Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 577 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

577 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

577 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
316
4 stars
119
3 stars
29
2 stars
23
1 stars
90
1-20 of 524 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 524 total reviews
1-20 of 524 reviews
Easy to use, wish it had instructional dvd !
9/8/2009

Customer review by ToniTxs

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by ToniTxs
by ToniTxs

I had a little trouble with the bobbin, thread knotting up, but I think I had the parts where the bobbin goes installed wrong, finally got it figured out, was a breeze to use. Just wish had instructional dvd on how to sew basic stuff, this is my first sewing machine!!

Was this review helpful? (91) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToniTxs
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for beginners!
9/24/2010

Customer review by hbaldwin

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by hbaldwin
by hbaldwin

I've never used a sewing machine before. The dvd instructions were very helpful on how to get started. While it did jam up (what sewing machine doesn't), it was very easy to fix. Just remove all excess threads from your bobbin area and re-thread as necessary. That cleared up all my jams. Now my infant son has a super cute and unique Halloween costume! Thanks Singer Simple!

Was this review helpful? (55) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hbaldwin
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/16/2011

Customer review by criticalshopper513

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by criticalshopper513
by criticalshopper513

this machine sews fine for about 3 inches until ALL OF A SUDDEN the fabric balls up underneath the fabric and the machine completely stops. I've tried pretty much everything and can't figure out how to make it work. i think it's the tension... but i thought this was a machine for BEGINNERS! i think it just wasn't built right because you can tell from looking at it that the parts don't align quite right. this is NOT a machine for beginners... but from reading other reviews, it seems like even expert seamstresses can't fix the problem!

Was this review helpful? (45) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
criticalshopper513
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Think twice before you buy.
6/27/2010

Customer review by PurpleFlamingo

1.0 stars 6/27/2010 by PurpleFlamingo
by PurpleFlamingo

I should have read reviews first. I paid $99 at Walmart store, when I see here it is $79. My 45 year old Singer has a major problem, so I purchased this to teach my 13 year old granddaughter how to sew while she was staying with me for a week. Hate the machine, cannot get a decent stitch, puckers no matter what length stitch, or no matter what tension. Bobbin winding is awful, it is not a smooth wound bobbin, thread loops hanging out all over. No zipper foot, although it say it comes with one.

Was this review helpful? (114) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PurpleFlamingo
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
TERRIBLE!
1/24/2011

Customer review by amesthegreat213

1.0 stars 1/24/2011 by amesthegreat213
by amesthegreat213

When it came to choosing a machine, I bought this one, at the time at $99 because my friend had a similar, older model that I had used successfully to make a prom dress. Without reading the reviews first... HUGE MISTAKE! This machine is terrible! My main problem is that it wastes a HUGE amount of thread and jams, locks up, and jumbles any type of thread at any setting. I even had a sewing expert look at it, but to no avail. Total waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (62) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amesthegreat213
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Piece of junk !!!!!!
3/26/2016

Customer review by Upset

1.0 stars 3/26/2016 by Upset
by Upset

Brought the Singer 2263 home and followed the instructions exactly. Couldn't get the bobbin to load. When I would engage the bobbin by moving it to the right per the instructions, the machine would jam. Nothing in the instructions about that situation so I go to the internet and read that I had to take the bottom off of the machine and loosen a screw. The machine still jammed. I was upset and didn't give a flip about screwing up the machine so I forced it by turning the large round knob on the right of the machine with my hand. Something popped and all of a sudden the bobbin starts loading. Next I threaded the machine exactly per the instructions. Got a test piece of thin material and began sewing. Within 15 seconds the machine jams up and stopped. I could not turn knob on the right with my hand so I ripped of the thread and stuffed the piece of junk back in the box. Now I have to stand in the dreaded 'return merchandise' line at Walmart for the refund

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Upset
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sewing is fun again!
8/25/2009

Customer review by hllederer

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by hllederer
by hllederer

Sewing seems so easy with this machine. And I now have more space in my bedroom. I keep it on my ironing board when I'm not ironing. The height of the ironing board is adjustable, making sewing much less painful for my neck and my back. (I place the sewing machine on the floor or dresser while I adjust the height of the ironing board.) I've completed many projects that I'd been putting off, dreading pulling out my 42-year-old clunker. This one is very easy to set up, and makes it easy to wind and change the bobbin. It runs smoothly and sews very straight (when you want straight) for a machine that can also make decorative stitches. The only difficulty I have is in turning the Pattern selector dial. But that's because of previous nerve damage to my hands. I haven't yet figured out how to use the automatic needle threader, but I believe I'll soon catch on. I just use an ordinary threader if necessary. Thank you Singer people for making such a fine inexpensive machine. HLHL

Was this review helpful? (140) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hllederer
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Singer (Simple) Sewing Machine
3/3/2016

Customer review by Ricky

1.0 stars 3/3/2016 by Ricky
by Ricky

So my wife and I went to Walmart on Sunday 2/28/16 to purchase a sewing machine, got it home she couldn't get the bobbin to lock in the machine, then come to find out it was broke, after looking at the machine we realized how broke it was, it was so warped and uneven. She took it back the same day got a replacement. Get the new one home she set it up, went to a sewing class on 3/1/16 come to find out that one was broke too. She did one stitch and and wouldn't stitch any more. She was so disappointed, that she had to return it for the second time. I would not recommend getting sewing machine from Walmart, they are not worth your time or effort in going back and forth with the nonsense. Most of the time when we purchase things from Walmart there are no issues, but this experience was too much for one person. My wife is felling so down and disgusted right now, but she end up purchasing a sewing machine from QVC. Thank you QVC!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ricky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't last
5/18/2011

Customer review by Sewer321

1.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Sewer321
by Sewer321

The automatic needle threader sold me on this machine. However, like many other reviewers, I had trouble with the thread bunching underneath. I would class myself as an intermediate sewer, so it's not that I am clueless on how to work a sewing machine. I fought and fought with it and nearly took it back. The machine and I eventually came to an understanding and it finally worked acceptably well. However, after owning it for just under a year the stitch length just quit working. I was nearing the end of a project when the needle suddenly broke. After replacing it the feed dogs wouldn't feed the fabric through any faster than a .2 length stitch, no matter how I adjusted the stitch length dial. I called Singer and they couldn't figure out what was wrong with it over the phone and suggested taking it in for repair. In my area of the country, repairs cost more than this machine brand new! Now I'm in the market for a new one and I'm definitely going to get one with a top drop-in bobbin.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sewer321
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
JUNK
6/26/2016

Customer review by Breeleem

1.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Breeleem
by Breeleem

As and experienced sewer, I had my last Singer machine for 14 years. Sadly, It couldn't be fixed any more. I thought this would be perfect for the small sewing jobs I had to do until I decided to make some memory blankets from my son's clothing. This machine is not even worth the cheap price. Not only does the bobbin jam constantly, but the tension gets stuck which needs to be continuously re thread and needle re threading as well. It jams, bunches of thread stuck in the material. I have never had so much trouble doing basic sewing. I wish I had splurged and bought the more expensive model. This one is in the trash as soon as my current project is finished. For those new to sewing, do yourself a favor and by a better model. This one will make you feel as if you will never learn to sew or get anything accomplished. Total junk and very frustrated. If you already bought it, its not you with the issues, its the machine. Throw it out and go buy a better one. The self threader doesn't work either. If there were an option for a -5 rating, thats what I would have rated this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Breeleem
Would recommend to a friend? No
Must thread this machine with care!
4/14/2011

Customer review by janetpdq

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by janetpdq
by janetpdq

I'm a fairly experienced sewer but most of my sewing is home dec, straight lines, piping and zipper installations. This machine was given to me and has performed well. There is NO way you can sew on it if the thread isn't threaded exactly right. Miss one step or position and you've got a real thread mess on your hands. I did have a very loud and annoying squeak develop with every stitch. Grabbed the manual and like others wondered, ok add oil...WHERE for Pete's sake?? My engineering husband squirted some where he thought it should go. Once the oil found it's way to the inner workings, no more squeak!! YAY! Great machine for simple sewing, on run of the mill fabrics and for repairing the occasional ripped seam. Probably not a great choice for very delicate fabrics or any application beyond basic sewing...Biggest beef, no zipper foot...really Singer? Shame on you. Second beef/wish-it-had an adjustable pressure foot....not all fabrics are the same weight!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
janetpdq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I hated it, but now I love it!
3/16/2011

Customer review by Pokie719

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by Pokie719
by Pokie719

I received this product as a present for my birthday because I have always wanted a sewing machine. I've had it for months but never had a chance to use it until recently. As I set it up, I became progressively annoyed with it. So, I looked up reviews here on Walmart to try to see if others were having the same issues. After agreeing with all of the horrible reviews, I decided to give the machine and its manual just one last go. Then I found the solution! You haaaave to adjust the bobbin's tension or else the bottom thread will be really bunchy and ugly. The manual tells you that you have to use a small screwdriver (or the piece of metal that comes with the machine) to adjust the tension on the bobbin's steel case. Do this, and I'm pretty sure a lot of you all will have a better time with this machine because I sure have! Oh, and something else I would like to mention would be to twist the the large knob (on the right side of the machine) towards you to raise the needle to its highest position after sewing something. Remembering this has helped reduce my machine's number of jams to zero. :D

Was this review helpful? (669) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pokie719
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
USE THE RIGHT THREAD
9/25/2011

Customer review by 1231231231

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by 1231231231
by 1231231231

After a day and a half of using this machine, I was ready to return it - calling it a piece of junk. Then my husband suggested that I try a different thread. He went to the quilting store near me - that also sells singer sewing machines. The clerk called me and suggested polyester thread. I was concerned because I was working with heavy upholstery fabric, and she assured me that it is the strongest thread. That was the problem. I have never had a problem since. Great little machine and a good tool for every home. I'm very impressed. I had to order a zipper foot from on-line because it doesn't come with one, but it does come with bobbins, standard foot, and various other things that fit neatly into the front compartment. VERY light weight - and so much smaller than machines used to be. This means that it's no big chore to bring it out to use it. Sewing machines are so improved in every way - except that it's harder to thread the needle with silver against a silver background. Needle threader does not work.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1231231231
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little machine!
12/21/2013

Customer review by SunshineFine

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by SunshineFine
by SunshineFine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After not sewing for many years, I decided to purchase a new machine and get back to it! I've always used and loved Singer so they were my first choice. When I found this one, the price was difficult to ignore so I chose it. I didn't want to spend to much since my sewing skills have declined over the years with not sewing for many years. Well, it seems I made the perfect choice! I really love this machine. It feels good, has some weight to it and incredibly easy to learn and use. I got so excited I bought the Singer Sewing Kit days later which I also love. So far, I've only used my new machine twice and it's a breeze. I enjoy it so I want to sew all day but still busy with Christmas errands. Once the holidays are over, I'm pretty sure my new year will be filled with lots of sewing and creating new things! I highly recommend this machine to everyone. You can't go wrong with a Singer!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunshineFine
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrific Value, Sews Very Well
10/7/2010

Customer review by Wiggum

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Wiggum
by Wiggum

I am very pleased with the quality of this machine compared to the price. Like all sewing machine, it takes a little bit of time to learn the subtleties of your particular machine, but I figured it out very quickly. Previous commenters mentioned issues with jamming; I had those problems too until I realized I was threading the machine wrong; at the top I had threaded around the bobbin tension discs instead of running the thread under the pre-tension spring, which is the flat piece that the bobbin tension discs sit upon. I found that I needed to loosed the bobbin tension screw a bit. The selection of stitches on this machine is robust; great blind hem stitch. Haven't tried a buttonhole yet, but it's nice to know that option is available on a starter machine. The automatic threader took me a few times to figure out, but once I got the hand of it, I really loved it. My only complaint with the machine is that it doesn't seem to me as though the bobbin winds as smoothly as on other machines, but that could very well be user error on my part.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wiggum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed.
6/17/2016

Customer review by Kate

1.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Kate
by Kate

I consider myself to be an intermediate sewer and mechanically inclined. The machine definitely has issues with the bobbin housing catching the thread, knotting and jamming the machine. To clear the jam you need to pull the bobbin housing apart and it is not easy to get it back together again. After some time cleaning the fabric of the tangled thread and getting the machine back together, a few inches of stitches and it tangles and jams again! Many of the same complaint in the reviews. Don't buy it. Walmart.com has excellent customer service and refunded my account. Singer said to take it or send it to an authorized dealer for repair. Will not be replacing it with a Singer that I chose in the first place because it was made in the US.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great basic machine! Don't let USER ERROR fool you
3/12/2011

Customer review by Faeriesight

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by Faeriesight
by Faeriesight

First things first, to make this machine work you must thread the top properly. The tensor knob on top for winding the bobbin is NOT the one you'll thread through for sewing! If you try that, you'll get bunched threads like all these other poor folks. The problems with this machine are USER ERROR. I put the thread through the correct tensor plates, the ones located UNDER the square of plastic that the bobbin-winding tensor sits on and my threads have never once bunched in the several months I have owned this machine. I have used it to sew through four layers of flannel + two layers of batting at once and it does fine. In the beginning it skipped two stitches on a very thin fabric, but has been smooth sewing since. Very pleased with this machine. I use it nearly every day as I make clothing, quilts, and cloth feminine products for sale. Please, don't be afraid to give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (237) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Faeriesight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Name says it all !! (n__n)
5/16/2010

Customer review by BLAZiNx6iRL

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by BLAZiNx6iRL
by BLAZiNx6iRL

I got this sewing machine as a Birthday present and it's my first time owning/using a sewing machine. The thought of how do I thread a bobbin, how do I thread the needle, how do I do this and that was just overwhelming but fear not ! As the name states Singer Simple ... it is SIMPLE ! The instruction book takes you step by step on how to thread the bobbing and you don't have to strain your eyes trying to get the thread into the needle bcuz the sewing machine has an automatic needle threader. It makes everything so very simple !! I Love the machine already ! (.__.") Now if I can only learn sewing machine skills everything would be great. L0L I'd definitely recommend this sewing machine over others. My Mom's old sewing machine was a Singer and it was a reliable one. Lasted her over 30 yrs or more. Note : This sewing machine comes with an offer for a year subscription to Martha Stewart magazine but if you read the subscription slip carefully it tells you if you do not want the subscription ... there is an address where you can mail your Name, Address, and copy of receipt of purchase to get $14.95 refund *the value of the magazine subscription*. You have 30 days to request the refund.

Was this review helpful? (67) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLAZiNx6iRL
L.A - And I dont mean Lousiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
VERY poor quality
12/24/2010

Customer review by NMDiver

1.0 stars 12/24/2010 by NMDiver
by NMDiver

We bought this sewing machine for my wife to do some simple sewing projects. It worked fine out of the box--for about 3 days. The bobbin tension was bad. We reset it and it went bad again...and again...and again...etc. We took it to a sewing center and they told us some interesting facts: 1) They see this machine a lot & breaks repeatedly. 2) Bobbin tension does not remain set. 3) The timing was off and, although they could reset it, it experience said it would go out again soon. 4) These machines are not the same as Singers made 30 years ago. After the company went through bankruptcy, they sold the trademark & this machine is notorious for poor quality. We bought this expecting to have a machine that matched the Singer reputation and we are very disappointed. Bottom line -- DON'T BUY THIS MACHINE.

Was this review helpful? (204) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NMDiver
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Luck of the Draw
12/29/2012

Customer review by caseyloo3

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by caseyloo3
by caseyloo3

As a beginner, my mom thought this would be a great starter machine. After it took about an hour to set up, we had it sewing for a while but then it quit. The lower bobbin kept getting stuck and would jam up within three or four stitches. We ended up getting nothing sewed. My mom and grandmother, who have sewed their whole lives, couldn't get it to work. We adjusted the bobbin tension, tried different thread, different fabric, different tensions, different stitches, EVERYTHING. We eventually decided that if it was that hard to use and the machine was that picky about tension and didn't work easily, it was never going to get used. We took it back and bought a Brother someplace else where within an hour of opening the box, had two sets of curtains hemmed. DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE UNLESS YOU WANT TO GAMBLE ON WHETHER THE MACHINE WILL WORK OR NOT. Besides, after reading both positive and negative reviews, it seems that EVERYONE has the same issues, it just depends on whether the machine needs to be reset as often as this one would have.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caseyloo3
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 524 total reviews
1-20 of 524 reviews