Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 86 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Poor quality machine
2/23/2010

Customer review by VNDesigns

2.0 stars 2/23/2010 by VNDesigns
by VNDesigns

I have had this machine for 3 months now, and will be returning it for an exchange or refund. In fact this is the 2nd of this model machine I have had. The first one had to be returned almost immediately because I was having problems with the bobbin that couldn't be corrected. The 2nd machine has been hit or miss. It seems to be fine when I am sewing lightweight fabrics. But once I switch to medium or heavyweights, that's when the problem begins. The major problem is with the bobbin. It loops up pretty consistently when I am sewing the heavier fabrics, and according to the manual there is no way to adjust the bobbin tension as this was supposedly set at the factory. I run a sewing business from my home, and need a dependable machine to get the tasks done professionally. Sadly this machine is not it. I have sewn exclusively on Singer machines for 36 years now, and have never had the problems I have encountered with this machine. I just hope I can find another Singer model to exchange it for that can do the work I need to do.

Was this review helpful? (45) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VNDesigns
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Singer Fashion Mate is great
7/20/2009

Customer review by LovingWalmartProducts

5.0 stars 7/20/2009 by LovingWalmartProducts
by LovingWalmartProducts

I had not sewn in a few years and was looking for a machine that had a lot of automatic features to just push and sew. This machine is all electronic and the stiches are already set to whatever you need them to be. The elctronic dial would be a bit confusing if your not good at using electronics, but it has pictures on the front, so it would still be easy for anyone to use right out of the box. It comes with a DVD if your unsure about the whole thing, so you can see how it all works. It is VERY quite and smooth next to ANY of the Brother machines that I have used and that was a plus too. It DOES have a somewhat dim LED light, so I would reccomend a clip on light for your sewing table. Other than that it is great ! I have done something on the machine everyday since I got it, and still have not done everything it can do. Just watch the DVD and you will be amazed at the features.

Was this review helpful? (323) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingWalmartProducts
Lake Geneva,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
11/14/2009

Customer review by supersewinggranny

3.0 stars 11/14/2009 by supersewinggranny
by supersewinggranny

At first I thought this was a really good machine. I tried out all of the different stitches and thought it was good, but I was sewing on cotton fabric. When I tried to sew on heavy material it wasn't so good. I was trying to sew on fleece and it just would not feed when I sewed over seams and darts it would not feed and the thread would loop up on the bottom. When I tried to do buttonholes it would not feed at all. I tried everything I knew to make it work but it was hopeless. I tried for several days to get it to work but never got it to work a buttonhole in the fleece. Finally I took it back to Wal*Marts and got my money back. I got a "Singer Confidence 7470" and it works like a dream. If you want to be able to sew on all fabric this is not the right machine. If you will only be sewing on light fabrics the "Fashion Mate" machine will be great.

Was this review helpful? (181) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supersewinggranny
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Singer has made a great machine.
3/13/2012

Customer review by vickilynn1

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by vickilynn1
by vickilynn1

I am an advanced sewer and have owned a pfaff embroidery machine, which I did love. When it died, I looked for a machine with a few fancy stitches and a blanket stitch that was adjustable for machine applique. Of course, my husband checked Consumer reports while I checked out the machines being used at my quilt guild. Several of the ladies were using the 7256, they were please with the machine and Consumer reports had rated the machine as machine of the year!!! Been using my machine for about a month, finished quilt borders, quilt blocks, and been refashioning several outfits. Machine is working fantastic!!! Only one word of caution - watch your bobbins, mine was making the bobbins too loose, so I tightened the bobbin wind tension. Love the drop in bobbin with the see through case!!!! My machine wasn't available in the store, so ordered on line...delivery was faster than stated! Great machine, great service!

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vickilynn1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Singer 7256 sewing machine
3/15/2016

Customer review by Joyce

5.0 stars 3/15/2016 by Joyce
by Joyce

A little confusing at first. However, after reading the owners manual and instructions, which a person should do anyway, I am happy with the machine and would definitely urge a friend to purchase it. very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joyce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
5/7/2009

Customer review by sewhappy2smile

4.0 stars 5/7/2009 by sewhappy2smile
by sewhappy2smile

As an expierenced sewer I purchased this machine to get back into the groove of sewing after taking a break for a few years. Needing a durable, dependable, machine I chose the Singer based on the metal frame, price, and features. Overall it's a great machine, but does lack a light up display screen for stich selections and the light for sewing is not as bright as I'd hope for. I bought a brother machine but returned it because it was noisy, the stiches were uneven, and the thread kept jamming in the bobbin casing. The singer is ultra smooth and quiet and can sew while others are in the room. It comes with an instruction DVD with sewing tips from Martha Stewart and is helpful if you are starting out sewing for the first time. I love the helpful hints about threading and craft projects. I took this machine out of the box and was sewing within 10 minutes. The cool feature is the needle threader and all the stitches it comes with. I have used many other machines but this one so far has been reliable, dependable, and care free sewing. It's great for mending, crafts, alterations, quilting, and clothing construction. It's trendy looking machine to leave out for quick projects and I love the computerized features and is not complicated to use. Just push on the stich selection you want to use and your off. It's that easy. I look forward to many creative projects I have on my sewing list. Happy sewing!

Was this review helpful? (153) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewhappy2smile
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Happy with my Singer 7256
9/30/2009

Customer review by SewingAgain

5.0 stars 9/30/2009 by SewingAgain
by SewingAgain

I hadn't sewn for a while. Had very old machine, and just purchased this Fashion Mate 7256 a few months ago. Very easy to use out of the box, great instructions for threading and bobbin insertion. Very quiet machine and no vibration when using. Love the fact that it winds the bobbins so greatly. Had trouble finding extra bobbins (uses the class 15J) but found them online at http://sewingmachinesplus.com at $4.99 per 10 pk. I'm thrilled so far with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewingAgain
Prospect, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good value machine
5/9/2016

Customer review by MHDK

4.0 stars 5/9/2016 by MHDK
by MHDK

I like the light and the automatic needle threader. I have used the machine to hem stretchy pants. I liked the way the tension adjusted properly. Nothing caught in the feeder. The instruction book is clear and needed. Good advanced machine at not much more than a beginner machine cost.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MHDK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of bells and whistles......
7/15/2012

Customer review by Ladytiger44130

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Ladytiger44130
by Ladytiger44130

Haven't bought a new machine in 25 years, and I'm pretty much happy with this one. Of course, you have to learn how to work it first and practice everything. Takes a while, but once you learn it the machine works great. Occasionally, the automatic buttonhole maker will skip a stitch or two, but it's not that noticeable. I was disappointed that the DVD that was supposed to come with the machine is the wrong one for this model. After I called Singer, they apologized and mailed me a new one (overnight) but unfortunately it's the same one I received with the machine. Go figure. And I also asked about the extension table that is optional, and no one seemed to know anything about it. They even told me it didn't come with one, although the manual said it did. Again, go figure. It's very quiet, the light appears to be a little dim for me, but I like the automatic needle threader. Again, it takes a while to master it. Threading the machine is simple, like older models. I like the dust cover that comes with it, even though it's really thin plastic. I plan on sewing a fabric cover in the future, using the plastic cover as a pattern. Overall, I like the machine.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ladytiger44130
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice machine without spending a fortune
4/5/2016

Customer review by grammy955

4.0 stars 4/5/2016 by grammy955
by grammy955

The only thing that disappoints me is the substandard light. I suggest carefully reading the manual before trying to use the machine for the first time. If you follow the directions, it is easy to wind and install the bobbin and thread the needle. I have tried many of the stitches and am practicing on making button holes. I really like this machine (Singer 7256).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grammy955
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use,
4/8/2016

Customer review by dlp2007

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by dlp2007
by dlp2007

Easy to thread bobbin and machine. Easy to control speed, nice backup button makes it easy to reinforce at places and tie off at end of stitch. I cannot speak to durability as I've not had it long enough. Good machine for basic sewing and beginners. Doesn't vibrate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlp2007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely easy to use
4/17/2010

Customer review by mimakelly

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by mimakelly
by mimakelly

Easy bobbin winding,easy threading of machine.Digital stitch selection very easy.Sound of machine working is super quiet. I sewed 8 layers of med.wt. fabric with no problem as well as 1 layer.This machine was able to auto adjust with no problem. The owner manuel very easy to read and clear pictoral instruction.I Love this machine and would highly reccommend it to anyone:o)

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mimakelly
grants, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sewing
2/18/2016

Customer review by Patt

5.0 stars 2/18/2016 by Patt
by Patt

Always love singer macines. This one is light weight and sews beautifully

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/29/2011

Customer review by SewLong46

3.0 stars 8/29/2011 by SewLong46
by SewLong46

Overall, a good machine for the price. I just wanted something that could do a nice straight stitch without dropping the thread coming from the bobbin, didn't need anything fancy, just reliable. Two quirks that are sort of annoying and take some getting used to: 1) The power and the foot-pedal/controller cords do not attach to the machine at the same place. The power cord fastens into the right-rear of the machine, and the pedal cord fits into a separate place in the right-front -- which means that the pedal cord is too short to wind down behind the sewing table and has to come down the front of the table, basically right in your lap. 2) The reverse-stitch button is very sensitive, and it's easy to reverse back farther than you wanted on the fabric. All in all, it's working well so far for simple straight-stitch sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewLong46
Midwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fashion Mate Feedback
3/7/2010

Customer review by Ashley

3.0 stars 3/7/2010 by Ashley
by Ashley

I have used it to make 5 sets of curtains so far, and I haven't had any problems with it. The only thing I don't like is the reverse button to secure your work. It doesn't work if you are in a decorative stitch, only the very first stitch. And its important to secure your work.... And you almost have to time it out to where you push in the button and the pedal at the same time or it freezes up. It's kind of weird. I am very dissapointed in the reverse button.... I have used thicker fabrics and very thin sheerlike fabrics. It did well with regular to thick, but I had to double up the sheer, and pull it real tight ir it would get stuck and loop up the thread on the underside. It's very easy to use and selecting stitches is pretty easy. Definatly a lot easier than my last machine. All except for that reverse button...... Another thing weird about it, is the thread lays on it's side, and not upright like most machines. And you have to put these little caps over it so it won't slip off. There are different sized caps, for different sized spools. And when you thread the bobbin, you put the spool upright on a separate stick. Very odd. And the sticks for the spool of thread are plastic. They use to be metal. I wasn't very happy with that. Thought it was a way to be cheap.... All in all, it gets the job done, and quickly. However, when you are in a decorative stitch, it is very slow.... some stitches you can hardly tell it's moving along....

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sewing machine and easy to use
1/22/2016

Customer review by Welshwoman

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Welshwoman
by Welshwoman

Bought this as a gift for my daughter. She had borrowed one from a friend and compared to her own sewing machine (another Brand) this one was so much easier to use and the stitching was consistent and even. The bobbin is easy to use and the selection of stitches and button hole feature work well and are easy to use also. My daughter is very happy with her new sewing machine. It works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Welshwoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this machine!
2/16/2011

Customer review by Mdmbutterfly

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Mdmbutterfly
by Mdmbutterfly

I had had a Singer about 50 years ago but needed to get at "updated" one so bought this one. It is so easy to use and easy to understand. Would definitley recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mdmbutterfly
Central CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Recommended!
8/4/2010

Customer review by Stickaneedleinit

4.0 stars 8/4/2010 by Stickaneedleinit
by Stickaneedleinit

This is a good sewing machine. So far all I've made on mine is purses and bags, and it does very well on multiple thicknesses of medium weight fabric. Threading the machine and the needle works like a charm IF you read the directions and give it a few tries until you learn its little quirks. I'm not crazy about the bobbin winding, which is kind of uneven, but even so I haven't had any problems sewing with them. The lamp is a little dimmer than I would like, but a work lamp placed close by solves that problem. Overall, this machine is good value for the money and will do most projects for you.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stickaneedleinit
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A must buy
2/3/2016

Customer review by IMCA

5.0 stars 2/3/2016 by IMCA
by IMCA

This sewing machine is wonderful. I would recommend it highly

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IMCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad
1/27/2014

Customer review by QuiltsbyGracie

4.0 stars 1/27/2014 by QuiltsbyGracie
by QuiltsbyGracie

I wouldn't recommend giving this to a beginner unless an experienced sewer is there to help them understand how to do things. The noise alone would scare the poo out of a beginner!! Very noisy machine. It is the best machine I've ever had for true tracking, it goes where you tell it too. I have much more expensive machines but this is the only one that has the 3 stitches that I use the most. The bobbin placement is normal for a singer but I find it awkward, personal preference. This is my little work horse and will use it till I kill it. After reading some of the other reviews, I was hesitant but I'm glad I trusted my sewing ability. We will have many happy years together... although, I'll probably need a hear aid soon... I'm tempted to wrap it in noise proofing foam but I don't think I could sew that way...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuiltsbyGracie
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews