Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 597 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

597 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

597 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
329
4 stars
124
3 stars
29
2 stars
23
1 stars
92
1-20 of 544 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 544 total reviews
1-20 of 544 reviews
Very Big mistake
8/18/2011

Customer review by Hilidox

1.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Hilidox
by Hilidox

I have been sewing for over 40 yrs. up to and including tayloring men's and women's suits. This was not my first sewing machine and not my first Singer, but it was the worst machine that I have ever used. I have my grandmother's pedal Singer and it sews better than the Singer Simple. While the price was very good and there were some good features, these mean nothing if the machine won't even sew a straight stitch without the tension going out of whack from one seam to the next. The bobbin tension also kept changing. Over the past few days of sewing, I have had to remove more bad stitching than I have had to do in the past 15 years of sewing. This machine is so bad that I am returning it tomorrow morning. I didn't buy it to do anything fancy, just wanted a simple machine to do basic sewing and the Singer Simple was not even able to do that without problems. I also found that the placement of the backstitch lever to be awkward. I also found the needle threader to be difficult to use. Bobbin placement, behind the moveable "equipment box" caused a great deal of frustation because the bobbin was constantly having to be removed when it would jam.

Hilidox
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sad about my Singer
5/14/2011

Customer review by Hopa

1.0 stars 5/14/2011 by Hopa
by Hopa

I have to agree with the gal whom wrote about her Singer Simple. I too have had problems with mine. Just as she said, it gets all caught up. I've been sewing for years and got this machine for Christmas. My husband thought he was doing me a favor because my old machine was getting very tired out. He and I have had to "work" on this machine each and every time I try and use it. Sorry Singer, this ones going to be trashed. And fyi, my Mother bought one also, to do some quilting and had the same problems. Hers is now just sitting in the closet! All 3 of us tried to do the thing's that the manual said to do.....to no avail. I am so bummed. I WAS going to teach my daughter how to sew on this one. Not a chance now. I am off to look at some garage sales for my old Singer from the early 60's. It was a peach!

Hopa
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not happy
12/14/2010

Customer review by Blah

2.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Blah
by Blah

I only needed an easy machine to sew costumes, mend seams etc. This seemed to be the answer. First of all, my instruction manual was not put together properly. I have several of the same pages and I am missing several others. Luckily, I was able to download a PDF version. Secondly, I have only used this machine 3 times and I cannot keep the bobbin thread from jamming up every couple of inches. I am VERY unhappy because I have barely even used the darn thing and can't keep it working right. I triple checked everything and have threaded and rethreaded all to no avail. I have a simple hem to do tonight and have been working on it for several hours. I can guarantee that I will NOT be recommending this machine to ANYONE.

Blah
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Singer "simple"
5/1/2011

Customer review by dummy

1.0 stars 5/1/2011 by dummy
by dummy

singer has always been a good product. My daughter bought me a new singer for Christmas three years ago. Right after that my husband passed away so I have not gotten to use it at all. Now three years later I am getting myself back together so I set up the sewing machine and it won't sew. I an not a sewer so it may be me but it sews two sitches and clogs up between bobbin and sewing surface. I only want to sew a straight line but can't get it to do that. I have to stop and take the bobbin out and release the material and try again and two stitches and do the same thing again. If you have any suggestions I would appreciate them. I am sure the warrently is gone by now but it is new but can't use.

dummy
University Place, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed!
7/17/2011

Customer review by NewGirl

2.0 stars 7/17/2011 by NewGirl
by NewGirl

I am a beginner - I received this machine as a gift. Taking on an ambitious quilt project, I must say that I am extremely disappointed in this machine. The first day wasn't too much of a problem; I had a few thread breaks here and there. Auto threader worked fine to start. The second day was like a totally different machine. Thread broke twice as much, kept jamming, and auto threader stopped working. At first, I thought I was doing something wrong, so I started all over. Same things happened. Called in some reinforcement; my aunt who has been sewing for decades. She messed with it for a while and finally just told me to take it back. Words of wisdom - don't waste time with this one!

NewGirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
The SIMPLE is simply a good choice
11/10/2011

Customer review by arose

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by arose
by arose

I purchased this machine because of price. It sews well, and has all the basic features I need. The automatic needle threader broke within the first 2 weeks of use. That is a worthless feature. It is nice that it uses the front loading bobbin, and accepts the presser feet from my other machines. It sews surprisingly well on heavier materials. The quick change presser foot feature is a pain. The release lever catches on stuff and drops the foot in the middle of doing things. I sew several hours every day. I am a professional seamstress. I have worn out 2 vintage Singer Machines and one competitor's machine this year. I have high hopes that this one will out last it's warranty.

arose
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible!
4/30/2011

Customer review by sweetkos

1.0 stars 4/30/2011 by sweetkos
by sweetkos

I bought this sewing machine a few weeks ago & was so excited to use it. When I finally got around to using it, I had a good friend who's been sewing for years teach me how to use it. She couldn't even get the bobbin to work or to keep sewing without gathering my fabric. We finally got it to work properly after a few frustrating hours. Finally able to start on my project, my needle broke. We've been trying to replace it for another few hours & the screw will not come undone so now I'm stuck with no sewing machine again. I would never recommend this machine to anyone, even my friend who's been sewing for years thinks this is a terrible investment.

sweetkos
Would recommend to a friend? No
HORRIFIC Machine!
6/11/2011

Customer review by MommyJRug

1.0 stars 6/11/2011 by MommyJRug
by MommyJRug

I am a beginner, and thought that this machine would be a good stepping stone into taking over my grandmother's tradition of quilting and sewing for the family. WRONG. I cannot for the life of me get this machine to stop jamming up. I will be sewing along, and then snag... Then have to reset everything, only to find that I did everything correctly. After two days, this machine is going back, I can't take it anymore! Why would you make a product geared towards someone like myself only to have it go so horribly wrong?! Completely and totally shook the confidence I had in myself that I could carry on a family tradition.

MommyJRug
Buttonwillow, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the Job
10/23/2011

Customer review by TheReviewer

3.0 stars 10/23/2011 by TheReviewer
by TheReviewer

Easy to carry and store. Has a built-in light. Threading the shuttle above the needle is not intuitive because the thread has to be inserted horizontally, instead of vertically as expected. "Automatic" threader also requires holding thread horizontally and isn't as easy as the video makes it look. I keep hoping Singer will bring out needles with a side slot that you just snap thread into and slide into the hole. They make them for hand sewing, so why not machines? Runs smoothly and quietly. Very attractive and clean looking. Doing cuffs is easy. I like it.

TheReviewer
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality
7/17/2011

Customer review by rosey

2.0 stars 7/17/2011 by rosey
by rosey

I bought this simple machine to use during summers at our camp. Summer #1 it worked great--I used it for 2 weeks to make some calico curtains for the kitchen. I packed it away in all it's original packaging in anticipation of another vacation of sewing. This summer I eagerly opened the machine. It worked beautifully for 1 day and the tension slipped. I got out the book, checked everything like it said, many, many times, and it still slips. Needless to say, my last week here is ruined; I was planning to finish a quilt top. So disappointed.

rosey
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Basic, Easy To Use
12/1/2011

Customer review by Pattiann

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Pattiann
by Pattiann

I have more expensive machines as well as a vintage Singer "rocketeer". The 2263 was purchased for community service projects. It sews very well and if properly cared for will last a long time. When the user has a problem, it is usually because they have dived right in without reading the manual and testing each feature of the machine. Improper threading, bobbin and needle insertion are the most overlooked processes when first using any sewing machine.

Pattiann
SW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply Simple
10/18/2011

Customer review by cw1530

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by cw1530
by cw1530

I had a Singer many years ago and when I became too busy to sew, I gave it away. Huge mistake! But now I have time but only wanted a simple machine for hemming, repairing, etc and this definitely fit the bill. This is a great design and I would definitely recommend this to my family and friends. Thank you, Singer, for coming up with the perfect, simple and easy to use machine! And I loved the video showing how to wind the bobbin and thread the machine!

cw1530
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product 2263
9/20/2011

Customer review by jazzfaz12000

5.0 stars 9/20/2011 by jazzfaz12000
by jazzfaz12000

I`m a novice sewer and have very limited knowledge of using a sewing machine. I had trouble understanding other machines but this one was a whizz to learn and operate. I was quite concerned spending my money but I can truly say I believe I have purchased an item that I can use as it is simple and gets the job done. Anyone who purchases this item should be pleased with this machine. I highly recommend it for all your basic sewing needs.

jazzfaz12000
Hightower NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love This Machine
1/22/2011

Customer review by bamaclif

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by bamaclif
by bamaclif

I had an old Singer Fashion Mate sewing machine that I bought refurbished over 10 years ago. It recently stopped working and I decided it was time for a new one. As I only use my sewing machine for home decor projects, I just wanted a basic model. So I bought the Simple 2263...and I LOVE IT! My mother has always used Singer sewing machines and so that's what I learned to sew on. She has had great results from Singer and I have too.

bamaclif
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My New Singer
9/21/2010

Customer review by Jeannie

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by Jeannie
by Jeannie

I bought this today, came home and started using it right away. I had an old Singer several years ago and it just did great. Well I needed a new one and couldn't spend alot, because I really do not sew that often. I will alot more now! I had a few things to fix right away and went right to it... No problem, everything went so smooth. I feel I have a new toy. This is just a great machine and I would recommend it to anyone.

Jeannie
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Machine
1/15/2011

Customer review by bumblekitty

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by bumblekitty
by bumblekitty

My Aunt taught me how to sew over the Christmas holidays on a large professional machine. I enjoyed it so much my husband bought me this machine as my starter machine. The price, features, and performance of this machine makes it a perfect starting machine. I hope that I will continue to learn and if necessary move up in machines in the Singer family. I would definitely tell others to buy this sewing machine.

bumblekitty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good machine, but...
12/28/2010

Customer review by jojo

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by jojo
by jojo

I've been using my machine for a couple weeks with no problems. It is quiet and operates smoothly. I've been sewing for over 50 years and still own an old heavy duty singer that has been vey dependable. One of the deciding factors in purchasing this machine was the 25 year warranty. However, now I find that there are no service centers in Colorado. Had I known this I never would have purchased the machine.

jojo
Rifle, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple Singer 2263
1/18/2011

Customer review by meldawn29

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by meldawn29
by meldawn29

Husband gave this sewing machine to me as a gift for Christmas 2010 and I LOVE IT!!! I have not sewed since highschool but it was like riding a bike, you Never forget how to do it. The machine I received is super easy to use and so much fun. To get the feel of the machine I have made a gazillion pillows LOL.....moving onto something new today. I am very happy with the Singer 2263 for beginners.

meldawn29
Santa Fe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good machine
8/4/2011

Customer review by LingereTailor

4.0 stars 8/4/2011 by LingereTailor
by LingereTailor

after starting with a Pixie (mistake), i moved up to the Singer Simple, which has sufficient features for a novice such as myself, and it is not over complicated which could lead to confusion and frustration. I'm a 47 yr old man and took up sewing as a hobby less than a month ago, making lingere for my wife. I recommend this machine for anybody who wants to get started sewing.

LingereTailor
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I hate to sew
8/13/2011

Customer review by Squids00

3.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Squids00
by Squids00

I hate to sew, but now and then I have to. I haven't used this machine enough to report about it, but so far it did what it was supposed to do. The biggest problem is that the user guide assumes you already are a whiz-bang sewer and already know everything about a sewing machine. -and- The CD furnished with it could use some work (slow motion, animation, etc.)

Squids00
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 544 total reviews
1-20 of 544 reviews