Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

111 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

111 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 stars
31
1-20 of 92 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Good Mixer, Horrible Beaters
10/14/2010

Customer review by AmyNS

1.0 stars 10/14/2010 by AmyNS
by AmyNS

I've had this product for about a year and a half, and have gone through 2 sets of beaters. Both beaters broke where the sautering work was done. When this happened 10 months ago, I called customer service and ordered a new part. They were still under warranty (I'd only had the beaters for 10 months) but she said the beaters were on back order. She gave me a date when they would be sent, and I waited, and then I waited. Finally 3 months went by and I gave up and went to Walmart to get my replacements. Now 7 months later I'm in the same spot. Somehow, the beaters are STILL on back order and I was told they would ship out in 2 1/2 weeks. I'm not holding my breath. The mixer works really well but I can't do much without beaters. Save your sanity and get something else!!!!

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyNS
Rexburg, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Didn't last
8/2/2010

Customer review by Titus2Grandma

1.0 stars 8/2/2010 by Titus2Grandma
by Titus2Grandma

I bought this mixer less than a year ago. Within a few months the plastic gears quick working and one beater would not turn. I called the company, and they would replace the mixer for an $8 shipping fee since it was still under warranty. The replacement mixer lasted six months before it did the same thing. I will not be spending another $8 to have it replaced "for free."

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Titus2Grandma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
protect your ears
9/12/2009

Customer review by reppohs23

4.0 stars 9/12/2009 by reppohs23
by reppohs23

Black and Decker forgot to specify the decibel output of this mixer. At high speed, I wouldn't be surprised if it exceeded OSHA standards. Certainly if you are having to mix at high speed for more than a couple minutes, it would be wise to use hearing protection or risk ringing in your ears. Recommended with precautions

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reppohs23
Manhattan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
10/31/2009

Customer review by shiney

5.0 stars 10/31/2009 by shiney
by shiney

After searching online and reading reviews, I decided to go in store to look specifically at this mixer. I found it and decided to get it. I took it home and tried it out tonight on a batch of chocolate chip cookies for a church function tomorrow. I'M SOOOO HAPPY with this mixer. It does a great job... I am SOOOO GLAD I got this mixer - it's my first mixer as I'm getting married & am in the process of trying to set up house :) I would DEFINITELY recommend this mixer - trust me, you won't be disappointed. I can't get over the price either...THANK YOU Wal-Mart!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shiney
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What is everyone complaining about?
11/4/2011

Customer review by yankeeinthesouth715

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by yankeeinthesouth715
by yankeeinthesouth715

This is a handheld electric mixer, intended for use by the average home baker. It costs about $20, and is not designed for extremely heavy or frequent use, if you need a mixer that will withstand everyday heavy duty jobs and abuse, spend the money on a professional grade stand mixer like a kitchenaid. That being said, I love this mixer. I have had it for about a year, and I could not be any happier with its quality, power, ease of use or attachments. I was immediately impressed with the heft and power as well as the appearance of this device. I love the protective case for storage. It mixes batters and soft dough with ease when using the (surprisingly strong) wire attachments. It also mixes stiff dough like that for molasses cookies and (small, one or two loaf recipes) for breads better than I'd be able to by hand when I use the dough hook attachments. The dough hooks are small, but again are not intended to be used to mix very large batches of bread dough--if you need a mixer that will do that, get a larger stand mixer with a larger dough hook. But for me, this mixer is absolutely perfect. I bake a lot, but not on a professional level and not every day; I have had not even one single problem using this device and would spend the $20 in an instant to replace it if it were to break (which I don't foresee happening in the near future since it has held up so well to-date). I think all the low ratings and complaints people have made about this mixer are because they were unrealistically expecting a handheld mixer to do the sort of job that can only be done by a larger, more expensive, more powerful piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yankeeinthesouth715
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Too Much Power
12/16/2009

Customer review by Cameraclick

2.0 stars 12/16/2009 by Cameraclick
by Cameraclick

After I wipe off my walls and floor, this baby is going back to Wal-Mart. The lowest setting sent my cookie dough all over the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cameraclick
Hyattsville, Md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Very nice
6/10/2010

Customer review by Karengp

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Karengp
by Karengp

In one of the reviews I read the person said there was a warning on the bottom of the mixer that warned against lead in the cord. I looked and looked and did not see any such thing. I looked through the pamphlet included with the mixer and did not see anything like that. I have only just gotten it and only plugged it in to hear the noise level. There was a comment that the mixer is real loud. I have had mixers that were louder. I will keep it and use it and hopefully enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karengp
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
this is a power tool, not for kitchens
2/23/2011

Customer review by honkifyoulovecupcakes

2.0 stars 2/23/2011 by honkifyoulovecupcakes
by honkifyoulovecupcakes

i liked that there were lots of attachments bc i dont always want to use my kitchenaid... but that is where i stopped liking it. when i first grabbed the mixer, my thumb could press in the plastic on the side and i could make it click so it certainly wasnt too durable off the bat. then i turned it on, holy moley it was too powerful! when i went to add my dry to wet ingredients, the dry just went up in smoke bc the machine awas going so fast, and that was only on speed 1! i make my own icing and there is no way i would be able to keep any powered sugar in my bowl if i used this mixer. the power booster was ridiculous. i mean i know speed is essential for whipping cream and eggs and stuff but why anyone would need a mixer to move that fast i have no idea. it made a mess of the kitchen. this was a gift btw, at it will be going back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honkifyoulovecupcakes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garbage
10/7/2012

Customer review by Miracle2010

1.0 stars 10/7/2012 by Miracle2010
by Miracle2010

I've owned mine for nearly 2 years, got it as a Christmas present in 2010. First time I used it, the beaters broke (and I was only mixing a boxed cake mix!) Called manufacturer... took them 5 months to tell me the beaters were on back order. Finally after a few more months they send me a new mixer for my hassles of waiting months and months for beaters. So I get the new mixer in with 2 sets of beaters. (Apparently the beaters I originally needed weren't on back order anymore). I used it for maybe a month and the motor blew out in one (Note I don't do alot of mixer using... This was maybe 5 uses 10 tops before the motor blew). so I threw it in the garbage and opened the second one they sent me. SAME THING! beaters broke ... and after a few uses the motor blew. GARBAGE. My Cheap $4.00 one I bought years ago is still running and I can mix everything with it! Cake mix, cookie dough, frosting... etc. Don't waste your money on this one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miracle2010
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Highly recommended
3/26/2010

Customer review by veronica2000

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by veronica2000
by veronica2000

This mixer is a equipment that a person like me (I make cakes per order) always is looking for, plus a nice line of the mixer has a good performance under continuous use condiones. I'm very proud of my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
veronica2000
Venezuela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very helpful product
8/7/2009

Customer review by olddog57

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by olddog57
by olddog57

every thing about this product is exactlant. helpful durabel and handy. case it fits in is a bonus.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olddog57
cincinnati,oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A gift for my granddaughter
8/26/2010

Customer review by Gramebear

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by Gramebear
by Gramebear

She moved from college dorm to an apt and this was a gift. She has used it and loves it. Says it has plenty of power and does what she wants it to do. Very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gramebear
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The ABSOLUTE WORST!!!!!!!!
11/15/2013

Customer review by flatlinerVV

1.0 stars 11/15/2013 by flatlinerVV
by flatlinerVV

I have never been so disappointed with a B&D product like that this before. After owning this for 4 months the wire whisk and mixers completely broke where the cheap soldering job is. Its still under warranty I might add and I have the receipt yet they refused to replace my broken mixers and whisk. The body of it is big and bulky, even my $10 mixer from Family Dollar is smaller and it works just fine after owning that for 5 years. B&D needs to stick to what they know best and keep out of the small appliances business, its not their strong area. Oh yeah, they shouldn't offer spare parts for sale if they're not in stock or back ordered, 2 months and still waiting B&D!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flatlinerVV
Winslow, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
shrapnel
11/30/2013

Customer review by poetbill

2.0 stars 11/30/2013 by poetbill
by poetbill

This is a Tim the tool man special, The motor is definitely Black and Decker but the beaters are not suitable for such a motor. I bought this to do my Holiday baking last year, I used it three times and put it away, I took it out this year and the third time I used it this year the beaters shrapneled. I mean they became tangled in each other with no warning and bird nested right there in my bowl of batter. It costs over 15 dollars for replacement beaters (including shipping) so the whole thing is a write off. While researching the issue looking for replacement beaters I stumbled upon hundreds of reports of the same thing happening with this model so "NO, I would never recommend this product to consumers."

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poetbill
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Strips the plastic gears
7/26/2012

Customer review by 3rdCupImGood

1.0 stars 7/26/2012 by 3rdCupImGood
by 3rdCupImGood

I am on my third one. The motor is powerful and is quite able to strip the plastic gears inside. It cannot survive making icing for cake. Applica is the actual company that markets this. They just ask you to send them the plug which has a dete code on it. You also send a check for $8. It costs $2 to send in the plug USPS first class mail. Applica is not interested in doing failure analysis on their products. They just send another of the same thing. The same thing happend to a Sunbeam and some other brand I bought at Walmart. I don't know who makes a decent hand mixer. Next time I'lll spend over $25 and see what happens.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3rdCupImGood
Boulder, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Nice mixer
3/13/2011

Customer review by enjoyshopping2003

4.0 stars 3/13/2011 by enjoyshopping2003
by enjoyshopping2003

I bought this mixer because of the Black & Decker name and the storage box. I am so tired of not being able to locate all the pieces when I need to mix something. So far everybody keeps putting everything back in the storage box after each use. I am a little disappointed with the beaters. The mixer itself is quite sturdy and lives up the to Black & Decker reputation, but the beaters seem very fragile. More like something you'ld expect to get with an Easy Bake Oven Set. However, it has handled everything I've mixed so far.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enjoyshopping2003
Cookeville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Should come with ear protection
1/22/2011

Customer review by mikegrmi

2.0 stars 1/22/2011 by mikegrmi
by mikegrmi

I bought this mixer mainly because of the soft start feature listed on the box. This thing has power, but runs very fast on low and does not soft start. It is also very loud on all speeds. I returned it and bought the GE model with the digital control. It actually does start up slow, has more speed control, and is quieter.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikegrmi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Piece of junk
2/4/2011

Customer review by NameThatWorks

1.0 stars 2/4/2011 by NameThatWorks
by NameThatWorks

Nice looking product, but the motor died in the middle of the third use (small amount of mashed potatoes). One should be able to expect more than 5 minutes as the total lifespan for a B&D motor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NameThatWorks
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Worst mixer I have ever owned!
10/28/2012

Customer review by Baker17

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Baker17
by Baker17

This is a terrible mixer! I have had $5. mixers that have worked better than this one! The new style of beaters (round blades) are terrible! They don't mix anything and throw the product ALL OVER THE PLACE!!! Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baker17
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
They Don't Make them Like they use too
5/8/2012

Customer review by ShopperShopping

1.0 stars 5/8/2012 by ShopperShopping
by ShopperShopping

Cheap quality, what happened to quality products?

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperShopping
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews