Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 529 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

529 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

529 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
285
4 stars
114
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 stars
81
1-20 of 477 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 477 total reviews
1-20 of 477 reviews
Just what I needed - a light, too
6/20/2009

Customer review by Omas2

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by Omas2
by Omas2

When my 41 year old Singer died, I looked for a replacement checking things out online. I narrowed the search down to a Brother and this Singer before I went to the store. Seeing them side by side helped. I tend to be frugal and was really leaning toward the cheaper Brother, especially since it advertised a light. But, the Singer had an automatic threader. The auto threader won out. To my surprise, when I unpacked it at home, the Singer also has a light (but does not indicate that anywhere on the box or online. It was easy to set up; instructions were clear; works like a charm.

Was this review helpful? (1113) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Omas2
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 250 contributor
I hated it, but now I love it!
3/16/2011

Customer review by Pokie719

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by Pokie719
by Pokie719

I received this product as a present for my birthday because I have always wanted a sewing machine. I've had it for months but never had a chance to use it until recently. As I set it up, I became progressively annoyed with it. So, I looked up reviews here on Walmart to try to see if others were having the same issues. After agreeing with all of the horrible reviews, I decided to give the machine and its manual just one last go. Then I found the solution! You haaaave to adjust the bobbin's tension or else the bottom thread will be really bunchy and ugly. The manual tells you that you have to use a small screwdriver (or the piece of metal that comes with the machine) to adjust the tension on the bobbin's steel case. Do this, and I'm pretty sure a lot of you all will have a better time with this machine because I sure have! Oh, and something else I would like to mention would be to twist the the large knob (on the right side of the machine) towards you to raise the needle to its highest position after sewing something. Remembering this has helped reduce my machine's number of jams to zero. :D

Was this review helpful? (581) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pokie719
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
VERY poor quality
12/24/2010

Customer review by NMDiver

1.0 stars 12/24/2010 by NMDiver
by NMDiver

We bought this sewing machine for my wife to do some simple sewing projects. It worked fine out of the box--for about 3 days. The bobbin tension was bad. We reset it and it went bad again...and again...and again...etc. We took it to a sewing center and they told us some interesting facts: 1) They see this machine a lot & breaks repeatedly. 2) Bobbin tension does not remain set. 3) The timing was off and, although they could reset it, it experience said it would go out again soon. 4) These machines are not the same as Singers made 30 years ago. After the company went through bankruptcy, they sold the trademark & this machine is notorious for poor quality. We bought this expecting to have a machine that matched the Singer reputation and we are very disappointed. Bottom line -- DON'T BUY THIS MACHINE.

Was this review helpful? (157) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NMDiver
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Great for a beginner
8/8/2009

Customer review by MissSlucrew

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by MissSlucrew
by MissSlucrew

This is my first sewing machine, after scouring yard sales I decided to get my very own new machine! I really like this one. I have NEVER sewn before. No home ec, nothing. So, it took me a little bit to understand the winding of the bobbin and pulling the bottom thread up, but after that it was smooth sailing. I have already altered two pairs of pajama pants, made a cover for my sewing machine and made two throw pillows! I can't believe how easy this is! I have only had my machine for a few days, so hopefully it will be durable and last, but, it's got a 25 year warranty, so it should be great!

Was this review helpful? (226) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissSlucrew
Kingsburg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great basic machine! Don't let USER ERROR fool you
3/12/2011

Customer review by Faeriesight

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by Faeriesight
by Faeriesight

First things first, to make this machine work you must thread the top properly. The tensor knob on top for winding the bobbin is NOT the one you'll thread through for sewing! If you try that, you'll get bunched threads like all these other poor folks. The problems with this machine are USER ERROR. I put the thread through the correct tensor plates, the ones located UNDER the square of plastic that the bobbin-winding tensor sits on and my threads have never once bunched in the several months I have owned this machine. I have used it to sew through four layers of flannel + two layers of batting at once and it does fine. In the beginning it skipped two stitches on a very thin fabric, but has been smooth sewing since. Very pleased with this machine. I use it nearly every day as I make clothing, quilts, and cloth feminine products for sale. Please, don't be afraid to give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (198) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Faeriesight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Beginner Machine
6/16/2010

Customer review by mamasews

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by mamasews
by mamasews

This machine met all of my expectations as a beginner. I did my research on sewing machines. I looked at Janome, Brother, Husqvarna, and many others but this Singer was perfect for me as a beginner and my crafting needs. Within 3 hours of opening the box I had made a blanket and diaper changing pad. I would recommend this to everyone starting out. You can't beat it for the low low price. The lower bobbin can be tricky and it took me about 30 minutes to figure everything out but once that was taken care of, there's been no other issues. Just follow the directions carefully and play around with the machine. The tension has to be right or there will be bunching or too loose but that is easily fixed. Again, I would recommend this sewing machine to all beginners who are on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (335) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamasews
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sewing is fun again!
8/25/2009

Customer review by hllederer

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by hllederer
by hllederer

Sewing seems so easy with this machine. And I now have more space in my bedroom. I keep it on my ironing board when I'm not ironing. The height of the ironing board is adjustable, making sewing much less painful for my neck and my back. (I place the sewing machine on the floor or dresser while I adjust the height of the ironing board.) I've completed many projects that I'd been putting off, dreading pulling out my 42-year-old clunker. This one is very easy to set up, and makes it easy to wind and change the bobbin. It runs smoothly and sews very straight (when you want straight) for a machine that can also make decorative stitches. The only difficulty I have is in turning the Pattern selector dial. But that's because of previous nerve damage to my hands. I haven't yet figured out how to use the automatic needle threader, but I believe I'll soon catch on. I just use an ordinary threader if necessary. Thank you Singer people for making such a fine inexpensive machine. HLHL

Was this review helpful? (125) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hllederer
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use, wish it had instructional dvd !
9/8/2009

Customer review by ToniTxs

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by ToniTxs
by ToniTxs

I had a little trouble with the bobbin, thread knotting up, but I think I had the parts where the bobbin goes installed wrong, finally got it figured out, was a breeze to use. Just wish had instructional dvd on how to sew basic stuff, this is my first sewing machine!!

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToniTxs
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Name says it all !! (n__n)
5/16/2010

Customer review by BLAZiNx6iRL

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by BLAZiNx6iRL
by BLAZiNx6iRL

I got this sewing machine as a Birthday present and it's my first time owning/using a sewing machine. The thought of how do I thread a bobbin, how do I thread the needle, how do I do this and that was just overwhelming but fear not ! As the name states Singer Simple ... it is SIMPLE ! The instruction book takes you step by step on how to thread the bobbing and you don't have to strain your eyes trying to get the thread into the needle bcuz the sewing machine has an automatic needle threader. It makes everything so very simple !! I Love the machine already ! (.__.") Now if I can only learn sewing machine skills everything would be great. L0L I'd definitely recommend this sewing machine over others. My Mom's old sewing machine was a Singer and it was a reliable one. Lasted her over 30 yrs or more. Note : This sewing machine comes with an offer for a year subscription to Martha Stewart magazine but if you read the subscription slip carefully it tells you if you do not want the subscription ... there is an address where you can mail your Name, Address, and copy of receipt of purchase to get $14.95 refund *the value of the magazine subscription*. You have 30 days to request the refund.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLAZiNx6iRL
L.A - And I dont mean Lousiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
MY SEWING EXPERIENCE
9/19/2009

Customer review by CLOBBER

5.0 stars 9/19/2009 by CLOBBER
by CLOBBER

My sewing experience is very limited, however....I did like the ease of setting up. So far I have mastered the needle threader 3 times and for me that is EXCELLENCE! I have used the machine a few times and since I am not a seamstress I cannot give a full review, but for a novice like me it is great. I am soon 78 yrs old and that alone is TELLING!

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLOBBER
ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Think twice before you buy.
6/27/2010

Customer review by PurpleFlamingo

1.0 stars 6/27/2010 by PurpleFlamingo
by PurpleFlamingo

I should have read reviews first. I paid $99 at Walmart store, when I see here it is $79. My 45 year old Singer has a major problem, so I purchased this to teach my 13 year old granddaughter how to sew while she was staying with me for a week. Hate the machine, cannot get a decent stitch, puckers no matter what length stitch, or no matter what tension. Bobbin winding is awful, it is not a smooth wound bobbin, thread loops hanging out all over. No zipper foot, although it say it comes with one.

Was this review helpful? (80) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurpleFlamingo
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/17/2010

Customer review by deedee777

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by deedee777
by deedee777

I sew so much that I wore out my last sewing machine! It was very similar to this one. There are a few improvements on this machine. The price was lower than the one I bought 10 years ago, believe it or not! I take it with me when I travel to my children's houses 500 miles away, so it's VERY portable! Thank you, Singer, for making such a nice little product! And thank you, Walmart, for shipping it free @ Site-to-Store........

Was this review helpful? (64) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deedee777
Hudson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Website for Manual with Video!!
12/28/2009

Customer review by brookintoled

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by brookintoled
by brookintoled

I just got this machine for christmas and have not had time to tackle it yet, but I have been looking over reviews and checking out my manual, I noticed that many people said they wished there was a video, and I found one on the product website while registering my machine. The link is below. http://www.singerco.com/products/product_detail.html?product_id=1556

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brookintoled
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for beginners!
9/24/2010

Customer review by hbaldwin

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by hbaldwin
by hbaldwin

I've never used a sewing machine before. The dvd instructions were very helpful on how to get started. While it did jam up (what sewing machine doesn't), it was very easy to fix. Just remove all excess threads from your bobbin area and re-thread as necessary. That cleared up all my jams. Now my infant son has a super cute and unique Halloween costume! Thanks Singer Simple!

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hbaldwin
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Useful For A Beginner
7/14/2009

Customer review by 1stTimeSewer

4.0 stars 7/14/2009 by 1stTimeSewer
by 1stTimeSewer

Product is very easy to learn and use. Manual is slim reading though. The light is nice. Sewing denim and quilting is possible. I enjoy making pillows out of old T-shirts I do not want to throw away. To answer a question in another review given: Bobbins are a Class 15 and Needles are 2020 & 2025.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1stTimeSewer
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Beware
4/13/2010

Customer review by pengo

1.0 stars 4/13/2010 by pengo
by pengo

I bought the singer 2263 for my 11 year old daughter to learn to sew on. A friend of my wife agreed to teach my daughter to sew, and read the manual and had trouble getting the singer to work right. She said that the thread kept breaking, the material bunched up, and the singer seemed very stiff. We tried to add some oil, but that did not help. The instructions stated that we should call singer rather than return the singer to Wal-Mart. My wife called and the customer rep said there was no way that the singer could be bad, and that we had broken the singer when we took it out of the box. She told my wife that there was nothing that they would do for us. This singer has never been used and and is a 90.00 paper weight. Things some times will not work, and thats ok, but singer will not stand behind their product. Beware!!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pengo
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
10/29/2009

Customer review by anrems

4.0 stars 10/29/2009 by anrems
by anrems

The directions were very tricky and hard to understand, but once I finally got the machine set up it has been great! I like it, it's easy to use and a good beginners machine.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anrems
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little machine!
12/21/2013

Customer review by SunshineFine

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by SunshineFine
by SunshineFine

After not sewing for many years, I decided to purchase a new machine and get back to it! I've always used and loved Singer so they were my first choice. When I found this one, the price was difficult to ignore so I chose it. I didn't want to spend to much since my sewing skills have declined over the years with not sewing for many years. Well, it seems I made the perfect choice! I really love this machine. It feels good, has some weight to it and incredibly easy to learn and use. I got so excited I bought the Singer Sewing Kit days later which I also love. So far, I've only used my new machine twice and it's a breeze. I enjoy it so I want to sew all day but still busy with Christmas errands. Once the holidays are over, I'm pretty sure my new year will be filled with lots of sewing and creating new things! I highly recommend this machine to everyone. You can't go wrong with a Singer!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineFine
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Must thread this machine with care!
4/14/2011

Customer review by janetpdq

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by janetpdq
by janetpdq

I'm a fairly experienced sewer but most of my sewing is home dec, straight lines, piping and zipper installations. This machine was given to me and has performed well. There is NO way you can sew on it if the thread isn't threaded exactly right. Miss one step or position and you've got a real thread mess on your hands. I did have a very loud and annoying squeak develop with every stitch. Grabbed the manual and like others wondered, ok add oil...WHERE for Pete's sake?? My engineering husband squirted some where he thought it should go. Once the oil found it's way to the inner workings, no more squeak!! YAY! Great machine for simple sewing, on run of the mill fabrics and for repairing the occasional ripped seam. Probably not a great choice for very delicate fabrics or any application beyond basic sewing...Biggest beef, no zipper foot...really Singer? Shame on you. Second beef/wish-it-had an adjustable pressure foot....not all fabrics are the same weight!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
janetpdq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Simple
6/15/2009

Customer review by Langirl24

4.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Langirl24
by Langirl24

This is a great, easy to use sewing machine. I'm a beginner but as it's name says, it is simple. The only thing is the top thread keeps breaking. Am I doing something wrong? The bottom bobbin is easy to thread and stays threaded!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Langirl24
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 477 total reviews
1-20 of 477 reviews