Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 120 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
great little camcorder
11/24/2009

Customer review by borebox

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by borebox
by borebox

Fulfills all my expectations and it is small enough to carry in your pocket-image quality is terrific.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
borebox
Honolulu,HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really portable!
10/9/2010

Customer review by the180

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by the180
by the180

This was my first camcorder and it is really easy to use.The hd is awsome for the size!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
the180
LasVegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great deal for the money
7/7/2009

Customer review by knetworx

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by knetworx
by knetworx

If you're a professional videographer, then the Flip is obviously not for you. However, for those of us who have decided we'd rather not spend more money for production-quality video, when all we're really going to do is post videos on YouTube and Facebook, it's perfect. This camera cost about 1/3 of my previous camcorder, and not only does it take better video, but its small size allows me to carry it around in my pocket, so I use it at least once a week (as opposed to once or twice a year with my previous camcorder.) It doesn't have incredible zoom, transition, or on-camera editing capabilities, but it's perfect for those just-in-case situations, and you can pull it out of your pocket, turn it on, and start recording within 5 seconds. Highly recommended for the casual videographer, the YouTuber, the adventurer, and the parent that doesn't want to miss a thing (i.e. baby's first steps, soccer games, etc.)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knetworx
Urbana, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVE my Flip UltraHD
1/4/2010

Customer review by businessrequisites

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by businessrequisites
by businessrequisites

I wanted a light weight, affordable video camera for those priceless moments with my 2 baby boys. The Flip UltraHD is perfect...the same size as my cell phone! The video quality and zoom is terrific for those close up moments with the family. In addition...YES you CAN make PHOTOS! In fact, once you plug it into your computer...it offers a wonderful feature that allows you to view the video frame-by-frame, moment-by-moment and choose the perfect smile of your child, then just click to create a snapshot!! LOVE this make-your-own photo feature!! Now I do not need to carry my digital camera around. All I need is my Flip UltraHD. I also got the rechargeable battery pack. This is a must have if you are always on the go. When you plug the Flip into your computer to view and/or download your videos or create photos...it is recharging itself at the same time! Note: If you are looking for a video camera for further distances, this might not be the one. Although the zoom is great for those at-home or in-the-backyard moments, for example...it is not as great for greater distances. I brought my Flip to a horse show and filmed from the arena fence line. My horses were just at the far end of the arena...but could not zoom my Flip any closer than half-way across the arena. So, I just waited until they were closer to me to get some better footage of the show.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
businessrequisites
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeds Expectations
5/26/2009

Customer review by Shemeckle

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by Shemeckle
by Shemeckle

This camera shoots great video quality (720p), and is very easy to use. I'm very happy with this camera overall, the fact that you can use either the battery pack or two AA batteries really adds to its versatility. And the two hour recording time is plenty. The only downside I can see is that the video is a little shaky because there is no image stabilization. I would for sure recommend this camera to anyone, you'll fall in love with it the first time you use it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shemeckle
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy use
8/31/2009

Customer review by AlamedaUmma

5.0 stars 8/31/2009 by AlamedaUmma
by AlamedaUmma

This Flip video was a debatable item between myself and my husband since we already have a camcorder. But the Flip is so small that he brings it around with us every where and we get a lot more clips now. Its so easy to use... there is only like 3 buttons so its not hard to figure out at all and the imaging is good. The voice isn't as good for long distance as I would like but I guess I can't have everything.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlamedaUmma
Alameda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Nice camera but battery trouble.
12/17/2010

Customer review by CMH1984

3.0 stars 12/17/2010 by CMH1984
by CMH1984

Ive had trouble charging the battery and researched it online and it seems like a lot of other people have had the same issues. I contacted flip since I had the camera for 15 days and couldnt return it to the store. They were aware of the issues and I had to PAY for shipping and I am currently waiting for a replacement and its been two weeks. I bought it for the birth of daughter so Im pretty upset Im missing filming her first weeks. Just hope it gets here by Christmas. I dont like that you can't see how much battery life is remaing. However it is easy to use and takes nice video. If it werent for the charging problems and return issues I'd give it 4 1/2 stars

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMH1984
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Flip Video is Awesome!
4/5/2010

Customer review by VeryHardToPleaseMe

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by VeryHardToPleaseMe
by VeryHardToPleaseMe

I had my doubts at first, but this little camera is great! Very rarely do you get more than what you pay for, but this is it! (Walmart.com was the cheapest I could find it anywhere) It is very light weight and fits into your pocket. It holds it's charge very well, and when or if you run out of battery power, just pop out the chargeable pack and pop in 2 'AA' batteries! We watch the 720 HD output on my 56" DLP using the HDMI to Mini HDMI cord and the picture is amazing for 720! The only downfall to this camera is that it is made of thin plastic and the USB 'pop out' adapter built in is not very sturdy. It is not ideal for younger children as it seems to be some-what fragile. (what camera isn't?) Also, due to it's small size, it is kind of difficult to keep it still while recording. You have to pay close attention to keeping still so that nausea doesn't ensue while watching them later at home. I WOULD BUY THIS CAMERA AGAIN AND AGAIN. GREAT VALUE, AND A GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeryHardToPleaseMe
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Poor picture
10/4/2010

Customer review by bbiowa

2.0 stars 10/4/2010 by bbiowa
by bbiowa

I bought this product based on all the great reviews and the price was certainly right. However, it's only good for low-res, close-up videos. My first video was of my son's football game. I made the mistake of assuming the zoom was there for a reason and filmed the whole game under maximum zoom. When I played it back, the zoom was so grainy that I couldn't even make out the numbers on the players' jerseys! Don't use the zoom if you want a picture that can be seen. My next video was of my daughter's volleyball game. With no zoom employed, the picture was much better but still pretty average/poor quality. I'd never want to use this camera for videos that you want to keep long-term. If you want a quick, low-quality video that easy to upload to the internet, this camera may fit the bill. I'll give it to my kids to play around with and I'll be buying a better quality video camera... for quit a bit more money I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbiowa
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camcorder
11/5/2010

Customer review by TheTellAll

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by TheTellAll
by TheTellAll

I love my Flip UltraHD Camcorder!! Easy to carry around with you, extremely easy to use, and great picture quality, Before I got this I used my cell phone camcorder so obliviously this is a BIG step up as far as quality. Pros: Software for this camcorder to upload, edit, and send movies is built in to the camcorder, so you don't have to deal with any discs. Very easy to attach to a computer with built in usb port, so you don't have to worry about long cords Great 720p picture quality,records great in semi lighted areas, Records great audio, even from a few feet away it still pics up sounds Cons: Alittle bulky No pause button when recording, only stop No battery power display, when the camcorder stops working thats when you know the batteries are dead. No still pictures, only videos But otherwise great HD camcorder for the price,If your a beginner with camcorders this is a perfect one to start with, But make sure you have plenty of batteries!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTellAll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slow play back on Older computer
11/18/2009

Customer review by ironace

5.0 stars 11/18/2009 by ironace
by ironace

Flip UltraHD works great, BUT make certain your computer is NEW and FAST or the videos will not play back right. The processor speed needed for the MinoHD and UltraHD is very important for video playback. It may be beneficial to look into getting a standard definition Flip Video Mino or Ultra which would be more compatible with a slower system. Now I need to BUY a NEW COMPUTER or return the HD.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ironace
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a great product
6/15/2010

Customer review by pleaseduser

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by pleaseduser
by pleaseduser

We had been told that this camera was the camera to get. We have not been disappointed. I had read reviews that the sound quality was not good. I think it is very good. I have used it at band concerts, graduations, weddings, etc. and found it to work great. Everyone thinks it is really neat to see such a small camera that works so well. It fits in my shirt pocket easily and is so handy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pleaseduser
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/12/2009

Customer review by Kitten3237

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by Kitten3237
by Kitten3237

It is so nice to carry around and catch special moments at anytime! Small and user friendly!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitten3237
Atlanta,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The best gift EVER
2/24/2010

Customer review by Jules289

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by Jules289
by Jules289

If you have kids you NEED one of these! It is so simple to use and takes excellent videos. One push of the button and the Flip is on instantly. We have recorded 1st crawling, 1st steps, goofy laughs, Happy Birthday songs, music class, new outfits.....I think you get the point. We have used this for so many things and at the end of each night we just plug it in to the computer and it automatically loads the videos and saves them. All of the Aunts, Uncles & Grandparents LOVE getting the video messages and the picture is great! Way better than any cell phone clip and there is NO time limit. You don't have to miss 1/2 of your message. We love this and have not had ANY issue with image stabilization. You can try it and return it if you don't love it! I know you will keep it once you see how wonderful it is. I keep it in my pocket and it's so handy any time I need it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jules289
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Terrific product
5/27/2009

Customer review by jessdfacts

4.0 stars 5/27/2009 by jessdfacts
by jessdfacts

You can't go wrong with the UltraHD. High-def picture in a widescreen format, solid sound, easy to use, and a good value. It's cheaper than its predecessor, the Mino, and it has double the recording capacity! My only complaint is with the Flip video-editing software. It is very limited, preventing the inclusion of many creative touches when creating home movies. You can use Windows Movie Maker, a free program included on PCs, but if your computer's operating system is Windows XP, the video won't be high-def. That means XP users have to settle for Flip's bare-bones program or purchase better video-editing software. Another option is upgrading to Vista, but that would be unwise because it is a bug-ridden OS that Microsoft has all but abandoned.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jessdfacts
Winchester, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use camcorder
6/17/2010

Customer review by lsullywally

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by lsullywally
by lsullywally

I have a 1 year old son and I have been doing a lot of research on the best camcorder to get. I was kicking myself for waiting so long to get one. Bottom line, I would like to get a nice camcorder but, for now with as young as my son is I decided to get a Flip camcorder which had good reviews and I have to say is very easy and straight forward in regards to using. I just want to catch special moments in my son's early life and the convenience and ease of use of this product is great for just that. I will see if I need something with more options for the future but, for now this does great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lsullywally
Schererville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A lemon
7/4/2009

Customer review by yourbuddytoo

1.0 stars 7/4/2009 by yourbuddytoo
by yourbuddytoo

We bought an extra battery pack and charger. Both battery packs only last 1 or 2 MINUTES each! Not the 2 hours promised! The video is extremely jerky! It's like it is pausing every second. We even tried 2 AA's and the power lasted longer, but the video still pauses every second. Lastly, it's upside down! When you plug in the camera to the computer or to the adaptor to charge, the viewing screen that shows you whether or not it's fully charged is facing the floor. Impossible to see the screen. I had previously used a Flip Mino. Although less expensive and not a HD, the quality of the video was superior to the Flip Ultra HD. What a disappointment. Not sure if I will ask for a refund or replacement since I have heard good reviews of this camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yourbuddytoo
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buying My Second Flip HD
3/26/2010

Customer review by GoesToEleven

4.0 stars 3/26/2010 by GoesToEleven
by GoesToEleven

I had the UltraHD for a year before losing it. I was considering looking at the alternatives - but decided to buy the same camera again. It is not perfect. The files are huge and I have not yet decided what to do with them. I could just burn them all to DVDs without editing them - well I guess my point is that you have to be less lazy than I am or they will pile up - like all those digital photos that have never been labeled or organized. The Flipshare software and the website are pretty neat - and easy to use. I can film the kids, edit the footage and then send an email notification to my Dad that there is new footage of his grandsons. He logs into the site and sees the boys - pretty user friendly. This Flip's ability to use regular batteries has saved me a couple times. We were at the Statue of Liberty - the battery was dead - every souvenir stand has AA batteries. Back to filming. The mic does pick up any puff of wind outdoors BTW - the tradeoff is the sound for recording music or something that is closer to the camera is very good. And forget zooming - like at sporting events. It is worthless. In the sun it is very hard to see what you are filming - but that is true of every device without a viewfinder. Drives me crazy with my still camera. The lack of replaceable media has been an issue. I was a chaperon on a school trip to an island off the coast of Maine and didn't want to lug a laptop for 4 days. The camera was full and I had to go back and delete some files to make space. Which is a tedious process while 9 year olds wait for you to continue recording their antics. I never bothered with a case - it does get scratched up. I will protect the lens better with the new one (or not). And it is a little bulky - I brought it skiing often and it is big enough to be noticeable. Right until it fell out of my unzipped pocket somewhere in the woods. Bummer. PS - Flip cannot trace the serial number if someone else registers it online, they don't give a discount on the second camera and they don't sell refurbished units.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoesToEleven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little camcorder
12/29/2009

Customer review by jusmomz

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by jusmomz
by jusmomz

My son and his wife are going to have a baby in February and I thought this was a great way to capture life's little moments to share with friends and family. Compact, easy to use and fun! This was a Christmas gift for them and they loved it! Within minutes they had it up and running. Great for on the go. Easier than a big/bulky camcorder and with 2 hours of HD recording it can't be beat! We are all very happy with this product and I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jusmomz
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beyond belief!
6/23/2009

Customer review by gadfly

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by gadfly
by gadfly

This is one of the few products I have ever purchased that exceeds all of my expectations. Crystal clear video, decent audio, and extremely easy to use software... My only criticism is that the software is a little too easy to use. However, third party editing software works perfectly, because they use industry standard formats. The Flip software automatically makes a backup copy so you raw footage is always safe. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gadfly
Barstow, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews