Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 120 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
Exceeds Expectations
5/26/2009

Customer review by Shemeckle

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by Shemeckle
by Shemeckle

This camera shoots great video quality (720p), and is very easy to use. I'm very happy with this camera overall, the fact that you can use either the battery pack or two AA batteries really adds to its versatility. And the two hour recording time is plenty. The only downside I can see is that the video is a little shaky because there is no image stabilization. I would for sure recommend this camera to anyone, you'll fall in love with it the first time you use it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shemeckle
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVE my Flip UltraHD
1/4/2010

Customer review by businessrequisites

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by businessrequisites
by businessrequisites

I wanted a light weight, affordable video camera for those priceless moments with my 2 baby boys. The Flip UltraHD is perfect...the same size as my cell phone! The video quality and zoom is terrific for those close up moments with the family. In addition...YES you CAN make PHOTOS! In fact, once you plug it into your computer...it offers a wonderful feature that allows you to view the video frame-by-frame, moment-by-moment and choose the perfect smile of your child, then just click to create a snapshot!! LOVE this make-your-own photo feature!! Now I do not need to carry my digital camera around. All I need is my Flip UltraHD. I also got the rechargeable battery pack. This is a must have if you are always on the go. When you plug the Flip into your computer to view and/or download your videos or create photos...it is recharging itself at the same time! Note: If you are looking for a video camera for further distances, this might not be the one. Although the zoom is great for those at-home or in-the-backyard moments, for example...it is not as great for greater distances. I brought my Flip to a horse show and filmed from the arena fence line. My horses were just at the far end of the arena...but could not zoom my Flip any closer than half-way across the arena. So, I just waited until they were closer to me to get some better footage of the show.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
businessrequisites
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy use
8/31/2009

Customer review by AlamedaUmma

5.0 stars 8/31/2009 by AlamedaUmma
by AlamedaUmma

This Flip video was a debatable item between myself and my husband since we already have a camcorder. But the Flip is so small that he brings it around with us every where and we get a lot more clips now. Its so easy to use... there is only like 3 buttons so its not hard to figure out at all and the imaging is good. The voice isn't as good for long distance as I would like but I guess I can't have everything.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlamedaUmma
Alameda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Really portable!
10/9/2010

Customer review by the180

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by the180
by the180

This was my first camcorder and it is really easy to use.The hd is awsome for the size!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
the180
LasVegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great deal for the money
7/7/2009

Customer review by knetworx

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by knetworx
by knetworx

If you're a professional videographer, then the Flip is obviously not for you. However, for those of us who have decided we'd rather not spend more money for production-quality video, when all we're really going to do is post videos on YouTube and Facebook, it's perfect. This camera cost about 1/3 of my previous camcorder, and not only does it take better video, but its small size allows me to carry it around in my pocket, so I use it at least once a week (as opposed to once or twice a year with my previous camcorder.) It doesn't have incredible zoom, transition, or on-camera editing capabilities, but it's perfect for those just-in-case situations, and you can pull it out of your pocket, turn it on, and start recording within 5 seconds. Highly recommended for the casual videographer, the YouTuber, the adventurer, and the parent that doesn't want to miss a thing (i.e. baby's first steps, soccer games, etc.)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knetworx
Urbana, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Slow play back on Older computer
11/18/2009

Customer review by ironace

5.0 stars 11/18/2009 by ironace
by ironace

Flip UltraHD works great, BUT make certain your computer is NEW and FAST or the videos will not play back right. The processor speed needed for the MinoHD and UltraHD is very important for video playback. It may be beneficial to look into getting a standard definition Flip Video Mino or Ultra which would be more compatible with a slower system. Now I need to BUY a NEW COMPUTER or return the HD.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ironace
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice camera but battery trouble.
12/17/2010

Customer review by CMH1984

3.0 stars 12/17/2010 by CMH1984
by CMH1984

Ive had trouble charging the battery and researched it online and it seems like a lot of other people have had the same issues. I contacted flip since I had the camera for 15 days and couldnt return it to the store. They were aware of the issues and I had to PAY for shipping and I am currently waiting for a replacement and its been two weeks. I bought it for the birth of daughter so Im pretty upset Im missing filming her first weeks. Just hope it gets here by Christmas. I dont like that you can't see how much battery life is remaing. However it is easy to use and takes nice video. If it werent for the charging problems and return issues I'd give it 4 1/2 stars

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMH1984
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/12/2009

Customer review by Kitten3237

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by Kitten3237
by Kitten3237

It is so nice to carry around and catch special moments at anytime! Small and user friendly!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kitten3237
Atlanta,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a great product
6/15/2010

Customer review by pleaseduser

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by pleaseduser
by pleaseduser

We had been told that this camera was the camera to get. We have not been disappointed. I had read reviews that the sound quality was not good. I think it is very good. I have used it at band concerts, graduations, weddings, etc. and found it to work great. Everyone thinks it is really neat to see such a small camera that works so well. It fits in my shirt pocket easily and is so handy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pleaseduser
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buying My Second Flip HD
3/26/2010

Customer review by GoesToEleven

4.0 stars 3/26/2010 by GoesToEleven
by GoesToEleven

I had the UltraHD for a year before losing it. I was considering looking at the alternatives - but decided to buy the same camera again. It is not perfect. The files are huge and I have not yet decided what to do with them. I could just burn them all to DVDs without editing them - well I guess my point is that you have to be less lazy than I am or they will pile up - like all those digital photos that have never been labeled or organized. The Flipshare software and the website are pretty neat - and easy to use. I can film the kids, edit the footage and then send an email notification to my Dad that there is new footage of his grandsons. He logs into the site and sees the boys - pretty user friendly. This Flip's ability to use regular batteries has saved me a couple times. We were at the Statue of Liberty - the battery was dead - every souvenir stand has AA batteries. Back to filming. The mic does pick up any puff of wind outdoors BTW - the tradeoff is the sound for recording music or something that is closer to the camera is very good. And forget zooming - like at sporting events. It is worthless. In the sun it is very hard to see what you are filming - but that is true of every device without a viewfinder. Drives me crazy with my still camera. The lack of replaceable media has been an issue. I was a chaperon on a school trip to an island off the coast of Maine and didn't want to lug a laptop for 4 days. The camera was full and I had to go back and delete some files to make space. Which is a tedious process while 9 year olds wait for you to continue recording their antics. I never bothered with a case - it does get scratched up. I will protect the lens better with the new one (or not). And it is a little bulky - I brought it skiing often and it is big enough to be noticeable. Right until it fell out of my unzipped pocket somewhere in the woods. Bummer. PS - Flip cannot trace the serial number if someone else registers it online, they don't give a discount on the second camera and they don't sell refurbished units.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoesToEleven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Little Gadget
4/20/2010

Customer review by OnTheGo885

5.0 stars 4/20/2010 by OnTheGo885
by OnTheGo885

I am so happy with this little video camera. It is so simple to use. The size is perfect because you can keep it in your purse or put it in a pocket. The picture quality is amazing! For the price....this little item is a steal. The only negative is that it doesn't zoom in very far.....but other than that....it is the best camera I have ever owned. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnTheGo885
Pgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice little camcorder
12/29/2009

Customer review by jusmomz

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by jusmomz
by jusmomz

My son and his wife are going to have a baby in February and I thought this was a great way to capture life's little moments to share with friends and family. Compact, easy to use and fun! This was a Christmas gift for them and they loved it! Within minutes they had it up and running. Great for on the go. Easier than a big/bulky camcorder and with 2 hours of HD recording it can't be beat! We are all very happy with this product and I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jusmomz
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for families
8/23/2009

Customer review by mommy4kids

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by mommy4kids
by mommy4kids

Worked amazing and so easy a kid can use. The only thing is if your going to hook to HD tv you need a really expensive cable that can handle the HD capability. We bought a $15 doller HDMI cable and didn't work, had to buy a $50 cable to get to hook to tv. But easier to just download videos and burn to CD! Very great for family's who want to record moments and save forever on computer and send to family or you tube! Great size and great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommy4kids
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beyond belief!
6/23/2009

Customer review by gadfly

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by gadfly
by gadfly

This is one of the few products I have ever purchased that exceeds all of my expectations. Crystal clear video, decent audio, and extremely easy to use software... My only criticism is that the software is a little too easy to use. However, third party editing software works perfectly, because they use industry standard formats. The Flip software automatically makes a backup copy so you raw footage is always safe. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gadfly
Barstow, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/4/2009

Customer review by BestT

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by BestT
by BestT

get product, simple and easy to use, makes excellent videos to share with family and friends

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestT
Alpharetta Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use camcorder
6/17/2010

Customer review by lsullywally

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by lsullywally
by lsullywally

I have a 1 year old son and I have been doing a lot of research on the best camcorder to get. I was kicking myself for waiting so long to get one. Bottom line, I would like to get a nice camcorder but, for now with as young as my son is I decided to get a Flip camcorder which had good reviews and I have to say is very easy and straight forward in regards to using. I just want to catch special moments in my son's early life and the convenience and ease of use of this product is great for just that. I will see if I need something with more options for the future but, for now this does great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lsullywally
Schererville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Videos
12/6/2009

Customer review by mistleoteman92

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by mistleoteman92
by mistleoteman92

Wow! We just had our first grandchild and I bought it for my wife to record the first few weeks, etc. It's amazing. Simple to use, takes great video and easy to upload to email and other sites. My wife loves it. I have recommended it to many of my firends as they are amazed by the features, quality, ease of use and overall product. Couldn't be happier! Buy the HD model as it is worth the few dollars to upgrade.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mistleoteman92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flip Video
5/23/2009

Customer review by jjme

4.0 stars 5/23/2009 by jjme
by jjme

Good Product. Easy to use and easy to download to the PC. Good Price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjme
Harrisburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Terrific product
5/27/2009

Customer review by jessdfacts

4.0 stars 5/27/2009 by jessdfacts
by jessdfacts

You can't go wrong with the UltraHD. High-def picture in a widescreen format, solid sound, easy to use, and a good value. It's cheaper than its predecessor, the Mino, and it has double the recording capacity! My only complaint is with the Flip video-editing software. It is very limited, preventing the inclusion of many creative touches when creating home movies. You can use Windows Movie Maker, a free program included on PCs, but if your computer's operating system is Windows XP, the video won't be high-def. That means XP users have to settle for Flip's bare-bones program or purchase better video-editing software. Another option is upgrading to Vista, but that would be unwise because it is a bug-ridden OS that Microsoft has all but abandoned.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jessdfacts
Winchester, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good deal
7/29/2009

Customer review by Altek

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Altek
by Altek

UltraHD is very, very easy to operate and compact for storing. Once you replay on computer or tv however, I experienced more image shake than when replayed on UltraHD screen itself. Have to keep that in mind when filming. Also the software is adequate but for someone my age +55 it needs a tutorial for editing etc. Overall it was a great little investment that I am very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Altek
Atl,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews