Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

7 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

7 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-5 of 5 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Could have been better
10/27/2009

Customer review by dodgerman5150

3.0 stars 10/27/2009 by dodgerman5150
by dodgerman5150

There is a reason why Activision was giving this game away for free for people who bought Guitar Hero 5. It's not a good game! First of all, it's missing two vital people who at one time were in Van Halen, namely Sammy Hagar and Michael Anthony. The fact that they aren't even mentioned in the game is a slap in the face to them. Instead Eddie's 16 year old son, Wolfgang, takes over on bass guitar, even when you progress in the game and play as the classic Van Halen with Dave's long hair and Eddie's flowing locks as well. And then you look over and there's Wolfie who evidentally discovered time travel and went back to play with them. I guess Michael was sick that night. Another is that you can only create one band at a time in career mode, that's right, ONE band. Not two, not four like you could in Guitar Hero 5. And one more flaw is the choices in songs. I think I could have done without "Stacy's Mom" and another song that sounds weird to be included with Guitar Hero Van Halen. And can someone explain to me why I have to play the keyboards to "Jump" on the guitar?

Was this review helpful? (20) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dodgerman5150
Rupert, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Where's Sammy?
1/23/2010

Customer review by LuckyMan315

3.0 stars 1/23/2010 by LuckyMan315
by LuckyMan315

As a die hard VH fan for years, I was disappointed to see that no "Van Hagar" songs (which I think are actually better) were included on the song list. DLR did great things for Van Halen, but Sammy took them to the next level. To not include any songs that he performed with them is a huge injustice. Poundcake? Runaround? Nothing off of Balance, OU812, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge, or 5150? Very disappointing. However, the tracks that are included are very good. I have to agree with Dodgerman, in that it is weird playing the keyboard parts of Jump on a guitar. Overall, it's a game that I enjoy, but it could've been SO much better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuckyMan315
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
could have been much better
8/30/2010

Customer review by blockmaint

3.0 stars 8/30/2010 by blockmaint
by blockmaint

i agree with dodgerman and luckyman. the music does rock and is fun to play, but there are so many more songs they could have used from the van hagar era. and there are a few of the guest artists that could have been left off, but still a good game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blockmaint
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Rocking out Old School
1/3/2010

Customer review by TravelnMom2Two

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by TravelnMom2Two
by TravelnMom2Two

I bought this for our 10 yr. old son. He absolutely loves it! He enjoys rocking out to VH songs along with 26 other great rock artists.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelnMom2Two
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
12/27/2012

Customer review by WoodlandsShopper

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by WoodlandsShopper
by WoodlandsShopper

Fun! Fun! Fun! My husband and I are having a blast playing the Van Halen Guitar Hero that he got this Christmas. Actually, we have found it quite challenging, but we are motivated to make it in the "band".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WoodlandsShopper
The Woodlands, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.