFan
by DukeBasketballFan

I really like this Vizio 42" LCD TV. We ordered it through Walmart.com, only took about 4 days to get it, and the shipping was only $.97!!!! I could not have driven to the next Walmart to get it. Our local store did not have the one I wanted. At first, my only complaint was that I could hear a humming noise when the volume was at a normal setting. I contacted Time Warner, they sent out a tech. who switched my cable box, but that did not solve the problem. He suggested that I purchase a HDM1 cable for the best contact. So, after connecting the HDM1 cable, it works perfect!! No more humming and the picture looks even better!! So, if you want the BEST connection, besure to get a HDM1 cable, it cost $36. but was worth it. Time Warner does not offer it because it cost too much. But, as much as we have to pay Time Warner for Digital, they should use it instead of a regular cable line. I would recommend this tv to anyone, whether watching movies, sports or whatever. Worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DukeBasketballFan
Henderson, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
vizio 42 120 hz
12/12/2009

Customer review by yogreco

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by yogreco
by yogreco

I spent hours and days reading reviews and looking at all different products on lcd tv's. I learned the aspects of things 1080p and 120 hz or 60 and the size of the tv. Well if your going to buy a tv and have a budget or just wanna splurdge this is the tv for you. It works at both ways for you and has great qaulity. For example I bought this tv with the vizio blu ray and saved a 150 bucks. And also I waited on buying blu ray dvds if you have the blu ray dvd player vizio and the tv 42inch with 120 hz you can play regular dvds and get the blu ray effect with full hd and all your dvds look like your in a reality show right in your room it looks so real you would think its fake. Its one of the greatest investments Ive purchassed in a while and I am 100 percent satisfied. I was so amazed when I played my regular batman returns dvd and got visual quality to the max the dvd which was not a blu ray gave me a experience I will never forget. I almost lost it and the tv and size for a good prize gave me that theater experience. I will never forget the day of the experience. What a great buy I would recommend it to any first tv buyer looking into the flat screen range. I was going to get the toshiba regzna for the same price but the vizio kicked out the same quality or better and has a better sleek design . Im happy with this purchase and hope it last a liftime.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yogreco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy With Purchase
1/7/2010

Customer review by KCGeezer

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by KCGeezer
by KCGeezer

I read all the good reviews on this TV before making my decision. Just picked it up a couple of days ago. It was very easy to set up. The picture quality is fantastic. As for the sound, it was a little flat at first, but you can change that in audio settings, changed to ROCK setting and it has decent sound. No immediate need for surround sound equipment purchase. Plenty of other EQ settings and video settings to tweak to your liking. Hooked it up to HD cable box via HDMI cable. Caught it on sale in store for $797. Picture quality is superb in HD, and is still great with old DVD player (not bluray). Watched the Matrix. Looked sounded great. Non HD channels look good too, but not as good as the HD channels. Hooked up the Xbox 360, set it up for 1080p. COD2 works without any lag or weird artifacts. Forza 3 and Madden 10 are the same. Looks great for whatever you throw at it. You won't be sorry for this purchase. Picked up the 3 year extended warranty online for $88 bucks to get a total of 4 years warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCGeezer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Viewing at it's best
3/10/2010

Customer review by PrinceAlbert

5.0 stars 3/10/2010 by PrinceAlbert
by PrinceAlbert

My wife and I did have the same 25" GE console for about 30 years. At the beginng of that time frame, this TV had taken center stage for it's size and wooden cabinet. After seeing several sets on display at your store, there was no question in our minds that we indeed needed a new and different TV. We looked at several different makes and models not only at Wal-Mart but at other stores as well. We kept coming back to the the same 42" Vizio for the best looking and life-like picture regardless of what angle it was viewed at (within reason). Also, Consumer Reports rated it one of the highest quality in all aspects. We have done quite a bit of research on this unit. We have thourghly enjoyed many hours of watching different programs on this TV more so than in the past. The definition and colors are truly magnificant even coming right out of the box. The sound did need a tiny bit of tweeking, but really nothing to get excited about. On a lot of the programs the sound does go up and down quite noticeably which I attributed to the station being watched and or the the recording of the program. Unless something drastically happens, we intend to keep this for a long, long time. Thank you for carying this good and quality product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrinceAlbert
New Haven, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Highly Disappointed in Product
12/23/2009

Customer review by ShopForBest

2.0 stars 12/23/2009 by ShopForBest
by ShopForBest

I purchased a 42" Vizio HDTV in Oct 2008. I was really pleased overall with the product until a few days before Christmas 2009 when the screen on the TV went totally black. I had no picture, only sound. I called Vizio technical department and after some minor troubleshooting, I was told that the back light had burned out and the TV would probably need to be replaced due to the difficulty of having the light replaced. I kindly thanked the technician for his assistance and told him that I would go shopping for another TV but it will certainly not be another Vizio brand. There seems to be a problem with the life span of the back light in this TV so I will not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopForBest
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great
7/18/2009

Customer review by CBrown123

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by CBrown123
by CBrown123

Got this tv online a few weeks ago, must have gotten one of the last ones as it is not available online since. Completely satisfied. Don't know what the guy below was talking about when he says its a plasma that he got last year. Its a LCD that just came out this year. Only negative is the VIZIO name on front never shuts off, even when tv is off.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CBrown123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome TV!!!!
2/2/2010

Customer review by Unclebedday

5.0 stars 2/2/2010 by Unclebedday
by Unclebedday

I shopped around for three weeks comparing TV's at Walmart, BestBuy, Target, and Sears. I even stood in the stores comparing for hours and hours. I decided to go with a Vizio because of all the great things I heard. And they are right. This is an awesome TV for the price. There is a comparable 42" Vizio for about $100 cheaper, but go ahead and spend the extra $100. The 120 Hz and 1080p make a big difference. Plus the sound is alot better on this one. I have only had it 2 days but its so far better than what I thought. I recomend getting the Vizio HDMI cable if your planning on using Satelite, because it makes hookp up easier and the picture quality is 10x better. I bougth the extended warranty but I hope this TV lasts for at least a couple of years. Even my wife, who doesnt care about big TV's, loved this TV the minute I got it all hooked up and running. This is my first major TV purchase in the flat screen HD world- I am very happy witht this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unclebedday
Mid- Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get This TV !!
10/2/2009

Customer review by Jerso

5.0 stars 10/2/2009 by Jerso
by Jerso

I bought this tv a week ago after shopping around and doing my "homework" for over a year. I admit I was a little aprehensive about getting a Vizio, but all that flew out the window once I got this home. Setup was very simple right out of the box with very little tweaking the settings. The picture quality was excellent with just the coax from the standard cable, but once I upgraded my cable box to HD and hooked up the HDMI cable, WOW!!! AMAZING!! The smooth motion 120hz really makes the HD experience. I like to watch sports, so the picture quality is important to me. I watched a Hockey game last night, you really don't get much faster action than that, and there was NO pixelation or trails at all, it was like being there. The sound quality could be better but I am using the built in speakers and honestly it is better than my old set. The only problem I had was when watching via the HDMI, whenever I changed to a channel that was broadcasting in Dolby 5.1 I would not get sound only a picture. I called Vizio tech support, they were very nice and helpful. They told me that it was a problem with the cable box not the set. So I called the cable company and they confirmed that it was the box and exchanged it for another. But the new one did the same thing until I found the audio settings in the cable box and changed it to "pass through". Now it works fine with no problem, the problem never was with the TV. I highly reccommend this tv. It is a great value at Wally World for under $800.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerso
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
High hopes. Not so much!
2/18/2010

Customer review by scamp9998

1.0 stars 2/18/2010 by scamp9998
by scamp9998

I purchased this tv with great expectations. I have had a 26 inch Vizio in my bedroom for a year now with no problems....knock on wood....Vizio is suppose to be the most popular tv in America now also. Well I purchased this on Sunday and hooked it up. My DVD player has a HDMI output on it and it was pretty close to Bluray quality to my surprise. Monday evening my wife calls me and states that she was just watching it and there was a very loud pop noise and then it went blank. The Vizio logo on the TV wasnt even lit like it always is even when its off. She tried to revive it but alas it was dead. She then found quite a few people on Consumer Reports had issues with Vizio also. I was very dissappointed. I took the 42 in Vizio back that night and bought a 46 inch Samsung for 80 more dollars. I am very please with it. I had high hopes for Vizio. Not so much now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scamp9998
LaCrosse, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
EXCELLENT BUY!!
7/16/2009

Customer review by fremar6

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by fremar6
by fremar6

Like the others in this review this is a excellent product. You will not be sorry your bought this set. With the QAM tuner you do not need a cable box. We have this set up with only our cable has a excellent picture. Once you scan you will be amazed at all the channels you can pick up. And if your neighbors are getting PPV movie you can watch them for FREE..it is rather hard to find the channel guide numbers as they will be very different than with your cable box. You just have to click on every channel this TV has found write down the channels and no in time you will be watching this TV without a extra box..this is due to the QAM tuning..very happy with our TV..

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fremar6
Youngstown Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews