Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

127 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

127 reviews | 2 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
20
1 stars
72
1-20 of 125 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Great Tent for the $$$
5/19/2009

Customer review by MattinDeerfield

4.0 stars 5/19/2009 by MattinDeerfield
by MattinDeerfield

This tent was easy to assemble, had plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 children and looks great. Love the neted roof, you can see the stars all night when it is clear. Only issue was with the zipper for the door, tends to grab the material when closing if you zip it too fast and you do not use you finger as a guide, but for the $$, it was easy to deal with. If you are a part time camper, this is the tent for you if you are not sure when the next camping trip will be.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MattinDeerfield
Deerfield Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Leave this one alone!
7/6/2009

Customer review by Mech

1.0 stars 7/6/2009 by Mech
by Mech

Where to begin? I AM an experienced camper and know how to pitch a tent. I bought this one to use on July 4 this year for me and my wife at a camp over with other friends. The tent went up easily and looked great...for about 15 minutes. At that point I noticed that the storage area in the rear of the tent was misshapen. Broken pole #1. Conditions were sunny and a very light breeze. I decided that pole was thin anyway and to carry on with the day. 20 minutes later my wife asked why the top of the tent looked funny. Broken pole #2. Again, sunny and just a very slight breeze.This one was one of the 2 main support poles. With this one broken the tent resembled a flag more than a tent. Two opposite corners collapsed. I believe the poles just aren't strong enough to support this tent. Lucky for me one of my friends had his work van and we were able to produce a piece of metal and some duct tape for an emergency repair. It still resembled a teepee when I was finished but by adjusting the rainfly lines it mostly held it's shape. Then came the rain. Granted, I didn't take the time to waterproof the seams, but EVERY one of them leaked like a sieve. If we weren't in the very middle, we got splashed. Note that this was a "second choice" pick and I did it to save a few dollars. But NEVER AGAIN!! It's back to the store already.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mech
Toone, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Ozark Trail 13' x 10' Dome Tent
4/25/2009

Customer review by nate12

4.0 stars 4/25/2009 by nate12
by nate12

Purchased this for a Son, Father, and Grand Father week-long camping trip. It was VERY large inside, and held four back packs, two inflated Queen mattresses, one dog, and lots of head room. All zippers, wondows and doors worked well; survived one good rain with moderate winds one night; and it went up quickly within two minutes with just one person. Make sure you ALWAYS seal all seems on ANY tent before you head out to camp, as we did, and you'll love this tent!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nate12
Kearney, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Don't Buy This Tent!!!
7/26/2009

Customer review by OwnADaycare

1.0 stars 7/26/2009 by OwnADaycare
by OwnADaycare

DON'T BUY THIS TENT! YOU ARE WASTING YOUR MONEY!! My husband and I bought this tent at the store before reading any of the online reviews. Wish I would have! My husband put the tent up beforehand to make sure he knew how it went up and we seemed pleased with the amount of space in the tent. However, one day into a two day camping trip, the tent poles (top and back storage area) broke in 3 areas before 1pm. We were so disgusted with the tent that we packed up and went home. The tent also only has one window in the door area which makes the tent super hot. This purchase has left a bad taste in our mouth and we have vowed to never buy Ozark Trail tents again. I will spend the extra money for Coleman or another brand just so I can go camping for the entire weekend and not be interrupted by a poorly designed tent. Thanks Ozark Trail!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OwnADaycare
Mifflintown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY THIS TENT!
5/26/2009

Customer review by 2greatkiddos4me

1.0 stars 5/26/2009 by 2greatkiddos4me
by 2greatkiddos4me

I bought this tent because it looked like a good deal. First off, It did not come with enough stakes. The front of the rain fly would not set up properly, and just laid against the body of the tent. Also, after we got the tent set up, the wind started to blow, and the tent collasped on one side. Also, with the rain fly on...there is no way to have air flow through the tent. It has no windows. Luckily it did not rain hard, I do not think this tent would have held up to the rain, being that the wind knocked it down. The only part of this tent I did like was the storage closet to the rear of the back. It allowed more space in the tent without all the stuff gathering around. But if you plan to do more than the occasional camping like my family is, we camp a lot during the spring/summer months....this tent is a waste of money! Save an extra 50-100 bucks and buy a better one!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2greatkiddos4me
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not adequate
5/25/2009

Customer review by mtn92283

1.0 stars 5/25/2009 by mtn92283
by mtn92283

I went camping with this tent over memorial day weekend...which was rainy where I was. The fly repelled the water just fine, but the material below the fly started to absorb water after about 3 hours. Soon the seams were saturated with water and began to leak inside the tent. I returned this tent and I highly suggest you look into a different tent if you would like to be secure during rainy weather. Do yourself a favor and spend a couple extra bucks and get a better tent!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mtn92283
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
big disappointment
6/16/2009

Customer review by roadgliden

1.0 stars 6/16/2009 by roadgliden
by roadgliden

We purchased 8 of these tents to use at one of our youth camps. We used the tents for 5 nights and nearly everyone had an issue. Nearly all tents leaked to some degree and several of the fiberglass poles broke and ended up puncturing the fabric. The poles are made in such a way that they have little option but to become extremely stress or break in normal usage. Spend the extra money and get a tent that will last and has a better design. There is a reason this tent is so inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roadgliden
Vincennes, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
all around bad tent
7/13/2009

Customer review by karkabeans

1.0 stars 7/13/2009 by karkabeans
by karkabeans

Went camping july 4th weekend. It rained steady, but not hard. Water dripped in by the compartments hanging from the seams. also the black part of the tent on the inside was wet when u touched it. Also i didnt feel it was roomy enough. We had one queen air mattress and two sleeping bags. Returned the tent and bought another Ozark Trail tent...bad move

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karkabeans
Logan,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
This tent is junk!
7/5/2009

Customer review by raptor660

1.0 stars 7/5/2009 by raptor660
by raptor660

I see other people had the same problem as I did with the sorry sorry poles!!! This was the first time this tent was ever used and all of the poles broke. The weather was great the first night no rain no wind. We went out on the boat and came back to broken poles! I have no idea why they broke it was a very calm day. I had to tape them back so we could finish out the weekend and guess what happens RAIN we had water all in the tent. I guess the broken poles could have caused the cover not to fit properly. Everything I bought from wal-mart this weekend was great flashlights, fans, and tents oh yeah nothing worked!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raptor660
Would recommend to a friend? No
sleep outside you'll be just as wet
7/4/2009

Customer review by aznative78

1.0 stars 7/4/2009 by aznative78
by aznative78

People throw around the saying, "well, its better then nothing". With this tent that is not true.... you would be better with NO TENT then with this tent. We went camping at Ashurst Lake 4th of July weekend. I sealed the seams prior to leaving. It rained the tent turned into a pond. I just spent 5 hours driving to and from Flagstaff from Phoenix, the trip home soaking wet thanks to this garbage tent. I can not wait to return this to the store. Please please please read the other reviews and DO NOT buy this tent

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aznative78
Phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Love this tent!!!
7/19/2009

Customer review by mps324

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by mps324
by mps324

I just got back from a five-day camping trip. Two major storms and this tent was still dry. This is the third season that I've used this tent. I am really surprised at the reviews on WalMart.com. I would recommend this product. I've never waterproofed it or even seal the seams and still never a leak. Incredible airflow while rain fly is in use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mps324
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good tent for the price
5/4/2009

Customer review by NMFreak505

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by NMFreak505
by NMFreak505

i got this tent over a year ago for a wintertime camping trip and it worked great. kept body heat in decently so it stayed kinda warm. a tent heater would have made a world of difference though! i need to buy a new tent due to theft, and i will be buying this tent again!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NMFreak505
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a rainy weather tent.
7/27/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/27/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Bad: The tent leaks right through the walls, but not from where the rain fly covers, about 2 feet from the bottom and down. On the sides of the tent, it is screen from the very top to about 2 feet from the bottom, so you would need a good functional rain fly. However, the rain fly only goes about 4 inches below the screen part, which would not be a problem except the guy ropes for the rain fly are located too far from the bottom of the fly to keep it taut, so it just lays flat against the tent flapping ever so annoyingly in the wind, letting in rain and possibly invading your privacy ( if somebody really really wanted to) The good: It's a very affordable tent, I bought it for $48, and has alot of room, though as with all tents, they over estimate the occupancy. It fit 2 twin size (39" x 75") air matresses, could have easily fit a third, or a fourth if you really wanted to cram it in. I would say it is a four person tent if you value comfort and personal space. The covered hole for the extension cord was a nice touch and the small "closet" kinda seemed pointless but offered a good place to put all the stuff that got wet from the leaky tent. For $48, if you knew it wasn't going to rain, this is a pretty decent buy. It would probably be better suited as a kid's backyard club house, but I pretty much knew what to expect out of a $48 tent, so I wasn't really that disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Will not recommend this product
7/6/2009

Customer review by WalmartMachinist

1.0 stars 7/6/2009 by WalmartMachinist
by WalmartMachinist

There is no air coming through the tent after you put Rain Fly on. If you need air you have to completely taking the Rain Fly out. It will not stand one night of down pour rain.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartMachinist
Bloomington, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
let down
6/17/2009

Customer review by CrazyAboutCamping

2.0 stars 6/17/2009 by CrazyAboutCamping
by CrazyAboutCamping

I actually bought 2 of these tents to take camping last weekend with the family. I got one, set it up in the yard which was easy! some of the the kids and I sat inside and tried to imagine our stuff in there and decided we could make it work. Got to the lake set up both tents. I blew up my high rise queen size airmattress and had to quish it through the door and lay it long ways, which took up most of the room. we only had space for a twin on the other side of the tent and a narrow walk way between them. the cubby hole towards the back seemed like a great feature and we stuffed our luggage back there. 4 kids used the second tent and they used cots and had a little more room. Second night, big rain storm and high winds! we heard it coming and put on the rain covers and secured them, all got in our tents to ride out the storm. Before long, the seams started to leak water in my tent. wherever my mattress was touching the walls, water started to come in slightly. the wind caved in one side of both tents and we couldn't correct it until the storm was over. the rain cover started to flap since the wall gave in and since both ends and the top is mesh there was no protection from the rain. we ended up sleeping in our cars and assessing the damage the next morning. the cubby hole poles snapped where the metal meets the fiberglass pole and put a hole in both tents!! the front pole on the rain cover that is supposed to protect the door, came out and the rain cover had come unstaked. I am going to try to return both tents and look for one more old fashioned one with metal poles and sturdier stakes. I love camping but it puts a damper on things when your tent fails you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyAboutCamping
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
I HATE THIS TENT WITH A PASSION!!!
6/12/2009

Customer review by enchilladaman

1.0 stars 6/12/2009 by enchilladaman
by enchilladaman

THE first night i slept in this tent everythin was fine until the night it rained when i woke up my tent was flooded two inches deep in rain i took it back that morning i was wet goin into walmart?!? how does water get threw a water proof tent?!?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enchilladaman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Do not buy
6/17/2009

Customer review by JWMc

1.0 stars 6/17/2009 by JWMc
by JWMc

I purchased this tent for a weekend camping trip.The tent is easy to set up and has enough room,but in the middle of the first night the poles broke at the top bringing the tent down. Not a fun night at all. Yes every thing was set up correct. I have been camping for years and have never had a tent do this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JWMc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Read carefully
6/17/2009

Customer review by mcdada

1.0 stars 6/17/2009 by mcdada
by mcdada

I'll start off with it is advertised as a 13 x 10 tent it is actually a 13 x 8 tent with a so called closet in the middle of the back wall that extends out to the 10 foot advertised dimension. Which would of worked, shame on me for not looking closer. However while on a camp out with very mild Texas weather ( sunny and next to no wind) One of the fiberglass poles to hold the closet's shape broke, which poked a hole in the tent. The fiberglass poles that made the awning above the door were bent so much that if we would of had it set up for another day it probably would have broke. What's sad is I put so much work into this tent. I cut up a gently used old tarp to use as a ground cloth and sprayed sealer both inside and outside of the tent to keep us dry and only used it one weekend and had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcdada
dallas northern metro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
JUNK!!!
6/15/2009

Customer review by Lymie

1.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Lymie
by Lymie

I bought this tent for my two boys. We had it set up for 2 days and the pole for the closet area broke. Then 2 hours later one of the poles that holds the tent up snapped and put a hole in the rain fly! This tent is very cheaply made. Don't buy this tent. Spend a few more dollars and get a Coleman.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lymie
North Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not a great product at all!!!
6/22/2009

Customer review by btrflyklb

1.0 stars 6/22/2009 by btrflyklb
by btrflyklb

I bought this tent and set it up shortly after I got home. It looked great at first and was easy to set up. We tore it down and packed it back up until we went on our camping trip this past weekend. When we got to our campsite, we got it out and began to set it up. First, the pole used to form the closet space snapped and because of where it snapped, we could not repair it for the rest of the weekend with tape or anything. Then after about an hour, we noticed that the top of the tent suddenly had a peak that was not suppose to be there. We looked and here one of the main poles snapped, also at a spot that we could not repair. So for the rest of our weekend, we could only get in and out of the tent when absolutely necessary for fear of it totally falling apart. And, also it says you can fit 2 queen size air mattresses, well we had one in and no matter how we had it, it was snug up against a wall making it uncomfortable for 2 people to sleep.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
btrflyklb
Mifflinburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews