Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

127 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

127 reviews | 2 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
20
1 stars
72
1-20 of 125 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Not Bad For Beginners
7/13/2009

Customer review by Risible102

4.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Risible102
by Risible102

Just got back from my first camping trip ever. The First Morning we were there it rained and Everyone on the trip Piled into our tent. (Because it was the biggest) Seven of us fit in there with no problem, but about Five Minutes after the rain started the tent started leaking at the seems. A friend of mine said that it's because i didn't use sealer for it. The leaks were minor and nothing that couldn't be cleaned up. When i got home i put the tent up in the back yard to clean it and decided to use the sealer for it. i waited 24 hours for it to dry, then sprayed it down with the hose for a good half hour and had no leaks! The product isn't bad for beginners and I'd definitely recommend this for someone who doesn't plan to camp a lot. On another note, the Pole that goes above the door was too short and wouldn't hold up. I just used part of an old fishing pole as an extension and it worked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Risible102
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worked for one night, that was it...
8/1/2009

Customer review by 1angrylady

1.0 stars 8/1/2009 by 1angrylady
by 1angrylady

My husband and I spent our first night in this tent last night. We both liked it, and it seemed a really good buy. This tent is not worth the low price it is because it's obviously cheaply made and just will not last. I noticed a few minor defects while putting it up, but no big deal... a clip that was deformed, and the cover was hard to get centered over the tent, it wouldn't fit back in the bag either, but we were still happy with it UP UNTIL today, we come home and see after having it up just one night, one of the main poles has snapped! What a disappointment. I fell for the low price of the Ozark, but I should have followed my instincts and paid more for a Coleman!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1angrylady
Richmond, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Love this tent!!!
7/19/2009

Customer review by mps324

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by mps324
by mps324

I just got back from a five-day camping trip. Two major storms and this tent was still dry. This is the third season that I've used this tent. I am really surprised at the reviews on WalMart.com. I would recommend this product. I've never waterproofed it or even seal the seams and still never a leak. Incredible airflow while rain fly is in use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mps324
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
NOT SO HAPPY CAMPER
7/7/2009

Customer review by 1UNHAPPYCAMPER

3.0 stars 7/7/2009 by 1UNHAPPYCAMPER
by 1UNHAPPYCAMPER

THIS TENT PERFORMED EXCEPTIONAL IN OVER 24 HOUR STRAIGHT OF HEAVY RAIN, THERE WAS 2 SMALL AREAS THAT LEAKED, THE WORST THRU THE "CLOSET" BUT SMALL ENOUGH A TOWEL SOAKED IT ALL UP.MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT WAS THE FLAP OF MATERIAL BY THE ZIPPER THAT WAS VIRTUALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO KEEP FROM GETTING IT CAUGHT IN THE ZIPPER MAKING IT NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN AND CLOSE AND I DECIDED TO HACK IT OFF WITH A KNIFE TO FREE ZIPPER & ESCAPE THE RAIN

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1UNHAPPYCAMPER
LOUISVILLE KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Don't Buy This Tent!!!
7/26/2009

Customer review by OwnADaycare

1.0 stars 7/26/2009 by OwnADaycare
by OwnADaycare

DON'T BUY THIS TENT! YOU ARE WASTING YOUR MONEY!! My husband and I bought this tent at the store before reading any of the online reviews. Wish I would have! My husband put the tent up beforehand to make sure he knew how it went up and we seemed pleased with the amount of space in the tent. However, one day into a two day camping trip, the tent poles (top and back storage area) broke in 3 areas before 1pm. We were so disgusted with the tent that we packed up and went home. The tent also only has one window in the door area which makes the tent super hot. This purchase has left a bad taste in our mouth and we have vowed to never buy Ozark Trail tents again. I will spend the extra money for Coleman or another brand just so I can go camping for the entire weekend and not be interrupted by a poorly designed tent. Thanks Ozark Trail!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OwnADaycare
Mifflintown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY THIS TENT!
5/26/2009

Customer review by 2greatkiddos4me

1.0 stars 5/26/2009 by 2greatkiddos4me
by 2greatkiddos4me

I bought this tent because it looked like a good deal. First off, It did not come with enough stakes. The front of the rain fly would not set up properly, and just laid against the body of the tent. Also, after we got the tent set up, the wind started to blow, and the tent collasped on one side. Also, with the rain fly on...there is no way to have air flow through the tent. It has no windows. Luckily it did not rain hard, I do not think this tent would have held up to the rain, being that the wind knocked it down. The only part of this tent I did like was the storage closet to the rear of the back. It allowed more space in the tent without all the stuff gathering around. But if you plan to do more than the occasional camping like my family is, we camp a lot during the spring/summer months....this tent is a waste of money! Save an extra 50-100 bucks and buy a better one!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2greatkiddos4me
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not a great product at all!!!
6/22/2009

Customer review by btrflyklb

1.0 stars 6/22/2009 by btrflyklb
by btrflyklb

I bought this tent and set it up shortly after I got home. It looked great at first and was easy to set up. We tore it down and packed it back up until we went on our camping trip this past weekend. When we got to our campsite, we got it out and began to set it up. First, the pole used to form the closet space snapped and because of where it snapped, we could not repair it for the rest of the weekend with tape or anything. Then after about an hour, we noticed that the top of the tent suddenly had a peak that was not suppose to be there. We looked and here one of the main poles snapped, also at a spot that we could not repair. So for the rest of our weekend, we could only get in and out of the tent when absolutely necessary for fear of it totally falling apart. And, also it says you can fit 2 queen size air mattresses, well we had one in and no matter how we had it, it was snug up against a wall making it uncomfortable for 2 people to sleep.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
btrflyklb
Mifflinburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
It'll get you by, but not keep you dry
7/22/2009

Customer review by outdoorsmanNH

3.0 stars 7/22/2009 by outdoorsmanNH
by outdoorsmanNH

I like this tent for its size and ease of setup. It's not too easy to find a 2 pole tent that's 13'x10'. It is a tent, and a relatively cheap one at that, so you know what you're getting yourself into when you buy it. Out of the box, yes it will definitely leak, no questions there. Get a seam sealer, and buy a tarp that is large enough to tie to trees, basic camping fundamentals. Don't expect to set this up, put the rain fly on, and sit out in a thunderstorm and stay dry, that's not realistic with any tent really, you have to take precautions when you are camping, like them boyscouts say, "Be Prepared". I got this tent for myself and my GF, we just had an air mattress in there and our gear, so we had plenty of room seeing how it says it sleeps 6. I wouldn't want to sleep in there with 5 other people, but then again you might. All in all it's an "OK" tent, come on, for 54 bucks your getting a 13'x10' tent, either spend more or get a smaller one from a more reputable brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outdoorsmanNH
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent for the $$$
5/19/2009

Customer review by MattinDeerfield

4.0 stars 5/19/2009 by MattinDeerfield
by MattinDeerfield

This tent was easy to assemble, had plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 children and looks great. Love the neted roof, you can see the stars all night when it is clear. Only issue was with the zipper for the door, tends to grab the material when closing if you zip it too fast and you do not use you finger as a guide, but for the $$, it was easy to deal with. If you are a part time camper, this is the tent for you if you are not sure when the next camping trip will be.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MattinDeerfield
Deerfield Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Jury is still out.
7/7/2009

Customer review by hiroshima23

4.0 stars 7/7/2009 by hiroshima23
by hiroshima23

I bought the tent for an upcoming camping trip. I followed all the instructions and set the tent up in the back yard so that I can familiarize myself with the layout. Everything went smoothly, I got it up and stable and even got the closet pole in without breaking it. So I left it up for the Holiday weekend. Saturday it rained all day long, when I went out to check the tent Sunday morning It was wet inside. That's disappointing but stuff happens at least it wasn't flooded. So I left it up another day. I went outside this morning and the whole thing had collapsed! When I went to find out what happened, I noticed the main support poles had both broken in the same place, right at the top of the tent. So I took it down completely, repacked everything and will be taking it back to the store for an exchange. I wont condemn it completely because it DID stand for 2 whole days before it fell.. and it COULD have been just one of those things. But if the NEXT one does the same thing.. I'll have stronger comments.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hiroshima23
Dry Ridge, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
DO NOT BUY!!!
6/30/2009

Customer review by happilyengaged08

1.0 stars 6/30/2009 by happilyengaged08
by happilyengaged08

I bought this tent 1 week ago, came home & set it up to air out. Less than 24 hours later, one of the poles broke. Went back to Wal Mart and exchanged it for another one. I was very hesitant to get the same one again, but thought I would give it another try. Here we are 4 days after setting the second one up I have another broken pole. Now I have to return this one to Wal Mart, and I will not be coming home with another one like it. I am so glad I dislike the new smell of tents so much that I like to set them up to air out. We leave in a few days to go camping, and I would have been very upset if I had had these problems at the campsite. I have been camping my whole life, and I have alot of experience with tents and setting them up. This is the worst quality tent I have ever dealt with. If all you are concerned with is looks, then this is a great tent for you. I prefer good construction that I can rely on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happilyengaged08
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Leave this one alone!
7/6/2009

Customer review by Mech

1.0 stars 7/6/2009 by Mech
by Mech

Where to begin? I AM an experienced camper and know how to pitch a tent. I bought this one to use on July 4 this year for me and my wife at a camp over with other friends. The tent went up easily and looked great...for about 15 minutes. At that point I noticed that the storage area in the rear of the tent was misshapen. Broken pole #1. Conditions were sunny and a very light breeze. I decided that pole was thin anyway and to carry on with the day. 20 minutes later my wife asked why the top of the tent looked funny. Broken pole #2. Again, sunny and just a very slight breeze.This one was one of the 2 main support poles. With this one broken the tent resembled a flag more than a tent. Two opposite corners collapsed. I believe the poles just aren't strong enough to support this tent. Lucky for me one of my friends had his work van and we were able to produce a piece of metal and some duct tape for an emergency repair. It still resembled a teepee when I was finished but by adjusting the rainfly lines it mostly held it's shape. Then came the rain. Granted, I didn't take the time to waterproof the seams, but EVERY one of them leaked like a sieve. If we weren't in the very middle, we got splashed. Note that this was a "second choice" pick and I did it to save a few dollars. But NEVER AGAIN!! It's back to the store already.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mech
Toone, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Ozark Trail 13' x 10' Dome Tent
4/25/2009

Customer review by nate12

4.0 stars 4/25/2009 by nate12
by nate12

Purchased this for a Son, Father, and Grand Father week-long camping trip. It was VERY large inside, and held four back packs, two inflated Queen mattresses, one dog, and lots of head room. All zippers, wondows and doors worked well; survived one good rain with moderate winds one night; and it went up quickly within two minutes with just one person. Make sure you ALWAYS seal all seems on ANY tent before you head out to camp, as we did, and you'll love this tent!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nate12
Kearney, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
all around bad tent
7/13/2009

Customer review by karkabeans

1.0 stars 7/13/2009 by karkabeans
by karkabeans

Went camping july 4th weekend. It rained steady, but not hard. Water dripped in by the compartments hanging from the seams. also the black part of the tent on the inside was wet when u touched it. Also i didnt feel it was roomy enough. We had one queen air mattress and two sleeping bags. Returned the tent and bought another Ozark Trail tent...bad move

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karkabeans
Logan,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
sleep outside you'll be just as wet
7/4/2009

Customer review by aznative78

1.0 stars 7/4/2009 by aznative78
by aznative78

People throw around the saying, "well, its better then nothing". With this tent that is not true.... you would be better with NO TENT then with this tent. We went camping at Ashurst Lake 4th of July weekend. I sealed the seams prior to leaving. It rained the tent turned into a pond. I just spent 5 hours driving to and from Flagstaff from Phoenix, the trip home soaking wet thanks to this garbage tent. I can not wait to return this to the store. Please please please read the other reviews and DO NOT buy this tent

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aznative78
Phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Very disappointed!
6/28/2009

Customer review by lovestocampalot

1.0 stars 6/28/2009 by lovestocampalot
by lovestocampalot

My husband and I bought this tent four days ago. We set it up at our favorite camping site and we were totally shocked at how misleading the description of this tent was. It does NOT have 10 X 13 usable floor space. If you are lucky, you have MAYBE 6 feet by 10 feet of usable space. We have a queen air mattress and we could not put it in the tent so that it fit from front to back in the tent. We had to turn it sideways and that left very little room to walk around the matress. How they figured you could fit 2 of those mattresses or sleep 6 is beyond us. The "closet" was a nice feature, but the pole for that was broken before we could even use it. We had some rain the second day and the tent leaked all over the place. There wasn't one seam that didn't leak. This tent is going back to WalMart and we will never buy this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovestocampalot
Endicott, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
This tent is junk!
7/5/2009

Customer review by raptor660

1.0 stars 7/5/2009 by raptor660
by raptor660

I see other people had the same problem as I did with the sorry sorry poles!!! This was the first time this tent was ever used and all of the poles broke. The weather was great the first night no rain no wind. We went out on the boat and came back to broken poles! I have no idea why they broke it was a very calm day. I had to tape them back so we could finish out the weekend and guess what happens RAIN we had water all in the tent. I guess the broken poles could have caused the cover not to fit properly. Everything I bought from wal-mart this weekend was great flashlights, fans, and tents oh yeah nothing worked!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raptor660
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not adequate
5/25/2009

Customer review by mtn92283

1.0 stars 5/25/2009 by mtn92283
by mtn92283

I went camping with this tent over memorial day weekend...which was rainy where I was. The fly repelled the water just fine, but the material below the fly started to absorb water after about 3 hours. Soon the seams were saturated with water and began to leak inside the tent. I returned this tent and I highly suggest you look into a different tent if you would like to be secure during rainy weather. Do yourself a favor and spend a couple extra bucks and get a better tent!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtn92283
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Read carefully
6/17/2009

Customer review by mcdada

1.0 stars 6/17/2009 by mcdada
by mcdada

I'll start off with it is advertised as a 13 x 10 tent it is actually a 13 x 8 tent with a so called closet in the middle of the back wall that extends out to the 10 foot advertised dimension. Which would of worked, shame on me for not looking closer. However while on a camp out with very mild Texas weather ( sunny and next to no wind) One of the fiberglass poles to hold the closet's shape broke, which poked a hole in the tent. The fiberglass poles that made the awning above the door were bent so much that if we would of had it set up for another day it probably would have broke. What's sad is I put so much work into this tent. I cut up a gently used old tarp to use as a ground cloth and sprayed sealer both inside and outside of the tent to keep us dry and only used it one weekend and had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcdada
dallas northern metro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not a rainy weather tent.
7/27/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/27/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Bad: The tent leaks right through the walls, but not from where the rain fly covers, about 2 feet from the bottom and down. On the sides of the tent, it is screen from the very top to about 2 feet from the bottom, so you would need a good functional rain fly. However, the rain fly only goes about 4 inches below the screen part, which would not be a problem except the guy ropes for the rain fly are located too far from the bottom of the fly to keep it taut, so it just lays flat against the tent flapping ever so annoyingly in the wind, letting in rain and possibly invading your privacy ( if somebody really really wanted to) The good: It's a very affordable tent, I bought it for $48, and has alot of room, though as with all tents, they over estimate the occupancy. It fit 2 twin size (39" x 75") air matresses, could have easily fit a third, or a fourth if you really wanted to cram it in. I would say it is a four person tent if you value comfort and personal space. The covered hole for the extension cord was a nice touch and the small "closet" kinda seemed pointless but offered a good place to put all the stuff that got wet from the leaky tent. For $48, if you knew it wasn't going to rain, this is a pretty decent buy. It would probably be better suited as a kid's backyard club house, but I pretty much knew what to expect out of a $48 tent, so I wasn't really that disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews