Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

38 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

38 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

37%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 37 total reviews
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
EXCELLENT for it's purpose
8/20/2009

Customer review by KDizzz

4.0 stars 8/20/2009 by KDizzz
by KDizzz

I read a ton of reviews on this little purple masterpiece before buying it and I was skeptical b/c of some of the bad reviews. I was happy to find out that these reviews were wrong. I have had that machine for almost a year now and it's time for me to step it up into the big leagues with a more expensive machine. This thing is PERFECT for beginners or simple sew jobs. I used it for stretch cotton leg warmers and it worked like a charm every time. The wheel on the side does fall off a lot but how hard is it to put it back on? EASY! The bottom line is that you are paying UNDER $50 for a sewing machine... don't expect the thing to make you a couture dress for fashion week.. but, you can expect it to fix any wardrobe malfunctions, small projects, sew together fabric and fulfill all your simple sewing needs. I never write reviews but I had to for this one. If you're looking to get into sewing or have some clothes at home that need repair.. this is the way to go! I first bought a Singer hand-held sewing machine and instantly took it back the next day b/c it fell apart in my hands... but this one.... this one was great to get me started! I hope this helps!! Happy Crafting!

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KDizzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic for child's sewing machine & it works!!!
8/2/2009

Customer review by JustPickANameForMe

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by JustPickANameForMe
by JustPickANameForMe

Walmart price is best in town. I purchased this machine because all the children’s sewing machines had such bad reviews. As described below my husband made a finger guard for my granddaughter. Great price for a child’s sewing machine and actually works. Walmart is the only place that I found the purple machine. The machine successfully performed all the stitches as listed. However, the 3 sizes of straight stitches are about 1.5 to 2.5 size (small to slightly over regular size stitches.) In other words it does not make straight large or basting stitches. This may be a problem if you are sewing on paper for crafting. The small stitches may perforate the paper so that it easily tears. The machine: 1) sews slow, which is what I wanted for my grandchild 2) uses standard needles (Style 2020) – contacted Singer 3) uses Class 15 bobbins (easy to find) (3 included) – contacted Singer 4) uses regular size spools of thread 5) foot pedal is the size of a computer mouse 6) has 4 small rubber feet to help hold machine in place 7) adjustable upper thread tension 8) no “bobbin case” therefore, no bobbin tension adjustment 9) cannot adjust stitch length (other than the 3 choices of straight stitches) 10) cannot adjust stitch width. Does not have a finger guard for our granddaughter & could not find one for a low shank machine. My husband made one out of a large picture hanger (the type that are L shaped with a curl at the top and a small nail that goes through the hanger.) Used hole end to go around the shaft and attached it with the pressure foot screw. Cut off the excess around the shaft, bent the L section around the needle and shaft, and back at the front of the foot. Tilted it down which touched just inside the front edge of the foot . Then bent end of L back slightly from the front edge of the foot to allow thread to pass under it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustPickANameForMe
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT little machine!
6/15/2009

Customer review by luvcatzzz

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by luvcatzzz
by luvcatzzz

i'm sorry guys, but i love this machine! i bought this little machine to make some tube sock rice warmers for my cat rescuer friend. i also needed to make fleece covers for the rice filled socks so she could wash them. well, i thought i'd try this little machine. i haven't had a BIT of trouble out of it. ok, the reverse stitch button doesn't work but i can live with that. otherwise, i haven't had any trouble from it. i LOVE the fact that it runs on batteries and those last a long time. i've made about 20 of the tube sock warmers plus covers, and have also made a couple of bigger items along the same line. the only problem i had was the sewing the tops of the tube socks. it ate the material. so i just put a piece of paper over the sock and sewed it through the paper. no drama! i also was able to rewind the bobbin with no drama either. everything has been smooth and has worked great. i can even take it to mom and dad's and simply set it on the kitchen table and mend up some of their clothing! i simply love this machine! i'm sorry everyone has had such trouble with theirs, but i wouldn't trade the little guy for the world! i know it won't last forever, but for the price, i'm surprised i've made as many of these items as i have. i have a feeling i'll be able to make a whole bunch more as well! :-D

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvcatzzz
charlotte nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, Give it a try.
6/16/2009

Customer review by Christivch

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by Christivch
by Christivch

I have no experience with sewing machines, so I wanted to start with something small.. Before buying it, I did my research and I was surprised to see that many people had problems with this product. So I decided to take the risk, and I'm glad I did it. So far I love it, This little cutie works wonderful, so far I have fix the hem on 4 jeans and 3 skirts.. and thats with no previous sewing experience.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Christivch
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
My pixie experience
5/27/2009

Customer review by starlight1213

1.0 stars 5/27/2009 by starlight1213
by starlight1213

As soon as I saw it I had to investigate. While the bright purple was very attentiongetting the pixie turned out to be a dud when i got it home. I played with the display model in the store. Seemed very easy to thread, the way to go is on the machine itself. The bobbin case was very accesible and it had a small storage drawer. It was not plugged in, so i could not test it out on the sampler that comes with the machine. As soon as i got it home i plugged it all in, threaded and had the bobbin in the appropriate place and tried to sew through the sampler that came with it. At first it would sew the thread into the cloth, but it would easily pull out because the needle wasnt picking up the bobbin thread. Also it was making a horrible grating sound as the needle would go all the way down. Like it was hitting something as it went down. I fussed with it for hours before i threw in the towel and took it back the next day. i guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starlight1213
murphysboro il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Do not buy
5/28/2009

Customer review by stace1985

1.0 stars 5/28/2009 by stace1985
by stace1985

My husband bought me one of these for a gift. I was very excited and opened it right away to test it out. Well every other stitch it stopped working, so we took it back and exchanged it, no problem right?... not I opened the SECOND machine and started to use it and it won't stitch. And yes I know how to sew, and have been for 10+ years. So do no buy

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stace1985
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Disappointed
6/21/2009

Customer review by Gabbys

2.0 stars 6/21/2009 by Gabbys
by Gabbys

I bought this nice looking sewing machine for home stuff, nothing fancy. Unfortunatelly, there's somehting wrong with the timing, basically it is very fragile. I had it replaced and guess what, it did it again! Now, I can't sew and I can't change it. It was good while it lasted. Check for the problem, it is all over the Internet.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gabbys
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A real machine, but...
8/16/2009

Customer review by WENDEEHART

4.0 stars 8/16/2009 by WENDEEHART
by WENDEEHART

First off, it's purple! My granddaughter loves it. It is a real sewing machine, not a chain-lock one.. A foot pedal is included BUT don't expect it to last. Luckily there is a switch on the machine to run it but it can get tricky when you have to reverse the stitch. My Granddaughter (she's 5 yrs old) and I (sewing for 35 yrs) had a great day sewing with this and will have many more...

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WENDEEHART
FORT LAUDERDALE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Do not buy
7/16/2009

Customer review by Novahsky

2.0 stars 7/16/2009 by Novahsky
by Novahsky

My mom bought this sewing machine for my 9 year old daughter and taught her how to use it. It worked at first, but it always made a horrible sound when she was sewing. Then it finally after a couple of uses went "clunk" and the bobbin thread would not work anymore. I took it back and she got a new one. Exited to finish her project she quickly took it out of the box and we set it up. The engine would run but nothing would happen. I look thought the user manual and tried to figure out what we were doing wrong. Now I am headed back to Wal-Mart to return it, again. I wish I would have read the reviews before I okayed the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Novahsky
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
First day great, second day not so much...
6/16/2009

Customer review by catzy94

1.0 stars 6/16/2009 by catzy94
by catzy94

The first day I got this, I used it to alter the sizes on some clothes and sew on my husband's navy patches. It worked great for that, but not even a week later, the foot pedal broke, and then, doing a simple job (stretch knit) the bobbin casing broke. I guess it could work for someone who rarely sews, but if you want to actually make clothes, get a better machine. I like the color though, the purple really stands out in my messy apartment, lol.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catzy94
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
pixy
8/16/2009

Customer review by kar419

1.0 stars 8/16/2009 by kar419
by kar419

I picked up this machine last night, thought it would be nice to have a smaller machine to do little mending jobs. From the moment I opened the box it was obvious that the machine had been returned the store before, but I thought I would still give it a chance. I started to sew through 1 layer of thin cotton material and the machine jammed after the 1st stitch and the needle wouldn't move. It will be going back to the store in the morning. I would rather pull out my big machine than waste my money on the pixy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kar419
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not good
8/3/2009

Customer review by LittleScarlet

1.0 stars 8/3/2009 by LittleScarlet
by LittleScarlet

I bought this just to mend up some curtains. Although it worked with the little sample cloth they gave me, and worked the first few times with slight diffuculty getting the bottom thread going. I have now spent over 2 hours Determined to get that bobbin threaded and it's not working! I'm shocked that I haven't thrown the thing across the room. Not to mention I bought all new thred and stuff for it today and nothing not even the ones it came with work. I would take it back but I'm like 30 mins from a walmart so maybe next week.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleScarlet
Fall River, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
aweful swoing machine
7/21/2009

Customer review by sosaaaaaaa

1.0 stars 7/21/2009 by sosaaaaaaa
by sosaaaaaaa

it is a piece of junk..it looks cute but as far as sowing , it is really bad.. it stoped working right after i started working on it..it is not sowing anymore.. i will return it back tomorrow and get the $100 one.. don't waste ur money plz.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sosaaaaaaa
shelby ,NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great starter sewing machine
1/2/2010

Customer review by Blondebeauty84

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by Blondebeauty84
by Blondebeauty84

I just bought tonite and was skeptical because the mixed reviews. I love it ,it was easy to use and I have never used a sewing machine until now. I sewed two baby doll pillows for my girls. they weren't perfect but pretty good for a first try. For first timers and small projects this is great. I wouldn't try making a ball gown but for me it serves it's purpose. Excellent machine Thanks Singer and Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blondebeauty84
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
10/25/2009

Customer review by MissKittyZ

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by MissKittyZ
by MissKittyZ

I was a bit apprehensive about buying it since some of the online reviews were not so great, and the associate in the store told me I would be better off with a more expensive machine. But it was a good price so I got it anyway and it's just great. Haven't had a problem at all, threading was simple, making a bobbin was easy, it NEVER jams or breaks the thread. I've had more issues with my mom's professional machine than this one. I finished sewing an entire halloween costume with silky, difficult to handle fabric but had no issues at all. I'm a beginner at sewing but enjoy occasional projects, and could not be happier with this machine. :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissKittyZ
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pixie-Great machine for a good price
6/25/2009

Customer review by Xykat

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by Xykat
by Xykat

I have been very happy with my Pixie so far. I purchased it at Walmart in upstate New York while visiting relatives. I shipped it through the US post office without opening it and it managed to survive the trip overseas from upstate New York to Sweden. I opened it and was very happy to find that it was battery operated also so I would not really have to convert it to Swedish power. I put 4 batteries in it and it worked! I put thread on a bobbin with no problems. The foot pedal even worked while using battery power! WOW! I took it to hem some curtains at an old 18th century manor house. I tried it for the first time, figured out how to do the bobbin (just catch it to the left side then move the needle down then up) and it was easy! When I threaded the needle I noticed the thread could get a bit tight so I just adjusted the dial on the left and it worked fine. I finished heming two curtains for this old manor house! A vast improvement over the old ones! It is very light to carry. I carried it in a bag with an iron and some other fabric. Very compact! The bag was a thicker plastic carry all bag. A VERY happy American living in Sweden with her Singer Pixie! Yippee! Kathleen

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xykat
Stockholm, Täby, Sweden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My Pixie Works Great!
7/13/2009

Customer review by libbi5

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by libbi5
by libbi5

I was very skeptical buying this product because of the reviews. I bought it anyways because I didn't want to invest the extra money for a full size. I got it home. threaded it and plugged it in...it was ready to go! I haven't sewed since jr high...so I had to read the manual on how to thread it ...and it didn't take long to figure out. I mended a sheet, and hemmed two sets of curtains and it worked very well. The thread did get tight as another person said...but you just turn the tension dial and it was fine. One problem I did have is the pedal quit working. Luckily, my husband is quite handy! He unscrewed it and saw that with repeated used the plastic prong that pushes down the power button had melted a little (they use plastic in there). So, he put a little rubber stopper on top of it and put it back together...it works fine. He said you could attach anything really to it...as long as it reaches that power button. So, if your pedal stops working...all is not lost. Its a great little machine....enough for me to do what I need to do and not spend all the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
libbi5
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cute and easy to use
8/3/2009

Customer review by SewingFiend416

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by SewingFiend416
by SewingFiend416

I opened up this little machine, and it just worked! It was easy to use, and sewed immediately with no problems. I love that you can put 4AA batteries in this little guy and sew without having to be close to an outlet. The power cord on this machine is not very long, so the battery option is a real plus. You can use the included foot pedal, or a little switch on the machine for "low" or "high" speed sewing. I am just really impressed at how easy it is to use, and that it's not bulky or heavy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewingFiend416
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
nice machine
11/3/2009

Customer review by robsgurl

4.0 stars 11/3/2009 by robsgurl
by robsgurl

I just got this sewing machine today..I have been using it a lot today just to get use to using the sewing machine..I haven't really used one and I wanted one but not an expensive one and I thought this was a good deal for a first machine...easy to thread and put the bobbin in and thread the bobbins...=) It took me all day to realize there was a light built in..on the front of the machine if you look there is a little pic of a light bulb and under that is the button to turn it on and there is a small thing to cut the thread. It is easy to use..I like the color of it. just wish the adapter cord was longer. The foot pedal is easy to use and the cord for that is long enough. I like how it winds up the thread on the bobbin for you which is nice...=) I like this one as a first sewing machine to practice on and get how to use it down good before I upgrade to a bigger and more expensive machine. When that happens the little purple one will be going to my oldest...=)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robsgurl
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hit or Miss Machine
11/24/2009

Customer review by Pyrolocks2

3.0 stars 11/24/2009 by Pyrolocks2
by Pyrolocks2

The first machine I bought was amazing! I was thoroughly surprised what a great machine this is! I didn't use it for just simple sewing. I made 2 full gowns, boning and all, a full sized quilt, and much more... unfortunately, I pushed it further than anyone should push ANY sewing machine because I was desperate and pressed for time and killed it. Sad that I had ruined a good thing, I bought a new one expecting to pick up where I left off. I was wrong. The second machine I bought is TERRIBLE!!! Nothing but frustration. I don't understand how one machine can be so fantastic and another of the same kind be so awful. The thread cutter is even dull on this one... I said I would recommend it because maybe you will get one of the great ones... lol.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pyrolocks2
Westminster, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews