Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

38 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

38 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

37%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 37 total reviews
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
A real machine, but...
8/16/2009

Customer review by WENDEEHART

4.0 stars 8/16/2009 by WENDEEHART
by WENDEEHART

First off, it's purple! My granddaughter loves it. It is a real sewing machine, not a chain-lock one.. A foot pedal is included BUT don't expect it to last. Luckily there is a switch on the machine to run it but it can get tricky when you have to reverse the stitch. My Granddaughter (she's 5 yrs old) and I (sewing for 35 yrs) had a great day sewing with this and will have many more...

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WENDEEHART
FORT LAUDERDALE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
EXCELLENT for it's purpose
8/20/2009

Customer review by KDizzz

4.0 stars 8/20/2009 by KDizzz
by KDizzz

I read a ton of reviews on this little purple masterpiece before buying it and I was skeptical b/c of some of the bad reviews. I was happy to find out that these reviews were wrong. I have had that machine for almost a year now and it's time for me to step it up into the big leagues with a more expensive machine. This thing is PERFECT for beginners or simple sew jobs. I used it for stretch cotton leg warmers and it worked like a charm every time. The wheel on the side does fall off a lot but how hard is it to put it back on? EASY! The bottom line is that you are paying UNDER $50 for a sewing machine... don't expect the thing to make you a couture dress for fashion week.. but, you can expect it to fix any wardrobe malfunctions, small projects, sew together fabric and fulfill all your simple sewing needs. I never write reviews but I had to for this one. If you're looking to get into sewing or have some clothes at home that need repair.. this is the way to go! I first bought a Singer hand-held sewing machine and instantly took it back the next day b/c it fell apart in my hands... but this one.... this one was great to get me started! I hope this helps!! Happy Crafting!

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDizzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My pixie experience
5/27/2009

Customer review by starlight1213

1.0 stars 5/27/2009 by starlight1213
by starlight1213

As soon as I saw it I had to investigate. While the bright purple was very attentiongetting the pixie turned out to be a dud when i got it home. I played with the display model in the store. Seemed very easy to thread, the way to go is on the machine itself. The bobbin case was very accesible and it had a small storage drawer. It was not plugged in, so i could not test it out on the sampler that comes with the machine. As soon as i got it home i plugged it all in, threaded and had the bobbin in the appropriate place and tried to sew through the sampler that came with it. At first it would sew the thread into the cloth, but it would easily pull out because the needle wasnt picking up the bobbin thread. Also it was making a horrible grating sound as the needle would go all the way down. Like it was hitting something as it went down. I fussed with it for hours before i threw in the towel and took it back the next day. i guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starlight1213
murphysboro il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
GREAT little machine!
6/15/2009

Customer review by luvcatzzz

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by luvcatzzz
by luvcatzzz

i'm sorry guys, but i love this machine! i bought this little machine to make some tube sock rice warmers for my cat rescuer friend. i also needed to make fleece covers for the rice filled socks so she could wash them. well, i thought i'd try this little machine. i haven't had a BIT of trouble out of it. ok, the reverse stitch button doesn't work but i can live with that. otherwise, i haven't had any trouble from it. i LOVE the fact that it runs on batteries and those last a long time. i've made about 20 of the tube sock warmers plus covers, and have also made a couple of bigger items along the same line. the only problem i had was the sewing the tops of the tube socks. it ate the material. so i just put a piece of paper over the sock and sewed it through the paper. no drama! i also was able to rewind the bobbin with no drama either. everything has been smooth and has worked great. i can even take it to mom and dad's and simply set it on the kitchen table and mend up some of their clothing! i simply love this machine! i'm sorry everyone has had such trouble with theirs, but i wouldn't trade the little guy for the world! i know it won't last forever, but for the price, i'm surprised i've made as many of these items as i have. i have a feeling i'll be able to make a whole bunch more as well! :-D

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvcatzzz
charlotte nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, Give it a try.
6/16/2009

Customer review by Christivch

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by Christivch
by Christivch

I have no experience with sewing machines, so I wanted to start with something small.. Before buying it, I did my research and I was surprised to see that many people had problems with this product. So I decided to take the risk, and I'm glad I did it. So far I love it, This little cutie works wonderful, so far I have fix the hem on 4 jeans and 3 skirts.. and thats with no previous sewing experience.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christivch
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Fantastic for child's sewing machine & it works!!!
8/2/2009

Customer review by JustPickANameForMe

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by JustPickANameForMe
by JustPickANameForMe

Walmart price is best in town. I purchased this machine because all the children’s sewing machines had such bad reviews. As described below my husband made a finger guard for my granddaughter. Great price for a child’s sewing machine and actually works. Walmart is the only place that I found the purple machine. The machine successfully performed all the stitches as listed. However, the 3 sizes of straight stitches are about 1.5 to 2.5 size (small to slightly over regular size stitches.) In other words it does not make straight large or basting stitches. This may be a problem if you are sewing on paper for crafting. The small stitches may perforate the paper so that it easily tears. The machine: 1) sews slow, which is what I wanted for my grandchild 2) uses standard needles (Style 2020) – contacted Singer 3) uses Class 15 bobbins (easy to find) (3 included) – contacted Singer 4) uses regular size spools of thread 5) foot pedal is the size of a computer mouse 6) has 4 small rubber feet to help hold machine in place 7) adjustable upper thread tension 8) no “bobbin case” therefore, no bobbin tension adjustment 9) cannot adjust stitch length (other than the 3 choices of straight stitches) 10) cannot adjust stitch width. Does not have a finger guard for our granddaughter & could not find one for a low shank machine. My husband made one out of a large picture hanger (the type that are L shaped with a curl at the top and a small nail that goes through the hanger.) Used hole end to go around the shaft and attached it with the pressure foot screw. Cut off the excess around the shaft, bent the L section around the needle and shaft, and back at the front of the foot. Tilted it down which touched just inside the front edge of the foot . Then bent end of L back slightly from the front edge of the foot to allow thread to pass under it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustPickANameForMe
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
nice machine
11/3/2009

Customer review by robsgurl

4.0 stars 11/3/2009 by robsgurl
by robsgurl

I just got this sewing machine today..I have been using it a lot today just to get use to using the sewing machine..I haven't really used one and I wanted one but not an expensive one and I thought this was a good deal for a first machine...easy to thread and put the bobbin in and thread the bobbins...=) It took me all day to realize there was a light built in..on the front of the machine if you look there is a little pic of a light bulb and under that is the button to turn it on and there is a small thing to cut the thread. It is easy to use..I like the color of it. just wish the adapter cord was longer. The foot pedal is easy to use and the cord for that is long enough. I like how it winds up the thread on the bobbin for you which is nice...=) I like this one as a first sewing machine to practice on and get how to use it down good before I upgrade to a bigger and more expensive machine. When that happens the little purple one will be going to my oldest...=)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robsgurl
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed.
11/18/2009

Customer review by RockinJewelMom

1.0 stars 11/18/2009 by RockinJewelMom
by RockinJewelMom

Bought this for 9 year old - I had already taught her on my machine using paper; straight lines, curvy lines, corners. We had lots of problems with the Pixie's magnetic bobbin. I fixed it several times by dismanteling the bobbin fixture; it still jumped around so much when she sewed it would bind up and break or not put any stitch in at all. Even my 7 year old couldn't sew slow enough to keep the bobbin working. We returned and took a different one home thinking it was a malfunction, same results. [note: mom is an expert sewer so novice sewer might find this a nice starter] It's okay if you want to do paper crafts, ribbons or scrapbooking embellishments. We doubled the money for a student machine that will last her a lifetime. Kids these days drive video games, go carts, wii stuff -- they know how to handle a pedal to adjust speed. Use felt material, its easy to sew with -- it doesn't slide around like some fabrics do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockinJewelMom
Texas to Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Don't do it!
10/30/2009

Customer review by deligurl

1.0 stars 10/30/2009 by deligurl
by deligurl

I loved this little machine. I am a novice sewer, and this machine was just what I needed. The first one I got did not work at all. I threaded the machine, and turned it on and the motor ran, but the needle wouldn't move. SooooOoOo disappointed. But, I decided to give this machine the benefit of the doubt, and exchanged it. Well, I got another one, and it worked like a charm. Yea, it was a little clunky, but I still loved it. After two days of using it, though, it stopped working. I was so disappointed. I now have the Singer Simple, and it is SOOOO much better. Not CLUNKY at all. For a little bit more than the price of the Pixie, you can have a REAL sewing machine that will not disappoint you. I suggest getting the Singer Simple, because it is SO worth it! Don't waste your time on this machine. I had read the reviews, and decided to try it anyway, and I do regret the time I wasted trying to make this work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deligurl
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My Pixie Works Great!
7/13/2009

Customer review by libbi5

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by libbi5
by libbi5

I was very skeptical buying this product because of the reviews. I bought it anyways because I didn't want to invest the extra money for a full size. I got it home. threaded it and plugged it in...it was ready to go! I haven't sewed since jr high...so I had to read the manual on how to thread it ...and it didn't take long to figure out. I mended a sheet, and hemmed two sets of curtains and it worked very well. The thread did get tight as another person said...but you just turn the tension dial and it was fine. One problem I did have is the pedal quit working. Luckily, my husband is quite handy! He unscrewed it and saw that with repeated used the plastic prong that pushes down the power button had melted a little (they use plastic in there). So, he put a little rubber stopper on top of it and put it back together...it works fine. He said you could attach anything really to it...as long as it reaches that power button. So, if your pedal stops working...all is not lost. Its a great little machine....enough for me to do what I need to do and not spend all the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
libbi5
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/30/2009

Customer review by lk23

1.0 stars 12/30/2009 by lk23
by lk23

I was so happy and excited when i got this for a Christmas gift, and could not wait to start sewing. I stared out on some thin cloths that i had left over from other projects and moved in to working on a blanket that i had been sewing by hand. It started to work good the first night than it started to act up and have problems. It keep acting as if it was getting jammed. I took it to my grandmother who has been sewing her hole like only to find the problem was not me but the machine its self. We took it apart and got it working again only for it to act up again. After reading many of the other review i had the same problem as them. The bobbin would brake and the machine would freeze i took it back to day and picking up a brother had have had no problems sense. I would tell people looking for something cheap and easy to start out on to look somewhere else and stay away from this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lk23
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Do not buy
5/28/2009

Customer review by stace1985

1.0 stars 5/28/2009 by stace1985
by stace1985

My husband bought me one of these for a gift. I was very excited and opened it right away to test it out. Well every other stitch it stopped working, so we took it back and exchanged it, no problem right?... not I opened the SECOND machine and started to use it and it won't stitch. And yes I know how to sew, and have been for 10+ years. So do no buy

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stace1985
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Dont waste your time or money
8/23/2009

Customer review by Mommatoapreemie

1.0 stars 8/23/2009 by Mommatoapreemie
by Mommatoapreemie

I saw this machine a few weeks ago and thought it was a great price and it was made by Singer so it must be great! WRONG. I purchased it brought it home messed around with the sample cloth and it was working great.. i started to make an insert for a cloth diaper for my daughter Halfway through the needle broke! So we replaced the needle and re threaded everything, the bobbin would not pick up, my husband and I who both know how to work a sewing machine spent over 2 hours threading, re threading and trying everything we could but the threads kept breaking and we couldn't get the bobbin to thread correctly. I will be returning this awful product tomorrow. Im astonished that after all of the awful reviews and emails singer has received from unsatisfied customers that this product is even still on the market.. I'm saving my money and buying a Brother next time

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommatoapreemie
oceanside, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Average
7/16/2009

Customer review by StlShopper2

3.0 stars 7/16/2009 by StlShopper2
by StlShopper2

I do not have much sewing machine experience. I have and do make pillows, hem clothes, things like that but by no means am I a seamstress. I bought this machine because it was inexpensive, and I wanted to do some crafty things for around the house. I saw this machine and thought it was cute and small so I bought it. When I got it home, it was easy to put together. It was already threaded with the bobbin ready to go. So of course I had to change the thread because I wanted to make sure I could use it myself. I went through the steps of threading the bobbin and the needle. As with other shoppers of this machine, it would get stuck, made the grinding noise. I was only using a light weight fabric that I purchased at the same time I bought the machine. After about 1-1/2 hour of messing around with the machine, I did get it to stitch with out getting stuck. I went through each of the 6 stitches with success. I haven't started on my project yet, but think I finally figured the thing out. I imagine you can't make very many outfits or quilts with this machine, but if you have the patience to stick it out, it might be good for light mending and crafts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StlShopper2
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Disappointed
6/21/2009

Customer review by Gabbys

2.0 stars 6/21/2009 by Gabbys
by Gabbys

I bought this nice looking sewing machine for home stuff, nothing fancy. Unfortunatelly, there's somehting wrong with the timing, basically it is very fragile. I had it replaced and guess what, it did it again! Now, I can't sew and I can't change it. It was good while it lasted. Check for the problem, it is all over the Internet.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gabbys
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Pixie-Great machine for a good price
6/25/2009

Customer review by Xykat

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by Xykat
by Xykat

I have been very happy with my Pixie so far. I purchased it at Walmart in upstate New York while visiting relatives. I shipped it through the US post office without opening it and it managed to survive the trip overseas from upstate New York to Sweden. I opened it and was very happy to find that it was battery operated also so I would not really have to convert it to Swedish power. I put 4 batteries in it and it worked! I put thread on a bobbin with no problems. The foot pedal even worked while using battery power! WOW! I took it to hem some curtains at an old 18th century manor house. I tried it for the first time, figured out how to do the bobbin (just catch it to the left side then move the needle down then up) and it was easy! When I threaded the needle I noticed the thread could get a bit tight so I just adjusted the dial on the left and it worked fine. I finished heming two curtains for this old manor house! A vast improvement over the old ones! It is very light to carry. I carried it in a bag with an iron and some other fabric. Very compact! The bag was a thicker plastic carry all bag. A VERY happy American living in Sweden with her Singer Pixie! Yippee! Kathleen

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xykat
Stockholm, Täby, Sweden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Waste of Time and Money
8/11/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/11/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Well- I am new at sewing, I know the basics and stuff, but I wanted to see if I could get better at it, make it a hobby. So a while ago was when I really wanted a sewing machine so I got one also from walmart, it was... junk may I say? So I brought it back. Today I got the Pixie. I had heard some bad reviews, but also good reviews, so I gave it a shot. BIG MISTAKE. I came home with my whole day planned out, to do nothing but sew. So I plugged it in and threaded it and did everything it said, but I must have tried 10 times to make it work. Every time it got jammed! The most I got out of it was 2 stitches. Sooo 2 hours of my day was wasted trying to fix a stupid sewing machine, to be left with nothing but frustration and disapointment. Don't take the risk, you'll be wasting your time and money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Going against the grain
10/12/2009

Customer review by Crazeboook

2.0 stars 10/12/2009 by Crazeboook
by Crazeboook

The original machine I was going to purchase was a more expensive Singer machine. I previously looked at this machine online but due to the bad reviews opted against it. Suprisingly when I came home this was sitting on the table because my dear mother purchased it for me. I decided I would atleast try it and not base it on what others said. I immediately was drawn to the purple colors and cool features like the handy drawer and the light above where you sewed. I however had trouble because the needle got stuck a few times and somehow the machine jammed. The noise level wasnt too bad but now my machine sounds weird and the needle is going slow when i just got it yesterday! Its going back tomorrow and it somewhat worked good while it lasted.... a whole 24 hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazeboook
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Hit or Miss Machine
11/24/2009

Customer review by Pyrolocks2

3.0 stars 11/24/2009 by Pyrolocks2
by Pyrolocks2
Walmart associate

The first machine I bought was amazing! I was thoroughly surprised what a great machine this is! I didn't use it for just simple sewing. I made 2 full gowns, boning and all, a full sized quilt, and much more... unfortunately, I pushed it further than anyone should push ANY sewing machine because I was desperate and pressed for time and killed it. Sad that I had ruined a good thing, I bought a new one expecting to pick up where I left off. I was wrong. The second machine I bought is TERRIBLE!!! Nothing but frustration. I don't understand how one machine can be so fantastic and another of the same kind be so awful. The thread cutter is even dull on this one... I said I would recommend it because maybe you will get one of the great ones... lol.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pyrolocks2
Westminster, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Big Disappointment
8/31/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/31/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I think it's a hit or miss with this product. I've read eveyone's review. I purchased this cute little machine, so that I wouldn't have to pull out my brother machine, for my small crafts. On my first day, after a few hours of usage it was working fine, until it jammed. I lifted the lid from the compartment where it holds the bobbin because for some reason it got caught up and tangled. Now it won't sew at all. It won't even pick up the thread from the bobbin. Fifty dollars down the drain. I love the little thing. I just wish it would work. I went on line to view a manual and no success in trying to resolve my issue. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT. Disappointed that singer wouldn't do better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews