Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

115 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

115 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 106 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
Buy the Next Singer up
1/14/2013

Customer review by Nothy

3.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Nothy
by Nothy

I bought this machine and took it home for the weekend. It is amazing. I love all the features. I am an avid seamstress and I really bought it for the buttonhole features (8 one step buttonhole options). They are amazing. I noticed on other reviews that people said it doesn't work with heavier fabrics. I thought this would be layers of denim or heavy canvas. I tried to sew a buttonhole on cotton pants I made - a fairly lightweight cotton twill, generally like the weight of a pair of summer khakis, and it wouldn't stitch through. I changed needles to a denim and then a leather needle, and it still wouldn't sew. It was with some regret I decided to return this machine but it just doesn't sew on fabric more durable than sheers or very lightweight fabrics. I think this would have been a great machine if the makers had put a little more effort into it. Final review: DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU PLAN TO SEW CLOTHES BUT IT MAY BE OKAY FOR HEMMING etc

Nothy
Hamilton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Good Machine
3/3/2011

Customer review by AnnJ

4.0 stars 3/3/2011 by AnnJ
by AnnJ

Overall this is an improvement over my Singer bought in 1969 ( which still works). At least I don't have to change cams for different stitches. which is wonderful. The other great feature is the weight. It was getting very hard for me to lift my old machine. The biggest drawback is the bobbin winding. It was so easy with my old machine. You could just wind it with the machine threaded normally. No taking the bobbin out and changing thread distribution. You just wound the bobbin, cut the thread and you were set to go. Now, if you're in the middle of a project you had better have more than 1 spool of thread. or re-thread the machine each time. I still count on the Singer name. Now I cannot find bobbins, even at the store where purchased.

AnnJ
Mattoon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful!
10/18/2013

Customer review by JoanCarmichael

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by JoanCarmichael
by JoanCarmichael

I love my new Singer Fashion Mate! But it is all relative - all this wonderful technology did not exist on the treadle Singer machine I learned to sew on at school sixty five years ago or on my White machine I bought over fifty years ago and which I had been using steadily until two weeks ago. I thought the learning curve might be steep on the new machine but the manual is well written and illustrated and I quickly mastered bobbin winding, automatic threading and have been having so much fun hemming pants, finishing a patchwork quilt and making napkins with decorative edgings. It sews beautifully on the cotton, denim and polyester I've used and I can't wait to start my next project. My sixteen year old grandson asked if he could have my old machine as he wanted to learn to sew but I said I would buy him one just like mine.

JoanCarmichael
Pointe-Claire, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Love this machine
1/1/2011

Customer review by LNelson

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by LNelson
by LNelson

I had received a singer for my high school graduation 23 years ago and loved it. Still have it and have nicknamed it " Ole Reliable". My husband decided it was time for me to get a new machine since my old one sounds like it will throw a rod! We looked at several but I couldn't stay away from a Singer. I love this machine and it already has me spoiled! Beautiful stitching, easy to use! I would recommend this machine to anyone who is looking to upgrade. I would stay with the basic for the beginning seamstress until they get used to a machine as the choices are too great and tempting!

LNelson
Fordland MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Test of Time
5/21/2014

Customer review by PleasedasPunch

4.0 stars 5/21/2014 by PleasedasPunch
by PleasedasPunch

I purchased this machine 2 years ago. I have been sewing for many years and sew everything including bridal, day clothing, work clothing, costumes and anything I take a fancy too. I sew nearly every day. On this machine, I have sewn denim, faux suede, silk, and everything in between. This machine has handled just about everything. With the correct pressure foot I even sewed the suede, not necessarily easily but with care I managed it, however, it does not sew multiple thick layers easily. I have had to have it repaired once for a manufacturers default, singer easily dealt with the problem and returned a working sewing machine to me. I have now worn this machine out. I will purchase it again and hope the new one is just as good.

PleasedasPunch
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great Little Machine
10/10/2011

Customer review by jjonesny

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by jjonesny
by jjonesny

I have two Singer Machines. My older Fashion Mate was bought back in the 1970s and still runs very well. This one I bought so that I can transport it to quilting classes. It does all that I expect and then some. I wish the light was a little brighter and covered more area but that is just my preference. I am very pleased with my purchase and enjoy all that it can do with ease. I would recomment it to anyone looking for their dollars worth in buying a new sewing machine. Singer has always been my choice.

jjonesny
Long Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the 7528
11/27/2010

Customer review by peppersacat

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by peppersacat
by peppersacat

I have the 7528 that is a bit newer then the 7526 but has all the same features. I have struggled for years to thread the machine even with an extra magnifying glass and threader and developed sewing machine rage..... the ease and user friendlyness of this machine is incredible. I have waited for years for a machine to be this simple. thanks singer... It only took 3 minutes to fall head over heels for this new gift.

peppersacat
fort wayne, indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good machine
9/19/2011

Customer review by Bear

4.0 stars 9/19/2011 by Bear
by Bear

Overall, I really like this machine. It makes sewing a breeze. But, it needs to be cleaned more often than my old one. A small ammount of fabric dust will make it lose bobbin tension or jam. Also, the bobbin cover should have been metal, as mine broke after only a couple of months of home use.

Bear
Huntsville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This machine rocks!
5/11/2010

Customer review by SingerFan

5.0 stars 5/11/2010 by SingerFan
by SingerFan

I love this machine. It was the perfect replacement for my bulky machine from the 70s (that still works, btw)!

SingerFan
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just the right model for my needs!
5/28/2015

Customer review by Jeandy

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Jeandy
by Jeandy

Easy to use with great features. This model comes with instruction manual and CD that are easy to follow, and more helps and tips from Singer website. Bobbin winding, threading and stitch adjustments are easy to perform. The automatic needle threader is such a great help. This has been with me for 2 weeks now and so far, I've done hems on thin and thick clothing and machine performed just fine, slower speed though on thicker fabric just to take precautions. Can't wait to do more sewing using other stitch styles.

Jeandy
Oshawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Sewing Machine
6/15/2015

Customer review by Penny442

5.0 stars 6/15/2015 by Penny442
by Penny442

Love, love this machine. I have had it now for about 3 weeks and have sewn a lot on it. For the price this machine has many great features. I love the fancy stiches that it has as well. Have had other brands of sewing machines and this one is by far above the others. Sews through denim like butter. Very, very happy with my purchase and I would not hesitate to buy this machine.

Penny442
North Bay, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Good for beginners
1/14/2016

Customer review by Arsh

3.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Arsh
by Arsh

Easy to use,good for beginners..but makes lot of noise.

Arsh
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
Singer 7256
7/24/2014

Customer review by Zishee

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Zishee
by Zishee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

its an amazing machine, but I would prefer if it had a customize CD to use this particular model, as I bought it for my mother and she can not read and follow instructions from CD, however the CD was generalized for all models and that confused my Mom to make the best use of this amazing machine.

Zishee
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great beginner's machine!
11/10/2014

Customer review by SharingMomLife

5.0 stars 11/10/2014 by SharingMomLife
by SharingMomLife

I've had this machine for about 2 - 3 yrs now and have no complaints. It has seen me through many projects and was very easy to learn on. I am a self-taught sewist and appreciated the great ease of sewing on this machine - makes sewing even more fun! Highly recommend it!

SharingMomLife
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
A wonderful machine
4/30/2015

Customer review by Shellfish

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by Shellfish
by Shellfish

I just bought this machine and love it already. Manual is very easy to follow for the different machines. I quit sewing for about 5 years and am now starting again with this great machine. Lots of different options etc. on it.

Shellfish
Winnipeg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Fast and easy.
9/14/2015

Customer review by Raja2

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Raja2
by Raja2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought ITune a month ago and I really appreciate it.

Raja2
Québec, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wanted a new sewing machine, decide on the 7256
12/14/2014

Customer review by Lodog98

4.0 stars 12/14/2014 by Lodog98
by Lodog98
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had given my old Singer to my daughter because I was not sewing as much, but now I have begun again. I looked over many products, but decided on Singer

Lodog98
Harvey, NB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great machine easy to use
7/15/2015

Customer review by walmart2015

4.0 stars 7/15/2015 by walmart2015
by walmart2015
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very compact machine good explanation on video would recommend

walmart2015
Saguenay, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good machine for starter user
7/17/2015

Customer review by Kamp

4.0 stars 7/17/2015 by Kamp
by Kamp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Has been used lightly for week, so far everything good.

Kamp
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine for the price
5/26/2014

Customer review by Darlene8961

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Darlene8961
by Darlene8961

I bought this machine 2 months ago to replace a similar Kenmore machine that I have and I love the ease of the Singer. A great machine for an affordable price.

Darlene8961
Sharon, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews